125 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Radeon HD 3870 and HD 3850 On The Horizon, The Dark Side is POWERFUL . come join

empire23
post Nov 26 2007, 05:11 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Yeah lol, the date is about 1 month plus back, so new drivers might have changed alot...or maybe a little.

I'm not too sure about the BIOS, but 7.12 is internal beta with new provisions for the Spider platform and few good improvement across the board, OGL boost reported too. Tested it that day, Overdrive is bugged.

Doing accounts for engineers assignment. I seriously need some fking sleep lah...stupid assignment.

This post has been edited by empire23: Nov 26 2007, 05:12 AM
LExus65
post Nov 26 2007, 09:45 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

guys need some advice, totally alien to this ATI 3870..........

how do u adjust the fan speed, it being buggin me maintaning at 30% only......doesnt seems to be able to google much information on it, like to know which version of riva tuner or some other software that can set the fan speed..
irenic
post Nov 26 2007, 11:06 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

i'm using rivatuner to adjust the fan speed.. oc to 891/1315, the core remains at 40c idle.. hehe.. dropped from 62c idle @ 25c fan speed
gengstapo
post Nov 26 2007, 11:12 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Nov 26 2007, 04:09 AM)
Alien ware comparison

heck they recommend HD3870 crossfire with the latest quad proc
but no surprise there as the nvidia mobo cant support the 45nm

looking at those scores
it might be true
when u scale the proc
as this gpu hits new heights when u overclock ure proc

even 4ghz.. still bottleneck.
hurmm nice score from the 3870 X-fire, kill totally 88ooGT SLi rclxms.gif

i bet if run with single card, sure nvidia better aite?
rsangel
post Nov 26 2007, 11:39 AM

No Smoking pls @_@
1,487 posts

for single card, i think 88GT will kill 3870 smile.gif
irenic
post Nov 26 2007, 11:40 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

act i wonder what is the pc spec for both 8800gt sli and 3870cf for the benchies.. and whats the setting details..

so far my best score for oced 8800gt single card @ default 3dmark06 setting is 15k+ while oced 3870 @ default 3dmark06 setting is 14k+

sotong168
post Nov 26 2007, 01:07 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Nov 26 2007, 11:40 AM)
act i wonder what is the pc spec for both 8800gt sli and 3870cf for the benchies.. and whats the setting details..

so far my best score for oced 8800gt single card @ default 3dmark06 setting is 15k+ while oced 3870 @ default 3dmark06 setting is 14k+
3870 CF vs 8800GT SLI: 3dmark06 score @ here

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
cstkl1
post Nov 26 2007, 01:54 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Nov 26 2007, 11:06 AM)
i'm using rivatuner to adjust the fan speed.. oc to 891/1315, the core remains at 40c idle.. hehe.. dropped from 62c idle @ 25c fan speed
brand saphire my bet??

hmm i cant do that high stable on crossfire on that overvoltaged bios card
another guy in XS also had the same issue

now testing the 860/1200 bios...

i still wish somebody gets the gecube oc2 bios
frags
post Nov 26 2007, 01:56 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(viqq @ Nov 26 2007, 03:18 AM)
yes maybe same ler then .. hehe yea i uninstalled nVidia(6600GT) drivers and i used Driver Cleaner Pro and CCCleaner to clean the junks remained; turned off AGP acceleration & etc. still the same. I don't think it's my processor problem cos in the game its quite smooth thou.. only in the starting screen EA Logo and nVidia logo etc.
yeah i know...i did that too...but i still cant figure it out...

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Nov 26 2007, 03:24 AM)
dude its not the card that is ure problem

crysis requires a balance system

do u know whats the diifference of me running say 3.5ghz 500x7
anmd 500x8 4ghz???... around 0.43fps difference for a single card.
but u need to crank up the bus speed and get a c2d...

