Home Theatre pls recommend me lcd/plasma tv thread, please use this thread :)

toyol
post Feb 2 2008, 09:31 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(kuokhong @ Feb 1 2008, 05:33 PM)
hey bro, also do you think it is worth to get 1080p for 42" tv? and also can tell me what are some of the most important spec to consider to choose the right TV?
I'm tired of those salesman's bullshits!
1080p is definately the way to go and the 37" LCD is the minimum spec that supports the 1080p at the moment. Personally we can't tell you the right size of the display to choose but generally your viewing distance should be around 3 times the height the LCD. For example, if the height of the LCD is 3feet, then the viewing distance should be 9 feet away from the LCD.

If you're tired of the salesman's bullshit, just beware of the 1366 x 768 resolution deathtrap. It's not HD standard although most salesman tell you that "HD ready is 1 megapixel and Full HD is 2 megapixel" which is true. Because people know that HD is either 720p (1280x720) or 1080i/p(1920x1080). The other known specs are 480p(NTSC) annd 576p(PAL) which is your regular TV resolution. So how can 1366 x 768 be a standard resolution? Obviously there is some video scaling happening and not all 32" sets do scaling well. Some say LG and Bravia models do well but you will need to shop around more and get a feel of it.

One thing though is that when you look around these shops, most will use an upscale DVD player (of sorts in simple terms) as demo but again, that's not a true depiction of how HD really looks like. Also, your friendly salesman will tell you that HD is a "future investment" side stepping the issue of 1366x768 resolution. So 1080p thumbup.gif

Then there is also the issue about HDMI version. Do get version 1.2/1.3/1.3a if you want to hook up to a computer.

You can read a bit more about this topic here http://hd1080i.blogspot.com/2006/12/1080i-...n-problems.html Easy read but slightly technical.

I know this sounds a wee bit technical but blame this on the industry who are so willing to roll-out HD without getting certain specs right. Hope this helps you out biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by toyol: Feb 2 2008, 09:33 AM
toyol
post Feb 2 2008, 09:44 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 2 2008, 09:37 AM)
hdmi versions... wat has it got to do with hooking up computer? pls advice
btw, those potential buyers, thinking to go fullHD or not, u better check with urself, wat kind of sourceu are getting or playing, if not, u r buyin fo rhte extra reso nia which in the end of the day, its gonna look bad if u dun have the proper media
HDMI version info can check out at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hdmi

a quick quote from there is sweat.gif

HDMI 1.2
Released August 2005.

Added support for One Bit Audio, used on Super Audio CDs, up to 8 channels.
Availability of HDMI Type A connector for PC sources.
Ability for PC sources to use native RGB color-space while retaining the option to support the YCbCr CE color space.
Requirement for HDMI 1.2 and later displays to support low-voltage sources.

This post has been edited by toyol: Feb 2 2008, 09:45 AM
toyol
post Feb 2 2008, 10:01 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 2 2008, 11:28 AM)
are you sure it's true?  "HD ready" means it can accept 1080i or 720p signal, doesn't mean it's any megapixel native resolution panel, it could just be WVGA 854x480 wide-SD panel can still be legit to call it HD ready..
HD is 1280x720 or 1920x1080. I did mention 480p. Reason is most BD and HD-DVD disc r in 1080i if not 720p the least.

HD Ready as you said, is 1080i or 720p but the problem here is that most of the LCDs out there that are HD Ready have resolutions of 1366x768 which is not a standard.... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by toyol: Feb 2 2008, 10:07 PM
toyol
post Feb 3 2008, 11:04 PM

37 posts

woot!!! check this out folks.

http://www.engadget.com/photos/samungs-wor...-lcd-tv/571705/

from Samsung. Ultra High Def 3840x2160 drool.gif
toyol
post Feb 3 2008, 11:56 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Feb 3 2008, 11:48 PM)
Imagine using that and play Astro or DVD on it.  doh.gif
shakehead.gif lol
toyol
post Feb 4 2008, 11:47 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(poyo @ Feb 4 2008, 06:39 PM)
Aiyoyoyo...cool down fellas. No need to get angry and worked up over small things like that. I don't think any sellers would want the customers to know the base price mah right? So chill, everybody shake each toehr's hand mah, CNY coming mah.

Anyway, anyone can recommend me nice 32inch LCD tv? I am really a noob. Some ppl say 100hz LCDs is good, some ppl say no need. I've went thru plenty of large shops selling LCDs like Harvey Norman and Best Denki, but they all just show DVDs and not Astro...haihs.

Is Toshiba Regza 32WL68E a good purchase too ( I'm not really that good in electrical items, like everyone else, I always think Sony is the best. Stupid me, looks like for the top end LCD / Plasma, it's always Pioneer and Sharp. )?

What about Sharp Aquos LC32A53M, and LC32BX5M?

Like others, I use for all : Astro, DVD / CD and gaming ( now PS2, later go PS3....GT5 is coming mah!!!!! ).
If you want to check out difference between the Sharp models, you're in luck. smile.gif Went to Midvalley Harvey at lower ground floor and they use blu-ray player to play same BD video on three different Sharp lcds models (via HDMI video splitter). They've got 100Mhz lah vs hd ready vs full hd.

This post has been edited by toyol: Feb 4 2008, 11:49 PM
toyol
post Feb 9 2008, 11:17 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 9 2008, 09:56 AM)
Btw, what is the 'astro enhancement'? Market gimmick? really got effect? don't see much different between Sony and others in Astro programme until now.
Not marketing gimmick. It's just that some LCDs can scale regular TV resolution nicer (hence looks better) than other brands smile.gif

0.0427sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:50 PM