Ppl who taking care of elderly,, how do u cope?

gashout
post Sep 2 2025, 07:38 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Sep 1 2025, 02:28 PM)
Srsly man.

ayam feel yesterday ayam at breaking point alrdy. Work is already tiring, then come PH, no rest, have to take care full time . felt that even merid life oso is taking a hit. I miss those days when there are no responsibilities at all . well, that's being adult, I guess.

taking care of elderly is really hard man . 60kg + want to up and down each n every time , change pampers, etc .

Now I'm trying to diet and exercise almost daily, quit all vape n smoking,  so that I'd either go out early with heart attack or live healthily like Tun at 100 and not be dependent on anyone.
QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Sep 1 2025, 03:37 PM)
I quit my sinkie job come back fOr fAmIlY, turns out everyone see me like a retarded loser instead of filial piety.

I don't cope. I'm now broke and broken. Hope I'm more intelligent next life
QUOTE(BUprop @ Sep 1 2025, 06:41 PM)
I took care of my mom for 5 years. Change diapers and shower for her. I feel for you. Not easy.
I feel for you. I was broke too. Didn't work for 5 years. Now slowly rebuilding my life.
Actually it's true if masuk the wrong home. My mom passed away within 2 years after masuk home.
QUOTE(StillAlive @ Sep 1 2025, 08:33 PM)
My mother is suffering for dementia and minor stroke. I am taking care alone and need to work as well. Luckily, my workplace is just a distance away from my house. I feel helpless as I cannot do anything to help her but just try to spend more time with her and assist her in the daily life routine.

Personally, I feel that my life is gone....My daily routine is about working and taking care of my mother. It has been three years...still long way to go...
QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 2 2025, 12:13 AM)
After my dad passed away last year, left my mother. Ironically both of them chased me out of my very own home  a year before that. As I couldn't bear the daily torture on me and my wife & kid, we left albeit I still go in and checked on them everyday. After my dad is gone, I hired a maid to look after my mother. Have to manage her everyday and she already started have Alzhemeir probably after losing her husband that she hates for the past 50 years. Have 6 siblings but basically non want to get involved  or help despite parents love them more. Here I'm at midnight, looking at CCTV every day, always running around for my parents. It's a tormenting feeling when you have your own family to take care, a job to earn a living. Never have time for yourself.
TS, just hang in there and eventually this will end. There will be long lonely road ahead, but just remember to give yourself at pat at back that you are already doing the best you can!
all good children, no charsiew. on behalf of your parents, i say thanks to your time, money, tears, pain, sacrifices, loneliness, which no one will understand.

gashout
post Sep 2 2025, 01:47 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(BUprop @ Sep 2 2025, 11:23 AM)
Actually people tell me, I am a good kid taking care of mom. I think my brother goes to heaven while I goes to hell even thought I am the one taking care of mom. Because taking care of mom have high stress and frustrations. Sometimes I scolded my mom. Argued with her. Isn't that worse karma compared to those who didn't take care of her? Those who have my stress please raise their hand. Haha.
if you have done your best, your heart knows it and won't feel bad.

it's never easy to look after them (more so, if you aren't their fav child... kkkkk... imagine they need to see their least fav child everyday, but old people, weird thinking..)
gashout
post Sep 2 2025, 04:16 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(metalfire @ Sep 2 2025, 03:59 PM)
Those far far away and least they see are their favs. Those close by taking care of them day in day out threat them worst than trash.

These char siew parents also deserve it sometimes.
betul. my mader only calls me when she needs something (not even hello, how are you, or care about me)... but im the black sheep (she talks shit about me to everyone when I was busy working to earn money for the house bills and groceries)... while her fav son who doesn't spend a cent or a second with her is very good son. puke.gif

so to me, i have done my part, she has 3 other kids to take care of her... i live with no regrets. shouted... frustrated... all of which been ignored.

grieving happens when the other person is still alive. it's sad.
gashout
post Sep 5 2025, 07:10 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 2 2025, 08:46 PM)
I used to be very affected by my parents on the way the treat me and what they say. Usually it is very hurtful especially if you are the one taking care of them. But, nowadays especially my Alzhemeir mother talked rubbish (as she can't mask it out anymore), I would just laughed it out rather than let the words affect me. Might feel awkward at first, but once you have gone over this phase, no words shall affect your emotion anymore. This is the only way I keep myself sane and not affecting other people like my own child.
can you give me some examples...

gashout
post Sep 5 2025, 12:54 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 5 2025, 12:09 PM)
It happens usually when got visitor around even when I'm like few feet away only. She would tell people that I don't take care of her, never provide food or even worst I'm having affair with the maid, LMAO. Anything that can bring me down. She is in her Alzhemeir state already but it started for ages ago even when I was a kid but only realizes when I started install CCTV and tap on phone calls. Yes, it's heart breaking when you have been providing since the beginning but was and never will be appreciated. I will just do until the end and hopefully I don't die first so my wife don't have to deal with this mess.
so sorry to hear... very tough hearing those comments.

my mother would call my relatives and accuses me of using her to cook meals and wash clothes at home (since she has retired and I thought why not have something to do everyday) (while i busy working, pay for her bills, and groceries, and even clear off her house loan). none of her other 3 children want any contacts with her, nor give her a cent (when i cleared off her house loan, normal parents would be so happy and thankful but she gave no appreciation, she accused me of not telling her, and doesn't know why I did so - so she doesn't need to be burden with house loan at old age)... is that sign of Alzheimer or narcissistic calling me a black sheep?

thank you for doing your part. hope the burden eases a bit.

0.0140sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:07 AM