2.0 on amd proc is like running 1.6ghz on a c2d.

and u need more cores as this game uses the other core for physics etc
single core no chance.
No the problem we are facing doesnt deal with the game engine itself...its stuttering intro movies...specifically the EA, Intel, NVIDIA intro and the main menu...the odd thing is the crytek logo goes smoothly..

We had no problem with these movies using NVIDIA before this...im quite sure its a software thing...either something screwed up in the driver...or a codec went missing...I have no problem with any other games intro movies..

cstkl1
post Nov 26 2007, 02:29 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(frags @ Nov 26 2007, 01:56 PM)
yeah i know...i did that too...but i still cant figure it out...
No the problem we are facing doesnt deal with the game engine itself...its stuttering intro movies...specifically the EA, Intel, NVIDIA intro and the main menu...the odd thing is the crytek logo goes smoothly..

We had no problem with these movies using NVIDIA before this...im quite sure its a software thing...either something screwed up in the driver...or a codec went missing...I have no problem with any other games intro movies..
no probs with the movies on my side.
infact so far no bugs on games at all .

no game laggy ness on all the games i've played at dx9
irenic
post Nov 26 2007, 03:18 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Nov 26 2007, 01:07 PM)
3870 CF vs 8800GT SLI: 3dmark06 score @ here
sorry.. somehow i doubt the result is true.. unsure.gif

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Nov 26 2007, 01:54 PM)
brand saphire my bet??

hmm i cant do that high stable on crossfire on that overvoltaged bios card
another guy in XS also had the same issue

now testing the 860/1200 bios...

i still wish somebody gets the gecube oc2 bios
yups saphire.. hehe.. erm act i manage to stable at 904 / 1367 but then it will set the oc automatically max at 891/1314 (according to GPUZ).. why eh?
gengstapo
post Nov 26 2007, 04:05 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Nov 26 2007, 01:07 PM)
3870 CF vs 8800GT SLI: 3dmark06 score @

wow, this what i call benchmark? tongue.gif
looks like SLi went down by CF in dual card category

but for single card, nvidia mostly better than ATi

ps: i want 3870 cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by gengstapo: Nov 26 2007, 04:07 PM
mypetridish
post Nov 26 2007, 04:17 PM

1,313 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Nov 26 2007, 12:07 AM)
3870 CF vs 8800GT SLI: 3dmark06 score @
linking the website will do
cstkl1
post Nov 26 2007, 04:47 PM

6,799 posts

testing the 875/2500 bios

so far looks good.

peacezxp
post Nov 26 2007, 05:01 PM

113 posts

How do u guys keep the temp stable? Used the bios for 800/2000 but idle temp is a bit high. tried using rivatuner but can only set it 100% at the fixed speed option, which is a bit loud.
cstkl1
post Nov 26 2007, 05:18 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(peacezxp @ Nov 26 2007, 05:01 PM)
How do u guys keep the temp stable? Used the bios for 800/2000 but idle temp is a bit high. tried using rivatuner but can only set it 100% at the fixed speed option, which is a bit loud.
eh.. for me sound doesn't really bother me..
comp is in a different room all together.

testing bios to prep for WC that i am going to buy from metalzone

Added on November 26, 2007, 6:34 pmirenic
that 3870
is it ures or coolice??

hmm wonder y he is selling it so fast??

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Nov 26 2007, 06:34 PM
Doom
post Nov 26 2007, 07:17 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

Have anyone tried to fit a third party cooler to this babe,, ???

I found one review here .... 3870 + Artic Cooling Accelero S1
coolice
post Nov 26 2007, 07:56 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Nov 26 2007, 07:17 PM)
Have anyone tried to fit a third party cooler to this babe,, ???

I found one review here .... 3870 + Artic Cooling Accelero S1
i tried s1 + 2 panaflo on 3870..even load is lower than 50c..idle 43/44c
cstkl1
post Nov 26 2007, 07:58 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Nov 26 2007, 07:56 PM)
i tried s1 + 2 panaflo on 3870..even load is lower than 50c..idle 43/44c
hmm idle is at 38C...
Load around 51C