495 Pages « < 322 323 324 325 326 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V42, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO!

BenYeeHua
post Sep 8 2024, 11:10 PM

1,873 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Sep 8 2024, 10:56 PM)
When AWS Malaysia went live, he could have just STFU and let what he previously said disappear.
Instead, he want to block DNS, to protect you. He want a kill switch, to protect you. Now he want to quarantine you too.

He could have let the current task force in Bank Negara continue their job. Whatever extra he needs from the tech community, he can reach out and I'm sure a lot of people is willing to fight crime.

But no, he bulldoze all the censorship. People will see this as bad faith. The moment he open his mouth like this, it's a done deal.

When the DNS thing first start, he can act dumb and just say check with MCMC. Nope, he double down and brand everyone a criminal.

Now this Teresa Kok case, they cannot talk their way out how easy it is to sakit hati.
Money, control, choose the balance nicely, not trying to grab both.
Else, both lose. tongue.gif
---
Unsure why, speed.cloudflare.com back reroute to KUL via IPv4, and they removed IPv6 result from each DNS, hmm... sweat.gif
But I double checked lowyat IPv6 in case, and yes, also reroute back to KUL, hmm..

This post has been edited by BenYeeHua: Sep 8 2024, 11:14 PM
dev/numb
post Sep 8 2024, 11:33 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(noriabe @ Sep 8 2024, 10:37 PM)
210.186.XX, 210.187.XX, 175.XX have no routing problem so far.
Ahem, 210.186.xxx.xx here.

Top left: SG-M247, top right: SG-Datacamp
Bottom left: HK-M247, bottom right: JP-M247

Basically, for the past two weeks between 10pm - 2am, Japan has been the closest VPN node I can connect to with stable packet flow. Singapore, Hong Kong, Jakarta, Bangkok all packet lowsai during this period. That particular HK node above has been terrible for months.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Sep 8 2024, 11:35 PM
PRSXFENG
post Sep 8 2024, 11:49 PM

2,613 posts

QUOTE(The.Lucas.DaY @ Sep 8 2024, 10:46 PM)
How much is the plan monthly?
Continue paying the same price as whatever you were paying before

(my relative is paying a lot more for some reason that I did not look into)
biatche
post Sep 9 2024, 05:18 AM

1,649 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Sep 8 2024, 09:21 PM)
Nevermind I take it back. Tonight all high ping again, I guess with them u-turning on the DNS hijack, they revert back to previous routing also. doh.gif
oh wow you play the exact games we play.

sadly, sometimes we do group beast runs in EU after 2am, these days will still spike to 5k ping or so. with poe, whenever ping spikes like that, its just packet loss, but itll display as 5k+ ping. previously it was stable under 200ms.

so either submarine cable broke or they are throttling.... or theres actually congestion which i think is the real reason why they wanna block stuff without paying for more backbone.

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 9 2024, 05:43 AM

4,474 posts

QUOTE(axxer @ Sep 8 2024, 12:21 PM)
Finally backed down. We can't fix stupidity, but at least we can talk some sense into the stupids. Or even if the sense never penetrate their thick skull, its still due to the sheere amount of backlash they backed down. Well done people.
https://www.lowyat.net/2024/331789/mcmc-dns...as-been-halted/

i'm glad they are undoing this.

though i'm a bit hesitant to blast them, because after all they did backdown. if overly criticize them, they may think they shouldn't have back down on things like this (especially if it was attempted again the next time). so it's not a good idea to drive them into a corner especially now when we got the resolution we wanted.

my only suggestion to them, if they are concerned about kids getting access to pron, my suggestion is to bring awareness to the parents about how to adjust the settings in the household router, to set a dns filter. E.g. adguard or some other had a dns to pick from that filters out prwn, gambling, and all that.

So do that.

