the X2 seems like an inch or two longer than the R600, so i guess it's fine with my casing.
Radeon HD 3870 and HD 3850 On The Horizon, The Dark Side is POWERFUL . come join
Nov 21 2007, 09:33 PM
9,417 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bladin Point, Northern Territory |
the X2 seems like an inch or two longer than the R600, so i guess it's fine with my casing.
Nov 22 2007, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(X.E.D @ Nov 22 2007, 07:16 PM) After seeing the Green's new nuclear reactor which is under NDA. Probably yes.Or maybe i'll just save my moolah and get my EOS5D with 580EX flash gun, Grid mesh, Battery Grip and 24-105L Walkaround special. This post has been edited by empire23: Nov 22 2007, 07:28 PM |
Nov 26 2007, 04:26 AM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Nov 26 2007, 04:09 AM) Alien ware comparison Really nice scores from the 3870. Looks like their driver optimizations are late, but coming.heck they recommend HD3870 crossfire with the latest quad proc but no surprise there as the nvidia mobo cant support the 45nm [attachmentid=338077] looking at those scores it might be true when u scale the proc as this gpu hits new heights when u overclock ure proc even 4ghz.. still bottleneck. Question is though, are those tests done with AA? Because IIRC the 2900 has somewhat broken AA units and does it via Shader ALU instead. Anyways, Powercolor has allocated 30 3870s for Malaysia. 30. Three Zero. Not Thirty thousand. AMD lies about shitty yields and supply issues. Atleast they're better than HIS. HIS only allocated 20 |
Nov 26 2007, 05:11 AM
Yeah lol, the date is about 1 month plus back, so new drivers might have changed alot...or maybe a little.
I'm not too sure about the BIOS, but 7.12 is internal beta with new provisions for the Spider platform and few good improvement across the board, OGL boost reported too. Tested it that day, Overdrive is bugged. Doing accounts for engineers assignment. I seriously need some fking sleep lah...stupid assignment. This post has been edited by empire23: Nov 26 2007, 05:12 AM |
Nov 28 2007, 02:28 PM
Next Geforce high end part will not be G92 right now. It will use the G80 IIRC due to the need for high clockspeeds and the supply and clocking issues with the G92.
Nov 29 2007, 05:25 AM
QUOTE(mypetridish @ Nov 29 2007, 02:47 AM) cant be true, why would they use a more expensive process - 90nm - to create a card which undoubtedly require a larger amount of transistor? not to mention heat due to the larger die and its presumably lower clocking capability. im not familiar with the G92 clocking issues, but it sure is clocking higher than the g80. i find ure logic terbalik Hear it's internally called the G80 plus. The idea isn't the larger amount of transistors or whatnot. Highend parts have only 2 things in mind, yield, and clockspeed, and if the old process is unable to deliver on both, graphic card makers usually aim for a combinational process. the G92 made in 90nm is a possibility, smaller processes don't really mean you'll get better clocks or usable chips per wafer. That's why the latest high enders of next gen cards usually use last gen processes because they're proven and easily optimized for. |
Nov 29 2007, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(mypetridish @ Nov 29 2007, 06:36 AM) i dont recall any high end latest gen graphics card using the previous gen chip nor processes. GeForce 7800 GTX used 110nm and the GeForce 7900 GTX used 90nm. just look through the R520 and R600 series and ull see the same pattern. also, isnt the Ultra also using a 90nm process which is the pinnacle of nvidia's offering at that time? The R520 used a larger process of 90nm while the RV570 and the resulting performance parts used the 80nm optical shrink.if they could have made G80 go beyond 612 mhz without producing too much heat, they would. and maybe they are working on it hence the G80 plus. but currently G92 is churning less heat with its 65nm process, packing more transistors, and boasting better clocking performance with GTS coming out at 650mhz on a reference chip. now that they are capable of producing G92 using 65nm process, it's just insane to go back to back to using 90nm. if ure talking about optimizing G80+ on 65nm then that sounds plausible. but staying at 90nm? The R600 used the 80nm TSMCHS while the RV630 used the 65nm and the RV670 the 55nm optical shrink while the 80nm is still being churned out. The 7800 used the 110nm which was used on the midend of the 6 series. The same 90nm on the 7900 series was brought forward to the 8800 series. High end parts usually take a half step when it comes to processes. They prefer old methods because they're perfected and the yields are better, to Nvidia, heat isn't a major primary concern above money, they have a business to run, they need the yields to make sure they keep the green coming in. Just because you can build an engine with space age materials, and you get better performance, doesn't mean you should, especially when money is the core of your business. If 65nm were as great as you'd make it seem, why the shortage? An interim solution would be to use to all production capability available, optimize the existing process and keep pushing cards. They will move, there's no doubt about that, but in my view, not now. |
Dec 25 2007, 04:06 PM
Just got a 3850 for mah mom's work rig lol.
Abit overkill....but i guess i use it too lol. |
| Change to: | 0.0456sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:45 AM |