87 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

[V33] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

horns
post Jan 13 2023, 11:04 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Jan 13 2023, 09:26 PM)
do you guys maintain the keyboard like cleaning etc? Should i use vacuum lol.. my old wireless keyboard i used like 2 year then when i vacuum, the dust its incredible... but for mkb i not sure if should i use the same clean method.
yes, it's for hygenic purposes. vacuum cleaners are not recommended, because it can create static discharge buildup that harms electronic compnents.

usually i do a full teardown of a board, bring it outside, and brush the dust off. for key caps, i soak and wash them with warm water + dish washing liquid in ultrasonic cleaner. (this is because i have the machine)

QUOTE(mickey1007 @ Jan 13 2023, 09:53 PM)
Hi all,

First time interested in getting a low profile mech keyboard. Would like to try out custom build if have for low profile type. I've been aiming on redragon k618 horus, keychron k5. Any recommendation for first time users to own a mech keyboard for low profile. I do understand that there are not many low profile keyboards around and also for custom build. Thx all sifus for the help
you can take a look at keychron's options. there are few with gateron low-profile switch hotswapping support.

you're right, as of now, options that use low-profile switches are limited. the main problem is that, due to the general lack of standardizations, each brand makes low-profile switches according to own specifications, hence they are incompatible to each other. in short, it's a mess, compared to the ecosystem of mx style switches.
eddie2020
post Jan 14 2023, 01:50 AM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jan 13 2023, 11:04 PM)
yes, it's for hygenic purposes. vacuum cleaners are not recommended, because it can create static discharge buildup that harms electronic compnents.

usually i do a full teardown of a board, bring it outside, and brush the dust off. for key caps, i soak and wash them with warm water + dish washing liquid in ultrasonic cleaner. (this is because i have the machine)
you can take a look at keychron's options. there are few with gateron low-profile switch hotswapping support.

you're right, as of now, options that use low-profile switches are limited. the main problem is that, due to the general lack of standardizations, each brand makes low-profile switches according to own specifications, hence they are incompatible to each other. in short, it's a mess, compared to the ecosystem of mx style switches.
Mean you dismantle all the key caps and also the switch? How long you did once? My switch location I feel very near to wall, have trouble dismantle it..
horns
post Jan 14 2023, 11:17 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Jan 14 2023, 01:50 AM)
Mean you dismantle all the key caps and also the switch? How long you did once? My switch location I feel very near to wall, have trouble dismantle it..
my boards are mainly soldered builds, so i just take key caps off with a metal-wire keycap puller. i do cleanups when i think key caps are dirty. (usually it takes months to reach this stage)

also, when i replace key caps, i wash the old ones first, before putting them back into box.

these are just my usual habits. however, this might be the reason why i never experience key switch issues, like key chattering, on my custom builds.
eddie2020
post Jan 14 2023, 01:08 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jan 14 2023, 11:17 AM)
my boards are mainly soldered builds, so i just take key caps off with a metal-wire keycap puller. i do cleanups when i think key caps are dirty. (usually it takes months to reach this stage)

also, when i replace key caps, i wash the old ones first, before putting them back into box.

these are just my usual habits. however, this might be the reason why i never experience key switch issues, like key chattering, on my custom builds.
Then you might need to lub it again? As the cap lub maybe gone during the washing?

My keyboard normally only got dust.. Cause I don't eat and play with dirty finger.. From time to time I use damp cloth to wipe the surface

This post has been edited by eddie2020: Jan 14 2023, 01:09 PM
horns
post Jan 14 2023, 01:41 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Jan 14 2023, 01:08 PM)
Then you might need to lub it again? As the cap lub maybe gone during the washing?

My keyboard normally only got dust.. Cause I don't eat and play with dirty finger.. From time to time I use damp cloth to wipe the surface
uh? i wash key caps, and i don't lube them.

right, i don't eat in front of boards, or type with dirty fingers also.

edit:

i forgot i have this kabuki-cho set from pbtfans.

This post has been edited by horns: Jan 14 2023, 06:18 PM
niakulah
post Jan 14 2023, 06:43 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

I got tired of wiping my fingerprints off my acrylic surfaces. Did a partially successful experiment, bringing in my other hobby of leathercraft.

Cut out a layer of Buttero leather in green to go on top of the existing top layer.

This post has been edited by niakulah: Jan 14 2023, 06:43 PM
horns
post Jan 14 2023, 07:19 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jan 14 2023, 06:43 PM)
I got tired of wiping my fingerprints off my acrylic surfaces. Did a partially successful experiment, bringing in my other hobby of leathercraft.

Cut out a layer of Buttero leather in green to go on top of the existing top layer.

this is nice smile.gif

crafts by hand should be learned and preserved imo. traditionally, we have lost a lot of things in time.
krayden
post Jan 14 2023, 09:46 PM

578 posts

What alphas are those with the kat atlantis?
niakulah
post Jan 14 2023, 10:39 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Jan 14 2023, 09:46 PM)
What alphas are those with the kat atlantis?
Akko Blue on White ASA....and KAT Explosion spacebars. hahaha rojak but at least they are the same height. Both profiles copied the height of OEM profile.
krayden
post Jan 14 2023, 11:05 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jan 14 2023, 10:39 PM)
Akko Blue on White ASA....and KAT Explosion spacebars. hahaha rojak but at least they are the same height. Both profiles copied the height of OEM profile.
lol macam macam boleh rojak. i din know asa and kat same height.

