162 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Bottom

Investment Kenanga Digital Investing (KDI), KDI Invest, KDI Save

Optizorb
post Dec 24 2022, 12:19 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Dec 24 2022, 11:33 AM)
Actually i am quite happy with kdi with 3.5%. I just want some place to park some 'lazy' money - for me my lazy money is about 50k which is for emergencies like hospital fees or unforeseeable expenditure. Have credit card to cover emergencies but also nice to have some cash in hand. I used to leave about 20k in my main MBB savings acct but now i only keep about 8k or 9k in my main MBB savings acct (actually i keep in total more like 12k or 13k because i got so many accts with just 1k dormannt in it).
have to keep in mind this is promotional rate effective until 31st of this month only.. come 1st jan which is just 1 more week, will go back down to 3%. and 1 more week only still no news from them whether got any revised promo or not.. if really nothing, i doubt that time you will be happy with the 3%..

dont get me wrong. kdi still good place to park money because they have higher limit of 50k for people like you and me, compared to go+ 9.5k only which is not sufficient for us.

but for people who have 10k only or lower, now go+ seems like the better choice. and go+ is better at liquidity cause can use for payments directly.

in fact if go+ keeps going up i myself will remove 9.5k from kdi save and put back into go+. i recently did the reverse of this and all-in kdi save cause decided didnt wantto use the money anytime soon, so keep into kdi better because its more secure and also can act as a forced savings. sometimes if left in go+ and hand itchy make impulse purchases.

anyway just wishful thinking, hope kdi will do another round of promotion and give better revised rates than current to keep up with competitors. because i really dont want to put back into go+ for reasons mentioned above tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Optizorb: Dec 24 2022, 12:26 PM
Garysydney
post Dec 24 2022, 02:46 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Dec 24 2022, 12:19 PM)
have to keep in mind this is promotional rate effective until 31st of this month only.. come 1st jan which is just 1 more week, will go back down to 3%. and 1 more week only still no news from them whether got any revised promo or not.. if really nothing, i doubt that time you will be happy with the 3%..
dont get me wrong. kdi still good place to park money because they have higher limit of 50k for people like you and me, compared to go+ 9.5k only which is not sufficient for us.

but for people who have 10k only or lower, now go+ seems like the better choice. and go+ is better at liquidity cause can use for payments directly.

in fact if go+ keeps going up i myself will remove 9.5k from kdi save and put back into go+. i recently did the reverse of this and all-in kdi save cause decided didnt wantto use the money anytime soon, so keep into kdi better because its more secure and also can act as a forced savings. sometimes if left in go+ and hand itchy make impulse purchases.

anyway just wishful thinking, hope kdi will do another round of promotion and give better revised rates than current to keep up with competitors. because i really dont want to put back into go+ for reasons mentioned above tongue.gif
i think kdi will keep the 3.5% after the promotionl period because if they drop to 3%, a lot of funds will move out.

Personally for me, this short term money is a very small part of my portfolio as most of my funds are overseas in Sydney (where i have worked all my life) so even if i get 3%, i think i will still keep my funds in kdi.
1mr3tard3d
post Dec 25 2022, 03:28 AM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Dec 24 2022, 10:33 AM)
I checked my November statement for KDI. Return as per KDI statement and calculation is 0.278% for the month, which when multiplied by 12 is only 3.336%. instead of 3.5% EAR...
3.5% EAR = 3.44% p.a. effective rate
i.e.
day 1 interest: opening value x 3.44%/365
day 2 interest: day 1 value (opening value + day 1 interest) x 3.44%/365
day 3 interest: day 2 value (day 1 value + day 2 interest) x 3.44%/365
etc
but it should not be 3.336%

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Dec 24 2022, 12:19 PM)
have to keep in mind this is promotional rate effective until 31st of this month only.. come 1st jan which is just 1 more week, will go back down to 3%. and 1 more week only still no news from them whether got any revised promo or not..
there is no specific deadline to this 3.5% EAR
the 31 December 2022 was last time promotion, luckily someone screenshot the TNC
so the reversion to 3% beginning 1st Jan does not make sense either since the promotion will end on 31 December 2022
Optizorb
post Dec 25 2022, 08:40 AM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(1mr3tard3d @ Dec 25 2022, 03:28 AM)

there is no specific deadline to this 3.5% EAR
the 31 December 2022 was last time promotion, luckily someone screenshot the TNC
so the reversion to 3% beginning 1st Jan does not make sense either since the promotion will end on 31 December 2022
good spot.

looks like they just changed it then to "until further notice"

iirc, as recent as last week it was still showing until 31st dec when i was putting in money and the tnc pop up.
guy3288
post Dec 25 2022, 07:50 PM

5,875 posts

I checked my November statement for KDI. Return as per KDI statement and calculation is 0.278% for the month, which when multiplied by 12 is only 3.336%. instead of 3.5% EAR...

