FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early
batman1172
May 21 2023, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ May 20 2023, 08:19 PM) haha... well, actually leading and/or overseeing a project is very different from what I mentioned about useless management... go and talk cock is not leading, so I am sure that is not what batman is doing (the talk cock part). yeah, you also experienced the same it seems... flying at night across continents and heading into office immediately to work after clearing immigration. not fun at all... although get to accumulate nice flight miles to use for personal vacations. edit: to add the "not" word... else the statement is opposite of what I wanted to state That was when I was younger. Travelling not for me now. It is a fast track way to learn how to oversee and control companies. It’s better to be paid for the decisions you make, and the risk and accountability you take. No need to do work at all.
SUStrumpkampung
May 21 2023, 10:15 AM

Not sure shall i FIRE or not?
Age 45..
1.6Mil kwsp 1.5mil ASM
All paid off
MUM
May 21 2023, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(trumpkampung @ May 21 2023, 10:15 AM) Not sure shall i FIRE or not? Age 45.. 1.6Mil kwsp 1.5mil ASM All paid off How much do you need to spend per month? Any big expenses like long world tours every now and then? Any leisure active activities you can spend your life on daily? This post has been edited by MUM: May 21 2023, 10:25 AM
SUStrumpkampung
May 21 2023, 10:33 AM

QUOTE(MUM @ May 21 2023, 10:25 AM) How much do you need to spend per month? Any big expenses like long world tours every now and then? Any leisure active activities you can spend your life on daily? max 4-5k per month only
dwRK
May 21 2023, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(trumpkampung @ May 21 2023, 10:15 AM) Not sure shall i FIRE or not? Age 45.. 1.6Mil kwsp 1.5mil ASM All paid off i will continue to work for fun until 50... add another mil or so to account... at 50 think retirement again... prob do it then...  retire too early no fun because good friends all still busy in the rat race... unless you have plans n desires that will keep you active and occupied then go ahead...
dwRK
May 21 2023, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ May 20 2023, 07:33 PM) don't worry... I think Ramjade is not using any local broker (i don't know any that offers such facility) to sell options. legally no need to declare anything as long as not bring the premium back to Malaysia you want to pay a bit of tax to keep them happy and avoid troublesome audits... just do grab for fun should be fine...
Lembu Goreng
May 21 2023, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(trumpkampung @ May 21 2023, 10:33 AM) thats very little single and no kids?
Wedchar2912
May 21 2023, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(trumpkampung @ May 21 2023, 10:33 AM) if this is all you plan to spend, 3 million is more than enough. this is barely 2% drawdown. you have 1 times buffer if u have faith in the 4% rule.
Wedchar2912
May 21 2023, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(dwRK @ May 21 2023, 10:48 AM) you want to pay a bit of tax to keep them happy and avoid troublesome audits... just do grab for fun should be fine... imo, if he is not sending money to Malaysia, then it should be ok. ie, I am sure he has funds in Malaysia and by utilizing said funds, he can prove he is drawing down on his own assets in Malaysia and that is fully in compliance with tax code. nothing illegal. of course, if flashing spending like getting a 5 series, that may attract more effort by LDHN.
Ramjade
May 21 2023, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ May 21 2023, 11:49 AM) imo, if he is not sending money to Malaysia, then it should be ok. ie, I am sure he has funds in Malaysia and by utilizing said funds, he can prove he is drawing down on his own assets in Malaysia and that is fully in compliance with tax code. nothing illegal. of course, if flashing spending like getting a 5 series, that may attract more effort by LDHN. My money is never coming back to Malaysia.
