Anyone know about foreign FD?

SUSTOS
post Nov 6 2022, 01:49 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 6 2022, 01:31 PM)
You can try tiger USD mmf. It's one of their recommended funds. I believed run by Fullerton.
Uhm... https://www.fullertonfund.com/investment-fu...ss_currency=USD

If you check the fact sheet for Class A:

The Manager may also invest in non-deposit investments as defined in the Money Market Funds Investment Guidelines.

So DBS still the way to go. tongue.gif

Ramjade
post Nov 6 2022, 02:03 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 6 2022, 01:49 PM)
Uhm... https://www.fullertonfund.com/investment-fu...ss_currency=USD

If you check the fact sheet for Class A:

So DBS still the way to go. tongue.gif
I feel safest is still MMF. FD if you break means no interest.
SUSTOS
post Nov 6 2022, 02:04 PM

8,667 posts

Something relevant too: https://www.wsj.com/articles/money-market-f...share_permalink
SUSTOS
post Nov 6 2022, 02:06 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 6 2022, 02:03 PM)
I feel safest is still MMF. FD if you break means no interest.
Ok, according to my recent study of "risk", we have different views on the meaning of "safest'.

I look at tenure, counterparty, underlying assets etc. You are more concerned with tenure alone.

Perfectly fine. thumbsup.gif
Ramjade
post Nov 6 2022, 02:08 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 6 2022, 02:06 PM)
Ok, according to my recent study of "risk", we have different views on the meaning of "safest'.

I look at tenure, counterparty, underlying assets etc. You are more concerned with tenure alone.

Perfectly fine. :thumbsup:
I am more concern that about to get acess to money anytime I need and still get interest.
SUSTOS
post Nov 6 2022, 02:15 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 6 2022, 02:08 PM)
I am more concern that about to get acess to money anytime I need and still get interest.
I am afraid there in no such convenience bro. tongue.gif 1 market 1 price.

FD is "fixed" money, hence the name. You should look for floating deposits or MMF strictly investing in short-term deposits only.

Ok lah, I think Fullerton USD Class A Cash Fund suits you well, honestly. As long as you got no problem with funds dealing with SG branches of foreign banks.

I personally prefer local SG banks.
Hansel
post Nov 7 2022, 11:22 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 6 2022, 02:08 PM)
Then you will need a Term Deposit that is calculated daily, paid monthly and has a reasonable interest rate to go with, 'reasonable' being at least 2.5% in today's environment. Can be withdrawn anytime,... no need to wait till the beginning of the following mth..
harmonics3
post Nov 7 2022, 12:21 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 7 2022, 11:22 AM)
Then you will need a Term Deposit that is calculated daily, paid monthly and has a reasonable interest rate to go with, 'reasonable' being at least 2.5% in today's environment. Can be withdrawn anytime,... no need to wait till the beginning of the following mth..
That will be good, in Malaysia we have KDI save @ 2.5% p.a. (until year end) with same day deposit/withdrawal (cutoff time at 11am during weekdays). Anything similar in Singapore (especially >2.5% p.a.)?
Ramjade
post Nov 7 2022, 12:47 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Nov 7 2022, 12:21 PM)
That will be good, in Malaysia we have KDI save @ 2.5% p.a. (until year end) with same day deposit/withdrawal (cutoff time at 11am during weekdays).  Anything similar in Singapore (especially >2.5% p.a.)?
It's call their SSB but I think one month withdrawal wait.
SUSTOS
post Nov 7 2022, 07:46 PM

8,667 posts

That will be good, in Malaysia we have KDI save @ 2.5% p.a. (until year end) with same day deposit/withdrawal (cutoff time at 11am during weekdays).  Anything similar in Singapore (especially >2.5% p.a.)?
I have checked with my SG friend, you can also check on HWZ forum for common topics/threads in the Money Mind subforum there.

The reponse from my SG friend is: DBS multipler, OCBC 360, and UOB one, all high yield saving accounts which require you to fulfill conditions (but hacks are possible and loopholes are everywhere, e.g. refund of SSB is considered income (the whole SSB amount, including principal that is), so there's double count here...)

I personally found Singlife account mentioned commonly in HWZ. Singlife is a flexible saving insurance fund which allows instant withdrawal via FAST to your bank account, but the FAQ claims may take up to 3 hours to appear. Daily withdrawal limit is 20k SGD.

https://singlife.com/en/faq/singlife-accoun...and-withdrawals

But the returns are miserable with conditions attached. https://singlife.com/en/singlife-account

Anyway, bro, bear in mind risk free rates in SG and MY are not the same. Please refrain from comparing 2.5% p.a. of KDI Save with SG cash management solution providers. Not only are the benchmark rates different, there is an additional foreign exchange rate factor to consider as well.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 7 2022, 12:47 PM)
It's call their SSB but I think one month withdrawal wait.
Uhm... SSB is a totally different product vs KDI Save. SSBs are government-guaranteed saving bonds. The directly-comparable product in Malaysia is Sukuk Prihatin offerred 2 years ago if you still remember.

