Jun 6 2021, 09:54 AM
473 posts Joined: Sep 2019 |
Many engineering students, in my experience, end up becoming nerds in college. Most can't find girls and end up becoming kuli after graduating. Some become technicians, while others are fortunate enough to work for reputable companies. If they study until they get their PhD, they will already be more nerdy scientists.
Accounting students appear to have a more balanced college experience. After graduation, it is simple to find work and work indoors. Prepare to marry earlier. One of my relatives, who studied chemical engineering until obtaining a PhD, married at a late age. He traveled extensively to increase his salary. It appears to be a difficult job requiring intelligence, hard work, and talent. Engineering may be more difficult in terms of abstract thinking, but it appears to be a more suitable path for talented individuals to pursue. |
Jun 6 2021, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(zilch28 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:34 PM) No offense but you sound like strawberry gang. In that case, do not even consider engineering. And to be honest, maybe accounting isn't suitable either. Consider other options? Like business degrees or even mass comm, those more about lifestyle, college experience and all. You wanna be successful? Bet on a field that you are willing to put most of your effort/sacrifice in. This post has been edited by hellothere131495: Jun 6 2021, 02:30 PM |
Jun 6 2021, 02:07 PM
Which of the civil, electrical and electronic, chemical, and mechanical engineering disciplines is the most difficult? Because of the math and physics involved, I believe electrical engineering is the most difficult. For example, in electromagnetic fields theory, the double and triple integrals used to understand the behavior of charged particles, which cannot be seen with the naked eye, truly required good imagination and logical thinking. Artificial intelligence algorithms, such as deep neural networks used in digital image processing and analysis, necessitate a strong mathematical foundation to comprehend machine learning and deep learning techniques.
Consider convolution neural networks. Understanding how the neural network can learn the features of handwritten numbers independently already requires a significant amount of brain energy. We haven't discussed how to create a novel convolution neural network architecture capable of automatically detecting cancer cells in medical images. The mere mention of artificial intelligence puts many people off (not for interested people). That is only introduction to one or two topics in one engineering field… |
Jun 6 2021, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(holypredator @ Jun 6 2021, 08:55 PM) Comparing degree to professional course is the DUMEBEST thing related to educational comparison that I've heard so far..... How about a PhD in Engineering?The difficulty varies a lot across unis because if you talk about graduating from top engineering schools ... then yea... it is hard as hell but we all know there are many engineering schools give out degrees like paper.... especially those local unis / local private unis that have no name.... professional qualification on the other hand.. is standardize... it is where no one who got the ACCA could say they have gone through the course harder than the other person.... AT LEAST for their generation cause most of the time course structure changes generation to generation (might get harder or easier...)..... What I can confirm is... those who graduate with an engineering degree but did not end up working as an engineering and did not get the IR title means they are useless shit who got rejected by their own field.... a.k.a failures in their field or took the degree cause they thought they are smart but they are not..... think about it.... if they are good at their studies.... they would already be working in their field of study... but I saw lots of "engineering graduates" ... "Law graduates".... working at financial fields as PFC/marketers or even FMCG etc.... I personally know many Engineering grads who wants to switch to accounting field or financial field but cannot pass a single ACCA/CFA/CFP paper.... not surprising though cause if they are good students.. they already be working in their field instead of trying to strive in other fields.... I would place these people only 1 step higher than the hobbies degree people.... at least they managed to pass these legit degrees (some effort is made to gain their degrees)... |
Jun 7 2021, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(Joe1997 @ Jun 7 2021, 10:58 AM) I think it's Malaysia education issue. Everything is overproduced, not only in ACCA or engineering courses. Kid you not, I have coursemate that enters engineering with CGPA 2.7 from pre-u, and graduated with below 3. Still, working as engineer. That is correct. Some mbbs students did not even perform well in their spm. They ended up joining housemanship as well. |
Jun 7 2021, 01:05 PM
QUOTE(DM3 @ Jun 7 2021, 12:18 PM) https://leverageedu.com/blog/toughest-courses-in-the-world/ Is this based on a survey? Is there a journal paper about this ranking that has been published? There must be a source in a conference or a journal that ranks course difficulty. in the World It is a dream of students to pursue a course that can help in shaping a great career. Most of the times it doesn’t come easy to candidates. In order to be successful, students have to go through a rigorous and challenging curriculum to get lucrative salaries later. Given below is the list of toughest courses in the world that can boost your career: Engineering Chartered Accountancy Medicine Pharmacy Architecture Law Psychology Aeronautics Quantum Mechanics Statistics Journalism Nursing Finance Philosophy Fine Arts Foreign Language In India; Putting engineering and accounting ahead of medicine is, after all, a little perplexing. I always thought medicine was the most challenging course because of the long degree duration and the requirement to obtain an MD to specialize in a specific field. |
