Ppl who taking care of elderly,, how do u cope?

TSMegaCanonF
post Sep 1 2025, 02:28 PM, updated 3 months ago

861 posts

Srsly man.

ayam feel yesterday ayam at breaking point alrdy. Work is already tiring, then come PH, no rest, have to take care full time . felt that even merid life oso is taking a hit. I miss those days when there are no responsibilities at all . well, that's being adult, I guess.

taking care of elderly is really hard man . 60kg + want to up and down each n every time , change pampers, etc .

Now I'm trying to diet and exercise almost daily, quit all vape n smoking, so that I'd either go out early with heart attack or live healthily like Tun at 100 and not be dependent on anyone.

metalfire
post Sep 1 2025, 02:34 PM

1,289 posts

Caretaker job is never easy. Those look down on caretaker's job go experience yourself then will know.

Pay for caretaker job also complain expensive.
GalaxyV
post Sep 1 2025, 02:35 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(metalfire @ Sep 1 2025, 02:34 PM)
Caretaker job is never easy. Those look down on caretaker's job go experience yourself then will know.

exactly

never try, never know it is not an easy job
Atrocious
post Sep 1 2025, 02:44 PM

96 posts

You won't last long..
dwks
post Sep 1 2025, 03:05 PM

414 posts

That’s why I let my ma go ham with food, enjoy lol the delicious food and laze around as much she wants

Either go happy or go in pain, ur choice
Nofusa
post Sep 1 2025, 03:17 PM

32 posts

My nephew just sent my aunty to one of the many nursing homes in PJ.

This post has been edited by Nofusa: Sep 15 2025, 12:52 PM
mini orchard
post Sep 1 2025, 03:20 PM

14,511 posts

Children see, later they will follow ... U lead by example.
Chanwsan
post Sep 1 2025, 03:37 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

I quit my sinkie job come back fOr fAmIlY, turns out everyone see me like a retarded loser instead of filial piety.

I don't cope. I'm now broke and broken. Hope I'm more intelligent next life
anzen600
post Sep 1 2025, 03:42 PM

Impossible is nothing ~Conquer your self !
1,238 posts

Why not send to nursing home and let the pros to handle?
mini orchard
post Sep 1 2025, 04:03 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(anzen600 @ Sep 1 2025, 03:42 PM)
Unless earn 15-20k a month, nursing care easily up to 5k for bedridden excluding nursing supplies, medical and special food.

That, also no guaranteed they will handle like a pro unless one don't mind or no eye see.
Atrocious
post Sep 1 2025, 04:13 PM

96 posts

You'll either mentally or physically collapse then that'll be even worse. Go survey and send to a nursing home that's within your budget..

This post has been edited by Atrocious: Sep 1 2025, 04:13 PM
pisces88
post Sep 1 2025, 04:15 PM

3,966 posts

Taking care alone , siblings?

This is time to talk to them about hiring a helping hand, either fulltime or part-time. Or if budget allows, you can consider send to daycare for old folks in the morning then pick them up at night bring home. Like kindergarten for kids.
galkelly
post Sep 1 2025, 04:25 PM

751 posts

Sometime the old folks themselves dunwan to go also.
Die die wanna stay home
Atrocious
post Sep 1 2025, 04:31 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(galkelly @ Sep 1 2025, 04:25 PM)
Die die wanna stay home
Explaination of benefits are needed. It's the best for both sides. 24hrs with staffs monitoring is way better and safer, you won't be able to do that. If you do, your bio clock will get severely messed up.
TSMegaCanonF
post Sep 1 2025, 04:37 PM

861 posts

seems like a taboo for type M to send to old folks . now manageable with caregiver . but even then when the caregiver is on leave i have to take over.

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Sep 1 2025, 04:15 PM)

This is time to talk to them about hiring a helping hand, either fulltime or part-time. Or if budget allows, you can consider send to daycare for old folks in the morning then pick them up at night bring home.  Like kindergarten for kids.
unfortunately no help at all since they all had their own family . also since the parents house i bought for a discount. so no choice .

if i known it would be this hard, i would've chose otherwise.
TSMegaCanonF
post Sep 1 2025, 04:38 PM

861 posts

QUOTE(metalfire @ Sep 1 2025, 02:34 PM)

true. not even locals want to do these kinds of jobs .
SUSXploit Machine
post Sep 1 2025, 04:39 PM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,247 posts

my mum is flex.gif at 72 now, she's by herself and she spends time gardening and TV and sometimes with her smartphone .. no observation needed, just sometimes she tend to forget something biggrin.gif
galkelly
post Sep 1 2025, 04:39 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(Atrocious @ Sep 1 2025, 04:31 PM)
Explaination of benefits are needed. It's the best for both sides. 24hrs with staffs monitoring is way better and safer, you won't be able to do that. If you do, your bio clock will get severely messed up.
Manage to sent eventually, but everytime visit they also cry say wanna go home.... How ..?!
GalaxyV
post Sep 1 2025, 04:41 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Nofusa @ Sep 1 2025, 03:17 PM)
My nephew just sent my aunty to one of the many nursing homes in PJ. It's called PJ Old Folks. Chose that one because of the price....
how much?
Atrocious
post Sep 1 2025, 04:41 PM

96 posts

Here in JB also got type M in nursing home. Once your bio clock's messed up, your immune system goes..
Nofusa
post Sep 1 2025, 04:45 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Sep 1 2025, 04:41 PM)
how much?
Depend on needs and requirement of the patient
metalfire
post Sep 1 2025, 04:45 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(galkelly @ Sep 1 2025, 04:25 PM)
Die die wanna stay home
yes old folks die die don't want to go...those not able bodied with no caretaker then have to go nursing home.

