American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™
pmsoo
Mar 27 2009, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Mar 26 2009, 09:05 PM) @David83, I was told about the AF waiver on the 3rd card when I asked about waiver for the Platinum Credit Card before I put my application in. They told me it can't be done unless I oredi have 2 existing MBB Credit Cards. That gave me the impression that it can be done but since I do not hold 2 other MBB Credit Cards, I didn't pursue asking anymore. If that were the case, I wouldn't mind getting additional 2 MBB CCs just to get my Amex Platinum Credit Card AF waived   Strange coincidence, my Amex Plat CC is my 3rd CC with maybank, with my visa and mastercard my first two. I will update here soon after talking to the CS today or monday.. Someone told me to wait til the AF appears in my bill
tinkerbel
Mar 27 2009, 11:31 PM
Fanaddict!
@pmsoo, Let me know what the outcome is but have you ever paid the RM800 AF for this Amex Platinum Credit Card? Damn.. am I the only one who received the bill on my AF 2 months after I received the card?!
cesarmora
Mar 28 2009, 12:10 AM

today i just activated my AMEX gold for international usage.
and i asked what was my credit limit...
the reply was...NONE.. ... i can spend any amount as long as i can pay back.... this is good for those that can jaga...but bad for those cant jaga..
SUSrockefeller
Mar 29 2009, 09:41 AM
Just to make it clear, the Amex Platinum Charge Card is still the most prestigious Amex card in Malaysia. Annual income requirement used to be RM 300,000 but has been reduced to RM 190,000. Not ony income evidence required, an applicant must also have strong financial standing as bank statements are required. Proving your salary credited into your account alone will not do. You must have consistent credit balance of six figures to ease the process. If you do not have income documents, you may try applying by submitting copies of FD probably in the region of RM 1 million.
On rare occasions, they do grant pre approved Amex Platinum Charge Card to Maybank Wealth Management clients with assets under management of RM 4 million and above with first year annual fee waiver. Subsequently even these big timers must pay their annual fees. Getting annual fee waiver for Amex Platinum Charge Card is almost next to impossible.
hye
Mar 29 2009, 11:48 AM
White Tiger
Wonder what's the outcome of RockIron's meeting ?
TSDozz
Mar 29 2009, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(rockefeller @ Mar 29 2009, 09:41 AM) Just to make it clear, the Amex Platinum Charge Card is still the most prestigious Amex card in Malaysia. Annual income requirement used to be RM 300,000 but has been reduced to RM 190,000. Not ony income evidence required, an applicant must also have strong financial standing as bank statements are required. Proving your salary credited into your account alone will not do. You must have consistent credit balance of six figures to ease the process. If you do not have income documents, you may try applying by submitting copies of FD probably in the region of RM 1 million. On rare occasions, they do grant pre approved Amex Platinum Charge Card to Maybank Wealth Management clients with assets under management of RM 4 million and above with first year annual fee waiver. Subsequently even these big timers must pay their annual fees. Getting annual fee waiver for Amex Platinum Charge Card is almost next to impossible. Thanks for sharing with us. Yes, AMEX Platinum Charge Card annual fee will NEVER waived regardless how much you spent per year, but i heard we can actually use memebship rewards to get it waived right?
tgeoklin
Mar 30 2009, 07:35 AM
QUOTE(rockefeller @ Mar 29 2009, 09:41 AM) Just to make it clear, the Amex Platinum Charge Card is still the most prestigious Amex card in Malaysia. Annual income requirement used to be RM 300,000 but has been reduced to RM 190,000. Not ony income evidence required, an applicant must also have strong financial standing as bank statements are required. Proving your salary credited into your account alone will not do. You must have consistent credit balance of six figures to ease the process. If you do not have income documents, you may try applying by submitting copies of FD probably in the region of RM 1 million. On rare occasions, they do grant pre approved Amex Platinum Charge Card to Maybank Wealth Management clients with assets under management of RM 4 million and above with first year annual fee waiver. Subsequently even these big timers must pay their annual fees. Getting annual fee waiver for Amex Platinum Charge Card is almost next to impossible. Its really is just marketing hype as since its a charge card there is effectively no differences on how much you can charge on either your amex personal, gold or plat cards as its all dependent on your actual financial standing, thus even George W Bush only uses a green card for those not in the know In terms of benefits, sorry to say but the Visa Infinite & World Mastercard already surpassed it. Its just an old dinosaur nowadays, reliving its days of glory for all purposes. In time to come, it may probably go the way of Diners, which incidentally is the first charge card to be introduced to the world.
