Ken's unpredictable and combined work out routine, For a more defined body and to have fun.

TSkianweic
post Oct 11 2007, 04:07 PM, updated 18y ago

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

I've been working out for awhile in Melbourne and now back in KL. Currently hitting a break wall, also I am trying to find a gym partner where he or she could support me while I do the weights.

I do not eat any protein shakes whatsoever because it is too expensive and my salary isn't able to support it at the moment.

My body fat is 20% according to the gym instructor. I am currently 79kg and about 168 cm. Hopefully I can get the 15% body fat sometime after next year conservatively speaking.

2-3 times a week and have only taken a break once since I started working out in Malaysia. cool2.gif

1.First session of the week.

30 mins jogging @ 9.6 kmph
30 mins on the strider @ level 25
Benchpress 4x10 60kg warm up and the rest @ 80kg
Pullover 4x10 70 pounds
Barbell Bicep curl 4x10 about 50 pounds and above.
Barbell Triceps curl 4x10 about 60 to 70 pounds.
Inclined Legpress 4x10 about 140-160kgs
Dumbbell shoulder press 4x10 about 70 pounds to 90 pounds

2. Second session of the week

Deadlifts 4x10 60kg warm up and the rest @ 80 kg
Dumbbell Bicep curls 4x10 about 35 pounds to 45 pounds
Dumbbell Tricep curls (overhead one) 4x10 about 60-70 pounds
Barbell shoulder press (too bad have to use the smith machine here) 4x10 40kgs to 60kgs max
Flyiers 4x10 about 35 pound to 40 pounds

3. Third session of the week

Squats 4x10 60kg warm up and the rest @ 80kgs
And a few back exercise I dunno what's their name
for Dumbbell 4x10 about 45 to 60 pounds.
For the machine thingie sorta mixed between fix and free 4x10 60-70kg
Dumbbell benchpress 4x10 about 110 pounds to 120 pounds
Pullup about 4x6 (not good at this as I just started doing)

Please feel free to put your thoughts about my work out. I usually spend like 2 hours and 30 mins to 3 hours in the gym. Occassionally almost 4 hours. The extra time is usually spend on cardio.

This post has been edited by kianweic: Apr 11 2008, 08:21 PM
jones007
post Oct 11 2007, 04:23 PM

Internets Super Heroes LOLWUT
8,878 posts

bro, your bench press is same with your squat and deadlift?? how long have u been lifting? doing cardio after weightlifting is better. reserve energy for more intense weight training to stimulate muscle growth.

ur dumbbell bench press.. one hand 110 lbs?? @_@"

dont do 4x10 for warm up, waste energy bro.

eg bench 40kg for 2x15 then move on with 4x10x80kg
Humping^Panda
post Oct 11 2007, 04:38 PM

528 posts

wow...actually what do you want to achieve?
weight lost right?

why dont you just focus on cardio 1st?
and your calories intake.
TSkianweic
post Oct 11 2007, 04:39 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Oct 11 2007, 04:23 PM)
bro, your bench press is same with your squat and deadlift?? how long have u been lifting? doing cardio after weightlifting is better. reserve energy for more intense weight training to stimulate muscle growth.

ur dumbbell bench press.. one hand 110 lbs?? @_@"

dont do 4x10 for warm up, waste energy bro.

eg bench 40kg for 2x15 then move on with 4x10x80kg
Bro. Thanks for your comments.

I only started to do squat and deadlift last year.

However, I have been doing bench press and the rest for more than 4 year.

No way, one hand is 55lbs if not too tired can do 65lbs per hand.

actually i only do one set of the reps for warm up. and the rest ie. 3x10 is 80kg.

I think that is due to my habit. Since day one I have been doing cardio before weights.

Also I hope to achieve 100kgs for benchpress, squats and deadlifts sometimes in the future.

jones007
post Oct 11 2007, 05:01 PM

8,878 posts

seriously dude. u wana increase strength. do cardio after. always warm up with the bar alone 1st. 3x10 is not bad.
TSkianweic
post Oct 11 2007, 05:32 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Humping^Panda @ Oct 11 2007, 04:38 PM)
wow...actually what do you want to achieve?
weight lost right?

why dont you just focus on cardio 1st?
and your calories intake.
Not weight loss but fat loss.

Weight loss = fat loss + muscle loss

I don't want to lose muscle just the extra fat. This is because muscle burns calories at a much higher rate.

Actually, my goal is to reach 100 kgs for some exercises and a higher stamina (ie. 11-12kmph for 30 mins).

However, I am satisfied and happy enough to be able to go to gym to meet up with my friends and motivate each other.

There is always something to improve in whatever exercise we do. Just need to take one step at a time. flex.gif

jones007
post Oct 11 2007, 05:34 PM

8,878 posts

where u working out at?
TSkianweic
post Oct 11 2007, 05:38 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Oct 11 2007, 05:34 PM)
where u working out at?
Damansara Heights, Fitness First.

Gym here is bloody expensive.

Back in Melbourne a month of gym costs Au$30 bucks. (For University gym)

And here it costs RM159.

Even after conversion ie. Au$30 x 2.8 = RM84 (Only half the price) doh.gif

jones007
post Oct 11 2007, 05:46 PM

8,878 posts

u join fitness first sure expensive la. comercial gym. bro LOL
T+1
post Oct 11 2007, 06:49 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Oct 11 2007, 04:07 PM)
I've been working out for awhile in Melbourne and now back in KL. Currently hitting a break wall, also I am trying to find a gym partner where he or she could support me while I do the weights.

I do not eat any protein shakes whatsoever because it is too expensive and my salary isn't able to support it at the moment.

My body fat is 20% according to the gym instructor. I am currently 79kg and about 168 cm. Hopefully I can get the 15% body fat sometime after next year conservatively speaking.

2-3 times a week and have only taken a break once since I started working out in Malaysia. cool2.gif

1.First session of the week.

Benchpress 4x10 60kg warm up and the rest @ 80kg
Pullover 4x10 70 pounds
Barbell Bicep curl 4x10 about 50 pounds and above.
Barbell Triceps curl 4x10 about 60 to 70 pounds.
Inclined Legpress 4x10 about 140-160kgs
Dumbbell shoulder press 4x10 about 70 pounds to 90 pounds
wow, u must have big cannon balls shocking.gif
bata
post Oct 11 2007, 08:48 PM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Oct 11 2007, 05:32 PM)
Not weight loss but fat loss.

Weight loss = fat loss + muscle loss

I don't want to lose muscle just the extra fat. This is because muscle burns calories at a much higher rate.

Actually, my goal is to reach 100 kgs for some exercises and a higher stamina (ie. 11-12kmph for 30 mins).

However, I am satisfied and happy enough to be able to go to gym to meet up with my friends and motivate each other.

There is always something to improve in whatever exercise we do. Just need to take one step at a time. flex.gif
wow i like your reply
obviously you have better knowledge
than those who just want to lose weight smile.gif

Chow
TSkianweic
post Oct 13 2007, 02:25 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Thanks for your compliments.

Actually I am considered quite small for the exercise I do. In addition, most people in my previous gym do heavier than me (Melbourne University) at least to my knowledge I am just consider above average or maybe just average over there.

Diet without exercise is pointless, as it would have a disaster yoyo consequences.

Added on October 16, 2007, 10:22 pm16/10/2007

Angry gym day. sad.gif

Not too sure why but was quite pissed off today.

30 mins 9.6 kmph threadmill
30 mins effort level 25 strider

Dumbbell press
1x10 55lbs each hand = 110lbs
1x10 60lbs each hand = 120lbs
2x10 65lbs each hand = 130lbs

Lateral Row
1x10 50kgs
1x10 60kgs
2x10 70kgs

Squats
1x10 60kgs
2x10 80kgs
1x10 90kgs

Barbell shoulder press
2x10 50kgs
2x10 60kgs

Ab crunches
4x30

Bicep curls
2x35lbs each arm
2x40lbs each arm

Tricep curls (overhead)
1x60lbs
1x65lbs
2x70lbs

Light stretches

Total time spent in gym = 2 hours and 30 mins

From now onwards, I shall do weights first than cardiovascular exercises.

Added on October 20, 2007, 12:44 am19/10/2007

Time for some changes gym.

5 mins bike at level 10 effort

Benchpress 4x10 60kg, 80kg, 80kg, 85kg
Pullover 4x10 70 pounds
Barbell Bicep curl 4x10 50 pounds
Barbell Triceps curl 4x10 2x60-2x70 pounds.
Inclined Legpress 4x10 100kg ,120kg ,130kg ,140kg
Inclined Benchpress 2x50kg 2x60kgs

4x30 Ab crunches

30mins Threadmill @ 9.6 kmph
20mins strider @ 25 effort level

To be update next session on Sunday hopefully.

Added on October 23, 2007, 9:20 amDear all,

I have decided to start an online work out journal by blogging.

Please visit this site for future updates.

http://kianwei.blogspot.com

Thanks in advance. smile.gif

Yours sincerely,

Kian Wei

This post has been edited by kianweic: Oct 23 2007, 09:20 AM
TSkianweic
post Feb 23 2008, 11:45 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

I'll just cut and paste from my workout journal as well.

Work Day Training 22 February 2008
My exercise routines were as follows:

5 mins rowing machine @ effort level = 10

Shoulder press + Squats:
1x15 30lbs per arm, total = 60lbs
1x12 35lbs per arm, total = 70lbs
1x15 35lbs per arm, total = 70lbs

Inclined Benchpress:
1x1, 1x2,1x3, 1x4 ,1x5 ,1x6 @ 40kg
1x1, 1x2,1x3, 1x4 ,1x5 ,1x6 @ 50kg
1x1, 1x2,1x3, 1x4 ,1x5 ,1x6 @ 40kg
* I was a bit tired from doing this, maybe it was due to the benchpress I did on Wednesday.

Barbell Bicep Curls + Squats:
1x15 40lbs
2x15 50lbs
* Seems to be improving with my new creation exercise, or so I thought.

Squats:
1x15 70kg
1x12 90kg
1x15 90kg

Barbell Tricep Curls:
1x15 50lbs
1x15 71.5lbs
1x12 71.5lbs

Lawnmower (Half deadlift + one arm row):
2x15 30lbs per arm, total = 60lbs

30 mins on treadmill @ 7.0 kmph and gradient = 6.0
1 min on treadmill @ 5.0 kmph and gradient = 3.0

15 mins on crosstrainer @ effort level = 10
TSkianweic
post Feb 23 2008, 07:56 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Sorry this post is just for me to keep track in the long run.

My before taking any supplements as of February 2008 photos.

Will start taking supplements by this Sunday.

