Brake Pad Thread, Talk about brake pads brands here

SUSrtk74
post Apr 24 2022, 01:36 AM, updated 2y ago

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

Now in a dilemma on purchasing new brake pads. Currently using textar brake pads but it's getting thin probably need to be replace in the coming months.

Textar
- Good grip
- Very dusty, but it doesn't rust
- Doesn't wear the rotors that much

Prior to this I replaced the rears with semi-metallic

CENTRIC C-TEK Ceramics
- Weak grip
- No dust
- No issues on rotors yet

Now I have a choice of getting:

> TRW COTEC
> Textar
> Jurid
> Ferodo (NOS)
> Meyle
> Mintye
> Bendix Euro+
> LPB Brakes

All are within the same price range, except Ferodo & LPB which is 30% cheaper than the rest. I don't really care that much about dust. Braking grip is most important to me anyways. Just want to know other's opinion before I pull the plug, especially those that tried them before.

matrix88
post Apr 24 2022, 02:52 AM

2,236 posts

Bendix metal king
SUSceo684
post Apr 24 2022, 02:55 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

MK Kashiyama
rad
post Apr 24 2022, 04:32 AM

469 posts

Akebono

Good grip, less dust
Thrust
post Apr 24 2022, 09:31 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

What car are you driving now?

I always recommend Akebono if you want original brake pad feel. Furthermore, this pad is quiet and very very low dust.

Bendix Metal King although has stronger braking power, it however will wear your disc rotor faster because Metal King pads have metal residue embedded in its pads to get the stronger braking power.
matrix88
post Apr 24 2022, 09:45 AM

2,236 posts

If got more budget get green stufff

ayamxxx
post Apr 24 2022, 10:18 AM

4,033 posts

Trw cz it resolved my juddering issue for Honda Stock brakpad. Stock pad sux quality but conti price, rm700/pair
matrix88
post Apr 24 2022, 10:35 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Apr 24 2022, 10:18 AM)
Trw cz it resolved my juddering issue for Honda Stock brakpad. Stock pad sux quality but conti price, rm700/pair
Who ask you to change at SC? Can get less than 200 outside.
ayamxxx
post Apr 24 2022, 10:40 AM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Apr 24 2022, 10:35 AM)
never change the pad there, got price quotation and suprise. even costlier than a C-Class brake pad. claim warranty cz juddering, get foc skim disc, then straight buy an aftermarket pad and change at regular workshop
SUSrtk74
post Apr 24 2022, 11:43 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Apr 24 2022, 02:52 AM)
Bendix metal king
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 24 2022, 02:55 AM)
MK Kashiyama
Don't have stock for my car I think

QUOTE(rad @ Apr 24 2022, 04:32 AM)
Akebono
Good grip, less dust
QUOTE(Thrust @ Apr 24 2022, 09:31 AM)

I always recommend Akebono if you want original brake pad feel. Furthermore, this pad is quiet and very very low dust.

Bendix Metal King although has stronger braking power, it however will wear your disc rotor faster because Metal King pads have metal residue embedded in its pads to get the stronger braking power.
w124

Need to buy from teh US

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Apr 24 2022, 09:45 AM)
If got more budget get green stufff
>EBC
>Budget

haihh
SUSrtk74
post Apr 24 2022, 11:46 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Apr 24 2022, 10:18 AM)
Thanks,
You used DTEC or ATEC line?

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Apr 24 2022, 10:35 AM)
200?

TRW ATEC line can setel for rm100 for accord

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Apr 24 2022, 10:40 AM)
never change the pad there, got price quotation and suprise. even costlier than a C-Class brake pad. claim warranty cz juddering, get foc skim disc, then straight buy an aftermarket pad and change at regular workshop
I would run away ady, unless under warranty I replace lah
amduser
post Apr 24 2022, 12:17 PM

5,542 posts

Don't go for ferodo, it is very low dust and protect your rotor very well, but it almost have no grip at all once the pad is at higher temperature

Brembo is slightly better than ori brake pad, but don't expect it perform like the high end brembo pad, for normal driving is ok but not for extreme use, even during genting downhill can feel the pad performance degrade once it heat up

You can try look for Remsa pad, previously I use that and it is quiet good in stopping power
amduser
post Apr 24 2022, 12:20 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Apr 24 2022, 11:43 AM)
w124
Need to buy from teh US

>EBC
>Budget

haihh
Ebc green and black is not that expensive compared to red and yellow

For my Mazda 3 2014 I can get ebc green or black at price cheaper than or close to price of ori pad from sc
SUSrtk74
post Apr 24 2022, 12:22 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Apr 24 2022, 12:17 PM)
Don't go for ferodo, it is very low dust and protect your rotor very well, but it almost have no grip at all once the pad is at higher temperature

Brembo is slightly better than ori brake pad, but don't expect it perform like the high end brembo pad, for normal driving is ok but not for extreme use, even during genting downhill can feel the pad performance degrade once it heat up

You can try look for Remsa pad, previously I use that and it is quiet good in stopping power
Brembo is close to double to the ones I've listed
Only planning to use the car for a year

Best is always Ori, even if same brand, the formulation is different

QUOTE(amduser @ Apr 24 2022, 12:20 PM)
Ebc green and black is not that expensive compared to red and yellow

For my Mazda 3 2014 I can get ebc green or black at price cheaper than or close to price of ori pad from sc
EBC's are kinda on the expensive side as well. Rather get OEM Jurid/Textar at that price

ayamxxx
post Apr 24 2022, 12:45 PM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Apr 24 2022, 11:46 AM)
Thanks,
You used DTEC or ATEC line?
200?

TRW ATEC line can setel for rm100 for accord
I would run away ady, unless under warranty I replace lah
DTEC those come in red colour. Rm200 or less for a pair, rear rm170/pair
SUSrtk74
post Apr 24 2022, 12:49 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Apr 24 2022, 12:45 PM)
That's great since the TRW COTEC is on a higher line than the DTEC iinm.
Cost like rm100 for my car though

The DTEC doesn't accumulate dust or squeals is it?
amscouzach57
post Apr 24 2022, 01:48 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Apr 24 2022, 12:49 PM)
the DTEC pads are quite dusty & have sub par grip. brembo oe replacement pads are less dutsy & have better grip than the trw dtec ones.

try EBC yellow stuff. those has superb grip albeit producing a lot of dust. using it right now on my Mazda 6.

This post has been edited by amscouzach57: Apr 24 2022, 01:48 PM
SUSrtk74
post Apr 24 2022, 01:56 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Apr 24 2022, 01:48 PM)
the DTEC pads are quite dusty & have sub par grip. brembo oe replacement pads are less dutsy & have better grip than the trw dtec ones.

try EBC yellow stuff. those has superb grip albeit producing a lot of dust. using it right now on my Mazda 6.
Only found green stuff for my calipers, and those also are rm300 bye.gif
amduser
post Apr 24 2022, 02:22 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Apr 24 2022, 12:22 PM)
Brembo is close to double to the ones I've listed
Only planning to use the car for a year

Best is always Ori, even if same brand, the formulation is different
EBC's are kinda on the expensive side as well. Rather get OEM Jurid/Textar at that price
Ori is not the best, it is just made to be enough for daily usage, unless you are buying a race/sport car
And of course ori is not enough for my usage since I go to track and auto cross

It seems like you already have your answer, if you want cheap then just go for the cheapest one it won't be much difference on normal road until the pad reached high enough temp or high speed braking

Have you tried trestor? Local brand and priced relatively low price but not sure if they have it for your car
SUSrtk74
post Apr 24 2022, 02:33 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Apr 24 2022, 02:22 PM)
Ori is not the best, it is just made to be enough for daily usage, unless you are buying a race/sport car
And of course ori is not enough for my usage since I go to track and auto cross

It seems like you already have your answer, if you want cheap then just go for the cheapest one it won't be much difference on normal road until the pad reached high enough temp or high speed braking

Have you tried trestor? Local brand and priced relatively low price but not sure if they have it for your car
Just daily drive with occasional highway cruise only
For trestor advantage but will keep it in mind for other cars thumbup.gif
Priced twice as much as other brands I mentioned
newhouseowner
post Apr 24 2022, 02:38 PM

379 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Apr 24 2022, 01:48 PM)

Since you got budget for ebc, I recommend akebono pro-act, superb grip and very less dust. I've tested on genting uphill and ulu yam downhill, drive aggressively for my standard, no brake fade on my Mazda 6.
SUSrtk74
post Apr 24 2022, 03:13 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(newhouseowner @ Apr 24 2022, 02:38 PM)
Since you got budget for ebc, I recommend akebono pro-act, superb grip and very less dust. I've tested on genting uphill and ulu yam downhill, drive aggressively for my standard, no brake fade on my Mazda 6.
only euro pads available for my car
amscouzach57
post Apr 24 2022, 04:42 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(newhouseowner @ Apr 24 2022, 02:38 PM)
Can only find the ones for the model with handbrakes in Malaysia.

The ones for the model with EPB is not available here.
SUSceo684
post Apr 24 2022, 11:13 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Apr 24 2022, 11:43 AM)
w124
Need to buy from teh US

Ooo german kar
That MK K very famous for Jap mfg spec pads
SUSrtk74
post Apr 25 2022, 01:43 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 24 2022, 11:13 PM)
Ooo german kar
That MK K very famous for Jap mfg spec pads
My next car gonna be ploton brows.gif

ayamxxx
post Apr 25 2022, 05:40 AM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Apr 24 2022, 12:17 PM)

Brembo pad too many non genuine on market. Any sellers you suggest for genuine, online?
ayamxxx
post Apr 25 2022, 05:44 AM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Apr 24 2022, 12:49 PM)
No idea on dust but so far tolerable, usually only get it wash every fortnight. Smooth brake sound on my pad, Trw. Reason wise, cheap, no juddering issue on heavy brake.

Stock Honda pad made in Thai always make the steering vibrates especially at Karak highway
amduser
post Apr 25 2022, 07:28 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Apr 25 2022, 05:40 AM)
Brembo pad too many non genuine on market. Any sellers you suggest for genuine, online?
i get it online, it has a QR code for you to check

the price is cheap probably because it is made locally or in neighbor country instead of italy

for the price vs performance, i wont say it is fake but it is not meant for extreme/track driving since it is just for oem replacement at a budget

i rather buy brake pad from china which has more performance pads to choose from tongue.gif
alexei
post Apr 25 2022, 09:38 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Proton stock pads are metal. Can see shiny-shiny sintered material inside, but dunno is iron or copper. 100k km makan disc but once a while wash with water rinse off black dust and drive the disc so far flat and no ugly grooves.

I'm wondering why other cars use ceramic or organic pads?
mot88
post Apr 25 2022, 11:32 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 25 2022, 09:38 AM)
I'm wondering why other cars use ceramic or organic pads?
Honda, Mazda, Toyota (non performance model) using ceramic pads repacked from Akebono or Advics from factory.

Proton & Perodua alat ganti tulen from Mintye (local models) Brake pads in new cars for Proton /Perodua from factory are usually better quality than alat ganti tulen.

Most if not all conti cars are using semi metalic from factory and OEM. There are aftermarket ceramic brake pad (not confuse with ceramic disc) but are not recommended by manufacturer.

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Apr 24 2022, 01:56 PM)
Only found green stuff for my calipers, and those also are rm300  bye.gif
For W124, use oiginal MB pads which is available from MB stockist. Original MB pads are supplied with new brake hardware such as clips. For rear, can use other brand pads, but for front highly recommend to stick to ori.

