495 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V42, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO!

Oltromen Ripot
post Dec 12 2023, 10:39 PM

๐Ÿ‘ 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Dec 12 2023, 10:30 PM)
Thats weird decision coming from Time.

One of smaller isp with disproportionately big ipv4 pool (2nd biggest after TM),
serving demographics that that prefers 300mbps+,
not to mention the downward trend of global ipv4 pricing.

Even with their big datacenter business taking up IPs it still sounds like a rushed move.
ipv4 for downward pricing? you sure aaaaa?

even AWS will start charging for IPv4. previously 1st IPv4 attached to a running instance is free. now even having an IPv4 is charged, even if it's a random dynamic-assigned IPv4.

failed.hashcheck
post Dec 12 2023, 10:46 PM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,090 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Dec 12 2023, 10:39 PM)
ipv4 for downward pricing? you sure aaaaa?

even AWS will start charging for IPv4. previously 1st IPv4 attached to a running instance is free. now even having an IPv4 is charged, even if it's a random dynamic-assigned IPv4.

Im referring to brokerage market level, not end user or product pricing. This is more relevant pricing for ISP (or whoever that owns ASN).

ipv4 pricing (at least on /24-20 blocks) stopped climbing around the end of 2021 for whatever reason and going down. not much lower, but it has stopped increasing.

2 years ago APNIC ip was like avg $50 each for /24
Nowadays can get as low as $30

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Dec 12 2023, 11:17 PM
PRSXFENG
post Dec 12 2023, 10:50 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Dec 12 2023, 03:16 PM)

https://unifi.com.my/cloud-gaming

/me not gamer, just posting in case this goes under radar
That F710 subscription is such a joke

RM9 X 24 = 216

Can get one off shopee for like rm153 ish
Or other shops are around 179
kwss
post Dec 13 2023, 01:41 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Dec 12 2023, 04:54 PM)
i visually compared side-by-side, no difference between T&C document of today's and 18th Oct 2023.

but the FAQ previously was short in pdf (attached) and even shorter on https://unifi.com.my/speedupgrade2023/

one-off payment RM180.
I vaguely remember it was derived from document of Ultra ONR, costing exactly RM180, BUT now i cannot find which document.

however, i found alternative reference: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=108250958
also found CPE replacement pdf (attached)
Thank you so much for digging it back!

That ONR is a sneaky move by TM.
All these while the ONU is a demarc and clearly TM owned. Whatever upgrade or failure, it is their responsibility.

With the ONR, the customer have to pay for it but we cannot buy any PON hardware of our own?
At the same time, TM can provide a proper ONU to Maxis customer.

With the FSU, can we tell TM we use our hardware? Not gonna pay the RM xyz to them, but also not gonna renew the contract.
Previously, the contract is only 12 months. Now it is straight up 24 months for everyone.

I am very sure it will be more expensive than RM188 now, given that they removed the pricing from the FAQ. I hope they will just provide a proper ONU as a demarc and be done with it.
kwss
post Dec 13 2023, 02:14 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Dec 12 2023, 10:46 PM)
Im referring to brokerage market level, not end user or product pricing. This is more relevant pricing for ISP (or whoever that owns ASN).

ipv4 pricing (at least on /24-20 blocks) stopped climbing around the end of 2021 for whatever reason and going down. not much lower, but it has stopped increasing.

2 years ago APNIC ip was like avg $50 each for /24
Nowadays can get as low as $30
The price of IPv4 has nothing to do with telco decision to remove IPv4. The exercise must start somewhere and it is always the lower tier customers that become lab rats.
As someone who operates network, I cannot wait for IPv4 to die. Given the choice today, I very much want to tell anyone using IPv4 to just go fly kite.
It is my personal opinion that IPv4 pricing is driven by organizations that has substantial holding of IPv4 prefixes. It is like frying in stock market if you get what I mean. It happens because people are lazy to move to IPv6. Everyone who run a dual stack networks are collateral damage.

Also it prevents new player into the market. They will have to buy / lease IPv4 addresses. Will you sign up an ISP who cannot access an IPv4 network?

There are a lot of complexities that comes with operating dual stack network.
If IPv4 runs out, where do we get addresses for dual stack network? There ain't any.
Running dual stack network also needs address planning. Once for IPv6, once for IPv4.