The supplements that I will be taking are as follows:

1. On Whey protein.

2. Creatine (depends how much bonus I get this month)

3. Natural Fat burner = Green Tea (3 cups)

I'll be using the natural fat burner as recommended in the T-nation website: 3 cups of green tea. (no joking)

PS. I have not been taking any photos for the past 2-3 years.

Cheers
Disciple
post Feb 23 2008, 09:42 PM

Master of Disaster
2,272 posts

lol dude...i didnt know you got a workout diary here laugh.gif
wah you've got size man thumbup.gif you wanna start cutting now?
TSkianweic
post Feb 23 2008, 11:01 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Hehe yes I did, but I have no idea how to Not combine the post so I couldn't be bothered posting till earlier today.

Yes I am into cutting at the moment. Need to lose as much body fat as possible. Eating quite cleanly these days.

Light Cardio Session at home 23/02/2008

35 minutes on exercise bike @ effort level between 6-9

TSkianweic
post Feb 26 2008, 10:08 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Today, I took my first protein + creatine shake before. I have never feel so much strength and stamina from taking creatine burning inside me. I walked from my work place to the gym which usually take 10 minutes (shorten to 5 minutes so much) No joking, I felt like I can't wait to get into gym and go nuts with the exercise. I arrived at gym @ 6:00 pm and left the gym @ 8:40 pm. Total time spent = 2 hours + 40 minutes

I would say my exercise routine today was a bit nuts, in fact I feel that I still can continue my cardiovascular exercises at this hour:

5 minutes Rowing machine @ effort level = 10, distance nearly reach 1km, about 980m (usually it's only about 600-700m)

Flat Benchpress:
1x1 1x2 1x3 1x4 1x5 1x6 @ 50kg
1x1 1x2 1x3 1x4 1x5 1x6 @ 60kg

Pullover:
2x15 60lbs
2x15 65lbs

Woodchopper (from bottom to up):
1x15 20lbs per arm, total = 40lbs
1x15 25lbs per arm, total = 50lbs
1x15 27.5lbs per arm, total = 55lbs

Inclined legpress:
1x15 100kg
1x15 150kg
1x15 180kg
1x15 190kg

Standing bicep curls:
1x15 40lbs
3x15 50lbs

5 minutes Exercise bike @ effort level = 10

Dumbbell fliers for chest:
1x15 20lbs
1x15 25lbs
1x15 30lbs
1x15 35lbs

*I can't believe after all those exercise I was still able to run, usually I'll just walk. (I am really not use to the benchpress with mutiple sets plus the woodchopper)

30 minutes on treadmill @ 9.6kmph
16 minutes on treadmill @ 6.6kmph
Total length run + walk = 6.92 km

Lat pulldown:
1x10 55kg

10 minutes on strider @ effort level = 25 (maximum)

Funny, that I still feel sorta energetic after all those exercises. Really love the creatine, I wonder what would happen if you mix creatine with fat burners. Probably even more insane results.

This post has been edited by kianweic: Feb 28 2008, 06:23 PM
TSkianweic
post Feb 28 2008, 06:24 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

A tribute to my Gaming PC. Thanks to the hectic working hours plus my dedication for gym, I have neglected my Gaming PC significantly.

I could only spend time with my Gaming PC in the weekend. Due to the nature of my work, I can't stand another minute in front of the LCD monitor when I get back from work.

Here are some photos of my gaming PC taken last year 2007 and early this year 2008.

On 2007:

My rig from as a whole

The casing before replacing the GPU

All my other gamepads, joystick and Senheiser headphones.

On 2008:

Replaced the old Leadtek Geforce 7800GTX with a new Zotac 8800GT Non Amp version

Zotac Geforce 8800GT Non Amp Version with modified heatsink from Zalman

Two external hard disk, grey one is Western Digital 320gb and the black one is Western Digital 500gb.

* I need better time management skill especially if I gonna fit a girl in my life.....haha.

Cheers
Disciple
post Feb 28 2008, 07:11 PM

Master of Disaster
2,272 posts

some great stuff you got there thumbup.gif how i wish i can afford those...but i guess i shall be grateful for what i have now.... laugh.gif
TSkianweic
post Feb 28 2008, 10:08 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Disciple @ Feb 28 2008, 07:11 PM)
some great stuff you got there thumbup.gif how i wish i can afford those...but i guess i shall be grateful for what i have now.... laugh.gif
Thanks for your compliments, I believe you will be able to afford as soon as you start working.

Cheers

TSkianweic
post Feb 28 2008, 10:21 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work day gym session 28/02/2008

Today was just another day at the office, I got off work at 6:30pm, arrived at gym at 6:40 pm approximately and left at 9:00 pm sharp. Total time spent in gym = 2 hours and 20 mins

I would say that all the exercises I did today are of cardiovascular exercise. 1 hour 50 minutes plus of cardiovascular exercise. Super Cardiovascular exercise entry, anyway the exercises I did are as follows:

20 mins rowing @ effort level = 10 (max effort)

30 mins stepper @ effort level = 12
1 min stepper @ effort level = 10

31 mins crosstrainer @ effort level = 10

30 mins strider @ effort level = 25
1 min strider @ effort level = 12

Light stretches for 10 minutes

In my opinion, I would be able to burn high amount of calories with such many and long cardio session. Given that it isn't as taxing as weight lifting, I might do something of similar on Sunday. I hope I will be able to go to gym tomorrow as well though.

Cheers

TSkianweic
post Mar 5 2008, 08:42 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day Gym Session 04/03/2008
I had to work quite intensively at work today. Fortunately, I managed to get off work at 6:00 pm, arrived in the gym at 6:15 pm. Finished gym at the usual 9:00 pm. Total time spent in gym = 2 hours 45 minutes. Relatively shorter as I was doing 3x15 reps for most weight exercises except for a few.
My workout routines are as follows:
5 mins on rowing machine @ effort level =10

Inclined benchpress:
1x1 1x2 1x3 1x4 1x5 1x6 @ 40kg
* Rest 3-6 seconds in between each mini sets

Shoulder press + squats:
1x12 30lbs per arm, total = 60lbs
1x14 25lbs per arm, total = 50lbs
1x14 20lbs per arm, total = 40lbs

Squats:
1x15 70kg
1x12 100kg
1x12 100kg

Standing barbell bicep curls:
1x15 40lbs
2x15 50lbs

Lateral Row:
1x15 20kg per arm, total =40kg
2x15 30kg per arm, total =60kg

Pendley rows:
1x15 32.5kg
1x15 42.5kg
1x15 52.5kg

Flat benchpress:
1x8 50kg
*Too tired to do this so couldn't be bother, just did one set and off to the next exercise.

Alternate hammer curls:
2x15 25lbs per arm, total = 50lbs

30 minutes stepper @ effort level = 12
1 minute stepper @ effort level = 10
* Resulted in 178 floors climbed and 404 calories burned.

30 minutes treadmill @ speed = 6.5 to 7.0, gradient = 4% to 5%
1 minute treadmill @ speed 6.5, gradient = 0%
* Resulted in 3.3 km walked with 230 calories burned.

I will be doing another gym session on Thursday. I was unable to do the next gym session on Friday as I was struck down by my own high blood pressure / hypertension previously (I think). The doctor did say I had a borderline case of high blood pressure / hypertension case. We'll see on Friday where I would probably do my 1 hour 50 minutes cardiovascular session again.

Cheers

This post has been edited by kianweic: Mar 5 2008, 08:42 AM
TSkianweic
post Mar 6 2008, 10:11 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day (Easy) Gym Session 06/03/2008

I work till 6:10 pm today, got into gym by 6:15 pm. Left gym at 9:00 pm. Funny thing happened today, while creatine is supposed to retain water, I actually sweat two t-shirt wet to the maximum. Why? I have no idea. Total time spent in gym = 2 hours 45 minutes

Today work out routine are as follows (it's a bit easier then usual because I am extremely tired mentally.) :

5 minutes on the rowing machine @ effort level = 10

Lawnmower Row (Half deadlifts plus one arm row) :
1x15 40lbs per arm, total = 80lbs

Woodchopper (from bottom to up):
1x15 25lbs per arm, total = 50lbs

Dumbbell bicep curls:
3x15 35lbs per arm, total = 70lbs

Tricep overhead extension:
2x15 60lbs
2x15 65lbs

Standing barbell military press:
3x15 50lbs

Inclined legpress:
1x15 150kg
1x15 170kg
1x15 190kg

Dumbbells chest fliers:
3x15 30lbs per arm, total = 60lbs
* Easy in terms that I didn't do benchpress, squats or deadlifts as per usual.

30 minutes stepper @ effort level = 12
1 min stepper @ effort level = 10
* Resulted in 182 stairs climbed and 385 calories burned.

30 minutes treadmill @ 7.0 kmph, gradient = 5.0%
1 min treadmill @ 5.0 kmph, gradient = 2.5%
* Resulted in 3.40km walked and 260 calories burned

Will I be able to do a single cardiovascular session tomorrow? Tune in to find out.

Meanwhile keep on rocking.

This post has been edited by kianweic: Mar 6 2008, 10:12 PM
TSkianweic
post Mar 8 2008, 05:23 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Election day light cardiovascular exercise entry 08/03/2008

I have voted in the primary school with my mum today.

Walked all the way from my house to the primary school nearby and back home.

Total distance walked approximately 2.0 km.

Total time walked 45 minutes.

58.9% of the 10.9 million registered voters cast according to Malaysiakini.

* We are eagerly awaiting results for the elections. Let's hope it's good enough for all of us.

Cheers

This post has been edited by kianweic: Mar 8 2008, 05:30 PM
pizzaboy
post Mar 8 2008, 06:16 PM

9,495 posts

jumping jeepers.....

60KG x 2 x 10 for shoulder presses?

I can't even get them past 8 reps! And I only do 3-4 sets of that, with no extra dumbbell work. U have some solid shoulders there my dear friend.

Keep up the good work, will be watching.
TSkianweic
post Mar 8 2008, 09:26 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Mar 8 2008, 06:16 PM)
jumping jeepers.....

60KG x 2 x 10 for shoulder presses?

I can't even get them past 8 reps! And I only do 3-4 sets of that, with no extra dumbbell work. U have some solid shoulders there my dear friend.

Keep up the good work, will be watching.
Thanks for your compliments, really made my day.

Your squats and deadlifts and the variation of those deadlifts you do scares the living crap out of me though and also some of the exercises.

* I am too excited watching the election results at the moment.

Cheers
pizzaboy
post Mar 9 2008, 10:52 AM

9,495 posts

hahaha!
Okay...no problem.

I intend to beat you in dat okay? hehe, so let's have some healthy competition here ol boy! Hooyah! I gotta get some chiro to fix my left shoulder asap........the silly "clicking" is killing me.

