126 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V4<<, The Journey Continues Here!

overclockalbert
post Sep 26 2007, 01:36 AM

1,058 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 25 2007, 11:13 PM)
Gratz. Nice PI score. 36s.. Haha! Hm.. Value ram can hit 250mhz speed count not bad already. But just bad thing is cant run on 1:1 divider. Which means, u got high speed but low bandwidth. Hm.. Run prime for atleast 3hrs and see what happening.
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
i need to do correction here.
from the CPU-Z screeny by @sang_karim, he still using 5:4 ratio, which mean that
there is nothing to do with it's so call "value" ram can handle 250Mhz. it was just the Prescott that
handle the 250Mhz.

the value ram was still stuck at 200Mhz, which mean it's running at default/stock speed and timing, and there is no meaning
u "up" the vdimm that high till 2.85V . U can probably do that at 2.6V IMO cos it's still running stock.

*about the dual channel issue, did u always facing this problem? i mean the single/dual channel problem always happened
when u switch your ram? can u post the real picture of the ram slot and the position u install them. more EZ for us to know the
problem . there is also possible that the gold plate contact of your ram was contaminated or dirty. try to rub it (pls be gentle)
with a rubber eraser to clean it. as for the ram slot, u can't do much about that, but just go get any contact cleaner (pressure type
with IPA/alcohol content) which can aid in the contact cleaning.

for your prescott OC, 1.475V set for Vcore, how was the temp recorded when u stress your system? do u facing only 50% CPU load
when running stress test eg. prime95 or sp2004? try to check with ctrl+alt+del , check the task manager -> performance to see weather the CPU is 100% loaded or not.

my advice, try to stick with 5:4 ratio, relax your ram timing till 3-4-4-8-1T at 2.8V
and start to up the fsb from 251Mhz. maybe u need to burn-in your CPU in order for it to run much higher.Please look after the
northbridge cooling as well. (what chipset cooler that u used to cool the northbridge????????) it was an important cooler for P4 prescott OC setup with high FSB freq.

just try that for few night and get over to 253Mhz, 255Mhz.....who know u can get it till 260Mhz.

rclxms.gif

happy OC-ing

rgds,
Albert

sang_karim
post Sep 26 2007, 08:14 AM

:: sάής ЌάЯΐм ::
1,557 posts

QUOTE(overclockalbert @ Sep 26 2007, 01:36 AM)
*about the dual channel issue, did u always facing this problem? i mean the single/dual channel problem always happened
when u switch your ram? can u post the real picture of the ram slot and the position u install them. more EZ for us to know the
problem . there is also possible that the gold plate contact of your ram was contaminated or dirty. try to rub it (pls be gentle)
with a rubber eraser to clean it. as for the ram slot, u can't do much about that, but just go get any contact cleaner (pressure type
with IPA/alcohol content) which can aid in the contact cleaning.
i'm facing that when installing ST400 last week ... i took off all the cables, ram, hard disk, dvd rom and have too loosen the top part of my casing to place the psu in there .. i don't want to reattach my heatsink again so i leave it there ... so when i'm put back the item to their place ... (ram at blue slot 1 & 3) .. my monitor showing blank with the power led turn yellow ... after change ti slot 1&2 in can display .. that y i thought the ram slot got problem ... but now i'm back to dual channel again .. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(overclockalbert @ Sep 26 2007, 01:36 AM)

for your prescott OC, 1.475V set for Vcore, how was the temp recorded when u stress your system? do u facing only 50% CPU load
when running stress test eg. prime95 or sp2004? try to check with ctrl+alt+del , check the task manager -> performance to see weather the CPU is 100% loaded or not.

my advice, try to stick with 5:4 ratio, relax your ram timing till 3-4-4-8-1T at 2.8V
and start to up the fsb from 251Mhz. maybe u need to burn-in your CPU in order for it to run much higher.Please look after the
northbridge cooling as well.  (what chipset cooler that u used to cool the northbridge????????) it was an important cooler for P4 prescott OC setup with high FSB freq.

