Ask my anything about tires, I am a tire engineer
zeng
Feb 21 2024, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Feb 21 2024, 06:32 PM) Just swap my 2018 Myvi tyres to Conti UC7(need up 185 to 195), total RM1020. Suppose RM255 per donut but got free labor, alignment and new valve stem so I guess ok deal? Plus free backpack from Conti during CNY period which still awaiting to verify purchase and ship later. This price above is at Sg.Petani Kedah, while I also look up XM2+ which priced around RM295 so end up with the UC7 due to budget, hope my Conti choice is still good. And somehow no one shop I asked here have Yokohama in stock, was also aiming for the ES32... I've several pairs of XM2 lasting up to 115K km with 2.5mm or so of tyre tread left. Let us know if this RM255 conti can last you 99.4K km years later.
xyz_cityhunter
Feb 21 2024, 09:41 PM

QUOTE(zeng @ Feb 21 2024, 08:54 PM) I've several pairs of XM2 lasting up to 115K km with 2.5mm or so of tyre tread left. Let us know if this RM255 conti can last you 99.4K km years later. Will see how it goes, don't really travel a lot as my 4.5years old Myvi also still only travel below 30k KM total distance as of now... I changed the tyre (Original Goodyear tyre, Triple Max Assurance I believe) because the contact surface of the tyre is having some crack and dents, photo from online which looks similar but mine like having bigger patch of dents...
ben3003
Feb 21 2024, 10:07 PM
QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Feb 21 2024, 09:41 PM) Will see how it goes, don't really travel a lot as my 4.5years old Myvi also still only travel below 30k KM total distance as of now... I changed the tyre (Original Goodyear tyre, Triple Max Assurance I believe) because the contact surface of the tyre is having some crack and dents, photo from online which looks similar but mine like having bigger patch of dents...  tire good brand lousy brand normally after 5 years should be time to change drive or no drive, the rubber harden and thats y have all those crack dents bla bla, cos become like brittle. So if car no much drive, i think just slap on normal tire
xyz_cityhunter
Feb 21 2024, 10:22 PM

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 21 2024, 10:07 PM) tire good brand lousy brand normally after 5 years should be time to change drive or no drive, the rubber harden and thats y have all those crack dents bla bla, cos become like brittle. So if car no much drive, i think just slap on normal tire Haha, my mom's Kelisa was with tyres from 2015 but also just swap to new one lately, replaced with China brand Vittos tyre.
littlefire
Feb 22 2024, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Feb 21 2024, 04:27 PM) No budget, but doesn’t want overrated Michelin. Thanks for the recommendation. Any reason behind you’ve chosen CR1? This CR1 is made in Malaysia factory from Toyo To be exact Kamunting/Taiping, with this current bad economy state i would rather support local made products if want to go for budget range.
littlefire
Feb 22 2024, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Feb 21 2024, 10:41 PM) Will see how it goes, don't really travel a lot as my 4.5years old Myvi also still only travel below 30k KM total distance as of now... I changed the tyre (Original Goodyear tyre, Triple Max Assurance I believe) because the contact surface of the tyre is having some crack and dents, photo from online which looks similar but mine like having bigger patch of dents...  Bro, this is normal for all premium tires. Michelin, Yokohama, Bridgestone all also same coz of softer rubber compound. You gain better comfort, more silent and better braking performance with it. If go for those cheap lower range, their rubber compound usually is more harder thus the opposite of the above.
emilyngsc
Feb 22 2024, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(littlefire @ Feb 22 2024, 09:37 AM) This CR1 is made in Malaysia factory from Toyo To be exact Kamunting/Taiping, with this current bad economy state i would rather support local made products if want to go for budget range. Support Malaysia no problem, but recent weather is really terrible. If can save, I’m okay since Axia confirmed go for eco tyres.
littlefire
Feb 22 2024, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Feb 22 2024, 04:42 PM) Support Malaysia no problem, but recent weather is really terrible. If can save, I’m okay since Axia confirmed go for eco tyres. I used CR1 on my Kelisa & also my cousin Honda City is using it. No issues for normal drive in wet or dry, consider comfort & silent tires.
nghoongen
Feb 24 2024, 12:29 PM
Hi guys! My car is originally fitted with 255/40/20. Possible to replace them with 245/45/20?
filidon
Feb 24 2024, 06:17 PM

sifus, i plan to change my original Honda tyre UC 6 185/60/15 for a more silence tyre. Not looking for performance or excellent grip coz only city drive go work back home only. Any recommendation for a silent tyre, budget wise RM 300 +/- can do per piece
Acoen
Mar 2 2024, 12:07 PM