QUOTE(Atrocious @ Sep 1 2025, 04:31 PM)
old folks mentality, go nursing home = die faster.

but they forgot, their children also need to make a living. If care for old folks, who is gonna bear the living expenses and etc. Caretakers also got their own responsibilities and they are also human.
Atrocious
post Sep 1 2025, 04:47 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(galkelly @ Sep 1 2025, 04:39 PM)
Manage to sent eventually, but everytime visit they also cry say wanna go home.... How ..?!
Choose the one WITHIN BUDGET and NEAREST to your house so you can visit MORE OFTEN. Mine is like 10-15mins away so I visit almost every morning to bring midnight prepared hard boiled eggs via mykasih's..
post Sep 1 2025, 04:48 PM

388 posts

Yes it’s really not easy to take care of the elderly

I sympathise with you TS, make sure to take care of yourself as well
metalfire
post Sep 1 2025, 04:50 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(galkelly @ Sep 1 2025, 04:39 PM)
bear the weight, guilt and plight within. Not everybody is rich and can afford luxuries.

Just make more time to visit them often. When with them tell them stories and happenings with your life and family so they won't feel disconnected.

Get the family together with the old folks when they are still alive and able.

No point doing big hu ha ceremony after they are not around and only write long ass poems for the internet to see.
mini orchard
post Sep 1 2025, 04:52 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Sep 1 2025, 04:15 PM)

This is time to talk to them about hiring a helping hand, either fulltime or part-time. Or if budget allows, you can consider send to daycare for old folks in the morning then pick them up at night bring home.  Like kindergarten for kids.
Provided is not bedridden lar 😭

QUOTE(metalfire @ Sep 1 2025, 04:45 PM)
but they forgot, their children also need to make a living. If care for old folks, who is gonna bear the living expenses and etc. Caretakers also got their own responsibilities and they are also human.
They will forget. They want to be in places with someone they know.

When u visit nursing home, macam2 behaviour ada. Those not mentally sick can become one later. One person cry, scream or shout, the entire old folks all siau jor 🫣

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Sep 1 2025, 05:46 PM
galkelly
post Sep 1 2025, 04:57 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(metalfire @ Sep 1 2025, 04:50 PM)
bear the weight, guilt and plight within. Not everybody is rich and can afford luxuries.

Just make more time to visit them often. When with them tell them stories and happenings with your life and family so they won't feel disconnected.

Get the family together with the old folks when they are still alive and able.

No point doing big hu ha ceremony after they are not around and only write long ass poems for the internet to see.
All the yima kucheh will talk behind your back as u are the bad person...
anzen600
post Sep 1 2025, 04:59 PM

1,238 posts

TS may I know how old is your parent?
smallbug
post Sep 1 2025, 05:17 PM

873 posts

work gets harder if they got dementia.
Atrocious
post Sep 1 2025, 05:38 PM

96 posts

Once insomnia kicks in, you're done.
metalfire
post Sep 1 2025, 06:04 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(galkelly @ Sep 1 2025, 04:57 PM)
All the yima kucheh will talk behind your back as u are the bad person...
tell them stfu, no help then talk mat chart.
howyoulikethat
post Sep 1 2025, 06:17 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Sep 1 2025, 02:28 PM)
Srsly man.

ayam feel yesterday ayam at breaking point alrdy. Work is already tiring, then come PH, no rest, have to take care full time . felt that even merid life oso is taking a hit. I miss those days when there are no responsibilities at all . well, that's being adult, I guess.

taking care of elderly is really hard man . 60kg + want to up and down each n every time , change pampers, etc .

Now I'm trying to diet and exercise almost daily, quit all vape n smoking,  so that I'd either go out early with heart attack or live healthily like Tun at 100 and not be dependent on anyone.
salute you. Not easy to take care of elderly. Need to have the patience & the heart to do it. All the best
gnc88
post Sep 1 2025, 06:27 PM

145 posts

Not easy. My wife suffered emotionally when MIL was alive, especially when MIL started developing dementia. We moved out to not be under the same roof so that got some breathing space. Yet, still kena kutuk tiap2 hari. Anyway, long story short, no shortcut except really.. tunggu mati.
BUprop
post Sep 1 2025, 06:41 PM

67 posts

Srsly man.

Now I'm trying to diet and exercise almost daily, quit all vape n smoking,  so that I'd either go out early with heart attack or live healthily like Tun at 100 and not be dependent on anyone.
I took care of my mom for 5 years. Change diapers and shower for her. I feel for you. Not easy.

QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Sep 1 2025, 03:37 PM)
I quit my sinkie job come back fOr fAmIlY, turns out everyone see me like a retarded loser instead of filial piety.

I feel for you. I was broke too. Didn't work for 5 years. Now slowly rebuilding my life.

yes old folks die die don't want to go...those not able bodied with no caretaker then have to go nursing home.

Actually it's true if masuk the wrong home. My mom passed away within 2 years after masuk home.

This post has been edited by BUprop: Sep 1 2025, 08:14 PM
StillAlive
post Sep 1 2025, 08:33 PM

My mother is suffering for dementia and minor stroke. I am taking care alone and need to work as well. Luckily, my workplace is just a distance away from my house. I feel helpless as I cannot do anything to help her but just try to spend more time with her and assist her in the daily life routine.

Personally, I feel that my life is gone....My daily routine is about working and taking care of my mother. It has been three years...still long way to go...

This post has been edited by StillAlive: Sep 1 2025, 08:36 PM
metalfire
post Sep 1 2025, 09:35 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(BUprop @ Sep 1 2025, 06:41 PM)
I took care of my mom for 5 years. Change diapers and shower for her. I feel for you. Not easy.
I feel for you. I was broke too. Didn't work for 5 years. Now slowly rebuilding my life.
Actually it's true if masuk the wrong home. My mom passed away within 2 years after masuk home.
Agreed, some not good homes can end life faster. I've seen some 3 months, 1 month. While some can last for years even.

And then there are those bastards who just dumps the old folks and disappears. Family never comes, young ones too busy enjoying yolo life, the spouse will not bother, and some families even go to the extend to change contact numbers and addresses and abandon the old folks totally.
Kpjh
post Sep 1 2025, 10:33 PM

69 posts

Srsly man.

