125 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Sugar Glider V4, Pocket Marsupials

krynzpeaches
post Sep 20 2007, 09:03 AM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 19 2007, 05:18 PM)
My Ah Pit look like don't drink water from the bottle, is it anything can do to attract Ah Pit drink from there? I didn't change the bottle but just didn't drink water from there.

Sometimes it is very hard for us to catch them drinking water because they also get water/juices from the fruits they eat.

Those hanging water bottles (like for hamsters) are the best. Don't give them water in an open bowl, it will easily get contaminated by their poo & pee.

Some people worry that they do not know how to drink from the bottle or do not know where to find the water, this is a WRONG information. Any animal can smell and tell where there is water.

Don't worry about them not drinking lah, unless you try and sit in front of the cage for 24 hours without moving, I'm pretty sure you can see her drink.

KP
vincent09
post Sep 20 2007, 09:38 AM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

I see, because everyday i check on the bottle, the water level didn't low down, last time still got abit or when i feed Ah Pit drink she will drink some from there, but nowadays won't drink anymore, maybe those fruit ( watermelon ) alot juice there biggrin.gif. Now no more watermelon, c how was going ( i'm not don't feed her watermelon, just got other fruits there biggrin.gif )
krynzpeaches
post Sep 20 2007, 09:43 AM

2,047 posts

Yeah, watermelon has lots of juices, so their would obtain liquid from there.

I always catch my glider drinking after taking a dry meal like mealworms or their dried fruit treats. I guess when the food given is dry, they'll know when to look for water smile.gif

KP

Added on September 20, 2007, 9:55 amI wish to clarify the misconception of "it is difficult to bond with 2 gliders at once".

A lot of people have came up and given this as a reason for not getting 2 gliders at once. I have read in a few resources that this is untrue. So today, I'd like to share a very-very good explanation on this quoted from Lisa of Suncoast Sugar Gliders smile.gif

"...misconception about glider bonding. Many are under the impression that if you get more than one glider, it will be harder to bond with multiple gliders. It is probably the most common objection I hear when I tell people that gliders are best kept in at least pairs, and is simply not the case.

Just know that multiple gliders can be bonded with as easily as or even more easily than single gliders. You do have to "divide and conquer" to make it happen faster. What I mean by this is work with them one on one so that a relationship is developed between each glider and each person. From the experiences others have shared with me over the years, I often hear of single gliders bonding very slowly and acting fearful for time periods longer than we would normally expect. But think about it.

In addition to a new home and new people, which is a scary proposition for most new pets, you've also added separation anxiety into the mix of stresses. Gliders are made by nature to have companions around the clock. They do not understand being alone and this can freak them out. With a companion, they will naturally feel more at home, as this is the most natural way for them. The more we can honor the nature of the animals we bring home to live with us, the better the experience will be for both human and animal."

KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Sep 20 2007, 09:55 AM
broken_string
post Sep 20 2007, 10:20 AM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

hmm cool info mayb i should get a companion for my joey also hmm.gif
NewbieBetta
post Sep 20 2007, 11:55 AM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Sep 20 2007, 10:20 AM)
hmm cool info mayb i should get a companion for my joey also hmm.gif
james..u got urself a sg liao?
broken_string
post Sep 20 2007, 12:49 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

ya got liao 1 week + liao biggrin.gif
NewbieBetta
post Sep 20 2007, 03:32 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Sep 20 2007, 12:49 PM)
ya got liao 1 week + liao biggrin.gif
wah..so syok la then..i wanna go culik ur sg ledi..haha..post pic la..u bring ur joey along to work?ur room starting to be zoo liao it seems..what r u getting next?

dai86
post Sep 20 2007, 03:44 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 20 2007, 08:59 AM)
dai86  thank you for the info about the bottle, is it like a bottle with a small bowl at below that kind biggrin.gif.

Ya Honey no good for too much, that why i need to mix another mix food that is use fruits jam.
is ok. but if u are getting it, get those with small small 'bowl' one, so it won't polutted with the poo and pee. hehe....

ooo.. crazymouse, thanks ya. but one more things that i not understand, isn't that glider in nature get honey is those raw honey? since no one cook for them? sweat.gif .... but why the internet writer suggested not give them raw honey?
coldfusionpower
post Sep 20 2007, 04:43 PM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

if i using a bowl for their drink , chika just going to take a dive inside the bowl .. sigh ..
krynzpeaches
post Sep 20 2007, 04:51 PM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(dai86 @ Sep 20 2007, 03:44 PM)
is ok. but if u are getting it, get those with small small 'bowl' one, so it won't polutted with the poo and pee. hehe....

ooo.. crazymouse, thanks ya. but one more things that i not understand, isn't that glider in nature get honey is those raw honey? since no one cook for them?  sweat.gif .... but why the internet writer suggested not give them raw honey?

