[2025] iPhone 17 Pro/Pro Max Discussion

chongkiatz
post Sep 11 2025, 05:28 PM

6,784 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 11 2025, 05:02 PM)
Yes. Charging speed (watts) will be determined by the phone itself.
Thats a pretty fair price no? Some members got theirs new during the sales on shopee at Rm5XXX brand new during sale.
Faster charging at higher wattage will heat up the phone. You will even make it worst by continue using your phone while its charging.
yes that correct , that why charging while using isnt recommended , my home have a mini USB charging fan , everytime i charge my phone now , i will turn on the fan to blow up my phone biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Sep 11 2025, 05:28 PM
TOMEI-R
post Sep 11 2025, 05:29 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(dev/numb @ Sep 11 2025, 05:05 PM)
What chargers do you guys pair with the Magsafe puck for faster wireless charging. Apple's documentation says it "provides faster wireless charging up to 25W when paired with a 30W power adapter" but is this only with Apple's 30W adapter or any brand?

Sorry, I'm a n00b when it comes to wireless charging. The only wireless charger I've used so far is the one that came in my car, which is so slow I don't even bother using it anymore.
Any charging brick which is more than 30W.
TongCN
post Sep 11 2025, 05:31 PM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,681 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Sep 11 2025, 05:28 PM)
yes that correct , that why charging while using isnt recommended , my home have a mini USB charging fan , everytime i charge my phone now , i will turn on the fan to blow up my phone  biggrin.gif
Sometime over cool down macam also not good

I remember last time my iPhone SE (gen1) gaming and i stuck it to the aircon in the car there
Battery bloat jor after that sweat.gif

Not sure these day battery how if compare to 9 years ago iPhone SE though.
ezypepper
post Sep 11 2025, 05:33 PM

614 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Sep 11 2025, 05:24 PM)
CelcomDigi staff always blur one when something launch , haha

Don't bother to ask them first until their TNC keluar.
Then shoot them 99 by showing them TNC says like this, why so different then your vocal?

Family Plus is under main line of CelcomDigi One Pro/Ultra
Think it as family line.
Benefit of it is to get Easy360 but slightly lesser discount compare to main line.
Ye lah, damn blur only this lady I spoke to earlier.
I called twice today actually, first time I got a male CS, very helpful and understood what I was trying to convey. Answered all my questions professionally and promptly. But I forget to asked about the upfront ada or takde.šŸ˜…

After lunch I called again, got a female CS. Annoying la she. ā€œI get what you’re trying to tell meā€ was her template answer. I cannot check your eligibility she said. I told her off la saying I called earlier and the CS said I’m eligible. She malu there….then said ok just walk in to any CelcomDigi store for any enquires about upfront.

Ehhhhh she ok or not🤣 tomorrow is the launch at 8pm online, asking me to go to physical store for what? Hahahahahaha. I just said thanks and kbai only to her. Yelah I know she can’t disclose any TnC a day earlier…normal la. But one CS said this one CS said another thing, so I’ve learnt my lesson, never call them la regarding any big launches. Might as well I asked here. You all are much better experts than the ā€œexpertsā€ themselvesšŸ¤.

Thanks for the explanation on the plan though.

This post has been edited by ezypepper: Sep 11 2025, 05:34 PM
fruitie
post Sep 11 2025, 05:37 PM

Rise and Shine
72,845 posts

QUOTE(MillkTea93 @ Sep 11 2025, 05:04 PM)
I have question on trade in at apple store at TRX.

let said I preorder and select pick up option at website..

I need to pay full payment/make installment thru apple website, when the day I trade in.. how the credit refund ?

it will show at my credit card in installement or bank in to my account?
The refund will be credited back to your credit card, so your credit card will have this excess payment.
decavalera
post Sep 11 2025, 05:42 PM

bloody roots
2,371 posts

QUOTE(dev/numb @ Sep 11 2025, 05:05 PM)
What chargers do you guys pair with the Magsafe puck for faster wireless charging. Apple's documentation says it "provides faster wireless charging up to 25W when paired with a 30W power adapter" but is this only with Apple's 30W adapter or any brand?

Sorry, I'm a n00b when it comes to wireless charging. The only wireless charger I've used so far is the one that came in my car, which is so slow I don't even bother using it anymore.
I have 2 laptops with usb-c 68W chargers, so use them to charge all my usb-c batt bank

QUOTE(ezypepper @ Sep 11 2025, 05:11 PM)
Hahah we meet again here ya.
Oh there’s no upfront la.
That’s great.🄰
So just be ready a credit/debit card for payment purposes, choose the plan, and you’re ready to have the phone la ya?
My 24 months contract done and dusted I think earlier last week.