SUSrockefeller
Mar 30 2009, 08:18 AM
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Mar 30 2009, 07:35 AM) Its really is just marketing hype as since its a charge card there is effectively no differences on how much you can charge on either your amex personal, gold or plat cards as its all dependent on your actual financial standing, thus even George W Bush only uses a green card for those not in the know In terms of benefits, sorry to say but the Visa Infinite & World Mastercard already surpassed it. Its just an old dinosaur nowadays, reliving its days of glory for all purposes. In time to come, it may probably go the way of Diners, which incidentally is the first charge card to be introduced to the world.  I may be wrong but through experience, American Express Platinum Charge Card's level of service is still much superior compared to Visa Infinite or World Mastercard in more ways than one especially their Customer Service and the willingness of the Concierge to go the extra mile to please its cardmember. Just my 2cents.
tgeoklin
Mar 30 2009, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(rockefeller @ Mar 30 2009, 08:18 AM) I may be wrong but through experience, American Express Platinum Charge Card's level of service is still much superior compared to Visa Infinite or World Mastercard in more ways than one especially their Customer Service and the willingness of the Concierge to go the extra mile to please its cardmember. Just my 2cents. Previously you may be right but since MBB took over, its been sliding while Visa & Master (referring to the actual Visa/Master concierge service & not the individual bank's CSO) has been improving. At least such was my experience over the past year etc. This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Mar 30 2009, 10:45 AM
jack2
Mar 31 2009, 11:24 PM
See from the AMEX statement that it is now allowed to convert the points into cash rebate.
Wonder where I can see the rates.
GHz
Apr 1 2009, 08:54 AM
QUOTE(jack2 @ Mar 31 2009, 11:24 PM) See from the AMEX statement that it is now allowed to convert the points into cash rebate. Wonder where I can see the rates. Interesting, what was written in the statement?. Did not see any related information on their website.
TSDozz
Apr 1 2009, 09:48 AM
Anyone using AMEX platinum credit card here?
jack2
Apr 1 2009, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(GHz @ Apr 1 2009, 08:54 AM) Interesting, what was written in the statement?. Did not see any related information on their website. I am still searching through maybank2u and americanexpress.com.my websites but can't find any. The overleaf of the statement states this QUOTE We are pleased to announce Membership Rewards Turbo will be extended to another year, effect April 1 2009. The annual fee will be revised to RM100. Check out our new Flexi Rewards benefit where you can now convert your Membership Rewards points to cash rebate. For more information, please log on to www.maybank2u.com.my or www.amerincanexpress.com.my Got it http://www2.americanexpress.com.my/members...promo/2xpts.pdfThis post has been edited by jack2: Apr 1 2009, 01:56 PM
GHz
Apr 1 2009, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(jack2 @ Apr 1 2009, 01:42 PM) I am still searching through maybank2u and americanexpress.com.my websites but can't find any. The overleaf of the statement states this Got it http://www2.americanexpress.com.my/members...promo/2xpts.pdfThanks. So every 200 point you get RM1 & every RM1 spend you get 2 points. So the rebate is 1%. Very good.
jack2
Apr 1 2009, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(GHz @ Apr 1 2009, 02:12 PM) Thanks. So every 200 point you get RM1 & every RM1 spend you get 2 points. So the rebate is 1%. Very good.  Yes, better than AmBank AmBonus. But not as good as Alliance 2% in which they rejected me liao....
GHz
Apr 1 2009, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(jack2 @ Apr 1 2009, 02:16 PM) Yes, better than AmBank AmBonus. But not as good as Alliance 2% in which they rejected me liao....  Yup, less than Alliance card, but remember its up to 2% base on tier rate & max rm5000 spending. Their premium debit card is the only true 2% rebate card. By the way I am a new AMEX user, do I need to enroll for membership rewards program & pay RM25 per year to enjoy this rebate? I am holding AMEX gold card.
jack2
Apr 1 2009, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(GHz @ Apr 1 2009, 02:34 PM) Yup, less than Alliance card, but remember its up to 2% base on tier rate & max rm5000 spending. Their premium debit card is the only true 2% rebate card. By the way I am a new AMEX user, do I need to enroll for membership rewards program & pay RM25 per year to enjoy this rebate? I am holding AMEX gold card. I am not sure whether you need to enroll or not.. If you can see your rewards points in your statement on via online, I think you have been enrolled.
GHz
Apr 1 2009, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(jack2 @ Apr 1 2009, 02:44 PM) I am not sure whether you need to enroll or not.. If you can see your rewards points in your statement on via online, I think you have been enrolled. Yes I can see rewards points online. Means that it automatically enroll & do not need to pat rm25 right?
cute_boboi
Apr 1 2009, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(GHz @ Apr 1 2009, 02:50 PM) Yes I can see rewards points online. Means that it automatically enroll & do not need to pat rm25 right? Including Turbo MR points is in total 2x or 3x ? How much MR points is needed to redeem RM25 for the turbo activation ?  It is worth it (i.e. breakeven points) ?
GHz
Apr 1 2009, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 1 2009, 03:12 PM) Including Turbo MR points is in total 2x or 3x ? How much MR points is needed to redeem RM25 for the turbo activation ?  It is worth it (i.e. breakeven points) ? For MR Turbo you need RM100 for activation. To get RM100 need 20,000 MR = RM6666 to spend. If you are big spender maybe it is worth it. http://www2.americanexpress.com.my/members...promo/3xpts.pdfThis post has been edited by GHz: Apr 1 2009, 03:16 PM