post Jun 5 2021, 08:45 PM, updated 5y ago

473 posts

dry.gif
dest9116
post Jun 5 2021, 08:48 PM

495 posts

Depends on your brain la, if bad in physics and chemistry and add maths then go take acca la, don't listen to your parents do engineering and end up can't even graduate. Everyone have their role and specialty in society
Yggdrasil
post Jun 5 2021, 08:49 PM

2,210 posts

I don't think ACCA is that hard compared to engineering math.
Pop The Bubbles
post Jun 5 2021, 08:51 PM

219 posts

Engineering background can take up acca easily.
arsenwagon
post Jun 5 2021, 08:51 PM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Jun 5 2021, 08:48 PM)
Depends on your brain la, if bad in physics and chemistry and add maths then go take acca la, don't listen to your parents do engineering and end up can't even graduate. Everyone have their role and specialty in society
Then anjingliar Vs accountant who earn more on average . Y I always see njingliar machem complain bout celery but not accountant
dest9116
post Jun 5 2021, 08:57 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Jun 5 2021, 08:51 PM)
Then anjingliar Vs accountant who earn more on average . Y I always see njingliar machem complain bout celery but not accountant
If rly want study for celery then u need either join illegal gangster or legal gangster aka government.

Else will never get rich

DatoChin
post Jun 5 2021, 08:58 PM

91 posts

Do you really care which is harder?

You only care which will bring you more money in future.

Answer: none
novblaze
post Jun 5 2021, 09:00 PM

328 posts

Is shitty
Don't waste time going in.

Just IT jer
haturaya
post Jun 5 2021, 09:02 PM

2,554 posts

thumbsup.gif

Different form of difficulty.. Both difficult in it's own way
6942nole
post Jun 5 2021, 09:04 PM

346 posts

engineering is an applied science in real world.

in my book, engineering can do anything except those that need mouth and tongue.

Pichu00
post Jun 5 2021, 09:10 PM

640 posts

U compare apple vs banana.....
arsenwagon
post Jun 5 2021, 09:10 PM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

QUOTE(6942nole @ Jun 5 2021, 09:04 PM)

in my book, engineering can do anything except those that need mouth and tongue.
Then women anjingliar no good waifu
ohman
post Jun 5 2021, 09:13 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(Pop The Bubbles @ Jun 5 2021, 08:51 PM)
this.

Newsray
post Jun 5 2021, 09:15 PM

1,022 posts

more like theory vs hands-on.

if you can get into good uni with a lot of resources to learn, then engineering is ok.
most of the engineering here focus on theory and people ended up graduating with weak foundation for the real world.

ACCA, just focus on theory and do the work.....

red_satu
post Jun 5 2021, 09:15 PM

38 posts

I think getting a professional IR title is harder than ACCA and is also rarer. But if it's just getting a B.Eng and then work in an MNC where they call you an engineer then that's much easier.
butterkijen
post Jun 5 2021, 09:17 PM

196 posts

i dont know about acca but for engineering if you do your assignments properly and study for your exams can already

This post has been edited by butterkijen: Jun 5 2021, 09:18 PM
airtawarian
post Jun 5 2021, 09:20 PM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jun 5 2021, 08:49 PM)
I don't think ACCA is that hard compared to engineering math.
U have Never Sit For acca So dont act You know
airtawarian
post Jun 5 2021, 09:21 PM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(ohman @ Jun 5 2021, 09:13 PM)
this.
Bullshit. You know How tough is acca.
Acoen
post Jun 5 2021, 09:25 PM

298 posts

Read from where.. Accountant job gonna obsolete
ohman
post Jun 5 2021, 09:29 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(airtawarian @ Jun 5 2021, 09:21 PM)
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

inbe4 because best brains mostly take medicine and engineering.

only until recent years that science stream students are taking accounting laugh.gif
SUSceo684

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Finance is where the money's at.
Accounting is very boring.
MADReaLJL

4,050 posts

Engineering > acca

But overall companies need more engineers than accountant
SUSCmyong88
post Jun 5 2021, 09:37 PM

974 posts

Engineer creates ;
Accountants maintain

Make a choice.
ghost_brocolli
post Jun 5 2021, 09:46 PM

19 posts

engineers possible to take accountancy as elective subject

u got c any accountant take engineering subjects before? lol

anyway how hard your course is does not equivalent to how successful u will be in life
ZeonKid
post Jun 5 2021, 09:46 PM

48 posts

I have seen many engineering grads change their career after grad and take ACCA/ICAEW and step into financial world.

CPA Australia is even easier than ACCA/ICAEW.

But you never see accounting grad change course to engineering. It is because the technical math in engineering is killing the accounting student.
df569
post Jun 5 2021, 09:50 PM

112 posts

If you interested in physics and maths/science ofc you will do well in engineering, if you are sensitive and attentive to statistics and figures then you will do well in ACCA. Both depends on your personal interest.
adix4
post Jun 5 2021, 09:50 PM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

depends if you smart or not
cockerish
post Jun 5 2021, 09:51 PM

12k SP@M Club
13,619 posts

Both doesn matter. Today as evidence suggest ..knowing who or having good cable is more important than education itself

Even if you are uneducated, as long cable kuat...you will make money and future is good. It can be better but risk sprm coming after you
ukauka2020
post Jun 5 2021, 09:51 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(airtawarian @ Jun 5 2021, 09:21 PM)
lol. so triggered. must be acca holder.
mitun
post Jun 5 2021, 09:58 PM

913 posts

I think ACCA is not that hard especially now you can take 1 paper at a time. Look at the number of sohais that have it.
Starbucki
post Jun 5 2021, 10:00 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(mitun @ Jun 5 2021, 09:58 PM)
I think ACCA is not that hard especially now you can take 1 paper at a time. Look at the number of sohais that have it.
Cima is worse, after degree just take 1 paper can liow kek
mitun
post Jun 5 2021, 10:01 PM

913 posts

ACCA in Malaysia has not much value anymore since TAR college and Sunway started producing industrial amounts of graduates. It only matters if you don’t have it once you got it you are like tens of thousands of others. Nothing special.
SUSCincai lar
post Jun 5 2021, 10:08 PM

113 posts

u wan easiest and earn a lot of money,.. then go law or politic for major,.. self strangling theory of suicide also can be presented in court by our lawyer,.. dog bites my hand can delay an hearing,..
macyhouse
post Jun 5 2021, 10:18 PM

273 posts

ACCA is easy , but work wise is just hours and hours of climbing the ladder
Engineering is ok , but work wise is how good are you in managing people
ericangtzeann
post Jun 5 2021, 10:20 PM

123 posts

Have u ever wonder why accounting principles is for art stream students? hmm.gif
kswee
post Jun 5 2021, 10:21 PM

577 posts

Be a boss. All skill applies.
quantum
post Jun 5 2021, 10:24 PM

624 posts

Engineering harder because usually the class is sausagefest
eidrag
post Jun 5 2021, 10:30 PM

242 posts

I grad chem eng, do a bit of accounting and now accounts payable, no engineering job experience but as studies/course goes it depends you what kind of person. If you like numbers, understand how thing works and relate, can understand basic formula and hafal a bit, you can study both acca or engineering. Imho I got okay on eng because no need to remember every law in acca syllabus
grumpydrive
post Jun 5 2021, 10:32 PM

173 posts

If bodo ambil ACCA... engineer nanti kang habis bangunan, lebuh raya runtuh sbb calculation silap
Kylow
post Jun 5 2021, 10:36 PM

56 posts

Engineering harder, thats why I looking into accounting, i confess i bodo and not interested.
Kena scam took science stream at school, else i study architecture.
RootOfJesse
post Jun 5 2021, 10:37 PM

241 posts

Engineering is high level math.. differential and integration.
Princess_Alicia
post Jun 5 2021, 10:39 PM

98 posts

If you really want to compare the difficulty based solely on how complicated is the mathematic; my answer is engineering. The difficulty of add math in engineering course easily kill those best students. While on the other hand, ACCA is pretty much tolerable even for students from the lower grade classes. Based on my observation, most of the students in the first class during my high school is doing engineering. Those in the third class and below went for the accounting. It telling the difficulty there.

Anyway, like many has said. Both courses are in their own world. They are both useful to the society. Of course if you final goal is to make money, you may as well join gangster and do some illegal business. But my true heart will say, your life shouldn't only revolves around the money, there is always better thing for you to sacrifice than making money. Only when only you found the 'better thing', you will appreciate your life better.
sle7in
post Jun 5 2021, 10:41 PM

31 posts

Ask yourself. Add math and basic math which one is difficult?
SUSSuperGampang
post Jun 5 2021, 10:45 PM

74 posts

Theres a reason why engineering is known as one of the hardest course. And to become an engineer2 with PEPC is much2 harder.

I know each and every course have it own challenge. And if u are a genius u can choose any course u like.

But courses like engineering, medical so on and so forth have a very high requirements to enter. And theres a reason for that.
Starbucki
post Jun 5 2021, 10:51 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

I see those injineering from sampah uni easy only
TShellothere131495
post Jun 5 2021, 10:58 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Jun 5 2021, 10:51 PM)
I see those injineering from sampah uni easy only
What's the sampah uni hmm.gif maybe they just want to show off they are smart, studying engineering sap sap sui but actually work like tired ayam behind.
xCM
post Jun 5 2021, 11:25 PM

535 posts

but to be the best in your field, is different setori than the paper's difficulty
howszat
post Jun 5 2021, 11:27 PM

2,932 posts

The easier one is the one you have an aptitude for.

So, it depends.
rd33
post Jun 5 2021, 11:32 PM

872 posts

Engineering is harder coz you have both theory and practical. You might be excel in engineering theory but if you cant design, build or fix stuffs u r pretty much useless in industry.

Accounting is more on practice and hard work. If you hard work in accounting you will go far.

Anyhow accounting is easier to earn more money. You got ACCA already can earn 5 figures after few years. Also can easily make side income freelancing. In next 10-20 years accounting job might be less demanding as AI is catching up and more automation.

Meanwhile Engineering depends on industry, if u in manufacturing u can see light at the end of tunnel when u r 40s. If u in Energy, OnG or Telco u pretty much will be T20 bracket before 40. But most engineering job in Msia is kuli level.
SUStikaram
post Jun 5 2021, 11:32 PM

10,722 posts

I hear acca got quota One.

Even How Good u r. If quota meet all Balance straight fail

aspartame
post Jun 5 2021, 11:35 PM

3,165 posts

Only possible to know if a person has both taken a good engineering degree and also later sat for ACCA exam....I think engineering math is more “dead” whereas in accounting, there are some scenarios that made you confused which figure to use... the math in accounting is of course simple .. just plus and minus but the choice of which figure to use or include under different scenarios can be confusing
Starbucki
post Jun 5 2021, 11:36 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(hellothere131495 @ Jun 5 2021, 10:58 PM)
What's the sampah uni  hmm.gif  maybe they just want to show off they are smart, studying engineering sap sap sui but actually work like tired ayam behind.
nowadays education is so commercialised that if you have money, you can do any course and graduate

where got people dropout nowadays lol unlike last time bill gates etc
diffyhelman2
post Jun 5 2021, 11:44 PM

863 posts

Because engineering in Malaysia isn’t really engineering. More like tech support and sales and project mgmt.

This post has been edited by diffyhelman2: Jun 5 2021, 11:45 PM
9m2w
post Jun 6 2021, 12:01 AM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

I would say engineering being an engineer. But i've never taken an ACCA paper nor do i know engineers who took one, so its presumptuous to say engineering is tougher than ACCA. Besides i think most ppl take ACCA part time while juggling a 9-5 job.

Dont compare, do what you like. Goes without saying you smarter you got more options
9m2w
post Jun 6 2021, 12:01 AM

1,035 posts

DP

This post has been edited by 9m2w: Jun 6 2021, 12:01 AM
Yggdrasil
post Jun 6 2021, 12:04 AM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(airtawarian @ Jun 5 2021, 09:20 PM)
U have Never Sit For acca So dont act You know
I did a Bachelors in Accounting & Finance (finished top 1%), now just finished one of the professional accounting exams (not naming here because I'm easily doxxed).
I even won an award for one of their papers. Am working in Big 4 now. I usually score in top 5 percentile for most exams I take.

I'd say that ICAEW is much more difficult than ACCA.
I know someone who is taking ACCA now after failing several ICAEW papers.
I would say that ACCA is only tough because many Tom, Dick and Harry enroll in it for the money.

Engineering math is much tougher than normal math.
I took Further Math during A-level but mechanics was too difficult for me to comprehend.
Dropped it in the end.

Meanwhile, I picked up Accountancy during A-level with ease despite coming from pure science background.
Still managed to win 2 awards from Cambridge.
kendo88
post Jun 6 2021, 12:07 AM

45 posts

If u can understand 1+1=2 or simple arithmetic maths , then u can do accounting.

It a career that pays an above average pay without putting too much effort or be exceptional.
As long as u can follow instructions and perform the required task. U r good
Work life balance depend on company.

This post has been edited by kendo88: Jun 6 2021, 12:08 AM
SUSCandy12
post Jun 6 2021, 12:07 AM

1,878 posts

During my degree engineering course back in those days we were made to take accountancy subjects as well.
I managed to score over 90% back then and it was among the easiest subjects in my engineering course.
Yggdrasil
post Jun 6 2021, 12:10 AM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(ZeonKid @ Jun 5 2021, 09:46 PM)
But you never see accounting grad change course to engineering. It is because the technical math in engineering is killing the accounting student.
While I agree with you that Engineering is tougher, but I disagree with this statement.
Accounting students cannot go back to science stream even if they suddenly became smarter and can understand engineering math easily.
Yggdrasil
post Jun 6 2021, 12:11 AM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:07 AM)
During my degree engineering course back in those days we were made to take accountancy subjects as well.
I managed to score over 90% back then and it was among the easiest subjects in my engineering course.
Are you sure it's accounting? Maybe bookkeeping like double entries or Introduction to Accounting whereby just prepare balance sheet and P/L?
Real accounting is more complex than that but still not as complex as engineering.
9m2w
post Jun 6 2021, 12:13 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jun 6 2021, 12:04 AM)
I did a Bachelors in Accounting & Finance (finished top 1%), now just finished one of the professional accounting exams (not naming here because I'm easily doxxed).
I even won an award for one of their papers. Am working in Big 4 now. I usually score in top 5 percentile for most exams I take.

I'd say that ICAEW is much more difficult than ACCA.
I know someone who is taking ACCA now after failing several ICAEW papers.
I would say that ACCA is only tough because many Tom, Dick and Harry enroll in it for the money.

I took Further Math during A-level but mechanics was too difficult for me to comprehend.
Dropped it in the end.

Meanwhile, I picked up Accountancy during A-level with ease despite coming from pure science background.
Still managed to win 2 awards from Cambridge.
This

To this day, I have nightmares of having to go for my Eng Maths exam tomorrow and knowing nothing

Or any of my EM Theory Exams

The scars it gave me makes me still remember some of the equations, constants and laws.

Still i give ACCA students their props. My wifes got her ACCA. She does shit in her field that I would struggle too
jayraptor
post Jun 6 2021, 12:14 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(Pop The Bubbles @ Jun 5 2021, 08:51 PM)
Yes but then no. ACCA has more headache formula to remember for some while engineering are mostly tangible with some electronics. Female & those love sitting in office go ACCA. For engineering, if you're in MY, have to check which field engineering first coz some fields like automotive would land yourself in blue collar salary range.
9m2w
post Jun 6 2021, 12:15 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Jun 5 2021, 11:44 PM)
Because engineering in Malaysia isn’t really engineering. More like tech support and sales and project mgmt.
Engineering is kinda like the Nights Watch from GoT, a thankless job most of the time.

You want fame. glory. riches, bitches, get something else. Odds are you do something great no one knows or cares. You make ppl's life easier but they wont know you're there.

Of course some fields does bring in the money but these days with the proliferation of grads its becoming the outlier.
Sone Shin
post Jun 6 2021, 12:18 AM

255 posts

I stupid, so end up become engineer. sad.gif
diffyhelman2
post Jun 6 2021, 12:21 AM

863 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jun 6 2021, 12:04 AM)

Dropped it in the end.

If you think mechanics is difficult wait till you encounter fluid dynamics or electromagnetic theory.

