119 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Home Theatre pls recommend me lcd/plasma tv thread, please use this thread :)

youliang
post Feb 7 2008, 02:05 PM

Aficionado
1,178 posts

hmm can a 42'' plasma fit into my car ? feel like buying from L..seems e.body says its cheaper.
-im from perak
haha

poyo
post Feb 7 2008, 02:06 PM

278 posts

Well, you have to understand, now there's too many Astro installers in Central KL alone ( we're not even talking about Wilayah Persekutuan yet! ). Some installers even do installs until 10pm! Maybe it's due to now, the commission they get is very low. Previously it'll cost over RM 300, not including of install charges ( last time between RM 100 - 150 for apartments / condos ), nowadays it alot cheaper, hence the commission is lower perhaps?

So what they do is come by your house, take everything off, drill the hole for the dish mounting 1st, and install the dish ( the initial hard work ), then plug in the decoder to both the dish and TV, then the hardest job is to get the signal. Some installers use some sort of oscilloscope to get the strongest signal location. My 1st Astro install back in 2001, fella used this osciloscope and the signal strength was a nice 78, even during very windy days and light rains, signal is not affected.

After get the best dish location, only then they'll fix the dish 100%. Sadly, most Astro installers nowadays do not use this oscilloscope, hence signal loss during windy days and rain ( a real problem for high - rise homes ). To gain the best signal strength, installer must use an oscilloscope and need plenty of time setting the dish right, so that's why nowadays a lot of Astro installers don't use this tool : takes time and is costly. They just simply adjust until get around high 60's to low 70's, then done.

No, signal strength do not affect quality of the broadcast I think.

Still on the topic of Astro installers, those ads we see at road sides, at your apartment's lift etc, are those 100% genuine Astro installer? Today read int he newspaper, Astro placed a notice that those installers are not authorised ( then how la they get those dish, decoder, smart card and you get your bill the next month la? ), so if you get your Astro thru them, Astro will not honour damage claims etc. Haihs.

QUOTE(tchiaming @ Feb 7 2008, 10:02 AM)
i seriously didnt know about this... n i just checked my signal n i only got a 65!!!!!!!!!!!!!

stupid astro ppl... so lazy... so wat do i do now? can i call them n tell them i am not satisfied with the reception? they will send their men to check on my house for free rite?  tongue.gif

all this while i was thinking it was my tv sommo....

u sure the signal plays an important role in terms of the quality of the broadcast??  blush.gif
Thanks Wacko_joy, seems like the L shop very popular wan. That's a good price for a nice Sharp Aquos 100hz LCD, since shops like Best Denki etc put RM 3600.00. Maybe by May price will go to RM 2600.00? Hehehe. Didn't get any freebies ke?

QUOTE(wacko_joy @ Feb 7 2008, 01:30 PM)
L shop... RM29XX-Cash. Warranty 1year only.

Added on February 7, 2008, 2:10 pmDo try and see prices from ewarehouse, adrian and htkaki, see if they can counter. Since you're buying such a large plasma, are you upgrading your DVD player to those upscaling units too? Shops like the L shop may be able to offer you a much better price if you bundle stuffs together. If not, try and see prices from the three fellas. Htkaki I know will deliver by hand ( if you're in KL ), adrian not sure. ewarehouse I think deliver by courier ( I could be wrong here, only stating info from what I read around Lowyat ).

QUOTE(youliang @ Feb 7 2008, 02:05 PM)
hmm can a 42'' plasma fit into my car ? feel like buying from L..seems e.body says its cheaper.
-im from perak
haha
This post has been edited by poyo: Feb 7 2008, 02:10 PM
zas3
post Feb 7 2008, 03:31 PM

QUOTE(youliang @ Feb 7 2008, 02:05 PM)
-im from perak
haha
You can fit a pioneer 42" plasma complete with box into a Jazz. For cars without reclining back seats definitely you need to take it out from the box.
radiohead
post Feb 8 2008, 09:49 AM

18 + 5
1,484 posts

when leg,,, SS2 will reopen? are they working this sunday?