U lucky bastards living in KL, now under DAP. Dammmmmmm
TSkianweic
post Mar 11 2008, 02:06 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Mar 9 2008, 10:52 AM)
hahaha!
Okay...no problem.

I intend to beat you in dat okay? hehe, so let's have some healthy competition here ol boy! Hooyah! I gotta get some chiro to fix my left shoulder asap........the silly "clicking" is killing me.

U lucky bastards living in KL, now under DAP. Dammmmmmm
Sorry for the late reply.

Of course, healthy competition will motivate us to improve faster and thus become stronger. Also I intent to get somewhere close to 300lbs for squats and deadlifts in the long run. Although that won't break your records or most people records as well, at least I'll feel better.

Anyway, I am skipping gym training today. I am having a massive headache at work, can't take medical leave as I am trying to finish a project by this weekend.

Skip gym work out on 11/03/2003

I have taken two panadols and I did not bring my gym equipments today.

Hopefully will recover by tomorrow and hit the gym then.

As per suggested, 80% diet and 20% workout to achieve a lower body fat %. Therefore, I need to start watching my diet.

Goal is to get 15% body fat and below by November 2008 before going to Jakarta to visit another friend's wedding. Meanwhile, not lose too much strength in my usual exercise (ie. 4x10). I will definitely give the 5x8 and 4x12 a try (with a lot heavier weights) once I lose significant body fat.

Cheers
TSkianweic
post Mar 12 2008, 10:24 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work day (sick) gym session 12/03/2008

I got off work earlier today at 6:00 pm. Fortunately, my friend was able to drop me off at the gym say in 6:05 pm, stay in the gym till 9:00 pm. Total time spent in gym = 2 hours 55 minutes. I was a bit sick today, got a bad sore throat but managed to finish most exercise anyway, so no big lose. Also, I forget to take my protein supplement and my creatine supplement as well due to being almost late for work.

*Please note that I have decided to use kilogram for all the dumbbells because I feel attached to my old gym in Melbourne University whereby everything was in kg and not in pounds.

My work out routine are as follows:

5 mins on rowing machine @ effort level = 10

Barbell Benchpress:
1x10 @ 70kg
*I would say pretty alright for a sick person

1x15 22.5kg
1x12 27.5kg
1x15 27.5kg

Dumbbell shoulder press + squats:
1x14 16kg per arm, total = 32kg
2x10 16kg per arm, total = 32kg

Barbell tricep curls:
3x15 32kg

Inclined legpress:
1x15 150kg
1x15 170kg
1x15 200kg

Dumbbell chest fliers:
1x15 11.36kg per arm, total = 22.72kg
2x15 13.63kg per arm, total = 27.27kg

Woodchopper:
1x15 13.63kg per arm, total = 27.27kg
1x15 15.91kg per arm, total = 31.81kg
1x15 18.18kg per arm, total = 36.36kg

30 mins on stepper @ effort level = 13
1 min on stepper @ effort level = 7
* Resulted in 185 floors climbed and 350 calories burned

30 mins on treadmill @ gradient = 5, speed = 7.0kmph (20 mins), 6.5kmph (10 mins)
1 min on treadmill @ gradient = 2.5, speed = 5.0kmph
* Resulted in 3.4km walked and 250 calories burned.

Total calories burned = 600 calories (not as good as the previous time)

All in all, I'll say a pretty decent work-out for a sick person. Hopefully, I'll recover fully by tomorrow.

Cheers
pizzaboy
post Mar 13 2008, 12:21 AM

9,495 posts

I still don't know what "Woodchoopper" is.......

jones007
post Mar 13 2008, 06:56 AM

8,878 posts

good paul chek for core training and u'll find woodchopping or tree chopping lol
TSkianweic
post Mar 13 2008, 08:47 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Woodchopper with the machine (dunno what's it called)

- Imagine holding and axe and chopping the wood into halves like those in the Rocky movies. I think Rocky 4 where Rocky Balbao fought some big guy from Russia to avenged the death of Apollo. It's something like that.
- However, I do the upside down one, instead of chopping downwards, I am swing upwards. (ie. like giving an uppercut with an axe.) Watch any medieval age movie where the character would swing the axe upwards.
(defying gravity may or may not require more energy)
- I did tried the normal one and it was easy for the same weight.

- Few weeks back, this particular exercise make me perspire like there is no tomorrow. Now it seems a lot easier, I have to increase intensity drastically and ultimately try another exercise.

I'll upload a picture if I do find one on the net. That would be after work.

* Please note is a two-hand motion, seems to work the lower back, bit of legs (squating motion) and a bit of triceps I think.

Cheers

This post has been edited by kianweic: Mar 13 2008, 08:48 AM
jones007
post Mar 13 2008, 08:58 AM

8,878 posts

u r doing it with cables right?
TSkianweic
post Mar 13 2008, 09:01 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Yeah with the cables, those that Neek does for his chest fliers.

pizzaboy
post Mar 13 2008, 09:06 AM

9,495 posts

OoooOOoo....
I thought which gym so cun, got tractor tires for you to slam at.

Go find tire shops, get an MPV and take a tractor tire and put at home.
Then go buy sledgehammer and wallop the thing. That's an even cooler core workout.

Oh and yeah, get the 12 pound or something ones. Not too heavy. Too heavy and it's impossible to swing right. I know, I took an 18 pound head and each hit left me shuddering but not producing enough force.

Added on March 13, 2008, 9:10 amWAIT!
It's 8 pounds. The 12 pounds are the ones I had difficulty swinging properly.

This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Mar 13 2008, 09:10 AM
TSkianweic
post Mar 13 2008, 09:32 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Mar 13 2008, 09:06 AM)
OoooOOoo....
I thought which gym so cun, got tractor tires for you to slam at.

Go find tire shops, get an MPV and take a tractor tire and put at home.
Then go buy sledgehammer and wallop the thing. That's an even cooler core workout.

Oh and yeah, get the 12 pound or something ones. Not too heavy. Too heavy and it's impossible to swing right. I know, I took an 18 pound head and each hit left me shuddering but not producing enough force.

Added on March 13, 2008, 9:10 amWAIT!
It's 8 pounds. The 12 pounds are the ones I had difficulty swinging properly.
Hehehe, that sounds like fun. Seems like a very good way to release stress as well. Probably have to go down to the hardware store sometime.

I was thinking of getting a sandbag since I doubt Manulife gym have it. Punching and kicking for no reason should be quite stress relieving as well.

Since you do martial training, would like to ask whether you strap weights or your legs onto your body like those movie Jet Li does in his old movies?

Cheers
jones007
post Mar 13 2008, 11:04 AM

8,878 posts

how much is a tractor tire gonna be?
TSkianweic
post Mar 13 2008, 12:05 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Mar 13 2008, 11:04 AM)
how much is a tractor tire gonna be?
Shouldn't cost too much if it were from a junkyard. Or just get the spare tyre of a 4-wheel drive should be plenty enough.

Also, I think getting a punching bag would be better. However, I have no place to hang it. Might as well just punch a pillow.

pizzaboy
post Mar 13 2008, 01:53 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Mar 13 2008, 09:32 AM)
Hehehe, that sounds like fun. Seems like a very good way to release stress as well. Probably have to go down to the hardware store sometime.

I was thinking of getting a sandbag since I doubt Manulife gym have it. Punching and kicking for no reason should be quite stress relieving as well.

Since you do martial training, would like to ask whether you strap weights or your legs onto your body like those movie Jet Li does in his old movies?

Cheers
Mmm.....yes we do strap weights, but they're pretty light. 1KG weights. There was up to 6LBS or 2.3KG or something where we train, but that's it.

It makes your leg swing extra fast towards the target, IF and only IF you can produce the force equivalent to the extra weight on your leg. Keep in mind the matter of leverage considering where you put the weights, but once you can produce that much force, you'll automatically kick even faster.

QUOTE(kianweic @ Mar 13 2008, 12:05 PM)
Shouldn't cost too much if it were from a junkyard. Or just get the spare tyre of a 4-wheel drive should be plenty enough.

Also, I think getting a punching bag would be better. However, I have no place to hang it. Might as well just punch a pillow.
Sometimes, if you drive around and go to desserted places, people actually throw their old tractor tires there. I still suggest tractor tires, because 4wd tires are a lil too flimsy. Get solid tires. Then U can whack till your teeth drops off. Also tractor tires are large enough for you to rest it on the wall. That way you can reenact the movement of swinging=punching. And you can also slap on your boxing gloves and hang the tractor tire and have 5 minutes of punching fun.

I say 5 minutes becuz you'll likely punch the crap outta your hands within 2 already. Anything more, would be pretty fun to watch.
TSkianweic
post Mar 18 2008, 08:37 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Looking forward for after work gym today 18/03/2008

Finally, I have fully recovered from a virus attack since last Friday.

I had a terrible sore-throat coupled with pain coming from the joints.

Visited a doctor, she said was a virus attack and I took a medical leave on Friday itself. However, I was at work till 12:00 pm. It's like a half day leave.

I was not able to hit the gym as the pain from the joints and throat was quite annoying.
TSkianweic
post Mar 18 2008, 08:54 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day (Short) Gym Session 18/03/2008

I got off work slightly earlier than usual, got off at 5:45 pm, rush to the gym got there about 5:55 pm. Finished a lot earlier than usual due to transportation issue, got off at 7:45 pm, total time spent in gym = 1 hour 40 minutes. I am pretty sure I miss one or two weights exercises I used to do and lack 30 mins cardiovascular exercise that I pretty much do all the time.

My exercise routine are as follows:

Inclined benchpress:
1x15 @ 60kg
*Quite alright for a person who just recovered from illness

1x15 27.27kg
2x15 29.54kg

Squats:
1x15 70kg
1x12 90kg
1x12 100kg

Dumbbell bicep curls:
2x (2x15) 15.9kg per arm, total = 31.8kg
2x (1x15) 18.18kg per arm, total = 36.36kg

One arm dumbbell row (without half deadlifts)
2x (1x15) 15.9kg per arm, total = 31.8kg
2x (1x15) 18.18kg per arm, total = 36.36kg
2x (1x15) 22.72 per arm, total = 45.45kg

Standing military press:
1x15 32.5kg
* Didn't had time to finish the 6th weight exercise, went straight to cardio instead.

