Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V42, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO!

OlgaC4
post Dec 7 2023, 01:48 PM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Dec 7 2023, 01:40 PM)
meaing not worth SWU 4.0 i already catch SWU 3.0 300MBPS RM119 M6 = Turbo 500Mbps so cheap RM119
yah because if RM139 500Mbps to turbo 800Mbps very good price RM139

lucky i already SWU 3.0 300Mbps M6 RM119 now Turbo 500Mbps = RM119 so cheap

SWU 3.0 RM189 500Mbps Turbo 800Mbps not cheap that why not worth RM189 extra RM70 lol
Tm staff told me FSU only up to 500mbps only.
OlgaC4
post Dec 31 2023, 10:53 PM

5,292 posts

Tonight the internet is damn fast. Is not about ping. Is more towards respond time.

This post has been edited by OlgaC4: Dec 31 2023, 10:55 PM
OlgaC4
post Jan 25 2024, 08:29 AM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Jan 24 2024, 10:44 PM)
Anyone here is experiencing slow internet connection with high ping?
I've already tried restarting router and got similiar results

Yes with maxis fiber also. Is the local network that mess up. Local. From your computer to the first node.
OlgaC4
post Feb 5 2024, 11:12 AM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Feb 5 2024, 07:41 AM)
Always like this, trigger QoS as more people browsing at 10 AM morning, sometimes kill China traffic at 12 PM, getting higher and higher QoS over time, then boom at night 7 PM where everyone at home, as they start not using data(during office time) but UniFi/WiFi.

Get reset after a lot of people going rest during 1 AM, now moving earlier as the quota of this QoS is getting lower.
or I should said, easy to trigger as more people getting 100M high speed, compare with 30M.

Before that just applied to Google local ISP(yes, 480KBps, until Google having some deals with TM) + China traffic, then after famous of CloudFlare, moving to whole SG traffic as well.
This rule applied since Streamyx era, then went away for UniFi(only UniFi customer get benefit) showing up, after the famous of free speed upgrade, the effect of QoS came back to UniFi, as Streamyx user start moving to UniFi.

The slowness of IPv6(mostly for upload) for Google also observed during that time(MEGA drive get the most hit, last for years), which is why got the famous "disable IPv6 to speed up the internet" showing up in Lowyat forum.

-----
If you wanna me guess why it trigger heavy yesterday?
There is 1 thing I know might trigger, 1 famous activity happen during night yesterday, bilibili livestream about the HSR's CNY Festival, the video server is at Amazon SG, only it use Maxis MY CDN if you doing something, which already having high latency by going local, but at least stable than Amazon... sweat.gif

As it is Sunday, the traffic should be local Chinese + Student + Oversea Chinese(SG? also those oversea Chinese getting the traffic wrongly and going to Amazon SG via MY) watching live stream, taking it down heavy.
https://www.bilibili.com/festival/honkaistarrail2024spring

But it might also be DDoS traffic la, not like MY don't have a lot of computer infected as BOT, going to printer shop, then going back, see your Pendrive got worm infected or not... sweat.gif
ha ha ha i disable IPv6 also.
OlgaC4
post Jun 20 2024, 08:13 AM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(Ashren @ Jun 20 2024, 12:22 AM)
Im just a stone throw away from you I have no idea which extra local gateway you have to pass through since I get 18. But if you don't face any issues with your connection there's nothing to worry about. An extra hop doesnt always mean bad routing if the gateway is optimized. And lesser hop doesnt always mean excellent routing. It only takes 1 hop to screw the whole chain up. No point having 8 hops but the 3rd one screw you up, better to have 10 hops but all hops is optimized. Its just the general rule that we should minimize hops to avoid unnecessary additional latency especially around domestic/local routing. Sorry if I sound repetitive Im on day 4 down with my covid infection. My brain operate at half capacity now.
Extra hop will increase you latency which cannot be measure
OlgaC4
post Jun 20 2024, 10:35 AM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(Ashren @ Jun 20 2024, 10:11 AM)
True I was saying the same thing all along. Its better to have less hops especially local gateway routing. But as long as the additional hop doesnt cripple the end route it should be fine. I went through lenghty replies previously about it. Now I just couldnt be bothered lol.
They just look at ping ping and big mpbs. Anyway is good to shutdown the router for 2min after 1 week of usage. It really help a lot.
OlgaC4
post Jul 26 2024, 09:25 PM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(Micky78 @ Jul 26 2024, 09:23 PM)
what the penalty if not fullfil the 24mth contract period?
Pay the remaining months
OlgaC4
post Sep 9 2024, 09:26 AM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(cyberic @ Sep 9 2024, 08:58 AM)
I noticed that response lag on my tablet, sometimes it take 5-10 seconds before the video or site start loading. Symptoms gone after the u-turn.
Is not lag or ping. I called this respond time. Super slow but malaysian mentality high mbps and low ping. They don't know what is respond time.
Even loading lowyat website using time and unfi is just like heaven and hell.