Added on February 8, 2008, 10:11 amyah sony 32S310A promotion atm. when to best denki, mid valley RM2700 FREE dvd player. is this model good PQ compare with others? -the sales person recommend this. i compare with philips, pana, lg, samsung there. look ok to me..

?

Added on February 8, 2008, 11:13 amalls are 32" models. which price range below 3K i believe

1- pana - 75mk - ugly stand, bcklight control
1a- pana - 700MK** ips panel (this >3K rite?)
2- tosh - a3500 - low contrast ratio , indon made?
3- LG - LC7R - black color shite
4- sammy - S81B
5- Samsung LA32R81BX - too shiny piano (distracted view)
6- sharp aquos pX5M - no s video
7- sharp aquos A53M - no dvi
8- Philips 32 TA2800 -
9- Philips 32 7332 - best looking model imho
9a- Philips 32 9432 ?
10- sony S310 - some says S series suck - ?no s video.
10a- Sony Bravia LCD TV KLV-32V300A - rm3200 (ewarehouse.com) how bout this one? can i get cheaper price other shop?

which one will u pick?
any end user who bought any of these model, plz give some feedback.

**my needs - s -video - watch divx movie thru PC
good PQ for astro.
good connectivity
pic in pic - PIP
swivel is nice

thanz

This post has been edited by radiohead: Feb 8 2008, 11:53 AM
jasjas
post Feb 8 2008, 11:56 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(poyo @ Feb 7 2008, 02:06 PM)

Still on the topic of Astro installers, those ads we see at road sides, at your apartment's lift etc, are those 100% genuine Astro installer? Today read int he newspaper, Astro placed a notice that those installers are not authorised ( then how la they get those dish, decoder, smart card and you get your bill the next month la? ), so if you get your Astro thru them, Astro will not honour damage claims etc. Haihs.
Thanks Wacko_joy, seems like the L shop very popular wan. That's a good price for a nice Sharp Aquos 100hz LCD, since shops like Best Denki etc put RM 3600.00. Maybe by May price will go to RM 2600.00? Hehehe. Didn't get any freebies ke?

Added on February 7, 2008, 2:10 pmDo try and see prices from ewarehouse, adrian and htkaki, see if they can counter. Since you're buying such a large plasma, are you upgrading your DVD player to those upscaling units too? Shops like the L shop may be able to offer you a much better price if you bundle stuffs together. If not, try and see prices from the three fellas. Htkaki I know will deliver by hand ( if you're in KL ), adrian not sure. ewarehouse I think deliver by courier ( I could be wrong here, only stating info from what I read around Lowyat ).
Aquos 100hz LCD at rm3600 in best? I tok i saw at around rm33xx in some harvey norman....will check again on today since i m working...

and ewarehouse's price dont seem to be tempting (no offence), by looking at his 42pv70, selling at rm4899 (NOT THIS MONTH WHICH DROPPED TO RM 4599 while other to be changed after the CNY, and i dont know how much ewarehouse can give further more discount) while outside big shops selling at rm47xx - rm49xx with additional warranty and cc swapping.... i dont know the other 2 as i didnt notice their selling thread....
marky
post Feb 8 2008, 01:38 PM

xoxo
893 posts

@radiohead

go for sharp....u cant use the analog cable to watch movie tru your com?

astro looks good on sharp...sony eventho have tat astro enhancement thingy still cant match...i've seen both connected directly to astro decoder
jasjas
post Feb 8 2008, 08:30 PM

221 posts

The aquos 100hz lcd is selling at rm3199 with 2 years warrranty + 1 year risk insurance with cc swap/installment, can try to deal for a free hdmi at klcc best.....poyo, i tok u said 3600 tongue.gif
otherwise
post Feb 8 2008, 10:46 PM

496 posts

do you happen to know what is the cheapest price for full hd?
poyo
post Feb 9 2008, 12:01 AM

278 posts

Aiayk, soli ah, maybe I mix up with some other LCD's price. RM 3.2k CC payment is good price for big shops wooh.

