Any Poorfag On Old Phone Locked Out Frm Bank Apps?, Me Still on Android 8/9 No More Updates
SUSpetpenyubobo
Jun 24 2023, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Jun 24 2023, 09:44 PM) How old are u? 70s or 80s? So boomer issue You're creating an issue out of nothing.Use private medical facility, want to use bank transfer? Credit card don't have? Not all banks have requirement for Android to be above android 10. If cannot use bank A, just use bank B la. Since u don't want to upgrade your phone. If want to use phone for very long time, use iPhone. Don't use android. Bnm tightened security, also wanna complaint. Yes banks are not open on weekend, go weekday cannot? Aiyo Out of nothing? All my bill payment cannot transact this weekend and I've to wait till next working day to go collect the token generator when free. Not even the bank will DARE answer a long time and loyal customer for over 30 years like that. If they dare tell they customers to fly kite like that many will move their accounts out to other banks after this.
SUSpetpenyubobo
Jun 24 2023, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jun 24 2023, 08:47 PM) Wise only requires Android 5. So Wise is not secure? Tried it on my super old Redmi. It's too slow. From Android 6 to 13. Based on this logic, China citizens must be mostly using Android 13 now. Seriously what are transaction limits for then when customers specifically set them for different types of transactions? Also recently the implemented cooling off period for large transactions. If there's a limit already set for risky accounts with high amounts of money, combined with a cooling off period why can't the bank directly call up the account owner to ask for verification and implement multi level authentication to hardened the security? I am very certain there's something more to this.
MyProLife
Jun 24 2023, 10:24 PM
I actually also baffled at that, BNN now become nanny for us but also introduced inconvenient at the same time because of too much scams reports
Although my phone is relatively newer, not everyone having a newer phone and buys phone every year. For those who want to use very long time, software support is important. That why iphone is popular now.
Android, relatively cheaper phone has shorter lifespan of support. If you buy cheaper phone you may need to buy another phone every other years. Flagship phones these days also price getting closer to iPhone level
As someone said maybe software outsourcing devs lobbying BNN for app tokens. I don't know much about whether its true or not. I was an intern in a company related to that kind of online banking outsourcing but even then I also didn't know any sign of lobbying at all
Hobbez
Jun 24 2023, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jun 24 2023, 08:55 PM) Android 6. Got a few local banks are considerate enough to make their app still usable. The majority though, tell their customers to go fly kite. They don't dare to do this in other countries.... And Malaysians defend the banks pulak. Malaysians are really good consumer sheeple.
Zaryl
Jun 24 2023, 11:01 PM
Kamon unker.
Iphone 14 quite cheap nowadays. If you so cheapskate, take with telco installments. 2 years contract is nothing when you can use iphone over 5 years or 7 years max.
brkli
Jun 24 2023, 11:10 PM
QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 24 2023, 06:59 PM) Your standard reply is u tak suka u, keluar right? It is institutionalized racism like your words which held back this country from moving forward and creating lots of enemies from around the world. says the one who stay on android 8/9 and dun want to upgrade and want to continue using SMS OTP rather than app authorize... This post has been edited by brkli: Jun 24 2023, 11:10 PM
PJng
Jun 24 2023, 11:14 PM
Ts keep bumping own thread becasue tak puas hati
PJng
Jun 24 2023, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(MyProLife @ Jun 24 2023, 10:24 PM) I actually also baffled at that, BNN now become nanny for us but also introduced inconvenient at the same time because of too much scams reports Although my phone is relatively newer, not everyone having a newer phone and buys phone every year. For those who want to use very long time, software support is important. That why iphone is popular now. Android, relatively cheaper phone has shorter lifespan of support. If you buy cheaper phone you may need to buy another phone every other years. Flagship phones these days also price getting closer to iPhone level As someone said maybe software outsourcing devs lobbying BNN for app tokens. I don't know much about whether its true or not. I was an intern in a company related to that kind of online banking outsourcing but even then I also didn't know any sign of lobbying at all Lucky now samsung support android atleats 3 os Even 3 years old phone still on latest os, no worry use more 3 years if battery still ok
JimbeamofNRT
Jun 24 2023, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 24 2023, 07:30 PM) Funny that the M2U app still works with my older version of Android. This one along with HLB's Connect. yup like I said earlier, even HLB can be run on older hp sohai pbb die die need to have android 10 and above
JimbeamofNRT
Jun 24 2023, 11:26 PM
QUOTE(acbc @ Jun 24 2023, 06:35 PM) I got no problem with the requirement since all my phones already on Android 10 and above. My last phone Android 8 was the Moto Z2 and already retired last year due to battery bloat. Ain't gonna spend money to replace the battery. Another is the Galaxy Note FE. Still working but I use it exclusively for Chromecast. For banking, I used the OnePlus 7 Pro which already updated to Android 12. Will use it for many years to come. Next phone I'm eyeing will be the Nothing Phone 1. Still no used one in the market. Reinstall apps on the new phone is no biggie. Android allows migration from one phone to another easily. Only need to reauthorize back. So, unless u don't keep your passwords offline like I do, it is time to do it. When I migrated from OnePlus 5 to OnePlus 7 Pro, it took me 2 hours to migrate all the apps over and another 30 mins to reauthorize all the banking and wallet apps back. Both phones were of 256GB variety and already 60% full. Nothing Phone 1 is one solid hp. can see em in carousell, but for that kind of asking price, better buy brand new
Hobbez
Jun 24 2023, 11:31 PM
Selectt
Jun 25 2023, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jun 24 2023, 11:23 PM) yup like I said earlier, even HLB can be run on older hp sohai pbb die die need to have android 10 and above because our user rights are lousy, compare it to EU
AfraidIGotBan
Jun 25 2023, 01:42 AM