Bro, consider the daily carers/nurses too. Can come half or full day. 24 hours oso got. My acquaintances say they are good.
hanhanhan
post Sep 1 2025, 10:40 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

my family dealing with this problem. call daily nurse/carer also duwan. keras kepala duwan let 'stranger into the home', but can fall down few times a day.

some also kena minor stroke have mobility issues but insist duwan to use tongkat, nor apply for OKU benefits.

seems like that generation very prideful haih

nelson969
post Sep 1 2025, 10:42 PM

318 posts

i feel u man, my father is stubborn, gorilla person, misogynist, ( his dna produce muscle one and my sister inherit almost like 65% , even in her 30s she look like large girl but chubby )

and my mother is misandry, dont like his husband also

both are boomer generation, those era are prideful one, if u say bad about them, their dignity , face all pecah and angry one, like those korean / japanese boomer, say bad , go against their agenda / idea, then angry angry, toxic filial piety in another word

i really wish one day i can reborn into very good family environment

both like oil and water, have own ego and opinion. I need explain like hundred of time to change their mind.

Yea if worst come to worst just go nursing home.

This post has been edited by nelson969: Sep 1 2025, 10:43 PM
MrBaba
post Sep 1 2025, 11:48 PM

2,506 posts

Srsly man.

U think it's just good gene make most T1 can live long ?
contagiouseddie
post Sep 2 2025, 12:13 AM

304 posts

After my dad passed away last year, left my mother. Ironically both of them chased me out of my very own home a year before that. As I couldn't bear the daily torture on me and my wife & kid, we left albeit I still go in and checked on them everyday. After my dad is gone, I hired a maid to look after my mother. Have to manage her everyday and she already started have Alzhemeir probably after losing her husband that she hates for the past 50 years. Have 6 siblings but basically non want to get involved or help despite parents love them more. Here I'm at midnight, looking at CCTV every day, always running around for my parents. It's a tormenting feeling when you have your own family to take care, a job to earn a living. Never have time for yourself.
TS, just hang in there and eventually this will end. There will be long lonely road ahead, but just remember to give yourself at pat at back that you are already doing the best you can!
RollsHill P
post Sep 2 2025, 06:46 AM

Probation

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 2 2025, 12:13 AM)
After my dad passed away last year, left my mother. Ironically both of them chased me out of my very own home  a year before that. As I couldn't bear the daily torture on me and my wife & kid, we left albeit I still go in and checked on them everyday. After my dad is gone, I hired a maid to look after my mother. Have to manage her everyday and she already started have Alzhemeir probably after losing her husband that she hates for the past 50 years. Have 6 siblings but basically non want to get involved  or help despite parents love them more. Here I'm at midnight, looking at CCTV every day, always running around for my parents. It's a tormenting feeling when you have your own family to take care, a job to earn a living. Never have time for yourself.
TS, just hang in there and eventually this will end. There will be long lonely road ahead, but just remember to give yourself at pat at back that you are already doing the best you can!
It's ironic that somehow the child that's least loved, ends up taking care of their parents in the end.
Skylinestar
post Sep 2 2025, 07:31 AM

Mega Duck
10,470 posts

I wish euthanasia is legal here. I don't want to be a burden to others when I'm old.
gashout
post Sep 2 2025, 07:38 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

Srsly man.

QUOTE(BUprop @ Sep 1 2025, 06:41 PM)
QUOTE(StillAlive @ Sep 1 2025, 08:33 PM)
My mother is suffering for dementia and minor stroke. I am taking care alone and need to work as well. Luckily, my workplace is just a distance away from my house. I feel helpless as I cannot do anything to help her but just try to spend more time with her and assist her in the daily life routine.

Personally, I feel that my life is gone....My daily routine is about working and taking care of my mother. It has been three years...still long way to go...
QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 2 2025, 12:13 AM)
After my dad passed away last year, left my mother. Ironically both of them chased me out of my very own home  a year before that. As I couldn't bear the daily torture on me and my wife & kid, we left albeit I still go in and checked on them everyday. After my dad is gone, I hired a maid to look after my mother. Have to manage her everyday and she already started have Alzhemeir probably after losing her husband that she hates for the past 50 years. Have 6 siblings but basically non want to get involved  or help despite parents love them more. Here I'm at midnight, looking at CCTV every day, always running around for my parents. It's a tormenting feeling when you have your own family to take care, a job to earn a living. Never have time for yourself.
all good children, no charsiew. on behalf of your parents, i say thanks to your time, money, tears, pain, sacrifices, loneliness, which no one will understand.

hickups
post Sep 2 2025, 07:54 AM

477 posts

If u visit hospital ward for old ppl ..u will shit brix
Getting old plus sick is scary

This post has been edited by hickups: Sep 2 2025, 07:56 AM
TSMegaCanonF
post Sep 2 2025, 08:09 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(anzen600 @ Sep 1 2025, 04:59 PM)
TS may I know how old is your parent?
79 now
contagiouseddie
post Sep 2 2025, 08:11 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(hickups @ Sep 2 2025, 07:54 AM)
If u visit hospital ward for old ppl ..u will shit brix
Getting old plus sick is scary
60kg body weight is like 100kg when it happens. It's like dead weight. And all they kept asking is want to go back and they will do havoc when wish is not granted.
mini orchard
post Sep 2 2025, 08:51 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 2 2025, 07:31 AM)
I wish euthanasia is legal here. I don't want to be a burden to others when I'm old.
U won't do it, if is legal. It takes great mind to end one life.

And those who says he wants to die by commiting suicide will chicken out at 14th floor. Many videos shown all those jokers didn't jump down.

Finally, those who did it, will do it quietly. Don't have to wait for euthanasia.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Sep 2 2025, 08:59 AM
mini orchard
post Sep 2 2025, 08:51 AM

14,511 posts

Deleted .. repeat.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Sep 2 2025, 08:52 AM
swanlover
post Sep 2 2025, 09:02 AM

738 posts

It’s a blessing to take care of the old, not a burden.

Depends how u see it. Don’t take it a as a guli, use it as a wisdom, converse with them.

Having kids are priceless , and only if you can see.