15 mins on treadmill @ 10.5 kmph
10 mins on treadmill @ 7.0 kmph
* Resulted in 260 calories burned (can't remember the distance at all)

Very short gym session today. I will definitely hit the gym tomorrow as I didn't feel tired enough. The good thing is that, Thursday is a public holiday, therefore I am going to push myself to the max.

jones007
post Mar 18 2008, 09:33 PM

8,878 posts

12 reps of 100kg squat? u r stronger than me mate lol
TSkianweic
post Mar 18 2008, 10:26 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Mar 18 2008, 09:33 PM)
12 reps of 100kg squat? u r stronger than me mate lol
Actually I don't think so because my squats aren't deep. It's just a sitting motion and then straight up.

I saw Neek did his squat which should be the same like yours since you taught him that. I only can do 80kg x 10 reps for that. If I did that below parallel squats my blood pressure will go through the safety zone (according to the doctor), I start to feel dizzy and unable to do my cardio sessions. The dizziness might last till the next day and I'll have to take muscle relaxant.

* Should have put this in as well. Today I feel my right knee or leg was different, there was a sharp pain after I did the squats, need to consult doctor if this persist tomorrow. That is why I didn't incorporated squats to the one arm row and tricep overhead extensions.

jones007
post Mar 19 2008, 07:11 AM

8,878 posts

when did i teach neek to squat? lol i didn't anyway neek should be squatting ATG.

sharp pain? take 1 week rest from squat. after that still got pain only check wiht doctor. and eat ur glucosamines lol
TSkianweic
post Mar 19 2008, 04:38 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Oh ok, Neek did say something that most people from here squat like him. I haven't seen him these days, according to his brother, Ivan. Neek has been working out in the morning.

Another 1 hour plus 30 minutes or maybe more, I will be heading to the gym again. Probably not going to do squats till next week and see how it goes by then.

Updated: The pain has receded since this afternoon. Going to stress-tests my legs doing cardiovascular exercise. Hopefully it isn't as serious as what I think.
jones007
post Mar 19 2008, 05:23 PM

8,878 posts

DUUUDEE!! KNEE PAIN STILL DO JOGGING? DONT LAAAAAAAA

take ur glucosamine and rest for 3-5 days.....

and yeah we here squat ATG.. me, syd, neek and......... king? lol..

Ps : oh yeah.. if u wan big strong legs.. squat deep. reduce weight and squat deep.. you'll progress a lot faster and less pain on the knees..

This post has been edited by jones007: Mar 19 2008, 05:24 PM
TSkianweic
post Mar 19 2008, 10:29 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

No jogging just stepper.

Need to lose a lot of body fat. I am sick of having muscles that aren't visible thanks to high body fat %. Also need to control diet, stupid chocolates looks tasty and papadam.

Yeah I will do a deeper squat once I finish the cutting phase which is going to be quite long since a lot of fat to go. Probably start with 60kg or less.

TSkianweic
post Mar 19 2008, 10:30 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day (Cardio) Gym Session 19/03/2008

I got off work late today somewhere about 7:10 pm and arrived at gym 7:15 pm. Thankfully, I have took a day off on Friday therefore I have a long weekend ahead.I am pretty sure I will be able to do another session on Friday as well, making that the third gym session of the week. Also I got off gym at 9:15 pm, total time spent in gym = 2 hours.

Today's gym session, I went full blast on cardiovascular exercises. The workout routine are as follows:

20 mins on rowing machine @ effort level = 10
* Resulted in 170 calories burned

30 mins on stepper @ effort level = 13 (max level= 25)
1 min on stepper @ effort level = 10
* Resulted in 390 calories burned and 190 floors climbed.

30 mins treadmill @ 7.0 kmph and gradient = 5.0%
1 min treadmill @ 5.5 kmph and gradient = 2.5%
* Resulted in 280 calories burned and 3.3 km fast walked.

20 mins on crosstrainer @ effort level = 15
1 min on crosstrainer @ effort level = 10
* Resulted in 170 calories burned and about 1.2km walked.

Total calories burned for this cardio session = 170+390+280+170 = 1,010 calories burned.

Seems like a lot of calories burned but I would prefer it somewhere within the range of 1,200 or above as I still have tonnes of body fat to lose. I'll need to check the body fat measure machine by end of April. Let's hope for the best.

Cheers

pizzaboy
post Mar 19 2008, 10:47 PM

9,495 posts

So......the............
BORINGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!

No really, cardio......boring
TSkianweic
post Mar 19 2008, 10:48 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

No money to do liposuction need cardio exercise to burn lotsa calories and hopefully burn more fat.

Me donate some fat to you ok?

LOL hahahah
pizzaboy
post Mar 19 2008, 11:04 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Mar 19 2008, 10:48 PM)
No money to do liposuction need cardio exercise to burn lotsa calories and hopefully burn more fat.

Me donate some fat to you ok?

LOL hahahah
No need. Thanks. U donate to poor somalian children better.

Lol
TSkianweic
post Mar 20 2008, 08:28 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Hmmm....What happened to that human fat boat that's supposed to break world records?

I can donate my fat to them. Looks like human fat not good as fuel.

Maybe donating fat to Somalia kids can get offset my taxable income as well.....LOL
pizzaboy
post Mar 20 2008, 09:12 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Mar 20 2008, 08:28 AM)
Hmmm....What happened to that human fat boat that's supposed to break world records?

I can donate my fat to them. Looks like human fat not good as fuel.

Maybe donating fat to Somalia kids can get offset my taxable income as well.....LOL
I'm really giving u the WTF look here. Where'd u get that sorta idea?? Dayumm....
TSkianweic
post Mar 20 2008, 03:53 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

I probably be a lot healthier if I exercise as many times as I posted the crap over here.

Hmmm, I plan to cycle my creatine with Lipo-6 by May 2008 for one month and maybe back to creatine.

Weird thing is that creatine makes me sweat more, but the extra pump when both doing weights and cardio is there.
jones007
post Mar 20 2008, 04:17 PM

8,878 posts

diet la bro.. wat cardio wat weightlifting wil not do a thing if u dont control ur diet.
TSkianweic
post Mar 23 2008, 08:46 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Diet is probably the most difficult part in the whole bodybuilding process.

Anyway here a restaurant I recently went for. They served very nice noodles (both dry and in soup) with some mince meat and a very nicely cook again (whereby the yolk is still in liquid form). Both noodles (dry and soup) taste natural. Can't remember the full

Details as follows (from their business cards):

Restoran Super Kitchen
(Chilli Pan Noodle) in Mandarin
Address: 33, Jalan Dewan Sultan Sulaiman 1, Off Jalan T.A.R 50300 Kuala Lumpur.
Brach: 3-1, Jalan PJU 5/4, Dataran Sunway, Kota Damansara, 47810 Petaling Jaya.
Tel: 03 - 61417398

Cheers
TSkianweic
post Mar 24 2008, 10:13 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day (Another Short) Gym Session 24/03/2008

It was raining cats and dogs about 5:30 pm all the way to 6:30 pm. In addition, there was a lot of outstanding work that I have to attend to. I only got into the gym at 7:00 pm. Left the gym as per usual @ 9:00 pm. Total time spent in the gym = 2 hours.

Please note there were many pretty girls in the gym today (far more pretty ladies around than usual, around 2x more), also do note that have killer bodies (not the lamp post type, those makes me....yawn...). While it may be nice to have many pretty girls around but it was far too distracting.

My exercise routine are as follows:

Dumbbell shoulder press (without squats):
2 (1x15) @ 18.18kg per arm, total = 36.36kg
2 (2x14) @ 20.45kg per arm, total = 40.90kg
*I need to get this back to 25kg per arm as soon as possible. Argh!

Flat benchpress:
1x6 @ 80kg
*Oh shit, I have weaken, only able to do 6 reps for 80kg.

Woodchopper:
2 (2x15) @ 13.63 kg per arm, total = 27.27kg
2 (1x15) @ 15.91 kg per arm, total =31.81kg

Pullover:
1x15 @ 27.27kg
2x15 @ 31.82kg

Iso-lateral row:
2x (1x15) @ 25 kg per arm, total = 50kg
2x (1x15) @ 35 kg per arm, total = 70kg
2x (1x15) @ 40kg per arm, total = 80kg

Pull ups:
2x1
* Man, I seriously suck at this, need to start training this exercise.

Inclined Legpress:
1x15 @ 150kg
1x15 @ 170kg
1x15 @ 200kg
* Nice one, finally able to do 200kg but this exercise still makes me sleep.....yawn....can't do squat at the moment.....

30 mins on stepper @ effort level = 15
* Resulted in 400 calories burned and 201 floors climbed. This exercise totally demolish my legs and I only added 1 extra effort level. Damn!

All in all a short work out and an enjoyable one. Too bad I didn't have enough time to talk to those magnificent looking ladies.

Also I did not manage to burned at least 800 calories today, that is a bad sign......need more cardio please....
jones007
post Mar 25 2008, 11:53 AM

8,878 posts

fap till ur brain dries out. definitely will burn at least another 250 calorie!
TSkianweic
post Mar 25 2008, 12:14 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Practises makes perfect.

However, I gotta read up on Karmasutra to learn some "good stuff" which is known since ancient time hhmmm.......

Definitely more fun and interesting than reading the Malaysian Tax Law book anytime.
TSkianweic
post Mar 26 2008, 05:56 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

I need to make a decision whether I should do my weights + cardio session or just a heavy cardio session today?

It's a hump day, actually I rather not go to the gym at all but since I already brought my clothes and gears. Gotta go anyways.

Cheers,

Ken
TSkianweic
post Mar 26 2008, 10:37 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day (Easy) Gym Session 26/03/2008

Today's weather was really making me sleepy, I was so going to skip gym. When I step outside of the office it started to rain a little, I was without an umbrella. Therefore, on that spot I started my very first cardiovascular exercise, running all the way to the gym with a huge bag pack, another small bag and my shoe bag. I got into the gym at 6:50 pm and left the gym at 9:00 pm sharp again.
Total time spent in the gym = 2 hours and 10 mins

Unlike Monday, there weren't that many people (including pretty ladies) today. I guess the Hump Day symptom has got into many people, almost myself as well.

My workout routine are as follows:

* Can't remember how many calories I burned because I took a few power naps.

1x15 27.27kg
1x15 29.54kg
1x15 34.09kg

Dumbbells shrugs:
2x10 25kg per arm, total = 50kg
1x10 27.27kg per arm, total = 54.54kg

Dumbbells Chest Fliers:
3x15 15.09kg per arm, total = 30.18kg

Dumbbell one arm rows:
3(2x15) 22.27 per arm, total = 44.54kg

Dumbbell Bicep Curls:
2(2x15) 15.09kg per arm, total = 30.18kg
1(1x15) 18.18kg per arm, total = 36.36kg

Pendley rows:
1x15 32.5kg
1x15 42.5kg
1x15 52.5kg

Standing Barbell Bicep Curls:
1x15 22.5kg
1x15 27.5kg
1x15 32.5kg

30 mins on the stepper @ effort level = 13
* Resulted in 360 calories burned and 190 floors climbed

30 mins on treadmill @ 7.0 kmph with gradient = 5.0%
1 min on treadmill @ 5.5 kmph with gradient = 2.5%
* Resulted in 280 calories burned and 3.3 km walked / lightly jog.