Jun 7 2021, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(Liamness @ Jun 7 2021, 01:56 PM) kesian, sounds like your company is sunset industry lel. Yes, AI is replacing lots of things nowadays. And these AIs need professionals to supervise them.all the top, most exciting firms these days only hire engineers or software engineering grads. Palantir, a data analytics company at the forefront of pretty much everything only hires engineers who can code. Tesla, a electric vehicle company at the forefront of EV revolution, hires thousands of engineers to develop their cars. Amazon, Google, Facebook, & etc. Hires a good mixture of engineers and software dudes. When the revolution finally lands on Malaysian shores, straight away engineers will be in demand. Finance is a sunset industry. Nowadays, bots can do the trading. Brokers are all online base. Accountants, ILPs, mutual funds, savings plans, stoke brokers on the floor at KLSE, bankers, loans officers and more are Boomers liao. Very soon, automation will take over their jobs and lots of finance/accountants will be out of work. lel. Don't forget, Accountancy is 99% likely to disappear in the next coming years as software & AI can handle this liao. Sucks to be an accounting grad that nobody wants to hire anymore. |
Jun 7 2021, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(Ic3dMil0 @ Jun 7 2021, 02:10 PM) Parents want children to study very noble courses so that got face at the CNY round table. This is very true. Almost everyone wants to hear that you’re engineer, medicine, or lawyer.The fight for sense of superiority already started since Form 4. Anak kamu aliran apa? Sains atau sastera? How about university? Do they actually care about uni rankings? Like go UM study? |
Jun 7 2021, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jun 7 2021, 02:48 PM) From your statement that an accountant is only needed for official signing purpose, we can conclude that your understanding of the accounting profession is indeed very basic. Either the scale of the company that you have seen is small, or you come from the future. As of now, no accounting firms can employ 2-3 people to audit a proper company. To be clear, AI is not synonymous with bots. A modern accountant's role is not limited to bookkeeping. Automation can only takeover part of an accountant's tasks. In fact, automation is welcomed because it eliminated human errors and freed up a modern accountant's time to perform other tasks. As of today, bots cannot: 1) Determine the optimum capital structure of a company 2) Determine the optimum group structure of a company 3) Determine the optimum deal structure in an M&A / JV etc 4) Launch cost saving initiatives for the group (tax savings, logistics etc) 5) Help my negotiate with external parties Bots simply do not have the business acumen to replace me as of today. But its ok. We can see that all thes facts do not matter to you because you are here to seek validation that you are intellectually superior as a human because you are an engineer. We can feed your ego. Technology is indeed truly what changes the way we live. If you are the chief engineer at Tesla, Google, or even SEA tech companies like Grab, hats off to you. All hail Liamness the holy saviour of humanity. He who passed a 4-year engineering degree. Numerous individuals use the terms interchangeably. However, the true distinction between AI and automated systems is as follows: AI is capable of learning in the same way that humans do. We do not program them to perform a particular task. Rather than that, we program them to learn things. As a result, they are capable of self-learning and performing a specific task independently. This is especially true for algorithms based on deep learning. For example, if we feed the AI 1000 images of cancer cells, he can learn the features of cancer cells and determine whether or not a new image he has never seen before contains cancer cells. The remarkable thing is that you can train him using images of other objects (not just cancer cells) to accumulate knowledge and become more intelligent over time. Bots are intelligent computer programs that can perform tasks autonomously without human intervention. However, this does not mean artificial intelligence, as bots cannot learn from experience or mistakes. Nonetheless, certain AI algorithms can be used to develop bots. |
Jun 7 2021, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 7 2021, 04:27 PM) In Malaysia, most university got Basic and Advanced Level for Electromagnetic Theory. You do not need to jump into really deep into triple integrals. Also even I went for Huawei MY, I don't see anyone talk about playing with "Triple Integral Electromagnetic Theory" Maxwell's Equation, and other bullshit. Also Convolutional Neural Networks, its more towards "application based" compared to design those from scratch. You want to learn design of CNNs you better go take Computer Science or Software Engineering and a Degree in Mathematics ![]() |