QUOTE(jasjas @ Feb 8 2008, 08:30 PM)
The aquos 100hz lcd is selling at rm3199 with 2 years warrranty + 1 year risk insurance with cc swap/installment, can try to deal for a free hdmi at klcc best.....poyo, i tok u said 3600  tongue.gif
jasjas
post Feb 9 2008, 03:29 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(otherwise @ Feb 8 2008, 10:46 PM)
do you happen to know what is the cheapest price for full hd?
philip at 5.5k+++ with 3 years warranty for 42" and cc swap/installment, seen in carrefour subang a few weeks ago, u might wan to check with L shop or something....btw the cheapest full hd doesnt mean it offers 100 hz, still 100hz full hd lcd standing above 9k+++

poyo : that's special offer in best denki klcc, additional pay but can allow u to get additional warranty and risk insurance + cc swap/installment sound's tempting....unless u wan cash/1 time cc swap price maybe they can offer u rm 3099 but i dont think it is worth - then it ll better u get it from L there....
cherroy
post Feb 9 2008, 09:56 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(marky @ Feb 8 2008, 01:38 PM)
astro looks good on sharp...sony eventho have tat astro enhancement thingy still cant match...i've seen both connected directly to astro decoder
Btw, what is the 'astro enhancement'? Market gimmick? really got effect? don't see much different between Sony and others in Astro programme until now.
radiohead
post Feb 9 2008, 10:33 AM

18 + 5
1,484 posts

L shop open today? if not. tomolo?
toyol
post Feb 9 2008, 11:17 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 9 2008, 09:56 AM)
Btw, what is the 'astro enhancement'? Market gimmick? really got effect? don't see much different between Sony and others in Astro programme until now.
Not marketing gimmick. It's just that some LCDs can scale regular TV resolution nicer (hence looks better) than other brands smile.gif
johnsonm
post Feb 10 2008, 12:04 AM

274 posts

guys i am finally getting my lcd this week. i was decided on the sharp lc42px5m because the toshiba 42a3500e's contrast isnt so good in a side by side comparison. however, a salesman has tried to push the sony kl40s310a on me. the picture seems clearer then sharp, so once again i am undecided. can anyone help me shed some light perhaps based on your own experiences?

also, does s-video make a big difference for astro?
youliang
post Feb 10 2008, 12:12 PM

Aficionado
1,178 posts

QUOTE(johnsonm @ Feb 10 2008, 12:04 AM)
guys i am finally getting my lcd this week. i was decided on the sharp lc42px5m because the toshiba 42a3500e's contrast isnt so good in a side by side comparison. however, a salesman has tried to push the sony kl40s310a on me. the picture seems clearer then sharp, so once again i am undecided. can anyone help me shed some light perhaps based on your own experiences?

also, does s-video make a big difference for astro?
s-video and non s-video has a HUGE difference on my old crt tv:p
vexus
post Feb 10 2008, 12:39 PM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

LG 32" lcd is hard panel.
kianwee
post Feb 10 2008, 03:02 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Feb 10 2008, 12:39 PM)
LG 32" lcd is hard panel.
Define hard panel.
lapaq
post Feb 10 2008, 05:19 PM

255 posts

Help me decide please....A Bravia 32D300 or 37S310...price diff is only RM500...the 37 cost extra RM 500....Thanks...oh and pls tell me why you choose it...Thanks
radiohead
post Feb 11 2008, 09:51 AM

18 + 5
1,484 posts

for RM3000 get sharp 32 A53M imho. it s only 5"...smile.gif watch closer lah. hehe
kianwee
post Feb 11 2008, 09:59 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(lapaq @ Feb 10 2008, 05:19 PM)
Help me decide please....A Bravia 32D300 or 37S310...price diff is  only RM500...the 37 cost extra RM 500....Thanks...oh and pls tell me why you choose it...Thanks
Neither. A53M FTW.

119 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:50 AM