5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Ask my anything about tires, I am a tire engineer

ayamxxx
post Mar 2 2024, 12:43 PM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Feb 22 2024, 09:37 AM)
This CR1 is made in Malaysia factory from Toyo
To be exact Kamunting/Taiping, with this current bad economy state i would rather support local made products if want to go for budget range.
installed CR1 SUV for x70 2 months ago from previous Conti UC6. I guess similar experience, noise. Both are not higher level of grip for Wet like those Michelin PS3 & PS4 (not fair btw). But best bang for money for sure. Target to use this CR1 max at 2 years
ayamxxx
post Mar 2 2024, 12:45 PM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(Acoen @ Mar 2 2024, 12:07 PM)
Hi, looking for Falken tyre azenis Fk510 suv. Asking around in KL was quoted the below price:
225/55r19
fk510 @569
fk520 @670

Can anyone recommend tyre shop in Klang selling Falken tyre that can get better price? Planning to change 4 pieces
just go, good price already. long time ago it was sold at much cheaper price vs PS4 Michelin and with similar performance. However, lack of supply make this Model more expansive than PS4 when Im looking for it. End up with PS4 due to price
ayamxxx
post Mar 2 2024, 12:49 PM

4,037 posts

any review for giti sport s2, the thread kinda looking a good design with very deep center groove
ayamxxx
post Mar 3 2024, 08:44 AM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(graphidz @ Mar 2 2024, 11:43 PM)
Got my Iriz recently an looking to upgrade my tyres. Torn between the Conti UC7 and Hankook VP4

From what I can find, the VP4 is the better in handling one while the UC7 is the comfort and quiet one. Not sure about handling in wet road though.

If price isn't a concern (available locally of course), which of these two is more confident for handling in the rain and with very good FC and mileage?

If anyone has other recommendation that trumps these two, I'm all ears. For reference, looking for 185/55/R16
if price is your priority, can get quotation from Oscar Bukit Kemuning. My experience with Conti is just meh, dry quiet, wet poor. Run it for 51k km on UC6 stock with the car, 1st week of getting the car, can ensure the tyre struggling in heavy rain. Not sure how much improvement for UC7 vs UC6, but for me I will not jump back to Conti.
ayamxxx
post Mar 12 2024, 04:10 PM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Mar 12 2024, 03:29 PM)
If the price is for 18 inch tires, it is considerably a good deal

However, whether it is worth it or not, depends on the user.

There is a RM200 price difference per tire, as the total difference is RM800 for 4 pcs of tires.

It difference is too big to ignore the value that VP4 brings.

A much fair comparison should be between UC7 & Primacy 4, since the price is closer & performance wise should be closer as well.

Whether it is worth to fork out a bit extra over the extra performance of Primacy 4 over UC7 (comfort & competent braking performance even when worn)
Tbf Hankook tyre was known as best all rounder and best bang for money for sure. Michelin Primacy was suit for those who prefer quiet tyre, but how quiet not sure cz Im using PS series.

My car last time equipped with Conti UC6 from new, my review this tyre were just poor on wet, not confident enough to drive at heavy rain. Not sure how much improvement made towards UC7 but I dont expect massive improvement on wet grip for UC7 or Continental tyre in general. If have budget take Michelin or no harm to take Hankook series tyre
ayamxxx
post Mar 27 2024, 05:29 AM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(KB1 @ Mar 26 2024, 04:29 PM)
hi, guys, need some recommendations for tires

tire size is 225/55/18 SUV,  seek for 1) wet grip, 2)comfort ..if possible don't be too noisy ... ahha... thanks
if price is your preference, the Toyo CR1 SUV is ok. For its wet grip, it is better than the Continental UC6 Suv. Own experience on 225/55/19
ayamxxx
post Apr 4 2024, 12:01 PM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(blitzwind87 @ Apr 4 2024, 01:04 AM)
For 225 55 19 tyre for x70 isĀ  hankook vp4 suitable? Any other option for suggestion? Budget not more than 2.6k for 4 tyres
I changed cz got it FOC from members to Toyo Proxes CR1 Suv for x70 from Conti UC6. The impression, its similar in tire noise but has better traction in Wet vs UC6. But don't expect it to be grippy like the Michelin model.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Apr 5 2024, 08:38 AM
ayamxxx
post May 12 2024, 10:31 PM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(Stanzo @ May 12 2024, 08:09 PM)
Wanted to change tyres for my Passat 2017 Highline 2.0T,

235/18/45

What's the best all rounder tyres? Currently on Continental MC6
same size but for Accord. still continue back with PS4
ayamxxx
post May 16 2024, 09:21 AM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(LumiaFanboy @ May 15 2024, 12:55 AM)
Hi all sifu, can you advise if my tire is still good to go?
40k km
Toyo Proxes CR1

Also one of them got a metal piece pierced at ā€œlong Kangā€, been some time already so far tire pressure all good

still can go. Check if the tyre pressure retain or dropping, if it drop send tyre shop for tampal dalam at rm30-40. Can last long
ayamxxx
post Jun 4 2024, 06:11 PM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(lianpang @ Jun 3 2024, 05:33 PM)
Hi thx for your detailed and some technical sharing aspects there.

