Brake Pad Thread, Talk about brake pads brands here

scoupe
post Jul 21 2022, 01:40 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(bo093 @ Jul 21 2022, 07:53 AM)
Since I been dissapointed by Ultrex 680c.
Anyone tried Bendix Ultimate and Trestor Advantage?
I'm trying to exhausted brake pad selection before changing brake kit.
i am generally very picky with my brakes.. i dont like to swap calipers so i end up testing alot of the pads in the market.. so far the best one i got for my suprima is the Bendix ultimate. It bites hard. I've used TRW d tec, utter crap, brembo aftermarket boleh la. but all these are not even as good as the stock pads. so far Ultimate works best for aftermarket stuff. Great pedal feel with em too. however i will let u know in advance they really chew on the disc and they wear pretty quick. Every 2 pads i chuck my disc because i dont like the feel of skimmed disc.. if you are as sensitive you will know what i am talking about with skimmed disc, they feel somewhat slipery when the pads bite. I also abs bleed my system yearly either with dot 4 or dot 5.1 fluid.
scoupe
post Jul 26 2022, 09:32 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(bo093 @ Jul 22 2022, 09:21 AM)
Metal King still fade easily under my usage.
I use bendix grease on pins and back of the pads, even flushed every 2 years or before any track event.
Unless is bendix MKT from australia, is a bit different formulation. Which is I can't get it anymore.
Bigger brake kit, trying to avoid it, to minimise unsprung weight.
Chew on disc is a normal thing to go through on harsh compound pad.
But thank god, Saga BLM disc a set is about same price as skimming.  tongue.gif
Unless I go for slotted disc, then is a different story.

So I guess from initial bite is good, hows the fade? Say on a downhill touge.

If this doesn't work, I guess swapping to bigger brake is the only way.  doh.gif
i never really drive hard downhill.. on regular drives downhill on genting and etc is fine especially the suprima being a pretty heavy car. if you plan to run high speed down hill then regular aftermarket brake pads wont cut it. You will need something with much higher temp ratings. 650c and above. prepare to fork out a much larger sum once you enter this category of pads. affordability is one, then there is availability problem as well. if your car is a popular enough car that people track often then shouldnt be a problem.
scoupe
post Jul 26 2022, 11:04 AM

93 posts

hanky panky aside, brake pad materials and friction pad materials are very hazardous to health. those fellas use zero protective gear.. probably dont realise how harmful those materials are and get paid min wage while some big boss reap in the profits for these "recond" pads
scoupe
post Jul 26 2022, 03:31 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Jul 26 2022, 11:59 AM)
Need to replace brake fluid with hi-temp one as well
Not to mention upgrading rubber brake lines to steel braided ones
true, dot 5.1 will work.. as for brake lines rubber will work fine. for added pedal feel and feedback cant beat the braided lines.
scoupe
post Jul 26 2022, 03:35 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(nick2011 @ Jul 26 2022, 12:14 PM)
I just changed my pads to Bendix general CT. It's squeaking when I press my brakes hard. Is it normal?
ive never used the ct series. i've used the titanium on my older cars way back then. These pads have metal particles. sometimes you do get some squeal. Although you do not need to bead them in, i generally bed all my pads in when i replace em just for that added satisfaction that it may help in the long run. Problem with the metallic based pads is sometimes using new pads with a used disc does generate some harmonics annoying i know but cant be helped. If u havent bedded em in you can try that. also check if ur disc is worn down to a point there is a ridge on the the edge, that too will cause a squeal
scoupe
post Jul 28 2022, 09:14 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jul 27 2022, 07:39 AM)
Ohh ok
I normally change every 4-5 yrs, too long?
Most manufacturers would recommend 2 yrs, but i think not necessarily so frequent la

Touch wood, so far no problem
i change mine every year.. simply because i drive hard alot and i do not want moisture in the system for too long. Thats how rust forms and brake caliper seizing happens
scoupe
post Jul 28 2022, 09:27 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(bo093 @ Jul 27 2022, 08:58 AM)
I usually torture test brake pad to make sure their are up to task, is just a good feeling to know they work as they rated.
No way I can find 650c (that is properly rated) for Saga BLM. Bendix Ultimate is last choice before I make any brake upgrade.
Check the following in order,
-Bedding in of pads
-Disc is evenly worn (no lips on outer edge for pads to rub on)
-Pads shim
-Apply anti squeal on rear of pads
-Check caliper hardware
for saga BLM yeah i doubt can find good aftermarket 650c one. saga being a pretty light car, you may not need 650c ones. probably also depends on driving style and i guess for downhill course if you have alot of speed bumps then not like u can have high turn in speed so u gotta be on the brakes alot. hope the ultimates work out for you.
scoupe
post Jul 28 2022, 12:00 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Jul 28 2022, 09:45 AM)
Happen to me months ago, not the seizing issue but the bleeder valve got clogged by rust
time to flush out old fluids and hope no rust forming on the piston side of things
scoupe
post Jul 28 2022, 12:01 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 28 2022, 09:49 AM)
Anyone know who is the Endless brake pad distributor here in Klang Valley? I am looking for a pair for an old car and probably might have to get it brought in.
no idea whom is the official distributor.. for what car?
scoupe
post Jul 28 2022, 04:04 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 28 2022, 03:13 PM)
BMW E90, looking for the MX72 pads
sorry bro, unfortunately i have no experience with beemers. not sure where you can find em.
scoupe
post Jul 29 2022, 10:27 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jul 28 2022, 05:21 PM)
Actually only from this thread i learn that got ppl change this frequent 😂
Probably ill go for 2 years, since im a polite driver 😁
just make sure they flush it thru the system.. ive seen many shops that suck out at the reservoir and refill jer which makes no sense cause the old stuff is still in the lines
scoupe
post Jul 29 2022, 10:32 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jul 28 2022, 05:25 PM)
Side topic, how bout steering fluid?

Mine all oils i change during major service, thats 4-5 yrs
So, easy for me to remember

But recently seems like many oil or fluid stuff change , tends to be recommended more frequently than wat i practice
really depends on how anal you are with things la... power steering fluid i also flush out yearly together with coolants. My cvt fluid i chuck out every 20k km and change the filter every 40k km.. then thers the AC refrigerant and compressor oils. That one 2 year once change drier and refresh it for me.

0.0165sec    1.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:25 PM