This post has been edited by mot88: Apr 25 2022, 11:54 AM
mot88
post Apr 25 2022, 11:40 AM

141 posts

combined

This post has been edited by mot88: Apr 25 2022, 11:48 AM
alexei
post Apr 25 2022, 12:10 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(mot88 @ Apr 25 2022, 11:32 AM)
Proton & Perodua alat ganti tulen from Mintye (local models) Brake pads in new cars for Proton /Perodua from factory are usually better quality than alat ganti tulen.

Is it possible the Proton CFE models use Bosch metallic pads? Old posts got say is TRW Proton. But, things can change also, noticed some parts from Proton SC also change brand over the years. I think now using Ultrex ceramic on rear, front might be Bosch metallic.
mot88
post Apr 25 2022, 12:56 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 25 2022, 12:10 PM)
Is it possible the Proton CFE models use Bosch metallic pads? Old posts got say is TRW Proton. But, things can change also, noticed some parts from Proton SC also change brand over the years. I think now using Ultrex ceramic on rear, front might be Bosch metallic.
Not surprise for Proton performance model (turbo), better pad is used. Bosch is not that good either. Used Bosch PowerPlus and its noisy and grip not that fantastic. Nothing beats Trestor Advantage for local model for best bang for bucks but dusty and noise when first 2 pedal presses in the morning.

This post has been edited by mot88: Apr 25 2022, 12:57 PM
SUSrtk74
post Apr 25 2022, 02:11 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(mot88 @ Apr 25 2022, 11:32 AM)

For W124, use oiginal MB pads which is available from MB stockist. Original MB pads are supplied with new brake hardware such as clips. For rear, can use other brand pads, but for front highly recommend to stick to ori.
The only ori ones I find are NOS
even at Suan Huat they have girling OEMs
alexei
post Apr 26 2022, 08:17 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(mot88 @ Apr 25 2022, 12:56 PM)
Not surprise for Proton performance model (turbo), better pad is used. Bosch is not that good either. Used Bosch PowerPlus and its noisy and grip not that fantastic. Nothing beats Trestor Advantage for local model for best bang for bucks but dusty and noise when first 2 pedal presses in the morning.
Oh thanks. The first 2 pedal press is it to get rid of surface rust in the morning? Sometimes if release handbrake and move the car, can hear 'thng' sound when the brake pad releases from the disk.
ayamxxx
post Apr 26 2022, 08:20 AM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 26 2022, 08:17 AM)
Oh thanks. The first 2 pedal press is it to get rid of surface rust in the morning? Sometimes if release handbrake and move the car, can hear 'thng' sound when the brake pad releases from the disk.
yes, no issue. more so of this event after a car wash and let it dry overnight, will get this surface rust.
eddievh
post Apr 27 2022, 12:09 PM

3,218 posts

Ooh w124,last time i use this model for 10 years. So many brands i experiment already. Brands that i used before Trestor green,Trestor advantage,Mintye,Bosch semi metallic and Textar. Among all the model the highest grip frictions is Trestor Advantage but very dusty and finish fast. Second best grip is Textar yellow box.
mushigen
post Apr 30 2022, 09:20 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Apr 24 2022, 09:31 AM)

Bro,
For City, would you recommend Akebono or Nissin? As I'm not based in KV now, do you know any good online seller?
Thrust
post Apr 30 2022, 10:09 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Apr 30 2022, 09:20 PM)
Bro,
For City, would you recommend Akebono or Nissin? As I'm not based in KV now, do you know any good online seller?
Both brands are good but Akebono is cheaper and works great... Quiet, no noise and very low dust.

You can just get it from any Shopee sellers as long as it fits your car model.
mushigen
post Apr 30 2022, 10:17 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Apr 30 2022, 10:09 PM)
Both brands are good but Akebono is cheaper and works great... Quiet, no noise and very low dust.

You can just get it from any Shopee sellers as long as it fits your car model.
Pardon my ignorance, but isn't low dust = more abrasive? Will it wear out rotors fast?
Thrust
post Apr 30 2022, 10:23 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Apr 30 2022, 10:17 PM)
Pardon my ignorance, but isn't low dust = more abrasive? Will it wear out rotors fast?
Low dust means less abrasive.
iZuDeeN
post May 1 2022, 09:40 AM

3,466 posts

Anyone can recommended shop that do refurbish original brake?

Alot of shop pass replica as original at cheaper price

Because its impossible to tell the item is fake/replica unless you know what you looking for or have side to side comparison
SUSrtk74
post May 1 2022, 10:30 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ May 1 2022, 09:40 AM)

Because its impossible to tell the item is fake/replica unless you know what you looking for or have side to side comparison
You mean rebuilding the existing brake caliper on your car or something else entirely?
iZuDeeN
post May 1 2022, 10:48 AM

3,466 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ May 1 2022, 10:30 AM)
You mean rebuilding the existing brake caliper on your car or something else entirely?
Brake caliper taken out from other cars
SUSrtk74
post May 1 2022, 01:03 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ May 1 2022, 10:48 AM)
Brake caliper taken out from other cars
I think there was one in YouTube iinm
steventan85
post May 2 2022, 01:49 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Apr 24 2022, 12:45 PM)
All these while I got it at below 100.honda City GM6. Last purchase nov 2021, Rm96

TRW Dtec
FairyCheek
post Jul 20 2022, 09:51 AM

28 posts

Hi, any recommendation brake pad for Mazda 2 Skyactiv?
Sent to SC and found out that brake pad is worn out and require to skim the disc. Any store i can purchase the brake pad and reliable workshop i can send to?
SUSrtk74
post Jul 20 2022, 02:26 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(FairyCheek @ Jul 20 2022, 09:51 AM)
Hi, any recommendation brake pad for Mazda 2 Skyactiv?
Sent to SC and found out that brake pad is worn out and require to skim the disc. Any store i can purchase the brake pad and reliable workshop i can send to?
Can just buy online
And least state your location
FairyCheek
post Jul 20 2022, 02:31 PM

28 posts

Hihi. Which brand is better? TRW Ceramic or Bendix General CT?
My location is at Shah Alam.
SUSrtk74
post Jul 20 2022, 02:40 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(FairyCheek @ Jul 20 2022, 02:31 PM)
Hihi. Which brand is better? TRW Ceramic or Bendix General CT?
My location is at Shah Alam.
TRW Ceramic better

Topup abit for Bendix Metal King. Mah Grab driver says it was great for him because last longest. He drove a Myvi tho

But Boy96 says not great for touge
ayamxxx
post Jul 20 2022, 02:44 PM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Jul 20 2022, 02:40 PM)
TRW Ceramic better

Topup abit for Bendix Metal King. Mah Grab driver says it was great for him because last longest. He drove a Myvi tho

Im ok with TRW red brake pad believe ceramic. As it miles better than stock Honda pad, affordable, SC cost about rm700/pair. TRW rm180/pair, and no more brake juddering issue as per stock sc pad

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jul 20 2022, 02:44 PM
FairyCheek
post Jul 20 2022, 02:45 PM

28 posts

-Great, I'll opt for TRW then, price range around 170-180, just checked from Shopee.
Will send to workshop this weekend which will cost me another RM100 to change the brake pad. hehe
ayamxxx
post Jul 20 2022, 02:50 PM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(FairyCheek @ Jul 20 2022, 02:45 PM)
-Great, I'll opt for TRW then, price range around 170-180, just checked from Shopee.
Will send to workshop this weekend which will cost me another RM100 to change the brake pad. hehe
Used to be rm60 to change all 4 pad at my regular workshop
Boy96
post Jul 20 2022, 04:45 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Jul 20 2022, 02:40 PM)
TRW Ceramic better

Currently im using Trestor green brake pad ok ah not bad
SUSrtk74
post Jul 20 2022, 05:10 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jul 20 2022, 04:45 PM)
That one local right?

Green was metallic or organic?
bo093
post Jul 21 2022, 07:53 AM

1,185 posts

Since I been dissapointed by Ultrex 680c.
Anyone tried Bendix Ultimate and Trestor Advantage?
I'm trying to exhausted brake pad selection before changing brake kit.

GuyM
post Jul 21 2022, 10:53 AM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(bo093 @ Jul 21 2022, 07:53 AM)
Do you need bendix ultimate if not metal king is suffice. Make sure you or mechanic used their bendix grease on the back pad and do proper brake with abs fluid flush for maximum experience with stopping power feel
SUSrtk74
post Jul 21 2022, 11:29 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

Brake kit = brake hardware or the caliper itself?
ktek
post Jul 21 2022, 12:06 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

big caliper & big rotor all
ktek
post Jul 21 2022, 12:07 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

ultrex cannot. metal king titanium cannot
ktek
post Jul 21 2022, 12:09 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jul 20 2022, 04:45 PM)
high speed full stop did u approved ?
scoupe
post Jul 21 2022, 01:40 PM

93 posts

i am generally very picky with my brakes.. i dont like to swap calipers so i end up testing alot of the pads in the market.. so far the best one i got for my suprima is the Bendix ultimate. It bites hard. I've used TRW d tec, utter crap, brembo aftermarket boleh la. but all these are not even as good as the stock pads. so far Ultimate works best for aftermarket stuff. Great pedal feel with em too. however i will let u know in advance they really chew on the disc and they wear pretty quick. Every 2 pads i chuck my disc because i dont like the feel of skimmed disc.. if you are as sensitive you will know what i am talking about with skimmed disc, they feel somewhat slipery when the pads bite. I also abs bleed my system yearly either with dot 4 or dot 5.1 fluid.
bo093
post Jul 22 2022, 09:21 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Jul 21 2022, 10:53 AM)
Do you need bendix ultimate if not metal king is suffice. Make sure you or mechanic used their bendix grease on the back pad and do proper brake with abs fluid flush for maximum experience with stopping power feel
Metal King still fade easily under my usage.
I use bendix grease on pins and back of the pads, even flushed every 2 years or before any track event.
Unless is bendix MKT from australia, is a bit different formulation. Which is I can't get it anymore.

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Jul 21 2022, 11:29 AM)
Brake kit = brake hardware or the caliper itself?
Bigger brake kit, trying to avoid it, to minimise unsprung weight.

QUOTE(scoupe @ Jul 21 2022, 01:40 PM)
i am generally very picky with my brakes.. i dont like to swap calipers so i end up testing alot of the pads in the market.. so far the best one i got for my suprima is the Bendix ultimate. It bites hard. I've used TRW d tec, utter crap, brembo aftermarket boleh la. but all these are not even as good as the stock pads. so far Ultimate works best for aftermarket stuff. Great pedal feel with em too. however i will let u know in advance they really chew on the disc and they wear pretty quick. Every 2 pads i chuck my disc because i dont like the feel of skimmed disc.. if you are as sensitive you will know what i am talking about with skimmed disc, they feel somewhat slipery when the pads bite. I also abs bleed my system yearly either with dot 4 or dot 5.1 fluid.
Chew on disc is a normal thing to go through on harsh compound pad.
But thank god, Saga BLM disc a set is about same price as skimming. tongue.gif
Unless I go for slotted disc, then is a different story.

So I guess from initial bite is good, hows the fade? Say on a downhill touge.

If this doesn't work, I guess swapping to bigger brake is the only way. doh.gif

scoupe
post Jul 26 2022, 09:32 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(bo093 @ Jul 22 2022, 09:21 AM)
Metal King still fade easily under my usage.
I use bendix grease on pins and back of the pads, even flushed every 2 years or before any track event.
Unless is bendix MKT from australia, is a bit different formulation. Which is I can't get it anymore.
Bigger brake kit, trying to avoid it, to minimise unsprung weight.
Chew on disc is a normal thing to go through on harsh compound pad.
But thank god, Saga BLM disc a set is about same price as skimming.  tongue.gif
Unless I go for slotted disc, then is a different story.

