163 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

jutamind
post Jun 24 2023, 02:42 PM

2,429 posts

Not sure whether this question is related to FIRE, but when you guys plan your asset allocations, do you include your EPF portion as a part of your asset allocation?
crador
post Jun 24 2023, 02:53 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jun 24 2023, 09:26 AM)
If no RM 2.6b, cannot retire! - Najiblogic
Najib sudah retired ke belum?
Ramjade
post Jun 24 2023, 03:38 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jun 24 2023, 02:42 PM)
Not sure whether this question is related to FIRE, but when you guys plan your asset allocations, do you include your EPF portion as a part of your asset allocation?
If you want to FIRE you cannot count EPF cause EPF is accessable only when you retire.

If you FIRE, you cannot use the EPF money.

Of course you can count in EPF money by adding in buffer from the time you to retire until the year you can touch EPF money.

For me I never count.
dwRK
post Jun 24 2023, 04:43 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 24 2023, 03:38 PM)
If you want to FIRE you cannot count EPF cause EPF is accessable only when you retire.

Of course you can count in EPF money by adding in buffer from the time you to retire until the year you can touch EPF money.

For me I never count.
if dun top up... can just ignore epf... count that as retirement bonus...

but for ppl who top up max every year... im sure it is included in calculations

anyways... allocations should be flexible lah... early in career like yourself, sure max out all outside opportunities... once you have enough outside, then can turn to epf for relatively risk free carefree savings... smile.gif

Wedchar2912
post Jun 24 2023, 05:00 PM

3,587 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 24 2023, 03:38 PM)

For me I never count.
strictly speaking, one can count on EPF as part of one's assets/networth when doing the calculation for FIRE. reason is simple: it is part of one's networth and one can drawdown on it sooner or later.
Your concern has more to do with cashflow.... ie EPF cannot drawdown would just mean one has to take it from another asset type: it will just make the asset allocation a bit imbalance until one reaches the age of 55. If such imbalance is uncomfortable for the retiree, then work extra few years.

Btw, this is not an issue for those with more than 1 million ringgit in EPF. You can flip it the inverse side: just need to source extra 50K rm pa income if die die need to draw down from EPF, since most of us here cann't bare to see principal decline (using inflation as scarecrow).

(lets not kid ourselves... not many can retire before the age of 50... even lesser before the age of 45. Before the age of 40 is even rarer. So in reality, we are just talking abt a waiting time of like 10 to 15 years for most people wanting to retire early)
HolyCooler
post Jun 24 2023, 05:00 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(blingless @ Jun 9 2023, 10:45 PM)
Anyone close to FIREing in the next 18-24 months?
Or pivoting towards LEAN FIRE or BARISTA FIRE to speed things up?

Has your investment strategy changed much as you get closer to your goal?
Is the recessionary environment affecting your timeline?
Perhaps 12-18 more months max for me. Ideally is 12 more months, and definitely won't be more than 18 months.

My father retired at 55, and now he is 80 and still has lots of things to do everyday (he is able to follow youtube tutorials to create various gadgets). Same for me, i am a gamer (started playing game when i was 4-5 years old. Till now still playing games 2-6 hours daily), and have a lot of side hobbies, and have a lot of areas i want to explore such as augmented reality, 3d scanning / printing, etc. (AR and 3d scanning / printing are still kinda expensive atm, example, a industry grade of high accuracy 3d scanner can be up to USD 25k-40k. Apple's upcoming AR is USD 3.5k)

I want to be fully FIRE without worrying anything, won't bother to collect rental or to entertain tenants' complains, won't bother to check share up or down, etc. My passive income are all from FD, EPF, company share, etc. Worst case rm15K +- monthly, best case rm100k+- monthly.

Do i like my job? yes. But i have some personal issues that made me decide it is the time to leave the job and fully enjoy what i always wanted to do, full time.

CommodoreAmiga
post Jun 24 2023, 05:39 PM

3,856 posts

QUOTE(crador @ Jun 24 2023, 02:53 PM)
Najib sudah retired ke belum?
Yes. Retired. Enjoying life at SG Buloh Resort now. Or is it Kajang Satay resort? Lol
Unkerpanjang
post Jun 25 2023, 08:24 PM

1,232 posts

Either Self Actialization or Job Satisfaction...usd48 mil in plastic bags, cannot understand why hasnt FI/RE?

Personally think he's worried usd lose GRC n depreciates significantly. Its people like him thats causing fellow forumers with rm4-10 mil networth,
retirement anxiety.

This post has been edited by Unkerpanjang: Jun 25 2023, 08:31 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jun 25 2023, 09:54 PM

3,587 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Jun 25 2023, 08:24 PM)
Either Self Actialization or Job Satisfaction...usd48 mil in plastic bags, cannot understand why hasnt FI/RE?