Total calories burned in both these exercises = 640 calories (hmmm, seems kinda low)

All in all, a very easy gym today as there were not any compound exercises. I still feel quite alright when I got home. I would most likely be going to gym on Friday for a super heavy cardiovascular session. Target calories to burned = 1,200 calories

Deadline for body fat % test in gym = late April, will set a date as the time draw closer.

Wish me luck guys, cheers.

GreenNerdy
post Mar 28 2008, 10:05 PM

370 posts

I'm not 100% sure, but i think cross-trainer burn more calories right? that is if the indicator is correct :/

anyway good luck for the fat% test smile.gif
TSkianweic
post Mar 28 2008, 10:41 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day (Cardio-focused) Gym Session 28/03/2008

TGI Friday guys, today was another one of those days I would rather not go to gym. Finding extremely difficult to push myself there. Then I realized there are lotsa body fat needed to lose and the very scary fat test is end of April so what the hell. Also I just found out curry puffs are actually deep fried, oh my god. (I always thought they were baked)

Got into gym at 6:45 pm, work out till 9:00 pm, total time spent in gym = 2 hours 15 mins.

*Please note that today was more of a cardiovascular focused exercise session, only did like 2 weights exercise for experimentation with something.

My workout routine are as follows:

5 mins rowing machine @ effort level = 10

Standing military press:
1x15 32.5kg
1x15 42.5kg
2x8 47.5kg
*I was experimenting with this as I would like to see what's the effect on my legs, so far it seems alright no problems at all.

Dumbbells shoulder fliers:
3(2x15) 9.09 kg per arm, total = 18.18kg

31 mins on stepper @ effort level = 13
* Resulted in 360 calories burned and 192 floors climbed

31 mins on strider @ effort level = 25 (max)
* Resulted in most likely 200 calories burned max, I don't believe the machine number as it says I burned like 750 calories.

25 mins on treadmill @ 7.0 kmph and gradient = 5.0%
* Resulted in 230 calories burned, can't remember how far I brisk walk / light jog.

Total calories burned = 790 calories (hhmmm quite low today, oh well might need to put in another cardio session on the weekend)

All in all, not so enjoyable gym session but nonetheless I have set the deadline for a body fat testing exam. It is scaring the living crap out of me.

TSkianweic
post Mar 28 2008, 10:54 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(GreenNerdy @ Mar 28 2008, 10:05 PM)
I'm not 100% sure, but i think cross-trainer burn more calories right? that is if the indicator is correct  :/

anyway good luck for the fat% test  smile.gif
Not too sure about how accurate the cross-trainer indicator is but I would say it won't burn anywhere as much as the Stepper nor the treadmill (that's just from my experience.)

Similar situation would apply to the strider (sorry I am not too sure what's it call). For instance, today I did strider @ maximum effort level for 31 mins and it says I burned like 700-750 calories, I would say about 200 calories sounds more reasonable.

As for cross-trainer, I would think that it's like 75% to 80% accurate. I am not too sure about that either because for Cross Trainer as I said it's very easy for me, I could easily do it @ effort level = 17-19 for 30 minutes and not feel tired at all.

I think it would best as a judgement call.

If you feel that cross-trainer is far more tiring than stepper or treadmill then maybe it's probably accurate for you.

Do note I am not an expert in cardiovascular exercise, I only do lotsa of them and I usually take power naps when doing them (please don't do that)

Thanks for wishing me luck as well, probably need lotsa of it.....haha

This post has been edited by kianweic: Mar 29 2008, 09:04 PM
TSkianweic
post Mar 29 2008, 09:05 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Weekend light cardio session 29/03/2008

It was a bit rainy today, Little Foot (my Dog) gave me the "I wanna go out look". Eventually, after the rain stopped, I took him for a stroll for 30 mins plus. Not too sure how long but it was definitely a 1.3 km walked.

Little Foot's the look

Walking the dog stats:
30 mins
*Resulted in 1.3 km walked and probably less than 100 calories burned.
yeeck
post Mar 30 2008, 02:50 AM

3,572 posts

Try RPM for burning calories.
TSkianweic
post Mar 30 2008, 08:24 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Is RPM the cycling class in a dark room?

How long does it last? Is it a form of HIIT?

Thanks in advance. I definitely will give it a whirl if there's a class where the time fits into my schedule.

*Please note that HIIT doesn't seem to work on me, tried that many times. The end results is I always end up fatter than before. Cheers.

This post has been edited by kianweic: Mar 30 2008, 08:25 AM
yeeck
post Mar 30 2008, 10:19 PM

3,572 posts

Yup, it is. You can check out the schedule online at Fitness First Malaysia's website. End up fatter than b4? You sure it was not due to other factors like food or stress?

This post has been edited by yeeck: Mar 30 2008, 10:19 PM
TSkianweic
post Mar 31 2008, 06:35 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Definitely due to diet, every time I do HIIT I end up eating a lot more than usual.

Anyway, I am still going to try out RPM since I have never attend any classes from Fitness First before. Should be quite fun.
metalfreak
post Mar 31 2008, 10:49 AM

Working out is not my routine, it's my new lifestyle
3,300 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Mar 31 2008, 06:35 AM)
Definitely due to diet, every time I do HIIT I end up eating a lot more than usual.

Anyway, I am still going to try out RPM since I have never attend any classes from Fitness First before. Should be quite fun.
What do you eat after a workout?

Cut down on rice perhaps? You've been working out for so long, i think its due to your diet. Try changing your diet abit bro.

I think you mentioned that you usually eat indian mix rice or something right? Why dont you prepare some tuna sandwiches and all?

Also, i think you can start by cutting down rice. Well at least that was how i started and it showed some progress. Cut down on the amount of rice i take for dinner.

This post has been edited by metalfreak: Mar 31 2008, 10:51 AM
TSkianweic
post Mar 31 2008, 10:58 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Actually the time when I did HIIT was back in University years, haven't done any HIIT since 2-3 years ago.

I eat sandwiches with Ham, wholemeal bread and lettuce without dressing. Anyway, long story short is that, after eating those (a lot of it, also after HIIT) usually like 3 sandwiches and more. I get hungry in like an hour and ate a lot of other stuff which is healthy, like some nuts, apple slices, wholemeal biscuits and so on.

Always ended up with a caloric surplus, so I got fatter and a lot bigger.

* From my experience, HIIT burns more calories but it induces a lot more cravings than my normal medium to high (constant) cardiovascular exercises.
N0eL
post Mar 31 2008, 11:52 AM

1,479 posts

Ken...

If possible try to stay off ham...alot of intestine stuffs in there....Fat fat fat toxic toxic toxic~!!

Unless u r able to get those expensive lean ones by yourself.

I would stay off ham sausages and bacon ~!! Those r the hardest things for me to exclude in my daily diet ~!! BBQ bacon stripes = heaven ~!!

This post has been edited by N0eL: Mar 31 2008, 11:53 AM
yeeck
post Mar 31 2008, 12:19 PM

3,572 posts

Nothing wrong with eating more. Just need to eat the right stuff. More protein like egg whites and lean meat is fine, add more vege and fruits too.
TSkianweic
post Mar 31 2008, 05:18 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Yeah guys, gotta pick the right stuff.

Sausages and bacon.....I love those.....Oh well...need to cut bad....

Eggs whites are alright, fruits I eat a lots, vegetables I eat quite a lot as well. I usually eat like less than 3 quarter plate of rice.

Also I eat a lot of junk when watching a movie, like chips and chocolate.....Seems like the only way not to eat junk watching movies is to do my exercise bike at home. Just feel too natural to eat during movie time.

Anyway, these days at work. I keep a protein drink at standby, when I am hungry I'll just drink that.....

I just clean my whole house yesterday via vaccuum and wash my dad's 4 wheeldrive with the wiping and the cleaning nooks and cranny, seems like a good cardio work out as well.

Time taken to performed those two activities = 1 hour plus, calories burned = ?......

Cheers
TSkianweic
post Apr 1 2008, 10:16 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day (Full Blast) Gym Session 01/04/2008

Today was kinda tough just getting my lazy ass into the gym. Usually I won't mind because I just sit in front of the PC the whole day. Today was slightly different, I was carrying around 10kg worth of financial statements for like 20-30 mins walking everywhere. (Seems a good reason not to hit the gym)

Aprils fool jokes on me, I walked into gym with a friend today @ 6:15 pm and got off @ 9:15 pm, total time spent = 3 hours. This is due to the fact that my carpool friends have to stay back till 9 pm plus, more reason to overtrain.

My workout routine as follows:

Flat benchpress:
(1x1 1x2 1x3 1x4 1x5 1x6) @ 50kg
(1x1 1x2 1x3 1x4 1x5 1x6) @ 60kg
* Each small set with 3 seconds rest.
1x8 @ 80kg
* I reckon I am getting better at this particular mega set exercise, going to try 70kg the next time and see how it goes.

Pullover:
1x15 27.27kg
2x15 34.09kg

Squats:
1x15 70kg (Ass to ground, ATG, is that the correct term)
1x15 90kg (Non-ATG)
1x15 100kg (Non-ATG)
* ATG is definitely harder, will do that more often once the cutting phrase is over.

Dumbbell bicep curls:
1 (2x15) 15.09kg per arm, total = 30.18kg
2 (2x15) 18.18kg per arm, total = 36.36kg
* I really should get this back at 20kg per arm as soon as possible.

1x15 27.27kg
2x15 34.09kg

Woodchopper:
1x (2x15) 12.5kg per arm, total = 25kg
2x (2x15) 15.0kg per arm, total = 30kg
*I still sweat like crazy performing this weight exercise, don't ask me why.

Iso-Lateral Row:
1x (2x15) 25kg per arm, total = 50kg
2x (2x15) 40kg per arm, toal = 80kg

30 mins on stepper @ effort level = 13
* Resulted in = 350 calories burned and 192 floors climbed

30 mins on treadmill @ 7.0 kmph , gradient = 5.0%
1 min on treadmill @ 6.0 kmph, gradient = 2.5%
* Resulted in = 280 calories burned and 3.34 km brisk walked / light jogging.

All in all, a very decent workout. I would say this is definitely more full blast than my usual workout. I hope my next workout will be on Thursday and Friday, I am hopeless on weekend, just trying to chill out man.

