163 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

OlgaC4
post Jun 23 2023, 10:44 AM

5,292 posts

You still can contribute to the society. Why need FIRE?

FIRE is stupid and already prove to be failure

You will die faster if you on FIRE.

This post has been edited by OlgaC4: Jun 23 2023, 10:51 AM
batman1172
post Jun 23 2023, 12:47 PM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(blingless @ Jun 22 2023, 11:20 PM)
RM5M would be an ideal goal for fully passive.

It all comes down to:
- how achievable that goal is
- what you're willing to sacrifice along the way
- what age you get to that goal

But, if given the choice, would you choose:

1. FIRE at 50-55 with passive income from RM5M
OR
2. Barista FIRE at 40-45 with passive income from RM2.5M plus active income from 2 hrs a day max.
I have chosen (1) for about a year but have realized that I have lost my identity. Social life gone. 40 hours a week nothing to do! It was fine first 2 weeks – no work got passive income wow but then the depression set in. Nothing to do with money mind you I’m financially free and kids working.
Now I’m (2). Don’t mind being committee for industrial organizations. Pay is free food & golf games and it keeps my network alive. I still do mentoring and consultancy here and there. Commercial firms still invite me to sit on their board although I’m sleeping.

batman1172
post Jun 23 2023, 12:52 PM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jun 23 2023, 10:44 AM)

Not everyone enjoy their active jobs. Some get shitty bosses. some don't enjoy working 16 hours days. some can't take stress some strive on it. could be other reasons.
Generally I agree FI needs to come first no matter how but RE is something personal.

ziniowong
post Jun 23 2023, 02:18 PM

471 posts

not sure if this is cool story or kopitiam thread
next month somebody will claim that we need 10 million to retire
Ramjade
post Jun 23 2023, 03:24 PM

24,333 posts

Tell that to people who spend time with their kids and family.
It's not stupid. It smart. Why do you want to work until you retire? Why do you want to contribute to society? I better contribute my time with my family then the company.

If failure, people won't be blogging about it. It's not the norm. People who did that are the extra ordinary people. Imagine don't need to worry about money and do what you want in life. You want to sleep, go ahead. You want to travel, just travel. No dead line, no bosses, no office politics

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Jun 23 2023, 12:47 PM)
I have chosen (1) for about a year but have realized that I have lost my identity. Social life gone. 40 hours a week nothing to do! It was fine first 2 weeks – no work got passive income wow but then the depression set in. Nothing to do with money mind you I’m financially free and kids working.
Now I’m (2). Don’t mind being committee for industrial organizations. Pay is free food & golf games and it keeps my network alive.  I still do mentoring and consultancy here and there. Commercial firms still invite me to sit on their board although I’m sleeping.
You didn't plan well. Got lots of stuff to do if you retirr early. Exercise daily either go hiking or do taichi with old people. Volunteer at animal shelter or soup kitchen. Reason is you are still young, full of enerygy. and retired. When you are old, all the illness and no energy.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 23 2023, 03:34 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jun 23 2023, 03:42 PM

3,590 posts

QUOTE(ziniowong @ Jun 23 2023, 02:18 PM)
10 million cannot retire lar... all that idiot can achieve is 40K rm per month of passive income doing nothing...
40K rm per month just cannot cut it.... what if suddenly need to take first class flight to USA to eat at the most expensive restaurant and then fly back?

plus 40K rm will soon be worth only 8K usd per month. that is barely living standard in Dubai or Manhattan...

Somemore the 10 million need to adjust based on inflation.... cos by 10 years time, it is worth only 5 million today's money.

There you go, I helped whomever the somebody already with all the excuses...

lol
tongue.gif
Mattrock
post Jun 23 2023, 03:53 PM

394 posts

My take is that one should not pursue FIRE for sake of FIRE. It has to be driven by a purpose, e.g., to seek spiritual path, help out in temple/church, run a bar on Patong beach or a hobby related business without care for profits, etc., or just to bum around if that can keep one fulfilled.

If there is nothing that is driving you to stop full time employed work, then FIRE may not be for you. Just wait for normal retirement age.

Wedchar2912
post Jun 23 2023, 04:03 PM

3,590 posts

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Jun 23 2023, 03:53 PM)
My take is that one should not pursue FIRE for sake of FIRE. It has to be driven by a purpose, e.g., to seek spiritual path, help out in temple/church, run a bar on Patong beach or a hobby related business without care for profits, etc., or just to bum around if that can keep one fulfilled.

If there is nothing that is driving you to stop full time employed work, then FIRE may not be for you. Just wait for normal retirement age.
but for a person like Olga, after he is forced to retire, based on his own argument, does he start to be a leech or be useless to society? At worse, from his logic, he will die within a few years.

The issue, from his point of view, didn't solve itself just because one reach normal retirement age....
blingless
post Jun 23 2023, 04:08 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(ziniowong @ Jun 23 2023, 02:18 PM)
I think it's safe to say that all the figures thrown out are arbitrary.
Even 250K could be enough if you can live off 1K/mo and expect to pass on in 20 years.

But everyone has different:
- lifestyles
- monthly living expenses
- no. of dependents, aging parents
- health conditions or expenses
- timeframe (age vs expected death)

Part of the FIRE movement is simply pushing the concept of setting financial and life goals.
With FIRE goals, one learns good financial habits like saving first (spend second), investing for the future, and living below one's means.