Those thinking only have kids when rich can F off. Lolx

This post has been edited by swanlover: Sep 2 2025, 09:14 AM
romuluz777
post Sep 2 2025, 09:03 AM

2,204 posts

Nursing home is the way to go when your life style suffers. There is no other way.
contagiouseddie
post Sep 2 2025, 09:34 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Sep 2 2025, 09:03 AM)
Nursing home is the way to go when  your life style suffers. There is no other way.
Definitely an option but only if you have money to pay. It's not cheap and those lower few K ones really don't give proper care. For example, the one in Klang (Acacia) that used to be a hotel building, cost about 9K minimum if you are still independent. Not independent and needed mobility assistant, they will charge extra cost.

TS's caregiver is also not cheap I guess as those that have off days are paid based on days. Had one when my dad came back from hospital, it was RM150 per day and they need 2 days off per month. So a month comes to RM4.5K.
anakkk
post Sep 2 2025, 09:36 AM

2,111 posts

make sure you are still healthy when you are that age, else cham also
Youth City Nilai
post Sep 2 2025, 10:01 AM

30 posts

My father had a minor fall at first, nothing too serious but he needed walker to walk after that. A week later, he had a more serious fall, I asked him and mom to come to my house immediately so me, wife and siblings could help look after him.

After about 10 days at my home, he seem more improved, better focus, better health and is able to stand a bit with the help of the walker. After 10 days, he seem shivering and feel cold even when the fan is off. 11th day he seem like have a seizure and have difficulty breathing. We call the ambulance and admit him to hospital. To our shock we were told he had lung infection.

First day in hospital he seem fine, but not able to talk, second day he was sleeping whole day. Third day, he seem recovered, able to move his hand and feet. Fourth day, I was shocked that he passed away.

I am still trying to come to terms, although I do get signs and dreams from God/him that he was okay. Just the speed of his decline I could not come to terms with.

Unlike the above stories of old folks lasting months/even years. My father was gone within a matter of weeks.

This post has been edited by Youth City Nilai: Sep 2 2025, 10:02 AM
contagiouseddie
post Sep 2 2025, 10:05 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(Youth City Nilai @ Sep 2 2025, 10:01 AM)
My father had a minor fall at first, nothing too serious but he needed walker to walk after that. A week later, he had a more serious fall, I asked him and mom to come to my house immediately so me, wife and siblings could help look after him.

After about 10 days at my home, he seem more improved, better focus, better health and is able to stand a bit with the help of the walker. After 10 days, he seem shivering and feel cold even when the fan is off. 11th day he seem like have a seizure and have difficulty breathing. We call the ambulance and admit him to hospital. To our shock we were told he had lung infection.

First day in hospital he seem fine, but not able to talk, second day he was sleeping whole day. Third day, he seem recovered, able to move his hand and feet. Fourth day, I was shocked that he passed away.

I am still trying to come to terms, although I do get signs and dreams from God/him that he was okay. Just the speed of his decline I could not come to terms with.

Unlike the above stories of old folks lasting months/even years. My father was gone within a matter of weeks.
My dad went the same route as yours. Fell, got lung infection in hospital and eventually succumbed to that even though discharged (doctor mcm tahu and prefer to grant the patient's wish to go home).
Youth City Nilai
post Sep 2 2025, 10:11 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 2 2025, 10:05 AM)
My dad went the same route as yours. Fell, got lung infection in hospital and eventually succumbed to that even though discharged (doctor mcm tahu and prefer to grant the patient's wish to go home).
My dad seem to show signs of infection at my house, weird thing is he don't have any fever/cough symptoms before that.

At hospital he seem to have recovered by third day, even the doctor came in happily and told us he improved a lot on the third day.

we were shocked when got a call from hospital he passed away on fourth day

This post has been edited by Youth City Nilai: Sep 2 2025, 10:11 AM
theozis
post Sep 2 2025, 10:12 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 2 2025, 10:05 AM)
experienced doctor can estimate the time left for the person to be deceased
theozis
post Sep 2 2025, 10:14 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(Youth City Nilai @ Sep 2 2025, 10:01 AM)

to be frank, rest in peace with short suffer period is a good the end of most peoples wish to
theozis
post Sep 2 2025, 10:15 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 2 2025, 09:34 AM)
Definitely an option but only if you have money to pay. It's not cheap and those lower few K ones really don't give proper care. For example, the one in Klang (Acacia)  that used to be a hotel building, cost about 9K minimum if you are still independent. Not independent and needed mobility assistant,  they will charge extra cost.

TS's caregiver is also not cheap I guess as those that have off days are paid based on days. Had one when my dad came back from hospital, it was RM150 per day and they need 2 days off per month. So a month comes to RM4.5K.
there are many cheaper and yet good servce old folds nursing home
9K is too expensive.
mini orchard
post Sep 2 2025, 10:26 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 2 2025, 09:34 AM)
Definitely an option but only if you have money to pay. It's not cheap and those lower few K ones really don't give proper care. For example, the one in Klang (Acacia)  that used to be a hotel building, cost about 9K minimum if you are still independent. Not independent and needed mobility assistant,  they will charge extra cost.

Agreed that average wage earner or even normal business people can't afford nursing home.

A friend, wealthy I would say, paid 12k per month for his mother in a nursing home locate at Jln Tun Razak. After 8 months, she left.

QUOTE(theozis @ Sep 2 2025, 10:15 AM)
there are many cheaper and yet good servce old folds nursing home
9K is too expensive.
Can U share one place as what U said ?

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Sep 2 2025, 10:29 AM
Youth City Nilai
post Sep 2 2025, 10:32 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(theozis @ Sep 2 2025, 10:14 AM)
to be frank, rest in peace with short suffer period is a good the end of most peoples wish to
I agree it may be good for the deceased with minimal suffering period, but for me it come as a shock as it is too sudden and he showed signs of improvement, so I had my hopes up

This post has been edited by Youth City Nilai: Sep 2 2025, 10:33 AM
mushigen
post Sep 2 2025, 10:44 AM

4,949 posts

Actually, it's sort of true that it is easier to die there. One of the reasons is bacterial infection. A late change of soiled pampers, for example, promotes bacterial growth. And it spreads to the rest. Someone will flu will spread to the rest too. This is the risk associated with communal living.