QUOTE(Phoenix_KL @ Jun 24 2023, 08:29 AM) just buy cheap phone rm500 samsung. Cannot, cheaper phone equals to lousier security maybe, and more blame to bank. Must Ipong pro Mek 13 super special with gold coating to be extra sekure.
kcchong2000
Jun 25 2023, 01:43 AM

TS talk so much at the end kiam siap to buy phone aje.
AfraidIGotBan
Jun 25 2023, 01:43 AM

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jun 24 2023, 03:26 PM) Nothing Phone 1 is one solid hp. can see em in carousell, but for that kind of asking price, better buy brand new Me also about to tukar my old backup phone (Huawei Mate 20 X, the China edition superduper big punya) to Nothing 1 12gb 256gb.
Skylinestar
Jun 25 2023, 07:57 AM
QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Jun 24 2023, 09:44 PM) If want to use phone for very long time, use iPhone. Don't use android. Seriously plan to buy iPad 10th gen for my old parents for e banking.
Skylinestar
Jun 25 2023, 08:05 AM
QUOTE(Hobbez @ Jun 24 2023, 11:31 PM) I still carry a dumb phone with me to contact my old parents in the jungle.
Mijac
Jun 25 2023, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jun 25 2023, 07:57 AM) Seriously plan to buy iPad 10th gen for my old parents for e banking. Can use IPad for e-banking? 🤔
Dweller
Jun 25 2023, 09:04 AM

I agree with TS in this case. Luckily mine is still Android 10. If not I also will be damn pissed if I cannot transact out of a sudden. Checked on my email, there's no mentioning of this android version rule sent. Probably caused I am just a CC customer.
This post has been edited by Dweller: Jun 25 2023, 09:24 AM
loserguy
Jun 25 2023, 09:13 AM
Yeah I kinda agree with TS. Maybe the app should trigger a notification when it detects that the phone android version is already the minimum supported version.
"hi loserguy, this is the minimum supported version of android liao. Time to make muka Kecian and see if your kids will buy you a new phone."