All network routers / Layer 3 switches needs IPv4 address to route v4 traffic and IPv6 address to route v6 traffic.
All border gateways need BGPv4 for v4 traffic and BGPv6 for v6 traffic.

Granted the above is solved now using MP-BGP and addressed by RFC 8950. However, it is a pretty new RFC and not all network equipment support it. As a "standard practice", all peering still requires BGPv4 for IPv4 and BGPv6 for IPv6.

Route optimization must be done separately for both BGPv4 and BGPv6.

All name server requires glue record for both IPv4 and IPv6 glue record in the TLD.
All DNS records requires A and AAAA record.

Then we have ACL and firewall rules. We need both IPv4 and IPv6 rules, even thought they do the same thing.

Of course now we have stateless NAT64 translation, at least on Cisco equipment, which allows IPv4 prefix to live on the router, and intelligently translate it into IPv6 only network.

But still, it doesn't fix the problem of requiring both IPv4 and IPv6 at the edge.

I am sure telco have more complexity that I don't deal with: Access network.
IP Address Management, BNG, etc...

This post has been edited by kwss: Dec 13 2023, 02:18 AM
eclectice
post Dec 13 2023, 09:40 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Dec 12 2023, 03:51 PM)
Yes GeForceNOW vs Unifi NUT hmm.gif
TM should consider offering GFN instead of BlackNut to reduce the long-standing GFN queue issues due to high demand globally.
Oltromen Ripot
post Dec 13 2023, 09:55 AM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Dec 13 2023, 01:41 AM)
Thank you so much for digging it back!

That ONR is a sneaky move by TM.
All these while the ONU is a demarc and clearly TM owned. Whatever upgrade or failure, it is their responsibility.

With the ONR, the customer have to pay for it but we cannot buy any PON hardware of our own?
At the same time, TM can provide a proper ONU to Maxis customer.

With the FSU, can we tell TM we use our hardware? Not gonna pay the RM xyz to them, but also not gonna renew the contract.
Previously, the contract is only 12 months. Now it is straight up 24 months for everyone.

I am very sure it will be more expensive than RM188 now, given that they removed the pricing from the FAQ. I hope they will just provide a proper ONU as a demarc and be done with it.
i am playing a waiting game.

when the technology is right, i'll put a proper VLAN-capable solution at the fibre edge instead, handling and sending vlan500 and vlan400 to downstream where they are handled separately.

i want to redelegate the ultra ONR only as phone ATA. i received 3 ultra ONR altogether, should be more than enough spares for a long time.
joehann
post Dec 13 2023, 10:15 AM

430 posts

anyone with sudden netflix premium charges in your account even though never subscribe for it? got solve or not? mine kena last month bill and already reported and this month still got that netflix charges and no reversal for last month charges on netflix. live chat waiting que for billing is like no 70. bloody hell punya TM.
gobiomani
post Dec 13 2023, 10:41 AM

702 posts

Guys, my unifi fiber cable right now comes up from the manhole in the storeroom under the staircase. I want to move it to another location so that it is easier to connect to my router. Any contractors to recommend? I'm in Rawang by the way.
MyProLife
post Dec 13 2023, 12:11 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,062 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Dec 12 2023, 10:50 PM)
That F710 subscription is such a joke

RM9 X 24 = 216

Can get one off shopee for like rm153 ish
Or other shops are around 179

Can make server exploded like titan submarine? XD
surianti
post Dec 13 2023, 12:58 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(joehann @ Dec 13 2023, 10:15 AM)
anyone with sudden netflix premium charges in your account even though never subscribe for it? got solve or not? mine kena last month bill and already reported and this month still got that netflix charges and no reversal for last month charges on netflix. live chat waiting que for billing is like no 70. bloody hell punya TM.
Live chat is back?
yenchenje
post Dec 13 2023, 01:17 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(eclectice @ Dec 13 2023, 09:40 AM)
TM should consider offering GFN instead of BlackNut to reduce the long-standing GFN queue issues due to high demand globally.
Pretty sure itโ€™s cuz Yes having exclusive contract with GFN that theyโ€™re the only provider in Malaysia
sitescope
post Dec 13 2023, 03:49 PM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(joehann @ Dec 13 2023, 10:15 AM)
Nope. My bill no ntflx after upg