Of course, staying at home also has its own risk - falls, etc.

People are inherently selfish. Parents too. Most fail to see how they affect their children's quality of life by insisting on staying in own home when they cannot take care of themselves.
Bananahead
post Sep 2 2025, 11:04 AM

57 posts

I feel you bro. Reason I stayed here was to spend more time with aging parents. Both my siblings went working elsewhere to make more money. But in the end, I'm the "unsuccessful and useless" one in the eyes of my relatives, and parents also seem to treat my siblings better (but also maybe because they see them less) but see me almost everyday.
BUprop
post Sep 2 2025, 11:23 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 2 2025, 07:38 AM)
all good children, no charsiew. on behalf of your parents, i say thanks to your time, money, tears, pain, sacrifices, loneliness, which no one will understand.
Actually people tell me, I am a good kid taking care of mom. I think my brother goes to heaven while I goes to hell even thought I am the one taking care of mom. Because taking care of mom have high stress and frustrations. Sometimes I scolded my mom. Argued with her. Isn't that worse karma compared to those who didn't take care of her? Those who have my stress please raise their hand. Haha.
heinlein
post Sep 2 2025, 11:26 AM

1,788 posts

Unker foreveralone, now thinking to secure myself a spot in old folks home when I'm old, any good place in kl?
mushigen
post Sep 2 2025, 11:30 AM

4,949 posts

You are not alone. Many who worked there will find themselves family-less as people avoid them when they are no longer working there. It doesn't matter how well they treated their family members when they were working in sinkie.
anzen600
post Sep 2 2025, 11:30 AM

1,238 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Sep 2 2025, 08:09 AM)
79 now
I totally feel u bro, hats off to u too to have the iron will and unwavering dedication to take care of your old folk. It's extremely challenging task if u are the only caretaker as it will drain u mentally, psychically and monetary, at one point deep in ur heart u will wish it to end soon. (abit jahat and unfilial but it came naturally)

Take care bro!

This post has been edited by anzen600: Sep 2 2025, 04:16 PM
anzen600
post Sep 2 2025, 11:43 AM

1,238 posts

QUOTE(BUprop @ Sep 2 2025, 11:23 AM)
Actually people tell me, I am a good kid taking care of mom. I think my brother goes to heaven while I goes to hell even thought I am the one taking care of mom. Because taking care of mom have high stress and frustrations. Sometimes I scolded my mom. Argued with her. Isn't that worse karma compared to those who didn't take care of her? Those who have my stress please raise their hand. Haha.
u r not alone bro.. thinking of the karma thing
netflix2019
post Sep 2 2025, 12:15 PM

413 posts

One of my relative baru only check in facility. Quite high keras type.

Husband full blown dementia. Wife go there stay together both total 15k per month.

Can already forsee 30 years later many homeless cuckoo old ppl running around. Anak tak ramai, no retirement savings cos all busy taking out from epf account3. good luck guys
gashout
post Sep 2 2025, 01:47 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(BUprop @ Sep 2 2025, 11:23 AM)
if you have done your best, your heart knows it and won't feel bad.

it's never easy to look after them (more so, if you aren't their fav child... kkkkk... imagine they need to see their least fav child everyday, but old people, weird thinking..)
metalfire
post Sep 2 2025, 03:58 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Sep 2 2025, 10:44 AM)
Actually, it's sort of true that it is easier to die there. One of the reasons is bacterial infection. A late change of soiled pampers, for example, promotes bacterial growth. And it spreads to the rest. Someone will flu will spread to the rest too. This is the risk associated with communal living.

Of course, staying at home also has its own risk - falls, etc.

People are inherently selfish. Parents too. Most fail to see how they affect their children's quality of life by insisting on staying in own home when they cannot take care of themselves.
bed sores too if the old folks are bed ridden

and there are some unscrupulous old folks home that doesn't bother gender. I've seen with my own eyes that some purposely leave the bathroom door open in front of others to see. Such humiliation and then got old man go show his penis openly.
metalfire
post Sep 2 2025, 03:59 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 2 2025, 01:47 PM)
if you have done your best, your heart knows it and won't feel bad.

it's never easy to look after them (more so, if you aren't their fav child... kkkkk... imagine they need to see their least fav child everyday, but old people, weird thinking..)
Those far far away and least they see are their favs. Those close by taking care of them day in day out threat them worst than trash.

These char siew parents also deserve it sometimes.
anzen600
post Sep 2 2025, 04:11 PM

1,238 posts

QUOTE(metalfire @ Sep 2 2025, 03:58 PM)
bed sores too if the old folks are bed ridden

and there are some unscrupulous old folks home that doesn't bother gender. I've seen with my own eyes that some purposely leave the bathroom door open in front of others to see. Such humiliation and then got old man go show his penis openly.
need a AA nursing home bah.. RM3 to RM5K/mth

gashout
post Sep 2 2025, 04:16 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(metalfire @ Sep 2 2025, 03:59 PM)
Those far far away and least they see are their favs. Those close by taking care of them day in day out threat them worst than trash.