Personally think he's worried usd lose GRC n depreciates significantly. Its people like him thats causing fellow forumers with rm4-10 mil networth,
retirement anxiety.

someone like him... 48 million usd may actually turns out to be not enough....

he must have many many an enemy, and dangerous ones. No way he doesn't need security for the rest of his life. and now he just made Putin pissed at him.
guy3288
post Jun 25 2023, 10:33 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Jun 24 2023, 02:14 PM)
As long as you are still restlessly worrying, thinking, debating how much how many zero at the back of your NW balance has to be for you to FIRE

You are not yet FIRE
Yes
if have to keep asking enough or not
better work a bit longer lah.

retirement anxiety

I dont think so

I doubt people would even bother compare themselves with
someone far far above their league.

You want to ask Robert Kuok how much is required for FIRE?
Elon Musk, Mark Zuckerberg? Surely not
what more mafia Prigozhin.

It is unrealistic
only those who wanna feel down and depressed would do that.

we dont lead that kind of lifestyle
we dont need feed so many machais
we just dont need that much.

People like them whose money flows in like water
is just not the same like our sweat and blood money,
they wont stop
they forever need more
easy money mah..

This post has been edited by guy3288: Jun 26 2023, 09:23 AM
Unkerpanjang
post Jun 26 2023, 06:15 AM

1,232 posts

retirement anxiety.

More likely SA/TI/RE.
guy3288
post Jun 26 2023, 09:02 AM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Jun 26 2023, 06:15 AM)
More likely SA/TI/RE.
satire is disguised humour with message to expose / criticise someone for his stupidity

but this sentence belies your message

Personally (I) think he's worried usd lose GRC n depreciates significantly. Its people like him thats causing fellow forumers with rm4-10 mil networth,
retirement anxiety.

romuluz777
post Jun 26 2023, 09:06 AM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jun 24 2023, 03:42 PM)
You may count the EPF portion if you are in a position of being able to access it (i.e. if you are at least age 50, have more than RM 1M, etc )

jutamind
post Jun 26 2023, 11:00 AM

2,429 posts

If this is the case, do you count the amount that is accessible as part of asset allocation or the whole amount? Let's say i have 1.1 mil in EPF, do i include this 100k as part of asset allocation or the whole 1.1m?

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Jun 26 2023, 09:06 AM)
You may count the EPF portion if you are in a position of being able to access it (i.e. if you are at least age 50, have more than RM 1M, etc )
SUSSihambodoh
post Jun 26 2023, 11:12 AM

436 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jun 26 2023, 11:00 AM)
If this is the case, do you count the amount that is accessible as part of asset allocation or the whole amount? Let's say i have 1.1 mil in EPF, do i include this 100k as part of asset allocation or the whole 1.1m?
Just count the dividends. When you FIRE what matters most is how much you are generating passively a month right?
Ramjade
post Jun 26 2023, 11:31 AM

24,333 posts

Depends on how you structure your retirement.
If you structure based off capital drawdown then yes.
If you structure your retirement based off passive income, you generally don't need to look at your net worth. You just need to count that your passive income > your expenses + additional buffer for just in case.

For me I just look at my passive income as I don't intend to draw down my capital.
romuluz777
post Jun 26 2023, 03:29 PM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jun 26 2023, 12:00 PM)
I would consider the excess of 1M as calcs for monthly cashlow for life sustanance.
The main 1M principal which cannot be touched, doesn't count.
Not enuff to FIRE based on these, unless you have other assets, shares and savings.
Ramjade
post Jun 26 2023, 04:32 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Jun 26 2023, 03:29 PM)
I would consider the excess of 1M as calcs for monthly cashlow for life sustanance.
Not enuff to FIRE based on these, unless you have other assets, shares and savings.
Forget to add if FIRE, don't count on EPF as you cannot touch it until retirement age. The purpose of FIRE is retire before official retirement age.
Wedchar2912
post Jun 26 2023, 05:24 PM

3,587 posts

You can count... just need to be slightly more intelligent and diligent in how you do your drawdown. Ie, in your excel when you do your forecast and cashflow (ie which assets to withdraw money from), you then have to be specific where until you reach 55 years old or above 1 million in EPF, all your drawdown will come from other buckets.
=> there is a side effect of this: you may not be able to balance your asset allocation properly.

Remember, EPF money is still yours... Either at 55 or upon death, it is urs to touch. Preferably at 55. biggrin.gif
dwRK
post Jun 26 2023, 05:33 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Jun 26 2023, 03:29 PM)
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 26 2023, 04:32 PM)
Forget to add if FIRE, don't count on EPF as you cannot touch it until retirement age. The purpose of FIRE is retire before official retirement age.
i would just count everything... epf money/dividend is just deferred... you would keep the best passive "cash cow" anyways, so you'd start with savings fd amanah etc before you touch epf at >5%... just have to manage cashflow so you don't run dry before you can touch epf... wink.gif

163 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:52 AM