I still have a month of outstanding bill to pay, since the billing date is in October, so the CS told me it’s ok…as long as you have a month of outstanding bill, then you’re clear to get the plan. If 2 months outstanding bills, then kena bayar at least 1 month or else you’re not eligible.

Hope all will be well for you and you’ll get the phone you want. Casing dah beli ke?šŸ˜…
Maybe digi earlier a bit.
My celcom, i PO’ed 2 yrs ago once started & received the phone at Day 1, so for celcom, all that took the celcom plan 24mo shoild end at the same time as mine on 25th sep..

Next week sure a lot of acc start selling…
While waiting for the flolab TG, i’ll buy amazing thing TG 1st..
On casing, not sure which 1 to buy, see 1st any good nice cheap casing poison by everyone here 1st while waiting for my favorite phone rebel casing to be available maybe next 2 months

This post has been edited by decavalera: Sep 11 2025, 05:45 PM
fruitie
post Sep 11 2025, 05:44 PM

Rise and Shine
72,845 posts

I just bought a Torras casing and also a screen protector from China. Hopefully, they will reach on time provided I am in the first batch. sweat.gif
ezypepper
post Sep 11 2025, 06:07 PM

614 posts

Next week sure a lot of acc start selling…
While waiting for the flolab TG, i’ll buy amazing thing TG 1st..
On casing, not sure which 1 to buy, see 1st any good nice cheap casing poison by everyone here 1st while waiting for my favorite phone rebel casing to be available maybe next 2 months

[/quote]

I wonder if sakurazzz is selling casings this time around?
I have thought of any casing yet but buy je la anything…cheapo ones pun ok la for the time beingšŸ˜€

fruitie
post Sep 11 2025, 06:22 PM

Rise and Shine
72,845 posts

I came across this thread on Reddit (a two-year old thread btw) - Why do you buy the new iPhone every year?: https://www.reddit.com/r/iPhone14Pro/commen...one_every_year/

This reply attracts my attention as he speaks my mind. laugh.gif

It’s inevitable I’ll get downvoted for this. Since some people can’t grasp the concept.

In simplest terms, I end up paying half for a phone each year. If I know I’ll upgrade every couple years, why not pay half and get every phone, every year?

Most people on here argue, ā€œyou’re paying to rent your phone, you’ll never actually own your phone.ā€ Why do I even want to own any of my phones unless I’m keeping it forever? Everyone upgrades at some point. Sure it can be cost effective if you wait longer than two years to make the switch. But if you’re planning on upgrading anyway, why not get the latest and greatest while paying half. Phones aren’t cheap anymore and I am by no means rich, but I make it work with my budget. With upgrading every year, you get a new chip, new battery, and any new features they have for the latest phone. iOS is built around that phone. Sure it works for many generations older. It isn’t rocket science that the changes in phones every year aren’t drastic. I’d argue this year is a bigger leap than most. More people will switching to the 15 than ever it seems. The Apple Store had overwhelming popularity yesterday morning on preorder day. Android users are switching to apple for the first time for USBc alone. Downvote away but I have no desire owning a piece of equipment that I will inevitably not use after a few years anyway, I don’t need a back up phone. That’s just my thoughts on it. The yearly upgrade program is the best fit for me.

Spend RM 5999 and trade-in for RM 3500 and pay RM 2499 for a new iPhone, worth it? I guess so though it sounds like I'm just a renting a phone. laugh.gif
ReaperX
post Sep 11 2025, 06:35 PM

U can be the moon but still be jealous of the stars.
892 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 11 2025, 06:22 PM)
I came across this thread on Reddit (a two-year old thread btw) - Why do you buy the new iPhone every year?: https://www.reddit.com/r/iPhone14Pro/commen...one_every_year/

This reply attracts my attention as he speaks my mind. laugh.gif
Spend RM 5999 and trade-in for RM 3500 and pay RM 2499 for a new iPhone, worth it? I guess so though it sounds like I'm just a renting a phone. laugh.gif
Yes, makes sense for those who wants to enjoy the latest and greatest with worry-free trade-ins. I hate to go thru the tedious process of self advert and deal with strangers personally to COD a device regularly.

It may come to a point in near future when Phone prices are in the 5-figures and leasing/rental programs are introduced like buying Merc or BMWs lol.