These char siew parents also deserve it sometimes.
betul. my mader only calls me when she needs something (not even hello, how are you, or care about me)... but im the black sheep (she talks shit about me to everyone when I was busy working to earn money for the house bills and groceries)... while her fav son who doesn't spend a cent or a second with her is very good son. puke.gif

so to me, i have done my part, she has 3 other kids to take care of her... i live with no regrets. shouted... frustrated... all of which been ignored.

grieving happens when the other person is still alive. it's sad.
Akaashi
post Sep 2 2025, 04:20 PM

199 posts

Your relatives and other siblings:
1. why you so cold blood? Not a filial child la u.
2. Those who suggest have to pay for the bill. I’m not part of it. We have our family too so I’m not rotating with you as well.
3. (Touch wood if anything happen at the nursing home) see la ? Suggest nursing home summo la? Told you this would happen. It’s all your fault.
anzen600
post Sep 2 2025, 04:54 PM

1,238 posts

QUOTE(Akaashi @ Sep 2 2025, 04:20 PM)
2. Those who suggest have to pay for the bill. I’m not part of it. We have our family too so I’m not rotating with you as well.
3. (Touch wood if anything happen at the nursing home) see la ? Suggest nursing home summo la? Told you this would happen. It’s all your fault.
Normally NF with these ppl bah.. Bring no value to ur life why bother nia?
contagiouseddie
post Sep 2 2025, 05:14 PM

304 posts

You don't have to give a fuck about these people. Whatever you do, they will spin it to their liking. Even if they are your family members or relative, just cut them off completely. They are not paying your bills, so they should STFU.
Akaashi
post Sep 2 2025, 05:56 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 2 2025, 05:14 PM)
You don't have to give a fuck about these people. Whatever you do, they will spin it to their liking. Even if they are your family members or relative, just cut them off completely. They are not paying your bills, so they should STFU.
QUOTE(anzen600 @ Sep 2 2025, 04:54 PM)
Normally NF with these ppl bah.. Bring no value to ur life why bother nia?
Well frankly I don’t. Just sharing what I have seen myself when this things happen on other people. Not everyone can handle it.

And the worse part? The sick old parent will still side with the these people instead of the child that taking care of them. What would you do den?
metalfire
post Sep 2 2025, 08:12 PM

1,289 posts

simple, tell them talk so much for what, give them 1 month taking care of the parents see how fast they throw to old folks home or nursing home.
metalfire
post Sep 2 2025, 08:15 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(Akaashi @ Sep 2 2025, 05:56 PM)
Well frankly I don’t. Just sharing what I have seen myself when this things happen on other people. Not everyone can handle it.

And the worse part? The sick old parent will still side with the these people instead of the child that taking care of them. What would you do den?
This part is absolutely true. But is ok! You have done your part as a responsible adult, filial child, and as a human, the rest leave it as there.

Those who did nothing are the fastest to judge and criticize.
even_steven
post Sep 2 2025, 08:16 PM

Perut Jauh Kedepan (PJK)
635 posts

Be strong bro. I have been there before and it is not easy.
contagiouseddie
post Sep 2 2025, 08:46 PM

304 posts

I used to be very affected by my parents on the way the treat me and what they say. Usually it is very hurtful especially if you are the one taking care of them. But, nowadays especially my Alzhemeir mother talked rubbish (as she can't mask it out anymore), I would just laughed it out rather than let the words affect me. Might feel awkward at first, but once you have gone over this phase, no words shall affect your emotion anymore. This is the only way I keep myself sane and not affecting other people like my own child.
BUprop
post Sep 3 2025, 09:24 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(metalfire @ Sep 2 2025, 08:12 PM)
simple, tell them talk so much for what, give them 1 month taking care of the parents see how fast they throw to old folks home or nursing home.
Most siblings and relatives are the same. Just ignore them
TSMegaCanonF
post Sep 3 2025, 09:49 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(Youth City Nilai @ Sep 2 2025, 10:32 AM)
I agree it may be good for the deceased with minimal suffering period, but for me it come as a shock as it is too sudden and he showed signs of improvement, so I had my hopes up
sorry to be morbid here .

been on this road for 6 years now.

1st 3 years its my mother . on and off sick . heart attack , just 1 month in hosp on life support. as if she knew better to went to the other side as doctor say kenot do anything coz brain severly out ady . if bring home will need 24/7 care . got the ambulance ready to bring home , but yeah she went .

to be completely honest, minimal suffering period is the best . at least you done what u can , . ppl n relative going to come , say all sad2 things, dude, during she alive u din visit pulak, sembang so many memories here n there , etc .

prefer to keep the good memories while still healthy .

ppl say i good kid, i say no . sometime dunno, got grunt, got accidentally angry, got frustrated, im not buddha , im no saint, lagi banyak dosa got take care compared to those who not . after not my turn take care , (when caregiver come) , i feel so suffocated to sit at home, will go out of house , running or swimming until so late in the evening, mindlessly lepaking at mamak, coz no mood at home ady . of course this hurts the merid life, can't have normal merid life like others. sometime i so jelly see others have life all figured out , traveling w their kids here n there.

ah but this is just /k, sembang only. i'll manage somehow, maybe
Laubao P
post Sep 3 2025, 09:45 PM

Probation

I feel you all. Have two meltdowns in the two months taking care of my father in hospital. I want to be put out of my misery.
romuluz777
post Sep 4 2025, 10:33 AM

2,204 posts

What a horrible experience. If only got option to push the button and turn off the life support.
nazq
post Sep 4 2025, 10:38 AM

dead inside
1,180 posts

I'm worrying it's gonna be this way soon with my father, which we doesn't get along with and is a very difficult person to deal with. If I can't stand him at the moment, I wonder how I can cope with him if those things happens?
mini orchard
post Sep 4 2025, 01:40 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(nazq @ Sep 4 2025, 10:38 AM)
I'm worrying it's gonna be this way soon with my father, which we doesn't get along with and is a very difficult person to deal with. If I can't stand him at the moment, I wonder how I can cope with him if those things happens?
When the time comes, the sick cannot say anything but to accept his condition. The caregiver will just accept that his parents is now going through his final days.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Sep 4 2025, 01:41 PM
metalfire
post Sep 4 2025, 11:03 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(nazq @ Sep 4 2025, 10:38 AM)
Tough situation and won't know till you're that crossroad. Whether the elderly wants or not is another issue. Some has no choice but to go nursing home because situation doesn't permit for taking care. Some think hire maid solve all, that is the another problem if the maid is able to take care of the elderly and do other things...In the end, nursing home is the reality.