just try that for few night and get over to 253Mhz, 255Mhz.....who know u can get it till 260Mhz.

rclxms.gif
i'm still not running prime test yet .. last nite just try with 1:1 divider but last try at FSB 215MHz .. windows reboot ..
try with 5:4 divider with FSB=255MHz & 254MHz .. windows stuck ... i think it oredi hit the wall ... so i'm only able to get high cpu speed with stock bandwidth only at FSB=250MHz but still not running prime test .. sweat.gif ... northbridge just using stock heatsink ... is that ok? unsure.gif

kabukiawie
post Sep 26 2007, 08:54 AM

2,039 posts

hmm.....like albert said, your ram still running at stock speed. so just set the default timing for your ram and lower the vdimm. Congrates that you manage to get 36s. soooo sweet. drool.gif

try test the nb sink with your finger or get speedfan/mbm5 to check the nb temp. if too hot then it may hold you back.
sang_karim
post Sep 26 2007, 09:11 AM

1,557 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 26 2007, 08:54 AM)
hmm.....like albert said, your ram still running at stock speed. so just set the default timing for your ram and lower the vdimm. Congrates that you manage to get 36s. soooo sweet. drool.gif

try test the nb sink with your finger or get speedfan/mbm5 to check the nb temp. if too hot then it may hold you back.
but still not run stability test yet la bro ... is it ok running at 3.75GHz with stock ram speed? if it not stable .. i might be running the ram lower than 200MHz ... that what i don't want to see ... sweat.gif
kabukiawie
post Sep 26 2007, 09:18 AM

2,039 posts

running prescott at 1.5v shouldnt be a big problem, but make sure that the power is stable wont fluctuated. keep an eye on cpu and nb temp. if nb temp too high beter find a cooling solution to cool it down.

overheat nb will cause instability FYI. i personally wont recommended nb temp exceed 50C. tongue.gif
fylon
post Sep 26 2007, 09:37 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@albert

Opss.. blush.gif Sorry! Forgot about sang_karim was running on 5:4 ratio which means his ram was clocked at 133mhz before he start clocking. (correct me if im wrong). Thus running on 3.75Ghz was the proc itself yet not the ram. nless he was running 1:1 ratio then the ram and proc was on par.

@sang

Since when become so hardcore? Haha! But anyways, good to see ur having a good result here. 1:1 ratio at 215fsb has rebooted u? sweat.gif Pity.. Seems like u better keep track at 5:4 in order to hit high speed!
sang_karim
post Sep 26 2007, 09:48 AM

1,557 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 26 2007, 09:37 AM)
@sang

Since when become so hardcore? Haha! But anyways, good to see ur having a good result here. 1:1 ratio at 215fsb has rebooted u? sweat.gif Pity.. Seems like u better keep track at 5:4 in order to hit high speed!
no hardcore la ... laugh.gif just enjoying my first time oc experience ... hehe ... gotta stick with 5:4 divider and test for stability later ... hope that 3.75GHz oredi stable and can maintain the stock ram speed at 200MHz .. sweat.gif
TSraymond5105
post Sep 26 2007, 10:12 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 26 2007, 09:18 AM)
running prescott at 1.5v shouldnt be a big problem, but make sure that the power is stable wont fluctuated. keep an eye on cpu and nb temp. if nb temp too high beter find a cooling solution to cool it down.

overheat nb will cause instability FYI. i personally wont recommended nb temp exceed 50C. tongue.gif
50 degree C is very hot already on the nb.Better not to do so.

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 26 2007, 09:37 AM)
@albert

Opss.. blush.gif Sorry! Forgot about sang_karim was running on 5:4 ratio which means his ram was clocked at 133mhz before he start clocking. (correct me if im wrong). Thus running on 3.75Ghz was the proc itself yet not the ram. nless he was running 1:1 ratio then the ram and proc was on par.