* Please note there were just as many pretty girls there as last Monday, they provide a good motivation yet a terrible distraction.

metalfreak
post Apr 3 2008, 02:06 PM

3,300 posts

WAh bro

Chest, biceps and triceps all at 1 go???

TSkianweic
post Apr 3 2008, 02:15 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Actually best not to do my way, I only do this because it's very difficult to allocate my time for gym.

Doing splits will give better results like 2 body parts per session.

I am very lucky if I get to go 2-3 times per week. So I have a tendency do everything in one day (an insurance just in case I have to skip due to work, transportation issues, luckily no more studies....)

Cheers
metalfreak
post Apr 3 2008, 02:28 PM

3,300 posts

I know because my 1st session in the gym...was Back and Triceps. Haven't recovered from DOMS yet. So when I saw your routine o.O was just curious thatz all.

Also I chatted with Disciple this morning on MSN...he also adviced that I should rest because I wanted to train Chest and Biceps today initially.

I will do cardio for today. Brought my gym clothes and all...so...If it continues to rain, I will run on the treadmill.
TSkianweic
post Apr 3 2008, 03:14 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Reasonable because benchpress do workout the triceps as well.

It depends though sometimes I do train even with the DOMS and sometimes I don't train eventhough I don't have DOMS.

I am using quite a few combination exercises (or better known as complex) which is supposed to strengthren the core. For my sake, the way I see it, it burns more calories than usual so it's all good.

I will get back to Split exercises once I can do without the 30 mins of cardio exercise. That would reduced my time in gym till like 1 hour 30 mins which should be good enough for 3 times a week.
metalfreak
post Apr 3 2008, 04:49 PM

3,300 posts

i see =D
well...its still good tho.

work it babeh yeah!

As for me =.= cardio for today. =P
TSkianweic
post Apr 3 2008, 10:39 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day (Weakness Focused) Gym Session 03/04/2008

I did not feel energetic today even after consuming my protein shake mix with creatine and HL Milk both normal and strawberry flavour (bought this by accident). I reckon that I've overexercise the past few weeks.

Anyway I got into the gym at 6:30 and left the gym at 8:45 pm. Total time spent in the gym = 2 hours and 15 minutes. A lot less than the usual exercise.

Today I focused on my weakest exercise ie. chin ups, pullups and dips.

My exercises routine are as follows:

Pendley rows:
1x15 32.5kg
1x15 42.5kg
1x15 52.5kg

One arm row (without deadlift part):
1x (2x15) 22.72kg per arm, total = 44.54kg
2x (2x15) 25.00kg per arm, total = 50.00kg

2x15 22.5kg
1x15 27.5kg

Pullups:
2x1 (bodyweight = 78kg)

Chin ups:
2x3 (body weight = 78kg)

Dips:
2x5 (body weight = 78kg)

* Please note that all these exercises I am really bad at. I am going to try to improve these exercises after my cutting phase.

25 mins on stepper @ effort level = 13
5 mins on stepper @ effort level = 19 (did this by accident but seems to be doable)
1 mins on stepper @ effort level = 10
* Resulted in 360 calories burned and 192 floors climbed.

10 mins on treadmill @ 6.0kmph, gradient = 5.0%
7 mins on treadmill @ 7.0kmph, gradient = 5.0%
* Resulted in 150 calories burned and 1.8 km walked albeit quite badly.

Total calories burned today = 510 calories

Frankly, today just wasn't my day. I am still having DOMS from the squats and benchpress on Tuesday. Hmmmm.....oh well.

This post has been edited by kianweic: Apr 3 2008, 11:02 PM
TSkianweic
post Apr 6 2008, 01:12 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day Non-Gym Session 04/04/2008

Due to the fact that my employer is going to move to OneWorld Hotel (1 Utama) by 1st of May which so happens to be my birthday and a public holiday as well, I've been moving files up and down for like 1 hour.

Also thanks to the lighting during the storm on Friday, my friend's computer was toasted by the lighting, so was my dad's modem/router, printer, 7 USB port (external) and Network LAN card (yes it is a really old computer whereby its built-in LAN card was kaput since who knows when.)

Anyway, we went to Digimall. I help my friend to carry his entire CPU (which is about 8-10kg approximately up and down as well for like 30 mins).

Lesson learned, do NOT switch on the computer during rainy days especially if there's lighting around.

Carrying files (3-5kg) up and down for 1 hour
* Resulted = ??? calories burned

Carrying entire CPU (8-10kg) up and down as well for 30 mins
* Resulted = ??? calories burned

In the end of Friday, I was so tired that I fall asleep not soon after.....argh....

TSkianweic
post Apr 7 2008, 05:16 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

@everyone

07/04/2008

I have been exercising for like the past 10 months for both weights and cardio, mainly 2-3 times per week without a single rest week. The longest I go is about 5 days rest and it only happens like 2-3 weeks tops.

Currently (Today) I am feeling really lethargic and fatigued physically, should I take a week off from gym at least from weights while doing some light cardiovascular exercises?

Would someone advice me in regards to this matter?

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by kianweic: Apr 7 2008, 05:18 PM
shanecross
post Apr 7 2008, 06:47 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

You should take a week off from lifting, thats what I did as well after 8 weeks of training. During the 1 week period, do 1-2days of cardio tops, if you have a box platform, do some box jump, use a resistance band if you have. Its practically doing some stretching and conditioning. Trust me you will see some strength increment.
TSkianweic
post Apr 8 2008, 09:29 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Good idea, I think I'll lay off weight lifting for 1-2 weeks, just concerntrate on light cardio exercises and see how it goes.

I should be able to burn somewhere between 1,000 calories to 1,200 calories per session of cardio exercise.

* I may have to see a doctor if my condition does not improve, I am feeling just as bad as yesterday, probably worse. I'll wait till 11:00 am before proceeding to see a panel doctor.

Cheers
shanecross
post Apr 8 2008, 01:55 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

Keep us updated. Good luck mate !
TSkianweic
post Apr 9 2008, 08:29 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Thanks for your concern Shanecross.

I went to a panel doctor yesterday 09/07/2008, the doctor said that I have flu which might have caused the following:

1. Fever
2. Occassionally come and go headaches
3. Joint and body pains (sounds odd, I may get a 2nd opinion later after work today)
4. Sorethroat

I didn't take a day off yesterday probably should, will see how things goes today.

Cheers
metalfreak
post Apr 9 2008, 09:30 AM

3,300 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Apr 9 2008, 08:29 AM)

I went to a panel doctor yesterday 09/07/2008, the doctor said that I have flu which might have caused the following:

1. Fever
3. Joint and body pains (sounds odd, I may get a 2nd opinion later after work today)
4. Sorethroat

I didn't take a day off yesterday probably should, will see how things goes today.

Cheers
hey ken, get some rest. Hope you get better dude.

This post has been edited by metalfreak: Apr 9 2008, 09:30 AM
shanecross
post Apr 9 2008, 02:29 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Apr 9 2008, 09:29 AM)

1. Fever
4. Sorethroat

Cheers
You need lots of recovering, conditioning and rest. Period.
TSkianweic
post Apr 9 2008, 03:24 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Yeah I think I probably take 1-2 weeks rest from any weight training, hopefully by then the joint pains and body aches goes off by then.

Good thing is I get to catch up with movies and TV-shows I've missed thus far.

*Argh, I hate spamming my own workout without any workouts entry but me being sick.

TSkianweic
post Apr 11 2008, 08:16 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work day (Non-Gym) session 11/04/2008

I have decided not to hit the gym this week at all as my joints and body aches like there is no tomorrow. I have seen two doctors and none have provided me a medical certificate. Well, it seems to be alright. Thanks to all the pains, I have taken some painkillers on Wednesday this week 09/04/2008.

However, thanks to my job requirements today I have to carry 5-10kg worth of financial statements everywhere for like 30-45 minutes.

30-45 mins carrying 5-10kg stuff walking
* Resulted in calories burned = ????

After returning from doing that, I would have then moved like 3-4 heavy boxes from the bottom to the top one after another.

3-4x Compound lifting @ 30-40kg each

To some extent it seems that I can't take a break as well. Next Monday, I would have to do something similar of walking around with 5-10kg or even more financial statements. Argh!!

* Please note that I can't wait to get back to gym to hit both cardio and weights training nuts. I think I am addicted to gym like drugs......hhmmmm...

This post has been edited by kianweic: Apr 12 2008, 09:15 AM
TSkianweic
post Apr 12 2008, 09:16 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Weekend light cardio session 12/04/2008

I woke up early this morning about 7 am, I slept at 2 am therefore I only had like 5 hours sleep....oh dear. Anyway, I walked my dog at 8:30 am to 9:00 am (usually on Sunday but since my dad was not free enough to walk Little Foot.

Walking the dog for 30 minutes
* Resulted in 1.3 km walked and calories burned = 80 calories?

I would like to share this photo taken in Jakarta on January 2008. The amount of food was actually for four. I can't wait for my next Jakarta trip on November, however I need to be as lean as possible before then (not to show off but to be able to stuff myself silly without being unable to burn the fat)

TSkianweic
post Apr 15 2008, 08:45 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day Non-Gym session 14/04/2008
Again I have to proceed to one of the government office to extract financials statements. Fortunately today, I have someone to accompany me for the extractions. Therefore, I did not required to carry like 5-8kg of financials around. Instead, I believe to carry about 4-5kg of financials statements tops.

Carrying financial statements and walking around for 30 mins
*Resulted in calories burned = ????

I am really in anticipation of my gym session on Tuesday, 15/04/2008 after one week of hiatus. Hopefully I will not suffer any strength loss upon my first day.
Disciple
post Apr 15 2008, 09:12 AM

Master of Disaster
2,272 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Apr 12 2008, 09:16 AM)
Weekend light cardio session 12/04/2008

I woke up early this morning about 7 am, I slept at 2 am therefore I only had like 5 hours sleep....oh dear. Anyway, I walked my dog at 8:30 am to 9:00 am (usually on Sunday but since my dad was not free enough to walk Little Foot.

Walking the dog for 30 minutes
* Resulted in 1.3 km walked and calories burned = 80 calories?

I would like to share this photo taken in Jakarta on January 2008. The amount of food was actually for four. I can't wait for my next Jakarta trip on November, however I need to be as lean as possible before then (not to show off but to be able to stuff myself silly without being unable to burn the fat)

i bet that was a wonderful meal...i can feel from here lol thumbup.gif
TSkianweic
post Apr 15 2008, 10:15 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Disciple @ Apr 15 2008, 09:12 AM)
i bet that was a wonderful meal...i can feel from here lol thumbup.gif
Yeah man, when I was in Jakarta is like luxury meal after luxury meal. Put on lotsa fats for sure.

