13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Any Poorfag On Old Phone Locked Out Frm Bank Apps?, Me Still on Android 8/9 No More Updates

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 24 2023, 07:15 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(brkli @ Jun 24 2023, 06:26 PM)
you can thanks MySJ for opening the pandora box..
Crooks themselves created the problem, crooks themselves offering the solution and more opportunities for themselves to make even more money.

What is the problem? We live in a country where even a $2B foreign transfer can make it into the country with the BNM governor not realizing about it.

Also it's proven that despite setting a transaction limit millions can still get through the system and transferred. Do you really blame older version of Android for it and not notice the elephant in the room?
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 24 2023, 07:19 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Hobbez @ Jun 24 2023, 07:14 PM)
One foreign bank with a "good reputation" allows their app to be used even on VERY ancient phones in India, and China.

But not in Malaysia.

brows.gif
Yet they still have a much safer track record than the local Malaysian banks who claims to have the most sophisticated app in store correct? laugh.gif

Really BS the banks instead of pointing fingers at the public why not they dig out their traitors within their organizations and have MACC open the can of worms on the app developers/solution contractors?

There were cases where despite setting transaction limits yet the scam money transfer in millions could get through. What about it?
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 24 2023, 07:27 PM

1,030 posts

Not to say something bad or what if during weekend you have emergency situation need to admit your love one into a private medical facility then found out you were locked out from the app to receive secure transact OTP/C or no more SMS coming in.

GG already like dat.
Yenactiet
post Jun 24 2023, 07:27 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 24 2023, 07:19 PM)
Yet they still have a much safer track record than the local Malaysian banks who claims to have the most sophisticated app in store correct? laugh.gif

Really BS the banks instead of pointing fingers at the public why not they dig out their traitors within their organizations and have MACC open the can of worms on the app developers/solution contractors?

There were cases where despite setting transaction limits yet the scam money transfer in millions could get through. What about it?
lmao, not sure you're being delusional or what, almost every neighbouring country is talking about how vulnerable SMS OTP is and how online banking fraud is getting concerning right now

and this push notification is not even a new thing, MBB has already introduced it like 3 years ago, it's just other banks refusing to make the changes until the very last minute
13th
post Jun 24 2023, 07:28 PM

rakshaha
413 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jun 24 2023, 06:26 PM)
Hehe not my company la I’m just a vendor to the company that does work on that. It’s funny how people aren’t suspicious how come all the banks and BNM suddenly within one year want to phase out SMS completely and move to this app push approach. What’s crazy is there are no BNM audits or external audits on the banks’ implementation. So this is just mass hacking waiting to happen.
actually BNM gives out the detail in 2019/2020 to bank. so bank had 3 years to study/implement it. source, trust me bro
Hobbez
post Jun 24 2023, 07:30 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(Yenactiet @ Jun 24 2023, 07:27 PM)
lmao, not sure you're being delusional or what, almost every neighbouring country is talking about how vulnerable SMS OTP is and how online banking fraud is getting concerning right now

and this push notification is not even a new thing, MBB has already introduced it like 3 years ago, it's just other banks refusing to make the changes until the very last minute
My phone is VERY old, you would be very horrified to learn what model it is. But some local banks still make their app compatible with my phone.

For those that don't, they are basically telling you to go fly kite. They will transfer their developer "cost" to you, the consumer. dry.gif
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 24 2023, 07:30 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Yenactiet @ Jun 24 2023, 07:27 PM)

Funny that the M2U app still works with my older version of Android. icon_idea.gif

This one along with HLB's Connect.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 24 2023, 07:32 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(13th @ Jun 24 2023, 07:28 PM)
actually BNM gives out the detail in 2019/2020 to bank. so bank had 3 years to study/implement it. source, trust me bro
Funny again that this is pushed to a poor 3rd world country first to force its less educated citizens to change phones out of planned obsolescence instead of developed countries.

If I'm MACC start opening up questions on this developer who introduced this idea to BNM and Malaysian banks.
Hobbez
post Jun 24 2023, 07:34 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 24 2023, 07:32 PM)
Funny again that this is pushed to a poor 3rd world country first to force its less educated citizens to change phones out of planned obsolescence instead of developed countries.

If I'm MACC start opening up questions on this developer who introduced this idea to BNM and Malaysian banks.
You have many Malaysians defending those banks instead. laugh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by Hobbez: Jun 24 2023, 07:34 PM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 24 2023, 07:39 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Hobbez @ Jun 24 2023, 07:34 PM)
You have many Malaysians defending those banks instead.  laugh.gif  doh.gif
I'm sure at this time also the bank directors and management are now bombarding the app developer to solve this problem immediately even at night on weekends. The bank customer service must be overwhelmed by calls from uncles and aunties trying to find a way besides using SMS TACS/secure transaction OTPs which their phones were locked out. laugh.gif

Come Monday a long queue is expected at their branches for the token generators. If they run out of stock then what? GG...
Yenactiet
post Jun 24 2023, 07:39 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Hobbez @ Jun 24 2023, 07:30 PM)
My phone is VERY old, you would be very horrified to learn what model it is. But some local banks still make their app compatible with my phone.