Not what they attempted before which was the nuclear option. Nobody asked for that doh.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 9 2024, 05:44 AM
yenchenje
post Sep 9 2024, 07:28 AM

932 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Sep 7 2024, 02:32 PM)
What do you mean pro max?
UDM Pro Max

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 7 2024, 09:26 PM)
Not big enough of a jump in terms of raw power. I think the PPPOE performance has hardly improved.
A lot better compared to initially, have to give them credit for still working on PPPoE

The day TM switches to IPoE would be even better with the guaranteed performance jump whistling.gif

Also has anyone here tried to switch their TM account to their name from their parents? What’s the procedure like

And anyone here has internal news on whether TM will bring the Ally X to supersedes the Ally? whistling.gif Been eyeing for an Ally but the Ally X is a good upgrade over the Ally hmm.gif

This post has been edited by yenchenje: Sep 9 2024, 07:29 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 9 2024, 07:52 AM

4,474 posts

QUOTE(squall0833 @ Sep 6 2024, 08:17 PM)
is it just me?
becoz I feel open website response is alot slower for the website to load since this called dns hjack thing implemented
for youtube there was discussion that if you used an adblocker, the youtube would slow down if it detects that.

so initially i thought that was why youtube was slow.

but then it was brought to my attention about the dns hijack. so then i suspected that could have been the recent reason for the slow down. i don't have proof for this since i'm not a full blown expert, but that is my guess based on the timeline when things got worse when browsing.

issue went away after i use VPN.... guess that was further proof.
cyberic
post Sep 9 2024, 08:58 AM

1,131 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 9 2024, 07:52 AM)
for youtube there was discussion that if you used an adblocker, the youtube would slow down if it detects that.

so initially i thought that was why youtube was slow.

but then it was brought to my attention about the dns hijack. so then i suspected that could have been the recent reason for the slow down. i don't have proof for this since i'm not a full blown expert, but that is my guess based on the timeline when things got worse when browsing.

issue went away after i use VPN.... guess that was further proof.
I noticed that response lag on my tablet, sometimes it take 5-10 seconds before the video or site start loading. Symptoms gone after the u-turn.
moiskyrie
post Sep 9 2024, 09:04 AM

3,217 posts

me is when read manga....
some pic will fail to load....
and even load will take abit longer...
OlgaC4
post Sep 9 2024, 09:26 AM

5,296 posts

QUOTE(cyberic @ Sep 9 2024, 08:58 AM)
I noticed that response lag on my tablet, sometimes it take 5-10 seconds before the video or site start loading. Symptoms gone after the u-turn.
Is not lag or ping. I called this respond time. Super slow but malaysian mentality high mbps and low ping. They don't know what is respond time.
Even loading lowyat website using time and unfi is just like heaven and hell.

This post has been edited by OlgaC4: Sep 9 2024, 09:34 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 9 2024, 10:42 AM

4,474 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Sep 9 2024, 09:26 AM)
Is not lag or ping. I called this respond time. Super slow but malaysian mentality high mbps and  low ping. They don't know what is respond time.
Even loading lowyat website using time and unfi is just like heaven and hell.
well i play apex legends from time to time. when i play with vpn it's 25ms ish roughly. without vpn when normal (before the incident) is 10ms or lower.

i didn't test the regular 1.1.1.1 or 8.8.8.8 since the dns racun incident (we still don't know if they will u turn their recent u turn. so i'm just waiting on the sidelines first). so i don't know if it resolved yet. but the dns i use right now is not optimal put it that way, but i can live with it. Though a pro gamer may have issues with that (i'm a casual gamer i probably won't even noticed xd)

back in the day, when u played using adsl for wow, 600-800ms was the norm.

these days i think to US server is 200-250ms. But way back, it was barely playable.

for fps games u want 100ms or lower. 2-10ms ideal. 50ms ok... (pro gamer playing at championship where money on the line may disagree laugh.gif but casual gamer is fine ) xd

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Sep 9 2024, 09:04 AM)
me is when read manga....
some pic will fail to load....
and even load will take abit longer...
noticed this also cry.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 9 2024, 11:31 AM
OlgaC4
post Sep 9 2024, 11:38 AM

5,296 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 9 2024, 10:42 AM)
well i play apex legends from time to time. when i play with vpn it's 25ms ish roughly. without vpn when normal (before the incident) is 10ms or lower.

