ACCA (v3), our future chartered accountants :)

rvp
post Jun 25 2008, 01:11 AM

371 posts

QUOTE(craby123 @ Jun 25 2008, 12:38 AM)
Oh, oh! I cant control myself! Have to speak something!  icon_idea.gif

Jackson miller to me is a lecturer! If he is = idiot!  vmad.gif That was my first impression! Perhaps he was trying to pull students! Thought i was the only one who thinks he is a lecturer! Seems others realise it too!  rclxms.gif

Just as in other forum, sales people may purposely join or open topics, pretend as if they were the consumer and trying to sell or promote their facial products which are expensive and useless! mad.gif  They tried their best to misconduct people! This irritates me a lot!  vmad.gif

Students are not STUPID lar!  icon_rolleyes.gif  Who is jackson miller? Just ignore him! He thought we students dont have brain one meh? Kanasai! I am so angry seeing him bully carlosandy though i dont have any connection with him/her! Wei, please lar, look at all the stuff he wrote, oh, the things he mentioned, uhlala, we students dont even have the time to think of those small small matters so deeply as him! What was he trying to express? Aiya, all bullshit!  laugh.gif  I dont care whether philip woo was doing plagiarism or what! I JUST CARE to go for lecturer who is famous enough and can help me to pass all my papers! That is only my goals! %*&@# jackson miller! Talk so much for what! Crap!  whistling.gif

I was from other state and came to kl and study acca. Well, in this sitting i am going for daniel ho (f9), low chin ann (f8), and retake (f7--last sitting taught by keith farmer). I would consider philip woo and sheila if i wana take 1 more paper for p1!  wink.gif Both of my secondary friends in sunway also registered for P1 philip woo coz their time clash with college time table.

No need to waste time quarrel with those jia ba bo xi zo eh lang! tongue.gif  After all students are smart enough, they will go for philip woo or sheila no matter what jackson miller comments in this topic!  rclxms.gif
at the moment i am really jia ba bo xi zo eh lang(nothing to do...too free) so i want to reply ur comment in order to "waste" my time...

Jackson_miller said he is not a lecturer...he is working in kpmg...1 of the big 4. how big is big though??? nvm...
although he might be a lecturer by profession, he doesn't promote his class. he didnt say "attend this/that class". so we cant say he is trying to fish student. in fact by using the word "majority", i feel carlosandy is a promoter for sheila/philip woo for P!. this is my personal opinion...dun sue me 4 dat. Dr Parmindar is new in teaching P1 but P1 is a new sub. every lecturer is still new to P1. i rmbr sheila mentioned she teach P1 mainly because she used to teach ethics in CIMA long time ago. she didn't mention audit.

though the real identity of J_M is very suspicious, he is entitled to his personal opinion. how can u blatantly conclude 1 lecturer is better than the other although "majority" said so. PLEASE DON'T OPPRESS the minority. i believe each n every lecturer is commited to their job n we as student should not question their ability.

N/B: unlike wuliao auditor, i dun really know who J_M is. i am not siding anybody. i juz hope this forum is for discussion purpose n not for small arguments.

This post has been edited by rvp: Jun 25 2008, 01:13 AM
craby123
post Jun 25 2008, 01:17 AM

QUOTE(andy888 @ Jun 25 2008, 02:56 AM)
u make me laugh.................... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
It's my pleasure blush.gif
carlosandy
post Jun 25 2008, 01:18 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(rvp @ Jun 25 2008, 01:11 AM)
at the moment i am really jia ba bo xi zo eh lang(nothing to do...too free) so i want to reply ur comment in order to "waste" my time...

Jackson_miller said he is not a lecturer...he is working in kpmg...1 of the big 4. how big is big though??? nvm...
although he might be a lecturer by profession, he doesn't promote his class. he didnt say "attend this/that class". so we cant say he is trying to fish student. in fact by using the word "majority", i feel carlosandy is a promoter for sheila/philip woo for P!. this is my personal opinion...dun sue me 4 dat. Dr Parmindar is new in teaching P1 but P1 is a new sub. every lecturer is still new to P1. i rmbr sheila mentioned she teach P1 mainly because she used to teach ethics in CIMA long time ago. she didn't mention audit.

though the real identity of J_M is very suspicious, he is entitled to his personal opinion. how can u blatantly conclude 1 lecturer is better than the other although "majority" said so. PLEASE DON'T OPPRESS the minority. i believe each n every lecturer is commited to their job n we as student should not question their ability.

N/B: unlike wuliao auditor, i dun really know who J_M is. i am not siding anybody. i juz hope this forum is for discussion purpose n not for small arguments.
Yalo, that's I always said "If you feel that lecturer is good, then just go ahead, why want to argue so small thing".