So I guess from initial bite is good, hows the fade? Say on a downhill touge.

If this doesn't work, I guess swapping to bigger brake is the only way.  doh.gif
i never really drive hard downhill.. on regular drives downhill on genting and etc is fine especially the suprima being a pretty heavy car. if you plan to run high speed down hill then regular aftermarket brake pads wont cut it. You will need something with much higher temp ratings. 650c and above. prepare to fork out a much larger sum once you enter this category of pads. affordability is one, then there is availability problem as well. if your car is a popular enough car that people track often then shouldnt be a problem.
tik
post Jul 26 2022, 09:50 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ May 1 2022, 09:40 AM)

Does this classed as a refurbishment too ??

scoupe
post Jul 26 2022, 11:04 AM

93 posts

hanky panky aside, brake pad materials and friction pad materials are very hazardous to health. those fellas use zero protective gear.. probably dont realise how harmful those materials are and get paid min wage while some big boss reap in the profits for these "recond" pads
SUSrtk74
post Jul 26 2022, 11:59 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(scoupe @ Jul 26 2022, 09:32 AM)
i never really drive hard downhill.. on regular drives downhill on genting and etc is fine especially the suprima being a pretty heavy car. if you plan to run high speed down hill then regular aftermarket brake pads wont cut it. You will need something with much higher temp ratings. 650c and above. prepare to fork out a much larger sum once you enter this category of pads. affordability is one, then there is availability problem as well. if your car is a popular enough car that people track often then shouldnt be a problem.
Need to replace brake fluid with hi-temp one as well
Not to mention upgrading rubber brake lines to steel braided ones
nick2011
post Jul 26 2022, 12:14 PM

23 posts

I just changed my pads to Bendix general CT. It's squeaking when I press my brakes hard. Is it normal?
SUSrtk74
post Jul 26 2022, 12:18 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(nick2011 @ Jul 26 2022, 12:14 PM)
I just changed my pads to Bendix general CT. It's squeaking when I press my brakes hard. Is it normal?
Need to bed in the brakes properly
Other than that, the person that changed it may not put grease on the backing plate
nick2011
post Jul 26 2022, 01:56 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Jul 26 2022, 12:18 PM)
Need to bed in the brakes properly
Other than that, the person that changed it may not put grease on the backing plate
Nah. He did apply grease on the back plate haha. Guess need to wait for break in
SUSrtk74
post Jul 26 2022, 01:58 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(nick2011 @ Jul 26 2022, 01:56 PM)
Nah. He did apply grease on the back plate haha. Guess need to wait for break in
Break in should be done by the shop tho
You can do it yourself, just need a quiet stretch of road
scoupe
post Jul 26 2022, 03:31 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Jul 26 2022, 11:59 AM)
true, dot 5.1 will work.. as for brake lines rubber will work fine. for added pedal feel and feedback cant beat the braided lines.
scoupe
post Jul 26 2022, 03:35 PM

93 posts

ive never used the ct series. i've used the titanium on my older cars way back then. These pads have metal particles. sometimes you do get some squeal. Although you do not need to bead them in, i generally bed all my pads in when i replace em just for that added satisfaction that it may help in the long run. Problem with the metallic based pads is sometimes using new pads with a used disc does generate some harmonics annoying i know but cant be helped. If u havent bedded em in you can try that. also check if ur disc is worn down to a point there is a ridge on the the edge, that too will cause a squeal
LA773
post Jul 27 2022, 01:56 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Jul 26 2022, 11:59 AM)
QUOTE(scoupe @ Jul 26 2022, 03:31 PM)
true, dot 5.1 will work.. as for brake lines rubber will work fine. for added pedal feel and feedback cant beat the braided lines.
If car manual says Dot3, we can go dot4 & 5?
SUSrtk74
post Jul 27 2022, 06:13 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jul 27 2022, 01:56 AM)
Ehhh, DOT4 is the maximum I'd go
5 should be 5.1 since 5 is not glycol based iinm
amscouzach57
post Jul 27 2022, 07:25 AM

525 posts

Ever tried Dixcel Extra Speed (ES)? They are 600°C rated pads.
amscouzach57
post Jul 27 2022, 07:26 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jul 27 2022, 01:56 AM)
DOT3, DOT4 & DOT5.1 are compatible.

Never go below the minimum manufacturer's requirement
LA773
post Jul 27 2022, 07:39 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Jul 27 2022, 06:13 AM)
Ehhh, DOT4 is the maximum I'd go
5 should be 5.1 since 5 is not glycol based iinm
Ohh ok
I normally change every 4-5 yrs, too long?
Most manufacturers would recommend 2 yrs, but i think not necessarily so frequent la

Touch wood, so far no problem
LA773
post Jul 27 2022, 07:41 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Jul 27 2022, 07:26 AM)
DOT3, DOT4 & DOT5.1 are compatible.

Never go below the minimum manufacturer's requirement
I heard higher numbers basically need to change more frequently cause it absorb moisture more
bo093
post Jul 27 2022, 08:58 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(scoupe @ Jul 26 2022, 09:32 AM)
I usually torture test brake pad to make sure their are up to task, is just a good feeling to know they work as they rated.
No way I can find 650c (that is properly rated) for Saga BLM. Bendix Ultimate is last choice before I make any brake upgrade.

Check the following in order,
-Bedding in of pads
-Disc is evenly worn (no lips on outer edge for pads to rub on)
-Pads shim
-Apply anti squeal on rear of pads
-Check caliper hardware
SUSrtk74
post Jul 27 2022, 09:37 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jul 27 2022, 07:39 AM)
Ohh ok
Most manufacturers would recommend 2 yrs, but i think not necessarily so frequent la

Anually should be best ekceli.
flushing brake fluid isn't that hard to do ownself.

Newer cars are harder though, you need to connect to a computer to do it properly (contis) dunno about japs
dares
post Jul 27 2022, 10:22 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Jul 27 2022, 09:37 AM)

Newer cars are harder though, you need to connect to a computer to do it properly (contis) dunno about japs
Using computer makes it easier, but not compulsory. You can still do it manually if needed.

It's just manufacturer wanting to standardize the process so service centers can just plug the car in and the software does the rest.
SUSrtk74
post Jul 27 2022, 10:29 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 27 2022, 10:22 AM)
Using computer makes it easier, but not compulsory. You can still do it manually if needed.

It's just manufacturer wanting to standardize the process so service centers can just plug the car in and the software does the rest.
if you want to bleed the abs pump as well need the ob2 comp tho
LA773
post Jul 27 2022, 04:58 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Jul 27 2022, 09:37 AM)

Really??
All of the few cars i hv used before, never do so frequent
My brother vios, even the toyota service center never ask to change, almost 3-4 yrs
SUSrtk74
post Jul 27 2022, 05:42 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jul 27 2022, 04:58 PM)
Really??
All of the few cars i hv used before, never do so frequent
My brother vios, even the toyota service center never ask to change, almost 3-4 yrs
What the heck.

proton & perodua are ~ every 2 years tho

nick2011
post Jul 27 2022, 05:50 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(bo093 @ Jul 27 2022, 08:58 AM)
I usually torture test brake pad to make sure their are up to task, is just a good feeling to know they work as they rated.
No way I can find 650c (that is properly rated) for Saga BLM. Bendix Ultimate is last choice before I make any brake upgrade.
-Bedding in of pads
-Pads shim
-Check caliper hardware
Thanks man. I will get a second opinion from another workshop
LA773
post Jul 27 2022, 06:07 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Jul 27 2022, 05:42 PM)
What the heck.

proton & perodua are ~ every 2 years tho

Ic
Means standard should be 2 yrs, then 3yrs or so should be ok since manufacturers service centre usually ask to service more frequently to make more money
Somehow the centre i go, so nice dint request to change, but maybe cause low mileage usage

SUSrtk74
post Jul 27 2022, 06:13 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jul 27 2022, 06:07 PM)
Ic
Means standard should be 2 yrs, then 3yrs or so should be ok since manufacturers service centre usually ask to service more frequently to make more money
Somehow the centre i go, so nice dint request to change, but maybe cause low mileage usage
Brakes aren't not just mileage lah

they absorbed water from the air and decreases it's boiling point.
Also, if you don't bleed it annually, might cause the brakes to be abit spongy

bleeding=/=fluid flush
ktek
post Jul 27 2022, 09:03 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

bleed is reducing air bubble rite
LA773
post Jul 27 2022, 09:05 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Jul 27 2022, 06:13 PM)
Brakes aren't not just mileage lah

they absorbed water from the air and decreases it's boiling point.
Also, if you don't bleed it annually, might cause the brakes to be abit spongy

bleeding=/=fluid flush
Allright, workshop this weekend it is
SUSrtk74
post Jul 27 2022, 09:25 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jul 27 2022, 09:05 PM)
Allright, workshop this weekend  it is
You can also check whether you brake fluid looks clear, yellow or shrek's piss
scoupe
post Jul 28 2022, 09:14 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jul 27 2022, 07:39 AM)
Ohh ok

i change mine every year.. simply because i drive hard alot and i do not want moisture in the system for too long. Thats how rust forms and brake caliper seizing happens
scoupe
post Jul 28 2022, 09:27 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(bo093 @ Jul 27 2022, 08:58 AM)
-Bedding in of pads
-Pads shim
-Check caliper hardware
for saga BLM yeah i doubt can find good aftermarket 650c one. saga being a pretty light car, you may not need 650c ones. probably also depends on driving style and i guess for downhill course if you have alot of speed bumps then not like u can have high turn in speed so u gotta be on the brakes alot. hope the ultimates work out for you.
SUSrtk74
post Jul 28 2022, 09:45 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(scoupe @ Jul 28 2022, 09:14 AM)
i change mine every year.. simply because i drive hard alot and i do not want moisture in the system for too long. Thats how rust forms and brake caliper seizing happens
Happen to me months ago, not the seizing issue but the bleeder valve got clogged by rust
Mavik
post Jul 28 2022, 09:49 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Anyone know who is the Endless brake pad distributor here in Klang Valley? I am looking for a pair for an old car and probably might have to get it brought in.
ayamxxx
post Jul 28 2022, 09:56 AM

4,033 posts

reading this thread make me wanna change my brake fluid, been a while on existing fluid
scoupe
post Jul 28 2022, 12:00 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Jul 28 2022, 09:45 AM)
Happen to me months ago, not the seizing issue but the bleeder valve got clogged by rust
time to flush out old fluids and hope no rust forming on the piston side of things
scoupe
post Jul 28 2022, 12:01 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 28 2022, 09:49 AM)
Anyone know who is the Endless brake pad distributor here in Klang Valley? I am looking for a pair for an old car and probably might have to get it brought in.
no idea whom is the official distributor.. for what car?
SUSrtk74
post Jul 28 2022, 12:21 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(scoupe @ Jul 28 2022, 12:00 PM)
time to flush out old fluids and hope no rust forming on the piston side of things
Overhauled both calipers ady biggrin.gif
amduser
post Jul 28 2022, 01:48 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jul 27 2022, 07:41 AM)
I heard higher numbers basically need to change more frequently cause it absorb moisture more
hitting the rated dry temp will deteriorate the fluid more than moisture, moisture absorption happen overtime and i cant really tell if higher DOT absorb faster or slower, i usually will change it when i feel spongy pedal since i frequently went racing with my car

this is why racing brake fluid has higher rated dry and wet temp, because it is the heat that kill the fluid and it can go as worst as pedal to the floor and the car barely stopping even though the brake pad still thick and not overheat yet
Mavik
post Jul 28 2022, 03:13 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(scoupe @ Jul 28 2022, 12:01 PM)
no idea whom is the official distributor.. for what car?
BMW E90, looking for the MX72 pads
SUSrtk74
post Jul 28 2022, 03:40 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 28 2022, 01:48 PM)
hitting the rated dry temp will deteriorate the fluid more than moisture, moisture absorption happen overtime and i cant really tell if higher DOT absorb faster or slower, i usually will change it when i feel spongy pedal since i frequently went racing with my car

this is why racing brake fluid has higher rated dry and wet temp, because it is the heat that kill the fluid and it can go as worst as pedal to the floor and the car barely stopping even though the brake pad still thick and not overheat yet
Your pads plays a role as well since they're cooking with racing
scoupe
post Jul 28 2022, 04:04 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 28 2022, 03:13 PM)
BMW E90, looking for the MX72 pads
sorry bro, unfortunately i have no experience with beemers. not sure where you can find em.
LA773
post Jul 28 2022, 05:19 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Jul 27 2022, 09:25 PM)
3-4 yrs, confirm no clear fluid d
LA773
post Jul 28 2022, 05:21 PM

1,063 posts

Actually only from this thread i learn that got ppl change this frequent 😂
Probably ill go for 2 years, since im a polite driver 😁
LA773
post Jul 28 2022, 05:25 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Jul 27 2022, 09:25 PM)
Side topic, how bout steering fluid?

