10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Ask my anything about tires, I am a tire engineer

littlefire
post Jul 13 2022, 11:46 AM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jul 13 2022, 11:55 AM)
Recently noticed some grey import of CSC5 from China. Are there any difference in their compound?
I believe he already answered.
They got their own quality & tolerance control, even in different plant or country the formula should be still similar for same tire model.
littlefire
post Jul 14 2022, 12:27 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(Naskah @ Jul 13 2022, 11:08 PM)
Tell me how to choose tires which less noisy?
Do research bro, if the tire model you interest to buy is from reputable brand usually got EU label which indicate the noise db level.
Everything can be search or find in google or search engine or go https://www.tyrereviews.com/ to check out other people feedback.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 14 2022, 12:29 PM
littlefire
post Jul 25 2022, 09:09 AM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Jul 24 2022, 05:01 PM)
I'm driving SUV Tiguan with 4motion and my two rear tire is about to be replaced soon. Currently, using Continental MC6, 235/50/R18.

1). Can I buy a different brand/model tire?
2). New tire should fit at Front or Rear?
3). Any recommendation of tire good for dry and wet? Hopefully can match MC6's performances.
1) Yes
2) 4motion = AWD, AWD rides need change all 4 tires at once (Please read your manual book!)
3) MC6 is UHP tires, if you want equivalent or better tires (UHP/Max Performance) you need to get at least like Michelin PS4/PS5 SUV tires, Bridgestone Potenza Sport/RE004, Goodyear Eagle F1 AS 5/6, Falken FK510 SUV, Hankook S1 Evo3...

https://www.tyrereviews.com/Search/Size/235...8/Season/Summer

https://www.tiguanforums.co.uk/threads/tyre...airs-only.4761/

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 25 2022, 09:12 AM
littlefire
post Jul 27 2022, 09:06 AM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(epjx31 @ Jul 26 2022, 12:20 AM)
With a 4 wheel drive configuration, yes Its a no brainer. Put the new tires on the rear.
If 4 wheel drive or AWD you need balance tire treads to prevent early failure/wear of differential.
If the old & new 1 got wide tire tread thickness difference it may impact vehicle performance.
It is recommend to change all 4 tires and not just 2 new tires to the rear.

https://www.dunntire.com/blog/Tire-Replacem...nd-AWD-Vehicles

In fact, studies have shown that differences of just 2/32 of an inch in tire tread between tires on the same vehicle can impact vehicle performance. For example, if you were to replace just two tires on your AWD or 4WD vehicle, you would have a slightly larger diameter on the new tires, due to deeper tread. A small difference in the front and back tire diameter means the two axles are always turning at different speeds, even if the car is going straight down a highway. This is contrary to how the vehicle was designed to operate and will likely lead to early malfunction.

For all AWD/4WD system car or pickup the manual book always list to rotate the tires frequently and change all 4 at once. It is not recommended to just change either front or rear or just 1 pcs due to the reasons above.

The only way for owner to change only 2 tires is do tyre shaving by reducing the new tyre tread thickness to match the other 2 older tyre thickness or diameter, but this method is not common nowadays in Malaysia and consider a waste for new tyre. Only those old shop which do tyre celup in the past may still got these machine available, but newer shop a lot of them did not even knew about this method.

https://www.tyres.net/blog/entertainment/th...of-tyre-shaving

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 27 2022, 01:46 PM
littlefire
post Jul 27 2022, 09:33 AM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(zoixc @ Jul 26 2022, 08:44 PM)
no, didn’t balance as the tyre shop told me if no vibration then no need to do balancing
When rotate it is better to at least do balancing for the front tires first, everytime i do rotate i will ask to check or do balancing for the front the cost is not much some only RM5~10/pcs.
littlefire
post Jul 27 2022, 10:27 AM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(yongchin89 @ Jul 27 2022, 10:48 AM)
how many year a tyre can be use on road? been using xm2 for around 5 years but tread is still above the safety indicator
https://www.michelin.com.my/auto/tips-and-a...ge-my-car-tyres
littlefire
post Jul 27 2022, 10:51 AM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jul 27 2022, 11:45 AM)
long ago i suka bs turanza 13" and 14"
not sure recent produce size for them or not
turanza also normal comfort base tires, the real performance stuff is the Potenza series.

