125 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

Travel Travel to Japan, Compiled info on pg1

matt85
post Nov 23 2011, 12:30 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Nov 23 2011, 12:30 PM)
Hi guys, I'd be visiting tokyo early december

Don't plan to use the weekly pass. so using Hyperdia's website, it says I have to change lines to reach my hostel. Do I have to buy tickets separately for different lines ?

Added on November 23, 2011, 11:31 am
why are you spending so much time in osaka ? u should only spend 2 nights there, and more times in kyoto
If you don't plan to buy JR Pass, get SUICA, works like our TouchnGo
zzzxtreme
post Nov 23 2011, 12:36 PM

Synth Freak
4,299 posts

thanks babe ! muah !
RegentCid
post Nov 23 2011, 12:57 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

At Tokyo you can buy Suica Card or Pasmo Card....
deqna
post Nov 23 2011, 08:22 PM

QUOTE(nikonfan @ Nov 22 2011, 10:29 AM)

Added on November 22, 2011, 10:41 am
hi,

i will go to OSAKA on late of January too, which date?
I'll be going after CNY.. on 28/1.. Will stay 4nite in osaka and planning to stay 2nite in kyoto n 1nite at nara.. How bout u ?

yiyibrowers
post Nov 28 2011, 11:31 PM

751 posts

hey guy, i'm thinking whether should i free and easy or follow tour... my main destination is tokyo disneyland.... but i dunno any chinese or japanese....
RegentCid
post Nov 28 2011, 11:44 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Go by Alone ...you need apply Visa. Need minimum Rm6k above bank statement and some document.

Go by tour then you no need apply Visa. The Tour will apply tour group Visa for you. No need worry on transport and accommodation. All you need just pay RM3k-5k.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Nov 28 2011, 11:44 PM
radkliler
post Nov 28 2011, 11:47 PM

WUBWUBWUB
985 posts

Do you prefer freedom or do you want to really get the most out of your tour.

If you can answer that question, then you've already know which to choose.
Zenax
post Nov 29 2011, 05:59 PM

64 posts

Hi all,

Anyone have experience in Shirakawa-go? Is there any bus/transportation that goes to Kanazawa from Shirakawa-go at night at about 6pm after the Winter Shirakawa-go Light-Up? I have did research on all available english websites but can only find transportation to Takayama...

Really appreciate if anyone got japanese information....
zzzxtreme
post Nov 29 2011, 06:06 PM

Synth Freak
4,299 posts

Nohi bus serves Shirakawa-go area

I'd be going to shirakawa-go from Takayama via Nohi Bus

U "may" have to transit at Takayama , both using Nohi bus
Shazzac
post Dec 1 2011, 10:31 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(AudreyBaby @ Dec 1 2011, 10:26 AM)
Do we need to apply for VISA to enter Japan for tour purpose? Plan to stay for a week?
Yes, please refer to the 2 japan threads.
deqna
post Dec 1 2011, 02:17 PM

I'm wondering, is it easy to travel with trolley luggage within kansai? I normally use backpack during my travel, but thinking of using luggage because need to bring winter clothes..
Is it cheaper to buy winter clothes in osaka?
Shazzac
post Dec 1 2011, 03:13 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(deqna @ Dec 1 2011, 02:17 PM)
I'm wondering, is it easy to travel with trolley luggage within kansai? I normally use backpack during my travel, but thinking of using luggage because need to bring winter clothes..
Is it cheaper to buy winter clothes in osaka?
Sorry but never been to Kansai before but I guess going anywhere with a trolley luggage will be harder somehow as you need to use 2 hands to carry when you unboard or boarding bus/train/metro/taxi and even worse if staying at a staircase ONLY hostel/hotel/inn/B&B.

Unless if you have already a winter jacket, not recommended to wait till you reach there to buy unless you can tahan the cold-ness la (from airport to hotel then hotel to shopping mall.

You could head to Rinku Premium Outlets to shop if you don't mind (http://www.premiumoutlets.co.jp/rinku/index.html). The stuff sold there are really heavily discounted.

Back in 2008 in Feb, I was at the Gotemba Premium Outlet near Tokyo, a Tommy Hilfiger winter jacket costs only RM100!

But the availability of the season clothes depending on the current season they are having though. Not really just last season clothings/items.
e-jump
post Dec 1 2011, 03:24 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

the only place where you gonna have troubles w/ trolleys is at stations that is elevated/subway/not-on-ground. Some have lift(lift for disabled etc).
its not like you gonna pull ur trolley everyday anyway (at most the day you check-in/out) wink.gif
oneeleven
post Dec 1 2011, 09:28 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Dec 1 2011, 03:24 PM)
the only place where you gonna have troubles w/ trolleys is at stations that is elevated/subway/not-on-ground. Some have lift(lift for disabled etc).
its not like you gonna pull ur trolley everyday anyway (at most the day you check-in/out) wink.gif
Some packed with crowds and really really huge stations that go for miles, get lost and difficult to find lifts. You may end up on an unknown street. No easy solution, just make sure you have plenty of time to recover from mistakes and keep it light weight for stairs.

smwah
post Dec 2 2011, 12:19 AM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

I had changed my flight date from early may to mid march. Cost me rm570... rclxub.gif At the end spend 2k for 2 person includes check in begs. Not say wasted, but is due to my work. Bcoz I intend to resign and go for new job in April. So At least can have a good rest and concentrate my new job. Can't imagine if I asked for special leave just join my new company. But 2k is still a good price.
Going to Osaka, hope you guys can share share some info. Target place will be Osaka, Nara and Kyoto.
Eiraku
post Dec 2 2011, 02:42 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Dec 1 2011, 09:28 PM)
Some packed with crowds and really really huge stations that go for miles, get lost and difficult to find lifts. You may end up on an unknown street. No easy solution, just make sure you have plenty of time to recover from mistakes and keep it  light weight for stairs.

Keep it light.

Thankfully my travel hardened dad drilled that into my skull while packing for my trip. It was all worth the hassle while in transit to my Hotel.

Not that I didn't have a rolling bag, but I had a very light one. Also, you can park your roll bags in a storage box for about ¥400 at most Tokyo stations if you arrive early and have to check in late. Or leave your bags in the care of the hotel.

Oh, and the B-Mobile U300 simpack is supremely useful if you have an iPhone/Android/Symbian (aka non-BB) smartphone and need cheap data. 1 month prepaid versions are below ¥3000 and is well worth it if you stay for 1 week or longer. Being able to check LYN while lepaking around Harajuku is geng, but being able to use the Tokyo Trains android app ANYWHERE is even better.

(Not that the Metro system is too hard to figure out, really. It's just like KL... x 100)

Only problem? The 1 month version is ONLY available online, but there's an ordering guide floating somewhere on the net (on the SG HWZ forums IINM). It also needs to be shipped to your hotel, so you might need to buzz them beforehand.

Eff. Need to sleep. Goin to Kamakura tomorrow... ugh... this morning.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 2 2011, 03:00 AM
RegentCid
post Dec 2 2011, 06:12 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Haha......if Tokyo sub was 100 times complicted, then london tube was 1000 times already and newyork was 10000 times more.
idoblu
post Dec 2 2011, 09:34 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

London subway is easy compare to Tokyo
Shazzac
post Dec 2 2011, 10:04 AM

427 posts

Anyway subway is easy if you already know where you want to go to.
RegentCid
post Dec 2 2011, 01:48 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 2 2011, 08:34 AM)
London subway is easy compare to Tokyo
For me the Tube was more complicated than JR Metro Subway .

125 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0332sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:45 AM