Mine all oils i change during major service, thats 4-5 yrs
So, easy for me to remember

But recently seems like many oil or fluid stuff change , tends to be recommended more frequently than wat i practice
SUSrtk74
post Jul 28 2022, 06:27 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jul 28 2022, 05:25 PM)

But recently seems like many oil or fluid stuff change , tends to be recommended more frequently than wat i practice
I inspect every month,

It depends what car your drive also. New would be clear, but some car uses ATF as steering fluid.

If it starts clear, I would replace when its darkish or 2 years

If it starts red, same as above actually
BelaCHAN
post Jul 28 2022, 06:45 PM

579 posts

Bendix. Nuff said.
scoupe
post Jul 29 2022, 10:27 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jul 28 2022, 05:21 PM)
Actually only from this thread i learn that got ppl change this frequent 😂
Probably ill go for 2 years, since im a polite driver 😁
just make sure they flush it thru the system.. ive seen many shops that suck out at the reservoir and refill jer which makes no sense cause the old stuff is still in the lines
scoupe
post Jul 29 2022, 10:32 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jul 28 2022, 05:25 PM)

really depends on how anal you are with things la... power steering fluid i also flush out yearly together with coolants. My cvt fluid i chuck out every 20k km and change the filter every 40k km.. then thers the AC refrigerant and compressor oils. That one 2 year once change drier and refresh it for me.
LA773
post Jul 29 2022, 09:05 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(scoupe @ Jul 29 2022, 10:32 AM)
really depends on how anal you are with things la... power steering fluid i also flush out yearly together with coolants. My cvt fluid i chuck out every 20k km and change the filter every 40k km.. then thers the AC refrigerant and compressor oils. That one 2 year once change drier and refresh it for me.
Also yearly? 😂
Conmpared to me 4-5 yrs only change... Luckily not much issue so far after driving this car for 15 yrs

bo093
post Jul 30 2022, 01:50 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(scoupe @ Jul 29 2022, 10:27 AM)
just make sure they flush it thru the system.. ive seen many shops that  suck out at the reservoir and refill jer which makes no sense cause the old stuff is still in the lines
best part, they even charged as they flush/bleed the old fluid out. laugh.gif
that's why i do it myself.
HalseyFrangipane
post Sep 24 2022, 11:41 PM

503 posts

Any pad recommendations for E46 325i?

I replaced front pads with genuine BMW and Zimmerman for the discs, rear pads and discs are both genuine BMW as well.

The front pads only lasted 18k km, and brake fade happens quite often on touge runs too.
tctham
post Nov 2 2022, 10:55 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(BelaCHAN @ Jul 28 2022, 06:45 PM)
Bendix. Nuff said.
but i thought people say bendix metal king will wear down the disc faster than usual?
ayamxxx
post Nov 2 2022, 10:57 AM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ Nov 2 2022, 10:55 AM)
but i thought people say bendix metal king will wear down the disc faster than usual?
4 cycles with TRW red brake pad, still make my disc ok. Mileage hitting 200k now
BelaCHAN
post Nov 2 2022, 09:39 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ Nov 2 2022, 10:55 AM)
So? You change brake pad cause you want to stop when you want to stop, or you want to save money? =D

Anyhow, the General CT series should be OE quality without breaking the bank.

MKT is for those who want higher braking capabilities while sacrificing disc lifespan
(for the performance increase, a fair trade if i do say so myself).

e-lite
post Nov 2 2022, 09:58 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(BelaCHAN @ Nov 2 2022, 09:39 PM)
So? You change brake pad cause you want to stop when you want to stop, or you want to save money? =D

MKT is for those who want higher braking capabilities while sacrificing disc lifespan
Can consider trestor also. I think bendix malaysia and trestor manufactured by the same company. But performance wise, I don't have any facts to back it
ayamxxx
post Nov 3 2022, 06:18 AM

4,033 posts

the only comment on the aftermarket pad vs factory stock, it will get more brake dust vs stock. normal?
tctham
post Nov 3 2022, 09:34 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(BelaCHAN @ Nov 2 2022, 09:39 PM)

just worry parts availability for old cars. but i think common cars should not be a problem.. i think the household car has been driven for 12 years without ever changing the rotors before.
blek
post Nov 6 2023, 07:20 AM

718 posts

Hi guys,
Changing my alza 1st gen rotor and pad

Im comparing between Bosch and TRW rotor and pad.

Is Bosch better? since many fake TRW in market
ayamxxx
post Nov 6 2023, 08:14 AM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(blek @ Nov 6 2023, 07:20 AM)
Hi guys,

Any both as long as original
GamersFamilia
post Nov 6 2023, 08:57 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

Hi guys,

both good , if you in doubt with trw , go for bosch
blek
post Nov 6 2023, 07:44 PM

718 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Nov 6 2023, 08:14 AM)
Any both as long as original
QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Nov 6 2023, 08:57 AM)
both good , if you in doubt with trw , go for bosch
I read some good reviews on TRW dtec pad but not any review on Bosch. That's y TRW interest me.

Both around the same price.
SUSrtk74
post Nov 6 2023, 10:46 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

Hi guys,

Used bosch before on 2k camry for fronts
they heat up and become spongy at a place like going down from cameron highlands
GamersFamilia
post Nov 7 2023, 06:21 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

QUOTE(blek @ Nov 6 2023, 07:44 PM)
I read some good reviews on TRW dtec pad but not any review on Bosch. That's y TRW interest me.

Both around the same price.
noted , just make sure you buy a original trw product , me myself had no idea how to spot fake trw product
r3d2
post Nov 7 2023, 06:41 AM

237 posts

I bought online ceramic brake pad for less than RM100, works better than my original pad. no noise and good bite
blek
post Nov 7 2023, 07:29 AM

718 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Nov 7 2023, 06:21 AM)
noted , just make sure you buy a original trw product , me myself had no idea how to spot fake trw product
thats challenging part, i found bosch autopart store in lazada but not TRW store
blek
post Nov 7 2023, 07:31 AM

718 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Nov 6 2023, 10:46 PM)
Used bosch before on 2k camry for fronts
they heat up and become spongy at a place like going down from cameron highlands
thats sad, so bosch premium price doesnt increase brake performance?
ayamxxx
post Nov 7 2023, 10:08 AM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(blek @ Nov 7 2023, 07:29 AM)
thats challenging part, i found bosch autopart store in lazada but not  TRW store
I sent mine to Auto Marquess PJ for pad replacement since 2018

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Nov 7 2023, 10:08 AM
GamersFamilia
post Nov 7 2023, 03:28 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

QUOTE(blek @ Nov 7 2023, 07:29 AM)
thats challenging part, i found bosch autopart store in lazada but not  TRW store
even in shopee , they don't have trw official store sweat.gif
SUSrtk74
post Nov 7 2023, 04:46 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(blek @ Nov 7 2023, 07:31 AM)
thats sad, so bosch premium price doesnt increase brake performance?
Ror RtK la
Try Trestor Advantage blue
abit pricey but still cheaper than japanese ori

Stay away from Thai ori. For hongda it's shitty

Other than that original akebono's are good and worth the price

This post has been edited by rtk74: Nov 7 2023, 04:49 PM
jeffchuaa
post Feb 4 2024, 01:02 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(r3d2 @ Nov 7 2023, 06:41 AM)
I bought online ceramic brake pad for less than RM100, works better than my original pad. no noise and good bite
mind telling which brand so we can have a look? going to have mine changed in weeks.
amscouzach57
post Feb 4 2024, 09:16 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Nov 7 2023, 04:46 PM)
Ror RtK la

I can vouch for Trestor Advantage Blue brake pads.

I'm using it right now on my Persona.

I can say that they are the best OE replacement brake pads that I have ever used on my Persona.

Dusty AF (same could be said for Brembo OE & TRW DTEC); but the bite is superb (better than stock, Brembo & TRW).

Use it in combo with competent grip tires, you are good to go
ktek
post Feb 4 2024, 11:33 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Feb 4 2024, 09:16 PM)
I can vouch for Trestor Advantage Blue brake pads.

I'm using it right now on my Persona.

I can say that they are the best OE replacement brake pads that I have ever used on my Persona.

Dusty AF (same could be said for Brembo OE & TRW DTEC); but the bite is superb (better than stock, Brembo & TRW).

Use it in combo with competent grip tires, you are good to go
got recommend drum edition?
mvyi 2 disc 2drums
bo093
post Feb 5 2024, 07:40 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 4 2024, 11:33 PM)
mvyi 2 disc 2drums
i recommend trestor for drums.
littlefire
post Feb 5 2024, 08:00 AM

2,712 posts

Trestor is the same OEM factory as Bendix in Thailand. Not bad for the value they sell, can consider cheaper option for Bendix.
bo093
post Feb 5 2024, 09:39 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Feb 5 2024, 08:00 AM)
Trestor is the same OEM factory as Bendix in Thailand. Not bad for the value they sell, can consider cheaper option for Bendix.
Same factory but different formulation.
Tried both troughout the ownership of my Saga BLM.

Trestor definitely have the better value.
constant_weight
post Feb 5 2024, 10:48 AM

916 posts

Dixcel Z Type vs Endless MX-72 Plus for street use any feedback?

