Travel Travel to Japan, Compiled info on pg1

Shazzac
post Dec 23 2010, 11:11 AM

427 posts

Maybe just 50% of Japanese speaks English.

But they are very helpful. If you actually join a tour group for your Japan trip, you will sometimes miss out the other things that locals are doing. Tour Groups usually will bring you to touristy places and eat maybe chinese food. That's what I usually hear from my friends.

I usually travel on my own as you get the full experience of actually taking their Metro, the bus, walking around the area where your tour group will never bring you to. Also taking your time to visit each place rather than being chased around by your tour guide to hurry up.

It's actually very easy to navigate in Tokyo. The signs are all in alphabets and also Japanese characters. You could also check out which places you want to go online and find out which train station that the place is at and then go from there onwards.

HTH!
Shazzac
post Dec 23 2010, 02:35 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(air @ Dec 23 2010, 02:20 PM)
Hi there, gonna need some help for Japan Visa application(2011 March):

Example:

My bank acc: RM5000
Type: Travelling alone
Purpose: LIVE Concert
Days of staying: 3 or 5 days

For this case, along with complete documents filled, first time application suppose can pass with breeze?

Thanks for the reply first.
I believe should pass.

Also you need:

Letter from your employer
Flight Schedule
Hotel Confirmation (via email is enough)
Itinerary of trip

Since you are going for a Concert, photocopy of Concert tickets will be good.

So far, i've only heard 1 story from my friends - his cousin kena reject at Narita Airport Immigration - sent back to Malaysia on the next flight out. Didn't give reason though.
Shazzac
post Dec 24 2010, 10:10 AM

427 posts

I don't think there is a minimum of the amount of $ that you should have in the bank.

The embassy just wants to make sure that you are able to support yourself while you're in their country and not ask for their govt's help.

I think at that time i present an a/c worth ##k to them and I was given a 2 weeks single entry visa.

But Mayflower CS (the one that i usually deal with) did advise to put in RM5k or more.

And yup, letter from employer (better if MNC) is a good gurantee for the embassy for your return.

This post has been edited by Shazzac: Dec 24 2010, 10:11 AM
Shazzac
post Dec 28 2010, 04:27 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(air @ Dec 28 2010, 03:59 PM)
@Shazzac

Booked air ticket, guess what? I got it both day in promotion offer!!! total cost for air ticket: RM1005 (3 days two nights)

Whats left? Concert ticket bidding/accquiring, and VISA to go!!!

My colleague mentioned it is always better to let travel agency do the application for you. What say you?
Hey Air,

It's doable on your own as well. Does not really matter who does it for you though.

As long as you have the complete documents required, then it should be no problem at all.

I got Mayflower (my company's corporate travel agent) to do because they only asked for RM15 service charge. It's a good deal as I do not live in KL city and it will be a hassle for me to take leave and purpose go submit, then take leave again to purposely go back 3 days later to get the approved visa.

Not sure how much they'll charge outsiders though. You can always enquire within.
Shazzac
post Dec 28 2010, 09:53 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(Kenki @ Dec 28 2010, 09:42 PM)
My friend just back from Japan and he told me he spent about 10k. Just asking, is it more worthy to follow travel agency or go alone?
In my opinion, free & easy is the best but of course if you are not daring enough to explore on your own or aren't very good in planning your trip, then you should join a tour group.

Different people spend different amount of money.

Just because your friend spent 10k for his/her trip, it doesn't mean that you will be spending that much or that little. It all depends on your planning and your budget.

Everything is do-able if you know how.
Shazzac
post Dec 31 2010, 04:56 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 31 2010, 04:53 PM)
1 week sure enough...you want put Osaka + Kyoto + Hakone together also can but you need very fine good plan everything.

Hakone is must go area if you went to Tokyo.....is like you go visit Seremban then must go visit Port Dickson together also
LOL I total agree. Hakone is like the cutest little town ever!!!! I still remember, standing at the entrance of the factory outlet village and saw mount fuji! Amazing!!
Shazzac
post May 20 2011, 08:06 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(dottcomm @ May 20 2011, 08:03 PM)
Hi to those planning to japan. Is travelling to tokyo safe in term of health hazzards? And after shock of the earthquake issit still in panic state? I.e is it good for holiday.

