[V33] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

niakulah
post Sep 16 2022, 04:14 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Aug 21 2022, 03:54 PM)
I also accidentally discovered an encoder hack in the Keyboard Atelier discord.
[attachmentid=11233412]

Beside the encoder is the detent ring. It has the gears that gives the encoder its errrrr.. detents. You just peel back the 4 tabs holding down the green plastic to the encoder body, peel off the green plastic (2 layers). Then you can remove the detent ring. There was also a green "cap" that keeps the detent ring in place and covers the bottom of the shaft. I put that back in before reassembling.

The experience is like going from a medium heavy tactile to a super light linear. It might be annoying to use with a cheap and light aluminium knob. But it should be a reversible mod so I'll give it a try first.
F me. Soldered the encoder in and it didn't work at all, even the press button.

Pandai2 only. I actually removed the encoder part and not the detent ring.

Here, found a video so hopefully anyone reading this, watch it first before doing and don't be bodoh like me ya.

niakulah
post Sep 17 2022, 09:01 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 16 2022, 07:37 PM)
there is no 'bodoh' in experimentations. we all do dumb things at times, and we need to do this to learn more haha
Thanks for the kind words. I successfully removed the ring and reassembled the encoder with the part I removed before. Soldered and confirmed working.

Another thing I got wrong is this mod is NOT reversible. Getting the ring out practically destroys it. You have a better chance of fixing a bent switch leaf than fixing the ring after removal.
niakulah
post Sep 18 2022, 09:41 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 17 2022, 06:20 PM)
most people are using it as is.
This is the part I cannot brain.

We agonize about what kind of switch to use, what spring weight, what lube, what lube method, film or no, what film etc etc.

Rotary encoder? Everyone use this. Ok la I use also. doh.gif
niakulah
post Sep 18 2022, 10:48 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

No soldering this weekend sad.gif Struggled to fix 2 stabs stubbornly ticking when tapping the keycap at a certain angle. Fixed 1 by changing the holee mode from the Teflon strip that came with the stabs to cloth tape, and by changing the wire. Although the wire looked absolutely fine and straight. Sigh...

And screwed up my PE foam layer fixing the stabs. Need to do another piece for each side.

Looking pretty. Assembled but only rotary encoder has been soldered in.
niakulah
post Sep 19 2022, 08:31 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 18 2022, 11:16 PM)
for those tiny ticking noises, it's better to check if the stabilizer housings are sitting flush. sometimes this is the cause of the noise also, especially at the areas that secure wires.

in my case, most of my recent builds are using plate-mount stabilizers from fl-cmmk, since i still have plates with plate-mount stabilizer support. so far, they are good enough with minimal tuning.
Thanks. I'm pretty sure they're flush but I'll double triple check that. Might be related but they both happen to be at the edge of the PCB so the screw holes are not full holes. Maybe I need to do something extra to secure them better.

niakulah
post Sep 19 2022, 09:07 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Sep 15 2022, 05:38 PM)
Noo.......
Rabbit hole
Will stick with xda/dsa
KAM I poison you some more

https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=114644.0;all

GB starting next month. I might be getting the spacebar kit myself for the lovely navy 1U spacebars that I can put in my macro column.
niakulah
post Sep 19 2022, 10:15 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 19 2022, 09:55 AM)
i use nylon washers, and pan-washer head screws mainly.
Had to google what that meant. C3 stabs come with normal pan head screws and some non-conductive washers of unknown material.
niakulah
post Sep 19 2022, 11:47 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Oct 12 2021, 05:47 PM)
All done! So nice to have a (mostly) matching set. Just wish that the NUM had per key LED for a complete match.

[attachmentid=11007872]
[attachmentid=11007873]
[attachmentid=11007874]
[attachmentid=11007875]
[attachmentid=11007876]
QUOTE(Lurker @ Sep 19 2022, 11:16 AM)
looks good for those 3D printed case too.
Personally I like countersunk screws with an aluminium washer. That way you can add some flair with different colours of anodized aluminium. I used blue in my boards above.
niakulah
post Sep 22 2022, 03:13 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Sep 22 2022, 03:04 PM)
Does anyone agree that thocky switches are as annoyingly loud as clicky blues .... in the office environment??
I feel attacked. Lol.

But seriously, my boss slamming on his Dell membrane keeb is equally as loud as my Boba U4Ts.
niakulah
post Sep 23 2022, 12:58 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

Finally done. First day at the office with new keeb.

niakulah
post Sep 24 2022, 09:16 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Sep 24 2022, 08:42 AM)
what switch are you using ???
Boba LT with Thick Thock DL 65g springs
niakulah
post Oct 7 2022, 05:08 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

Time to bring my baby home for the weekend.

Happy weekend everyone!

This post has been edited by niakulah: Oct 7 2022, 05:09 PM
niakulah
post Oct 7 2022, 11:38 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Oct 7 2022, 08:39 PM)
Fuiyoh.... Is that a pelican case?
Cheap clone. PBT dye sub. Owai
niakulah
post Oct 17 2022, 10:14 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Oct 16 2022, 10:18 PM)
Hello experts... I would like to ask where can I get Boba U4 62g (silent) at reasonable price?

My friend gave me 30 x U4 and oh man... It's really silent compared to the default Cherry MX Brown...

Looking to purchase to the rest to complete the setup...

Thank you!
https://www.gazzew.com/ would be the "official" place to look for distributors. I've bought from Pantheon twice with no problem. Aliexpress might be cheaper but be prepared to wait a month plus.

Oh and have a look at Bobagum too. It's their silent linear switch.
niakulah
post Oct 22 2022, 11:22 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Oct 22 2022, 08:45 PM)
Tempted to try this ... couldnt find any mx clear to do a franken
whistling.gif
I have one from a tester. I did try an ergo clear long ago. It was meh to me. Too light. A standard clear felt better.
niakulah
post Oct 25 2022, 12:39 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Oct 25 2022, 12:20 PM)
actually ergo is only swapping spring right ??
Yes. I don't remember the details but people were complaining browns were not tactile enough, clear is more tactile but too heavy. Swap a brown spring into a clear==ergo clears.

My preference is quite different than the majority though. I like to spring swap my browns with a heavier spring. Lol.
niakulah
post Oct 28 2022, 09:54 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve2 @ Oct 27 2022, 10:11 AM)
I am planning to get a split keyboard for programming? Any recommendation? ergodox-ez seems good but expensive. Thinking to get Sofle V2 Split Ergonomic Mechanical Keyboard.
Check out Keebio. I"m not a programmer but system/network admin. I daily drive a Keebio FoldKB at work. Previously using Keebio Sinc.
niakulah
post Oct 28 2022, 04:38 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve2 @ Oct 28 2022, 04:14 PM)
Where you buy?
Direct from keeb.io

Used a proxy(comgateway) for both kits since their shipping is kinda steep.
niakulah
post Dec 20 2022, 11:32 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

For better or for worse, I believe the hype of this whole hobby is on a downtrend.

A GMK set that was so hot a few years ago, Striker:
https://en.zfrontier.com/collections/invent...=44107364041019

Extras still available 12 days after they were released. This would have been unheard of last year.
niakulah
post Dec 30 2022, 10:38 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

Much too late...I finally found someone selling 1.5mm thick POM sheets.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/10050048880...38daHBEHmp&mp=1

I'm trying to stick with my current board and declare endgame...but I think I'll buy a few of these just in case... innocent.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0809sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:26 PM