Trust me, as long as it is a bowl, it will get contaminated even tho it is small.

Try yourself and see, the next day, you will find the water clouded already. And you have to change the water everyday.

Everywhere also if you search will recommend water bottle over bowl, why do you still wanna use a bowl?

Where in the net or research that you find they feed on honey in the wild?

In the wild, they feed on tree saps and gums, fruits and insects, NO honey liao.

How the heck are suggies suppose to get the honey from the bee hive? They'll get stung by millions of bees and definitely won't survive dey.

shakehead.gif
KP

-----

From Wiki :Its diet varies considerably with both geography and the changing seasons, but the main items are the sap of acacias and certain Eucalyptus, nectar, pollen, and arthropods.

From Suncoast : Sugar gliders eat manna in the wild. Manna is a crusty sugar left from where sap flowed from a wound in a tree trunk or branch.  Gliders also consume honeydew, which is an excess sugar produced by sap sucking insects.  Honeydew and fresh fruits are considered good substitutes for the sap, manna and honeydew free ranging sugar gliders eat naturally in the wild.

From Pet Education : In the wild, sugar gliders eat blossoms, flower nectar, sap from eucalyptus trees, acacia gum, and insects.

From Glider University :What Do Gliders Eat In the Wild?

According to a year-long study by A.P. Smith, (Diet and Feeding Strategies of the Marsupial Sugar Glider in Temperate Australia, Journal of Animal Ecology, 1982, Volume 51, pp 149-166), gliders living in a small patch of forest consisting of eucalyptus and acacia in Victoria, Australia, maintained a general diet (obtained from observation, as well as examination of faecal matter and autopsy of collected gliders), which varied seasonally in this manner:

Spring and Summer: Moths and beetles that have larval stages and adult stages that shelter in foliage.

Fall and Winter: Acacia gum and eucalypt sap.

It is interesting to note that insects were preferred over gums and saps in the spring and summer, in spite of the fact that gums and saps are most plentiful in spring and summer. In addition to the above, small amounts of honeydew, manna, and pollen were found.

According to the study, feeding activity was classified into one of five categories:

1. Acacia gum feeding
  2. Eucalypt sap feeding
  3. Eucalypt bark stripping
  4. Eucalypt branch licking
  5. Foliage gleaning or searching

When identifying the faecal samples obtained from the gliders in this area, some of the following items were identified:

1. Soft bodied caterpillars
  2. Beetle larvae
  3. Moths
  4. Abdomens of large beetles

The Australian acacia gums are similar to commercially produced gum arabic. Acacia gum is a very important carbohydrate source, and gliders are able to digest about 90% of the gum. Gliders spent about half their time (43%) feeding on gum. Gliders also fed on sap from the E. bridgesiana eucalyptus tree by chewing the sides of the wound on the tree and eating some of the bark with the sap. In the summer, only 12.5% of the faeces collected contained bark, compared to 94% in the winter.

Pollen is relatively high in protein if gliders are able to digest it. It was not found in faecal samples, but in the stomach of a collected glider. Perhaps the absence of it in the faeces would indicate that gliders may be able to digest pollen.

Honeydew, an excess of sugars excreted by insects, was also found in abundance in the faecal remains in the summertime, but dramatically dropped in the winter. Manna, which is formed when sap from the trees comes in contact with insect saliva, was also another food source.

Gliders spent time in the summer by chasing insects through the foliage and ingesting them, as well as searching for insects by stripping the bark off the trees. Gliders may eat insects in spring and summer to satisfy their protein requirements. It is important to note that while insects were the food of choice in spring and summer, they don't satisfy the minimum energy requirements for sugar gliders. The importance of gums and saps in the glider diet is obvious. Even during the summer, gums and saps are used for energy, and in winter, they are the staple of the glider wild diet.

Where got honey??

doh.gif
KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Sep 20 2007, 05:07 PM
coldfusionpower
post Sep 20 2007, 05:41 PM

3,158 posts

from another discussion board

he/she replying to sumone asking about mix and suggies food
only 2 week SG ahh...
u can give them bird egg(without boil)add some honey to giv them protine,o mealworm(cut to two)let them suck the inside of mealworm...than u can give babyfood lol...honey...tat is enough 4 them....when they r 1 month... u started can give them some dog o cat bistkut,fruit,let them learn bite....remember... hand feed always...

i reply . took some info from 1st page
4 weeks OOP is young .. they still need nutrient.8 weeks OOP is the minimum age

dont give honey ! especially for JOEYS ! .. they cant digest them . a senior suggie ok .. not for joey ..

and do u know dog or cat food can give them lumpy jaw ? its already stated its for dog and cat. not for suggies.

