[2025] iPhone 17 Pro/Pro Max Discussion

ReaperX
post Sep 11 2025, 06:35 PM

U can be the moon but still be jealous of the stars.
892 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 11 2025, 06:22 PM)
I came across this thread on Reddit (a two-year old thread btw) - Why do you buy the new iPhone every year?: https://www.reddit.com/r/iPhone14Pro/commen...one_every_year/

This reply attracts my attention as he speaks my mind. laugh.gif
Spend RM 5999 and trade-in for RM 3500 and pay RM 2499 for a new iPhone, worth it? I guess so though it sounds like I'm just a renting a phone. laugh.gif
Yes, makes sense for those who wants to enjoy the latest and greatest with worry-free trade-ins. I hate to go thru the tedious process of self advert and deal with strangers personally to COD a device regularly.

It may come to a point in near future when Phone prices are in the 5-figures and leasing/rental programs are introduced like buying Merc or BMWs lol.

As for myself, i'm still on 13PM, so the 17PM is a hugeeee upgrade for me. Eye-ing on the neutral colour - silver! biggrin.gif
ReaperX
post Sep 12 2025, 04:24 PM

892 posts

Planning to get this with Silver 17PM. ala Nothing phone. biggrin.gif I like that it covers the Camera plateau area too.

Spigen case link
ReaperX
post Sep 12 2025, 04:33 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 12 2025, 04:27 PM)
This is pretty. biggrin.gif
Yes, to cover up that 'chopping board' back laugh.gif

ReaperX
post Sep 12 2025, 04:36 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Sep 12 2025, 04:33 PM)
Hmm.. i think i will get SmartDevil accessories for temporary moment
It's hard to find branded casing that cover the plateau zone >.<

Don't mind can share which case you're going for?
Any Tempered glass you have in mind? I'm eye-ing on Hodas. hope it fits the Spigen case.
ReaperX
post Sep 12 2025, 04:53 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Sep 12 2025, 04:46 PM)
https://my.shp.ee/tzCnyPr

https://my.shp.ee/2PSocwT

https://my.shp.ee/szGBU82
RM48 after discount for total 3 items biggrin.gif
All go basic first before looking for branded
haha...good move. Just bare with temporary cheapo accessories while waiting for the market to be flooded with better choices later in a couple of month.
Hmmm...something for me to think about.

But i'm abit hesitant to install the lens protector. I feel it may impact the image quality.
Furthermore the iPhone's lens surface is made of Sapphire coating, right?
ReaperX
post Sep 12 2025, 06:37 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(skyp @ Sep 12 2025, 06:21 PM)

Cheapest option to upgrade to ip17
😂😂
That's like getting a Ferrari body for a Kancil engine laugh.gif
ReaperX
post Sep 12 2025, 08:01 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Sep 12 2025, 07:59 PM)
mad la maxis queue. im no 3k
Mine 28xx

so much for priority pre-order.sigh. I got the page since 7:50
ReaperX
post Sep 14 2025, 05:48 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 14 2025, 05:37 PM)
But Pitaka case doesn’t cover the entire frame right? Or did I overlook it or mix up with another brand?
They have few types. Ultra slim do not have extended lip for front side. The full military grade drop protection is Ultra guard. Just released in Shopee/Lazada yesterday. Local official reseller.
Bought this to match with Cosmic Orange 17PM.
Ultraguard

This post has been edited by ReaperX: Sep 14 2025, 05:48 PM
ReaperX
post Sep 14 2025, 06:36 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Sep 14 2025, 06:16 PM)
pitaka is really nice but too expensive .. can buy 2 casings at that price dy

the budget option is Benks ArmorAir and ArmorPro series but not as beautiful
Yeah saw Benks that day too.
Wallet prefers Benks/Spigen but heart says Pitaka icon_question.gif
ReaperX
post Sep 14 2025, 10:46 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Sep 14 2025, 06:49 PM)
Sir, may I suggest Rimowa?  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

https://www.rimowa.com/my/en/tech-accessories/
Luggage design, luckily not my cup of tea. The price sweat.gif

See Arc Pulse Titanium

This post has been edited by ReaperX: Sep 14 2025, 10:46 PM
ReaperX
post Sep 15 2025, 02:32 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Sep 15 2025, 01:42 PM)
Has anyone ordered from Pitaka online store before? I'm thinking of getting the Aramid Proguard case.
Just get it from Shopee/Lazada. Cheaper with mid-month vouchers and Shopee has free Instant delivery. Received within 30mins after seller shipped out.

ReaperX
post Sep 16 2025, 09:05 AM

892 posts

QUOTE(INGfusion @ Sep 15 2025, 02:40 PM)
will it too bulky ?
It's thicker than the Ultra Slim version. But slimmer than most common military grade protection cases that I have seen.
I'm liking the side profile with the wrap around continuity design aramid fiber from the back, so much better than Apple's Techwoven which is more generic.

Pitaka Aramid Ultraguard

Apple's Techwoven

QUOTE(shockk @ Sep 15 2025, 02:44 PM)
Pitaka cases are awesome in quality and design / materials. 👌🏼
In my opinion, the Pitaka Moonrise and Sunset case colours seem to suit the Silver or Dark Blue iPhone Pro / Max, and not the Cosmic Orange which is what I have pre ordered. Am personally using the Pitaka Sunset now with my iPhone 16 Pro Max Desert Titanium.

Perhaps the Pitaka Aramid Black Fiber would suit the Cosmic Orange better.