On a separate note, Touch N Go's Go+ daily return was 3.45% yesterday...

Btw, it is perfectly fine to discuss and reply comments without using derogatory or demeaning words on other forumers. Putting people down doesn't make anybody smarter, it just reflects that you have nothing intellectual to offer any more. This forum is to share info and also find help.
Recently i dont track the daily interest anymore, previously I checked and noted it was as expected no less, with EAR is abit lesser. I check daily more accurate than wait till many months with many in out in out.. i take your advice in constructive note,but generally innocent or reasonable remarks would not be rebuked by me. Iam not unreasonable.
guy3288
post Dec 27 2022, 09:56 PM

5,875 posts

since you have purposely tagged me to show KDI is underpaying you,

ok today free i checked KDI for my son's acc:

Data:

24.12.22 current value 50258.21 returns 640.15

27.12 returns 654.37,

3 days interest = 50258.21 x 3.44% x 3/365
= RM 14.21, perfect

Where got short payment??

Do you know EAR 3.5% is 3.44%?
how did you get it at 3.336%?

if really 3.336% as you claimed i should get RM13.78 ,
nearly 43 sens difference , cant be rounding off's error .

the fault is in your calculation, not KDI underpaying you.

gooroojee
post Dec 27 2022, 10:16 PM

LowYee
2,190 posts

If you had read my post properly, I said as per KDI's statement, my November return was 0.28%, so you would be saying that KDI's calculation is also wrong?

All the other comments about my maths and whether I understand EAR is 3.44% is unnecessary lah...

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Dec 27 2022, 09:56 PM)
since you have purposely tagged me to show KDI is underpaying you,

ok today free i checked  KDI for my son's acc:
Data:

24.12.22 current value 50258.21 returns 640.15

27.12 returns 654.37,

3 days interest = 50258.21 x 3.44% x 3/365
= RM 14.21, perfect

Where got short payment??

Do you know EAR 3.5% is 3.44%?
how did you get it at 3.336%?

if really  3.336% as you claimed i should get RM13.78 ,
nearly 43 sens  difference , cant be rounding off's error .

the fault is in your calculation, not KDI underpaying you.
guy3288
post Dec 27 2022, 11:03 PM

5,875 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Dec 27 2022, 10:16 PM)
If you had read my post properly, I said as per KDI's statement, my November return was 0.28%, so you would be saying that KDI's calculation is also wrong?

All the other comments about my maths and whether I understand EAR is 3.44% is unnecessary lah...

that is why you dont just read,
must go check it out yourself before you tried to imply
i was wrong in telling KDI pays exactly as said.

I am sure you know the famous twist and turn guy who has been posting everywhere largely from readings only, talked like a pro in Versa without even have Versa account, perhaps like you la have KDI account still can give the wrong impression to others.

FACT is KDI pays as said, period.

from FIRST hand info with proof.
Not hearsay.

gooroojee
post Dec 27 2022, 11:12 PM

LowYee
2,190 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Dec 27 2022, 11:03 PM)
that is why you dont just read,
must go check it out yourself before you  tried to imply
i was wrong in telling KDI pays exactly as said.

I am sure you know the famous twist and turn guy who has been posting everywhere largely from readings only, talked like a pro in Versa without even have Versa account, perhaps like you la have KDI account still can give the wrong impression to others.

FACT is KDI pays as said, period.

from FIRST hand info with proof.
Not hearsay.
I've already offered my proof as well, with screenshot. For the month of November, KDI paid 0.28% which definitely isn't 3.44% or 3.5% EAR. This is a cold, hard, fact.

You haven't debunked this fact in your post yet, so the entire post was rather meaningless and didn't add value at all.

I'll give you an even more precise number than 0.28%, it is 0.2831597% from my own calculation on my November returns.
guy3288
post Dec 27 2022, 11:19 PM

5,875 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Dec 27 2022, 11:12 PM)
I've already offered my proof as well, with screenshot. For the month of November, KDI paid 0.28% which definitely isn't 3.44% or 3.5% EAR. This is a cold, hard, fact.

You haven't debunked this fact in your post yet, so the entire post was rather meaningless and didn't add value at all.

I'll give you an even more precise number than 0.28%, it is 0.2831597% from my own calculation on my November returns.
How can you say it is meaningless?

You tried to make an issue KDI doesnt pay EAR 3.5%, IT PAYS only 3.336%

I say NO, you are wrong!
KDI pays me exact EAR 3.5% ie 3.44%

You are misleading people in here!!