This post has been edited by diffyhelman2: Jun 6 2021, 12:21 AM
SUSCandy12
post Jun 6 2021, 12:26 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Jun 6 2021, 12:15 AM)
Engineering is kinda like the Nights Watch from GoT, a thankless job most of the time.

You want fame. glory. riches, bitches, get something else. Odds are you do something great no one knows or cares. You make ppl's life easier but they wont know you're there.

Of course some fields does bring in the money but these days with the proliferation of grads its becoming the outlier.
I wasted my 20s studying engineering, thought it paid off when I managed to graduate with Dean Commendation List from a top major Australian university which placed me in better position than even Yeo Bee Yin back then.

Came back to Malaysia to find a job closer to my parents and my first starting salary was just slightly above RM3k? doh.gif

Competition is intense and STEM demand in Malaysia is low.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 6 2021, 12:30 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:21 AM)
If you think mechanics is difficult wait till you encounter fluid dynamics or electromagnetic theory.
Actually all the struggles and hardship learning those calculations they're rarely utilized in the real working world.

Even my senior colleagues who are brilliant staff engineers in the Silicon Valley admitted that what you learned in school rarely gets utilized on the job.
9m2w
post Jun 6 2021, 12:30 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:26 AM)
I wasted my 20s studying engineering, thought it paid off when I managed to graduate with Dean Commendation List from a top major Australian university which placed me in better position than even Yeo Bee Yin back then.

Came back to Malaysia to find a job closer to my parents and my first starting salary was just slightly above RM3k? doh.gif 

I got First Class but it was a local U.

I attended Management Trainee interviews for a few PLCs and GLCs but didnt cut it, settled for a job that paid 1,700 in 2000. It was stiff back then even with a limited pool. I can only imagine now

But hey you got offered more than 3K thats nearly twice mine hahah

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:30 AM)
Actually all the struggles and hardship learning those calculations they're rarely utilized in the real working world.

Even my senior colleagues who are brilliant staff engineers in the Silicon Valley admitted that what you learned in school rarely gets utilized on the job.
Actually i think what you learn, the tough stuff do serve a purpose. Its to weed out students without the aptitude for engineering from taking up or graduating from it. Harsh but look where we are now. Too few jobs for too many engineers

This post has been edited by 9m2w: Jun 6 2021, 12:32 AM
diffyhelman2
post Jun 6 2021, 12:32 AM

863 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:30 AM)

Yeah. But it’s a filter. And kind of a point of pride and masochism for those who are good at it. Unless you are going to pursue academia in one of those scientific fields, then it is really relevant. For most normal jobs, no need.

SUSCandy12
post Jun 6 2021, 12:33 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jun 6 2021, 12:11 AM)
Are you sure it's accounting? Maybe bookkeeping like double entries or Introduction to Accounting whereby just prepare balance sheet and P/L?
Real accounting is more complex than that but still not as complex as engineering.
Yeah probably basic accounting, I admit totally forgot most of the advanced calculations I learnt back in university already today.

It's totally very different approach once you get into the working world. Kinda wasted if you asked me.
Starbucki
post Jun 6 2021, 12:34 AM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:26 AM)

Out of all the engineering graduates that I know over the years, 95% of them are now doing something totally unrelated e.g. sales, websites, grab and some jobless. None of them had a sterling career despite having more than 20 years of working experience. The same can be said of the remaining 5%.

On the other hand, those who did accounting or even some general shit like business, are the high flyers.
metalfire
post Jun 6 2021, 12:35 AM

1,306 posts

take the money all in crypto, by the time your friends finish graduate, you already millionaire.
metalfire
post Jun 6 2021, 12:36 AM

1,306 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Jun 6 2021, 12:34 AM)
Out of all the engineering graduates that I know over the years, 95% of them are now doing something totally unrelated e.g. sales, websites, grab and some jobless. None of them had a sterling career despite having more than 20 years of working experience. The same can be said of the remaining 5%.

On the other hand, those who did accounting or even some general shit like business, are the high flyers.
unker do what wan can goyang tulur everyday in /k... come give newbie here some life lessons to follow. thumbup.gif
SUSCandy12
post Jun 6 2021, 12:36 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Jun 6 2021, 12:30 AM)
I got First Class but it was a local U.

I attended Management Trainee interviews for a few PLCs and GLCs but didnt cut it, settled for a job that paid 1,700 in 2000. It was stiff back then even with a limited pool. I can only imagine now

But hey you got offered more than 3K thats nearly twice mine hahah
Actually i think what you learn, the tough stuff do serve a purpose. Its to weed out students without the aptitude for engineering from taking up or graduating from it. Harsh but look where we are now. Too few jobs for too many engineers
I admit! If you were to ask me to solve those questions back during my engineering course time now I barely can remember anything out of it unless I undergo a refresher course. laugh.gif
holypredator
post Jun 6 2021, 12:37 AM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

I'm surprise... no one even ask... what kind of engineering degree are we talking about here..

seems like a lot of people don't even know what are they even talking about...

Aerospace engineering and electrical engineering are hard...

Mechanical engineering... environmental engineering... etc. these are easy as hell degrees.... especially if it is not caltec/standford level.... their final year project is just rehash of shit already exist... farking degree mill jer
oe_kintaro
post Jun 6 2021, 12:37 AM

2,222 posts

Engineering: e = π = 3 😏
Assume air resistance is negligible.

This post has been edited by oe_kintaro: Jun 6 2021, 12:38 AM
diffyhelman2
post Jun 6 2021, 12:38 AM

863 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Jun 6 2021, 12:34 AM)

Perhaps it’s not just the course? For eg, ppl here who are book smart but kayu ppl gravitate towards the engineering course. The not book smart but good eq end up in acct. hence you see the biz and acct grads high flyers.
Starbucki

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(metalfire @ Jun 6 2021, 12:36 AM)
unker do what wan can goyang tulur everyday in /k... come give newbie here some life lessons to follow.  thumbup.gif
brows.gif brows.gif

you ask wrong person for advice la mapren

unker keje goyang tulur and keybod only
SUSCandy12

1,878 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Jun 6 2021, 12:37 AM)
I'm surprise... no one even ask... what kind of engineering degree are we talking about here..

Mechanical engineering... environmental engineering... etc. these are easy as hell degrees.... especially if it is not caltec/standford level.... their final year project is just rehash of shit already exist... farking degree mill jer
Microelectronics E&E.

I don't know how I went into Optronics from there. doh.gif
9m2w
post Jun 6 2021, 12:39 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Jun 6 2021, 12:37 AM)

Im kinda surprised with some of the name of the subjects dropped here and there you couldn't figure out what the degrees were. Man of your talents
SUSCandy12
post Jun 6 2021, 12:41 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:38 AM)
Perhaps it’s not just the course? For eg, ppl here who are book smart but kayu ppl gravitate towards the engineering course. The not book smart but good eq end up in acct. hence you see the biz and acct grads high flyers.
Some of my cousins graduate with masters in Engineering but ended up in the banking industry doh.gif
No girlfriend or chance to meet girls because probably less than 5 in the class..

Starbucki
post Jun 6 2021, 12:42 AM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:38 AM)
I wouldn't really pit one against another when it comes to EQ or comm skills. Most accountants are kayu and some are screaming banshees with regards to EQ.

Deswai I wouldn't really say which course is harder, or that one attracts better people. Too broad a topic.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 6 2021, 12:45 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Jun 6 2021, 12:42 AM)
I wouldn't really pit one against another when it comes to EQ or comm skills. Most accountants are kayu and some are screaming banshees with regards to EQ.

Deswai I wouldn't really say which course is harder, or that one attracts better people. Too broad a topic.
But but lots of engineering students end up as forever-alones unlike some popular courses where by the time they graduate they're already in steady relationship close to marriage after a few years into their jobs.
Starbucki
post Jun 6 2021, 12:47 AM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:45 AM)
But but lots of engineering students end up as forever-alones unlike some popular courses where by the time they graduate they're already in steady relationship close to marriage after a few years into their jobs.
That is probably because engineering students are mainly in a male-dominated faculty/industry. Less probability to meet girls.
mitun
post Jun 6 2021, 12:53 AM

913 posts

Accounting firms are a lot easier to meet girls because they are stuck in the office with you 7 days a week and can’t meet any other guy. Either way no reason to be a forever alone in the Tinder era no mattter what your job is.
Gon Freaks
post Jun 6 2021, 02:46 AM

387 posts

inb4 new course - accounting engineering & engineering accounting.
Yggdrasil
post Jun 6 2021, 02:49 AM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(mitun @ Jun 6 2021, 12:53 AM)
Accounting firms are a lot easier to meet girls because they are stuck in the office with you 7 days a week and can’t meet any other guy. Either way no reason to be a forever alone in the Tinder era no mattter what your job is.
True. The ratio of females to male is like 1.5 to 1.
No reason for guys to be single biggrin.gif
a4techx7
post Jun 6 2021, 03:27 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jun 6 2021, 02:49 AM)
No reason for guys to be single  biggrin.gif
1.5 to 1?
It's 10 to 1
zilch28
post Jun 6 2021, 03:47 AM

444 posts

TS can clarify which engineering?

There are some courses out there that are titled engineering but not really the mainstream engineering kind like software engineer, disney's imagineering, etc (can't remember but there are some course that just slaps on the title engineering to attract people)

The difficulty level are miles apart.
lee_lnh
post Jun 6 2021, 04:19 AM

115 posts

accountant teach engineer to automate accounting.. very soon most accountant job obsolete.. only handful left to stamp approval AI computation.
touristking
post Jun 6 2021, 06:44 AM

5,831 posts

Wrong question.

A pianist may find engineering hard and vice versa. It all boils down to what you are good at. Some good at math. Some good at literature etc.

youngblood29us
post Jun 6 2021, 07:37 AM

565 posts

Engineering + acca/CFA = deadly combo.. These guys are super smart.. Easily beat the arts stream student who do ACCA..
Mattrock
post Jun 6 2021, 08:58 AM

395 posts

If smart people do difficult course, and less smart people do easier course, both will find the difficulty the same. Sorry, just being philosophical.
YamiBear
post Jun 6 2021, 09:06 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:45 AM)
Tiam. Aku x nak dengar realiti.
prophetjul
post Jun 6 2021, 09:09 AM

12,273 posts

Can a qualified engineer adapt to accounting?

Vice versa, can a qualified accountant adapt to engineering?
kopitiam
post Jun 6 2021, 09:13 AM

cookie monster
4,480 posts

My coursemate in e&e engineering took up acca part time. End up graduated both in the same year
feekle
post Jun 6 2021, 09:16 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(red_satu @ Jun 5 2021, 09:15 PM)
I think getting a professional IR title is harder than ACCA and is also rarer. But if it's just getting a B.Eng and then work in an MNC where they call you an engineer then that's much easier.
Bull....my former lecturer got his ir cos he knows the board member & interview is just for the formality nyia...but he is competent to begin with and now sits comfortably as a non independent director is a large local company. Bet he wont bother renewing his Ir.
hc7840
post Jun 6 2021, 09:17 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(quantum @ Jun 5 2021, 10:24 PM)
Engineering harder because usually the class is sausagefest
Ghayyy
DuFfz
post Jun 6 2021, 09:31 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(SuperGampang @ Jun 5 2021, 10:45 PM)
Theres a reason why engineering is known as one of the hardest course. And to become an engineer2 with PEPC is much2 harder.

I know each and every course have it own challenge. And if u are a genius u can choose any course u like.

But courses like engineering, medical so on and so forth have a very high requirements to enter. And theres a reason for that.
Only those who lack of knowledge in the route of getting PEPC says its difficult, don't bullshit the masses, its pretty easy with the right experience & nature of work you're doing.
Does having PEPC makes you more employable? Not really..There are some PEPC whose out of jobs now. Thats why I didn't bother even to proceed with tier-1 Ir application what more tier-2 (PEPC). PEPC is useful if you're working in consulting firm or running your own consultation firm. 80% of the time, in contracting line, not useful at all.

Plus who wants to hire an engineer with PEPC when you have loads of normal engineers who can multitask & having dynamic experience not just in engineering works, but tendering & management.

Out of context, I did civil engineering in uni & being doing civil engineering related works > 10 years now and slowly running own business together with my sister which is an accountant with ACCA.

This post has been edited by DuFfz: Jun 6 2021, 09:33 AM
red_satu
post Jun 6 2021, 09:39 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Jun 6 2021, 09:16 AM)
Bull....my former lecturer got his ir cos he knows the board member & interview is just for the formality nyia...but he is competent to begin with and now sits comfortably as a non independent director is a large local company. Bet he wont bother renewing his Ir.
As usual, it's easy if you know the right people. For most, it's harder to get to know the right people in the first place, so you have to trudge through the hardships first.
Darkripper
post Jun 6 2021, 09:43 AM

What do you expect?
1,258 posts

QUOTE(DuFfz @ Jun 6 2021, 09:31 AM)
Only those who lack of knowledge in the route of getting PEPC says its difficult, don't bullshit the masses, its pretty easy with the right experience & nature of work you're doing.
Does having PEPC makes you more employable? Not really..There are some PEPC whose out of jobs now. Thats why I didn't bother even to proceed with tier-1 Ir application what more tier-2 (PEPC). PEPC is useful if you're working in consulting firm or running your own consultation firm. 80% of the time, in contracting line, not useful at all.

Plus who wants to hire an engineer with PEPC when you have loads of normal engineers who can multitask & having dynamic experience not just in engineering works, but tendering & management.

Out of context, I did civil engineering in uni & being doing civil engineering related works > 10 years now and slowly running own business together with my sister which is an accountant with ACCA.
PEPC is funny in a sense that you're testing back the most fundamental stuff that people no longer practice (At least for civil, where the team touches on hydraulic, structural, geotechnical, traffic, etc), since they've specialized into a few core area.

The fundamental exam should be open right after degree, not after you get your PE.

Furthermore, there is no crackdown on people abusing the "engineer" title. I've seen people with no qualification doing the exact design job as those with a recognized degree.

Yet BEM thinks that having a more tiered system will improve the industry.

There are a gazillion shit that is wrong with engineering in Malaysia, yet the governing board just minum kopi and fight with IEM once in a while biggrin.gif
wawasan2200
post Jun 6 2021, 09:43 AM

189 posts

I have done my ACCA and no intention to discredit the profession

all engineering > ACCA

Accounting knowledge, standards are set by human being

Engineering somehow need to understand how the universe works eg: what happen if one chemical mix with another chemical

In engineering wrong means wrong, building will collapse, product will fail while accounts wrong can u turn pusing pusing
Darkripper
post Jun 6 2021, 09:45 AM

What do you expect?
1,258 posts

QUOTE(wawasan2200 @ Jun 6 2021, 09:43 AM)

all engineering  > ACCA

Engineering somehow need to understand how the universe works eg: what happen if one chemical mix with another chemical

In engineering wrong means wrong, building will collapse, product will fail while accounts wrong can u turn pusing pusing
one wrong won't bring the building down.

Need plenty of wrongs.

Safety Factor is our savior! Combine more factor to have even more robust design. Can't trust the guy doing job on the ground tongue.gif
prophetjul
post Jun 6 2021, 09:52 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(wawasan2200 @ Jun 6 2021, 09:43 AM)

all engineering  > ACCA

i agree with you.

i am an engineering GM and i employ accountants. I can do some of their work. Understand the fundamentals of accounting and financials.
But they have no way of understanding fundamental engineering principles.
DuFfz
post Jun 6 2021, 09:53 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Jun 6 2021, 09:43 AM)
PEPC is funny in a sense that you're testing back the most fundamental stuff that people no longer practice (At least for civil, where the team touches on hydraulic, structural, geotechnical, traffic, etc), since they've specialized into a few core area.

The fundamental exam should be open right after degree, not after you get your PE.

Furthermore, there is no crackdown on people abusing the "engineer" title. I've seen people with no qualification doing the exact design job as those with a recognized degree.

There are a gazillion shit that is wrong with engineering in Malaysia, yet the governing board just minum kopi and fight with IEM once in a while  biggrin.gif
Exactly! better test the competency of graduates upon graduation, bet most can straight away qualified for Ir minus the experiences which I think is possible judging on how some university lecturers who manage to get Ir title without having practical experiences lol.

BEM is always sleeping when it comes to abuse of engineer title. Seriously even the biggest MNC so called engineers did not registered for BEM & some with management degree given the operation engineer title. lol.

