125 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?

dreams_achiever
post Aug 30 2009, 03:15 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Aug 30 2009, 11:33 AM)
Hello,

about your options trading.  what are the tools (TA) that you are using ? i am now learning the put and call, but i am still uncertain about the TA to use. for example, the trainer needs us to complete the exercise berfore going in, and the 9 TAs include - BB, MACD, SMA, EMA, PAR SAR, OS, etc etc, and after this, i have to fill in a technical form that includes - Target Price, Entry Price, Stop Loss, Profit/Loss, Intrinsic Value ...

may i know what tools you use? thanks pal.

Added on August 30, 2009, 11:55 amAnother question i wish to ask please: -

i am opening an account for options trading, but it seems that the Op.....xpress needs my passport but mine has long expired. any solutions or other reliable companies that i can open an account for US trades?

thank you.

Its depend on individual preferences. Personally i used stochastics + RSI + ADX + MACD histogram.
I think you can use your Msian ID as verification document instead of passport. You can try ask live support see whether can or not.
Or can try etrade, AMERITRADE, etc..

This post has been edited by dreams_achiever: Aug 30 2009, 03:16 PM
ozak
post Aug 30 2009, 04:16 PM

17,019 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Aug 30 2009, 11:33 AM)

Added on August 30, 2009, 11:55 amAnother question i wish to ask please: -

i am opening an account for options trading, but it seems that the Op.....xpress needs my passport but mine has long expired. any solutions or other reliable companies that i can open an account for US trades?

thank you.
You can use driving license also if I not mistaken.
mikehwy
post Aug 30 2009, 04:55 PM

17,100 posts

QUOTE(dreams_achiever @ Aug 30 2009, 03:15 PM)
Its depend on individual preferences. Personally i used stochastics + RSI + ADX + MACD histogram.
I think you can use your Msian ID as verification document instead of passport. You can try ask live support see whether can or not.
Or can try etrade, AMERITRADE, etc..
thanks pal. will try to ask the help desk monday as it is closed today. fyi, citgroup started to be the most active stock last friday, suddenly. other financial stocks too .... can get the stock or ETF till end of the year ????

Added on August 30, 2009, 4:56 pm
QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 30 2009, 04:16 PM)
You can use driving license also if I not mistaken.
ok pal, many thanks for your reply. will try to do that as i need to purchase some stocks (not options) asap.

the 1-minute chart for US stocks is really good for early trading. cheers.

This post has been edited by mikehwy: Aug 30 2009, 04:56 PM
GregPG01
post Aug 30 2009, 11:12 PM

4,966 posts

Can someone recommend a good and reputable US share trading company ? I am currently using CIMB and cannot tahan the charges...
danmooncake
post Aug 30 2009, 11:53 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(GregPG01 @ Aug 30 2009, 11:12 PM)
Can someone recommend a good and reputable US share trading company ? I am currently using CIMB and cannot tahan the charges...
TD Ameritrade, E-Trade, Interative Brokers and OptionsExpress seems to be common ones used by LYN members here.
Cheapy goes to MBTrading, SogoTrade, FirstTrade and Zecco (you get what you pay for).

Some already been briefly reviewed by members. Feel free to go to first page and read from there. nod.gif

ozak
post Aug 31 2009, 12:33 AM

17,019 posts

QUOTE(GregPG01 @ Aug 30 2009, 11:12 PM)
Hoe much is the CIMB charging you?
redken
post Aug 31 2009, 06:26 AM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

For RHB invest, its:

1) USD100,000 and below – 0.70%
Above USD100,000 – 0.50%
Above USD500,000 – 0.30%
Min USD35 for brokerage

2) 0.1% - RM1.00 per contract
value of RM1,000 (round up)
Maximum RM200.00 for stamping.

dreams_achiever
post Aug 31 2009, 11:27 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Aug 31 2009, 06:26 AM)
For RHB invest, its:

1) USD100,000 and below – 0.70%
Above USD100,000 – 0.50%
Above USD500,000 – 0.30%
Min USD35 for brokerage

2) 0.1% - RM1.00 per contract
value of RM1,000 (round up)
Maximum RM200.00 for stamping.
whoa..so expensive.
Better change to US brokers instead.
GHz
post Aug 31 2009, 11:45 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(dreams_achiever @ Aug 31 2009, 11:27 AM)
whoa..so expensive.
Better change to US brokers instead.
ye lor, so expensive. currently i am using sogotrade, $3 per transaction unlimited shares. But as of now still enjoying 100 free trades given during registration.
danmooncake
post Aug 31 2009, 11:54 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Aug 31 2009, 11:45 AM)
ye lor, so expensive. currently i am using sogotrade, $3 per transaction unlimited shares. But as of now still enjoying 100 free trades given during registration.
Are the tools good on SogoTrade?
For example: charts, realtime quotes and research info?
mikehwy
post Aug 31 2009, 12:50 PM

17,100 posts

can you explain more about the Sogotrade, or pm me the link for me to open an account.

also, how liquid is the account. i mean, when i wish to withdraw some money, how long it takes? is it via TT to my local account?

truly appreciate your early reply. thanks.

ozak
post Aug 31 2009, 12:52 PM

17,019 posts

What is the 'Broker-Assisted fee ' mean?
mynewuser
post Aug 31 2009, 01:40 PM

2,549 posts

What u mean 100 free trades? USD 100?? I read somewhere say that sogotrade got many hidden fees. Can you advise us on this?

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 30 2009, 11:53 PM)
TD Ameritrade, E-Trade, Interative Brokers and OptionsExpress seems to be common ones used by LYN members here.
Cheapy goes to MBTrading, SogoTrade, FirstTrade and Zecco (you get what you pay for).

Some already been briefly reviewed by members. Feel free to go to first page and read from there.  nod.gif
Regarding MBTrading. It charge US$ 50 for any TT back to malaysia. DO you think this consider very high cost?
GHz
post Aug 31 2009, 02:55 PM

1,139 posts

Wah, so many people interested in SogoTrade. OKlah, I try to answer as much as I can but please bear with me as I only start using it since last week & my first trade was last Friday. So my knowledge & experience with it is minimal. Also this is my first US broker that I use, can't really compare with other broker except it is one of the cheapest. I also register with Just2Trade but feel that SogoTrade is much better.

If anyone have anymore question I am happy to assist. For those who would like to register Sogotrade I appreciate that you could use my referral link at SOGOTRADE. I do not earn money for this but 25 free trades. biggrin.gif

OK this is my answer!

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 31 2009, 11:54 AM)
Are the tools good on SogoTrade?
For example: charts, realtime quotes and research info?
I believe chart is mediocare only but realtime trading is good. Realtime quotes also relatively good from my point of view but honestly KLSE realtime quotes are much much better. Research info I have no comments as still not exploring it. I read it in internet before, they say the research info is on low side

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Aug 31 2009, 12:50 PM)

can you explain more about the Sogotrade, or pm me the link for me to open an account.

also, how liquid is the account.  i mean, when i wish to withdraw some money, how long it takes? is it via TT to my local account?

truly appreciate your early reply.  thanks.
This is the link
SOGOTRADE

OK, I haven't try to withdraw any money yet so I can't comment how long it takes to withdraw. But this is from their online help.

"If your wire request arrives at SogoTrade before 1 PM EST, it will be sent the same business day. If your request arrives after 1 PM EST, the wire will be sent the following business day."

So it seem quite fast. you make received the fund in 1-2 days by wire transfer.

If you have anymore specific question, you can ask it here. I am happy to answer.