Again, I'm not promoter for Sheila/Philip, but based on what I know was, a lot of student after attend their class oso agree they are the good lecturer in P1.

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Jun 25 2008, 01:19 AM
rvp
post Jun 25 2008, 01:31 AM

371 posts

wu liao n J_M are da same user. impossible. i saw da 2 online at da same time.

wu_liao auditor. luckily liverpool acquired torres last season. if not they won't get 4th place
craby123
post Jun 25 2008, 01:48 AM

QUOTE(rvp @ Jun 25 2008, 03:11 AM)

Appreciate your point of view. smile.gif Well, i am a person who seldom comments on any topics. I used to go to many forums and read all the acca posts from pages to pages. So i can confirm and knew that carlosandy was really a student, and a good senior like COOLLY who are always willing to help out we junior that faces problems in relation with acca. I interrupted this topic because i beh tahan jackson miller who loves to argue with carlosandy. shocking.gif

By the way, J_M mentioned that he is not a lecturer, he is currently working in kpmg. rclxub.gif Haha! Well, an accountant or auditor should focus most of their time and effort in their job. They always work until very late one and dont have the time or mood to go and know the P1 study materials loh! So free ah? Nothing to do? Worked for the whole day long already still not tired meh? Wana kepo kepo! shakehead.gif If you graduated from your university already, will you still kepo go and know what is the topics, detail changes, examiner's latest comments for your previous papers? You wana resit? Hahahhaha! doh.gif They already passed the papers what. If you think rationally, you will understand what i mean. icon_rolleyes.gif Even our most respected seniour COOLLY who was an accountant now dont have the time to view all the posts and give comments so frequently la... whistling.gif

And hor, since he was so brilliant, y didnt he comment on other professional papers one? Oi, come on, share share ma, share share your experiences! yawn.gif

Haha, J_M as an accountant who works in kpmg should be interested in earning $$ from the share market like his peers and other working adult discussing which shares to buy and not acca papers which he already passed. Like air asia share prices drops from rm2 to rm0.78. Hahahhahahahahha! sweat.gif

Common sense brows.gif

This post has been edited by craby123: Jun 25 2008, 03:50 AM
rvp
post Jun 25 2008, 02:13 AM

371 posts

QUOTE(craby123 @ Jun 25 2008, 01:48 AM)
Appreciate your point of view.  smile.gif  Well, i am a person who seldom comments on any topics. I used to go to many forums and read all the acca posts from pages to pages. So i can confirm and knew that carlosandy was really a student, and a good senior like COOLY who are always willing to helped out we junior that faces problems in relation with acca. I interrupted this topic because i beh tahan jackson miller who loves to argue with carlosandy. shocking.gif

By the way, J_M mentioned that he is not a lecturer, he is currently working in kpmg.  rclxub.gif Haha! Well, an accountant or auditor should focus most of their time and effort in their job. They always work until very late and dont have the time or mood to go and know the P1 study materials loh! So free ah? Ha, if you graduated from your university already, will you still kepo go and know what is the topic and details changes for your previous papers?  doh.gif They already passed the papers what. If you think rationally, you will understand what i mean.  icon_rolleyes.gif  Even our most respected seniour COOLY who was an accountant now dont have the time to view all the posts and give comments frequently la... whistling.gif

Haha, J_M as an accountant who works in kpmg should be interested in earning $$ from the share market like his peers and other working adult discussing which shares to buy and not acca papers which he already passed. Like air asia share prices drops from rm2 to rm0.78. Hahahhahahahahha!  sweat.gif Common sense brows.gif
thx...and i too doubt the real identity of J_M. u hv made a gud argument out of it. regardless who he is (kpmg's staff, Dr ???, student or etc) he has his own opinion. besides, he writes BEAUTIFOOL english. rclxms.gif we can enrich our vocabulary.each lecturer has its own pros n cons. as no human is perfect.

roy_pck
post Jun 25 2008, 03:09 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!
552 posts

Appreciate your point of view.  smile.gif  Well, i am a person who seldom comments on any topics. I used to go to many forums and read all the acca posts from pages to pages. So i can confirm and knew that carlosandy was really a student, and a good senior like COOLY who are always willing to helped out we junior that faces problems in relation with acca. I interrupted this topic because i beh tahan jackson miller who loves to argue with carlosandy. shocking.gif

By the way, J_M mentioned that he is not a lecturer, he is currently working in kpmg.  rclxub.gif Haha! Well, an accountant or auditor should focus most of their time and effort in their job. They always work until very late and dont have the time or mood to go and know the P1 study materials loh! So free ah? Ha, if you graduated from your university already, will you still kepo go and know what is the topic and details changes for your previous papers?  doh.gif They already passed the papers what. If you think rationally, you will understand what i mean.  icon_rolleyes.gif  Even our most respected seniour COOLY who was an accountant now dont have the time to view all the posts and give comments frequently la... whistling.gif