1) NO corn - Although sugar gliders will readily dive into it, we must not include corn in their diet because the phosphorus content is higher than any other food, thus do not offer any benefits to sugar gliders except more phosphorus that could lead to bone deficiency.

2) NO avocado - Very high in fat.

3) CAUTION on grapes - Although there is still research going on about this, we must caution on the intake of grapes or raisins due to some death in sugar gliders that points to some of the substance found only in grapes. I'd say better safe than sorry.

4) NO iceberg lettuce - Non nutritional value and can cause watery poo!

5) NO chocolates - Chocolates are a NO-NO to all animals. It causes a toxic chemical reaction in most animals.

6) CAUTION on high fat content food - Nuts especially are high in fat. Some will offer sun flower seeds to their sugar gliders, but do this sparingly and strictly as treats not a part of their diet.

7) NO fried food - Again, very high in fat.

8) cat or dog food - Although most commercial breeders feed their sugar gliders with cat or dog food, they just merely want to substitute the fresh food that needs to be prepared daily, to something easy and lasting to eat without considering their long term health and not to mention - Cheap. Cat food is designed for cats, same goes with dog food. They are not meant for sugar glider. Not to mention that cat or dog food can cause lumpy jaw (because it is hard), intestinal blockage and kidney failure in the long run.
he'she reply .. the same one as the 1st quote
no.. they like dog food very much...
i dun means tat givin them dog food as main food...
but u hav 2...choose the dog food tat hav high clusium...
n dog food can help them to gesek their teeth...
honey is just 4 snack...not main food also...
main food is fruit...mealworm...n etc...
dun miss understanding...

what to reply ?
vincent09
post Sep 20 2007, 06:07 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

Just now i try feed water by using bottle, lucky Ah Pit still take some from there. biggrin.gif . Maybe is that watermelon alot of juice.
Oh yea, maybe i know what is the problem, last time i still feed dry cat food, maybe not so much water, that's why Ah Pit will go drink water from there. Nowadays i feed mix food & fruits only. biggrin.gif
May i know guys when you let your suger glider come out, what will you do with them? Just feed food and touch touch them?
Everytime i let Ah Pit out ( morning or afternoon ) i just touch touch her in sleeping place and let her come out move abit. ( If too long time for coming out, she will jump here jump there. Quite hard make her coming back. ) At night i make Ah Pit come out and enjoy the mix food, after that wait her pee & poo and take her back. ( After eat the mix food, Ah Pit will stone there and pee or poo.) Just like hard to let her search around for long time.

This post has been edited by vincent09: Sep 20 2007, 06:07 PM
broken_string
post Sep 20 2007, 07:40 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Sep 20 2007, 03:32 PM)
wah..so syok la then..i wanna go culik ur sg ledi..haha..post pic la..u bring ur joey along to work?ur room starting to be zoo liao it seems..what r u getting next?
my room juz 2 pet now
the snake escape ledi.

next on the list mayb pacman, chipmunks or water dragon thumbup.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 20 2007, 08:04 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(dai86 @ Sep 20 2007, 03:44 PM)

ooo.. crazymouse, thanks ya. but one more things that i not understand, isn't that glider in nature get honey is those raw honey? since no one cook for them?  sweat.gif .... but why the internet writer suggested not give them raw honey?
Aiyoh, they are known as sugar gliders mah, not honey gliders heheheh.... Anyway, KP already replied why. By nature, they cannot even eat honey in the wild. They got no protective skin, nor skill to open a bee hive and if a glider gets near a bee hive, sure die liao.

This is why no raw honey. Sugar gliders get their name coz they glide and they like the sugary sap from trees. They get the sugar from plants, not bees.

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Sep 20 2007, 04:51 PM)
Trust me, as long as it is a bowl, it will get contaminated even tho it is small.

Try yourself and see, the next day, you will find the water clouded already. And you have to change the water everyday.

Everywhere also if you search will recommend water bottle over bowl, why do you still wanna use a bowl?

Where in the net or research that you find they feed on honey in the wild?

In the wild, they feed on tree saps and gums, fruits and insects, NO honey liao.