BEM only interested collecting fees.
TShellothere131495
post Jun 6 2021, 09:54 AM

473 posts

Many engineering students, in my experience, end up becoming nerds in college. Most can't find girls and end up becoming kuli after graduating. Some become technicians, while others are fortunate enough to work for reputable companies. If they study until they get their PhD, they will already be more nerdy scientists.

Accounting students appear to have a more balanced college experience. After graduation, it is simple to find work and work indoors. Prepare to marry earlier. One of my relatives, who studied chemical engineering until obtaining a PhD, married at a late age. He traveled extensively to increase his salary. It appears to be a difficult job requiring intelligence, hard work, and talent.

Engineering may be more difficult in terms of abstract thinking, but it appears to be a more suitable path for talented individuals to pursue.
Joe1997
post Jun 6 2021, 09:55 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Jun 6 2021, 09:45 AM)

Need plenty of wrongs.

Safety Factor is our savior! Combine more factor to have even more robust design. Can't trust the guy doing job on the ground  tongue.gif
one wrong leads to another wrong. consequences
Ayambetul
post Jun 6 2021, 09:56 AM

336 posts

Even becum gangster got chance to earn higher than both when u becum taikor or jual dadah

DuFfz
post Jun 6 2021, 09:56 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 6 2021, 09:52 AM)
i agree with you.

i am an engineering GM and i employ accountants. I can do some of their work. Understand the fundamentals of accounting and financials.
But they have no way of understanding fundamental engineering principles.
Don't discredit them for we did not sit & do their job full time, we just have that view we understand the fundamental then we assume its easy and we can do it.
If it's easy why don't we do it ourselves right?
Maria Takagi
post Jun 6 2021, 09:57 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(Pichu00 @ Jun 5 2021, 09:10 PM)
U compare apple vs banana.....
DuFfz
post Jun 6 2021, 09:57 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Jun 6 2021, 09:45 AM)

Need plenty of wrongs.

Safety Factor is our savior! Combine more factor to have even more robust design. Can't trust the guy doing job on the ground  tongue.gif
Accountant does wrong will cost the company money also brother.
Don't look down or assume its easy. Each have own roles to play.
Darkripper
post Jun 6 2021, 10:03 AM

What do you expect?
1,258 posts

QUOTE(DuFfz @ Jun 6 2021, 09:53 AM)
Exactly! better test the competency of graduates upon graduation, bet most can straight away qualified for Ir minus the experiences which I think is possible judging on how some university lecturers who manage to get Ir title without having practical experiences lol.

BEM is always sleeping when it comes to abuse of engineer title. Seriously even the biggest MNC so called engineers did not registered for BEM & some with management degree given the operation engineer title. lol.

BEM is just a glorified board acting as if they're governing the industry.

I think they came up with PEPC just to open up 1st tier PE to boost the number of Ir in the country since we need more qualified engineer. But yet, plenty of Ir with questionable quality in the industry, even within big names consultant. I've bashed plenty of those so-called PE during design review process, and it is fun.

Interview process for PE is also questionable, i know some of the famous PE will fails candidate if they're never involved in big project (What the heck, you're testing technical knowledge, not project experience). Its a fuck-up place to be man.

I've since moved on from this industry tho, hope it will do well for you. At least try to get some recognition, can try ICE (but its expensive as fck) or even IStructE (hard as fck on their exam).

QUOTE(hellothere131495 @ Jun 6 2021, 09:54 AM)
Many engineering students, in my experience, end up becoming nerds in college. Most can't find girls and end up becoming kuli after graduating. Some become technicians, while others are fortunate enough to work for reputable companies. If they study until they get their PhD, they will already be more nerdy scientists.

Accounting students appear to have a more balanced college experience. After graduation, it is simple to find work and work indoors. Prepare to marry earlier. One of my relatives, who studied chemical engineering until obtaining a PhD, married at a late age. He traveled extensively to increase his salary. It appears to be a difficult job requiring intelligence, hard work, and talent.

Engineering may be more difficult in terms of abstract thinking, but it appears to be a more suitable path for talented individuals to pursue.
Nerds or not, its the person's personality, nothing to do with their academics.

QUOTE(Joe1997 @ Jun 6 2021, 09:55 AM)
one wrong leads to another wrong. consequences
it is not that simple brader, look at how many building collapses we have (Dont talk about temporary structure as there are tonnes of loophole on that shit and authority is doing absolutely no shit on this issue), those that are within 5 years after the construction period.

Do not mix maintenance and design fault together.

Ivan113
post Jun 6 2021, 10:05 AM

925 posts

one is about rocket science, another one is about book accounting, I wonder which one is harder
prophetjul
post Jun 6 2021, 10:09 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(DuFfz @ Jun 6 2021, 09:56 AM)
Don't discredit them for we did not sit & do their job full time, we just have that view we understand the fundamental then we assume its easy and we can do it.
If it's easy why don't we do it ourselves right?
It is not discrediting them. That is not the intent. They have their expertise areas.
i am just pointing out the adaptibility of either profession to each other's expertise.
And i am in a position to share this a engineering GM in my company.

DuFfz
post Jun 6 2021, 10:09 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Jun 6 2021, 10:03 AM)
BEM is just a glorified board acting as if they're governing the industry.

I think they came up with PEPC just to open up 1st tier PE to boost the number of Ir in the country since we need more qualified engineer. But yet, plenty of Ir with questionable quality in the industry, even within big names consultant. I've bashed plenty of those so-called PE during design review process, and it is fun.

Interview process for PE is also questionable, i know some of the famous PE will fails candidate if they're never involved in big project (What the heck, you're testing technical knowledge, not project experience). Its a fuck-up place to be man.

I've since moved on from this industry tho, hope it will do well for you. At least try to get some recognition, can try ICE (but its expensive as fck) or even IStructE (hard as fck on their exam).
Nerds or not, its the person's personality, nothing to do with their academics.
it is not that simple brader, look at how many building collapses we have (Dont talk about temporary structure as there are tonnes of loophole on that shit and authority is doing absolutely no shit on this issue), those that are within 5 years after the construction period.

Do not mix maintenance and design fault together.
Nah man, I'm done with these BEM Ir stuffs..I'm going to electrical lines, got my 3 phase wireman competency done & next will be chargeman.
Kinda enjoy electrical stuff this past 2 years.
Darkripper
post Jun 6 2021, 10:12 AM

What do you expect?
1,258 posts

QUOTE(DuFfz @ Jun 6 2021, 10:09 AM)
Nah man, I'm done with these BEM Ir stuffs..I'm going to electrical lines, got my 3 phase wireman competency done & next will be chargeman.
Kinda enjoy electrical stuff this past 2 years.
Good that it works out for you eventually. I forsee I might be back to do these tradesman lines after retirement.

metaled
post Jun 6 2021, 10:13 AM

273 posts

Argument invalid, each have their own difficulty.

feekle
post Jun 6 2021, 10:44 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Jun 6 2021, 10:12 AM)
Good that it works out for you eventually. I forsee I might be back to do these tradesman lines after retirement.
Tradesman job is hands on and fun personally plus cash term 😂.

This post has been edited by feekle: Jun 6 2021, 10:45 AM
Darkripper
post Jun 6 2021, 10:46 AM

What do you expect?
1,258 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Jun 6 2021, 10:44 AM)
Tradesman job is hands on and fun personally plus cash term 😂.
Plus "Karen" tongue.gif
9m2w
post Jun 6 2021, 12:23 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Jun 6 2021, 09:43 AM)

There are a gazillion shit that is wrong with engineering in Malaysia, yet the governing board just minum kopi and fight with IEM once in a while  biggrin.gif
When did BEM go for a tiered system for PEs? Past few years?

I'm on the fence about IRs. If designated by legislation yeah get it. If an engineer thinks it can boost their career, take it. Shouldn't be forced. I see BEM trying to use legislation to increase membership. Not my cup of tea. Plenty of problems young engineers face in Malaysia, one being employability. Solve that first
9m2w
post Jun 6 2021, 12:31 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(DuFfz @ Jun 6 2021, 09:53 AM)

Yes black sheep IRs are plenty. Not saying all IRs are bad but probably these jokers took the title for validation and resume padding. My previous company had a project director who's an IR. He already had a rep as a guy whos on the take. Guess what, he joined and proceeded to demand money from subcons and suppliers. Kantoi in less than a year.

Another one was an owner of an engineering firm and talks a good game. Farker always pays his staff late but drives an X5. Sure got good but also bad farks that gives us all a bad name
zilch28
post Jun 6 2021, 12:34 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(hellothere131495 @ Jun 6 2021, 09:54 AM)

No offense but you sound like strawberry gang. In that case, do not even consider engineering. And to be honest, maybe accounting isn't suitable either. Consider other options? Like business degrees or even mass comm, those more about lifestyle, college experience and all.

You wanna be successful? Bet on a field that you are willing to put most of your effort/sacrifice in.

This post has been edited by zilch28: Jun 6 2021, 12:36 PM
Murasaki322
post Jun 6 2021, 12:34 PM

452 posts

Engineering is more difficult than accounts and finance, in terms of core technical knowledge. In real world application, in Malaysia, ACCA is harder because of all the fraudulent account books that needs "creative accounting" to solve and audit. But internationally, engineering is still tougher.

Engineering in Malaysia? Not even real engineering. Majority "engineering" jobs are salesman, project facilitator, site supervisor, technician or paperwork documenter. Like many have mentioned, BEM stuff, Ir, PEPC or what fancy titles given are to simply justify BEM's existence. Sure we've got Washington Accord and all that but at an international level, how well is "Ir" or "PEPC" recognised, if the holder is some work inspector, salesman, maintenance man, project coordinator, construction site foreign worker handler, paperwork technician etc. In Malaysia, it's all glamour and high society because the Ir and PEPC holder has an edge to deal with authorities to approve flimsy projects.

ACCA is recognized internationally. Just that in Malaysia it is over supplied with subpar graduates passing at the bare minimum and shamelessly put it up to beautify a resume.

This post has been edited by Murasaki322: Jun 6 2021, 12:38 PM
9m2w
post Jun 6 2021, 12:42 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:34 PM)
Sure we've got Washington Accord and all that but at an international level, how well is "Ir" or "PEPC" recognised
This. Everyone would see where and what you work as along with any professional certs first. That's the fact. A guy in an MNC being paid big bucks will grab my attention more than an IR off the streets. There was once a thread where someone said that non Irs shouldn't be called engineers. I call BS. If say Petronas or Shell calls him an engineer and a subject matter expert, I'll call him the same.

BEM should fit with the times. Not give more hurdles to fresh engineers

This post has been edited by 9m2w: Jun 6 2021, 12:44 PM
Darkripper
post Jun 6 2021, 12:57 PM

What do you expect?
1,258 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Jun 6 2021, 12:23 PM)
When did BEM go for a tiered system for PEs? Past few years?

I'm on the fence about IRs. If designated by legislation yeah get it. If an engineer thinks it can boost their career, take it. Shouldn't be forced. I see BEM trying to use legislation to increase membership. Not my cup of tea. Plenty of problems young engineers face in Malaysia, one being employability. Solve that first
Actually, Ir is only valuable if you're in the construction industry, as all drawing need to have PEPC endorsement before you can submit to authority or construct on site.

PE title is integral in how the construction industry work since all responsibility is put on that PE for his/her endorsement. There is not much benefits of Ir other than that.

U can take a look at the recent Ts title from MBOT.

So much title for little benefits =x
Darkripper
post Jun 6 2021, 01:04 PM

What do you expect?
1,258 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Jun 6 2021, 12:42 PM)
This. Everyone would see where and what you work as along with any professional certs first. That's the fact. A guy in an MNC being paid big bucks will grab my attention more than an IR off the streets. There was once a thread where someone said that non Irs shouldn't be called engineers. I call BS. If say Petronas or Shell calls him an engineer and a subject matter expert, I'll call him the same.

BEM should fit with the times. Not give more hurdles to fresh engineers
The issue is BEM is reluctant to even provide a pathway for subject matter expert to register with them. They are a relic from the past.

Thik about all eletronics expert in Malaysia? Does BEM even have a thing for them? nahh.

FYI, Ir is well recognized internationally, you can convert that membership (still need to go through interview, but no need to submit technical report etc) to other professional body.
TShellothere131495
post Jun 6 2021, 01:04 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(zilch28 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:34 PM)
No offense but you sound like strawberry gang. In that case, do not even consider engineering. And to be honest, maybe accounting isn't suitable either. Consider other options? Like business degrees or even mass comm, those more about lifestyle, college experience and all.

You wanna be successful? Bet on a field that you are willing to put most of your effort/sacrifice in.
bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by hellothere131495: Jun 6 2021, 02:30 PM
Starbucki
post Jun 6 2021, 01:06 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Jun 6 2021, 12:31 PM)
Yes black sheep IRs are plenty. Not saying all IRs are bad but probably these jokers took the title for validation and resume padding. My previous company had a project director who's an IR. He already had a rep as a guy whos on the take. Guess what, he joined and proceeded to demand money from subcons and suppliers. Kantoi in less than a year.

Another one was an owner of an engineering firm and talks a good game. Farker always pays his staff late but drives an X5. Sure got good but also bad farks that gives us all a bad name
How he kantoi? Kena goldfingered by subcons snd suppliers? Internal investigations? Got MACC case ka?
9m2w
post Jun 6 2021, 01:26 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Jun 6 2021, 01:06 PM)
How he kantoi? Kena goldfingered by subcons snd suppliers? Internal investigations? Got MACC case ka?
When subcons and suppliers are provided the whistle-blower email and number during their induction... You really asking for trouble right asking for money. Especially when new staff also are told the same during their orientation

End of the day got ask to resign. No police report

This post has been edited by 9m2w: Jun 6 2021, 01:27 PM
SUSSuperGampang
post Jun 6 2021, 01:49 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(DuFfz @ Jun 6 2021, 09:31 AM)

U are missing the point which is engineering harder than acca. Not about work or making money.
TShellothere131495
post Jun 6 2021, 02:07 PM

473 posts

Which of the civil, electrical and electronic, chemical, and mechanical engineering disciplines is the most difficult? Because of the math and physics involved, I believe electrical engineering is the most difficult. For example, in electromagnetic fields theory, the double and triple integrals used to understand the behavior of charged particles, which cannot be seen with the naked eye, truly required good imagination and logical thinking. Artificial intelligence algorithms, such as deep neural networks used in digital image processing and analysis, necessitate a strong mathematical foundation to comprehend machine learning and deep learning techniques.

Consider convolution neural networks. Understanding how the neural network can learn the features of handwritten numbers independently already requires a significant amount of brain energy. We haven't discussed how to create a novel convolution neural network architecture capable of automatically detecting cancer cells in medical images. The mere mention of artificial intelligence puts many people off (not for interested people).

That is only introduction to one or two topics in one engineering field…
feekle
post Jun 6 2021, 02:56 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(hellothere131495 @ Jun 6 2021, 02:07 PM)
Which of the civil, electrical and electronic, chemical, and mechanical engineering disciplines is the most difficult? Because of the math and physics involved, I believe electrical engineering is the most difficult. For example, in electromagnetic fields theory, the double and triple integrals used to understand the behavior of charged particles, which cannot be seen with the naked eye, truly required good imagination and logical thinking. Artificial intelligence algorithms, such as deep neural networks used in digital image processing and analysis, necessitate a strong mathematical foundation to comprehend machine learning and deep learning techniques.

Consider convolution neural networks. Understanding how the neural network can learn the features of handwritten numbers independently already requires a significant amount of brain energy. We haven't discussed how to create a novel convolution neural network architecture capable of automatically detecting cancer cells in medical images. The mere mention of artificial intelligence puts many people off (not for interested people).

Fancy reply, but sorry..i dont think it is practiced in malaysia.

feekle
post Jun 6 2021, 02:57 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(SuperGampang @ Jun 6 2021, 01:49 PM)
U are missing the point which is engineering harder than acca.  Not about work or making money.
You know what is harder? Making money.
SUSSuperGampang
post Jun 6 2021, 04:44 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Jun 6 2021, 02:57 PM)
You know what is harder? Making money.
Yeah. Still missing the point of discussion. Which is which is harder between those two.
YamiBear
post Jun 6 2021, 05:36 PM

48 posts

Kau cakap camne pun akauntan nak rasa pandai, kasi diorang can je la. Kat Malaysia engineer banyak kuli je unless kau ada Ir. Engineer sini glorified technician scheduler je.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 6 2021, 08:43 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jun 6 2021, 02:49 AM)
No reason for guys to be single  biggrin.gif
Ratio of females to males according to Malaysian statistics is 100 female to 106 male.
That's like a ratio of 1.00 : 1.06.