OEM brake pad already rated HH (meaning friction rated 0.55 cold temp and 400C), so they are overkilled for most street car but simply matching my OEM pad's friction.

ayamxxx
post Feb 5 2024, 12:25 PM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Feb 5 2024, 08:00 AM)
Brembo pad even bought shopee mall, many complaining it juddering after sometime
littlefire
post Feb 5 2024, 02:47 PM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 5 2024, 01:25 PM)
Brembo pad even bought shopee mall, many complaining it juddering after sometime
Need to look into Brembo pads model & description, some pads are design to match with their rotors.
Teutonic Knight
post Feb 5 2024, 02:56 PM

83 posts

I am a newbie here. Can help advise and recommend a durable, effective and less rust brake pad for 2012 Altis 1.8e model? Together with the price range. Thank you.

littlefire
post Feb 5 2024, 03:29 PM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(Teutonic Knight @ Feb 5 2024, 03:56 PM)
I am a newbie here. Can help advise and recommend a durable, effective and less rust brake pad for 2012 Altis 1.8e model? Together with the price range. Thank you.
You want less dust just buy back original pads from Toyota.
Teutonic Knight
post Feb 5 2024, 04:24 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Feb 5 2024, 03:29 PM)
You want less dust just buy back original pads from Toyota.
Isn't it more expensive comparing to outside? I am looking to explore different brands like akebono etc.
amscouzach57
post Feb 5 2024, 04:29 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 4 2024, 11:33 PM)
mvyi 2 disc 2drums
Trestor deluxe organic red
eddievh
post Feb 6 2024, 02:44 AM

3,218 posts

QUOTE(Teutonic Knight @ Feb 5 2024, 02:56 PM)
I'm driving same car with you. Right now i am using fbk yellow box both front and rear. Cheap and good. Slightly more dusty than factory Advics pad. But coefficients of friction much better than Advics.
littlefire
post Feb 6 2024, 09:03 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(Teutonic Knight @ Feb 5 2024, 05:24 PM)
Isn't it more expensive comparing to outside? I am looking to explore different brands like akebono etc.
Want less dust, less issue = Original

Buy aftermarket is your own risk loo..
ayamxxx
post Feb 6 2024, 11:13 AM

4,033 posts

If it is Honda Malaysia car, please skip the stock pad whicb SC sold it at rm700/pair. It made in Thai and will juddering after a while. Any aftermarket brakepad is better than Made in Thai Honda brakepad
GamersFamilia
post Feb 6 2024, 01:37 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

use toyota original brake pad
unitron
post Feb 7 2024, 09:28 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

I'm happy with my Bendix general CT for my Accord. Purchased from Shopee for like RM 100.

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 6 2024, 11:13 AM)
If it is Honda Malaysia car, please skip the stock pad whicb SC sold it at rm700/pair. It made in Thai and will juddering after a while. Any aftermarket brakepad is better than Made in Thai Honda brakepad
That's crazy overpriced... i can get Honda pads for like RM 90 - 120. Dunno original or fake, but i've used it also and I don't find any issue.
So maybe it's original.. and if it's fake and perform the same, then no concern lor.
senscents
post Feb 16 2024, 08:36 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Nov 7 2023, 04:46 PM)
Ror RtK la

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Feb 5 2024, 10:48 AM)
Dixcel Z Type vs Endless MX-72 Plus for street use any feedback?

OEM brake pad already rated HH (meaning friction rated 0.55 cold temp and 400C), so they are overkilled for most street car but simply matching my OEM pad's friction.
What did you guys tried?
I'm about to change my brake pad and looking for a better bite/stopping distance. Currently using the normal brembo pad, it's not as good as expected 😑
Does a higher friction coefficient leads to a better stopping?
cash_woo
post Mar 7 2024, 09:04 AM

i looked into Trestor web page and there were 3 products:

- Red DELUXE ORGANIC
- Green METALLIC PLUS
- Blue ADVANTAGE

Which is better in terms of stopping power and low dust? pls advise. thx.

littlefire
post Mar 7 2024, 11:41 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Feb 16 2024, 09:36 PM)
What did you guys tried?
I'm about to change my brake pad and looking for a better bite/stopping distance. Currently using the normal brembo pad, it's not as good as expected 😑
Does a higher friction coefficient leads to a better stopping?
Most of the time middle range brake pads with proper tires do a lot better. For normal daily drive it is better to use a lower friction pad.
Brembo certain pads need to match with their performance rotors/disc, if not better just buy common brands for original rotors/disc usage.
SUSrtk74
post Mar 7 2024, 04:54 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(cash_woo @ Mar 7 2024, 09:04 AM)

- Red DELUXE ORGANIC
- Green METALLIC PLUS
- Blue ADVANTAGE

Blue > green > red
cash_woo
post Mar 8 2024, 12:49 PM

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Mar 7 2024, 04:54 PM)
Blue > green > red
Thanks thumbsup.gif
kyogre
post Mar 8 2024, 01:42 PM

217 posts

Hi sifus, newb here.

Looking to change my king myvi 1st gen brake disc + pad really soon. Started screeching & previously, mechanic advised to change disc already (coz not rata & already skimmed before).

Current contenders,
1. Bosch
+official shopee shop
+rm160
+can store pickup
+read somewhere in lyn gooding brand

2. Brembo
+official shopee shop
+rm270
+read in lyn gooding osi

3. trw
+prefered shopee shop (sparepartman)
+rm160
+read in lyn gooding but also to avoid (??)

So sifus, please advise brand to get. Daily 1hr kl driving. Budget 300 max, raya nearing huhu. trusted seller offline/online only pls coz too many fakes now T-T

Thnks in advance:)

This post has been edited by kyogre: Mar 8 2024, 01:43 PM
ayamxxx
post Mar 8 2024, 01:59 PM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(kyogre @ Mar 8 2024, 01:42 PM)
Hi sifus, newb here.

Looking to change my king myvi 1st gen brake disc + pad really soon. Started screeching & previously, mechanic  advised to change disc already (coz not rata & already skimmed before).

Current contenders,
1. Bosch
+official shopee shop
+rm160
+can store pickup
+read somewhere in lyn gooding brand

2. Brembo
+official shopee shop
+rm270
+read in lyn gooding osi

3. trw
+prefered shopee shop (sparepartman)
+rm160
+read in lyn gooding but also to avoid (??)

So sifus, please advise brand to get. Daily 1hr kl driving. Budget 300 max, raya nearing huhu. trusted seller offline/online only pls coz too many fakes now T-T

Thnks in advance:)
I use no 3 and only send it replaced at Auto Marques PJ. Reason total price including installation is cheaper than purchase online + installation fees. Never use other brand for all my cars
amscouzach57
post Mar 9 2024, 10:57 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(cash_woo @ Mar 7 2024, 09:04 AM)

- Red DELUXE ORGANIC
- Green METALLIC PLUS
- Blue ADVANTAGE

Blue has the best stopping power, however with most dust.

No such thing as excellent stopping power with low dust.

Low dust pads are usually either have low or just decent stopping power

This post has been edited by amscouzach57: Mar 9 2024, 11:12 PM
cash_woo
post Mar 11 2024, 08:43 AM

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Mar 9 2024, 10:57 PM)
Blue has the best stopping power, however with most dust.

No such thing as excellent stopping power with low dust.

Low dust pads are usually either have low or just decent stopping power
you are absolutely correct thumbup.gif

because my current ride was using Bendix Metal King... when heavy breaking in highway seems the stopping power is not there, sad.gif so decide to change other brand.
Balanced
post Mar 11 2024, 10:41 AM

874 posts

I am going for TRW DTec for my honda integra Dc5 type R brembo front brakes.

Reason:
1. Good grip - using it at my car rear brake pads now. Same grip as the original nissin brake pads
2. Less dust and no squeaks
3. Relatively cheap
4. Atec brake pads rated at 0-500C. So dtec should be the same or higher.
amscouzach57
post Mar 11 2024, 11:13 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(cash_woo @ Mar 11 2024, 08:43 AM)
you are absolutely correct  thumbup.gif

because my current ride was using Bendix Metal King... when heavy breaking in highway seems the stopping power is not there,  sad.gif  so decide to change other brand.
If got your car size, you can try Bendix Ultimate, a higher tier product from Bendix.
cash_woo
post Mar 11 2024, 12:06 PM

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Mar 11 2024, 11:13 AM)
If got your car size, you can try Bendix Ultimate, a higher tier product from Bendix.
Thanks for the advise notworthy.gif
ktek
post Mar 11 2024, 04:00 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Mar 7 2024, 04:54 PM)
Blue > green > red

i baru pm trestor shoppe. he told me:
Trestor Advantage is GF
Maximum continuous working temperature is 550 degree C

QUOTE(cash_woo @ Mar 11 2024, 12:06 PM)
Thanks for the advise  notworthy.gif
i give up bendix after mkt. useless
cash_woo
post Mar 11 2024, 04:51 PM

Bendix Metal King i used not so good in terms of stopping power and it generated noises.

yet to test on Bendix Ultimate, TSW & Trestor

GamersFamilia
post Mar 11 2024, 04:59 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

i just use FBK brake pad for my acv30 camry , recently changed FBK brake disc rotor and pads
ayamxxx
post Mar 11 2024, 05:17 PM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Mar 11 2024, 04:59 PM)
i just use FBK brake pad for my acv30 camry , recently changed FBK brake disc rotor and pads
at which mileage ya? my car hit 240k km, maybe also need disc replacement.
GamersFamilia
post Mar 11 2024, 07:48 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Mar 11 2024, 05:17 PM)
at which mileage ya? my car hit 240k km, maybe also need disc replacement.
currently mine already 378 000km++ changed front disc rotor FBK and FBK brake pads ( front ) , rear remain trw disc rotor and bendix metal king brake pads ( rear ) ..

previously at 265 000++ km , forgot the actual mileage ; all 4 wheels changed to trw disc rotor + bendix metal king brakepads ; but on december 2023 when i press the brake , super noisy metal sound from the front tyre ; bring to the workshop they said the front rotor need to change to new one including the brake pads ; thats how the front now using FBK disc rotor and FBK brakepads
bo093
post Mar 11 2024, 08:29 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(cash_woo @ Mar 11 2024, 04:51 PM)
Bendix Metal King i used not so good in terms of stopping power and it generated noises. 

My advice on Bendix Ultimate, if you can warm up the brakes and require higher working temp range.
Then buy it, as is only good if it get temps in it.
It works when cold but need to press harder.
Dangerous if the car is shared.
ktek
post Mar 11 2024, 08:32 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Mar 11 2024, 07:48 PM)
currently mine already 378 000km++  changed front disc rotor FBK and FBK brake pads ( front ) , rear remain trw disc rotor and bendix metal king brake pads ( rear ) ..

previously at 265 000++ km , forgot the actual mileage ; all 4 wheels changed to trw disc rotor + bendix metal king brakepads ; but on december 2023 when i press the brake , super noisy metal sound from the front tyre ; bring to the workshop they said the front rotor need to change to new one including the brake pads ; thats how the front now using FBK disc rotor and FBK brakepads
izit pad rubbing rotor inner edge
GamersFamilia
post Mar 11 2024, 08:34 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 11 2024, 08:32 PM)
izit pad rubbing rotor inner edge
not sure but the mechanic told me the rotor cannot be skim anymore , especially the front right , the front left seems okey .. but i changed a pair left and right front
cash_woo
post Mar 12 2024, 07:25 AM

QUOTE(bo093 @ Mar 11 2024, 08:29 PM)
My advice on Bendix Ultimate, if you can warm up the brakes and require higher working temp range.
Then buy it, as is only good if it get temps in it.
It works when cold but need to press harder.
Dangerous if the car is shared.
info noted thumbsup.gif

mojo1ne
post Mar 15 2024, 04:51 PM

62 posts

Asuki on Shopee is actually quite good. I am using it on my XV front. Not much dust. Bite is good. And downhill also not much brake fade.

kelvyn
post Mar 15 2024, 09:50 PM

3,173 posts

Hi guys,

Does anyone know where i can get Akebono Pro-Act brake pads?
Searched in Shopee and other sources. All don't have this..
Balanced
post Mar 16 2024, 12:42 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(mojo1ne @ Mar 15 2024, 04:51 PM)
Asuki on Shopee is actually quite good. I am using it on my XV front. Not much dust. Bite is good. And downhill also not much brake fade.
I was choosing between asuki and TRW dtec for my honda integra dc5 brembo disk brake.
Finally bought trw. Satisfied! Grip is good, no squeaks and less dusty too
mojo1ne
post Mar 16 2024, 05:48 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Mar 15 2024, 09:50 PM)
Hi guys,

Does anyone know where i can get Akebono Pro-Act brake pads?
Searched in Shopee and other sources. All don't have this..
I think Akebono need buy from japan. Can try amazon jp.