Is this not important for me to point you out?
........come on la

This post has been edited by guy3288: Dec 27 2022, 11:24 PM
gooroojee
post Dec 27 2022, 11:28 PM

LowYee
2,190 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Dec 27 2022, 11:19 PM)
How can you say it is meaningless?

You tried to make an issue KDI doesnt pay EAR 3.5%, IT PAYS only 3.336%

I say NO, you are wrong!
KDI pays me  exact EAR 3.5% ie 3.44%

You are misleading people in here!!
Is this not important for me to point you out?
........come on la
I already showed you what the Nov rate is based on KDI's own statement!!! And you are ignoring that piece of data. Incredulous!

Edit: I have looked at the numbers further and solved my own mystery. November returns are indeed lesser than a straight line extrapolation to 3.44% based on a 12-month calculation. But I finally realized why now, after finding time to look at it again - it is because November has 30 days, so if I used 365 days then the rate lines up. Along those same lines, December would be paying above 3.44%.

guy3288's daily interest calculation did trigger that thought at the back of my head, so okay, I take it back, it wasn't entirely of no value.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by gooroojee: Dec 28 2022, 12:09 AM
guy3288
post Dec 28 2022, 02:05 AM

5,875 posts

for being blunt i have offended quite a few
by calling a spade a spade.
people like !@#$%^ and oldkiasu tried to hit back at the slightest glimpse of opportunity.....
till interesting intellectual sparring all got deleted.......sigh

poco loco
post Dec 28 2022, 07:41 AM

611 posts

give new rate la.....near year end liao...maybank also called me give rate liao 3.8-4% aready for short burst time
still 3.5% ill withraw all out ni
cklimm
post Dec 28 2022, 11:30 AM

2,337 posts

eh guys, isit just me or KDI site is down?

BWassup
post Dec 28 2022, 11:44 AM

836 posts

Seeking some advice/clarification:

I did KDI Save deposit 1st time today, after setting up the designated bank account for deposit a few days ago.

When I clicked the Deposit button (under Online Deposit tab), I expected to see only this bank to be displayed. But instead, many banks are shown. Anyway, I clicked on my designated bank button to complete the transaction, however I still had to select the correct account when directed to the bank website.

Just wondering, since the Deposit page shows many banks, is it possible to do a deposit via a non-designated bank account? For sure, KDI has stated that only the designated and verified bank account may be used, due to security considerations.

This post has been edited by BWassup: Dec 28 2022, 12:07 PM
lazydancer
post Dec 28 2022, 12:10 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Dec 28 2022, 11:30 AM)

yes I can't access their website, getting a 503. It all seems so insecure..
gooroojee
post Dec 28 2022, 12:49 PM

LowYee
2,190 posts

That's not good. A production database can go down, for a FinTech institution...

Kenanga needs better tech support...

Now we know they use AWS ... and RDS ... and use the 'admin' account to provide DB connectivity...

Optizorb
post Dec 28 2022, 01:09 PM

1,259 posts

ok only on my side..
guy3288
post Dec 28 2022, 01:12 PM

5,875 posts

i tested ok now
QUOTE(BWassup @ Dec 28 2022, 11:44 AM)
Seeking some advice/clarification:

I did KDI Save deposit 1st time today, after setting up the designated bank account for deposit a few days ago.

That is for KDI to pay u when WD not for deposit

When I clicked the Deposit button (under Online Deposit tab), I expected to see only this bank to be displayed. But instead, many banks are shown. Anyway, I clicked on my designated bank button to complete the transaction, however I still had to select the correct account when directed to the bank website.

Just wondering, since the Deposit page shows many banks, is it possible to do a deposit via a non-designated bank account? For sure, KDI has stated that only the designated and verified bank account may be used, due to security considerations.

u cant deposit if your bank eg Citi is not listed there

QUOTE(lazydancer @ Dec 28 2022, 12:10 PM)
yes I can't access their website, getting a 503. It all seems so insecure..
steady lah bro jangan sikit sikit panick
I put 2 Million in there also tak takut
1mr3tard3d
post Dec 28 2022, 03:19 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(poco loco @ Dec 28 2022, 07:41 AM)
give new rate la.....near year end liao...maybank also called me give rate liao 3.8-4% aready for short burst time
still 3.5% ill withraw all out ni
already withdrew some yesterday biggrin.gif

QUOTE(BWassup @ Dec 28 2022, 11:44 AM)

have not tried before
but my interpretation on the following clause
so long as the bank account with the same name, no problem
but will take longer time due to verification
designated account = verified account, so faster processing time

162 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Top

0.0348sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:25 PM