No reason for guys to be single?

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5151265
Yggdrasil
post Jun 6 2021, 08:49 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 6 2021, 08:43 PM)
Ratio of females to males according to Malaysian statistics is 100 female to 106 male.

I'm talking about Big 4 demographics.
Ratio of female to male is around 1.5:1.

If you from engineering, the ratio of female to male is like 0.2:1.
Good luck finding a gf laugh.gif

I had a friend who did engineering. He said his whole lecture hall only got <10 girls.

This post has been edited by Yggdrasil: Jun 6 2021, 08:50 PM
holypredator
post Jun 6 2021, 08:55 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

Comparing degree to professional course is the DUMEBEST thing related to educational comparison that I've heard so far.....

The difficulty varies a lot across unis because if you talk about graduating from top engineering schools ... then yea... it is hard as hell but we all know there are many engineering schools give out degrees like paper.... especially those local unis / local private unis that have no name....

professional qualification on the other hand.. is standardize... it is where no one who got the ACCA could say they have gone through the course harder than the other person.... AT LEAST for their generation cause most of the time course structure changes generation to generation (might get harder or easier...).....

What I can confirm is... those who graduate with an engineering degree but did not end up working as an engineering and did not get the IR title means they are useless shit who got rejected by their own field.... a.k.a failures in their field or took the degree cause they thought they are smart but they are not..... think about it.... if they are good at their studies.... they would already be working in their field of study... but I saw lots of "engineering graduates" ... "Law graduates".... working at financial fields as PFC/marketers or even FMCG etc....

I personally know many Engineering grads who wants to switch to accounting field or financial field but cannot pass a single ACCA/CFA/CFP paper.... not surprising though cause if they are good students.. they already be working in their field instead of trying to strive in other fields....

I would place these people only 1 step higher than the hobbies degree people for being able to pass these legit degrees (some effort is made to gain their degrees)... hobbies degree grads are still the losers of all the grads in the world

This post has been edited by holypredator: Jun 6 2021, 09:13 PM
SUSCandy12
post Jun 6 2021, 09:01 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jun 6 2021, 08:49 PM)
I'm talking about Big 4 demographics.
Ratio of female to male is around 1.5:1.

If you from engineering, the ratio of female to male is like 0.2:1.
Good luck finding a gf laugh.gif

I had a friend who did engineering. He said his whole lecture hall only got <10 girls.
Went past my studies days.

When this pandemic ends, globalization will see a reversal after this. You can see the anti-asian movement now in Western countries such as US.

This is Malaysia and of course we speak of the gender breakdown in our own country.
diffyhelman2
post Jun 6 2021, 09:03 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 6 2021, 08:43 PM)

Interestingly enough that 32.75 million includes almost three million foreigners. I wager that the vast majority of those foreigners are male. If you restrict to native born Malaysians i think you’ll find the ratio close to 1:1.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 6 2021, 09:05 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Jun 6 2021, 09:03 PM)
Interestingly enough that 32.75 million includes almost three million foreigners. I wager that the vast majority of those foreigners are male. If you restrict to native born Malaysians i think you’ll find the ratio close to 1:1.
Let's not forget those "foreigners" might be after our native aweks and amois competing with our own as well.

You never know.
mitun
post Jun 6 2021, 09:08 PM

913 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 6 2021, 09:05 PM)
Let's not forget those "foreigners" might be after our native aweks and amois competing with our own as well.

You never know.
Got home ground advantage and cant compete with foreigners meh? Malaysians are high up in the asean food chain if you can’t compete locally there are many other nearby places where it’s easier.
TShellothere131495
post Jun 6 2021, 09:10 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Jun 6 2021, 08:55 PM)
Comparing degree to professional course is the DUMEBEST thing related to educational comparison that I've heard so far.....

The difficulty varies a lot across unis because if you talk about graduating from top engineering schools ... then yea... it is hard as hell but we all know there are many engineering schools give out degrees like paper.... especially those local unis / local private unis that have no name....

professional qualification on the other hand.. is standardize... it is where no one who got the ACCA could say they have gone through the course harder than the other person.... AT LEAST for their generation cause most of the time course structure changes generation to generation (might get harder or easier...).....

What I can confirm is... those who graduate with an engineering degree but did not end up working as an engineering and did not get the IR title means they are useless shit who got rejected by their own field.... a.k.a failures in their field or took the degree cause they thought they are smart but they are not..... think about it.... if they are good at their studies.... they would already be working in their field of study... but I saw lots of "engineering graduates" ... "Law graduates".... working at financial fields as PFC/marketers or even FMCG etc....

I personally know many Engineering grads who wants to switch to accounting field or financial field but cannot pass a single ACCA/CFA/CFP paper.... not surprising though cause if they are good students.. they already be working in their field instead of trying to strive in other fields....

I would place these people only 1 step higher than the hobbies degree people.... at least they managed to pass these legit degrees (some effort is made to gain their degrees)...
How about a PhD in Engineering?
Stirmling
post Jun 6 2021, 09:11 PM

291 posts

hmm dunno
ayam from anjingliaring
i dunno how i'd do into ACCA instead
and i agree with one poster here
anjingliar also doesnt mean will get gooding job. sometimes you just sucked at job interview so you just end up with some SME instead.
whelp.
JohnL77
post Jun 6 2021, 09:22 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Jun 6 2021, 09:03 PM)
Ratio 1:1 still lose to bangla.

sad.gif
feekle
post Jun 7 2021, 09:27 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Jun 6 2021, 08:55 PM)

I would place these people only 1 step higher than the hobbies degree people for being able to pass these legit degrees (some effort is made to gain their degrees)... hobbies degree grads are still the losers of all the grads in the world
Not really, some student are forced to take engineering by their parents rather than self interest. They are good and bright students and manage to pass the courses but lack the passion of working as an engineer once they see the real actual work of an engineer which not far different from cheap labor. In the end they switched field for better comfort & money (I guess). Once I met an insurance agent whose a former engineer in shell. Why he quit? He can't take the daily beating of handling contractors and don't have the heart to everyday scolding people.

You can be anything in this world where your IQ permits be it doctor, engineer, lawyers, accountant, but if you just don't have the heart of passion to do so, you won't last long.
feekle
post Jun 7 2021, 09:29 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(SuperGampang @ Jun 6 2021, 04:44 PM)
Yeah. Still missing the point of discussion. Which is which is harder between those two.
Right, so what if I say engineering is harder? I never studied accountancy..so should I say its easier?
Being photographer is easy right? Everyone can take good picture?

This post has been edited by feekle: Jun 7 2021, 09:30 AM
holypredator
post Jun 7 2021, 10:36 AM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Jun 7 2021, 09:27 AM)
Not really, some student are forced to take engineering by their parents rather than self interest. They are good and bright students and manage to pass the courses but lack the passion of working as an engineer once they see the real actual work of an engineer which not far different from cheap labor. In the end they switched field for better comfort & money (I guess). Once I met an insurance agent whose a former engineer in shell. Why he quit? He can't take the daily beating of handling contractors and don't have the heart to everyday scolding people.

You can be anything in this world where your IQ permits be it doctor, engineer, lawyers, accountant, but if you just don't have the heart of passion to do so, you won't last long.
Insurance agent isn't really a career... they don't get any salary..

Not saying what you've said have no truth in them.... there are people I know who are smart and are exceptional in their field of study but did not pursue their career in that field...

but these people normally able to excel in the new field that they are in.... for instance they don't study the whole business/management/finance/accounting course again to enter the finance field/accounting field.... they just take up the professional course like ACCA/CFA/CPA etc. and just treat their engineering degree as a entry level degree for jobs...

However... most people I've come across... can't even get through the professional qualifications.... some can't even pass a single paper and then gave up but they still stay in the field.... they are clearly not made for the finance field or the engineering field and as you've said... they've gotten their engineering degrees most likely because of parents influence or the thought of it being "prestigious" to have an engineering degree.... but from some shitty ass uni with shitty ass grades... hence basically they are failure in both fields..

What I'm trying to say is.... engineering degree cannot be compared with professional qualification in their respective fields..... hence if you are an engineer... don't expect to come into another field... for example finance analyst... thinking you can grow your career without any qualifications related to finance....

some people thought they got law degree/engineering degree means they don't need to get ACCA to work in accounting field... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

seriously.... degree difficulty varies a lot across uni whereas professional qualification is standardized...

This post has been edited by holypredator: Jun 7 2021, 10:39 AM
SUSLiamness
post Jun 7 2021, 10:45 AM

445 posts

engineer can do accountant job.

accountant can't do engineer job.

engineering degree is the most versatile degree you can achieve. Can work in engineering, project management, banking, consulting, accounting, real estate. Pretty much anywhere.

accountant can only do accountancy or business related roles je..
SUSLiamness
post Jun 7 2021, 10:52 AM

445 posts

getting a degree will always be harder than some paper qualification.

what more getting a 4 year engineering degree.

The fact of the matter is simple, if one is able to accomplish the feat of getting a proper 4 year engineering degree, then any paper qualification especially not related to engineering is easy.

Doing accounting balance sheets is easy to do because you finished a degree that has much more complex mathematics and patterns. It's not even a debate here.. doing an engineering degree is far more valuable than an accounting one.

And it opens up way more doors aswell.
MdmWSW
post Jun 7 2021, 10:55 AM

178 posts

nothing it easy...all requires effort.
But coming from accounting background, I admire those who finished ACCA from CAT...I cant imagine myself giving up half way and end up with nothing....
Joe1997
post Jun 7 2021, 10:58 AM

158 posts

ACCA is recognized internationally. Just that in Malaysia it is over supplied with subpar graduates passing at the bare minimum and shamelessly put it up to beautify a resume.
I think it's Malaysia education issue. Everything is overproduced, not only in ACCA or engineering courses. Kid you not, I have coursemate that enters engineering with CGPA 2.7 from pre-u, and graduated with below 3. Still, working as engineer.
SUSLiamness
post Jun 7 2021, 11:03 AM

445 posts

Engineering is more difficult than accounts and finance, in terms of core technical knowledge. In real world application, in Malaysia, ACCA is harder because of all the fraudulent account books that needs "creative accounting" to solve and audit. But internationally, engineering is still tougher.

Engineering in Malaysia? Not even real engineering. Majority "engineering" jobs are salesman, project facilitator, site supervisor, technician or paperwork documenter. Like many have mentioned, BEM stuff, Ir, PEPC or what fancy titles given are to simply justify BEM's existence. Sure we've got Washington Accord and all that but at an international level, how well is "Ir" or "PEPC" recognised, if the holder is some work inspector, salesman, maintenance man, project coordinator, construction site foreign worker handler, paperwork technician etc. In Malaysia, it's all glamour and high society because the Ir and PEPC holder has an edge to deal with authorities to approve flimsy projects.

As long as you gotten a washington accord recognised degree, you are pretty safe.

If you gotten IR status from IEM, even better. It's recognised worldwide.

australia for instance recognises malaysian engineers.

https://www.engineersaustralia.org.au/About...onal-Affiliates

anyways, if you comparing both accounting and engineering as degrees. Both are still very useful and the best degrees to do if you want to escape from Malaysia.

I know plenty of my friends and family are working overseas now, myself included. Most, if not all of us did an accounting or engineering degree. thumbup.gif
TShellothere131495
post Jun 7 2021, 11:03 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(Joe1997 @ Jun 7 2021, 10:58 AM)
I think it's Malaysia education issue. Everything is overproduced, not only in ACCA or engineering courses. Kid you not, I have coursemate that enters engineering with CGPA 2.7 from pre-u, and graduated with below 3. Still, working as engineer.
That is correct. Some mbbs students did not even perform well in their spm. They ended up joining housemanship as well.
SUSLiamness
post Jun 7 2021, 11:10 AM

445 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Jun 7 2021, 09:27 AM)

plenty of my friends did engineering courses from overseas university and paid expensive studies.

end up, most of them not working in the field because parent have alot of money and they would rather be a laoban. start food business la, mobile phone shop business, & etc and totally nothing to do with their expensive course that they did.

such a waste if you asked me. But then again, they did the engineering course to flash their status mostly. At end of the day, they go home to a large family owned bungalow and drive godcar merc/bmw and have a hot trophy wife. Most already have children of their own. Throw to gong gong and poh poh to take care of. Whilst they can focus on their "business".

What's there to complain about? Degree is what you make of it.
ComingBackSoon
post Jun 7 2021, 11:24 AM

787 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 7 2021, 10:45 AM)
engineer can do accountant job.

accountant can't do engineer job.

engineering degree is the most versatile degree you can achieve. Can work in engineering, project management, banking, consulting, accounting, real estate. Pretty much anywhere.

accountant can only do accountancy or business related roles je..
Accountants cannot praactice engineering. Engineers cannot practice accounting.

And nothing stops an accountant from doing project management, consulting, banking, real estate, i.e., almlost any jobs that engineering degree holders can do except for engineering itself.
SUSLiamness
post Jun 7 2021, 11:31 AM

445 posts

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jun 7 2021, 11:24 AM)

And nothing stops an accountant from doing project management, consulting, banking, real estate, i.e., almlost any jobs that engineering degree holders can do except for engineering itself.
why can't practice?

engineer can go do ACCA or some accounting papers.

And like you say, accountant cannot do engineering job. Only can do at most running project management.. Your only option to do engineering is to go back to university and do a 4 year engineering degree. tongue.gif

bottom line is, engineering is way more strict and held in higher regard. And rightly so.. you wouldn't want somebody without a engineering degree designing and approving a bridge where thousands travel on it everyday right? Just like you don't want anybody without a specialist surgeon degree operating on you. When lives are at stake, you always fall back to which school & which degree you completed your studies in.

If a bridge fails, they will investigate and find the engineer who signed off on the designs. That engineer will go to jail.

Meanwhile, did any of the accountants who failed to catch the 1MDB fraud end up in jail? NOPE. Those accountants auditing the 1MDB books from Deloitte, KPMG, and many more ended up being transferred out of the country, to other country. I know this personally first hand because I know relatives and friends who were involved in the auditing. Their bosses never ended up in jail, instead they all got a nice pay raise and transferred to overseas branches of their respective companies.

That in itself is a bloody joke and just shows how seriously we treat financial audits. Not seriously at all..

If this was the standard in engineering practice, there will be catastrophic engineering disasters happening every minute of everyday.. Luckily, engineers are held to high standards.

This post has been edited by Liamness: Jun 7 2021, 11:37 AM
ComingBackSoon
post Jun 7 2021, 11:34 AM

787 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 7 2021, 11:31 AM)
why can't practice?

engineer can go do ACCA or some accounting papers.

accountant only option to do engineering is to go back to uni and do a 4 year engineering degree.  tongue.gif

bottom line is, engineering is more strict and held in higher regard. And rightly so.. you wouldn't want a non-engineer degree holder designing and approving a bridge where thousands travel on it everyday right?

If it fails, they will investigate and find the engineer who signed off on the designs. That engineer will go to jail.

Meanwhile, did any of the accountants who failed to catch the 1MDB fraud end up in jail? NOPE. Those accountants auditing the 1MDB books from Deloitte, KPMG, and many more ended up being transferred out of the country, to other country. I know this personally first hand because I know relatives and friends who were involved in the auditing. Their bosses never ended up in jail, instead they all got a nice pay raise and transferred to overseas branches of their respective companies.

That in itself is a bloody joke and just shows how seriously we treat financial audits. Not seriously at all..

If this was the standard in engineering practice, there will be catastrophe engineering disasters happening every minute of everyday.. Lucky engineers are held to high standards.
i.e., the engineer still need to also become an accountant to practice accounting.
SUSLiamness
post Jun 7 2021, 11:42 AM

445 posts

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jun 7 2021, 11:34 AM)
i.e., the engineer still need to also become an accountant to practice accounting.
You need some form of accreditation to practice accounting, duh.

ACCA is not a degree. It's a professional course that anybody can do within 2 years or less. And you can start practice accounting concurrently whilst you complete the course. Meaning, you can apply for accountant jobs and just tell the company that you are completing the certs to qualify as an accountant.