Haha, J_M as an accountant who works in kpmg should be interested in earning $$ from the share market like his peers and other working adult discussing which shares to buy and not acca papers which he already passed. Like air asia share prices drops from rm2 to rm0.78. Hahahhahahahahha!  sweat.gif Common sense brows.gif
long time din reply d but i've been following this JvC war. basically i think carlosandy was right. this is a forum n we r just giving our opinion based on our experience n knowledge. everyone has got diff learning style. this lecturer is good for me doesn't mean he is good for u too. there's no point to argue on small small things. if u feel a particular lecturer is good then ignore our opinion and go ahead.

i think we might need COOLLY to come out n settle this war. laugh.gif miss those good old times which there's not much argument here. everyone respects each others. thumbup.gif

p/s : forgive my broken english not as good as J_M laugh.gif and plz do not discuss football here to avoid warning from mod.
rvp
post Jun 25 2008, 03:37 AM

371 posts

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Jun 25 2008, 03:09 AM)
long time din reply d but i've been following this JvC war. basically i think carlosandy was right. this is a forum n we r just giving our opinion based on our experience n knowledge. everyone has got diff learning style. this lecturer is good for me doesn't mean he is good for u too. there's no point to argue on small small things. if u feel a particular lecturer is good then ignore our opinion and go ahead.

i think we might need COOLLY to come out n settle this war.  laugh.gif miss those good old times which there's not much argument here. everyone respects each others. thumbup.gif

p/s : forgive my broken english not as good as J_M laugh.gif  and plz do not discuss football here to avoid warning from mod.
now is euro 08. so football fever. include sum futball staff inside. anyway nice hearing from u bro!
craby123
post Jun 25 2008, 04:25 AM

QUOTE(Jackson_Miller @ Jun 18 2008, 04:25 PM)
The P1 question for june 2008 is already out. To say that P1 does not need to show how to run or manage an organization is too general and is such a sweeping statement.

For example, Q. 1(e) asks students to describe the difficulties of maintaining internal controls while working with sub-contractors. This implies the difficulties of managing and running organizations while work is being sub-contracted. It has to be remembered that the ultimate aims of internal controls according to my P1 lecturer is to ensure that the strategic objectives of the organization is met. By that, it means that the mission, vision, goals, objectives and strategies can be met. Hence it does touches on running and managing an organization.

Sub-contracting will also affect how organizations are managed and run. Sub-contracting is also emphasized in management papers like P3.

It is also wrong to say that P1 answers are not flexible. The same can be said for some areas in P3. Once again, you have made sweeping statements. In all subjects, there will be some questions that have a fixed answer and others that may have a more broader scope of answer, based on your elaborations.

To give an example, in the December 2007 P1 Q. 2(b), there was the question that asked how risk awareness could be embedded in the culture of the organization. Would there be a specific answer to this question since you say that P1 is not flexible. The truth is there can be more than one answer for this question. A student who has learnt P3 can apply the work of Johnson, Scholes and Whittington’s cultural web to explain how risk awareness can be embedded in the organization. There may also be other ways to explain the answer. This shows that the answers in P1 can also be flexible and not specific as you have mentioned earlier.

In the same token, one can also say that P1 can also goreng as what you have mentioned for P3. However, a student who has taken P3 knows to goreng requires sound knowledge of P3. Good goreng comes from good knowledge.

It is also not true that P1 does not require business models. Models like Mandelow’s power-interest matrix, risk response models are examples that P1 also needs models.

In addition, issues on internal controls are not only found in audit papers. IT security and controls in paper 2.1 for example, had also covered on controls (depending on who taught you paper 2.1). Also risk management is covered in paper P3 under project management. Coincidentally, the June 2008 Q. 1(b) touched on project risks with regards to the development of the Dam project. Some knowledge of project management and even the work of Mc Farlan’s Implementation risk matrix can be used (remember, a diagram was needed). Was it covered in paper 3.1?

Finally, it must be remembered that CG, ethics and CSR are also covered in P3.