GamersFamilia
post Mar 16 2024, 01:26 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Mar 16 2024, 12:42 AM)
I was choosing between asuki and TRW dtec for my honda integra dc5 brembo disk brake.
Finally bought trw. Satisfied! Grip is good, no squeaks and less dusty too
actually trw brakepads better then bendix , previously been use this 2 brands for my camry , somehow i feel trw is better then bendix
marvinben
post Mar 16 2024, 01:30 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(cash_woo @ Mar 11 2024, 04:51 PM)

Can confirm this, I use metal king on my hilux, braking from cold really have no bite. But when it's piping hot, grip like no tomorrow. Not suitable for street use.
Balanced
post Mar 16 2024, 01:33 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Mar 16 2024, 01:26 PM)
actually trw brakepads better then bendix , previously been use this 2 brands for my camry , somehow i feel trw is better then bendix
Yeah i tried rear first. Since its good only i bought front set haha
GamersFamilia
post Mar 16 2024, 01:42 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Mar 16 2024, 01:33 PM)
Yeah i tried rear first. Since its good only i bought front set haha
that's good laugh.gif , even the disc rotor also good ( trw )
Balanced
post Mar 16 2024, 01:49 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Mar 16 2024, 01:42 PM)
that's good  laugh.gif , even the disc rotor also good ( trw )
Yeah. I am surprised less people are recommending trw since its good. I guess the atec version is too bad? Because workshop usually recommends the cheaper atec version
GamersFamilia
post Mar 16 2024, 02:07 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Mar 16 2024, 01:49 PM)
Yeah. I am surprised less people are recommending trw since its good. I guess the atec version is too bad? Because workshop usually recommends the cheaper atec version
not bad at all , may be they got more profit from the cheaper version
ayamxxx
post Mar 16 2024, 03:06 PM

4,033 posts

Trw red pad user since 2018
GamersFamilia
post Mar 16 2024, 05:53 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

somehow bendix brake pad also will produced lots of dust , previously used bendix brake pads , front wheel rim will be lots of dust on it
eddievh
post Mar 19 2024, 12:12 AM

3,218 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Mar 16 2024, 05:53 PM)
somehow bendix brake pad also will produced lots of dust , previously used bendix brake pads , front wheel rim will be lots of dust on it
Which model? Metal king?
GamersFamilia
post Mar 19 2024, 12:10 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Mar 19 2024, 12:12 AM)
Which model? Metal king?
forgot which model , if not mistaken metal king hmm.gif
BoonieTan
post Mar 25 2024, 10:40 AM

515 posts

What would be a good brake system for Axia?

Wanted something that's more sensitive than the stock brake. Shorter braking distance.
eddievh
post Mar 25 2024, 12:22 PM

3,218 posts

QUOTE(BoonieTan @ Mar 25 2024, 10:40 AM)

Wanted something that's more sensitive than the stock brake. Shorter braking distance.
Trestor advantage or Fbk yellow box
amscouzach57
post Mar 25 2024, 01:28 PM

525 posts

Better brake pads, better grip tires, DOT4 brake fluid
SUSrtk74
post Mar 27 2024, 10:16 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

If you want, you can replace stock calipers
ktek
post Mar 28 2024, 07:22 AM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

adjust drum brake first. many workshop skipped it
GamersFamilia
post Mar 28 2024, 02:08 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

brembo brake pad for the front and brembo brake shoe for the rear , use dot 4 brake oil ( before that kindly do brake flushing )

make sure adjust the drum brake for the rear wink.gif
JON97
post Jun 27 2024, 02:18 PM

341 posts

Looking to get new brake pad.

Currently using, Honda Original that comes with my HRV 2017. I saw the caliper is from Nissin. Not sure if the brake pad is Nissin or Akebono.

Option 1:
Hingan, F -RM430, R -RM360. Not sure made where and what brand.

Option 2:
Nissin From a popular WS: F -RM380, R -RM350. Made in Japan. Include installation.

So let's say my ori Honda is Nissin. Is there any difference if I go with option 2 Eg: longevity, dust, stopping distance?

Also anyone know where else I can get 100% Original Nissin Brake Pads?

This post has been edited by JON97: Jun 27 2024, 02:19 PM
littlefire
post Jun 27 2024, 03:42 PM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Jun 27 2024, 03:18 PM)
Looking to get new brake pad.

Currently using, Honda Original that comes with my HRV 2017. I saw the caliper is from Nissin. Not sure if the brake pad is Nissin or Akebono.

Option 1:
Hingan, F -RM430, R -RM360. Not sure made where and what brand.

Option 2:
Nissin From a popular WS: F -RM380, R -RM350. Made in Japan. Include installation.

So let's say my ori Honda is Nissin. Is there any difference if I go with option 2 Eg: longevity, dust, stopping distance?

Also anyone know where else I can get 100% Original Nissin Brake Pads?
There is no perfect brake pads, if you want longevity and less dust get Ceramic type brake pads :- Akebono, but you sacrifice stopping distance
Bendix also got Ceramic type brake pads under GCT model. I am using it on my smaller rides and the wear & dust is very minimal, similar to Akebono.

If want better stopping distance, get Semi-Metallic brake pads example like Bendix Metal King/Ultimate, Trestor Blue Advantage, but you will gain more dust and higher wear for both rotor and pads compare to Ceramic type brake pads.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jun 27 2024, 03:42 PM
JON97
post Sep 10 2024, 12:41 PM

341 posts

Has anyone tried Works Engineering Ceramic Pads or should I go for TRW DTEC?

Want something better than stock honda and won't makan disk too fast.

https://www.worksengineering.co/collections...5-2013--front--
ayamxxx
post Sep 10 2024, 12:59 PM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Sep 10 2024, 12:41 PM)

I'm with this since 2018 up till now
nick2011
post Sep 10 2024, 01:39 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 10 2024, 12:59 PM)
Using this too
Balanced
post Sep 10 2024, 11:31 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Sep 10 2024, 12:41 PM)

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 10 2024, 12:59 PM)
QUOTE(nick2011 @ Sep 10 2024, 01:39 PM)
Using this too
I was using ori brembo brakepads. A lot of dust and i switched to trw dtec. At first I thought the braking was good because i was not aggressively braking. However when i do test it aggressively, i this dtec felt a bit spongy and braking was not as good as the brembo brakepads.
Now im looking to switch back to either brembo or somethg better with less dust.
Dixcel?
JON97
post Sep 11 2024, 12:16 AM

341 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Sep 10 2024, 11:31 PM)
I was using ori brembo brakepads. A lot of dust and i switched to trw dtec. At first I thought the braking was good because i was not aggressively braking. However when i do test it aggressively, i this dtec felt a bit spongy and braking was not as good as the brembo brakepads.
Now im looking to switch back to either brembo or somethg better with less dust.
Dixcel?
Brembo ceramic or those performance kind? TRW Dtec is more meant for normal everyday use.
Balanced
post Sep 11 2024, 12:26 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Sep 11 2024, 12:16 AM)
Brembo ceramic or those performance kind? TRW Dtec is more meant for normal everyday use.
Oh i get it. My ori brembo pads are semi metallic with lots of dust.
Brembo 4 pot, used on honda integra DC5 type R.

This post has been edited by Balanced: Sep 11 2024, 12:29 AM
amscouzach57
post Sep 11 2024, 03:48 AM

525 posts

Dixcel?
The pads with good braking power are usually dusty.

You can try Dixcel ES or Bendix Ultimate
ayamxxx
post Sep 11 2024, 10:47 AM

4,033 posts

Dixcel?
Used TRW dtec mainly cz stock Honda brakepad is junk, always juddering down Karak highway. 2nd affordable value, no juddering, dust I believe is less.

Brembo, few buddies told too many fake on market, need to find genuine seller. If it me, shopee mall only.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Sep 11 2024, 10:47 AM
ayamxxx
post Sep 11 2024, 10:48 AM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Sep 11 2024, 03:48 AM)

Ok? Much cheaper on shopee mall vs other brand.
amscouzach57
post Sep 11 2024, 07:31 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 11 2024, 10:48 AM)
Ok? Much cheaper on shopee mall vs other brand.
It's in my wishlist. Some member reviewed that that pads need to be heated to perform as intended.

It will be my next pad after my current pad is due.
ayamxxx
post Sep 11 2024, 07:53 PM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Sep 11 2024, 07:31 PM)
It's in my wishlist. Some member reviewed that that pads need to be heated to perform as intended.

Last time almost bought this, cz cheap by lot. But my mind keep scared gegar when brake, so hold. Ok add to cart now
minizian
post Sep 11 2024, 11:11 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Sep 11 2024, 03:48 AM)

I asked about buying few of these for my Iriz for track use with the local rep whom carry bendix in malaysia and was told need to wait at least 3/4 month for it lol shocking.gif

Not sure what other alternative I have especially for track use, the stock pad was not bad but at 300 bucks for one set is a little bit painful as it wore out very fast especially 4 hours of track day icon_question.gif

Not sure what other alternative I have since Iriz brake pad size is not common and I don't intend to change the brake system too.

This post has been edited by minizian: Sep 11 2024, 11:17 PM
JON97
post Sep 12 2024, 12:46 AM

341 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 11 2024, 10:47 AM)
Used TRW dtec mainly cz stock Honda brakepad is junk, always juddering down Karak highway. 2nd affordable value, no juddering, dust I believe is less.

Brembo, few buddies told too many fake on market, need to find genuine seller. If it me, shopee mall only.
My Honda brake pad feels fine maybe because its ORI that came with the car from factory? But yea next service need to replace pads so looking for something better. As Hingan pads don't know from where.. I heard front is from China the rear from Italy?
JON97
post Sep 12 2024, 12:50 AM

341 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Sep 11 2024, 07:31 PM)

If you are not those touge kind or like to race. Normal ceramic pads will do. Also, Dixcel ES & Bendix Ultimate or Performance Kind will eat your brake disk.
ayamxxx
post Sep 12 2024, 12:55 AM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Sep 12 2024, 12:46 AM)
My Honda brake pad feels fine maybe because its ORI that came with the car from factory? But yea next service need to replace pads so looking for something better. As Hingan pads don't know from where.. I heard front is from China the rear from Italy?
If u change pad at Honda SC, standby rm700+/pair. Long time ago at rm650/pair. If it good, ok, but It's not. After few months on that pad, it start juddering at high speed braking. Return to SC, will ask to skim rotor again and again if under warranty.
amscouzach57
post Sep 12 2024, 09:22 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Sep 12 2024, 12:50 AM)
If you are not those touge kind or like to race. Normal ceramic pads will do. Also, Dixcel ES & Bendix Ultimate or Performance Kind will eat your brake disk.
I don't mind, it's an acceptable compromise. I'll just replace the rotors when needed.

My car has high torque, so the normal pads is not good enough for competent braking.
Quazacolt
post Sep 12 2024, 10:19 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Sep 12 2024, 12:50 AM)
Dixcel ES will eat your brake disk.
Nope.

Dixcel ES is primarily organic instead of metallic.
I'm almost finishing a set of fronts (rears still got 40-50% left) in just a year.
dwRK
post Sep 12 2024, 10:43 AM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Sep 12 2024, 09:22 AM)
I don't mind, it's an acceptable compromise. I'll just replace the rotors when needed.

My car has high torque, so the normal pads is not good enough for competent braking.
torque has no influence on braking... weight of the car has...

amscouzach57
post Sep 12 2024, 10:51 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 12 2024, 10:43 AM)
torque has no influence on braking... weight of the car has...
You are right, but because the car has high torque, I tend to drive faster easily most of the time, which affects braking when my car is already 1.6 tonnes in weight.