Meanwhile, not everyone can get into an engineering degree. You need to meet the pre-requisites such as completed A level physics, chemistry, add maths, specialist maths.

There's a huge difference.

There is no ACCA equivalent for engineers. If you want to become an engineer, you need to do a 4 year engineering degree. And engineering firms will never hire somebody without a degree in engineering to do an engineer job. Period.
zilch28
post Jun 7 2021, 11:55 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 7 2021, 11:42 AM)
And engineering firms will never hire somebody without a degree in engineering to do an engineer job. Period.
That's not true. ipohmali70 disagrees, intern already can do full fledge engineering jobs
holypredator
post Jun 7 2021, 11:56 AM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 7 2021, 10:52 AM)

The fact of the matter is simple, if one is able to accomplish the feat of getting a proper 4 year engineering degree, then any paper qualification especially not related to engineering is easy.

Doing accounting balance sheets is easy to do because you finished a degree that has much more complex mathematics and patterns. It's not even a debate here.. doing an engineering degree is far more valuable than an accounting one.

This is the dumbest thing I heard all day....

Ever wonder why qualified actuary is in high demand?? That's because only a small number of actuary graduate in Malaysia can complete the professional qualification while there are thousands and thousands of actuary degree holder...

same goes for CFA.... how many in Malaysia can say they have gotten CFA while how many say they have a finance degree??

How many engineer degree grads hold the IR title??

Please use your brain to think sikit.... if professional qualification is easier than degree then everyone would be qualified....

Professional qualifications are basically the top indication of knowledge in their own field.... degrees are just indication of level of academic achieved...

Also... don't use the word "fact" when all you are talking about is nonsense

This post has been edited by holypredator: Jun 7 2021, 12:16 PM
SaberCortez
post Jun 7 2021, 11:59 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(airtawarian @ Jun 5 2021, 10:21 PM)
I see few of my friend so sienz stupid can pass ACCA wor.
Starbucki
post Jun 7 2021, 12:06 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(zilch28 @ Jun 7 2021, 11:55 AM)
That's not true. ipohmali70 disagrees, intern already can do full fledge engineering jobs
I thought he only has SPM? Can call himself engineer and open engineering firm?

This post has been edited by Starbucki: Jun 7 2021, 12:07 PM
DM3
post Jun 7 2021, 12:18 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,620 posts

https://leverageedu.com/blog/toughest-courses-in-the-world/

in the World
It is a dream of students to pursue a course that can help in shaping a great career. Most of the times it doesn’t come easy to candidates. In order to be successful, students have to go through a rigorous and challenging curriculum to get lucrative salaries later. Given below is the list of toughest courses in the world that can boost your career:

Engineering
Chartered Accountancy
Medicine
Pharmacy
Architecture
Law
Psychology
Aeronautics
Quantum Mechanics
Statistics
Journalism
Nursing
Finance
Philosophy
Fine Arts
Foreign Language

In India;

zilch28
post Jun 7 2021, 12:21 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Jun 7 2021, 12:06 PM)
open firm as investor jer... all the job can be handled by intern no need for actual engineers with cert and all. so sayang next gen, give them so many opportunities no wonder review on glassdoor 99%

https://www.glassdoor.com/Reviews/Envitech-...so3Language=eng
koraget
post Jun 7 2021, 12:26 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(6942nole @ Jun 5 2021, 09:04 PM)

Engineering need mouth and tongue as well. You also need that to survive in tachi meeting. And connection with above rank also important
koraget
post Jun 7 2021, 12:36 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jun 7 2021, 11:24 AM)

Project Managemnent? Depending on which sector, if it construction you'll need to know the sequence, labor output, machinery and techniques used to achieve the construction dateline. Same goes to factory, output, machinery failure, you also need to know the spare part of the machinery and standby a technical team for the assembly line. No comment on real estate, as you'll need familiar location, lot of connection and sweet talk.

ComingBackSoon
post Jun 7 2021, 12:39 PM

787 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 7 2021, 11:42 AM)
You need some form of accreditation to practice accounting, duh.

ACCA is not a degree. It's a professional course that anybody can do within 2 years or less. And you can start practice accounting concurrently whilst you complete the course. Meaning, you can apply for accountant jobs and just tell the company that you are completing the certs to qualify as an accountant.

Meanwhile, not everyone can get into an engineering degree. You need to meet the pre-requisites such as completed A level physics, chemistry, add maths, specialist maths.

There's a huge difference.

There is no ACCA equivalent for engineers. If you want to become an engineer, you need to do a 4 year engineering degree. And engineering firms will never hire somebody without a degree in engineering to do an engineer job. Period.
Perhaps your definition of "practicing" is different from mine.

To me, there are different levels of capabilities. Does a person:

0) not know anything in the field and cannot be taught at all?
1) need to be told what to do, when to do it, and how to do it?
2) need to be told what to do and can figure out how to do it himself?
3) can figure out what needs to be done and how to do it himself?

I can hire a person with your highly acclaimed 4-year engineering degree holder to do (1) or maybe even (2) while he pursue his accounting qualification. But no, he is not practicing accounting, and his remuneration will reflect this. This engineer turned accountant will never be put in charge of my company's books unless he can do (3). Similar to how your bridge project will never be awarded to a qualified engineer, your engineer turned accountant will never be tasked to audit 1MDB.

I can also hire a person with your highly acclaimed 4-year engineering degree to undertake an engineering project. Can he decide which system/machine/method is best for my company? Can he advice me when a system/machine is due for a maintenance/upgrade, or if its better to just change the system/machine altogether? If he just doing (1) or (2), and someone else needs to do the thinking and problem solving behind, I won't call him practicing engineering. My Indon workers can do (1) and (2) too. But they will never be put in charge of my engineering project until they can do (3).

If your argument is an engineer can easily move into accounting, then yes you are right. The barrier of entry into accounting is lower. But if you want to make the big buck, you must be a (3). And an engineer can't do (3) without first becoming an accountant.

In reality, I have not spoken to anyone who switched between these 2 profession and made it to (3). Although I have spoken to level 3 engineers who hoped they did accounting, I have never spoken to a level 3 accountant who hoped he did engineering. I have spoken to even more level 3 consultants, level 3 investment bankers, level 3 software developers etc who did accounting or engineering, and they don't really care about their education background.

Just sharing my experience.
ComingBackSoon
post Jun 7 2021, 12:41 PM

787 posts

QUOTE(koraget @ Jun 7 2021, 12:36 PM)
Project Managemnent? Depending on which sector, if it construction you'll need to know the sequence, labor output, machinery and techniques used to achieve the construction dateline. Same goes to factory, output, machinery failure, you also need to know the spare part of the machinery and standby a technical team for the assembly line. No comment on real estate, as you'll need familiar location, lot of connection and sweet talk.
This is an example of a level 3 engineer. Know what needs to be done and how to do it.

Now, can your engineer come and project manage my company's IPO?

SUSLiamness
post Jun 7 2021, 12:51 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jun 7 2021, 12:39 PM)
Perhaps your definition of "practicing" is different from mine.

To me, there are different levels of capabilities. Does a person:

0) not know anything in the field and cannot be taught at all?
1) need to be told what to do, when to do it, and how to do it?
2) need to be told what to do and can figure out how to do it himself?
3) can figure out what needs to be done and how to do it himself?

I can hire a person with your highly acclaimed 4-year engineering degree holder to do (1) or maybe even (2) while he pursue his accounting qualification. But no, he is not practicing accounting, and his remuneration will reflect this. This engineer turned accountant will never be put in charge of my company's books unless he can do (3). Similar to how your bridge project will never be awarded to a qualified engineer, your engineer turned accountant will never be tasked to audit 1MDB.

I can also hire a person with your highly acclaimed 4-year engineering degree to undertake an engineering project. Can he decide which system/machine/method is best for my company? Can he advice me when a system/machine is due for a maintenance/upgrade, or if its better to just change the system/machine altogether? If he just doing (1) or (2), and someone else needs to do the thinking and problem solving behind, I won't call him practicing engineering. My Indon workers can do (1) and (2) too. But they will never be put in charge of my engineering project until they can do (3).

If your argument is an engineer can easily move into accounting, then yes you are right. The barrier of entry into accounting is lower. But if you want to make the big buck, you must be a (3). And an engineer can't do (3) without first becoming an accountant.

In reality, I have not spoken to anyone who switched between these 2 profession and made it to (3). Although I have spoken to level 3 engineers who hoped they did accounting, I have never spoken to a level 3 accountant who hoped he did engineering. I have spoken to even more level 3 consultants, level 3 investment bankers, level 3 software developers etc who did accounting or engineering, and they don't really care about their education background.

Just sharing my experience.
That is my argument. tongue.gif .

And yes, from then onwards, it is down to the persons capability and interest to improve themselves.

You wouldn't hire an accounting grad that doesn't know (3) either.

If an engineering grad applied for an accounting job, it must surely mean that they have some interest in doing accounting and as a hiring manager, you should invite them in for interview to be curious as to why an engineer applied to do an accounting job. You would probably be blown away by their answers. Don't take the elitist stance that engineers aren't able to do this job, because they can and are qualified.

Meanwhile, the same can't be said of an accountant trying to get into engineering without an engineering degree. Unfortunately, engineering doesn't work that way because of how engineering courses at University is structured. You really need to be motivated to complete the subjects taught and anybody who tried to apply for a engineer role that didn't go through a 4 year engineering degree is viewed as just a lazy person who was trying their luck.

And that is true also because nobody in their right mind would think that an accounting degree is equal in difficulty to an engineering degree.
red4900
post Jun 7 2021, 01:01 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Jun 7 2021, 11:56 AM)
How many engineer degree grads hold the IR title??
That's because the IR title is only valuable to an extremely small subset of engineering field

Most engineering have no need for it, that's why you don't see many engineer has that IR title

I'm not interested in the debate which one is better, just pointing out your point about the IR title
ComingBackSoon
post Jun 7 2021, 01:03 PM

787 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 7 2021, 12:51 PM)
That is my argument.  tongue.gif .

And yes, from then onwards, it is down to the persons capability and interest to improve themselves.

If an engineering grad applied for an accounting job, it must surely mean that they have some interest in doing accounting and as a hiring manager, you should invite them in for interview to be curious as to why an engineer applied to do an accounting job. You would probably be blown away by their answers. Don't take the elitist stance that engineers aren't able to do this job, because they can and are qualified.

Meanwhile, the same can't be said of an accountant trying to get into engineering without an engineering degree. Unfortunately, engineering doesn't work that way because of how engineering courses at University is structured. You really need to be motivated to complete the subjects taught and anybody who tried to apply for a engineer role that didn't go through a 4 year engineering degree is viewed as just a lazy person who was trying their luck.

And that is true also because nobody in their right mind would think that an accounting degree is equal in difficulty to an engineering degree.
Out of curiousity I have tried doing this and it is a waste of time. Nothing more than a desperate job seeker. Waste of time.

Maybe my company small, but that is my experience.

TShellothere131495
post Jun 7 2021, 01:05 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Jun 7 2021, 12:18 PM)
https://leverageedu.com/blog/toughest-courses-in-the-world/

in the World
It is a dream of students to pursue a course that can help in shaping a great career. Most of the times it doesn’t come easy to candidates. In order to be successful, students have to go through a rigorous and challenging curriculum to get lucrative salaries later. Given below is the list of toughest courses in the world that can boost your career:

Engineering
Chartered Accountancy
Medicine
Pharmacy
Architecture
Law
Psychology
Aeronautics
Quantum Mechanics
Statistics
Journalism
Nursing
Finance
Philosophy
Fine Arts
Foreign Language

In India;
Is this based on a survey? Is there a journal paper about this ranking that has been published? There must be a source in a conference or a journal that ranks course difficulty.

Putting engineering and accounting ahead of medicine is, after all, a little perplexing. I always thought medicine was the most challenging course because of the long degree duration and the requirement to obtain an MD to specialize in a specific field.
9m2w
post Jun 7 2021, 01:08 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Jun 7 2021, 12:06 PM)
Unlikely he can score many jobs. Anything that needs a certification or signature he needs to outsource to someone. Head too big for his hard hat that fella
holypredator
post Jun 7 2021, 01:15 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 7 2021, 12:51 PM)
That is my argument.  tongue.gif .

If an engineering grad applied for an accounting job, it must surely mean that they have some interest in doing accounting and as a hiring manager, you should invite them in for interview to be curious as to why an engineer applied to do an accounting job. You would probably be blown away by their answers.
Don't take the elitist stance that engineers aren't able to do this job, because they can and are qualified.

Yea... I've definitely been blown away...

Most of them got shit GPA which is easy to infer why they did not pursue engineering and come to finance field instead.....

My colleague hired a few local engineering grad with at least decent GPA and also one with 2nd upper.... biggest mistake of her life because they know nothing about basic finance.... don't even know how to read financial statements and don't even know the basic principals of arbitrage etc.

She said... no diff from hiring SPM holder cause have to teach them from bare basic.... and their attitude to learn is shit cause maybe they think they are "beyond the job" but they know nothing...

That's why later on... the CFO laid down a rule to only hire business management/finance/economics fresh grads.....

This post has been edited by holypredator: Jun 7 2021, 01:16 PM
SUSLiamness
post Jun 7 2021, 01:56 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Jun 7 2021, 01:15 PM)
Yea... I've definitely been blown away...

Most of them got shit GPA which is easy to infer why they did not pursue engineering and come to finance field instead.....

My colleague hired a few local engineering grad with at least decent GPA and also one with 2nd upper.... biggest mistake of her life because they know nothing about basic finance.... don't even know how to read financial statements and don't even know the basic principals of arbitrage etc.

She said... no diff from hiring SPM holder cause have to teach them from bare basic.... and their attitude to learn is shit cause maybe they think they are "beyond the job" but they know nothing...

That's why later on... the CFO laid down a rule to only hire business management/finance/economics fresh grads.....
kesian, sounds like your company is sunset industry lel.

all the top, most exciting firms these days only hire engineers or software engineering grads.

Palantir, a data analytics company at the forefront of pretty much everything only hires engineers who can code.

Tesla, a electric vehicle company at the forefront of EV revolution, hires thousands of engineers to develop their cars.

Amazon, Google, Facebook, & etc. Hires a good mixture of engineers and software dudes.

When the revolution finally lands on Malaysian shores, straight away engineers will be in demand.

Finance is a sunset industry. Nowadays, bots can do the trading. Brokers are all online base.

Accountants, ILPs, mutual funds, savings plans, stoke brokers on the floor at KLSE, bankers, loans officers and more are Boomers liao. Very soon, automation will take over their jobs and lots of finance/accountants will be out of work. lel.

Don't forget, Accountancy is 99% likely to disappear in the next coming years as software & AI can handle this liao. Sucks to be an accounting grad that nobody wants to hire anymore.

TShellothere131495
post Jun 7 2021, 01:59 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 7 2021, 01:56 PM)

all the top, most exciting firms these days only hire engineers or software engineering grads.

Palantir, a data analytics company at the forefront of pretty much everything only hires engineers who can code.

Tesla, a electric vehicle company at the forefront of EV revolution, hires thousands of engineers to develop their cars.

Amazon, Google, Facebook, & etc. Hires a good mixture of engineers and software dudes.
When the revolution finally lands on Malaysian shores, straight away engineers will be in demand.

Finance is a sunset industry. Nowadays, bots can do the trading. Brokers are all online base.

Accountants, ILPs, mutual funds, savings plans, stoke brokers on the floor at KLSE, bankers, loans officers and more are Boomers liao. Very soon, automation will take over their jobs and lots of finance/accountants will be out of work. lel.

Don't forget, Accountancy is 99% likely to disappear in the next coming years as software & AI can handle this liao. Sucks to be an accounting grad that nobody wants to hire anymore.
Yes, AI is replacing lots of things nowadays. And these AIs need professionals to supervise them.
SUSLiamness
post Jun 7 2021, 02:05 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(hellothere131495 @ Jun 7 2021, 01:59 PM)
Yes, AI is replacing lots of things nowadays. And these AIs need professionals to supervise them.
very very few and far inbetween.