If want sporty types tires for smaller size can try get Maxxis or special order Yokohama/Toyo tires from Japan.
If not mistaken i got friend using Yokohama Advan series for 14" kelisa, heard the price not cheap almost 2xx/pcs.
littlefire
post Jul 27 2022, 05:01 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jul 27 2022, 04:29 PM)
yeameh. turanza wet & dry grip is much better than potenza s001 u know.
advan fleva must avoid.
Some potenza series are consider semi-slick or summer max performance tires, if you get those tires usually sucks in wet but during hot day the grip is damn good. If you open your window can hear those sand sticking to the tires on hot weather, better dont use it during wet condition.
littlefire
post Aug 9 2022, 03:43 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Aug 9 2022, 01:30 PM)
Maybe coz Toyo CR1 is specially designed for local Malaysian market?
Toyo CR1 is just normal touring tires.
Nexen RU1 is consider as performance SUV tire which is also OEM to Porsche Macan tires.
So which 1 better? Google it if dont believe.
littlefire
post Aug 9 2022, 04:01 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(LuqmanRustam @ Aug 7 2022, 03:18 PM)
Hello, I'm using a Saga FLX 1.3. Recently changed my rims from stock 13" *rim besi* to 15" sport rims. Tires went from 175/70/13 to 195/50/15. Handling got much better but the throttle pedal feels much heavier and my highway speeds are suffering. What tire size should I change to? I'm considering 185/55/15, 175/(please suggest)/15. And how it would affect my FC. I don't mind sacrificing my handling aslong as my throttle response feels better and FC is around stock FC. Thank you! smile.gif
Want good FC, good throttle response, dont want sacrificing handling.. Kek.. Upgrade sport rim tire size kedai tak bagitau impact ke?

Problem 1 - Tire size terus jump dari 175/70/13 -> 195/50/15, biasa orang test size 1 up 185/60/R14 dulu tengok boleh accept tak. Wira 1.6/1.8 pakai 14" pun handling cun jugak. Kalau 15" size paling dekat 185/55/15..
Problem 2 - Ape sport rim you guna? Sport rim kena ringan baru jimat minyak, kalau berat lebih baik pakai balik 13" atau downgrade 14". Kalau sport rim berat gile downgrade tire size pun tak kan help banyak.

littlefire
post Aug 10 2022, 02:39 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(babisotong @ Aug 10 2022, 02:03 PM)
Hi, i wanted to ask, few month ago i bought 2 Michelin PS3 for me ecobox, after few weeks, i realized that that 2 tyre is relatively not even, so need to put extra balancing when balancing the tyre, however i doesn't help much on high speed, it will vibrate quite badly.

Is this type of defect common? or that seller is selling defect/rejected tyre from factory?
Your absorber, lower arm bush, driveshalf everything in good condition or not? Before you claim tire problem, your car condition confirm is good & no problem?

This post has been edited by littlefire: Aug 10 2022, 02:39 PM
littlefire
post Aug 10 2022, 02:51 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(babisotong @ Aug 10 2022, 03:46 PM)
yes, i brought my car to certified/professional suspension tuner, he tested it and show what the tyre problem, when u do balancing(put tyre on the rotate mechine thingy) can see tyre is a bit uneven.. quite sad since i realize it tad a bit late.
Sport rim no bengkok? Did the tire shop take out the tires and check your sport rim condition?

This post has been edited by littlefire: Aug 10 2022, 02:52 PM
littlefire
post Aug 23 2022, 06:36 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(kabyss87 @ Aug 23 2022, 04:21 PM)
First of all, Thanks TS for sharing your invaluable experience and know how on tyre tech.  thumbsup.gif

I do have questions regarding about SUV tyres and its properties.

My current ride was a Mitsubishi ASX. Bought it used and it was fitted with a normal Max Contact 6 which is pretty good and drives well with no issue.

The tyres are due to be changed and here now is the issue, i'm in dilemma of whether to remain using the normal passenger tyres of SUV tyres.

i know Originally it was fitted with SUV tyre, but given that it is running fine with the normal one, Plus, SUV tyres are much more expensive compared to normal ones, i'm pretty reluctant to switch if the SUV variant doesnt bring any significant benefit to the ride quality or such.

And since the normal tyre can take the load well, technically there wont be an issue fitting the normal tyres?

Btw, i've never tried any SUV tyres before, therefore i cant really tell the difference. I do take the car for light off road and the current tyres are still doing fine.

Would be great if you could share with us if it really safe to do that. in a way it is also creating awareness on road safety since there are significantly more ppl opt for SUV.

What is the difference between Car, 4x4 and SUV Tyres
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NTB3sMS2Aqo

littlefire
post Aug 25 2022, 05:08 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(kabyss87 @ Aug 25 2022, 11:38 AM)
Thanks for the insight.

i've read a substantial numbers of reviews and "comparison" with no real life test results, seems to me they are just throwing out words with nothing substantial like a test to back up their claims.