Anyway this is just my own preference.
Now, imagine it in pure Black!
Imaginary 17 Pro Black

QUOTE(hown @ Sep 15 2025, 04:59 PM)
now there are a lot of suggestions saying not to apply screen protector or else AR coating will be gone
I've read around it's actually the opposite. Applying AR screen protector/Tempered glass won't damage or remove the original iPhone's AR/oleophobic coating. It just adds another protective layer on top.
Just be careful not to use abrasive cleaning i.e. scrub with rough cloths or repeated use of alcohol-based cleaners.

This post has been edited by ReaperX: Sep 16 2025, 09:25 AM
ReaperX
post Sep 17 2025, 09:46 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Sep 17 2025, 07:09 PM)
got my pitaka ultraguard sunset

1 thing to nitpick is the weave is not all straight

Chiming in...mine has slight unevenness. But at a glance i don't notice it.
On a bright side, it gives 'character' to your unit with the unique factor.

On a side note, my maxis PO on day 1 (12/9) also sms me today the delivery delayed to 29 sep onwards. Sigh

This post has been edited by ReaperX: Sep 18 2025, 12:35 AM
ReaperX
post Sep 18 2025, 11:37 AM

892 posts

QUOTE(dawnreaver @ Sep 18 2025, 10:20 AM)
I got the SMS. Anyone here with a Maxis pre-order on the same boat?
QUOTE(mcho @ Sep 18 2025, 11:19 AM)
I think I’ve read a few pages back someone or someone’s saw the maxis delay msg as well last night.
That would be me. I've just contacted Maxis CS again and their Collection Center said it's a nationwide delay.

QUOTE(ReaperX @ Sep 17 2025, 09:46 PM)
Chiming in...mine has slight unevenness. But at a glance i don't notice it.
On a bright side, it gives 'character' to your unit with the unique factor.

On a side note, my maxis PO on day 1 (12/9) also sms me today the delivery delayed to 29 sep onwards. Sigh
This post has been edited by ReaperX: Sep 18 2025, 11:45 AM
ReaperX
post Sep 20 2025, 11:13 AM

892 posts

Bent Pitaka Ultra Slim while removing from phone

Becareful for those of you with Ultra Slim versions when removing it from phone. It seems to be a design flaw.
ReaperX
post Sep 20 2025, 02:35 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Sep 20 2025, 11:23 AM)
Am using the Ultra Slim Pitaka for my 16 Pro Max. And it’s been removed and reinstalled many times with no bending or breaking of the case.

Very sad if this is the case for the 17 Pro series Ultra Slim cases from Pitaka.
Guess it's due to the design for the 17 Pro ; the whole top frame of the camera plateau part is only supported by two thin sides. When you exert enough force, in this case removing from the top part, the two sides may give way easily.

This post has been edited by ReaperX: Sep 20 2025, 02:35 PM
ReaperX
post Sep 20 2025, 03:17 PM

892 posts

To those who prefers to go nekkid, think again... on the bright side, you may end up with a Silver unit. tongue.gif
ReaperX
post Sep 30 2025, 11:40 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(Nick Takuya @ Sep 30 2025, 10:00 PM)
I received the exact sms as well. Looks like stock came faster than expected, because i was told to wait 2-3 weeks. I ordered mine on 24th.
Which model you ordered and branch location? My PO was done on 12 Sept for 17PM 1TB orange from TRX. Received SMS on Sunday saying delayed again from Oct 7 onwards bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by ReaperX: Sep 30 2025, 11:41 PM
ReaperX
post Oct 15 2025, 12:02 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Oct 10 2025, 07:54 PM)
By inducting you to the hall of fame.. u do need to check in like once a month or two to share how’s your iPhone holding up with pics ya. May Steve Jobs bless ur iPhone. biggrin.gif

List updated 10/10

Lowyat iPhone Awards 2025 Hall of fame

1) most visits to Apple TRX
dikae ingfusion

2) Most case purchases
andrewtst dikae

3) Most traumatic Apple launch day delivery and complicated purchase with gift card
fruitie

4) Camera plateau protector hoarders aka pemborong
ingfusion vin39

5) Special Award: Travelled the most km for iPhone pick up
andrewtst Johor to Apple TRX, KL (2024 and 2025)

6) Daredevils: Using naked iPhone
kaihd

7) First to break/damage iPhone
TBA
Anyone out there beat my 17PM PO patience record? 12 Sept order, 10 Oct collection; that’s dedication 😆

This post has been edited by ReaperX: Oct 15 2025, 12:05 PM
ReaperX
post Oct 16 2025, 12:51 AM

892 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 15 2025, 12:16 PM)
I keep searching this PITAKA case, all out of stock does this model this color. Hope Shopee or Lazada restock soon.
I think they heard u, they just restocked now! Gogogo! biggrin.gif
Link: Pitaka Ultraguard

QUOTE(JasonthegreatTWO @ Oct 15 2025, 01:27 PM)
Nice Pitakan how much
MSRP 369. Using shopee voucher can trim it down to around RM250.
Link: Pitaka Ultraguard

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Oct 15 2025, 09:15 PM)
Haha, KIV for now. However no one beats fruitie buying experience. You need support from others.
Just wondering who else waited longer than me. like waiting for durian season!

As for my current Pitaka Ultraguard, it's really smooth and nice to hold but would prefer a little more grip like Apple's Techwoven. But overall aesthetics and quality is great. It handles fingerprints/smudges really well.

I'm eye-ing on another two brands:

Caudabe Sheath - I like that it has full protection even the Camera plateau area with precise cutouts and slim minimalistic design. Anyone has experience with this brand here?

0.0243sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:02 PM