The AI is cutting 1000s of jobs. Nowadays, accounting firms only need to employ 2 maybe 3 people to oversee the backlog and vet that the AI is functioning properly. If got issues, they will just refer to the software engineer or data analyst to figure out what happened. The accountant also needed for official signing purposes only. Their role become like the Agong. Sit at the throne, & shake legs. The rest of hundreds maybe even thousands of staff are no longer required anymore. So honestly, only the cream of the crop & people who are established within the industry will get to keep their jobs.

Everyone else, any new grads, and more will likely be told to go find work elsewhere. Most will likely end up at macdonalds flipping burgers. tongue.gif

Same can be said of finance background people.

Better reconsider doing accountancy or finance course. Those traditional jobs are fast disappearing in this new age of technology and automation robots.

The only future proof jobs in this new tech driven world are the jobs that are developing this AI technology. Which are engineers & IT professionals.

I would still choose to become an engineer over IT because the engineer is usually the one in charge of the entire thing. From conceptual design, building, and even implementation and execution of the technologies involved. Meanwhile, IT grads are like the new age draftsperson. Instead of working on detail drawings, the IT coder is now tasked to work on coding the software and they are explicitly told what to do by the engineer who oversees the entire operation and implementation.

Engineers & Architects will still rule this world. As long as technology is what is driving human civilisation, engineers are the master-minds and the leaders.

Don't believe me? Just go search up the background education of CEO of most top companies. Their background will likely started from engineering expertise.

This post has been edited by Liamness: Jun 7 2021, 02:13 PM
Ic3dMil0
post Jun 7 2021, 02:10 PM

Parents want children to study very noble courses so that got face at the CNY round table.

The fight for sense of superiority already started since Form 4. Anak kamu aliran apa? Sains atau sastera?
SUSLiamness
post Jun 7 2021, 02:15 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(Ic3dMil0 @ Jun 7 2021, 02:10 PM)
Parents want children to study very noble courses so that got face at the CNY round table.

The fight for sense of superiority already started since Form 4. Anak kamu aliran apa? Sains atau sastera?
I would say if you are good with scientific subjects and maths, do Engineering.

If you are good with art, drawing, conceptual thinking, do Architecture.

In our world, it is architect and engineers who work together to build our world that we live in.

Every building was designed by an architect. Every building was built by an engineer.

These two professions work hand in hand to build our physical world.

Every other profession in the world is just support and function of society.

Doctors and nurses support prolong life and health. Soon to be obsolete, bankers and accountants support counting the numbers that funds the builds of society.

This post has been edited by Liamness: Jun 7 2021, 02:18 PM
TShellothere131495
post Jun 7 2021, 02:16 PM

473 posts

This is very true. Almost everyone wants to hear that you’re engineer, medicine, or lawyer.

How about university? Do they actually care about uni rankings? Like go UM study?
DXBMAN
post Jun 7 2021, 02:18 PM

44 posts

ACCA salary higher, engineering salary stop at one level, and forever stop there..due to lots freshgrad
holypredator
post Jun 7 2021, 02:18 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 7 2021, 01:56 PM)

Whether sunset ke sunrise ke.... what I'm trying to say is each field of study is valuable to their own field of work...

Not sure how to get this through your head but engineering has many field of studies.... you sound like you only know engineering = engineering.... you do know there are aerospace engineer, environmental engineer, architectural engineer, chemical engineer etc. right??

Also... are you confusing computer programmer to engineers?? Try calling a master in chemical engineer code shit for you... I can guarantee that person would give you the middle finger...

This post has been edited by holypredator: Jun 7 2021, 02:18 PM
Ic3dMil0
post Jun 7 2021, 02:24 PM

QUOTE(hellothere131495 @ Jun 7 2021, 02:16 PM)
This is very true. Almost everyone wants to hear that you’re engineer, medicine, or lawyer.

How about university? Do they actually care about uni rankings? Like go UM study?
Even ourselves want to get praised for able to secure a spot in one of the above profession. That's how Malaysian society is shaped sadly.

Very few has the passion in writing novels, movie, etc. Right from young, parents tell you that your life will be doomed if you dont do science. That's Malaysia has no master piece like Harry Potter, life of pie.. etc all we have is project jalan Raya and corruption practices by the approving authority.
SUSLiamness
post Jun 7 2021, 02:27 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Jun 7 2021, 02:18 PM)
Whether sunset ke sunrise ke.... what I'm trying to say is each field of study is valuable to their own field of work...

Not sure how to get this through your head but engineering has many field of studies.... you sound like you only know engineering = engineering.... you do know there are aerospace engineer, environmental engineer, architectural engineer, chemical engineer etc. right??

Also... are you confusing computer programmer to engineers?? Try calling a master in chemical engineer code shit for you... I can guarantee that person would give you the middle finger...
you do realise that computer engineering courses exists right??

And no, you don't even realise that a chemical engineer actually knows how to code.. lol. Their subjects taught at uni already have python and C++ la. Sau pei la. Do you actually think engineers dunno how to code ah? lol.

Electrical engineer also know la.

Why do you think Google, Amazon or Facebook hire engineers?? They are IT focus company what... Why then do they hire electrical, mechanical, chemical, instrumentation control engineers in the thousands?

And no, you must know what field you study is valuable to the world. Otherwise, you will become obsolete and quickly find out that your profession is no longer needed in this fast pace, tech & IT driven world. My argument is that not all degrees were created equal. There are more superior and better degrees to do. Engineering is one of, if not the top choice to do. No matter whether you choose to practice engineering in your working life or not. It's still a very wise decision to do it as I've shown that even in this IT driven world, engineers are at the forefront of the development of society. And they always have, & always will be in demand.

Sadly, I can't say the same about accountants or finance, and there are many articles alluding to the demise of accountancy as a profession in the coming years as AI and automation is quickly taking over their jobs. As an engineer, I can tell you how often I have to use software in my profession. And the answer is very minimal. Alot of things are still decided by me.

Meanwhile, your finance loan officer no longer is in control of any decision. It's all done by software and back of end. They end up becoming paper pushers.
SUSLiamness
post Jun 7 2021, 02:41 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(Ic3dMil0 @ Jun 7 2021, 02:24 PM)
Even ourselves want to get praised for able to secure a spot in one of the above profession. That's how Malaysian society is shaped sadly.

Very few has the passion in writing novels, movie, etc. Right from young, parents tell you that your life will be doomed if you dont do science. That's Malaysia has no master piece like Harry Potter, life of pie.. etc all we have is project jalan Raya and corruption practices by the approving authority.
This is a common Asian theme la. Not just in Malaysia.

But things are fast changing and those who are smart to recognise this paradigm shift, can take advantage of it..

For instance, I actually encourage my own children to be creative and to tap into their creativity. I send them for piano lessons, drama school and art classes to encourage developing their artistic capability.

Infact, at home, I have purposely set up a room for them to explore their creativity and play. I teach my kid how to play the guitar and explore music together. This is important to me because I want my children to be creative. Even though I'm an engineer, I believe that numbers are no longer the future, it's creativity and artistic ability.

Every job of the future and during their time especially, will involve being artistic and thinking like never before.

The questions they will ask will be very forward thinking & predictive. And they will have the necessary AI technology to back up their thought process. Think of it like how Ironman asks Jarvis questions of building a new prototype and whether it will work or not even before assembling it. Ironman was only just exploring the idea but instantly, Jarvis is able to tell Ironman yes it will work or no it wont based on his back of end calculations, historical data and analysis of patterns and trends.

The same sort thing is going to happen for our children. They no longer need to do the hard work of number crunching to arrive at answers. No, instead, they will need to tap into their creativity and ability to think and conceptualise ideas. That only happens if you have a creative mind.

holypredator
post Jun 7 2021, 02:42 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 7 2021, 02:27 PM)

And no, you don't even realise that a chemical engineer actually knows how to code.. lol. Their subjects taught at uni already have python and C++ la. Sau pei la. Do you actually think engineers dunno how to code ah? lol.

Why do you think Google, Amazon or Facebook hire engineers?? They are IT focus company what... Why then do they hire electrical, mechanical, chemical, instrumentation control engineers in the thousands?

And no, you must know what field you study is valuable to the world. Otherwise, you will become obsolete and quickly find out that your profession is no longer needed in this fast pace, tech & IT driven world. My argument is that not all degrees were created equal. There are more superior and better degrees to do. Engineering is one of, if not the top choice to do. No matter whether you choose to practice engineering in your working life or not. It's still a very wise decision to do it as I've shown that even in this IT driven world, engineers are at the forefront of the development of society. And they always have, & always will be in demand.

Sadly, I can't say the same about accountants or finance, and there are many articles alluding to the demise of accountancy as a profession in the coming years as AI and automation is quickly taking over their jobs. As an engineer, I can tell you how often I have to use software in my profession. And the answer is very minimal. Alot of things are still decided by me.

Meanwhile, your finance loan officer no longer is in control of any decision. It's all done by software and back of end. They end up becoming paper pushers.
Seems like you know jack shit and trying to double down... pathetic

ComingBackSoon
post Jun 7 2021, 02:48 PM

787 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 7 2021, 02:05 PM)
very very few and far inbetween.

The AI is cutting 1000s of jobs. Nowadays, accounting firms only need to employ 2 maybe 3 people to oversee the backlog and vet that the AI is functioning properly. If got issues, they will just refer to the software engineer or data analyst to figure out what happened. The accountant also needed for official signing purposes only. Their role become like the Agong. Sit at the throne, & shake legs. The rest of hundreds maybe even thousands of  staff are no longer required anymore. So honestly, only the cream of the crop & people who are established within the industry will get to keep their jobs.

Everyone else, any new grads, and more will likely be told to go find work elsewhere. Most will likely end up at macdonalds flipping burgers.  tongue.gif

Same can be said of finance background people.

Better reconsider doing accountancy or finance course. Those traditional jobs are fast disappearing in this new age of technology and automation robots. 

The only future proof jobs in this new tech driven world are the jobs that are developing this AI technology. Which are engineers & IT professionals.

I would still choose to become an engineer over IT because the engineer is usually the one in charge of the entire thing. From conceptual design, building, and even implementation and execution of the technologies involved. Meanwhile, IT grads are like the new age draftsperson. Instead of working on detail drawings, the IT coder is now tasked to work on coding the software and they are explicitly told what to do by the engineer who oversees the entire operation and implementation.

Engineers & Architects will still rule this world. As long as technology is what is driving human civilisation, engineers are the master-minds and the leaders. 

Don't believe me? Just go search up the background education of CEO of most top companies. Their background will likely started from engineering expertise.
From your statement that an accountant is only needed for official signing purpose, we can conclude that your understanding of the accounting profession is indeed very basic. Either the scale of the company that you have seen is small, or you come from the future. As of now, no accounting firms can employ 2-3 people to audit a proper company.

A modern accountant's role is not limited to bookkeeping. Automation can only takeover part of an accountant's tasks. In fact, automation is welcomed because it eliminated human errors and freed up a modern accountant's time to perform other tasks.

As of today, bots cannot:

1) Determine the optimum capital structure of a company
2) Determine the optimum group structure of a company
3) Determine the optimum deal structure in an M&A / JV etc
4) Launch cost saving initiatives for the group (tax savings, logistics etc)
5) Help my negotiate with external parties

Bots simply do not have the business acumen to replace me as of today.

But its ok. We can see that all thes facts do not matter to you because you are here to seek validation that you are intellectually superior as a human because you are an engineer. We can feed your ego. Technology is indeed truly what changes the way we live. If you are the chief engineer at Tesla, Google, or even SEA tech companies like Grab, hats off to you. rclxms.gif

All hail Liamness the holy saviour of humanity. He who passed a 4-year engineering degree.

TShellothere131495
post Jun 7 2021, 03:03 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jun 7 2021, 02:48 PM)
From your statement that an accountant is only needed for official signing purpose, we can conclude that your understanding of the accounting profession is indeed very basic. Either the scale of the company that you have seen is small, or you come from the future. As of now, no accounting firms can employ 2-3 people to audit a proper company.

A modern accountant's role is not limited to bookkeeping. Automation can only takeover part of an accountant's tasks. In fact, automation is welcomed because it eliminated human errors and freed up a modern accountant's time to perform other tasks.

But its ok. We can see that all thes facts do not matter to you because you are here to seek validation that you are intellectually superior as a human because you are an engineer. We can feed your ego. Technology is indeed truly what changes the way we live. If you are the chief engineer at Tesla, Google, or even SEA tech companies like Grab, hats off to you.  rclxms.gif

All hail Liamness the holy saviour of humanity. He who passed a 4-year engineering degree.
To be clear, AI is not synonymous with bots.

Numerous individuals use the terms interchangeably. However, the true distinction between AI and automated systems is as follows:

AI is capable of learning in the same way that humans do. We do not program them to perform a particular task. Rather than that, we program them to learn things. As a result, they are capable of self-learning and performing a specific task independently. This is especially true for algorithms based on deep learning. For example, if we feed the AI 1000 images of cancer cells, he can learn the features of cancer cells and determine whether or not a new image he has never seen before contains cancer cells. The remarkable thing is that you can train him using images of other objects (not just cancer cells) to accumulate knowledge and become more intelligent over time.

Bots are intelligent computer programs that can perform tasks autonomously without human intervention. However, this does not mean artificial intelligence, as bots cannot learn from experience or mistakes. Nonetheless, certain AI algorithms can be used to develop bots.
SUSLiamness
post Jun 7 2021, 04:07 PM

445 posts

But its ok. We can see that all thes facts do not matter to you because you are here to seek validation that you are intellectually superior as a human because you are an engineer. We can feed your ego. Technology is indeed truly what changes the way we live. If you are the chief engineer at Tesla, Google, or even SEA tech companies like Grab, hats off to you.  rclxms.gif

I highly suggest you go and look up Palantir machine based learning product and software called Foundry. They are doing this very thing already in the US and Europe with companies like Boeing, Airbus, the US government already on board with them that helps them determine inventory, asset management, predictive failure models, implement cost savings and many more. Palantir is like the Jarvis software of the world and it is capable of doing what you mentioned and so much more.

You only need to google search "Will accountants be replaced by automation" and the answer is an unequivocal & resounding, yes.

Stick your head in the sand. I get that. Nobody likes to be told that they will be obsolete & their profession is under threat from disappearing entirely in a few years time. Nobody likes to hear news like that.

But if you were smart enough to recognise that you cannot and will not be able to compete with automation, you will start building exit strategies. Don't wait until it's too late and one fine day you are told to pack up your things because you are no longer needed. thumbsup.gif
SUSLiamness
post Jun 7 2021, 04:14 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(hellothere131495 @ Jun 7 2021, 03:03 PM)
To be clear, AI is not synonymous with bots.

Numerous individuals use the terms interchangeably. However, the true distinction between AI and automated systems is as follows:

AI is capable of learning in the same way that humans do. We do not program them to perform a particular task. Rather than that, we program them to learn things. As a result, they are capable of self-learning and performing a specific task independently. This is especially true for algorithms based on deep learning. For example, if we feed the AI 1000 images of cancer cells, he can learn the features of cancer cells and determine whether or not a new image he has never seen before contains cancer cells. The remarkable thing is that you can train him using images of other objects (not just cancer cells) to accumulate knowledge and become more intelligent over time.

Bots are intelligent computer programs that can perform tasks autonomously without human intervention. However, this does not mean artificial intelligence, as bots cannot learn from experience or mistakes. Nonetheless, certain AI algorithms can be used to develop bots.
Ya, exactly this.. AI is about machine based learning. They can sift through data like never before and arrive at accurate answers.

It's already here and being implemented by major companies through-out the world. Take for instance, Palantir - Skywise machine based learning technology that is being used by the airline companies around the world: https://www.palantir.com/solutions/skywise/.

It can sift through complex data and details, Optimize best load configurations and find the most efficient routes that planes need to take in order to maximise their planes lifespan. It can already plan routes and automatically schedule repairs or get parts serviced and what not. This is next level and it is already here.

Accounting decisions and what not will be fully automated once companies start getting on board with data analytics software and they already are. It won't be too long now until they start ditching human accountants for AI software.
SUSLiamness
post Jun 7 2021, 04:21 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Jun 7 2021, 02:42 PM)
Seems like you know jack shit and trying to double down... pathetic
seems like I know alot of what I talk about and you are squirming at the realisation that accountancy is a dying profession about to be replaced by AI. tongue.gif
iSean
post Jun 7 2021, 04:27 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

blink.gif I think you jump into wrong rabbit hole.
In Malaysia, most university got Basic and Advanced Level for Electromagnetic Theory.
You do not need to jump into really deep into triple integrals.