How the heck are suggies suppose to get the honey from the bee hive? They'll get stung by millions of bees and definitely won't  survive dey.

shakehead.gif
KP

-----
Where got honey??

doh.gif
KP
Good info tongue.gif

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Sep 20 2007, 05:41 PM)
from another discussion board

he/she replying to sumone asking about mix and suggies food
i reply . took some info from 1st page
he'she reply .. the same one as the 1st quote
what to reply ?
HAhaha.... sugar glider must gesek gigi? Glider is not a hamster. Reply that:

Sugar glider is a marsupial. They eat tree sap, fruits and insects. Dogfood is hard, can cause lumpy jaw and also kidney or liver failure if the food is the low quality kind.

Bird egg.... she wants us to panjat pokok and get telur gagak? Hahaha... sorry, I can't resist it when it says birds egg. It is true that in the wild they will eat bird eggs and even baby birds.... but tak akan we wanna give that rite? Hard Boiled Chicken egg lah.... telur puyoh is too high in fats and cholesterol for gliders.

You can tell the person she/he still need to research. Best is never give dogfood. If wanna give, get the super premium quality and soak with water or juice first.

Their gigi is not like hamster or tikus, so no need to sharpen their teeth lah.... if wanna gesek gigi, might as well say give batu LOL.

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 20 2007, 06:07 PM)
Just now i try feed water by using bottle, lucky Ah Pit still take some from there. biggrin.gif .  Maybe is that watermelon alot of juice.
Oh yea, maybe i know what is the problem, last time i still feed dry cat food, maybe not so much water, that's why Ah Pit will go drink water from there. Nowadays i feed mix food & fruits only. biggrin.gif
May i know guys when you let your suger glider come out, what will you do with them? Just feed food and touch touch them?
Everytime i let Ah Pit out  ( morning or afternoon ) i just touch touch her in sleeping place and let her come out move abit. ( If too long time for coming out, she will jump here jump there. Quite hard make her coming back. )  At night i make Ah Pit come out and enjoy the mix food, after that wait her pee & poo and take her back. ( After eat the mix food, Ah Pit will stone there and pee or poo.) Just like hard to let her search around for long time.
A glider enjoys being out and jump here and there. That is their nature. You cannot stop them from being active mah. Letting our gliders play on our body and jump here and there is good exercise and also great socializing with them.
vincent09
post Sep 20 2007, 08:24 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

Er just now my Ah Pit jump on the mosqito killer pad there.... if she push the button herself ..........

Maybe need to take her to somewhere is free of space let her run on floor biggrin.gif ( run very fast ) Or i act like tree let her jump. ( just success 1 time, most of time she will jump on floor run somewhere else.)

Anything can attract suger glider for call them back? Food, fruits like no work.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 20 2007, 08:47 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 20 2007, 08:24 PM)
Er just now my Ah Pit jump on the mosqito killer pad there.... if she push the button herself ..........

Maybe need to take her to somewhere is free of space let her run on floor biggrin.gif  ( run very fast )  Or i act like tree let her jump. ( just success 1 time, most of time she will jump on floor run somewhere else.)

Anything can attract suger glider for call them back? Food, fruits like no work.
The problem is you did not bond with your glider well. So she is more likely to run away rather than come back to you. You only make her see you as food provider, you never make her think of you as a playmate and companion..... Also, gliders are not like dogs. They will only respond and come when they want to.

Yes, acting like a tree to a glider, making them jump from 1 hand to another and letting them run up and down is the way to get along with them.
vincent09
post Sep 20 2007, 11:32 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

Ok, i try my best XD. Thank you crazymouse_yyh.
Oh yea about juice for sugar glider, if i use those apple make juice and give Ah Pit drink is it ok? Or outside got sell those non sugar juice??

This post has been edited by vincent09: Sep 20 2007, 11:34 PM
broken_string
post Sep 21 2007, 12:33 AM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

my joey look like quite gloomy today
when i release it back to the cage, it juz stone there sweat.gif

is it he need companion or i dint spend enough time with him ?
i carry him around during daytime and only let him back to the cage at night before i sleep.

quite worry about it coz its not tat active today sad.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 21 2007, 12:40 AM

12,047 posts

Did you play with him? Carry around is just for bonding but they need about 2 hours of play time with you. Hold, make him walk up and down.... but joeys generally sleep more.
coldfusionpower
post Sep 21 2007, 12:45 AM

3,158 posts

already replied he/she post . see what he/she reply .. sure marah like hell to me ..bwahahaha ..

p/s: chika take a dive in my milo . and he refuse to be clean .. how ar ?

125 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:23 PM