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Dec 13 2023, 10:41 AM)
Guys, my unifi fiber cable right now comes up from the manhole in the storeroom under the staircase. I want to move it to another location so that it is easier to connect to my router. Any contractors to recommend? I'm in Rawang by the way.
Can go tm point n req contractor no
They can assist
eclectice
post Dec 13 2023, 03:50 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Dec 13 2023, 01:17 PM)
Pretty sure itโ€™s cuz Yes having exclusive contract with GFN that theyโ€™re the only provider in Malaysia
GFN services are available in Japan through two GFN Alliance Partner providers - Softbank and au Japan. To my knowledge, there have been no news reports indicating that YES is the exclusive GFN service provider in Malaysia. It was only announced that YES was offering exclusive BETA for their YES customers to try until 10 April 2023 before it opened the service to non-YES customers. Therefore, there should be no issues accessing GFN services from multiple providers in the same country or region. Starhub GFN Singapore covers Malaysia as well. I believe YES is willing to invest in a new NVIDIA AI data center running on the latest NVIDIA DGX H100 costing billions of ringgit in Johor Bahru next year, to upgrade their infrastructure. TM fails to see that as well since its One Cloud Alpha data center is based on the Huawei platform. Yet, China is rushing to get NVIDIA RTX 4090 GPUs to power up its AI tech before the US sanctions.

https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/det...-geforce-now%3F
https://www.tmone.com.my/resources/news/tm-...cture-provider/
https://techwireasia.com/11/2023/can-huawei...allenge-nvidia/

This post has been edited by eclectice: Dec 13 2023, 04:36 PM
gobiomani
post Dec 13 2023, 04:09 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Dec 13 2023, 03:49 PM)
Nope. My bill no ntflx after upg
Can go tm point n req contractor no
They can assist
Thanks. Will try that.
issac99289928
post Dec 13 2023, 04:15 PM

291 posts

Fahmi: MCMC under Communications Ministry

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/693745

Oltromen Ripot
post Dec 13 2023, 04:19 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(issac99289928 @ Dec 13 2023, 04:15 PM)
Fahmi: MCMC under Communications Ministry

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/693745
hmmmmph. tak ke mana-manalah halatuju digitalisasi Malaysia.

MSAP is under MCMC supervision.
we already know how weak the execution is under Fahmi.
joehann
post Dec 13 2023, 04:37 PM

430 posts

Guys, just want to ask, can you add on/ subscribe netflix under unifi through unifi plus box?

after waiting 2 hour for live chat, the CS mention that I have subscribe netflix since last month in which I never did since I already subscribe to Netflix on my own. Then, I've check under my entertaiment pack and walauwei suddenly got Netflix A la Carte Standard under ala-carte since 18 October 2023. I never know about it and never activate and login to it.
Oltromen Ripot
post Dec 13 2023, 04:40 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(joehann @ Dec 13 2023, 04:37 PM)
Guys, just want to ask, can you add on/ subscribe netflix under unifi through unifi plus box?

after waiting 2 hour for live chat, the CS mention that I have subscribe netflix since last month in which I never did since I already subscribe to Netflix on my own. Then, I've check under my entertaiment pack and walauwei suddenly got Netflix A la Carte Standard under ala-carte since 18 October 2023. I never know about it and never activate and login to it.
an advice.

if you have existing payment method with your current account, stop and remove that payment method first.

then re-activate using same existing id but through unifi's.

i previously made the mistake of using unifi's netflix activation link WITH [my existing netflix id paid through ASTRO].
it was a hassle to get ASTRO to let go of my netflix id.

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: Dec 13 2023, 04:42 PM
joehann
post Dec 13 2023, 04:45 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Dec 13 2023, 04:40 PM)
an advice.

if you have existing payment method with your current account, stop and remove that payment method first.

then re-activate using same existing id but through unifi's.

i previously made the mistake of using unifi's netflix activation link WITH [my existing netflix id paid through ASTRO].
it was a hassle to get ASTRO to let go of my netflix id.
The thing is, is like different ID all together, how unifi manage to get that to link under my unifi billing? if you refer the picture, there is not even user id to login and just billing ID.

495 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:07 PM