Eat, eat, eat, eat ,eat almost like 12-15 hours of eating and drinking, occassionally walking in their extravagant malls and stayed in a five-star hotel (Ritz Carlton Hotel) for a day during the wedding, I will update the photo in one of those short gym entry.

I am going to Jakarta again on November 2008, probably try to go to Bali as well.

TSkianweic
post Apr 15 2008, 10:35 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day (Recovery) Gym Session 15/04/2008

It was raining pretty heavily today and it was also my first day back to gym after one week hiatus with a somewhat good rest. As per usual, I forgot my umbrella but somehow or rather it rains. Damn, it is always like that, seldom rains when I actually brought my umbrella, this kinda suck.

*Please note that I have not taken any Creatine and will not for this whole month in order to cycle the Creatine out of my system. I will recommenced in taking the Creatine on May 2008.

Anyway I arrived in the gym at 6:30 pm and left the gym at 9:15 pm.
Total time spent = 2 hours 45 mins

My workout routine for the day are as follows:

All in all, I think I have lost some significant strength without taking Creatine and from illness. Hopefully will regain my strength the coming weeks.

Cheers

This post has been edited by kianweic: Apr 15 2008, 10:35 PM
felixlhy
post Apr 16 2008, 12:13 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Apr 15 2008, 10:35 PM)
All in all, I think I have lost some significant strength without taking Creatine and from illness. Hopefully will regain my strength the coming weeks.

wow, nice weights lifted there despite just recovered from being sick. remind me to never spar with you icon_rolleyes.gif
TSkianweic
post Apr 16 2008, 08:43 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(felixlhy @ Apr 16 2008, 12:13 AM)
wow, nice weights lifted there despite just recovered from being sick. remind me to never spar with you icon_rolleyes.gif
I think I have lost almost 10% or more of my strength, argh......

Hopefully I will recover by next week or maybe early next month.

Currently I am only concerntrating on the fat loss so that I can look a lot more defined and lean.

Frankly I think I am just getting too old in lifting heavy these days, those youngsters sure get strong fast.....hahaha

Cheers,

Ken
arthur88
post Apr 16 2008, 11:26 AM

1,070 posts

how old are you actually?
is not suitable for u to do gym to lose weight, because it wont make u lose weight, just make ur muscle stronger.
i've tried to lose weight before by going to gym, doing sit-up, pumping(tekan tubi), lifting weight. but i din get weight loss, instead my weight remain and i cant get taller.
iw as doing gyn since i was 14 yrs old. from that time, my height remain short till now.
TSkianweic
post Apr 16 2008, 11:51 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Apr 16 2008, 11:26 AM)
how old are you actually?
is not suitable for u to do gym to lose weight, because it wont make u lose weight, just make ur muscle stronger.
i've tried to lose weight before by going to gym, doing sit-up, pumping(tekan tubi), lifting weight. but i din get weight loss, instead my weight remain and i cant get taller.
iw as doing gyn since i was 14 yrs old. from that time, my height remain short till now.
Hi Arthur88,

The thought that weights training stuns growth part is really difficult to say. I've asked a lot of medical students from university the last time, height is very much determined by genetics, almost never by exercises.

Anyway I am like 25 years old and becoming 26 this year, I doubt I will ever grow taller anymore.

I started going to gym very often when I was 20 years old during my first year of university. I've stop like for 3 months when I was back in Malaysia earlier last year. Thus, I have been going to gym since last year May.

My main goal now is to lose as much fat as possible. I may considered increasing in strength but more focus on the earlier goal as stated.

PS. Almost every Australian I know goes to gym and weight trains at least one period of their life and most of the time below 16 years old. Almost none of them are as short as me.

Cheers,

Ken

TSkianweic
post Apr 18 2008, 11:08 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work day (Non-Gym) session 17/04/2008
Today I did not go to gym as per indicated in the title, instead I was carrying the financial statements everywhere which more or less weight about 4-6kg for like 30 minutes.

Again after work, I pack the folder from the steel cabinets into the boxes, most folders weight from 2-3kg and there was six boxes full of it. Took me a good 45 mins to do take it out from the steel cabinets and arranged it in the six boxes. I reckon is more of a cardiovascular exercises as the folder was not heavy per se.

Anyway here are the stats:

This photo was taken from the 2 bedroom unit in Ritz Carlton Hotel, each bedroom have a plasma tv (oh yeah) , total cost = USD150 per night (luckily not I pay)

*PS You can't see me, oh yeah......hahaha

This post has been edited by kianweic: Apr 18 2008, 11:08 PM
TSkianweic
post Apr 18 2008, 11:25 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day (Recovery 2) Gym Session 18/04/2008

Today I got into the gym at 6:30 pm, I met up with the usual friend of mine, Brian and to my surprise I met Nick as well from Lowyat Net forums (In case you are wondering, he is doing fine albeit being more busy from work though) . It seems like not long ago I just started coming to Manulife Fitness First, and the week after next will be my last week in Manulife Fitness First. I am kinda sad though. When I switch to another gym, I always left some people behind but that's life. I got of from gym at exactly 9:15 pm, total time spent in gym = 2 hours 45 mins.

*Please note that I did not perform squats at all today as I was feeling too tired.

Anyway my workout routine as follows:

I think I did pretty alright for a very tired person who moved lotsa stuff yesterday and just recovered from flu. I understand not doing squat is probably a bad idea but don't worry, I will be doing that exercise again soon enough.

Neek
post Apr 18 2008, 11:25 PM

Stop imagining whats supposed to be here.
1,593 posts

Din go gym? then i saw a ghost in FF? and who's towel is that which i pinjam? blink.gif shocking.gif
TSkianweic
post Apr 18 2008, 11:28 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Neek @ Apr 18 2008, 11:25 PM)
Din go gym? then i saw a ghost in FF? and who's towel is that which i pinjam?  blink.gif  shocking.gif
Neek,

Hehe, yes you saw my twin evil brother haha....

Anyway, the explanation as follows:

The (Non-gym) session was for Thursday (ie. 17/04/2008)

Whereas the (Recovery 2) gym session was today (ie. 18/04/2008, Friday)

*PS Please update your workout log, I like to click on the spoiler, I have incorporated that to mine as well, forum piracy. LOL...

Cheers,

Ken
TSkianweic
post Apr 21 2008, 09:44 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work day (Non-Gym) session 21/04/2008

Today I have to carry financial statements from the government office again. Fortunately, it was not that heavy. I had to stay back at work till 9 pm to pack my stuff, which is further more financial statements and folders that weight quite a bit between 2-3 kg.

Anyway, here are the stats:

Hopefully, tomorrow I will be able to hit the gym. Frankly moving boxes and financial statements is quite tiring, can't wait till we moved to the new place because I would be able to concentrate in the gym for good, I hope.

Below is a photo of the blood donation in Taman Megah Temple on Sunday 20/04/2008

This post has been edited by kianweic: Apr 21 2008, 09:55 PM
TSkianweic
post Apr 24 2008, 10:46 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day (Stressed Out) Gym Session 24/04/2008

Today I was quite stressed from work, too much stuff to do and yet so little time. Anyway I got into the gym about 6:30 pm and got off at 9:00 pm. Total time spent in gym = 2 hours 30 mins.

I believe that being stress from work has affected my ability to lift today significantly.

Anyway today's workout routines as follows:

All in all, a pretty crappy work out. I believe that there were just too many pretty girls in the gym again which might have provided too much distraction in lifting. The amount of pretty girls in the Manulife Fitness First gym is increasing in a very alarming rate......

Conclusion, gym training is a great lifestyle option. Hoorah......

This post has been edited by kianweic: Apr 27 2008, 09:34 AM
TSkianweic
post Apr 27 2008, 09:35 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day (Non-Gym) Session 25/04/2008

After work today, I had to rearrange and carry about 40++ heavy boxes around the room. I started doing this at 5:30 pm and finished the entire ordeal by 7:30 pm. I did not feel exhausted or tired after this ordeal until the very next day.

On Saturday my whole body was aching mainly from my legs and my back. Maybe it's the sign of I am getting too old for this.

The stats are as follows:

Anyway there will be more moving on Monday as the whole company will be relocating to OneWorld Hotel (within 1Utama area). I will be coordinating the move from 9:00 am and hopefully not to 10:00pm.

Thanks for reading. Cheers

Below is a photo of some Vodka and soft drinks to mix with. I had this in Bamboo Pub, located in TTDI on February 2008
pizzaboy
post Apr 27 2008, 11:45 AM

9,495 posts

hey ken, why don't you do what I do.
If I need a total body workout, I push cars....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dnCGQIPHw8c

It gives your whole body a nice burn. Try it. Hits the quads, the lats, shoulders everything real nice. Pull and push the car.
TSkianweic
post Apr 27 2008, 12:00 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Apr 27 2008, 11:45 AM)
hey ken, why don't you do what I do.
If I need a total body workout, I push cars....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dnCGQIPHw8c (that seems quite fun)

It gives your whole body a nice burn. Try it. Hits the quads, the lats, shoulders everything real nice. Pull and push the car.
Thanks Pizzaboy,

Funny thing that day when I tried to change my friend's tyre (Perodua Kenarii) => Not sure whether the spelling correct or not.

I think I almost break the handbrake, the car was moving forward......Hmmm, am I that strong.....

Anyway I didn't think that was the right way to change the tyre, managed to change it in the end.

Oh well going out to get Lipo6 finally.

Cheers,

Ken

This post has been edited by kianweic: Apr 27 2008, 12:01 PM
TSkianweic
post May 1 2008, 03:25 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

My Birthday Gym Session 01/05/2008

After a birthday bash last night at Old Town Coffee Shop in Kelana Jaya till like 1 am, I was able to wake up at 8:00 am today. I would like to sincerely thank my friends for throwing me this party. However, I had to go to gym today irregardless due to the fact the last time I was in gym was actually last Thursday.

I got into the Damansara Uptown Gym 11:30 pm and finished the entire session by 1:50 pm. Total time spent in gym = 2 hours and 20 mins.

My exercises routine as follows:

All in all, I think I did pretty ok, I would definitely considered going to gym either tomorrow or on Saturday.

Cheers

TSkianweic
post May 2 2008, 11:42 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Post Birthday Light Cardio Session 02/05/2008

I had lots of surprises yesterday from friends and family, I currently have like 3 cakes at home, the cakes are a cheese cake, a chocolate cake and a pandan cake. I will take photos of these cakes soon enough and post them over here as well. I would like to sincerely thank those who make my birthday a special this year.

Today, I woke up early this morning about 10 am, I slept at 1 am therefore I had like 9 hours sleep....I believe that I totally had enough sleep. Anyway, I walked my dog at 10:30 am to 11:00 am usually on Sunday but since my dad was just recovering from surgery therefore he was unable to walk Little Foot.

