Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V42, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO!
The.Lucas.DaY
Sep 3 2024, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 3 2024, 09:33 PM) Ya weird, maybe caching. But here Quad9 working with ml.iherb.com. IP addresses should 172.64.149.245 & 104.18.38.11. wai57 try a bit later, see if you access https://ml.iherb.com. Btw, why is actually a pharmacy online shop need to be blocked?
soonwai
Sep 3 2024, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Sep 3 2024, 10:27 PM) So that's how Quad9 got by unaffected  now u jinxed it. :-) Anyway: Cleanbrowsing-Family kena kaw kaw. Cleanbrowsing-Adult only 1 of 2 IPs kena. Cleanbrowsing-Security not affected.
dev/numb
Sep 3 2024, 10:35 PM
Heads up for anyone using free NextDNS accounts for ad/tracker blocking. Remember to tick the 3 boxes in the Performance sub-section under the Settings tab. Especially the Cache Boost option, because without that you will likely reach your 300k query limit sooner than you realize. Also, the anexia-kul and premiumdrp-kul are (historically) the best local servers for us wrt latency. QUOTE(The.Lucas.DaY @ Sep 3 2024, 10:33 PM) Btw, why is actually a pharmacy online shop need to be blocked?  Pharmianaga cartel. Go check the prices of your basic vitamin supplements on iHerb and compare with the daylight robbery you’re charged at your local pharmacy. Of course, their excuse “for your safety”. Just like how all this DNS blocking/redirecting is “for your safety. Topkek, first time you hear that bareback DNS is safer. Next they’ll ask you to fuck without condoms. This post has been edited by dev/numb: Sep 3 2024, 10:46 PM
countingcrows
Sep 3 2024, 10:49 PM

QUOTE(dev/numb @ Sep 3 2024, 10:35 PM) Pharmianaga cartel. Go check the prices of your basic vitamin supplements on iHerb and compare with the daylight robbery you’re charged at your local pharmacy.] It's not blocked for me. Using naked non-DOH plain jane 8.8.8.8 can still access iherb no problem.
soonwai
Sep 3 2024, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(Quantum Geist @ Sep 3 2024, 10:33 PM) Yours getting hijacked? How does it look like? dns respond from tm server instead of cleanbrowsing when tracert? or the browser drop the dns answers because dnssec not matching? At the moment, I'm just looking at the answers, if 175.139.142.25, the IP that TM returns for blocked sites then confirm the DNS has been hijacked. For CleanBrowsing-Adult, the DNS IPs are 185.228.168.10 & 185.228.168.11. 10 is hijacked and 11 is not. (Of course, don't test with adult sites since they are blocked by this DNS) 10 has a ping of 4ms while 11 has a ping of 70ms. I bet a traceroute will show that 10 never goes out of TM's network. 11 goes to SG, I think. This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 3 2024, 10:52 PM
dev/numb
Sep 3 2024, 10:56 PM
QUOTE(countingcrows @ Sep 3 2024, 10:49 PM) It's not blocked for me. Using naked non-DOH plain jane 8.8.8.8 can still access iherb no problem. They just don’t deem it “evil” enough to hijack/redirect 8.8.8.8 queries. Not “evil” like Uncle Murray who they deem enemy of the state for some reason.. You can try turning off 8.8.8.8 and using ISP DNS and see if it loads. I know during the height of Covid it wouldn’t load under TM’s own DNS. But after iHerb created a ml.iherb domain for us I’m not sure if any alternative DNS was ever truly needed. This post has been edited by dev/numb: Sep 3 2024, 10:57 PM
soonwai
Sep 3 2024, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(countingcrows @ Sep 3 2024, 10:49 PM) It's not blocked for me. Using naked non-DOH plain jane 8.8.8.8 can still access iherb no problem. Are you in a location other Klang Valley? TNG55 in Penang not affected. Seems like only certain regions for now. Anyway for me, Kajang: dig ml.iherb.com @8.8.8.8 returns 175.139.142.25 Legit IPs should be: 172.64.149.245 104.18.38.11 QUOTE(dev/numb @ Sep 3 2024, 10:56 PM) They just don’t deem it “evil” enough to hijack/redirect 8.8.8.8 queries. Not “evil” like Uncle Murray who they deem enemy of the state for some reason.. You can try turning off 8.8.8.8 and using ISP DNS and see if it loads. I know during the height of Covid it wouldn’t load under TM’s own DNS. But after iHerb created a ml.iherb domain for us I’m not sure if any alternative DNS was ever truly needed. TM not just hijacking DNS queries though. They're rerouting & NATting 8.8.8.8 to their own server. Go to https://8.8.8.8 and you can see their dns.tm.net.my SSL cert. This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 3 2024, 11:21 PM
biatche
Sep 3 2024, 11:11 PM
anyone facing severe lag in games, particularly at night?
Epic_winner091
Sep 3 2024, 11:31 PM
 No problems with DoH here, on Chrome.
countingcrows
Sep 3 2024, 11:34 PM