Perhaps you may try and get a pair of GY ATM2 and try it out  brows.gif

My personal experience changed on 2019, then shortly after was Covid19 . Rarely drive around during CV19 (2020/21/22) , and often keep my tyre air in check.
Used this tyre + -clocked about 40K km ish daily driven (from early 2023 to 2024 ) about 1year half.  ( usually short distances )

attached is my current tyre flower example as of may2024. *gonna chg tyre soon, most likey Michelin XM2+ for a peace of mind but was wondering how MaxGuard owners review and experiences will differ further . My hse have another Civic hybrid, the flower pattern tread mm is thicker and get more mileages.

kene like this before for 1-year-old car with low mileage tyre/ car. so send to tyre workshop to remove this big screw and proceed with internal paste for the tyre repair kit at rm40+ iinm. the tyre no issue hitting 3 years of overall usage.
ayamxxx
post Jun 10 2024, 10:32 AM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Jun 10 2024, 10:20 AM)
what would be real recommendation to do alignment? read thru many articles.. too many different answers biggrin.gif
send it per 10k km for rotation, balancing, and alignment at most rm60+ per all. This will prolong the tyre life by rotation practice, especially if u use Michelin tyre. For workshop/ tyre shop, I choose those with good google rating review
ayamxxx
post Jun 18 2024, 11:41 AM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jun 18 2024, 10:46 AM)
Is Michelin Primary SUV still the best tire for SUV? My tire is about 3 years old with 60k mileage but the "bunga" still nice and still looks okay..not sure need to tukar or not.
Kinda the best bang for comfort. If want performance aspect, take PS4 SUV. For SUV, my experience with Continental UC6, just poor, 8k km already botak at sides even done alignment rotation. Dry ok quiet but rain, heavy rain, this UC6 cant keep up for traction

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jun 18 2024, 11:42 AM
ayamxxx
post Jul 3 2024, 02:49 PM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jul 3 2024, 01:31 PM)
ended  with 225/45/18 front and 245/40/18 rear.All 4 MC7. ouch..... laugh.gif
honest review please, considering now raining season
ayamxxx
post Jul 4 2024, 03:06 PM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 4 2024, 09:24 AM)
MC7 from what i gathered information the traction is good, but side wall still a bit soft. Few people tested on tracks feedback the sidewall wordings mostly gone after few rounds of hard driving.
The main question, is it good as Michelin PS4/PS5, or indeed better? Cz of the price, nowadays the PS5 price drop so much that end up similar to MC7/UC7 which both are new product. From past experiences using PS3 and PS4, I can vouch both are excel on Wet, heavy rain
ayamxxx
post Jul 4 2024, 04:18 PM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 4 2024, 03:35 PM)
If you ask me, base on today OTR performance tyre i will go for PS4. PS4 is more performance oriented and even better than PS5 itself and it is under UUHP or Max Performance tire category (Which is even higher 1 level compare to MC7 UHP)

The real contender from Continental is the Sport Contact 7 not MC7 against Michelin PS4.
localize product only for our SEA region? If it good, why not sell the design to use abroad like other well known Continental Product, as what model u mentioned.
ayamxxx
post Jul 5 2024, 11:51 AM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 5 2024, 11:31 AM)
plenty of china reviews on mc7... have to do search in chinese...

haven't found comprehensive comparative tests yet... but should be available soon if history repeats...
if u watch youtube review, then that is a biases review, cz they got free donut by Continental Malaysia for most YouTubers.
ayamxxx
post Jul 6 2024, 02:47 AM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Jul 5 2024, 02:58 PM)
Learned the hard way regarding Hankook Ventus Prime tires.

Lousy af. No more. Aside from online user & Youtube reviews, need to consider feedback from tire shop & other users met in RL.

All in all, need to consolidate all of those with a pinch of salt.
more toward comfortable + eco tyres, with less priority for grip. Grip, take Michelin PS series, especially wet. If Hankook, maybe takes a class higher, Ventus S1 Evo 3

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jul 6 2024, 02:48 AM
ayamxxx
post Jul 10 2024, 10:39 AM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Jul 9 2024, 08:47 PM)
I give you a few examples. Take it with a pinch of salt as I was using VP3. VP4 should have a slight improvement over VP3:
1. Tire spin from stop & go, on wet road.
2. When cornering, even during not so high speed between 60~80 km/h, there were incidences of tailspin (oversteer) on wet roads. If you do high speed cornering, for sure gonna have oversteer.
3. High risk of aquaplaning when drive over puddles.
4. Very noisy tire. Slow or fast. The faster you go, the higher the noise.

One of my cars are still using this tire. 235/50R18. Only 14k km driven with this tire. At the moment, this tire really limits the enjoyment of driving that car. I have to keep using this tire until botak or until I cannot tahan anymore.

Decision is up to you. You can try experience yourself. For me, I will not be not using this tire brand series anymore.
No 1,2,3 I faced the similar but for Continental UC6 SUV. When read on forum, FB group, similar review for this specific tyre, UC6, almost all annoying with this Wet grip. No 4, it excel cz quiet. And at 8k km after change, botak at side even with proper alignment done.
ayamxxx
post Jul 10 2024, 10:40 AM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Jul 10 2024, 09:30 AM)
Yeah been using 18" Vp3 2x n yea cant complaint much as it its worth it n not bad on dry,yes wet only setback.
Ive changed tyres yearly,been using many types.
I guess u need high end type then,like Ps4/5 to suit ur type.
Even when I use pS4 also spin, but better in wet of course.
from FB user, many put praise for giti sport s2 tyre for performance but best bang for ringgit
ayamxxx
post Jul 11 2024, 03:38 PM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Jul 10 2024, 04:18 PM)
LOl yeah did so/shared within tyre sections, because of freq change n also need to make sure dont burnt my pockets.
Been using hankooks mostly since V12 several rounds, GT radial, nexen N6k,N8k, Ps3,4, conti:Cc5,mc4 ,Toyo,bridgestone,falkens
lucky u havent try the Achilles ATR Sport 2. Summary, bassy tyre, noisy, wet the worst grip.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jul 11 2024, 03:39 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0392sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:14 AM