Sugar Glider V4, Pocket Marsupials

coldfusionpower
post Sep 19 2007, 12:14 AM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

QUOTE(hackerzx @ Sep 18 2007, 11:05 PM)
me too bite already..ahha..i think she hungry la..but already give juice and fruit..wah makan jari lak lols..
at least urs didnt bite ur ear maa .. mine . panjat that area , go here and there suddenly ... NGAP !
hackerzx
post Sep 19 2007, 06:59 AM

Hackerzx Prime
929 posts

just scare kalau masuk seluar lagi teruk lols.. sg didnt eat roti aa?
krynzpeaches
post Sep 19 2007, 08:58 AM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

QUOTE(dai86 @ Sep 18 2007, 11:19 PM)
anyone tried those glider food sell in pet safari?
(my friend tried and he said is not working geh.. hehe...)

QUOTE(dai86 @ Sep 18 2007, 11:56 PM)
mm.... i dunno about that thing oh. i tak and see, dunno written with honey etc.....etc.....etc..... and i see it is like crunched cornflekes, and is too tiny for my fatty (fatty like to grab her food, food that she cannot grab she won't bother to see also). so i didn't put much effort to see it loh.

Nope, the foods sold at PS is not recommended, be it the pellet or the treat with egg & honey.

The pellet content is really misleading, the pellet is hard and the smell is not yummy at all.

The treat contains honey, a bit skeptical to try. It is supposed to be mixed with water they say, but I wouldn't wanna try it.

I've never even seen those food anywhere recommended in the net. Dunno where the heck PS got those food doh.gif

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 19 2007, 12:13 AM)
crazymouse_yyh thank for the prove of that ST Dalfour jam, maybe i will try for that (is it 100ml will too much for 1 mix food ? Because i put 100ml for honey for my fix food, maybe just put 70ml enought kua) . Get berry type biggrin.gif Hope Ah Pit like it.

Sugar glider wheel need to be 12" like Hedgehog to avoid their back bone problem or just enought to let them run is ok already?

Yes, like carzymouse said, St. Dakfour is okay.

What 100ml? That's a lot lah, even 70ml also still a lot.

If you use the recipe you find in the net and follow according to the measurement, replace the honey with the natural jam and use back the same measurement given, don't simple taruk your own measurement. If they say, half a cup, then use half a cup only.

Yes, sugar gliders need big wheels, a 12" is the best. Another one to look into is that the wheels need to have covers to prevent them from falling off while running. The ones available here are either big without cover or small with cover, we don't have the right ones available for sugar gliders here.

QUOTE(hackerzx @ Sep 19 2007, 06:59 AM)
sg didnt eat roti aa?

Nope, no roti.

Why do you wanna feed them roti anyway?

KP
vincent09
post Sep 19 2007, 09:09 AM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

My mix recipe is 150ml / 1 cup honey( i mix with 100ml honey, 150ml is alot) , that's y i need to low down for jam.
O.o 12" wheel, hmm need to save pocket money to get.
krynzpeaches
post Sep 19 2007, 09:10 AM

2,047 posts

Mind telling me which recipe you used and where you found it?

As far as I have seen/searched, I have never came across 150ml/1 cup of honey. It's either half a cup or quarter only.

KP
vincent09
post Sep 19 2007, 09:47 AM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

LEADBEATERS MIX recipe, sorry for that 1 cup is either 150ml or half cup
Taipan1
post Sep 19 2007, 10:11 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 19 2007, 08:47 AM)
LEADBEATERS MIX recipe, sorry for that 1 cup is either 150ml or half cup
Vincent
As i doubt if you can get the main ingredient that is required to make the Leadbeaters mix I would not be making up something that is not correct. The feeding ratio for leadbeaters is only 1 or 2 TEAspoons not dessert or tablespoons
The percentage of protein ( in the proper cereal ) is 52%- thus you only give your gliders 1 or 2 teaspoons.
If you use 150 ml which by what I have read is the smallest amount of mix one makes without cutting the egg in half or quarters.
What is the brand of cereal used ??.
krynzpeaches
post Sep 19 2007, 10:13 AM

2,047 posts

I've searched again on leadbeater's mix, still no 150ml. All half cup only.

I dunno, to me if cup, it's those cup size lah, not mug or bowl size, so half a cup should be little only, less than 100ml wor.

KP
Taipan1
post Sep 19 2007, 10:36 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Sep 19 2007, 09:13 AM)
I've searched again on leadbeater's mix, still no 150ml. All half cup only.

I dunno, to me if cup, it's those cup size lah, not mug or bowl size, so half a cup should be little only, less than 100ml wor.

