6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Ppl who taking care of elderly,, how do u cope?

contagiouseddie
post Sep 2 2025, 12:13 AM

304 posts

After my dad passed away last year, left my mother. Ironically both of them chased me out of my very own home a year before that. As I couldn't bear the daily torture on me and my wife & kid, we left albeit I still go in and checked on them everyday. After my dad is gone, I hired a maid to look after my mother. Have to manage her everyday and she already started have Alzhemeir probably after losing her husband that she hates for the past 50 years. Have 6 siblings but basically non want to get involved or help despite parents love them more. Here I'm at midnight, looking at CCTV every day, always running around for my parents. It's a tormenting feeling when you have your own family to take care, a job to earn a living. Never have time for yourself.
TS, just hang in there and eventually this will end. There will be long lonely road ahead, but just remember to give yourself at pat at back that you are already doing the best you can!
RollsHill P
post Sep 2 2025, 06:46 AM

Probation

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 2 2025, 12:13 AM)
After my dad passed away last year, left my mother. Ironically both of them chased me out of my very own home  a year before that. As I couldn't bear the daily torture on me and my wife & kid, we left albeit I still go in and checked on them everyday. After my dad is gone, I hired a maid to look after my mother. Have to manage her everyday and she already started have Alzhemeir probably after losing her husband that she hates for the past 50 years. Have 6 siblings but basically non want to get involved  or help despite parents love them more. Here I'm at midnight, looking at CCTV every day, always running around for my parents. It's a tormenting feeling when you have your own family to take care, a job to earn a living. Never have time for yourself.
TS, just hang in there and eventually this will end. There will be long lonely road ahead, but just remember to give yourself at pat at back that you are already doing the best you can!
It's ironic that somehow the child that's least loved, ends up taking care of their parents in the end.
Skylinestar
post Sep 2 2025, 07:31 AM

Mega Duck
10,470 posts

I wish euthanasia is legal here. I don't want to be a burden to others when I'm old.
gashout
post Sep 2 2025, 07:38 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Sep 1 2025, 02:28 PM)
Srsly man.

ayam feel yesterday ayam at breaking point alrdy. Work is already tiring, then come PH, no rest, have to take care full time . felt that even merid life oso is taking a hit. I miss those days when there are no responsibilities at all . well, that's being adult, I guess.

taking care of elderly is really hard man . 60kg + want to up and down each n every time , change pampers, etc .

Now I'm trying to diet and exercise almost daily, quit all vape n smoking,  so that I'd either go out early with heart attack or live healthily like Tun at 100 and not be dependent on anyone.
QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Sep 1 2025, 03:37 PM)
I quit my sinkie job come back fOr fAmIlY, turns out everyone see me like a retarded loser instead of filial piety.

I don't cope. I'm now broke and broken. Hope I'm more intelligent next life
QUOTE(BUprop @ Sep 1 2025, 06:41 PM)
I took care of my mom for 5 years. Change diapers and shower for her. I feel for you. Not easy.
I feel for you. I was broke too. Didn't work for 5 years. Now slowly rebuilding my life.
Actually it's true if masuk the wrong home. My mom passed away within 2 years after masuk home.
QUOTE(StillAlive @ Sep 1 2025, 08:33 PM)
My mother is suffering for dementia and minor stroke. I am taking care alone and need to work as well. Luckily, my workplace is just a distance away from my house. I feel helpless as I cannot do anything to help her but just try to spend more time with her and assist her in the daily life routine.

Personally, I feel that my life is gone....My daily routine is about working and taking care of my mother. It has been three years...still long way to go...
QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 2 2025, 12:13 AM)
After my dad passed away last year, left my mother. Ironically both of them chased me out of my very own home  a year before that. As I couldn't bear the daily torture on me and my wife & kid, we left albeit I still go in and checked on them everyday. After my dad is gone, I hired a maid to look after my mother. Have to manage her everyday and she already started have Alzhemeir probably after losing her husband that she hates for the past 50 years. Have 6 siblings but basically non want to get involved  or help despite parents love them more. Here I'm at midnight, looking at CCTV every day, always running around for my parents. It's a tormenting feeling when you have your own family to take care, a job to earn a living. Never have time for yourself.
all good children, no charsiew. on behalf of your parents, i say thanks to your time, money, tears, pain, sacrifices, loneliness, which no one will understand.

hickups
post Sep 2 2025, 07:54 AM

477 posts

If u visit hospital ward for old ppl ..u will shit brix
Getting old plus sick is scary

This post has been edited by hickups: Sep 2 2025, 07:56 AM
TSMegaCanonF
post Sep 2 2025, 08:09 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(anzen600 @ Sep 1 2025, 04:59 PM)
TS may I know how old is your parent?
79 now
contagiouseddie
post Sep 2 2025, 08:11 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(hickups @ Sep 2 2025, 07:54 AM)
If u visit hospital ward for old ppl ..u will shit brix
Getting old plus sick is scary
60kg body weight is like 100kg when it happens. It's like dead weight. And all they kept asking is want to go back and they will do havoc when wish is not granted.
mini orchard
post Sep 2 2025, 08:51 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 2 2025, 07:31 AM)
I wish euthanasia is legal here. I don't want to be a burden to others when I'm old.
U won't do it, if is legal. It takes great mind to end one life.

And those who says he wants to die by commiting suicide will chicken out at 14th floor. Many videos shown all those jokers didn't jump down.

Finally, those who did it, will do it quietly. Don't have to wait for euthanasia.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Sep 2 2025, 08:59 AM
mini orchard
post Sep 2 2025, 08:51 AM

14,511 posts

Deleted .. repeat.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Sep 2 2025, 08:52 AM
swanlover
post Sep 2 2025, 09:02 AM

738 posts

It’s a blessing to take care of the old, not a burden.