Also even I went for Huawei MY, I don't see anyone talk about playing with "Triple Integral Electromagnetic Theory" Maxwell's Equation, and other bullshit.

Also Convolutional Neural Networks, its more towards "application based" compared to design those from scratch.
You want to learn design of CNNs you better go take Computer Science or Software Engineering and a Degree in Mathematics rclxub.gif

burberas
post Jun 7 2021, 04:29 PM

of course engineering harder than acca la

This post has been edited by burberas: Jun 11 2021, 03:38 PM
iSean
post Jun 7 2021, 04:37 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

You be surprised, alot of kids from the 2000's generation all now Art Stream > Science Stream.
My high school used to have 3 science stream classes shrunk into 2 classes edi because youngster nowadays focus in Media related jobs.

Anyhow, Science Stream in Malaysia also kinda doomed lah.
Even I saw my friends 50+ people masuk Science Stream, those still in STEM field one only like 10-20 ppl only.
And many study degree they no like, change career fields edi.
mitun
post Jun 7 2021, 04:41 PM

913 posts

I would say 90% of accountants can’t do 1-5 either. Accountants will always be needed but the majority of those doing financial reporting and auditing will be gone once the AI is good enough. Only the specialists who can give value added advice which are a tiny minority will survive.

TShellothere131495
post Jun 7 2021, 04:51 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 7 2021, 04:27 PM)
blink.gif  I think you jump into wrong rabbit hole.
In Malaysia, most university got Basic and Advanced Level for Electromagnetic Theory.

Also even I went for Huawei MY, I don't see anyone talk about playing with "Triple Integral Electromagnetic Theory" Maxwell's Equation, and other bullshit.

Also Convolutional Neural Networks, its more towards "application based" compared to design those from scratch.
You want to learn design of CNNs you better go take Computer Science or Software Engineering and a Degree in Mathematics  rclxub.gif
Murasaki322
post Jun 7 2021, 04:56 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 7 2021, 04:37 PM)
You be surprised, alot of kids from the 2000's generation all now Art Stream > Science Stream.
My high school used to have 3 science stream classes shrunk into 2 classes edi because youngster nowadays focus in Media related jobs.

Even I saw my friends 50+ people masuk Science Stream, those still in STEM field one only like 10-20 ppl only.
Here's a kopitiam-style reply to relax the mind after all that series of meaningful serious discussion

>pass spm with shit result
>pay money to enter private shit uni for shit course
>pass 3-4 year degree with shit result
>complain no job offer for graduate
>become YouTube influencer
>earn big money
>brag about financial freedom and earn more than real employment
touristking
post Jun 7 2021, 05:18 PM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 7 2021, 09:37 AM)

And you can already see that in the general population, total lack of basic science knowledge. What happened with Lynas is perfect example.

Some politician like LGE talk about nuclear plant and you get masses of ignorant people going into the street to protest nuclear plant. They think Lynas will be another Fukushima.

iSean
post Jun 7 2021, 05:29 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(hellothere131495 @ Jun 7 2021, 04:51 PM)
hmm.gif you everyday kata choose which field which field for many years edi.
u tak bosan kah. u pick for yourself or your kid.

Lyu
post Jun 7 2021, 05:32 PM

772 posts

Acca better

Unless u wanna become hawker with fame
ComingBackSoon
post Jun 7 2021, 07:56 PM

787 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 7 2021, 04:07 PM)
I highly suggest you go and look up Palantir machine based learning product and software called Foundry. They are doing this very thing already in the US and Europe with companies like Boeing, Airbus, the US government already on board with them that helps them determine inventory, asset management, predictive failure models, implement cost savings and many more. Palantir is like the Jarvis software of the world and it is capable of doing what you mentioned and so much more.

You only need to google search "Will accountants be replaced by automation" and the answer is an unequivocal & resounding, yes.

Stick your head in the sand. I get that. Nobody likes to be told that they will be obsolete & their profession is under threat from disappearing entirely in a few years time. Nobody likes to hear news like that.

But if you were smart enough to recognise that you cannot and will not be able to compete with automation, you will start building exit strategies. Don't wait until it's too late and one fine day you are told to pack up your things because you are no longer needed.  :thumbsup:
Ok bro. I wait for the day AI can negotiate on my behalf. You highly estimated AI.

The day AI can do that, engineers would be out of job too since AI is so smart.

ComingBackSoon
post Jun 7 2021, 07:59 PM

787 posts

QUOTE(mitun @ Jun 7 2021, 04:41 PM)
I would say 90% of accountants can’t do 1-5 either. Accountants will always be needed but the majority of those doing financial reporting and auditing will be gone once the AI is good enough. Only the specialists who can give value added advice which are a tiny minority will survive.
Ppl say AI can do 1-5 leh. Maybe he come from 100 years in the future. Hahahah.

The general consensus is AI and automation can takeover the bulk of the work in financial reporting and auditing that nobody likes to do to begin with. There are a few areas of financial reporting and auditing that AI can never takeover.

If the day comes that AI is really that smart, then AI can takeover engineers job too.

This post has been edited by ComingBackSoon: Jun 7 2021, 08:15 PM
ComingBackSoon
post Jun 7 2021, 08:10 PM

787 posts

But if you were smart enough to recognise that you cannot and will not be able to compete with automation, you will start building exit strategies. Don't wait until it's too late and one fine day you are told to pack up your things because you are no longer needed.  thumbsup.gif
Since I'm so free now let me entertain you and show you the 1st page of my Google Results.

I didn't cherry pick the articles. All are from my first page of Google Search. I dunno about you, but this does not look "unequivocal and resounding yes" to me. Unless your engineer degree have taught you a different meaning for what "unequivocal and resounding" mean.

https://medium.com/human-unity/will-account...rs-2be8cf966fab
https://www.thestar.com.my/news/education/2...ace-accountants
https://www.toolbox.com/tech/artificial-int...-in-the-future/
https://www.accountingtoday.com/opinion/let...ace-accountants
https://floqast.com/blog/will-robots-take-o...g-is-automated/
https://www.quora.com/Will-accountants-be-r...e-next-20-years
https://www.thesundaily.my/business/will-ar...tants-BE4556056
https://www.itp.net/news/94006-can-ai-and-a...ace-accountants
koraget
post Jun 7 2021, 08:18 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jun 7 2021, 12:41 PM)
This is an example of a level 3 engineer. Know what needs to be done and how to do it.

Now, can your engineer come and project manage my company's IPO?
But the startup company IPO usually done by the founder, who themselves is the engineer or programmer.
ComingBackSoon
post Jun 7 2021, 08:26 PM

787 posts

QUOTE(koraget @ Jun 7 2021, 08:18 PM)
But the startup company IPO usually done by the founder, who themselves is the engineer or programmer.
Errrrr. Nope.

It is done by a team of investment bankers, lawyers, and accountants.

Most engineers and programmers know jack shit about corporate laws, let alone lead the IPO process.

You go take a look at the VC world. Many startup founders who are programming and engineering geeks can be easily taken advantage of. Only know how to code and build products. Some of them already lost control of their company and still didn't know about it, still working hard at writing codes to enrich their VC slavemasters.

Joe1997
post Jun 7 2021, 09:01 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jun 7 2021, 07:56 PM)
The day AI can do that, engineers would be out of job too since AI is so smart.
By then they no longer need low-tier engineer since AI can take over. However, they still need people to monitor and configure it.
As old job got replaced, a new job will surface.
9m2w
post Jun 7 2021, 09:14 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 7 2021, 04:27 PM)
blink.gif  I think you jump into wrong rabbit hole.

You want to learn design of CNNs you better go take Computer Science or Software Engineering and a Degree in Mathematics  rclxub.gif
I would think the practical uses of the subjects you mentioned are pretty minimal unless you're in academia

But it does serve to weed out weaker students that are not engineering inclined. Deterring more ppl who are not inclined to take it up would mean less grads competing for the same pool of jobs

Beside it must have prepared you for Huawei

Pretty sure you if you made it pass those subjects and more you wouldnt have a problem going thru the latest 3G PP release documentation, understanding the call flow, KPIs to monitor for troubleshooting or optimisation or signalling structure for network interworking. Consider them an entrance test of the long road ahead haha

PS you still have exams there?

This post has been edited by 9m2w: Jun 7 2021, 09:15 PM
Darkripper
post Jun 7 2021, 09:30 PM

What do you expect?
1,258 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 7 2021, 02:27 PM)

I'm pretty sure traditional engineering course (civil, chemical, mechanical) doesn't teach C++.

Btw, those who think that AI will replace accountant/doctor/lawyer is so naive, they will work alongside them. A software system is pretty damn fragile, you think that it can handle everything so smoothly? Just look at driverless tech, how many years of hype already?

This post has been edited by Darkripper: Jun 7 2021, 09:32 PM
koraget
post Jun 7 2021, 09:48 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Jun 7 2021, 09:30 PM)
I'm pretty sure traditional engineering course (civil, chemical, mechanical) doesn't teach C++.
Btw, those who think that AI will replace accountant/doctor/lawyer is so naive, they will work alongside them. A software system is pretty damn fragile, you think that it can handle everything so smoothly? Just look at driverless tech, how many years of hype already?
What are you talking about? Civil, mechanical students do learn c++ in their course.

Pretty sure somemore, where the hell you get such confident.

But i agreed, AI is mostly a tool not replacing human.

This post has been edited by koraget: Jun 7 2021, 09:55 PM
ComingBackSoon
post Jun 7 2021, 09:50 PM

787 posts

QUOTE(Joe1997 @ Jun 7 2021, 09:01 PM)
By then they no longer need low-tier engineer since AI can take over. However, they still need people to monitor and configure it.
As old job got replaced, a new job will surface.
Ya lo. And who will be the one who decide how to configure the AI for financial reporting?

According to Liamness, it is the engineer who studied 4 years in uni. Engineers are the master race. rclxms.gif

All hail Liamness the holy saviour.
TShellothere131495
post Jun 7 2021, 09:52 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jun 7 2021, 08:10 PM)
Since I'm so free now let me entertain you and show you the 1st page of my Google Results.

I didn't cherry pick the articles. All are from my first page of Google Search. I dunno about you, but this does not look "unequivocal and resounding yes" to me. Unless your engineer degree have taught you a different meaning for what "unequivocal and resounding" mean.

Truly appreciate your articles concerning the impact of artificial intelligence on human sources. The subject is intriguing. It appears as though the topic has evolved to include whether artificial intelligence will eventually replace accountants. Let us avoid becoming too fixated on accountants. Instead, let us discuss whether or not AI will eventually supplant humans. That will make the discussion more comfortable. The sources you cite are Google articles, and most of them are unsupported by research. There is no methodology employed, and the statements are unsubstantiated by experts. Allow me to provide you all with credible sources and compile them.

There is a study done by Grace et al. [1] that provides the results of a comprehensive survey of machine learning researchers about their opinion on the advancement of artificial intelligence. According to their findings, within the next decade, machine learning researchers anticipate that AI will beat humans in a variety of tasks, including translating languages (by 2024), writing high-school essays (by 2026), driving a truck (by 2027), working in retail (by 2031), producing a popular book (by 2049), and working as a surgeon (by 2053). Furthermore, AI will exceed humans in all activities in 45 years and automate all human professions in 120 years, with Asian respondents anticipating these dates significantly sooner than North Americans.

In response to the coronavirus, robots were swiftly deployed [2]. They materialized out of nowhere to clean airport floors and collect temperature readings from passengers. Hospitals and universities have implemented Sally [3], a salad-making robot, to replace staff in dining halls. Malls and stadiums have purchased Knightscope security-guard robots [4] to patrol vacant real estate. Moreover, another paper by Vaishya et al. [5] states that healthcare organizations urgently need decision-support tools to assist them in managing this virus and receiving timely information to help avoid its spread. They claimed that employing artificial intelligence may significantly add to our understanding and suggestions for developing a COVID-19 vaccine. This outcome-driven system enables the accurate screening, analysis, prediction, and follow-up of current and future patients. Numerous AI algorithms have been used to track data from confirmed, recovered, and fatal cases.

Another interesting question is whether AI will eventually take over the world. This is highly improbable. Many computer scientists see an AI revolution in which humans and AI coexist and benefit from one another’s capabilities, but humans closely regulate AI [6]. Humans would continue to have a role in society in this scenario, innovating and resolving ethical concerns about AI (naturally, what humans are excellent at) [7]. Although the duration of this parallel link is uncertain, it may be long enough for humans to create a higher form of intelligence, therefore narrowing the gap between AI and human cognition and avoiding AI supremacy [8].

Credible Sources:
[1] K. Grace, J. Salvatier, A. Dafoe, B. Zhang, and O. Evans, “Viewpoint: When will AI exceed human performance? Evidence from AI experts,” J. Artif. Intell. Res., vol. 62, pp. 729–754, Jul. 2018, doi: 10.1613/jair.1.11222.
[2] S. Vilendrer et al., “Rapid deployment of inpatient telemedicine in response to COVID-19 across three health systems,” J. Am. Med. Informatics Assoc., vol. 27, no. 7, pp. 1102–1109, Jul. 2020, doi: 10.1093/jamia/ocaa077.
[3] S. Masroor, H. Bulut, Bahrudin, and C.-Y. Lin, “Review on powered mobility and meal preparing assistive devices for physically disabled persons,” in Mechanisms and Machine Science, vol. 78, 2020, pp. 16–28.
[4] E. E. Joh, “A certain dangerous engine: private security robots, artificial intelligence, and deadly force,” UC Davis Law Rev., pp. 569–587, 2017, [Online]. Available: https://lawreview.law.ucdavis.edu/issues/51...um/51-2_Joh.pdf.
[5] R. Vaishya, M. Javaid, I. H. Khan, and A. Haleem, “Artificial Intelligence (AI) applications for COVID-19 pandemic,” Diabetes Metab. Syndr. Clin. Res. Rev., vol. 14, no. 4, pp. 337–339, Jul. 2020, doi: 10.1016/j.dsx.2020.04.012.
[6] M. Guihot, A. Matthew, and N. P. Suzor, “Nudging robots: Innovative solutions to regulate artificial intelligence,” Nudging Robot. Innov. Solut. to Regul. Artif. Intell., 2017, doi: 10.31228/osf.io/5at2f.
[7] S. Amershi et al., “Guidelines for human-AI interaction,” in Proceedings of the 2019 CHI Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems, May 2019, pp. 1–13, doi: 10.1145/3290605.3300233.
[8] A. Webb, “The big nine. How the tech titans & their thinking machines could warp humanity,” J. Chem. Inf. Model., vol. 53, no. 9, pp. 1689–1699, 2019.
Darkripper
post Jun 7 2021, 10:13 PM

What do you expect?
1,258 posts

QUOTE(koraget @ Jun 7 2021, 09:48 PM)
What are you talking about? Civil, mechanical students do  learn c++ in their course.

Pretty sure somemore, where the hell you get such confident.

But i agreed, AI is mostly a tool not replacing human.
Maybe can share which university prospectus or course outcome document showing they teach C++ in traditional engineering field?

At least not for Universiti Malaya, because I studied there. Its either Matlab or Fotran.

I don't have much time to entertain you but look at this from NUS.

https://ivle.nus.edu.sg/V1/lms/public/view_...From=StuViewBtn

This post has been edited by Darkripper: Jun 7 2021, 10:21 PM
TShellothere131495
post Jun 7 2021, 10:32 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Jun 7 2021, 10:13 PM)
Maybe can share which university prospectus or course outcome document showing they teach C++ in traditional engineering field?

At least not for Universiti Malaya, because I studied there. Its either Matlab or Fotran.

USM's EE course structure:
https://www.usm.my/images/pdf_ijazah/06elec..._electronic.pdf

Darkripper
post Jun 7 2021, 10:34 PM

What do you expect?
1,258 posts

QUOTE(hellothere131495 @ Jun 7 2021, 10:32 PM)
electronic is not one of the traditional engineering field. Open eye and look at my post. Read.
ze2
post Jun 7 2021, 10:39 PM

319 posts

Serious question.
Accountancy and Engineering which profession has the higher chances of earning more with 10 years experience or more?
TShellothere131495
post Jun 7 2021, 10:44 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Jun 7 2021, 10:34 PM)
electronic is not one of the traditional engineering field. Open eye and look at my post. Read.
Even for electrical engineering the students still study that course covering C++. Btw, E&E is a traditional engineering fields. You've left it out. Such a popular traditional field how come you can forget?