To each their own, maybe your case is different, and hope you have a better outcome.
metalfire
post Sep 4 2025, 11:08 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Sep 4 2025, 01:40 PM)
When the time comes, the sick cannot say anything but to accept his condition. The caregiver will just accept that his parents is now going through his final days.
not so easy, there are some hard headed elderly that doesn't want this and that...also not so care giving compassionate family members around.

tough world we live in.
SUSSihambodoh
post Sep 4 2025, 11:16 PM

436 posts

This is quite common. Those who stay far far away who calls once a while are considered very loving. Those who stay there to be the primary care giver get complained a lot. Why are people like that? Then when you do this do that, those far far long time only come back once will complain why you do like this. Cibai, did they even do anything? Calling to ask how are you is considered loving and doing something?
shingo81
post Sep 4 2025, 11:59 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Sep 3 2025, 09:49 AM)

I gave up everything, all dreams and hopes to move back home to take care of my dad till his final days. At the beginning of the caregiving days, physical tiring but fulfilling because he was my dad. The mental struggle on the other hand was horrible while I still need to figure out a way to make a living

It got even worse when my old man was on hospice cancer treatment, tiap tiap hari kena fak and maki by him sbab he was weak n miserable due to the chemo after effect. It was especially heart breaking when bringing him to choose his cremation plot, I will always remember his expression when he realised he is actually going to die

Lucky it was minimal suffering for him and when he passed, I actually felt a sense of relief for him. I still grieve every now and then but no regrets as am glad I walked with him till the end, made sure he lived his final years with dignity

So bub, hang in there. It is tiring and mentally draining but since u have decided to take care of them, chin up n walk with them till the end. Nak mengamuk go scream at the sky. It helps. Org lain might think we psycho. Lantak la dia org 😀
kenny B
post Sep 5 2025, 12:42 AM

846 posts

QUOTE(Atrocious @ Sep 1 2025, 05:38 PM)
Once insomnia kicks in, you're done.
dementia you mean?
Atrocious
post Sep 5 2025, 01:06 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(kenny B @ Sep 5 2025, 12:42 AM)
dementia you mean?
I meant the caretaker's. The person whose taking care of the eldery..
Revamperz
post Sep 5 2025, 02:03 AM

im freaking IN! ™
5,163 posts

1. its important to take care of yourself 1st in order to give your best on taking care of others

2. the hardest person to take care off are those who no longer want to take care of themselves

gashout
post Sep 5 2025, 07:10 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 2 2025, 08:46 PM)
I used to be very affected by my parents on the way the treat me and what they say. Usually it is very hurtful especially if you are the one taking care of them. But, nowadays especially my Alzhemeir mother talked rubbish (as she can't mask it out anymore), I would just laughed it out rather than let the words affect me. Might feel awkward at first, but once you have gone over this phase, no words shall affect your emotion anymore. This is the only way I keep myself sane and not affecting other people like my own child.
can you give me some examples...

NinG
post Sep 5 2025, 07:23 AM

Vroomm
403 posts

Stay strong TS... stress just sembang kacang at /k..
bengang15
post Sep 5 2025, 08:11 AM

419 posts

Most job take a toll on either physical, mental, psychological.

Care giver whack you on all three fronts.

All the best...
ulet
post Sep 5 2025, 08:43 AM

1,698 posts

at the end of the day, you know you did the best you could with all the circumstances. be proud OP
poooky
post Sep 5 2025, 11:12 AM

824 posts

QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ Sep 4 2025, 11:16 PM)
This is quite common. Those who stay far far away who calls once a while are considered very loving. Those who stay there to be the primary care giver get complained a lot. Why are people like that? Then when you do this do that, those far far long time only come back once will complain why you do like this. Cibai, did they even do anything? Calling to ask how are you is considered loving and doing something?
Human nature is like this. If you are there everyday, people will bising. Overtime it add up and they feel you as nuisance. Once take on responsibility for a while people also take for granted that things will be handle. But if only see them once in a while their last memory is of those sibling/relative is based on past memory when they were kids who could do no wrong. Like their thinking of them is frozen in past state while their thinking of you changing everyday from good to annoyance.

But yes, those who are not there day to day visit once in a while then criticize this and that like they know best are the worst. Tokok all high and mighty, but fail to realize they just maybe visit few times a year like CNY. The smart ones knows you handle everything and will keep quiet at least until time come to fight inheritance. Then they come very out strong.
contagiouseddie
post Sep 5 2025, 12:09 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 5 2025, 07:10 AM)
can you give me some examples...
It happens usually when got visitor around even when I'm like few feet away only. She would tell people that I don't take care of her, never provide food or even worst I'm having affair with the maid, LMAO. Anything that can bring me down. She is in her Alzhemeir state already but it started for ages ago even when I was a kid but only realizes when I started install CCTV and tap on phone calls. Yes, it's heart breaking when you have been providing since the beginning but was and never will be appreciated. I will just do until the end and hopefully I don't die first so my wife don't have to deal with this mess.
gashout
post Sep 5 2025, 12:54 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 5 2025, 12:09 PM)
It happens usually when got visitor around even when I'm like few feet away only. She would tell people that I don't take care of her, never provide food or even worst I'm having affair with the maid, LMAO. Anything that can bring me down. She is in her Alzhemeir state already but it started for ages ago even when I was a kid but only realizes when I started install CCTV and tap on phone calls. Yes, it's heart breaking when you have been providing since the beginning but was and never will be appreciated. I will just do until the end and hopefully I don't die first so my wife don't have to deal with this mess.
so sorry to hear... very tough hearing those comments.

my mother would call my relatives and accuses me of using her to cook meals and wash clothes at home (since she has retired and I thought why not have something to do everyday) (while i busy working, pay for her bills, and groceries, and even clear off her house loan). none of her other 3 children want any contacts with her, nor give her a cent (when i cleared off her house loan, normal parents would be so happy and thankful but she gave no appreciation, she accused me of not telling her, and doesn't know why I did so - so she doesn't need to be burden with house loan at old age)... is that sign of Alzheimer or narcissistic calling me a black sheep?

thank you for doing your part. hope the burden eases a bit.
GamersFamilia
post Sep 5 2025, 01:59 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

Send to old folks home, once a week visit your loves one
cms
post Sep 5 2025, 02:36 PM

758 posts

I think once dementia or Alzheimer sets in, should be fine to get professional help at those centers.