This post has been edited by amscouzach57: Sep 12 2024, 08:42 PM
pillage2001
post Sep 12 2024, 03:41 PM

1,990 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Sep 12 2024, 12:46 AM)
Can check with William from Hingan on where the pads come from. typically it's either Japan or China. I usually take the Nissin ones from him. So far it's been great at half the cost from SC.
ayamxxx
post Sep 12 2024, 04:14 PM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Sep 12 2024, 03:41 PM)
Can check with William from Hingan on where the pads come from. typically it's either Japan or China. I usually take the Nissin ones from him. So far it's been great at half the cost from SC.
Hingan also dont take the one made in Thai as per SC. That one the worst cz make the steering vibrates at high braking
JON97
post Sep 12 2024, 06:59 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Sep 12 2024, 03:41 PM)
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 12 2024, 04:14 PM)
Hingan also dont take the one made in Thai as per SC. That one the worst cz make the steering vibrates at high braking
They used to take from Thai but they stopped.

Not all Honda pads Hingan sell is nissin? 🤔🤔.

This post has been edited by JON97: Sep 12 2024, 07:00 PM
GamersFamilia
post Sep 12 2024, 08:27 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

Brembo brake pad got fake one aaah?
amscouzach57
post Sep 12 2024, 08:42 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Sep 12 2024, 08:27 PM)
Brembo brake pad got fake one aaah?
Yes.

You can immediately recognise it by the packaging.
GamersFamilia
post Sep 13 2024, 01:35 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Sep 12 2024, 08:42 PM)
Yes.

You can immediately recognise it by the packaging.
Ok i will google on how to spot fake brembo brake pads
pillage2001
post Sep 13 2024, 02:55 PM

1,990 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Sep 12 2024, 06:59 PM)
They used to take from Thai but they stopped.

Not all Honda pads Hingan sell is nissin? 🤔🤔.
I usually ask for Nissin straight up. It should be from Japan.
constant_weight
post Sep 13 2024, 06:04 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 12 2024, 10:19 AM)
Nope.

Dixcel ES is primarily organic instead of metallic.
I'm almost finishing a set of fronts (rears still got 40-50% left) in just a year.
How much mileage in the year?
How is the behaviour? From the website pressure chart, the friction seems to be pretty linear.

I'm look looking at Z type for a while. I want stronger brake during low pressure/shallow pedal.

Z type has slightly stronger initial bite low brake pressure at mid/low speed than ES. Average friction is similar with my OE pads.

The ori pads fiction is HH rated (0.5u+ for both low temp and 400C+), performance after market option for my car is almost non-exist.
Either too less friction or never make one for my car. Z type is the rare odd.

Quazacolt
post Sep 14 2024, 07:53 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Sep 13 2024, 06:04 PM)
How much mileage in the year?
How is the behaviour? From the website pressure chart, the friction seems to be pretty linear.

I'm look looking at Z type for a while. I want stronger brake during low pressure/shallow pedal.

Z type has slightly stronger initial bite low brake pressure at mid/low speed than ES. Average friction is similar with my OE pads.

The ori pads fiction is HH rated (0.5u+ for both low temp and 400C+), performance after market option for my car is almost non-exist.
Either too less friction or never make one for my car. Z type is the rare odd.
Aug 2023 (around the time i replaced full set Dixcel ES) to Sep 2024 I gotten about 25k km

Very good braking, consistent, but it does get a bit mushy after really intense downhill and hard/late braking on the corners and speed bumps.

Zero track activities with Dixcel ES though.

My next is indeed a full set of Z type.
Balanced
post Sep 16 2024, 03:45 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 14 2024, 07:53 AM)
Aug 2023 (around the time i replaced full set Dixcel ES) to Sep 2024 I gotten about 25k km

Very good braking, consistent, but it does get a bit mushy after really intense downhill and hard/late braking on the corners and speed bumps.

Zero track activities with Dixcel ES though.

My next is indeed a full set of Z type.
Have you tried TRW dtec by any chance? How does it compared to the Dixcel ES?
I believe your driving style is almost like mine, hence i think if you say its good for u, it shld be good for me too lol
Quazacolt
post Sep 16 2024, 05:49 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Sep 16 2024, 03:45 PM)
I believe your driving style is almost like mine, hence i think if you say its good for u, it shld be good for me too lol
nope never tried TRW dtec

I think we are not the same.

you want power, while i don't mind on power at all, i just have a very lopsided / biased / extreme focus on ride and handling, braking, tires, suspensions.
engine, so long it isn't an econo box 1 liter engine or something on a 1.3 ton body, i am still ok.
amscouzach57
post Sep 16 2024, 05:51 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Sep 16 2024, 03:45 PM)
TRW DTEC is a little spongy. Surprisingly it is also very dusty.
Balanced
post Sep 16 2024, 06:58 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 16 2024, 05:49 PM)
nope never tried TRW dtec

I think we are not the same.
you want power, while i don't mind on power at all, i just have a very lopsided / biased / extreme focus on ride and handling, braking, tires, suspensions.
engine, so long it isn't an econo box 1 liter engine or something on a 1.3 ton body, i am still ok.
I see..
Yes i wan power, but I wan decent handling too. I have been playing touge at penang hill since my first car and several setups and cars later, i think my current handling strikes the 2nd best in handling and best in comfort of all my setups so far.

Now u make me curious, how does your car's handling compared to mine? Since u are at the extreme side and i dont think i am extreme.

Handling wide, i do have upgrades like tien flex z suspension (currently driving at 14/16 clicks of hardness and 2 fingers, best handling n comfort for me), hardrace arms n bushings, ur bars for engine and bottom chassis, hasport engine mountings, brembo brakes, bridgestone re004 tires. Anyway i think car chassis plays a vital roll too, like hatchback car shld have way better handling.

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Sep 16 2024, 05:51 PM)
TRW DTEC is a little spongy. Surprisingly it is also very dusty.
Yeah a bit spongy when i compared with my brembo pads. But way less dusty than brembo pads.. i wonder how about dixcel es..
amscouzach57
post Sep 16 2024, 07:02 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Sep 16 2024, 06:58 PM)
I see..
Yes i wan power, but I wan decent handling too. I have been playing touge at penang hill since my first car and several setups and cars later, i think my current handling strikes the 2nd best in handling and best in comfort of all my setups so far.

Now u make me curious, how does your car's handling compared to mine? Since u are at the extreme side and i dont think i am extreme.

Handling wide, i do have upgrades like tien flex z suspension (currently driving at 14/16 clicks of hardness and 2 fingers, best handling n comfort for me), hardrace arms n bushings, ur bars for engine and bottom chassis,  hasport engine mountings, brembo brakes, bridgestone re004 tires. Anyway i think car chassis plays a vital roll too, like hatchback car shld have way better handling.
Yeah a bit spongy when i compared with my brembo pads. But way less dusty than brembo pads.. i wonder how about dixcel es..
For me all 3 pads (brembo low-met, trw dtec & dixcel es) are dusty pads.

Their dustiness are very similar.

The only pads that are dustier would be EBC yellow stuff. But this one really eat the disc like crazy.
Balanced
post Sep 16 2024, 07:11 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Sep 16 2024, 07:02 PM)
For me all 3 pads (brembo low-met, trw dtec & dixcel es) are dusty pads.

Their dustiness are very similar.

The only pads that are dustier would be EBC yellow stuff. But this one really eat the disc like crazy.
Funny.. my brembo brakes are way dustier than the trw dtec. Like 3x dustier... Also it sometimes have sound when braking..
Quazacolt
post Sep 16 2024, 09:54 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Sep 16 2024, 06:58 PM)

and 2 fingers, best handling n comfort for me), hardrace arms n bushings, ur bars for engine and bottom chassis,
I can consistently pull 1.1-1.2G Cornering, 0.9-1.1G Under downhill braking.

All this only on stock suspensions (2k Spring rates, stock height no changes) , and downgraded front 4 pot Sumitomo caliper (stock original is 2 pot but overall it's better performance than my 4 pot)

On the bolded, is why /meme
we are not the same

Balanced
post Sep 16 2024, 10:04 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 16 2024, 09:54 PM)
I can consistently pull 1.1-1.2G Cornering, 0.9-1.1G Under downhill braking.

All this only on stock suspensions (2k Spring rates, stock height no changes) , and downgraded front 4 pot Sumitomo caliper (stock original is 2 pot but overall it's better performance than my 4 pot)

On the bolded, is why /meme
2k spring rates will have more body roll, how does this translate to better handling?

Also, I don't quite understand your G values analogy. How does this shows it has better handling without time to complete the track? Unless u can complete the track at the same time with higher G.
I can have less G values if I brake less aggressively, but this would mean more time spent to exit the corners.

4 pots will always have better braking distance provided all other factors of the car are able to handle it.
So if your car is slow and light, yes two pot is enough for u. If u put 2 pot into a lets say a 1500kg car and hard braking at 200km/h to 0km/h, the 4 pots will have the shorter braking distance.

What do you think?
Quazacolt
post Sep 16 2024, 10:32 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Sep 16 2024, 10:04 PM)
2k spring rates will have more body roll, how does this translate to better handling?

Also, I don't quite understand your G values analogy.

4 pots will always have better braking distance provided  the 4 pots will have the shorter braking distance.

What do you think?
I'll leave it to you to figure them out bro laugh.gif
Or you come join me in a Touge night
Balanced
post Sep 16 2024, 10:42 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 16 2024, 10:32 PM)
I'll leave it to you to figure them out bro laugh.gif
Or you come join me in a Touge night
I was hoping we could share our knowledge. Again I think what you are saying is not what I understand. Stock suspensions on standard car like yours or mine, not including supercars will always have less sharper handling due to excessive body rolls especially during touge.

Any upgrades that reduces body roll = better handling.

I can join you in touge but if you want me to follow you with my car, then only in penang as other hills im not familiar. It can become quite crazy once the blood boils.

Your car chassis should be better than mine. However, with my upgrades and handling now, I am quite confident in it provided I change my brake pads first.
Quazacolt
post Sep 16 2024, 10:50 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Sep 16 2024, 10:42 PM)
I was hoping we could share our knowledge.

Again I think what you are saying is not what I understand.

Stock suspensions on standard car like yours or mine, not including supercars will always have less sharper handling due to excessive body rolls especially during touge.

Any upgrades that reduces body roll = better handling.

I change my brake pads first.

I will politely decline.

Because of the lines you've already written and I quote again.
It's difficult to explain and I do not have sufficient proficiency in teaching over forums.
Balanced
post Sep 16 2024, 10:51 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 16 2024, 10:50 PM)
I will politely decline.

Because of the lines you've already written and I quote again.
It's difficult to explain and I do not have sufficient proficiency in teaching over forums.
Alright. How about any links for me to read up?
Youtube videos even better?
I am really curious.

Example:
Everything same, same car, same professional driver. With 2k spring rate vs 6k spring rate, the 2k spring rate will have faster track time?
Of course i'm not talking about 20k spring rate until the car is jumping around, losing more traction.. As long as the car is planted, having less body roll will always means better handling.

This post has been edited by Balanced: Sep 16 2024, 11:02 PM
Quazacolt
post Sep 16 2024, 11:18 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Sep 16 2024, 10:51 PM)
Alright. How about any links for me to read up?
Youtube videos even better?
I am really curious.

Example:
Everything same, same car, same professional driver. With 2k spring rate vs 6k spring rate, the 2k spring rate will have faster track time?
Of course i'm not talking about 20k spring rate until the car is jumping around, losing more traction.. As long as the car is planted, having less body roll will always means better handling.
I was about to ask what specifically, but good edit.