ComingBackSoon
post Jun 7 2021, 10:46 PM

787 posts

QUOTE(ze2 @ Jun 7 2021, 10:39 PM)
Serious question.
Accountancy and Engineering which profession has the higher chances of earning more with 10 years experience or more?
Accounting.

Engineers don't get paid well in Malaysia. In other words, top engineering jobs are not available in Malaysia.

Unless you are in software engineering. Software engineering is the shit right now, like what SAP consultants were 5-10 years ago. Can earn in USD some more.
ze2
post Jun 7 2021, 10:51 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jun 7 2021, 10:46 PM)
Accounting.

Engineers don't get paid well in Malaysia. In other words, top engineering jobs are not available in Malaysia.

Unless you are in software engineering. Software engineering is the shit right now, like what SAP consultants were 5-10 years ago. Can earn in USD some more.
After reading some of the comments here, it seems engineering is harder to study. SAP consultants plenty in India.
Now demand over here is less unless you are really good.
airtawarian
post Jun 7 2021, 10:58 PM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(SaberCortez @ Jun 7 2021, 11:59 AM)
I see few of my friend so sienz stupid can pass ACCA wor.
Stupid? Haha… go Sit yourself all in one sitting Then talk Big
koraget
post Jun 7 2021, 11:00 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Jun 7 2021, 10:13 PM)

And yet you are here...Why bother to go as far as Singapore instead of we have some example for the Malaysia part. LOL.

Buffalo Soldier
post Jun 7 2021, 11:07 PM

444 posts

Toughness in terms of maths/calculations: Engineering

Toughness in terms of things to remember: ACCA

Want to get rich illegally: Underworld

Want to get rich legally: Join any ruling political party
ze2
post Jun 7 2021, 11:08 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Buffalo Soldier @ Jun 7 2021, 11:07 PM)

👍👍
Darkripper
post Jun 7 2021, 11:16 PM

What do you expect?
1,258 posts

QUOTE(hellothere131495 @ Jun 7 2021, 10:44 PM)
Even for electrical engineering the students still study that course covering C++. Btw, E&E is a traditional engineering fields. You've left it out. Such a popular traditional field how come you can forget?

Still didn't read the bracket huh?

Sure bro, you happy then okay dy lel.
9m2w
post Jun 7 2021, 11:47 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jun 7 2021, 09:50 PM)
Ya lo. And who will be the one who decide how to configure the AI for financial reporting?

According to Liamness, it is the engineer who studied 4 years in uni. Engineers are the master race.  rclxms.gif

All hail Liamness the holy saviour.
Man Liamness dont speak for all of us

And i seriously hope he's really an engineer and not some troll googling cos he sure love to pick fights haha
9m2w
post Jun 7 2021, 11:49 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(hellothere131495 @ Jun 7 2021, 10:32 PM)
Yes C++ was taught in my uni for Electronics major students. This was 20+ years ago, back when MMU was actually Universiti Telekom

PS out of curiosity, whats your current status? Still studying and having second thoughts? Or just grad and not sure what to do?

This post has been edited by 9m2w: Jun 8 2021, 12:09 AM
SUSLiamness
post Jun 7 2021, 11:58 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jun 7 2021, 07:59 PM)
Ppl say AI can do 1-5 leh. Maybe he come from 100 years in the future. Hahahah.

The general consensus is AI and automation can takeover the bulk of the work in financial reporting and auditing that nobody likes to do to begin with. There are a few areas of financial reporting and auditing that AI can never takeover.

If the day comes that AI is really that smart, then AI can takeover engineers job too.
unless 3D printing takes off big time, and can produce reliable parts that is both weatherproof, EN, FM/UL certified, and safe for industrial usage, then I'm afraid my sorry ass , my company and my product will still be needed.

And like I've said, most of my job can't be done through automation or AI, yet. Perhaps it is also not worth it to automate my job as the volume & market cap isn't worth the effort or justification.

Meanwhile, there is a huge value proposition to get rid of thousands of accountants, close offices and overheads. Who knows what AI can and will do to boost your company bottom line and hence, increase their share price and profit.

Afterall, your company should be stock listed and everything that they do is geared towards maximizing profits.

SUSLiamness
post Jun 8 2021, 12:07 AM

445 posts

Indons teaching Python to 2nd year chemical engineering students already. Malaysia also same la..

Programming is fundamental subject for engineers..

Fyi, engineers also have to do some finance & accounting courses too. I personally found those course way too easy. No wonder I always saw finance students leaving exam halls early. tongue.gif
SUSLiamness
post Jun 8 2021, 12:12 AM

445 posts

QUOTE(koraget @ Jun 7 2021, 11:00 PM)
And yet you are here...Why bother to go as far as Singapore instead of we have some example for the Malaysia part. LOL.

bro, alot of the courses already updated to teach python too.

Those new engineers are coming out with updated programming knowledge.

anyways, programming is clearly part of an engineer course and very fundamental too. I can't imagine any course not having teach basic programming or coding in this day and age. tongue.gif

It's a fundamental skill! Pity those finance grads who don't know how to code haha..
9m2w
post Jun 8 2021, 12:20 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 8 2021, 12:12 AM)
bro, alot of the courses already updated to teach python too.

Those new engineers are coming out with updated programming knowledge.

anyways, programming is clearly part of an engineer course and very fundamental too. I can't imagine any course not having teach basic programming or coding in this day and age.  tongue.gif

It's a fundamental skill! Pity those finance grads who don't know how to code haha..
Man there you go again....be civil dude. You gonna bring down a shit storm soon haha
SUSLiamness
post Jun 8 2021, 12:22 AM

445 posts

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jun 7 2021, 08:10 PM)

I checked the links. These fellas all talk about robots like input data only. Maybe in the early 2000s yes, robots were like this.

But this isn't the case anymore..

They strangely didn't touch on the subject of machine learning AI. Perhaps, they don't understand it.

Machine learning is how our cars are being driven autonomously. Banks are already using machine learning algorithms to make better decisions and drive the banks core businesses. Same thing is happening with accounting too.

Robots no longer just input and sort data. They can begin understanding and reading this data and fine tune itself to make decisions based on what it is reading.

This is what machine learning is all about and why you as an accountant need to take notice of it and how it will impact your field in the not so distant future.

When you begin hearing about your company trialing new software to drive decision making, you need to take notice and recognise the immediate threat that this software will pose to your future. If decisions are being driven by software, you are no longer needed. Best of luck to you.

LamboSama
post Jun 8 2021, 12:28 AM

769 posts

QUOTE(Buffalo Soldier @ Jun 7 2021, 11:07 PM)

No need ruling. MP get 20k even if not ruling team. laugh.gif
Darkripper
post Jun 8 2021, 12:37 AM

What do you expect?
1,258 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 8 2021, 12:07 AM)
Indons teaching Python to 2nd year chemical engineering students already. Malaysia also same la..

Programming is fundamental subject for engineers..

Fyi, engineers also have to do some finance & accounting courses too. I personally found those course way too easy. No wonder I always saw finance students leaving exam halls early.  tongue.gif
Tbh, python is good enough for most engineering applications, I even wrote a couple python scripts to automate my PLAXIS analysis, a day's job done in a click. Just check the result later on.

C++ is focusing too much on the rudimentary part which is only important if you need performance. Time used to develop can easily be cost more than just scaling up ur hardware. Its fun to learn, but pain in the ass to develop on.
Buffalo Soldier
post Jun 8 2021, 12:57 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(LamboSama @ Jun 8 2021, 12:28 AM)
No need ruling. MP get 20k even if not ruling team.  laugh.gif
RM 20K is average salary of /K. Not enough to be considered "kaya". /S
iSean
post Jun 8 2021, 01:25 AM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Jun 7 2021, 09:14 PM)
I would think the practical uses of the subjects you mentioned are pretty minimal unless you're in academia

But it does serve to weed out weaker students that are not engineering inclined. Deterring more ppl who are not inclined to take it up would mean less grads competing for the same pool of jobs

Beside it must have prepared you for Huawei

Pretty sure you if you made it pass those subjects and more you wouldnt have a problem going thru the latest 3G PP release documentation, understanding the call flow, KPIs to monitor for troubleshooting or optimisation or signalling structure for network interworking. Consider them an entrance test of the long road ahead haha

PS you still have exams there?
Just an ex Huawei Intern last year. Maybe Huawei Malaysia isn't RnD focused. Well, Huawei Malaysia pretty much very inclusive community, they accept everyone from any background. As long you start from blank at SPM Level can also become a staff there doing technical work. I have friends mechanical and chemistry and some even physics background there.

So I don't think it is an issue la. In regards to 3GPP documentation I tak tahu too much la, just browse through only. Because my work is more towards Network Data Collection and Analysis, and Project Rollout Tracking.

Huawei Internal Exams have many la. Also need to keep renew license.
Huawei community wise OK la nubbad. Feel very inclusive. Just see some staff work OT until very kesian only. And high turnover rate.
juvaan
post Jun 8 2021, 01:54 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(ohman @ Jun 5 2021, 09:29 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
inbe4 because best brains mostly take medicine and engineering.

only until recent years that science stream students are taking accounting  laugh.gif
Taking accounting degree is not the same as taking accounting professional paper. ACCA is very much a law based qualification which has heavy emphasis on the accounting standards, almost like studying to be a lawyer, but memorizing and regurgitating will not take you far as the Advanced modules require high degree of critical thinking which a lot of students get stuck for many years.

in my view ranking of accounting qualification in terms of difficulty, from easiest to hardest

CPA Aust
MIA
ICAA (Anzac)
MICPA - used to have dual qual together with ICAA
ACCA / CIMA - this 2 are very different qual. ACCA difficulty is more focused on Audit and Financial reporting papers whereas CIMA is more on management accounting/reporting which requires very high degree of critical thinking and case studies.

CGMA (upgrade CIMA)
ICAEW

Specialty qualifications :
CTIM (Tax)
CIA (internal auditor)
CFA - not exactly an accounting qualification but shares broad similarities with ACCA/ICAEW/CIMA is terms of syllabus.

This post has been edited by juvaan: Jun 8 2021, 02:21 AM
juvaan
post Jun 8 2021, 01:58 AM

276 posts

But if you were smart enough to recognise that you cannot and will not be able to compete with automation, you will start building exit strategies. Don't wait until it's too late and one fine day you are told to pack up your things because you are no longer needed.  thumbsup.gif
Book keepers yes, accountants, yes and no.

The work that im doing today as an accountant i dont really see how AI will takeover anytime soon. We are really far from that. Not impossible though.
juvaan
post Jun 8 2021, 02:06 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 7 2021, 10:52 AM)

False.

1. ACCA does not equal accounting degrees. You can bullshit your way through the degree but not ACCA
2. The "balance sheets" (i believe you're referring to bookkeeping) are just 15% max of the entire ACCA syllabus. Look up ACCA papers and you will realise accountants no longer do what the traditional perception is.

ACCA now requires a higher degree of critical thinking and solving case studies. Especially last few years could see the syllabus trending towards cultivating a consultant mindset for the strategic papers.

This post has been edited by juvaan: Jun 8 2021, 02:19 AM
SUSLiamness
post Jun 8 2021, 08:40 AM

445 posts

QUOTE(juvaan @ Jun 8 2021, 01:58 AM)
Book keepers yes, accountants, yes and no.

The work that im doing today as an accountant i dont really see how AI will takeover anytime soon. We are really far from that. Not impossible though.
Like I've said, AI is now machine learning and autonomous. It can make decisions based on the book keeping info.

Decisions like how to save money, how to optimize operations, when do you need to replace parts and assets, how and when to declare profits/losses to maximise tax breaks & many more decisions can now be made by intelligent AI software.

The function of an accountant is quickly being removed. Not just for book keeping, but for critical functions and decision making too. The CFO is no longer going to be a position helmed by a person, it will be an AI robot who plays that role in the next 2-5 years.
SUSandylyc
post Jun 8 2021, 08:46 AM

27 posts

ACCA
The lecturer is another person
The person who set the exam questions another person
The person who mark your answer script another person
Nobody know each other

Engineering
The lecturer is your university lecturer
The person who set the exam questions is your university lecturer
The person who mark your answer script is your university lecturer
Zot
post Jun 8 2021, 08:51 AM

7,938 posts

My professor said, "You cannot be an engineer if your are not good in math."

Yes, math in engineering is far more comprehensive than the ACCA math.
koraget
post Jun 8 2021, 08:54 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(andylyc @ Jun 8 2021, 08:46 AM)
ACCA
The lecturer is another person
The person who set the exam questions another person
The person who mark your answer script another person
Nobody know each other

Engineering
The lecturer is your university lecturer
The person who set the exam questions is your university lecturer
The person who mark your answer script is your university lecturer
You should compare ACCA with professional engineer exam. Those are degree/diploma exam paper.

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/routes-profe...icle-card_title
oe_kintaro
post Jun 8 2021, 09:05 AM

2,222 posts

Correction: ALL engineers need to learn programming. Usually the baseline is C or its variants / descendants / extensions, or whatever is taught at CS101 or its equivalent. 1st year undergrad studies for most Engineering courses are pretty much common across all engineering disciplines: (Engineering Math & Statistics, Engineering Materials 101, Computer Science 101 are usually the core courses). However programming languages do evolve over time and newer languages are added and maybe old ones updated or removed.
sauce: me. Mat Eng grad.
lambsauce
post Jun 8 2021, 09:19 AM

311 posts

compared to acca, i think cfa is more difficult and rarely discussed here, often underappreciated too

This post has been edited by lambsauce: Jun 8 2021, 09:21 AM
juvaan
post Jun 8 2021, 10:42 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 8 2021, 08:40 AM)
Like I've said, AI is now machine learning and autonomous. It can make decisions based on the book keeping info.

Decisions like how to save money, how to optimize operations, when do you need to replace parts and assets, how and when to declare profits/losses to maximise tax breaks & many more decisions can now be made by intelligent AI software.

The function of an accountant is quickly being removed. Not just for book keeping, but for critical functions and decision making too. The CFO is no longer going to be a position helmed by a person, it will be an AI robot who plays that role in the next 2-5 years.
If thats your assessment of how far AI is going to go, i see 80% of engineers being replaced.
SaberCortez
post Jun 8 2021, 10:48 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(airtawarian @ Jun 7 2021, 11:58 PM)
Stupid? Haha… go Sit yourself all in one sitting Then talk Big
Huh? for what? I am a software developer. But seriously those friend really stupid one. Just very bookish, but when it comes to actually doing work, cannot perform. But then again she fail the 3rd exam 4 times before actually passing it.
woodentiger86
post Jun 8 2021, 10:55 AM

Budding DIY Detailer & Avid Gamer
2,414 posts

QUOTE(lambsauce @ Jun 8 2021, 09:19 AM)
compared to acca, i think cfa is more difficult and rarely discussed here, often underappreciated too
Agreed.

And CFA is an open book exam to boot.

Anyways, gotten my ACCA Membership few years ago and never looked back.

Those 5 years pass by really quickly to get certified.
DuFfz
post Jun 9 2021, 08:09 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Jun 6 2021, 10:12 AM)
Take it while still young. Kinda require some heavy works especially for 3 phase practical training.
SUSLiamness
post Jun 9 2021, 09:58 AM

445 posts

QUOTE(lambsauce @ Jun 8 2021, 09:19 AM)
difficulty is really subjective with these accounting or finance professional courses. Because it's mostly reading and memorizing what you've read.

Instead of doing actual calculations or problem solving.

It's like taking a more comprehensive version of a drivers license exam. tongue.gif .

CFA is like taking a truck driver license, motorbike, car, boat and bus licence all at once.

It's just a matter of how much knowledge you can retain to pass the exam.
empire23
post Jun 9 2021, 10:08 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Can't really speak for accountants but if someone said I'd have to resit my whole EnE degree again I'd rather go dai.

I didn't really fancy the whole process.
Maknusia
post Jun 9 2021, 10:48 AM

997 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jun 9 2021, 10:08 AM)
Can't really speak for accountants but if someone said I'd have to resit my whole EnE degree again I'd rather go dai.

I didn't really fancy the whole process.
hahaha...I know the feeling, same here! cry.gif

0.0964sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:11 AM