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 31 2009, 12:52 PM)
What is the 'Broker-Assisted fee ' mean?
I guess it means that they will charge higher fee if you would like to trade by calling them (not through online platform)

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Aug 31 2009, 01:40 PM)
What u mean 100 free trades? USD 100?? I read somewhere say that sogotrade got many hidden fees. Can you advise us on this?
Regarding MBTrading. It charge US$ 50 for any TT back to malaysia. DO you think this consider very high cost?
OK, for new account you will receive 100 free trades. Means that you can trade at no fee for 100 times. With $3 fee per trade, this translate to $300 saving. But need to finish it up in 30 days.

I could not see any hidden fee yet as of now. So far so good.

Sogotrade charge $40 per international wire transfer for withdrawal.

This post has been edited by GHz: Aug 31 2009, 02:56 PM
mikehwy
post Aug 31 2009, 03:34 PM

17,100 posts

GHz,

many thanks for your effort in explaining .... will try it out tonight, say at 8pm when the market just abt to open?

cheers abd happy trading
GHz
post Aug 31 2009, 03:55 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Aug 31 2009, 03:34 PM)
GHz,

many thanks for your effort in explaining .... will try it out tonight, say at 8pm when the market just abt to open?
cheers abd happy trading
You're welcome. The market open at 9.30pm Malaysian time. But you won't see anything until your account is approved.
ozak
post Aug 31 2009, 04:47 PM

17,019 posts

The sogotrade is so much cheaper. Don't no why others so expensive. hmm.gif

I m using optionsxpress. Not cheap also. sad.gif Here is the all the fee till trading.

Local bank TT to US bank (optionxpress acc) ---> Local bank fee rm10. US bank fee US23
Trading stock --> 9+ no.Shasre Trades/Quarter1 $9.95(up to 1000) $0.01 / share(1001+)
0-8 no.Shasre Trades/Quarter $14.95(up to 1000) $0.015 / share (1001+)

For selling, maybe same kua? Haven't try out yet.

Withdrawal --> ACH (free)
Cheque (US15)
TT (Don't no yet. Can't find the fee)

GHz
post Aug 31 2009, 05:28 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 31 2009, 04:47 PM)
The sogotrade is so much cheaper. Don't no why others so expensive. hmm.gif

I m using optionsxpress. Not cheap also. sad.gif  Here is the all the fee till trading.

Local bank TT to US bank (optionxpress acc) ---> Local bank fee rm10. US bank fee US23
Trading stock --> 9+ no.Shasre  Trades/Quarter1 $9.95(up to 1000)  $0.01 / share(1001+)
                          0-8 no.Shasre  Trades/Quarter $14.95(up to 1000) $0.015 / share (1001+)

For selling, maybe same kua? Haven't try out yet.

Withdrawal --> ACH (free)
                      Cheque (US15)
                      TT (Don't no yet. Can't find the fee)
if you have not deposit any money. why not try open acc with sogo & see if you like it or not.

Actually Interactive broker is cheaper but you need to have min deposit of $10k.
mikehwy
post Aug 31 2009, 06:06 PM

17,100 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Aug 31 2009, 05:28 PM)
if you have not deposit any money. why not try open acc with sogo & see if you like it or not.

Actually Interactive broker is cheaper but you need to have min deposit of $10k.
hi,

will try to pen an account at the sogo. my question remains > is it safe and liquid? does anyone here made any wothdrawal before? i guess i will trade more than the amount stated by you. my trainer says optionsexpress is safe so far, easy wothdrawal, but charges at usd 14 per transaction.

many thanks.
GHz
post Aug 31 2009, 06:17 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Aug 31 2009, 06:06 PM)
hi,

will try to pen an account at the sogo.  my question remains > is it safe and liquid? does anyone here made any wothdrawal before? i guess i will trade more than the amount stated by you.  my trainer says optionsexpress is safe so far, easy wothdrawal, but charges at usd 14 per transaction.

many thanks.
can't help you with that. anyway this is what they write.

"SogoTrade is a division of Genesis Securities LLC. Securities products and services are offered by Genesis Securities LLC, member of FINRA, SIPC and ISE"

Look at pre market, C & AIG is -ve. Opportunity to buy?

125 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:22 AM