In conclusion, it is important not to make sweeping statements and realize not only audit lecturers should teach P1 but also management lecturers. Rhys Johnson, the person in charge of ACCA in this part of the region has mentioned just before the P1 December 2007 exams (the first exam for P1), that the ideal person to teach P1 should be a paper 3.5 lecturer. I assure you that this is what he has said.
My dear jackson miller, adui, wana praise you leh, for being able to analyse the P1 paper so professionally. Ah, i really admire and venerate you. I whole night cannot sleep leh. How ar? Are you still single and available? wub.gif

Wow, working at kpmg sharp sharp 5 o clock evening can go back home already hor. P1 question for june 2008 is out already i also dont know. blush.gif Since you have the free time to analyse those past year questions, do you have the free time to do some part time job? How about be my P1 home private tutor? wub.gif wub.gif drool.gif drool.gif

cutievil
post Jun 25 2008, 04:59 AM

i am a newbie here, in fact, this is my first time visiting this forum. i should say, there seems to be a lot going on in here, maybe more than what i have expected. from the JvC war, to questioning of the identities of jackson miller and wu liao auditor, this is really something smile.gif
kelvinlee1983
post Jun 25 2008, 08:22 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Jun 25 2008, 03:09 AM)

i think we might need COOLLY to come out n settle this war.  laugh.gif miss those good old times which there's not much argument here. everyone respects each others. thumbup.gif

p/s : forgive my broken english not as good as J_M laugh.gif  and plz do not discuss football here to avoid warning from mod.
COOLLY is a nice person,but she can't help them. She was grad before the syllabus changed smile.gif
vin_ann
post Jun 25 2008, 09:00 AM

10,912 posts

any1 volunter to open new thread V4??
Jackson_Miller
post Jun 25 2008, 09:23 AM

18 posts

Appreciate your point of view.  smile.gif  Well, i am a person who seldom comments on any topics. I used to go to many forums and read all the acca posts from pages to pages. So i can confirm and knew that carlosandy was really a student, and a good senior like COOLLY who are always willing to help out we junior that faces problems in relation with acca. I interrupted this topic because i beh tahan jackson miller who loves to argue with carlosandy. shocking.gif

By the way, J_M mentioned that he is not a lecturer, he is currently working in kpmg.  rclxub.gif Haha! Well, an accountant or auditor should focus most of their time and effort in their job. They always work until very late one and dont have the time or mood to go and know the P1 study materials loh! So free ah? Nothing to do? Worked for the whole day long already still not tired meh? Wana kepo kepo!  shakehead.gif If you graduated from your university already, will you still kepo go and know what is the topics, detail changes, examiner's latest comments for your previous papers?  You wana resit? Hahahhaha! doh.gif They already passed the papers what. If you think rationally, you will understand what i mean.  icon_rolleyes.gif  Even our most respected seniour COOLLY who was an accountant now dont have the time to view all the posts and give comments so frequently la... whistling.gif

And hor, since he was so brilliant, y didnt he comment on other professional papers one? Oi, come on, share share ma, share share your experiences!  yawn.gif

Haha, J_M as an accountant who works in kpmg should be interested in earning $$ from the share market like his peers and other working adult discussing which shares to buy and not acca papers which he already passed. Like air asia share prices drops from rm2 to rm0.78. Hahahhahahahahha!  sweat.gif

Common sense brows.gif
Not all acountants think that money is everything in life. There are a few ACCA grads who have become workers of God.

Focus more on external events such as the credit crunch crisis, Maltheus theory etc. to see the bigger picture.

Air Asia...
carlosandy
post Jun 25 2008, 09:38 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(Jackson_Miller @ Jun 25 2008, 09:23 AM)
Not all acountants think that money is everything in life. There are a few ACCA grads who have become workers of God.

Focus more on external events such as the credit crunch crisis, Maltheus theory etc. to see the bigger picture.

Air Asia...
Yeah, Jackson_Miller back now.

Hope he will fine today.
ellimist
post Jun 25 2008, 10:24 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

This damn thread is derailing,and to stop further derailment can we freakin drop the JvC issue.

@craby123 : mind your language,don't go bout calling another forumer and idiot. Express your opinion like a future professional.

@Jackson : U should start ignoring them. By their manner of replies and structure of arguement,I'm sure by now you can see their erm,level of thought so to speak. It's pointless trying to convey a point to such people.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jun 25 2008, 10:24 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

sleep.gif I think my opinions of ACCA students are pretty much sealed now. I'll need to look elsewhere for wife if this is how acca students are...

This post has been edited by ThanatosSwiftfire: Jun 25 2008, 10:25 AM
vin_ann
post Jun 25 2008, 10:26 AM

10,912 posts

how come no 1 answer my question 1?

who volunteer to open new thread V4?

as 2500 maximum allowed post per thread is reached.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jun 25 2008, 10:40 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

V4 made, move there XD
b3llad0nna
post Jun 25 2008, 10:41 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jun 25 2008, 10:24 AM)
sleep.gif I think my opinions of ACCA students are pretty much sealed now. I'll need to look elsewhere for wife if this is how acca students are...
Haha..word to that smile.gif I mean of all things tht we can argue about...they rather argue about lecturer's credibility..Time to look at the big picture!
vin_ann
post Jun 25 2008, 10:44 AM

10,912 posts

here is the V4.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/727328

mod pls close this.

btw, no more useless argument...

128 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 128 >Top