As i spent 95% of my time driving on tarmac, i guess sticking back to Normal Tyres would be the better choice. To me, i think SUV tyres are kind of like light version of 4x4 All Terrain Tyre???  if that even make sense.  laugh.gif

Will definitely check out your reviews for my next tyre selection. Thanks again.  thumbup.gif
Nop. SUV & 4X4 tires are totally different. Proper SUV tires usually got higher load support, dual side wall layer & also higher treadwear for long lasting compare to normal passenger tires.

FYI
In Subaru Xv group some member using Michelin Primacy 4 on their rides and reported sidewall bulging & even cracks, similar to factory fitted MC5.
If you look into the tire details most passenger tires like Primacy 4 & MC5 only 1 layer sidewall (tire size 225/55/17 & 225/60/17), compare to similar size SUV tires usually got 2 layers. Which mean you got better protection when hitting potholes or side impact for SUV tires compare to passenger tires on similar size.

Most member which upgraded to Continental UC6 SUV reported last higher mileage & less sidewall issues compare to original MC5 tires. MC5 average around 50~60,000km, while UC6 lasted around 80~100,000km.

If your solely looking at braking performance or better cornering/grip there are specialize tires like Nexen RU1, Pirelli Russo, Falken FK510 SUV, Michelin PS4 SUV which can support high performance SUV rating tires.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Aug 25 2022, 06:14 PM
littlefire
post Aug 30 2022, 05:15 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(joshgm_119 @ Aug 30 2022, 06:09 PM)
Hey TS

Seeing the recent question on runflats, are there any other perks of using runflats other than not having to worry about minor punctures?

Looking at the cost difference, personally I would swap out run flats and deal with flats myself.

Thanks!
My fathers BMW also swap all the run-flat to normal tires, no regrets until today.

Advantage - Cheaper, more comfort, lighter, more choice in market

Disadvantage - phobia of serious punctures as no spare tire on ride.
littlefire
post Sep 22 2022, 10:43 AM

2,701 posts

TS is tire engineer not tire reviewer.. laugh.gif Dont think he got so much time testing each tire in market..

https://www.tyrereviews.com/

Just go to this website and check other people reviews & test results if available.
littlefire
post Sep 23 2022, 10:14 AM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(devil86 @ Sep 22 2022, 08:01 PM)
Because it is very hard to find an all terrain tyre for my 4x4 with the size of 255/65R18.... 😅
Bro, if your serious just ask tire shop order it if you want. Go to official tire distributor of your preferred brand, usually they got software or contact to order direct from factory compared to those smaller tire ship which only cut stock from them. Nowadays most main distributor got keep few special size at their warehouse, if lucky within few days can ship to your house or tire shop. i once order classic car tire 165R15 from China, took the cheapest logistic by Sea wait 2 months since no hurry, if got money i believe within 2 weeks also can get if got stock ready worldwide using flight. Same for those supercar owners, most of their tire size also special and mostly imported via demand.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Sep 23 2022, 10:15 AM
littlefire
post Nov 2 2022, 03:15 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Nov 2 2022, 03:12 AM)
Hi TS,
I notice most tires have this label regarding "steel, polyamide, nylon, polyester"...
Different tires have different combination.
Could you enlighten us what does it mean? and their pros & cons?
https://www.ustires.org/whats-tire-0

https://www.continental-tires.com/car/tire-...cs/tire-mixture

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tire

Everything just a google search can get a lot information nowadays.. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by littlefire: Nov 2 2022, 03:16 PM
littlefire
post Nov 17 2022, 02:30 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(R____C @ Nov 16 2022, 10:48 PM)
Owning a kei-car and the standard size is 165/50R16 but unable to find a shop that selling this size? Is there any way to purchase it locally? Or should I opt to change to a new rim with a more common size?
Special size usually need to order, if your interested with certain brand just google or search for their official distributor and order with them.

littlefire
post Jan 25 2023, 03:04 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Jan 22 2023, 06:29 PM)
Dear Bro epjx31

Quick question:

1)I see you have tire upsize calculator, do you have possibility of the similar table for downsizing for those in the minority?

2)
-My car ori tires is 185/55R16 and now I am driving 195/50R16 with stock wheels. I plan to downsize but I not sure to go either 195/50R15 or 195/55R15?
-I tend to rempit the car so which size is better suited for it? (Seems liek PS3 would be my choice due to wet weather all rounder performance)
-Ideally I prefer to car have sharp response Also, can both sizes it fit onto 6J wheels?
-Will there be performance issue when driving 6J wheels hard attached with either 195/50 or 195/55 wheels?
-Does downsizing to 195/55 and 195/50 15 inch wheel violate the 3% rule of thumb?

3) You as engineer do you have access to super discounted tires?
https://tiresize.com/comparison/

https://kereta.info/wheel-size-vs-tyre-size...dan-rim-sesuai/

Write so long, but no ask google about tire size comparison & sport rim width suitable tires?

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0410sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:59 AM