Hi, looking for Falken tyre azenis Fk510 suv. Asking around in KL was quoted the below price: 225/55r19 fk510 @569 fk520 @670
Can anyone recommend tyre shop in Klang selling Falken tyre that can get better price? Planning to change 4 pieces
amscouzach57
Mar 2 2024, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(Acoen @ Mar 2 2024, 12:07 PM) Hi, looking for Falken tyre azenis Fk510 suv. Asking around in KL was quoted the below price: 225/55r19 fk510 @569 fk520 @670 Can anyone recommend tyre shop in Klang selling Falken tyre that can get better price? Planning to change 4 pieces That is consider good price dy. Nowadays 19 inch FK520 would be around RM900 per piece
ayamxxx
Mar 2 2024, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(littlefire @ Feb 22 2024, 09:37 AM) This CR1 is made in Malaysia factory from Toyo To be exact Kamunting/Taiping, with this current bad economy state i would rather support local made products if want to go for budget range. installed CR1 SUV for x70 2 months ago from previous Conti UC6. I guess similar experience, noise. Both are not higher level of grip for Wet like those Michelin PS3 & PS4 (not fair btw). But best bang for money for sure. Target to use this CR1 max at 2 years
ayamxxx
Mar 2 2024, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(Acoen @ Mar 2 2024, 12:07 PM) Hi, looking for Falken tyre azenis Fk510 suv. Asking around in KL was quoted the below price: 225/55r19 fk510 @569 fk520 @670 Can anyone recommend tyre shop in Klang selling Falken tyre that can get better price? Planning to change 4 pieces just go, good price already. long time ago it was sold at much cheaper price vs PS4 Michelin and with similar performance. However, lack of supply make this Model more expansive than PS4 when Im looking for it. End up with PS4 due to price
ayamxxx
Mar 2 2024, 12:49 PM
any review for giti sport s2, the thread kinda looking a good design with very deep center groove
Acoen
Mar 2 2024, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Mar 2 2024, 02:26 PM) That is consider good price dy. Nowadays 19 inch FK520 would be around RM900 per piece QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Mar 2 2024, 02:45 PM) just go, good price already. long time ago it was sold at much cheaper price vs PS4 Michelin and with similar performance. However, lack of supply make this Model more expansive than PS4 when Im looking for it. End up with PS4 due to price Orite, thought can get cheaper in Klang, to pay for BKT meal hahaha
amscouzach57
Mar 2 2024, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(nghoongen @ Feb 24 2024, 12:29 PM) Hi guys! My car is originally fitted with 255/40/20. Possible to replace them with 245/45/20? Still within tolerance max 3%. Only slightly larger diameter at +2.5%. Can use the same rim
graphidz
Mar 2 2024, 11:43 PM
Got my Iriz recently an looking to upgrade my tyres. Torn between the Conti UC7 and Hankook VP4
From what I can find, the VP4 is the better in handling one while the UC7 is the comfort and quiet one. Not sure about handling in wet road though.
If price isn't a concern (available locally of course), which of these two is more confident for handling in the rain and with very good FC and mileage?
If anyone has other recommendation that trumps these two, I'm all ears. For reference, looking for 185/55/R16
ayamxxx
Mar 3 2024, 08:44 AM
QUOTE(graphidz @ Mar 2 2024, 11:43 PM) Got my Iriz recently an looking to upgrade my tyres. Torn between the Conti UC7 and Hankook VP4 From what I can find, the VP4 is the better in handling one while the UC7 is the comfort and quiet one. Not sure about handling in wet road though. If price isn't a concern (available locally of course), which of these two is more confident for handling in the rain and with very good FC and mileage? If anyone has other recommendation that trumps these two, I'm all ears. For reference, looking for 185/55/R16 if price is your priority, can get quotation from Oscar Bukit Kemuning. My experience with Conti is just meh, dry quiet, wet poor. Run it for 51k km on UC6 stock with the car, 1st week of getting the car, can ensure the tyre struggling in heavy rain. Not sure how much improvement for UC7 vs UC6, but for me I will not jump back to Conti.
nghoongen
Mar 6 2024, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Mar 2 2024, 10:29 PM) Still within tolerance max 3%. Only slightly larger diameter at +2.5%. Can use the same rim Thanks for the reply and advice Was pretty worried that it will hit the fender or etc