Jun 7 2021, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jun 7 2021, 08:10 PM) Since I'm so free now let me entertain you and show you the 1st page of my Google Results. Truly appreciate your articles concerning the impact of artificial intelligence on human sources. The subject is intriguing. It appears as though the topic has evolved to include whether artificial intelligence will eventually replace accountants. Let us avoid becoming too fixated on accountants. Instead, let us discuss whether or not AI will eventually supplant humans. That will make the discussion more comfortable. The sources you cite are Google articles, and most of them are unsupported by research. There is no methodology employed, and the statements are unsubstantiated by experts. Allow me to provide you all with credible sources and compile them. I didn't cherry pick the articles. All are from my first page of Google Search. I dunno about you, but this does not look "unequivocal and resounding yes" to me. Unless your engineer degree have taught you a different meaning for what "unequivocal and resounding" mean. https://medium.com/human-unity/will-account...rs-2be8cf966fab https://www.thestar.com.my/news/education/2...ace-accountants https://www.toolbox.com/tech/artificial-int...-in-the-future/ https://www.accountingtoday.com/opinion/let...ace-accountants https://floqast.com/blog/will-robots-take-o...g-is-automated/ https://www.quora.com/Will-accountants-be-r...e-next-20-years https://www.thesundaily.my/business/will-ar...tants-BE4556056 https://www.itp.net/news/94006-can-ai-and-a...ace-accountants There is a study done by Grace et al. [1] that provides the results of a comprehensive survey of machine learning researchers about their opinion on the advancement of artificial intelligence. According to their findings, within the next decade, machine learning researchers anticipate that AI will beat humans in a variety of tasks, including translating languages (by 2024), writing high-school essays (by 2026), driving a truck (by 2027), working in retail (by 2031), producing a popular book (by 2049), and working as a surgeon (by 2053). Furthermore, AI will exceed humans in all activities in 45 years and automate all human professions in 120 years, with Asian respondents anticipating these dates significantly sooner than North Americans. In response to the coronavirus, robots were swiftly deployed [2]. They materialized out of nowhere to clean airport floors and collect temperature readings from passengers. Hospitals and universities have implemented Sally [3], a salad-making robot, to replace staff in dining halls. Malls and stadiums have purchased Knightscope security-guard robots [4] to patrol vacant real estate. Moreover, another paper by Vaishya et al. [5] states that healthcare organizations urgently need decision-support tools to assist them in managing this virus and receiving timely information to help avoid its spread. They claimed that employing artificial intelligence may significantly add to our understanding and suggestions for developing a COVID-19 vaccine. This outcome-driven system enables the accurate screening, analysis, prediction, and follow-up of current and future patients. Numerous AI algorithms have been used to track data from confirmed, recovered, and fatal cases. Another interesting question is whether AI will eventually take over the world. This is highly improbable. Many computer scientists see an AI revolution in which humans and AI coexist and benefit from one another’s capabilities, but humans closely regulate AI [6]. Humans would continue to have a role in society in this scenario, innovating and resolving ethical concerns about AI (naturally, what humans are excellent at) [7]. Although the duration of this parallel link is uncertain, it may be long enough for humans to create a higher form of intelligence, therefore narrowing the gap between AI and human cognition and avoiding AI supremacy [8]. Credible Sources: [1] K. Grace, J. Salvatier, A. Dafoe, B. Zhang, and O. Evans, “Viewpoint: When will AI exceed human performance? Evidence from AI experts,” J. Artif. Intell. Res., vol. 62, pp. 729–754, Jul. 2018, doi: 10.1613/jair.1.11222. [2] S. Vilendrer et al., “Rapid deployment of inpatient telemedicine in response to COVID-19 across three health systems,” J. Am. Med. Informatics Assoc., vol. 27, no. 7, pp. 1102–1109, Jul. 2020, doi: 10.1093/jamia/ocaa077. [3] S. Masroor, H. Bulut, Bahrudin, and C.-Y. Lin, “Review on powered mobility and meal preparing assistive devices for physically disabled persons,” in Mechanisms and Machine Science, vol. 78, 2020, pp. 16–28. [4] E. E. Joh, “A certain dangerous engine: private security robots, artificial intelligence, and deadly force,” UC Davis Law Rev., pp. 569–587, 2017, [Online]. Available: https://lawreview.law.ucdavis.edu/issues/51...um/51-2_Joh.pdf. [5] R. Vaishya, M. Javaid, I. H. Khan, and A. Haleem, “Artificial Intelligence (AI) applications for COVID-19 pandemic,” Diabetes Metab. Syndr. Clin. Res. Rev., vol. 14, no. 4, pp. 337–339, Jul. 2020, doi: 10.1016/j.dsx.2020.04.012. [6] M. Guihot, A. Matthew, and N. P. Suzor, “Nudging robots: Innovative solutions to regulate artificial intelligence,” Nudging Robot. Innov. Solut. to Regul. Artif. Intell., 2017, doi: 10.31228/osf.io/5at2f. [7] S. Amershi et al., “Guidelines for human-AI interaction,” in Proceedings of the 2019 CHI Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems, May 2019, pp. 1–13, doi: 10.1145/3290605.3300233. [8] A. Webb, “The big nine. How the tech titans & their thinking machines could warp humanity,” J. Chem. Inf. Model., vol. 53, no. 9, pp. 1689–1699, 2019. |
Jun 7 2021, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(Darkripper @ Jun 7 2021, 10:13 PM) Maybe can share which university prospectus or course outcome document showing they teach C++ in traditional engineering field? USM's EE course structure:At least not for Universiti Malaya, because I studied there. Its either Matlab or Fotran. I don't have much time to entertain you but look at this from NUS. https://ivle.nus.edu.sg/V1/lms/public/view_...From=StuViewBtn https://ivle.nus.edu.sg/V1/lms/public/view_...From=StuViewBtn https://www.usm.my/images/pdf_ijazah/06elec..._electronic.pdf ![]() ![]() |
Jun 7 2021, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(Darkripper @ Jun 7 2021, 10:34 PM) Even for electrical engineering the students still study that course covering C++. Btw, E&E is a traditional engineering fields. You've left it out. Such a popular traditional field how come you can forget?![]() koraget liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0539sec
8 queries
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:17 AM |