Going there this end June, air asia dont allow change so now dillema to go or not? Postpone until when oso dont know sigh...

Hope to get some comments , advise, and guide for those who is there and whats the situation? Many thx.
I emailed my Japanese friend a few weeks ago regarding my trip to Tokyo in Sept. She did mention that everything still goes on as normal as of then. So i think there shouldn't be a problem to visit Japan during your chosen time. Most important, just don't visit anywhere too near to the disaster area.

Shazzac
post Jul 6 2011, 02:34 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Jul 6 2011, 12:57 PM)
Hey guys,

I going to plan a trip to Japan next yr during Chinese new year
Roughly 22/1/12 to end of January.

Is there any flight promotions around? should i wait or book now?
Ive checked airasia, seems to be around 1500rm, Mas & SIA also expensive

Please advise
You should check out Thai Airways too. Their pricings are usually cheap for Japan.

I've checked.

Departing 21.01.11/Returning 28.01.11 @ RM2,120 with tax etc. If want, can get the longest layover so you can do some shopping in BKK.
Shazzac
post Jul 6 2011, 03:12 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Jul 6 2011, 03:09 PM)
thanks for the info;

That said; i guess its still cheapest flying AirAsia..Zz
Alamak, i tot you wanted to go Osaka, that's why suggested Thai Airways. If you are, it should be cheaper to fly via Thai Airways because from Tokyo to Osaka return, even if you buy the JR pass, already cost you like 1k+. Unless of course both places also you want to go. But IMO, it would be very worth if you are going from city to city using JR pass. If just going to 1 or 2 city with the pass.... wasted.
Shazzac
post Jul 6 2011, 07:09 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ Jul 6 2011, 03:49 PM)
from KL to Narita Tokyo

22 jan to 31 jan 2012

MAS, return flight RM2016 ! ALL IN!~~ tax, food , luggage!~

Air asia is RM1330 for the flight + tax only.
For my flight to Japan - i only added around 156 for food, luggage. Even if 1330 add in 156 - still lesser than MAS's one. tongue.gif
Shazzac
post Jul 11 2011, 11:54 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(B ean @ Jul 7 2011, 11:04 PM)
Hi there, yes it seems life goes on as usual according to cousin who'd just returned from 3 weeks in Tokyo. Btw, i'm going to Kyoto for two weeks in Sept. Would you know any home stay with meals?
Well, i'm not sure where can find any homestay with meals but i googled and here is what i've found.

http://www.homestay-in-japan.com/eng/

Never tried this website before tho but if you do, do let us know of your experience. Paiseh stay at ppl house coz have to follow house rules. Hotel/Inn much more relaxed for me.

QUOTE(moody5 @ Jul 8 2011, 08:37 AM)
smile.gif  pls share with us after you fly to japan via Airasia!

(MAS flight time is nice than Airasia anyway)
Sorry, my flight to Tokyo is in Sept - so not experience to tell yet. Maybe when I'm back though. Will blog about it.

QUOTE(air @ Jul 11 2011, 09:55 AM)
Erm... not sure your walking speed, but missing the last train, you way too slow bro.

Even for me, first-timer travel alone, reach JP Handa by AirAsia, same time as you described, moved quickly to clear CUSTOM, indeed there are many people, but their officer very efficient and effective. I even chit chat with the female receptionist with english for directions quite a while + learning buy a MRT/LRT/Rail reload card and use before depart to airport rail station.

Reached ISHIKAWA-CHO at almost 1 am, super THRILLING when finding the "min shoku"/household motel alone by map + asking direction only. Freezing cold and feel isolated, but adventurous and fulfilling as a backpacker.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Phew, thank goodness for your review though. I'm a little panicky that i might miss the last monorail (12.15am). When did you fly into Tokyo though? I feel relieved having read your review.

I know that their suica card can be bought from machine though, right? Will have to recheck again the location of the machine to buy that card.