Depends how u see it. Don’t take it a as a guli, use it as a wisdom, converse with them.

Having kids are priceless , and only if you can see.

Those thinking only have kids when rich can F off. Lolx

This post has been edited by swanlover: Sep 2 2025, 09:14 AM
romuluz777
post Sep 2 2025, 09:03 AM

2,204 posts

Nursing home is the way to go when your life style suffers. There is no other way.
contagiouseddie
post Sep 2 2025, 09:34 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Sep 2 2025, 09:03 AM)
Nursing home is the way to go when  your life style suffers. There is no other way.
Definitely an option but only if you have money to pay. It's not cheap and those lower few K ones really don't give proper care. For example, the one in Klang (Acacia) that used to be a hotel building, cost about 9K minimum if you are still independent. Not independent and needed mobility assistant, they will charge extra cost.

TS's caregiver is also not cheap I guess as those that have off days are paid based on days. Had one when my dad came back from hospital, it was RM150 per day and they need 2 days off per month. So a month comes to RM4.5K.
anakkk
post Sep 2 2025, 09:36 AM

2,111 posts

make sure you are still healthy when you are that age, else cham also
Youth City Nilai
post Sep 2 2025, 10:01 AM

30 posts

My father had a minor fall at first, nothing too serious but he needed walker to walk after that. A week later, he had a more serious fall, I asked him and mom to come to my house immediately so me, wife and siblings could help look after him.

After about 10 days at my home, he seem more improved, better focus, better health and is able to stand a bit with the help of the walker. After 10 days, he seem shivering and feel cold even when the fan is off. 11th day he seem like have a seizure and have difficulty breathing. We call the ambulance and admit him to hospital. To our shock we were told he had lung infection.

First day in hospital he seem fine, but not able to talk, second day he was sleeping whole day. Third day, he seem recovered, able to move his hand and feet. Fourth day, I was shocked that he passed away.

I am still trying to come to terms, although I do get signs and dreams from God/him that he was okay. Just the speed of his decline I could not come to terms with.

Unlike the above stories of old folks lasting months/even years. My father was gone within a matter of weeks.

This post has been edited by Youth City Nilai: Sep 2 2025, 10:02 AM
contagiouseddie
post Sep 2 2025, 10:05 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(Youth City Nilai @ Sep 2 2025, 10:01 AM)
My father had a minor fall at first, nothing too serious but he needed walker to walk after that. A week later, he had a more serious fall, I asked him and mom to come to my house immediately so me, wife and siblings could help look after him.

After about 10 days at my home, he seem more improved, better focus, better health and is able to stand a bit with the help of the walker. After 10 days, he seem shivering and feel cold even when the fan is off. 11th day he seem like have a seizure and have difficulty breathing. We call the ambulance and admit him to hospital. To our shock we were told he had lung infection.

First day in hospital he seem fine, but not able to talk, second day he was sleeping whole day. Third day, he seem recovered, able to move his hand and feet. Fourth day, I was shocked that he passed away.

I am still trying to come to terms, although I do get signs and dreams from God/him that he was okay. Just the speed of his decline I could not come to terms with.

Unlike the above stories of old folks lasting months/even years. My father was gone within a matter of weeks.
My dad went the same route as yours. Fell, got lung infection in hospital and eventually succumbed to that even though discharged (doctor mcm tahu and prefer to grant the patient's wish to go home).
Youth City Nilai
post Sep 2 2025, 10:11 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 2 2025, 10:05 AM)
My dad went the same route as yours. Fell, got lung infection in hospital and eventually succumbed to that even though discharged (doctor mcm tahu and prefer to grant the patient's wish to go home).
My dad seem to show signs of infection at my house, weird thing is he don't have any fever/cough symptoms before that.

At hospital he seem to have recovered by third day, even the doctor came in happily and told us he improved a lot on the third day.

we were shocked when got a call from hospital he passed away on fourth day

This post has been edited by Youth City Nilai: Sep 2 2025, 10:11 AM
theozis
post Sep 2 2025, 10:12 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 2 2025, 10:05 AM)
experienced doctor can estimate the time left for the person to be deceased
theozis
post Sep 2 2025, 10:14 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(Youth City Nilai @ Sep 2 2025, 10:01 AM)

to be frank, rest in peace with short suffer period is a good the end of most peoples wish to
theozis
post Sep 2 2025, 10:15 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 2 2025, 09:34 AM)
Definitely an option but only if you have money to pay. It's not cheap and those lower few K ones really don't give proper care. For example, the one in Klang (Acacia)  that used to be a hotel building, cost about 9K minimum if you are still independent. Not independent and needed mobility assistant,  they will charge extra cost.

TS's caregiver is also not cheap I guess as those that have off days are paid based on days. Had one when my dad came back from hospital, it was RM150 per day and they need 2 days off per month. So a month comes to RM4.5K.
there are many cheaper and yet good servce old folds nursing home
9K is too expensive.
mini orchard
post Sep 2 2025, 10:26 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Sep 2 2025, 09:34 AM)
Definitely an option but only if you have money to pay. It's not cheap and those lower few K ones really don't give proper care. For example, the one in Klang (Acacia)  that used to be a hotel building, cost about 9K minimum if you are still independent. Not independent and needed mobility assistant,  they will charge extra cost.

Agreed that average wage earner or even normal business people can't afford nursing home.

A friend, wealthy I would say, paid 12k per month for his mother in a nursing home locate at Jln Tun Razak. After 8 months, she left.

QUOTE(theozis @ Sep 2 2025, 10:15 AM)
there are many cheaper and yet good servce old folds nursing home
9K is too expensive.
Can U share one place as what U said ?

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Sep 2 2025, 10:29 AM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:41 AM