The stats for the following light cardio session is as follows:

Below are photos of Tom Yum noodle and Nasi Lemak Special from Old Town White Coffee Shop, Kelana Jaya (near the new Giant)

Tom Yum Noodles

Nasi Lemak Special
Neek
post May 3 2008, 12:59 PM

Stop imagining whats supposed to be here.
1,593 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Apr 24 2008, 10:46 PM)
Work Day (Stressed Out) Gym Session 24/04/2008

All in all, a pretty crappy work out. I believe that there were just too many pretty girls in the gym again which might have provided too much distraction in lifting. The amount of pretty girls in the Manulife Fitness First gym is increasing in a very alarming rate......

Conclusion, gym training is a great lifestyle option. Hoorah......
what pretty girls? i hardly see any -.-"
so far only saw ONE REALLY HOT ONE!!! and that one also saw her once only. damnit!
TSkianweic
post May 3 2008, 02:00 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Neek @ May 3 2008, 12:59 PM)
what pretty girls? i hardly see any -.-"
so far only saw ONE REALLY HOT ONE!!! and that one also saw her once only. damnit!
Really? Only one?

I saw like a lot man, I think my eyes are going to be bad from looking at too many pretty girls and ladies.

I was just getting to know a few last few weeks, today was my last day in Manulife Fitness First for Work Day Gym Session.

Rushing from moving boxes, furniture and stuff from work to gym, came back not long, going out again at 4:00 pm.

Next Monday, I will be in OneWorld Hotel just below IBM floors. Easy to watch movies after work.

I will update my workout journal soon enough.

Very tiring at the moment.

Cheers,

Ken
TSkianweic
post May 3 2008, 04:19 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day (Final, Short) Gym Session 03/05/2008

Today was the final day at my old office, I arrived at the old office at 9:00 am to move and to coordinate the moving of the remaining boxes and furnitures. This ordeal started from 9:15 am to 11:15 am. I spent 2 hours moving boxes ranging from 20kg to 30kg and furniture ranging from 10kg to 30kg as well.

The stats for the move are as follows:

Soon after the move at circa 11:30 am, I walked to the Manulife Fitness First gym for the last time. I handed a thank you letter to Sim (Manager) for his help in many of my exercises. I did my final and shorter version of gym with only one 30 mins cardiovascular exercise. I got out of gym at about 1:30 pm, total time spent in gym = 2 hours

My exercises routine as follows:

Anyway, the gym was quite empty but less so compared to 1st May in Uptown's Fitness First. I still wonder about how many calories I managed to burn during the move. At least, I was able to do 2 gym sessions this week irregardless. It is time for me to relax, I probably go watch some movies and shows to tune off.

Cheers

This post has been edited by kianweic: May 3 2008, 04:20 PM
TSkianweic
post May 4 2008, 05:29 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Supplements Entry 2008

I have been taking supplements since late February 2008 just after Chinese New Year. I believe that these supplements are natural and have been recommended by many people to me.

I should have taken photos and uploaded it but I was too lazy and the digital camera I have was really old and crappy. (3.2 megapixels that runs on 2x AA batteries)

Supplements that I have taken and still currently taking are as follows:

Cheers

This post has been edited by kianweic: May 4 2008, 05:31 PM
yeeck
post May 5 2008, 03:32 PM

3,572 posts

Your supps are about the same as mine, except that currently I'm substituting whey with ON Egg Protein and no creatine. 2 capsules of Lipo6 for pre-workout and 2 capsules of Kordel's Wild Salmon Fish Oil 1000mg daily.
TSkianweic
post May 5 2008, 04:10 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ May 5 2008, 03:32 PM)
Your supps are about the same as mine, except that currently I'm substituting whey with ON Egg Protein and no creatine. 2 capsules of Lipo6 for pre-workout and 2 capsules of Kordel's Wild Salmon Fish Oil 1000mg daily.
Yeeck,

Good stuff, mate. How does the egg protein taste like? Is it more expensive?

Thanks to the long distance between the carpark and my office. It takes like a 15-20 minutes walk (one way) from 1Utama (Giant and Aerotrain area) to OneWorld Hotel and finally my office. Everyday, I typically have 2x 15-20 minutes of light cardiovascular sessions. Thankfully parking is only RM20 per month, yeah can save lotsa money compared to before.

This probrably implicates that I can update my workout journal on a daily basis. I probably just do 30 minutes very intense cardiovascular session per gym session instead of the usual 1 hour cardiovascular session.

Cheers
yeeck
post May 5 2008, 05:54 PM

3,572 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ May 5 2008, 04:10 PM)
Yeeck,

Good stuff, mate. How does the egg protein taste like? Is it more expensive?

Thanks to the long distance between the carpark and my office. It takes like a 15-20 minutes walk (one way) from 1Utama (Giant and Aerotrain area) to OneWorld Hotel and finally my office. Everyday, I typically have 2x 15-20 minutes of light cardiovascular sessions. Thankfully parking is only RM20 per month, yeah can save lotsa money compared to before.

This probrably implicates that I can update my workout journal on a daily basis. I probably just do 30 minutes very intense cardiovascular session per gym session instead of the usual 1 hour cardiovascular session.

Cheers
Egg protein is more expensive on a per pound comparison basis. RM140 for only 2lbs. As for taste....I'd rather have whey protein anytime..I think it is causing my fart to be extra deadly blush.gif
TSkianweic
post May 5 2008, 07:39 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ May 5 2008, 05:54 PM)
Egg protein is more expensive on a per pound comparison basis. RM140 for only 2lbs. As for taste....I'd rather have whey protein anytime..I think it is causing my fart to be extra deadly  blush.gif
I see.

I already farts a lot eating whey protein supplements. I think with egg protein as supplement, I probably fart even more. When I eat certain types of eggs like half boiled egg, my mouth will stink big time.

What kinda of fart? Silent killer type or the blow horn type?

As the Chinese saying:

Noisy fart not smelly and silent fart very smelly. (in Mandarin)

I am very tired from work, seems to be more physical labour than usual.

Will update my work out journal soon enough.

Cheers

TSkianweic
post May 5 2008, 08:51 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day Non-Gym Session 05/05/2008

Today is the first day I stepped into the new office in OneWorld Hotel area. It took me like 17 mins from the carpark in the new wing of 1Utama. Fortunately, today was also casual wear day which makes it one of the rare occasions where professionals are able to wear T-shirts and jeans. (Believe me, this rarely or ever happens) Given that, I did not have enough sleep the night before about 5 hours or less, I was having a farewell for Jeff (with some amount of alcohol) who will be heading to Dubai for work.

When arrived in the office, there were many sealed boxes that was moved last Monday as well as last Saturday. There was a lot of carrying boxes, unpacking, arranging and so on. This lasted from 8:30 am all the way to 4:00 pm. We had an hour lunch break as usual from 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm.

I reckon that this amount of exercises sort of mirrored my usual gym sessions or probably more.

Here are the stats:

I won't be heading to the gym tomorrow as I am really tired. I think Wednesday seems to be a plausible option. For now it's time for me to retire to my nice and cool bed.

My Kingston thumbdrive which I bought earlier this year to store photos

Cheers

TSkianweic
post May 9 2008, 10:22 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Work Day (First) Gym Session 09/05/2008
First of all, I would like to record some of the light cardiovascular sessions that I do almost every morning since the first day my company has moved to OneWorld Hotel. With the exception of Wednesday that is 07/05/2008, whereby I was sick from a terrible stomachache (due to excess wind in the stomach).

The stats for the light cardiovascular exercises for each morning are as follows:

Today, that is Friday, I finally had the chance hit the gym for the first time I have moved to the new office. I arrived at Damansara Uptown Fitness First Gym at 6:30 pm and got off about 9:00pm, total time spent in the gym = 2 hours 30 mins

My workout routines are as follows:

All in all, a decent workout for the entire week. I must push for another session of gym this weekend no matter what. I would like to comment that Damansara Uptown Fitness First Gym may not have the best equipments but there aren't many people who does free weights or fixed weights for that matter. Therefore, I had almost the entire free weights area for myself.

However, I still do miss the Manulife Fitness First where I have met many friends (from staff and regular gym goers) during my one year tenure over there. I may return once in awhile on the weekend though.

pizzaboy
post May 10 2008, 04:04 AM

9,495 posts

Why don't you switch the position of your squats and rows?
Do squats first, then the rows, because you sure don't wanna exhaust your lower back before squatting.

Pendlay rows I feel can come later, because it is deloaded at each rep, so there isn't as much strain on the lower back. You're squatting 10 reps of 4 sets for squats, might not wanna risk straining your lower back.
TSkianweic
post May 10 2008, 09:12 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ May 10 2008, 04:04 AM)
Why don't you switch the position of your squats and rows?
Do squats first, then the rows, because you sure don't wanna exhaust your lower back before squatting.

Pendlay rows I feel can come later, because it is deloaded at each rep, so there isn't as much strain on the lower back. You're squatting 10 reps of 4 sets for squats, might not wanna risk straining your lower back.
Pizzaboy,

Yeah I felt the same too. I usually tried to push all the compound exercises as the very first exercises eg. Benchpress and Squats. Seldom do deadlifts, hate setting up the bar. I always wanted to switch back to splits but seriously don't have time thanks to working late now with 30-40 mins walk tru and from office to carpark......argh....

I think you better go for Curve Fitness First, Damansara Uptown Fitness First free weights area is very small also there is no rubber mat on the floor. It is like plastic or wooden.

However, there is only one PT around or at least I could see. Therefore, almost nobody will interrupt your training. In addition, the volume is so low (in terms of people using the gym) usually you'll have like the whole free weights area for yourself and maybe one or two people.

Cheers

Ken
TSkianweic
post May 10 2008, 06:59 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Weekend (Light Cardio Session) 10/05/2008

Late evening today, I walked my dog in the playground. There seems to be a lot on mine in regards to my fitness level, work and friends. My fitness level have been going up and down (the down is really getting to me). My job is getting complicated by the day as I was handling quite a number of clients. A few of my good friends have migrated to Dubai and most likely won't come back to Malaysia for good. I have left the Manulife Fitness First gym and find it difficult to keep in touch with my old gym buddies as well.

I believe I need sometime to clear my mind therefore I am going to walked my dog more often.

Anyway the stats for my light cardiovascular session for the day as follows:

**Please note that tomorrow is Mother's Day, don't forget to wish someone that alright?

Below is a photo of my recently purchased air filter:

This post has been edited by kianweic: May 10 2008, 06:59 PM

0.0517sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:21 AM