Retiring also doesn't necessarily mean not working or producing income.
Unfortunately, a majority of the population are faced with the prospect and harsh reality of involuntarily working past retirement age.

FIRE introduces the idea that if you plan well and as early as possible, you might avoid having to work too much later on or even not at all.

batman1172
post Jun 23 2023, 04:24 PM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 23 2023, 03:24 PM)

You didn't plan well. Got lots of stuff to do if you retirr early. Exercise daily either go hiking or do taichi with old people. Volunteer at animal shelter or soup kitchen. Reason is you are still young, full of enerygy. and retired. When you are old, all the illness and no energy.
No interest in these activities nor do I have interest in sports or animals.
The excitement I get from leadership is not replaceable. I miss the people and the trill of it. I get so much satisfaction from my last project – move a plant from Malaysia to Bangkok and it plenty of fun at least for me and my team but not those who I sacked.

dwRK
post Jun 23 2023, 06:09 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 23 2023, 09:55 AM)
ppl i know who are really successful, money is not their primary motivation... also they do no FIRE because they love their job and perhaps power and influence that it brings... wink.gif
there i said it... laugh.gif

gashout
post Jun 23 2023, 07:24 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Jun 23 2023, 08:23 AM)
as you grow older, every 1 year of working really boosts the saving.

so i would choose option 1.

20k a month to spend is irresistible if only 5 year is needed to get that 10k extra per mth passive income.
Every 5 yr recheck

Age 40. Feel like 20 then continue working
45 feel like 30 also continue working
If reach 60 feel like 45 also can continue working
But if 60 feels like 75 then better enjoy life

Do health check at least once every 2 years too. Best once a year
Wedchar2912
post Jun 23 2023, 07:25 PM

3,590 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 23 2023, 06:09 PM)
sometimes, the family encourages one to work... spend less time at home can be a good thing. haha. smile.gif
Ramjade
post Jun 23 2023, 09:09 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Jun 23 2023, 04:24 PM)
The excitement I get from leadership is not replaceable. I miss the people and the trill of it. I get so much satisfaction from my last project – move a plant from Malaysia to Bangkok and it plenty of fun at least for me and my team but not those who I sacked.
You need to learn to let go. If you are not Interested in exercise, then you are asking for health trouble in the future cause exercise is the only ticket to good health.

That's why I exercise minimally 3x/week. Simple walk up and down hil for 2h.

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 23 2023, 06:09 PM)
Spot on.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 23 2023, 09:54 PM
Unkerpanjang
post Jun 24 2023, 06:44 AM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:42 PM)
10 million cannot retire lar... all that idiot can achieve is 40K rm per month of passive income doing nothing...
40K rm per month just cannot cut it....  what if suddenly need to take first class flight to USA to eat at the most expensive restaurant and then fly back?

plus 40K rm will soon be worth only 8K usd per month. that is barely living standard in Dubai or Manhattan...

Somemore the 10 million need to adjust based on inflation.... cos by 10 years time, it is worth only 5 million today's money.

lol
tongue.gif
True for the girls, Auntie.

Shanghai, Hong Kong
France, Germany, Poland
Bangkok

July - Hong Kong

guy3288
post Jun 24 2023, 09:16 AM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:42 PM)
40K rm per month just cannot cut it....  what if suddenly need to take first class flight to USA to eat at the most expensive restaurant and then fly back?

lol
tongue.gif
Funny people come pour some cold water
and FIRE is getting hotter
5 million not enough
10 millions must be idiots ..

Better we just run our own race
slowly so what
enjoy the journey first

dont be drawn into a rat race
keep peering where others´ finishing line is

it is mad world outside
you dont have the time to keep worrying
be happy what we have cukup
forget it when others said otherwise

CommodoreAmiga
post Jun 24 2023, 09:26 AM

3,857 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jun 24 2023, 09:16 AM)
Funny people come pour some cold water
and FIRE is  getting hotter
5 million  not enough
10 millions must be idiots ..

Better  we just run our own race
slowly so what
enjoy the journey first

dont be drawn into a rat race
keep peering where others´ finishing line is

it is mad world outside
you dont have the time to keep worrying 
be happy  what we have cukup
forget it when others said otherwise
If no RM 2.6b, cannot retire! - Najiblogic
Mattrock
post Jun 24 2023, 10:09 AM

394 posts

For those of you who need help in getting some structured way of determining how much you need to retire, I recommend reading Tony Robbins' Money Master the Game, Chapter 3.1.

It helped me at least to wrap my finger around this humungous problem and break it down to smaller chunks. Rest of the book is ok too, but some parts may be outdated now.
Ramjade
post Jun 24 2023, 10:17 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Jun 23 2023, 04:24 PM)
Some guide frim a FIRE blogger for you to have activities to do.
https://www.tawcan.com/why-i-practice-being...you-should-too/

coolguy_0925
post Jun 24 2023, 02:14 PM

4,537 posts

As long as you are still restlessly worrying, thinking, debating how much how many zero at the back of your NW balance has to be for you to FIRE

You are not yet FIRE

163 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0189sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:21 AM