49 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

Bike Gear Talk, ATGATT? gloves, boots, pants etc.

mADmAN
post Jan 27 2024, 04:16 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(bo093 @ Jan 26 2024, 09:58 AM)
Is BENKIA is a decent brand?

Any suggestion is welcome.
Benkia is a china brand iinm... they do copy other brands...so....

mentioning ur total budget (exact numbers) for helmet n whatever other gear u need could help people give suggestions.
007SMH
post Jan 27 2024, 11:31 PM

49 posts

I just bought a bike and now i need to gear up myself.
Trying to buy all the needed gear is expensive. So better ask to make my money worth.

Helmet - KYT TT
Is there any better contender for this price point?

Might buy from Serdang Motorcycle.

My first jacket is Benkia , their fabric still strong after 4 years only replace their internal paddings. Right now I have 1 komine , 1 benkia jacket.
SupermanLick
post Jan 28 2024, 09:03 AM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,455 posts

I need airbag protection, fully gear up .Full throttle 7:30AM along the Jalan Bangsar
basilisk
post Jan 28 2024, 10:02 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Jan 28 2024, 09:03 AM)
I need airbag protection, fully gear up .Full throttle 7:30AM along the Jalan Bangsar
just go buy la, cheap got , expensive oso got.
TanJy1814
post Jan 28 2024, 11:59 PM

24 posts

Trying to buy all the needed gear is expensive. So better ask to make my money worth.

Helmet - KYT TT

Other than KYT TT, you may look at Shark Ridill. Can get it as low as 350.
4 star Sharp rating.

For riding jacket, I just got 1 mesh jacket from Hodaka Motoworld at RM400.
Chest, elbow, shoulder, back protector all included.
Komine, ches
bo093
post Jan 29 2024, 07:18 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Jan 26 2024, 11:13 AM)
i am using KYT TT helmet and
BENKIA mesh jacket buy from Serdang Motorcycle Shopee
Any inputs?

QUOTE(Patent @ Jan 26 2024, 12:32 PM)
Benkia isn't bad if you are on a budget, I'm using one of their pants and the padding on the knees feel not good enough. Maybe its just a matter of replacing the padding with better ones.
IMO, its better to spend a bit more money finding gear with proper CE rating
That's all I need to know.

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 27 2024, 09:04 AM)
Benkia is decent, although most of the gear isn't properly certified and some of the componentry like zippers are not as high quality. Just go to serdang, test the sizes, then order from serdang shopee store when they have promo vouchers. Can save quite a bit there.

I have a benkia rain set and has worked exceptionally well past 2 years.

If budget is an issue (as with many starting riders) just get what you can afford. Better to have cheap gear than nothing, and then upgrade later when budget is healthier.

I have no comments on KYT helmets. Maybe look at Zeus from GBS and see the equivalent. If you are an all weather rider and commuter, I think better to spend a little more for a helmet with pin lock.
Budget is an issue, just that with motowolf, rockbiker, star field, benkia and etc.
Are they all the same or is there one better than the other? Might as well ask around.

Helmet wise I'm lock into KYT TT and getting pin lock as well.

QUOTE(007SMH @ Jan 27 2024, 11:31 PM)
My first jacket is Benkia , their fabric still strong after 4 years only replace their internal paddings. Right now I have 1 komine , 1 benkia jacket.
Thanks for the input.

QUOTE(TanJy1814 @ Jan 28 2024, 11:59 PM)
Other than KYT TT, you may look at Shark Ridill. Can get it as low as 350.
4 star Sharp rating.

For riding jacket, I just got 1 mesh jacket from Hodaka Motoworld at RM400.
Chest, elbow, shoulder, back protector all included.
Komine, ches
Will look into Shark Ridill.
lsm1991
post Jan 29 2024, 09:38 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(bo093 @ Jan 29 2024, 07:18 AM)
Any inputs?
Budget is an issue, just that with motowolf, rockbiker, star field, benkia and etc.
Are they all the same or is there one better than the other? Might as well ask around.

Thanks for the input.
another helmet thats comparable, hjc c10, similar featureset, less colorful. if u like colors, then another option is bilmola.
alexei
post Jan 29 2024, 09:51 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Helmet - KYT TT

welcome

helmet - fit is most important, make sure to test them up to half an hour to make sure it doesn't give you headache due to pressure points, and you like how it feels inside

noise control is important, learn to use earplugs - there is not fix for tinnitus

in terms of importance:
helmet + earplugs + gloves + boots
lower body protection (pants, knee shin hip protection)
jacket (shoulder, elbow, back)
jaycee1
post Jan 29 2024, 11:50 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 29 2024, 09:51 AM)
welcome

helmet - fit is most important, make sure to test them up to half an hour to make sure it doesn't give you headache due to pressure points, and you like how it feels inside

noise control is important, learn to use earplugs - there is not fix for tinnitus

in terms of importance:
helmet + earplugs + gloves + boots
lower body protection (pants, knee shin hip protection)
jacket (shoulder, elbow, back)
New riders, take note above.