Todays weird layout (for me)

This post has been edited by krayden: Jan 14 2023, 11:17 PM
niakulah
post Jan 15 2023, 06:33 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jan 14 2023, 06:43 PM)

Part 2
Made some mistakes. Have a good idea of what I should and shouldn't do. What thickness of leather I need. Time to shop!

Will be using this mismatched pair for now.
quarantined
post Jan 18 2023, 11:37 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Been using it for weeks and very satisfied. Like the sounds and feel, cheap too.

GMK67 + Leobog Graywood V3 + Apple XDA PBT keycaps copy

cruzzmz
post Jan 19 2023, 09:50 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

tempted to get this but seems it is a bottom screw keebs sweat.gif

niakulah
post Jan 21 2023, 03:36 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jan 15 2023, 06:33 PM)
Part 2
Made some mistakes. Have a good idea of what I should and shouldn't do. What thickness of leather I need. Time to shop!

Will be using this mismatched pair for now.
Part 3
Added some decorative hand stitching to my test piece. Yay or nay?

The single layer of 1mm leather is too thin to accommodate the stitches without warping the precise shape of the keyboard though. If I do stitch, I'll need to go thicker.
krayden
post Jan 21 2023, 04:46 PM

578 posts

Stiching looks good man
niakulah
post Jan 23 2023, 05:58 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Jan 21 2023, 04:46 PM)
Stiching looks good man
Thanks. Getting the stitching done without altering the dimensions is harder than expected.

Part 5. (Part 4 was a disaster and shall remain undocumented lol)
Better luck with cutting out the inside after stitching. But it still expanded to the sides and became slightly too big. Next will cut everything oversize and trim after stitching and punching holes.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
cruzzmz
post Jan 24 2023, 11:48 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

Here we go
One Plus Keyboard

more details and pics
Here

Keychron based .. so more or less will have same looks and feels but with a hint of OnePlus and see how much is it later

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: Jan 25 2023, 01:10 PM
josh5671
post Jan 28 2023, 03:26 PM

1,197 posts

Now home pc using tecware phantom rgb.
plan to custom/buy one good keyboard.

should i go all in direct keychron Q1 bare/prebuild
or just buy some budget kit and start from there.

PS: 0 experient on this.

*Edit*
Or there got recent and decent kit i should start with?
If got link or list for item/guide, lagi best.

This post has been edited by josh5671: Jan 28 2023, 03:29 PM
krayden
post Jan 28 2023, 05:59 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Jan 28 2023, 03:26 PM)
Now home pc using tecware phantom rgb.
plan to custom/buy one good keyboard.

should i go all in direct keychron Q1 bare/prebuild
or just buy some budget kit and start from there.

PS: 0 experient on this.
*Edit*
Or there got recent and decent kit i should start with?
If got link or list for item/guide, lagi best.
Assuming you are looking for a 75, wait for QK75 next run and get that then retire.
Alternatively, Zoom65 is presently on group buy at rebult keyboard.
Or Tiger Lite TKL or Tiger 80 TKL or Odin in stock (kbdfans)

If you find those too expensive then the Q1 is not a bad choice either.

josh5671
post Jan 28 2023, 06:45 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Jan 28 2023, 05:59 PM)
Assuming you are looking for a 75, wait for QK75 next run and get that then retire.
Alternatively, Zoom65 is presently on group buy at rebult keyboard.
Or Tiger Lite TKL or Tiger 80 TKL or Odin in stock (kbdfans)

If you find those too expensive then the Q1 is not a bad choice either.
yep. because i wanna try smaller keyboard but without throwing out the arrow key + F row (not sure how they called, whatever)
but if go standard TKL, lost the meaning of this build.

all kit you mention easy to get?. i don mind the kit mocked up 50~100 by local seller. just willing to easy get by local online platform.
I got few local platform barebone kit in mind, but surely they not that 'good' compare to Q1, because the price itself already killed all (i didnt touch the Q1 yet, so i dont know too)

Most i checked on shopee, i will list out the model here, incase others got good idea on these product.
Kit:-
-NJ80
-FL Esports MK750
-Lychee G80 Pro
-Next Time 75 (not alunimium version)
-Weikav WK810S
-Feker IK75 Pro

Switches:-
-Outemu Red (as what i using on my tecware)
-Leobog Graywood v3
-KTT Wine Red v2

Keycap:- (so far no idea on it, so i try go pink theme)

PS: yet going any MKB shop to test, since my location have none of these, hence go full online buy hit and run whatever this go perfect or bad. (so far i doubt it will go bad, just maybe not perfect)

This post has been edited by josh5671: Jan 28 2023, 06:46 PM

87 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0475sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:18 AM