For those that don't, they are basically telling you to go fly kite. They will transfer their developer "cost" to you, the consumer.  dry.gif
QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 24 2023, 07:30 PM)
Funny that the M2U app still works with my older version of Android. icon_idea.gif

This one along with HLB's Connect.
then let's see how BNM deals with that, cuz those banks can raise some justifications which are sensible as well. after all proposed drafts getting released even after implementations of new policies are not uncommon

This post has been edited by Yenactiet: Jun 24 2023, 07:40 PM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 24 2023, 07:45 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Jun 24 2023, 07:12 PM)
If you can't afford phone with Android 10 and above, the bank knows you are just little fish and matters very little to them.
Sure.. laugh.gif

Billionaire Warren Buffett uses iPhone 11, not iPhone 14 or iPhone 13!
https://tech.hindustantimes.com/mobile/news...1811346029.html

This post has been edited by petpenyubobo: Jun 24 2023, 07:56 PM
darkterror15
post Jun 24 2023, 08:04 PM

359 posts

if u use ur browser in the phone and select desktop site to browser, can you open banking site ?
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 24 2023, 08:25 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Jun 24 2023, 08:04 PM)
if u use ur browser in the phone and select desktop site to browser, can you open banking site ?
Of course you can just like you would on a PC using the web browser to login. But here's the problem, with SMS TACs phased out the only way to receive the SECURE confirmation for your transaction is through the app.

How are you going to authorize the transaction and complete it when the app already blocked on your old Android phone refuses to even launch/open and you can't even update it?
Bank branches only open on weekdays to apply for the token generators.

This is how I came across trying to pay my bills over the weekend. No way to complete the transaction.

If emergency situation you need to make payment for deposit to check in private medical facility and locked out how? icon_question.gif
SUSceo684
post Jun 24 2023, 08:44 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 24 2023, 08:25 PM)
Of course you can just like you would on a PC using the web browser to login. But here's the problem, with SMS TACs phased out the only way to receive the SECURE confirmation for your transaction is through the app.

How are you going to authorize the transaction and complete it when the app already blocked on your old Android phone refuses to even launch/open and you can't even update it?

This is how I came across trying to pay my bills over the weekend. No way to complete the transaction.

If emergency situation you need to make payment for deposit to check in private medical facility and locked out how? icon_question.gif
RHB KLCC open on Sat. The one and only.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 24 2023, 08:45 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 24 2023, 08:44 PM)
RHB KLCC open on Sat. The one and only.
My bank is not RHB unfortunately. sad.gif
Skylinestar
post Jun 24 2023, 08:47 PM

Mega Duck
10,473 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jun 24 2023, 06:02 PM)
Just because SG hasn't implemented does not mean we made a bad move.
This measure is from BNM, so all MY banks are in the midst of complying.

And this is one area BNM is ahead of MAS in implementing. If we are behind SG, always kena complain. In the things we are ahead of SG, also kena criticise.

At the end of the day, is a good measure to protect all consumers. Change with the times.
Face it. Your OS is obsolete and needs to be upgraded as a security measure.
Wise only requires Android 5. So Wise is not secure?

QUOTE(bumfart @ Jun 24 2023, 06:29 PM)
flash your rom to the latest android
go to xda forums to read up
Tried it on my super old Redmi. It's too slow. From Android 6 to 13.

QUOTE(Yenactiet @ Jun 24 2023, 06:37 PM)
that doesn't mean other countries are more superior, there's a thing you need to consider, how prevalent e-wallet usage is in those countries when compared to here?

BNM is merely trying to minimise the chance of consumers getting cyber-scammed whatsoever here
Based on this logic, China citizens must be mostly using Android 13 now.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Jun 24 2023, 08:49 PM
Skylinestar
post Jun 24 2023, 08:55 PM

Mega Duck
10,473 posts

QUOTE(Hobbez @ Jun 24 2023, 07:30 PM)

For those that don't, they are basically telling you to go fly kite. They will transfer their developer "cost" to you, the consumer.  dry.gif
KitKat user?
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5384779&hl=
WhatMan
post Jun 24 2023, 09:26 PM

1,623 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 24 2023, 07:45 PM)
Sure.. laugh.gif

Billionaire Warren Buffett uses iPhone 11, not iPhone 14 or iPhone 13!
https://tech.hindustantimes.com/mobile/news...1811346029.html

But you are not Warren Buffet.
Mr Gray
post Jun 24 2023, 09:44 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 24 2023, 08:25 PM)

How old are u? 70s or 80s? So boomer issue

You're creating an issue out of nothing.

Use private medical facility, want to use bank transfer? Credit card don't have?

Not all banks have requirement for Android to be above android 10. If cannot use bank A, just use bank B la. Since u don't want to upgrade your phone.

If want to use phone for very long time, use iPhone. Don't use android.

Bnm tightened security, also wanna complaint.

Yes banks are not open on weekend, go weekday cannot? Aiyo

13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:07 PM