My previous trip didn't get Suica card coz I took Thai Airways to Narita instead - and i bought the 2 day Metro tourist card - cheaper then with the 0.03 rate. tongue.gif
Shazzac
post Jul 12 2011, 11:02 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(air @ Jul 12 2011, 10:29 AM)
My arrival time was 2345(It will normally earlier 20mins if no delay caused), enter the airport(you know the usual waiting and delay stuff), then custom clearance and the most painful ==> baggage waiting (this one I waited for 30mins at least, then further to the airport <==> rail reception counter to understand more about the railway system and suica card purchase and usage, you can get many maps for different region in Tokyo Prefecture(just take them, you will need it)
I tot air asia flight to haneda arrives at 10.30pm?
Shazzac
post Jul 12 2011, 11:41 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(air @ Jul 12 2011, 11:14 AM)
Opps sorry my arrival time yes it is 2230, sorry for my mistake.
Btw, entering the airport and custom clearance wont take much time... Just the baggage claim waiting time is PITA tho...(occurred in almost every airport), for first timer, the Railway maps are important, it comes with english and JP version. Railway system a bit special and too complex to read, if you been experienced Taipei Metro, then JR is quite similar in direction reading thus picking up a lot faster.
Thanks for the info. Will watch out for the conveyor for the bag la. Hopefully faster roll around.

Ah, i'm not worried of the train system in tokyo. It's pretty self explanatory to me because all I need to know is where to get off and where to get on. Love their train system to the max. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(abbychan87 @ Jul 12 2011, 11:30 AM)
any one come back from Tokyo recently? is it ok to Free n Easy travel  there next month? thanks ya!
My japanese friend told me that it's still going on normal in Tokyo!

Shazzac
post Jul 12 2011, 05:53 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(air @ Jul 12 2011, 01:43 PM)
So you quite well-verse with Japanese Language? cause in JR, almost every route you taken need to switch to another rail to reach your destination. At busier station, almost got 4-6 rail intersect together and it will get quite confusing.

For my proficiency, I able to read partial hira&kata(not speaking and writing), able to read and understand almost all Kanji, thus I can ask for direction altho they quite shy with foreigner(only able to ask them with single kanji or hira words, they will know your intention instantly if simple one). English only works in airport, yes at even tokyo main rail station, the officers only able to communicate with Japanese Language.

No i can't read nor speak Japanese. I can't even read Chinese. I'm a certified banana girl.

Anyway, i don't find it difficult to communicate in english even with the locals. They are very helpful. Of course I did alot of research and what not to not get lost in Tokyo.

Their train station has train station names in alphabetical so it's not hard to know where I should stop and which train I should get on next.

I think the most important note is that you must know where you are going, which stop to stop at, shouldn't be a big problem.

If blindly go, even with KL train system - will still get lost.

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 12 2011, 03:00 PM)
Japanese no problem for me.....but for those who doesn't know must do more homework on it......go more google searh for it...Japan no like Malaysia.  You go JAL website or ANA website you can get all Japan airport map into 2D design one.  All JR tokyo website got all tokyo station map in 2d design. If you really hardworking study the map .....how can you lost in train station? LOL.....

BTW the train all are colour code....like Yamanote line are green colour...once you pass the ticket machine....follow the green sign green line....it lead you to yamanote line. etc etc.  Japanese subway / train are messy but compare to New York or London ....Japan still kiddo only
Yup, agreed that their train map are messy but it's do-able. I am quite good with maps so, I hardly get lost. As long as I study the map first before going out or going to take the route, then it's not a problem.

Shazzac
post Aug 10 2011, 09:33 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(lexy @ Aug 10 2011, 08:45 AM)
Guys, Air Asia is going to launch flight to OSAKA!! Are you guys excited??!!
I've head about that but this soon?
Shazzac
post Aug 10 2011, 11:14 AM

427 posts

Just got the sms from Citibank AA.

Priority Booking starts from 11.08.11. Travel Period: 30.11.11-20.06.12.

Ish, already going to Tokyo next month. Should I go to Osaka next yr again if able to get the ticket for cheap?!??!