This can't be stressed enough.

Also to note. New helmets should be unusually tight. As long as the new helmet doesn't cause pain or discomfort from hotspots/pressure point, which are usually due to the helmet shape not fitting your head, all the pads should be tight.

Many newer riders end up with helmets 1 size too large. Then realise the helmet is too loose after a few weeks of use.
TSJason
post Jan 29 2024, 12:48 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jan 29 2024, 09:38 AM)
another helmet thats comparable, hjc c10, similar featureset, less colorful. if u like colors, then another option is bilmola.
I think HJC C10 is a new generation of helmet with ECE 22.06 certification. RRP starts at RM5xx. Safety on par with Arai Quantic and Shoei NXR2 yo!
alexei
post Jan 29 2024, 12:55 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

HJC is forced to move away from the classic shell that's been around since AC-12 to go to C10, so with that, a new shell and new visor...

https://hjchelmets.us/pages/shield-type

lsm1991
post Jan 29 2024, 02:29 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jan 29 2024, 12:48 PM)
I think HJC C10 is a new generation of helmet with ECE 22.06 certification. RRP starts at RM5xx. Safety on par with Arai Quantic and Shoei NXR2 yo!
tried it that day, for the money cant complain. relatively modern, covers all the basics. best to go try the helmets ur interested in if ur in no rush to get it.
Vincent6596
post Jan 29 2024, 03:11 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(bo093 @ Jan 29 2024, 07:18 AM)
Any inputs?

Thanks for the input.
so far so good on my KYT TT helmet, tested with long hour wearing does not cause me any pain for my head, just that the helmet is lack of some air flow only.

for the jacket is very good for me and suite my budget need due to it is mesh jacket, so will not feel very hot after long hour wearing.
SUSskyblu3
post Jan 29 2024, 03:51 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 29 2024, 11:50 AM)
New riders, take note above.

This can't be stressed enough.

Also to note. New helmets should be unusually tight. As long as the new helmet doesn't cause pain or discomfort from hotspots/pressure point, which are usually due to the helmet shape not fitting your head, all the pads should be tight.

Many newer riders end up with helmets 1 size too large. Then realise the helmet is too loose after a few weeks of use.
and to new riders
remember to ATGATT.
Patent
post Feb 1 2024, 02:11 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

So I just had an accident this morning because of my own stupidity..
Trying to 'layan corner' at an unfamiliar road, ended up overshooting and slide into the grass sweat.gif

https://maps.app.goo.gl/CDj2UZsuSffiKYyj8

Looks like that corner has claimed a plenty of victim..

Thank God that all I had was minor bruises and bike was working fine even with small dent here and there.
A lot of passerby was offering help too.. I'm really moved by that gesture tbh
Still manage to ride it back home in 1 hour.

Reminder to all (and myself) to never EVER forget your gear.. and ride safely. I would've ended up losing some of my skins if not for these protection.

Some scratches and dent on the bike and helmet

Minor injury on my right hand and right hip

Jacket and pants aftermath. Surprisingly gloves are fine
You know that I said Benkia padding feels insufficient? I take that back it did help me laugh.gif

Sekian

jaycee1
post Feb 1 2024, 02:26 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Feb 1 2024, 02:11 PM)
Trying to 'layan corner' at an unfamiliar road, ended up overshooting and slide into the grass sweat.gif

Thank God that all I had was minor bruises and bike was working fine even with small dent here and there.

Reminder to all (and myself) to never EVER forget your gear.. and ride safely. I would've ended up losing some of my skins if not for these protection.

You know that I said Benkia padding feels insufficient? I take that back it did help me  laugh.gif

Sekian
Wow. Sorry to hear your crash.

But good to know your gear saved some skin. Bike looks like it took the crash remarkably well.
mADmAN
post Feb 1 2024, 02:27 PM

10,530 posts

Shit.... thankfully ur alright man
SUSskyblu3
post Feb 2 2024, 07:50 AM

157 posts

Glad that you were all geared up

Whenever i get teased because I'm ATGATT,
I always say that it's better to sweat than to bleed (or broken bones).

Get well soon.

This post has been edited by skyblu3: Feb 2 2024, 10:25 AM
lowpro
post Feb 2 2024, 08:58 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Feb 2 2024, 07:50 AM)
Glad that you were all geared up

Whenever  i get teased because I'm ATGATT,
I always say that it's better to sweat that to bleed (or broken bones). 
Get well soon.
Agreed on this! "better to sweat that to bleed"
Vincent6596
post Feb 2 2024, 11:02 AM

472 posts

You know that I said Benkia padding feels insufficient? I take that back it did help me  laugh.gif

Sekian
Wow. Sorry to hear your crash.

But good to know your gear saved some skin. Bike looks like it took the crash remarkably well.

49 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:36 AM