Hopefully you can understand why bold isn't he case smile.gif

Anyways, last reply, as to not detail this thread. Apologies to TS notworthy.gif
Balanced
post Sep 16 2024, 11:20 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 16 2024, 11:18 PM)
I was about to ask what specifically, but good edit.

Hopefully you can understand why bold isn't he case smile.gif

Anyways, last reply, as to not detail this thread. Apologies to TS notworthy.gif
Alright Thanks!
I will watch the videos. I am googling about it too.

Yeah its behind my mind. I thought it was common knowledge so didnt type out at first. Then think think takut misunderstand so I type out.
I still prefer discussing things face to face. Typing I tend to short cut a lot of things..

This post has been edited by Balanced: Sep 16 2024, 11:22 PM
amscouzach57
post Sep 16 2024, 11:21 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Sep 16 2024, 07:11 PM)
Funny.. my brembo brakes are way dustier than the trw dtec. Like 3x dustier... Also it sometimes have sound when braking..
I agree on the sound. This is where TRW DTEC excels over Brembo. It is more quiet.

However, Brembo has better bite than TRW.
Balanced
post Sep 16 2024, 11:24 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Sep 16 2024, 11:21 PM)
I agree on the sound. This is where TRW DTEC excels over Brembo. It is more quiet.

TRW DTEC no sound or squeeks at all. I like.
How about the DIXCEL ES, got sound? If no sound, I think i'm quite convinced to change.
constant_weight
post Sep 17 2024, 12:26 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Sep 16 2024, 11:20 PM)
Alright Thanks!
I will watch the videos. I am googling about it too.

Yeah its behind my mind. I thought it was common knowledge so didnt type out at first. Then think think takut misunderstand so I type out.
I still prefer discussing things face to face. Typing I tend to short cut a lot of things..
He's talking about lateral G. Generally higher = more grip.

1.2g on a street car is very high. Not sure what tyres he was using when pulling 1.2G, but I recall he's only using UHP. That's very impressive.

For your reference a lot of amature drivers only pull around same 1.2G in 992 911 GT3. Although the car is 1.3-1.4G capable. Probably more G with Cup2 R tyres.

GT3 race car or LMH Hypercar can pull 4G. F1 6G? Depends on which generation rules.

Body roll, handling feel is not equal to more grip. A car can feel shit, difficult to drive, but still fast.

If you can't comprehend what he said, very hard to discuss further. Those videos are good start.

If you never annoyed by traction control made things worse (try to kill you), then driving skill also at different level then him (I know I'm not at same league).

Lastly Penang touge narrow roads. Most of the places 2nd gear run out of road and brake. Luckly if can hit 80km/h before need to brake. Want to train high speed corner with high lateral G, Penang is a terrible place.

If you can fully utilize 200hp Tanjung Bungah/Teluk Bahang area, consider way above average driving skills.

You know which category you in, you can keep it to yourself. Peace, drive safely especially in narrow touge with many blind corners.
minizian
post Sep 17 2024, 12:35 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Sep 16 2024, 11:21 PM)

Not sure if you or heard any feedback of Remsa pads?
Was given feedback by the sales person it is good pad but very dusty as he used it on his personal car.

This post has been edited by minizian: Sep 17 2024, 12:36 AM
Balanced
post Sep 17 2024, 12:45 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Sep 17 2024, 12:26 AM)
He's talking about lateral G. Generally higher = more grip.

1.2g on a street car is very high. Not sure what tyres he was using when pulling 1.2G, but I recall he's only using UHP. That's very impressive.

For your reference a lot of amature drivers only pull around same 1.2G in 992 911 GT3. Although the car is 1.3-1.4G capable. Probably more G with Cup2 R tyres.

GT3 race car or LMH Hypercar can pull 4G. F1 6G? Depends on which generation rules.

Body roll, handling feel is not equal to more grip. A car can feel shit, difficult to drive, but still fast.

If you can't comprehend what he said, very hard to discuss further. Those videos are good start.

If you never annoyed by traction control made things worse (try to kill you), then driving skill also at different level then him (I know I'm not at same league).

Lastly Penang touge narrow roads. Most of the places 2nd gear run out of road and brake. Luckly if can hit 80km/h before need to brake. Want to train high speed corner with high lateral G, Penang is a terrible place.

If you can fully utilize 200hp Tanjung Bungah/Teluk Bahang area, consider way above average driving skills.

You know which category you in, you can keep it to yourself. Peace, drive safely especially in narrow touge with many blind corners.
thanks very much for the details and yeah I cannot comprehend what he said. I still have a lot to learn blush.gif .

QUOTE(minizian @ Sep 17 2024, 12:35 AM)
Was given feedback by the sales person it is good pad but very dusty as he used it on his personal car.
Sales person might have biased feedback. Also each person perspective of good is very subjective. Unless he has used all other pads like brembo, dixcel, bendix ultimate and remsa, then comment like remsa is as good in braking as brembo would be more viable.
minizian
post Sep 17 2024, 01:11 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Sep 17 2024, 12:45 AM)
Sales person might have biased feedback. Also each person perspective of good is very subjective. Unless he has used all other pads like brembo, dixcel, bendix ultimate and remsa, then comment like remsa is as good in braking as brembo would be more viable.
The dealer (Emerald Auto Parts) carried multiple brake brands (seem like they are focused on Brembo's compared to Remsa and Akebono's) on their end.

I did specifically mention to him my pad requirement to be more track biased since I do track days and this is what he recommended. He also warned me apart of the excessive dust, the pad need some heat to work and it going to be suck, noisy and brake wont makan that much for frist few meters from a cold start.

Would love to try Brembo upper end pads and rotors but the pad they carry is more for daily use unless I can convince the rep to do custom run for their higher end tier rotors and pads which most likely required min order 1000 pads and 1000 rotors lol. laugh.gif
Likewise I can forget about dixcel (or any Japanese brand) since they dont even produce for Iriz lol
While Bendix Ultimate have 3 to 4 month lead time (source: i asked the local rep about it and this his answer to me)

So in essence not much selection for my car and gotta make do with what available unlike your car which have wide varieties of selections brows.gif

This post has been edited by minizian: Sep 17 2024, 01:15 AM
Balanced
post Sep 17 2024, 01:16 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Sep 17 2024, 01:11 AM)
The dealer (Emerald Auto Parts) carried multiple brake brands (seem like they are focused on Brembo's compared to Remsa and Akebono's) on their end.

I did specifically mention to him my pad requirement to be more track biased since I do track days and this is what he recommended. He also warned me apart of the excessive dust, the pad need some heat to work and it going to be suck, noisy and brake wont makan that much for frist few meters from a cold start.

Would love to try Brembo upper end pads and rotors but the pad they carry is more for daily use unless I can convince the rep to do custom run for their higher end tier rotors and pads which most likely required min order 1000 pads and 1000 rotors lol. laugh.gif
Likewise I can forget about dixcel (or any Japanese brand) since they dont even produce for Iriz lol
While Bendix Ultimate have 3 to 4 month lead time (source: i asked the local rep about it and this his answer to me)

So in essence not much selection for my car unlike your car which have wide varieties of selection  brows.gif
If like that u can try first and feedback here brows.gif brows.gif
ktek
post Sep 17 2024, 07:36 AM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

rem..... indon lamguage wo
minizian
post Sep 17 2024, 04:20 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 17 2024, 07:36 AM)
Seem like a spanish brand, too bad i did not managed to ask country of prouduce where the pads for local cars made from
RalphRatedR
post Sep 18 2024, 07:06 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 17 2024, 07:36 AM)
Rem -> remme -> break sorry, brake.

This post has been edited by RalphRatedR: Sep 18 2024, 08:41 PM
amscouzach57
post Sep 18 2024, 11:25 AM

525 posts

No, I was wondering the same as well, but not dare to try as nobody in my circle have used it before, & there are no online reviews available.

Other questionable brands aside from Remsa; Myrafit, Ceramax, LPB.

If anybody could share their reviews about these brake pads, it would be much appreciated
minizian
post Sep 18 2024, 04:53 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Sep 18 2024, 11:25 AM)
No, I was wondering the same as well, but not dare to try as nobody in my circle have used it before, & there are no online reviews available.

Other questionable brands aside from Remsa; Myrafit, Ceramax, LPB.

If anybody could share their reviews about these brake pads, it would be much appreciated
Oddly enough I would label works engineering pads as questionable too.

Another one of the brand is Motek racing too. Keep seeing the facebook post about people installing it but never heard post installation.
wym6977
post Nov 28 2025, 11:14 PM

984 posts

Hi Any recommended brake pad for new Alza 2022 (D27A)?
amscouzach57
post Yesterday, 08:23 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(wym6977 @ Nov 28 2025, 11:14 PM)
If you don't mind the dust, I strongly recommend Trestor Advantage.

Among the dusty pads available in the market (Brembo Low Met, Bendix Metal King Titanium, TRW DTEC), Trestor Advantage has the best braking performance, without eating into your rotors too aggresively like the others.

What is the point of being dusty if it is not braking well enough?

If you think Trestor Advantage is too much for you. Try Trestor Metallic Plus, which is at the same level as the others mentioned above.

Trestor Advantage range is at the same level as Bendix Ultimate, but more friendly to your brake rotors.

This post has been edited by amscouzach57: Yesterday, 10:39 AM
GamersFamilia
post Today, 03:14 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

QUOTE(wym6977 @ Nov 28 2025, 11:14 PM)
Brembo ceramic brake pad by emerald autoparts sdn bhd, been using it for my camry acv30 2.0e year 2003, fantastic 😀🐝

This post has been edited by GamersFamilia: Today, 03:15 AM
LDP
post Today, 05:05 AM

626 posts

Today bought Akebono brake pad for my Toyoda...smooth feeling and no noise...
amscouzach57
post Today, 07:29 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Nov 30 2025, 03:14 AM)
Brembo ceramic brake pad by emerald autoparts sdn bhd, been using it for my camry acv30 2.0e year 2003, fantastic 😀🐝
Brembo NAO ceramic pads produce less dust than Brembo Low Met pads.

They last longer too albeit with less stopping power & lower maximum temperature.

I'm using them in one of my cars. Very nice pads for smooth driving style.

But, unfortunately they're not available on wider range of models.

Best to contact Emerald to know if it is available for your car, or otherwise.

This post has been edited by amscouzach57: Today, 07:30 AM
ayamxxx
post Today, 08:09 AM

4,033 posts

Seems like Bendix pad got good and bad review from user especially FB. Said good braking but expect some stretching sound after sometimes, eventhough bought from legit seller/ shopee mall seller
GamersFamilia
post Today, 09:17 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Nov 30 2025, 07:29 AM)
Brembo NAO ceramic pads produce less dust than Brembo Low Met pads.

They last longer too albeit with less stopping power & lower maximum temperature.

I'm using them in one of my cars. Very nice pads for smooth driving style.

But, unfortunately they're not available on wider range of models.

Best to contact Emerald to know if it is available for your car, or otherwise.
Yes, currently using it on my camry acv30 2.0e, bought from one of the seller thru shopee, the box sealed plus there's emerald autoparts sdn bhd sticker

My driving style just smooth and relax..there's one time emergency brake, the brembo does it job very well 😎🐝
GamersFamilia
post Today, 09:19 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,745 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Nov 30 2025, 08:09 AM)
Seems like Bendix pad got good and bad review from user especially FB. Said good braking but expect some stretching sound after sometimes, eventhough bought from legit seller/ shopee mall seller
Previously i used bendix, good pad but yeah after sometimes there's some sound but not too obvious.. Now using brembo much better 😁🐝

0.0838sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:56 AM