MGM
May 21 2023, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ May 21 2023, 11:45 AM) if this is all you plan to spend, 3 million is more than enough. this is barely 2% drawdown. you have 1 times buffer if u have faith in the 4% rule. If d 3million generates 5% returns, it will compound with 3% every year if only need to spend 2%.
dwRK
May 21 2023, 12:46 PM
QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ May 21 2023, 11:49 AM) imo, if he is not sending money to Malaysia, then it should be ok. ie, I am sure he has funds in Malaysia and by utilizing said funds, he can prove he is drawing down on his own assets in Malaysia and that is fully in compliance with tax code. nothing illegal. of course, if flashing spending like getting a 5 series, that may attract more effort by LDHN. when your whole life is regular pcb salaried person... then suddenly stop... will trigger lhdn and higher chance for random audits... not just big buying or selling... wifu and i been audited 4 times past 5 yrs because of small mistakes by employer and self  des why i very familiar with tax... hahaha... most of the time they just want explanation on item abc... but sometimes they ask you provide doc for year xyz and then they do deep dive try dig up any dirt... very ma fan one i tell you... hahaha... yes you did nothing illegal... but just try avoid their crosshair lah...
gashout
May 21 2023, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(trumpkampung @ May 21 2023, 10:15 AM) Not sure shall i FIRE or not? Age 45.. 1.6Mil kwsp 1.5mil ASM All paid off This is very admirable. YES, YOU CAN FIRE. and do some casual stuff or something you have been looking forward to
Wedchar2912
May 21 2023, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ May 21 2023, 12:46 PM) when your whole life is regular pcb salaried person... then suddenly stop... will trigger lhdn and higher chance for random audits... not just big buying or selling... wifu and i been audited 4 times past 5 yrs because of small mistakes by employer and self  des why i very familiar with tax... hahaha... most of the time they just want explanation on item abc... but sometimes they ask you provide doc for year xyz and then they do deep dive try dig up any dirt... very ma fan one i tell you... hahaha... yes you did nothing illegal... but just try avoid their crosshair lah...  fully agree. hence why I mentioned as long as he didn't remit his funds back to Malaysia, which naturally means he is spending his savings here, ldhn will not waste too much effort. these spending he can prove the source of funds, so no issue at all to withstand any casual queries by LDHN. Just need to show them his bank accounts/FD/EPF/etc drawdown and no one cares. Luckily (only lucky for those who are prepared to retire) with covid/MCO, not too unrealistic for many to lose their jobs... can hide as part of statistics...
Chrono-Trigger
May 21 2023, 01:03 PM
QUOTE(trumpkampung @ May 21 2023, 10:15 AM) Not sure shall i FIRE or not? Age 45.. 1.6Mil kwsp 1.5mil ASM All paid off Solo is enough But if got wife children , hard to tell. Sometimes kids come back to haunt you with their financial problems. Easy to say won't leave anything to children, but when children have problem in their life, parents will never abandon them, and will fork out money to help. This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: May 21 2023, 01:04 PM
batman1172
May 21 2023, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(trumpkampung @ May 21 2023, 10:15 AM) Not sure shall i FIRE or not? Age 45.. 1.6Mil kwsp 1.5mil ASM All paid off Can but don’t. It is time to do things you enjoy while making money.
gamenoob
May 21 2023, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(batman1172 @ May 21 2023, 02:33 PM) Can but don’t. It is time to do things you enjoy while making money. Very true.
Lembu Goreng
May 21 2023, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(batman1172 @ May 21 2023, 02:33 PM) Can but don’t. It is time to do things you enjoy while making money. Depends on the individual I guess I hated my work so I called it quits But I understand there are people who love to work so may as well continue, and there are people who are 'OK' with work then just continue but don't really perform (quiet quitting)
SUSSihambodoh
May 21 2023, 05:22 PM
In the end FIRE gives you options. If you are happy to work, then work on. If not, then quit and find something else.
If you need a break then break.
CommodoreAmiga
May 21 2023, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ May 21 2023, 05:22 PM) In the end FIRE gives you options. If you are happy to work, then work on. If not, then quit and find something else. If you need a break then break. One of the benefits of FIRE ready...can always fark your boss. So? FIRE ME LAH.