KP
Hi KP
In McPhersons book the ingredients & proportions are:-
450 ml warm water
3 shelled hard boiled eggs
Vit & min supp's
450 ml honey
75 gr High protein cereal

If you divide the ingredients by 3 ie 1/3rd the amount of water & honey equals 150 ml
I dont have time to check my other 2 books as we leave for Aust. tonight & someone has tried to steal some nursery equipment last night which has caused problems.

krynzpeaches
post Sep 19 2007, 10:39 AM

2,047 posts

Thanks for the clarification Taipan smile.gif

However, in some of my recent findings, some of the McPhearsons stuff is outdated and some of her statements contradict with most good breeder nowadays smile.gif

Have a safe trip wink.gif

KP
Taipan1
post Sep 19 2007, 10:48 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Sep 19 2007, 09:39 AM)
Thanks for the clarification Taipan smile.gif

However, in some of my recent findings, some of the McPhearsons stuff is outdated and some of her statements contradict with most good breeder nowadays smile.gif

Have a safe trip wink.gif

KP
Thanks KP
I want to go to Taronga ( I'm from Sydney ) & if possible will see if they have changed their reciepe
Rgds

vincent09
post Sep 19 2007, 12:00 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

Half cup nearly around 100ml, the cup is mean the measurement cup not our drinking cup or what. That's y i c the info say 150ml or 1/2 cup so i use 1/2cup which mean 100ml around like that.
About the cereal, ya some it just say high protein cereal some say is baby food cereal, so i use baby food cereal, is it something wrong with baby food cereal? If anything wrong pls tell the info, if can, please share yours mix food also, here look like less talk about mix food biggrin.gif

Hmm nowadays Ah Pit look like won't drink water from water bottle already... Also don't know why, but she can pee alot, maybe is from fruits water that she get. Now put a small plate of water for her. Hope she can drink from there. Is it sugar glider need to drink alot?

This post has been edited by vincent09: Sep 19 2007, 12:40 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 19 2007, 02:17 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Hahah... coz not many people make the mixed food for gliders here. Very few and those that make somehow became inactive already..... Most of them buy the mixed food from me.

As most of you know, my mixed food has no honey nor jam..... The sweetness is mild and comes from unsweetened fruit juices. So overall is healthier than add loads of honey.

If I do add honey, I only add 1 tablespoon.... not much.

High protein cereal is baby cereal. But many of the baby cereal available contains milk.... so not good. You have to find the ones with no added milk so normally Heinz is the right choice. Heinz do have a high protein baby cereal.
jAck66
post Sep 19 2007, 03:15 PM

123 posts

KP check ur sms..

still waiting u reanne...where r u?... sad.gif cant pm u..ur msg box full
vincent09
post Sep 19 2007, 05:18 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

crazymouse_yyh i'm using that Heinz high protein baby cereal ( yellow package 1 ) biggrin.gif, i see ok maybe i mix 1 with jam & fruit juice mix food, search for info first biggrin.gif.

My Ah Pit look like don't drink water from the bottle, is it anything can do to attract Ah Pit drink from there? I didn't change the bottle but just didn't drink water from there.

This post has been edited by vincent09: Sep 19 2007, 09:25 PM
dai86
post Sep 20 2007, 12:31 AM

451 posts

vincent09, my family starting dun like them, and keep asking me to 'throw' them away. haha... but later they find it very funny having them around, cause running the wheel, hand feeding, sometimes when they saw people their head will came out from the 'house' to see who is around... etc. but of course lah, if pee and poo on 'unsuitable' place, tats different story.
maybe u should try put water bowl.... u know those bottle which water came out from below? those they use for dog and cat and rabbit etc, but smaller type. or like what i did last time, i feed them water using the water bottle after they eat. now they know how to drink from there lah.
ooo... is honey good or no good for the glider? i give them those 'kampung' honey, not those sell at the market one. mine is those the kampung people straightly gather from the sarang lebah, then they filter out the honey from the 'bee's house'. no additional colouring and preservative. hehe...

This post has been edited by dai86: Sep 20 2007, 12:34 AM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 20 2007, 12:35 AM

12,047 posts

Kampung honey is raw honey. Raw honey SHOULD not be fed to gliders. All websites said PURE honey, means those supermarket ones. RAW has lots of bacteria in it which can harm a glider.

The best advice, no need give honey.
dai86
post Sep 20 2007, 01:26 AM

451 posts

whats te different between raw honey and pure honey?
those supermarket one not added with preservative etc?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 20 2007, 01:37 AM

12,047 posts

Raw means not clean properly and not heated at the right temperature. Pure honey are those sold at supermarkets. The honey is cleaned and sterilized from bacteria, germs and dirty things. Well, honey can kill germs and bacteria but then sometimes you cannot be too careful with this. You do know that honey is the bee's saliva rite? They do not add preservatives coz honey won't rot. Raw honey can be good for us but we do not know what would come about for gliders since it is not a natural food source for them too. The ones in supermarkets are sterilized with higher heat, making the honey clear to see. There are no preservatives.

Go google Raw honey for sugar gliders.... all the websites which listed Leadbeater's mix all stated no raw honey. I would follow what they say rather than take the risk with raw honey.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Sep 20 2007, 01:57 AM
vincent09
post Sep 20 2007, 07:59 AM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

dai86 thank you for the info about the bottle, is it like a bottle with a small bowl at below that kind biggrin.gif.

Ya Honey no good for too much, that why i need to mix another mix food that is use fruits jam.

125 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0191sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:58 AM