If mind is still sound, get a hire to solely look after them at home seems like a good choice. Old folks feels better at home and cheaper to get a maid too.
zoozul
post Sep 5 2025, 02:44 PM

98 posts

Tu 101 bukan org. Hati bkn manusia pun. Binatang betol. Hisap darah satu negara utk hidup sampai skrg. Lebih baik mati aman.
Autocountstick
post Sep 5 2025, 02:44 PM

654 posts

teach me how you quit all vape n smoking?
contagiouseddie
post Sep 5 2025, 02:54 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 5 2025, 12:54 PM)
so sorry to hear... very tough hearing those comments.

my mother would call my relatives and accuses me of using her to cook meals and wash clothes at home (since she has retired and I thought why not have something to do everyday) (while i busy working, pay for her bills, and groceries, and even clear off her house loan). none of her other 3 children want any contacts with her, nor give her a cent (when i cleared off her house loan, normal parents would be so happy and thankful but she gave no appreciation, she accused me of not telling her, and doesn't know why I did so - so she doesn't need to be burden with house loan at old age)... is that sign of Alzheimer or narcissistic calling me a black sheep?

thank you for doing your part. hope the burden eases a bit.
My parents are narcissistic unfortunately, only found out and read about it 3-4 years ago. What your mum did sounds like gaslighting in narcissistic's book. And usually there's at least a designated black sheep as well in a narcissistic family.
So, when my mum's Alzhemeir sets in, I don't know if I should be happy or not, because at least now she can't hide it anymore, the real devil has come out of the closet.
GHBZDK
post Sep 5 2025, 02:55 PM

173 posts

Already married means got help…try me destinied foreveralone and confirm need hire caretaker but stuck with malaysian salary.
contagiouseddie
post Sep 5 2025, 03:12 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(GHBZDK @ Sep 5 2025, 02:55 PM)
Already married means got help…try me destinied foreveralone and confirm need hire caretaker but stuck with malaysian salary.
I think it's easier if you are not married. No kids and wife to think about. No need to add them into the balancing act. No need to feel guilty not spending time with them.
Of course thing nothing is easy when you are in this situation. A day can feel like a year and a year like 10 years...

This post has been edited by contagiouseddie: Sep 5 2025, 03:12 PM
TsubakiKira
post Sep 5 2025, 03:34 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(GHBZDK @ Sep 5 2025, 02:55 PM)
the only help I can give is emotional support to the one directly affected, in this case MIL. because FIL scolds her and calls her all sort of things from morning until he sleeps. sometimes mood swings and at his age, still want to try to hit her. Really do worry for her because it's near impossible to be patient to someone who constantly claims that he's not been given food despite just eating with plates still there.
Sha91
post Sep 5 2025, 04:31 PM

236 posts

I feel you man. I was on my career break when I needed to be a nurse to my granduncle. Changing bandage twice a day, insulin, cook diet food, hospital appointment every 2 days etc.

Those things are not tiring but we are tired because of attitude ie. stubborn.

Good thing now we have a helper, otherwise I think I am going to die before anyone else.

Now I get why sometimes caregivers are the one who left the world first than those are sick. The stress level is nothing like work.
GymBoi
post Sep 6 2025, 03:11 AM

1,393 posts

Interesting thread ... just wanna agree with whoever said the most not loved kid is usually the 1 taking care of the elderly ... and also like most ppl said ... just gotta keep going ... no other choice ....
Shanks747
post Sep 6 2025, 04:52 AM

198 posts

with declining birthrate, this is a future....make sure you have alot of money before you check into a nursing home

taking care of old people is pain, turns even kind people into bad people
mini orchard
post Sep 6 2025, 06:29 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Shanks747 @ Sep 6 2025, 04:52 AM)
with declining birthrate, this is a future....make sure you have alot of money before you check into a nursing home

taking care of old people is pain, turns even kind people into bad people
Alot of money is only good for seniors who are medically fit.

When one is sick, alone and with plenty money in the bank, he still needs another to manage his money ... make payments for all his needs. Whether is children, relatives or friends.
freeknd
post Sep 6 2025, 10:26 AM

hello everyone, like all of u, i was experiencing the same, and the irony part is, i was never loved my whole life (mama died shortly after i was born, everyone say i jinxed her), i was left alone to grow up on my own from 2 to 17.

then people grew old and start coming back, expecting to be taken care of, fine, society said we must respect and care for our eldery, so i did as well.

but after carried out my responsibility for decades and still never got appreciated, so i just stop caring for them and start to love myself fully, it's been 3 years since, my life had improved so much better.

for those who are still struggling, maybe consider giving up and love yourself more, afterall, you are the only one who will appreciate you for the selflessness.

don't live in the past, don't worry about the future, enjoy the present.
freeknd
post Sep 6 2025, 10:36 AM

just to add few more points, don't guilt yourself for other people's suffering, it's their fate and life, not your fault.

start dictating your life, how you want to live until the end of it.
GymBoi
post Sep 6 2025, 09:41 PM

1,393 posts

Ppl say don't worry, you'll get good karma ... I'm still waiting for good karma lol ..... but .. no la ... we take care coz it's just a human thing to do ... sometimes I don't know how ppl live without taking care of their elderly ... Quite insane tbh.. especially when they are the "loved sibling"
romuluz777
post Sep 8 2025, 04:26 PM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Sep 6 2025, 10:41 PM)
Ppl say don't worry, you'll get good karma ... I'm still waiting for good karma lol ..... but .. no la ... we take care coz it's just a human thing to do ... sometimes I don't know how ppl live without taking care of their elderly ... Quite insane tbh.. especially when they are the "loved sibling"
All these karma stuff are just sweet comforting whispers to make you feel good and to justify your current suffering.
Its totally hard to imagine oneself in the position of caring for immobile elderly folks unless one has done it before.

Be strong, stay healthy and pass the buck when you've reached your limit bro.
All the best ! icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0346sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:04 AM