@sang

Ya loh,i also see he becomes very hardcore on o/c already. biggrin.gif 5:4 is better running on 3:2 . sweat.gif
kabukiawie
post Sep 26 2007, 10:48 AM

2,039 posts

he got the right tools la, when got the mood then just change into hardcore ocer. thumbup.gif 5:4 still not bad la. superpi 1m at 36s for p4 is quite fast already. never ever use 3:2 unless you want to go for extreme cooling and push >300fsb tongue.gif

sang_karim
post Sep 26 2007, 10:54 AM

1,557 posts

hehe ... ok la for beginner like me ... next time if got high performance ram can go for 1:1 divider laugh.gif .. kabu, u r using 1:1 or 5:4 divider?
kabukiawie
post Sep 26 2007, 11:08 AM

2,039 posts

5:4, 1:1 not better than yours. max for 1:1 is 220fsb. 5:4 still can get 240fsb. after testing both, 240fbs @5:4 perform better. tongue.gif
fylon
post Sep 26 2007, 11:17 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 26 2007, 11:08 AM)
5:4, 1:1 not better than yours. max for 1:1 is 220fsb. 5:4 still can get 240fsb. after testing both, 240fbs @5:4 perform better. tongue.gif
Lol.. Hm.. Just wander.. 1:1 lousier then 5:4? Hahah.. Cos mind 1:1 PI only 38s something only. At the same speed as sang. hmm.gif 5:4 low bandwidth but better speed? brows.gif Gona try this out next week when got my PSU.
sang_karim
post Sep 26 2007, 11:23 AM

1,557 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 26 2007, 11:17 AM)
Lol.. Hm.. Just wander.. 1:1 lousier then 5:4? Hahah.. Cos mind 1:1 PI only 38s something only. At the same speed as sang. hmm.gif 5:4 low bandwidth but better speed? brows.gif Gona try this out next week when got my PSU.
you gonna get ur psu next week?? gud news bro rclxms.gif .. wanna see ur xms in action ... after this can oc more kaw-kaw aa ... brows.gif
fylon
post Sep 26 2007, 11:27 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Haha.. The PSU was in front of me now. Ordered liao. Just need $$ to bring it home! laugh.gif
kabukiawie
post Sep 26 2007, 11:31 AM

2,039 posts

no to say 1:1 not good, as my ram cant keep up sync with fsb, so with 5:4 i manage to push more. 1:1 max only 220, 5:4 max 240, tested both 5:4 serve me better. i dont have good ram and mobo, so just play divider lo. what to do......haiz...
fylon
post Sep 26 2007, 11:37 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Lol.. Was just wander due to compare my pi score with sang. 1:1 ratio give me the fastest is 38s. But sang run at 5:4 can hit 36s. @ same speed thou.

This post has been edited by fylon: Sep 26 2007, 11:39 AM
sang_karim
post Sep 26 2007, 11:41 AM

1,557 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 26 2007, 11:37 AM)
Lol.. Was just wander due to compare my pi score with sang. 1:1 ratio give me the fastest is 38s with 1:1 ratio. But sang run at 5:4 can hit 36s. @ same speed thou.
maybe the superpi got rclxub.gif .. will run another test tonite to see any difference or not .. hehe ... icon_rolleyes.gif
busta_dude
post Sep 26 2007, 11:47 AM

302 posts

Register me in the list also

P4 3.2GHz HT 512/800 FSB @ stock - ASUS P4P800-X - XFX 7800GS EE @ 700/1400
sang_karim
post Sep 26 2007, 12:10 PM

1,557 posts

QUOTE(busta_dude @ Sep 26 2007, 11:47 AM)
Register me in the list also

P4 3.2GHz HT 512/800 FSB @ stock - ASUS P4P800-X - XFX 7800GS EE @ 700/1400
Welkam to da club ... enjoy ur stay here .. rclxms.gif
fylon
post Sep 26 2007, 12:17 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Lol.. Welcome busta_dude! laugh.gif

@sang
Reading error perhaps? brows.gif Like that time kabu 9550 GC 3D mark reading id more then 10k!~ Nways, is really a sweet speed for 1m @ 36s!

126 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:12 PM