As for myself, i'm still on 13PM, so the 17PM is a hugeeee upgrade for me. Eye-ing on the neutral colour - silver! biggrin.gif
nubnub75
post Sep 11 2025, 06:41 PM

400 posts

Any pre-order offers worth getting? Haven't seen anything from shopee, not sure from where to pre-order now..
fruitie
post Sep 11 2025, 06:57 PM

Rise and Shine
72,845 posts

QUOTE(ReaperX @ Sep 11 2025, 06:35 PM)
Yes, makes sense for those who wants to enjoy the latest and greatest with worry-free trade-ins. I hate to go thru the tedious process of self advert and deal with strangers personally to COD a device regularly.

It may come to a point in near future when Phone prices are in the 5-figures and leasing/rental programs are introduced like buying Merc or BMWs lol.

As for myself, i'm still on 13PM, so the 17PM is a hugeeee upgrade for me. Eye-ing on the neutral colour - silver!Ā  biggrin.gif
Yes, I recently went through some pain to sell off my used camera and lenses, the buyers are nitpicking everything. No way I want to be involved in such an awkward situation anymore. Eventually, I sold everything to a shop, lower prices, yes, but no need to go through the headache of dealing with strangers, as you said.

13PM to 17PM is definitely a huge leap. thumbup.gif

The reason why I found this person's reply speaks for me because I have been answering the same thing to my family and friends when I told them I will be upgrading from 16 Pro Max to 17 Pro Max. They cannot fathom this whole thing, why am I upgrading so soon? sweat.gif

--

Anyway, I'm playing around to simulate the Apple online page so that I won't kelam-kabut tomorrow to look for information, I noticed that if I use gift card I cannot use installment feature. I need to pay full. laugh.gif sweat.gif Apple, please do not screw up my trade-in again else I need to fork out one chunk of money while they sort out the problem. shakehead.gif

Besides, getting ready with your current phone's serial number (if you trade-in), please get ready with your TIN information, which starts with the IG and TIN number as well.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Sep 11 2025, 06:58 PM
TongCN
post Sep 11 2025, 06:57 PM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,681 posts

Waiting RhinoShield AirX for iPhone 17 Pro

I think i will just secure 1x Oren IP17P but won't use it until accessories arrived, haha
swanlover
post Sep 11 2025, 07:07 PM

739 posts

I think heavy gamers or 4k video shooter should look into 17 pm. Else not really a huge leap…
privatequity
post Sep 11 2025, 07:22 PM

504 posts

hi how to check if i can buy iphone 17 pro max cheaper with maxis contract?
TSwestlife
post Sep 11 2025, 07:25 PM

14,296 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Sep 11 2025, 01:07 PM)
My issue is that Apple talk about it like it’s optical zoom. It’s not. It’s equivalent. 🤭

I don’t doubt the results will be better than 16PM at 8x with crop. But this marketing speak irks me. Try to confuse us.

The more I look, the more the vanilla 17 is a ā€œproā€ phone without the tele camera. Sudah ada promotion.
If iPhone 17 is iPhone 17 plus I believe more ppl will buy it, Becos most ppl especially Asians had gotten used to big display already. No doubt 17 this year has the best CP value, but I guess those who get used to bigger display may not buy it.

I think this is the real reason why Apple killed the plus actually.

Ultimately, many may be forced to buy the pro max after all.

QUOTE(TongCN @ Sep 11 2025, 05:31 PM)

I remember last time my iPhone SE (gen1) gaming and i stuck it to the aircon in the car there

My iPhone SE first gen also bloated. I love the phone very much. Not it cannot be used anymore.

This post has been edited by westlife: Sep 11 2025, 07:30 PM
chongkiatz
post Sep 11 2025, 07:41 PM

6,784 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Sep 11 2025, 05:31 PM)

Normal cool down is ok, while its bad when it on negative temperature , even aircond with around 20-24 stil consider normal , dont worry too much in malaysia , u wont kill a battery in here with "cool down" term šŸ˜†

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Sep 11 2025, 07:49 PM
tzxsean
post Sep 11 2025, 07:42 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

https://uniqbetterbydesign.com/products/kev...=41996599099455

Im getting this case
chongkiatz
post Sep 11 2025, 07:51 PM

6,784 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Sep 11 2025, 07:42 PM)
Waoh , the black case plus black iphone look stunning ! Too bad doesnt have black pro for this year.

decavalera
post Sep 11 2025, 08:02 PM

bloody roots
2,371 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Sep 11 2025, 07:42 PM)
Wow. Nice.
Can change the silver ring or not like phone rebel?

353 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0160sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:17 PM