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 3 2024, 11:08 PM) Are you in a location other Klang Valley? Anyway for me, Kajang: dig ml.iherb.com @8.8.8.8 returns 175.139.142.25
Legit IPs should be: 172.64.149.245 104.18.38.11 Ya, PJ, Klang Valley. 104.18.38.11
PJng
Sep 3 2024, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Sep 3 2024, 10:27 PM) So that's how Quad9 got by unaffected  just know got another DNS, so far i tested now, before this all the time using 1.1.1.1 DNS, cannot load murray site, DNS leak test all show TM i change to quad9 DNS, can load murray site and above iherb, and DNS leak test  yes i using windows 11, ON auto template DNS over HTTPS (this what you all say DoH right?)
soonwai
Sep 3 2024, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(PJng @ Sep 3 2024, 11:38 PM) just know got another DNS, so far i tested now, before this all the time using 1.1.1.1 DNS, cannot load murray site, DNS leak test all show TM i change to quad9 DNS, can load murray site and above iherb, and DNS leak test  yes i using windows 11, ON auto template DNS over HTTPS (this what you all say DoH right?) Yup, same as me. I use Q9. I suspect Quad9 also will be gone soon.
PJng
Sep 3 2024, 11:47 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 3 2024, 11:45 PM) Yup, same as me. I use Q9. I suspect Quad9 also will be gone soon. sadly cannot set on router, using tp link ax20
soonwai
Sep 3 2024, 11:58 PM
Another way to check is to go to https://dns.google. Nothing to do with DNS queries here. If All your 8888s are belongs to TM, you'll see this:  You can also click Advanced to look at the SSL cert. If A-OK then:  *Using Firefox. This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 3 2024, 11:59 PM
countingcrows
Sep 4 2024, 12:00 AM

QUOTE(issac99289928 @ Sep 3 2024, 11:52 PM) the authority is just dealing with non sophisticated internet users . if you are not using any of these dns , you are probably OK. the sophisticated internet users other DNS not seen in the image. Let's hope they employ the 80/20 rule Block 80% with only 20% effort 👍 😉 Q9 seems fine. ~10ms.
soonwai
Sep 4 2024, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(countingcrows @ Sep 3 2024, 11:34 PM) Ya, PJ, Klang Valley. 104.18.38.11 So far we got: Kajang ❌❌ Kuching ✅ Penang ✅ PJ ✅✅ This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 4 2024, 01:18 AM
karenzayn
Sep 4 2024, 12:11 AM

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 4 2024, 12:06 AM) So far we got: Kajang ❌❌ Penang ✅ PJ ✅ Uh, quick question Do i run dig on a DoH or non-DoH enviroment?
Pip_X
Sep 4 2024, 12:11 AM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 3 2024, 10:01 PM) DoH in Chrome/Edge with which server? Update: LOL, TM hijacked cleanbrowsing DNS also. Looks like when they needed a guide on what to hijack, they looked at Chrome's Settings. hahaha Chrome has Google, OpenDNS, Cloudflare and CleanBrowsing as predefined options for DoH. Adguard's https://dns.adguard-dns.com/dns-query
blackbox14
Sep 4 2024, 12:18 AM
So given what they are doing blocks even DoH, will that Amazon AWS wall climbing method still work even when using cloudflare-dns.com or dns.google as the origin?