KDI Save operates like a money market mutual fund in the backend, like Versa's Affin Hwang Enhanced Deposit Fund. Its direct counterparts in SG include:

1. Stashaway SG Simple
2. Endowus SG Cash Smart
3. Syfe Cash+ (harmonics3 Can consider this, there is quick withdrawal possible within same day and next business day: https://help.syfe.com/hc/en-us/articles/441...-does-it-work-)
4. NTUC's MoneyOwl WiseSaver

And SG brokers offer similar products:

5. Moomoo/Futu SG SmartSave
6. Tiger Broker SG Tiger Vault
7. FSM SG Auto-Sweep Account
8. POEMS SG Smart Park

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 8 2022, 12:13 AM
Ramjade
post Nov 7 2022, 07:57 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 7 2022, 07:46 PM)
Uhm... SSB is a totally different product vs KDI Save. SSB is a government-guaranteed saving bonds. The directly-comparable product in Malaysia is Sukuk Prihatin offerred 2 years ago if you still remember.

KDI Save operates like a money market mutual fund in the backend, like Versa's Affin Hwang Enhanced Deposit Fund. Its direct counterparts in SG include:

1. Stashaway SG Simple
2. Endowus SG Cash Smart
3. Syfe Cash+ (harmonics3 Can consider this, there is quick withdrawal possible within same day and next business day: https://help.syfe.com/hc/en-us/articles/441...-does-it-work-)

And SG brokers offer similar products:

3. Moomoo/Futu SG SmartSave
4. Tiger Broker SG Tiger Vault
5. FSM SG Auto-Sweep Account
6. POEMS SG Smart Park
Yikes I read wrongly. I read like is there anything safe over sg side with capital protection. So not sure why straight think about ssb. Didn't read properly.

Toku
post Nov 8 2022, 11:26 AM

215 posts

Ambank 3mth
USD 4.9%

Maybank 3mth
USD 5.05%

Maybank 6mth
SGD 4.15%

DBS 3mth
USD 4.45%

CIMB SG 6mth
SGD 2.95%

Seems like malaysia banks are more desperate for USD, SGD.
Hansel
post Nov 8 2022, 01:33 PM

9,353 posts

None that I know of in SG, I put into FSM, quite similar offers, but interest paid out at the end of each quarter. Currently rate at 1% p.a.,...

In Australia,... yes,... interest rate soon to reach 3% p.a.,... interest paid out every mth-end.

SSB is different,... I saw Ramjade commenting after your post. SSB releases your funds at the beginning of the following mth..... not immediately.
xander2k8
post Nov 9 2022, 05:07 AM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(Toku @ Nov 8 2022, 11:26 AM)
Ambank 3mth
USD 4.9%

Maybank 3mth
USD 5.05%

Maybank 6mth
SGD 4.15%

DBS 3mth
USD 4.45%

CIMB SG 6mth
SGD 2.95%

Seems like malaysia banks are more desperate for USD, SGD.

No point putting in banks as the FX spread 2% eating off interest by the time of payout 🤦‍♀️

CommodoreAmiga
post Nov 10 2022, 04:19 PM

3,860 posts

Just done an FD for 3.75%@12mths online via CIMB Clicks Singapore.

Comparable to some Malaysia banks now.

Transfered my money via wise, average rate is SGD 1=RM 3.374. Still lower than if i direct transfer from CIMB MY => CIMB SG which is RM 3.4xx

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Nov 10 2022, 04:21 PM
Toku
post Nov 17 2022, 07:18 PM

215 posts

Good news for SGD saver in SG.

DBS 3.8% 5mth FD.
CommodoreAmiga
post Nov 18 2022, 11:18 AM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(Toku @ Nov 17 2022, 07:18 PM)
Good news for SGD saver in SG.

DBS 3.8% 5mth FD.
But we cannot open DBS account easily, can we?
Ramjade
post Nov 18 2022, 01:46 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Nov 18 2022, 11:18 AM)
But we cannot open DBS account easily, can we?
Can. If you are willing to travel. Question is are you willing to fly down there just to open bank account?
CommodoreAmiga
post Nov 18 2022, 02:49 PM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 18 2022, 01:46 PM)
Can. If you are willing to travel. Question is are you willing to fly down there just to open bank account?
No. Lol. CIMB best. Sit at home click click open account, watch Netflix.
CommodoreAmiga
post Nov 18 2022, 06:07 PM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(exwuliao @ Nov 18 2022, 05:18 PM)
wah very interesting.. how can I do this too from MY?
You can read this thread here. Open account in CIMB SG, easiest way is to have a CIMB MY first, then apply CIMB SG account and you can link the SG account to your Malaysian account. Once you have a CIMB SG account, just log in and make eFd like any other Malaysian bank....but honestly, the CIMB SG UI is a bit crap compared to even the Malaysia one....Malaysia boleh!
Kita Boleh!!! laugh.gif
QUOTE(frankliew @ Nov 18 2022, 05:42 PM)
https://www.rhbgroup.com/treasury-rates/mul...osit/index.html

This not bad. Buy sgd for FD 3 month 4.1%.
As mentioned by others there is a spread for FX when you do this with local bank foreign currrency FD, it could really cut deep.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Nov 18 2022, 06:12 PM

53 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:40 AM