i didn't test the regular 1.1.1.1 or 8.8.8.8 since the dns racun incident (we still don't know if they will u turn their recent u turn. so i'm just waiting on the sidelines first). so i don't know if it resolved yet. but the dns i use right now is not optimal put it that way, but i can live with it. Though a pro gamer may have issues with that (i'm a casual gamer i probably won't even noticed xd)

back in the day, when u played using adsl for wow, 600-800ms was the norm.

these days i think to US server is 200-250ms. But way back, it was barely playable.

for fps games u want 100ms or lower. 2-10ms ideal. 50ms ok... (pro gamer playing at championship where money on the line may disagree  laugh.gif but casual gamer is fine  ) xd
noticed this also  cry.gif
For gaming below 50ms is ok but the problem is not ping. Is the respond time. How responsive the server to your request.
BladeRider88
post Sep 9 2024, 11:50 AM

554 posts

Now almost 12PM i hope someone who have attend the event with MCMC or have any news can shed some light over here
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 9 2024, 11:59 AM

4,474 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Sep 9 2024, 11:38 AM)
For gaming below 50ms is ok but the problem is not ping. Is the respond time. How responsive the server to your request.
if you can explain how to test for this i can try. But based on my results and from usability, is fine.... (no feeling of lag, throttle or packet loss. the stuff that normally has an impact on usability) smile.gif

But normally all the normal speed tests i do only have dl/ul speeds, and the latency, and detection for packet loss. that's it.

with vpn
CODE
Pinging www.google.com

Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 11ms, Maximum = 11ms, Average = 11ms

without vpn
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 4ms, Maximum = 4ms, Average = 4ms

https://obkio.com/blog/how-to-test-network-latency/

https://speed.cloudflare.com/

748 mbps dl / 95 mbps ul

Latency
5.00 ms

Jitter
2.58 ms

apex legend test with vpn, 25ms to singapore server.

Ok so i put back cloudflare 1.1.1.1 it's working again (before it didn't during racun phase)
https://developers.cloudflare.com/1.1.1.1/ip-addresses/

tested some sites, works.

youtube doesn't feel slow anymore.

problem seems ok... for now hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 9 2024, 12:18 PM
tng55
post Sep 9 2024, 12:14 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(cklove96 @ Sep 6 2024, 01:22 AM)
penang now kena already 8.8.8.8 dns prawnhub cant access liao
me penang still works 8.8.8.8 dns i can access prawnhub no problem
zhihao4456
post Sep 9 2024, 12:28 PM

559 posts

Update (after 2weeks):

* no drop of speed for my 2Gbps speed
* no drop issue has been found at the moment
* all good now after TM technician made special configuration for the Black D-LiNK Combo Box
squall0833
post Sep 9 2024, 12:47 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Sep 9 2024, 07:28 AM)
Also has anyone here tried to switch their TM account to their name from their parents? What’s the procedure like

Bring the current account holder along to any TM branch to do ownership transfer, just bring IC

If account holder cannot go with you, you need a signed letter of authorization from account holder + his/her IC copy to authorise the transfer of ownership

If just change ownership of the account then it's simple

If you by any chance like want to make existing phone number (parent name) to become urs (as unifi voip number, under ur account name)

You will need to transfer ownership of the phone numbers to you first before you can make the number to be your unifi number

Both existing old phone number and unifi acc must be the same owner

This post has been edited by squall0833: Sep 9 2024, 12:54 PM
Oltromen Ripot
post Sep 9 2024, 01:21 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

and here i am, signed up VPC for heart bypass.

luckily it's just <$1/mth
kingkingyyk
post Sep 9 2024, 01:23 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Sep 9 2024, 01:21 PM)
and here i am, signed up VPC for heart bypass.

luckily it's just <$1/mth
Which provider you use? biggrin.gif
Oltromen Ripot
post Sep 9 2024, 01:45 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Sep 9 2024, 01:23 PM)
Which provider you use?  biggrin.gif
hmmmm are you TM staff?

unifi, perhaps? 😂

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: Sep 9 2024, 02:00 PM

495 Pages « < 322 323 324 325 326 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:28 AM