This post has been edited by OlgaC4: Sep 9 2024, 09:34 AM
OlgaC4
post Sep 9 2024, 11:38 AM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 9 2024, 10:42 AM)
well i play apex legends from time to time. when i play with vpn it's 25ms ish roughly. without vpn when normal (before the incident) is 10ms or lower.

i didn't test the regular 1.1.1.1 or 8.8.8.8 since the dns racun incident (we still don't know if they will u turn their recent u turn. so i'm just waiting on the sidelines first). so i don't know if it resolved yet. but the dns i use right now is not optimal put it that way, but i can live with it. Though a pro gamer may have issues with that (i'm a casual gamer i probably won't even noticed xd)

back in the day, when u played using adsl for wow, 600-800ms was the norm.

these days i think to US server is 200-250ms. But way back, it was barely playable.

for fps games u want 100ms or lower. 2-10ms ideal. 50ms ok... (pro gamer playing at championship where money on the line may disagree  laugh.gif but casual gamer is fine  ) xd
noticed this also  cry.gif
For gaming below 50ms is ok but the problem is not ping. Is the respond time. How responsive the server to your request.
OlgaC4
post Sep 9 2024, 03:36 PM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 9 2024, 11:59 AM)
if you can explain how to test for this i can try. But based on my results and from usability, is fine.... (no feeling of lag, throttle or packet loss. the stuff that normally has an impact on usability) smile.gif
But normally all the normal speed tests i do only have dl/ul speeds, and the latency, and detection for packet loss. that's it.
with vpn
CODE
Pinging www.google.com

without vpn
https://obkio.com/blog/how-to-test-network-latency/
https://speed.cloudflare.com/

748 mbps dl / 95 mbps ul

Latency
5.00 ms

Jitter
2.58 ms
apex legend test with vpn, 25ms to singapore server.
Ok so i put back cloudflare 1.1.1.1 it's working again (before it didn't during racun phase)
https://developers.cloudflare.com/1.1.1.1/ip-addresses/

tested some sites, works.

youtube doesn't feel slow anymore.
problem seems ok... for now  hmm.gif

There is no way to test this.It base on experience and feeling.
OlgaC4
post Sep 9 2024, 03:40 PM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 9 2024, 03:38 PM)
so basically just anggar anggar?  smile.gif

well website loads almost instantly, no stutter or lag loading youtube, gaming seems fine. so seems ok lah  laugh.gif
As i mentioned the feeling is heaven and earth. You will notice it immediately when you know what to look.
Just by loading lowyat.net you can see feel the different.

Different dns you will notice different loading time. Heck even ipv4 and ipv6 you will notice it. That is why i stop using ipv6.

This post has been edited by OlgaC4: Sep 9 2024, 03:47 PM
OlgaC4
post Oct 3 2024, 10:29 AM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(Kelvynlim @ Oct 3 2024, 09:48 AM)
I was on swu4.0 with 500mbps, however after the first and second day of installation, I couldn’t get my 500 mbps speed at all. In fact, the speed was consistently stay at 300-400.

I am using iPhone 14 to do the speed test. I was using sky worth mod with my asus router then I switch to ONU huawei modem second day onwards.

I wonder if sifu can pinpoint whats wrong with my connection.

If you got a lot of neighbor wifi it will effect your speed tremendously. Use lan cable try
OlgaC4
post Oct 30 2024, 09:44 PM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(jasonsaw96 @ Oct 30 2024, 06:08 PM)
Need some help here, I have having high ping while playing game.

Backstory:
The game server used to be in Singapore until today morning, they shifted to Hong Kong. My ping went from 20+ to 130-180ms. On data cellular (Celcom) i am getting 80ms on average.

On the other hand, my friend who uses TIME only went from 20 to 50-60ms. On mobile data around 80ms just like me.

Now I am thinking if this is related to the free speed upgrade that I just received couple of days ago.

My plan went from 500 to 800. Currently using ASUS RT-AX55, capping at 300++ Mbps on WiFi and LAN.

I have no idea what's happening and I'm not exactly an expert when it comes to network stuff. I only know how to tinker with the router a little and that's all about it.

What can I do to improve the ping?
xxx

This post has been edited by OlgaC4: Oct 30 2024, 10:01 PM

0.3644sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:36 PM