Radeon HD 3870 and HD 3850 On The Horizon, The Dark Side is POWERFUL . come join

LExus65
post Nov 15 2007, 10:46 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

wah a bit dissaspointed with ATI again after reading the review........ could the driver be the main problem ? or the low amount of TAX - texture addresing unit be the problem ?

now all depends on the retail price, if the pricing is good it might just be a good offer after all......

anyway after goin through the VR-zone review, it seems u can Crossfire X 2 different cards, 3850 and 3870 on the same platform....can someone verify this ?

This post has been edited by LExus65: Nov 15 2007, 11:29 AM
LExus65
post Nov 15 2007, 11:58 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

thx for info bstdude

wah getting my hand itchy liao...... wander hows the price in Lowyat for these cards........
LExus65
post Nov 19 2007, 04:19 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

just to ask, actually how wide does 3870 or 3850 need on the PCI-e slot to function properly? 4x, 8x or full 16x........

think of doin crossfire on my existing p965.........

btw just to ask, anyone here have done x cross fire with 3850 and 3870 ? want to know any incompatiblity problem
LExus65
post Nov 22 2007, 10:45 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

seems like bstdude was in a very bad mode after goin through all the trouble
LExus65
post Nov 23 2007, 07:15 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

well i still felt 3870 a good beat for now if the price is lower to the 8800GT, the stock cooler is way much better compare to nvidia.....

hope they released some bios flashing tools soon for their 3870.......seems to still some room for improvement just by flashing the bios...

LExus65
post Nov 26 2007, 09:45 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

guys need some advice, totally alien to this ATI 3870..........

how do u adjust the fan speed, it being buggin me maintaning at 30% only......doesnt seems to be able to google much information on it, like to know which version of riva tuner or some other software that can set the fan speed..
LExus65
post Dec 18 2007, 11:57 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

asus now only selling RM900, quite good price wor......btw what game did they gave ?? thinking getting another for CF too.........
LExus65
post Dec 22 2007, 10:43 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

red means fire mah, how to turn u off.. should turn u on instead hehe........

well 3870 x2 eh, so i guess a 3850 x2 version will follow soon.......

any back to topic, if this was design like the previous GX2, then it will be a lot of problem. Crossfire dun seems to work well on certain games...

LExus65
post Dec 26 2007, 04:59 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

wat 65 idle ?? rather high for a 3870,try use rivatuner to check the fan speed.

mine idle around 40oC and load less then 60oC.........fan speed @ 60%, but i got 2 120mm fan blowing it and another 120mm + 120mm psu fan exhausting hot air from it

just a bit of though to share with all here. After getting my 24"for 1 week plus now, and doing some gaming and monitoring on the spot, 3870 still performing rather satisfactory on 1920x1200. I'm using supreme commander forged alliance as benchmark, 3870 perfom good at most 4x AA only; beyond that difficult to get a smooth frame rate.

luckily i downgraded from GTS 320mb to 3870.... i find that there are quite some game that need around 400mb and more video memory alone to run properly. So 3870 get a thumbs up from me.
LExus65
post Dec 27 2007, 08:26 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

8800GT packs more performance, but when u take into consideration u need a 3rd party HSF (which is hassle to install sometimes) then the price very different already........

hehe well i consider 8800GTS to 3870 a downgrade because 3870 is cheaper....... hehe........
LExus65
post Dec 27 2007, 05:36 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

do you OC ur proc, it might be bottlenecking........ u can alwasy check on durig gaming session why having ur rivatuner to monitor both cpu usage and gpu usage.......
LExus65
post Jan 5 2008, 09:13 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

Shwaty, u want stock reference fan speed ?? for 3870 is about 20% only constant, temp is around idle 50oC load around 80oC. But once u boost the speed to 60%, idle turn out to be 40oC, loading around 60oC...

LExus65
post Jan 5 2008, 09:32 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

yo shawty, a corsair hx620w also can why ur OP650 cannot.....

btw, if those reviews power consumption are measure correctly, a 550w would be sufficent with 50Ws to spare
LExus65
post Jan 7 2008, 09:39 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

3870 is limted to 830 on core or something if not mistaken ...........

wah Doom also cannot tahan the seduce of 3870.........but why u need a iceq version since u got water cooling, just curious to know.

LExus65
post Jan 9 2008, 12:21 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

quite resonable, the cooler works better then the stock does, but i'm satisfy with stock........

btw doom, the price u mention does it include those VAT and some bla bla ??
LExus65
post Jan 9 2008, 04:03 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

Doom is seduce badly by the dark side....... so hows was it in gaming compare to your 2900XT..........

hehe just to ask, when is the 2nd 3870 will be in ur rig ?? But 17% VAT, really a lot....... i think i should sapu some hardware first if i go to europe...
LExus65
post Jan 10 2008, 12:22 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

intel is a bettter choice with mobo selection for crossfire......well basically and p35 or x38 would do as long as it has 2 pcie slot.....

speaking of IQ, in big monitors the result will be very significant, u can get to enjoy more eye candy.

btw sniper how did u get so high overclocking ?? like to know, pencil mod ??
LExus65
post Jan 15 2008, 08:11 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

Doom ur graphic card is hardly stay long enough to rust with you too.........

AC have their own version of fans, very thin profile for S1 if not mistaken, but locally can get or not i'm not sure
LExus65
post Jan 15 2008, 02:17 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

robyncom staff so good ar?? must go screw them a bit.........

come come faster join the dark side...

LExus65
post Jan 17 2008, 06:37 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

hrm........sure or not wor........ .......

btw nice card u have there zhen wei.... i was thinking of getting 1 piece too.......

blue pcb with blue cover, match nicely with the red 1.......

0.0207sec    0.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:50 AM