Offer price starts from RM199 (RM100 saved). (this is what is written in the sms)

Shazzac
post Aug 10 2011, 01:46 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(nicodemus88 @ Aug 10 2011, 01:06 PM)
Will be travelling with my girlfriend, so they will be 2 of us... So meaning that both of us have to show proof that we have RM6k in our bank statement each?

So RM6k is sufficient for expenditure in Japan for a week?
Yes it has to be at least that in each of your a/c. They do not care if you have just banked it in the day before or a long time before.

For me, 1 week - i'd use around 100,000 yen (which is alot) but then that's to be comfortable. This will include accommodation, transportation, food, entry tickets and after deducting all that, I still have half left.

Currently 100,000 yen = RM38xx.
Shazzac
post Aug 10 2011, 05:22 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(lexy @ Aug 10 2011, 05:08 PM)
Quoted from Air Asia facebook:

AirAsia X : Osaka Press Conference
Want to indulge in delicious Osaka cuisines, stroll along the beautiful Osaka Ca...stle and shop in Amerikamura and more? Your dream is coming true with AirAsia X this coming November 2011!

AirAsia X will be flying to Osaka – our 2nd destination in Japan and to mark this exciting news, we are offering special promo fares from RM249! (all-in-fare).

Booking Period: 11 August 2011 - 14 August 2011
Travel Period: 30 November 2011 - 20 June 2012.

Booking starts at 00:01 hrs, 11 August 2011! Share this great news with your family & friends and get ready at www.airasia.com at 00:01 hrs @ 11 August 2011!

AirAsia X will commence services and fly direct to Kansai International Airport, Osaka with four non-stop weekly services between Kuala Lumpur and Osaka. Osaka, the commercial centre of Japan is also a gateway to the popular historical city of Kyoto and Kobe, which are accessible less than 30 minutes by train.

Are you READY for OSAKA? :-D

Added on August 10, 2011, 5:17 pmI am so tempted T.T
Me too.

Very very tempted. Will stay up till midnight to check this out. Else will check it out tomorrow morning at 6.30am if indeed they are giving priority booking for Citibank AA card member.
Shazzac
post Aug 10 2011, 08:24 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(Beachkid @ Aug 10 2011, 08:14 PM)
Hi guys! I am planning a trip to Thailand and Japan, this post is about the Japan trip.

I hope someone could respond as I have some inquiries about traveling to Japan for the first time.
i)First, how much would the AVERAGE cost be for 10 days in Kyoto, Osaka, Kamakura, Nikko- not a tour,but a self travel trip with my gf.

I know this is vague, but roughly like economy air asia seats from KL, 3 square meals a day-not super expensive,but an average portion and of course staying accomodation-well again not where all backpackers lump in together nor a 5 star swim suite spa hotel but just a regular room for two with fan would be fine.

Anyone can give me a rough estimate?

ii) I wanted to know your view on couple travelling for students. Is it normal for the guy to pay for the girl's airfare? Should he? Not including the living expenses of course.

Thanks guys, I hope I'm not too vague and can get a rough ballpark figure for two people.

It seems that alot of people are going the easy way out by just sucking out information from just asking. Why not do some of your research first. Everything that you need to know is almost 100% available online.

Check out air tickets from AA's website.

Check out hotel price from www.hotels.com, www.wotif.com, www.agoda.com. Or just plainly google for it.

FYI, meals range from 500<xxxxx depending on what you want to eat.

Refer www.japan-guide.com for your trip to Japan. There are plenty of info there.
Shazzac
post Aug 10 2011, 09:54 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(Beachkid @ Aug 10 2011, 09:51 PM)

Isn't that what these forums are for? A hub for people to seek information from experienced travellers if they need to? Of course I can do research, but if I can get a reply from a person who has done it before wouldn't it make it more convenient for me?

I already have researched all the sites you mentioned and more, I just wanted a fellow traveller's opinion on it.
Actually, if you read from page 1 onwards, the infos are already graduating been added from page to page.

I see alot of people who doesn't even bother to READ the whole thread before asking. You can also do a search at that particular thread so it will direct you to the reply that has the best reference to the info that you want.

Opinions from travellers has already been posted from page to page. Do read up. It's all in THIS thread.

0.0429sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:14 PM