126 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V4<<, The Journey Continues Here!

fylon
post Sep 25 2007, 10:49 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(overclockalbert @ Sep 25 2007, 02:47 AM)
as for the DDR booster, try to search in the OCZ forum about how to used it. it only support certain
mobo to hit 3.9V. not all mobo can be tune to that high of vdimm.
the vdimm can be set till 3.9V was due to the DDR booster draw the 5V from PSU. so theorically, u can tune it till
5V max(theory only) but heck, who cares about that. u can fly high with BH5 chip even with 3.4V if u get the good chip.

anyway, fylon, did u confirm that yr xms was using the famous BH5 chipset?
rgds,
Albert.
Ic.. Yea! I just wander how the ddr booster works actually. Due read from the website claim that user can fully adjust the vidimm as they wish. Haha.. Anyways, my xms havent arrived yet so i duno whats the chipset will it using. Actually get that ram is not for mainly for oc purpose. But just to cut the my ram stick from 4 stick to 2stick. laugh.gif For me, can get 3v for vidimm wil be enough for already.

As if im not mistaken, from the picture of the ram i found that it was xms v5.1, might be using Vitelic 5ns chip.

@sang
As albert says before, P4 system prefer loosen timing then tight. Dont get too tight for ya ram. laugh.gif But anyways, is glad to see ur high such high speed. Wait i got my psu back to live. brows.gif:

sang_karim
post Sep 25 2007, 11:58 AM

:: sάής ЌάЯΐм ::
1,557 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 25 2007, 10:49 AM)
@sang
As albert says before, P4 system prefer loosen timing then tight. Dont get too tight for ya ram. laugh.gif But anyways, is glad to see ur high such high speed. Wait i got my psu back to live. brows.gif:
owh...so our P4 prefer loosen timing that tight timing aaa?? but tight timing give faster ram speed rite?? why do we need loosen timing .. can someone explain to me? sweat.gif
fylon
post Sep 25 2007, 12:05 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Yea. Loosen timing give better response time. But somehow, tight timing were limiting u to reach high speed. As for my rigs, i need to loosen my ram to the loosen timing in order to reach 3.75Gh with 1:1 ratio.
sang_karim
post Sep 25 2007, 12:14 PM

1,557 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 25 2007, 12:05 PM)
Yea. Loosen timing give better response time. But somehow, tight timing were limiting u to reach high speed. As for my rigs, i need to loosen my ram to the loosen timing in order to reach 3.75Gh with 1:1 ratio.
owh..like that ... tight timing will limit the ram to reach higher fsb ... so if wanna test for super pi better choose tight timing and if wanna go for higher fsb with 1:1 divider must go for loosen timing ... well, i'm learning something today bout tweaking ram ... hehe ... tq bro .. notworthy.gif
fylon
post Sep 25 2007, 12:28 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Haha.. Anyways, IMO all those benchmark score wasnt means anything. Just a guide to tell u about hows ur rigs performance. As the score is different everytime u run it.
TSraymond5105
post Sep 25 2007, 12:39 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(sang_karim @ Sep 25 2007, 12:06 AM)
some update ... hehe .. superpi much faster using 3 3 3 8 setting ..

@overclockalbert
still don't run prime test yet ... maybe will try tomorrow la ... sleepy oredi ... need to bangun sahur later early in the morning ... cooling just using Thermalright SI120 as siggy ... oredi close side panel ... hehe ... 2 x 80mm fan at rear for exhaust , 1 x 80mm intake fan at side panel, another 80mm intake fan at front and open 1 bay cdrom cover for air to come in ... no air cond here ... oredi set vcore at 1.475v and will try priming for stability tomorrow ... hehe ... really satisfy with tonite job and thank to ur guys for ur guide ... next job is to find the sweet spot for my rig .. hehe ...  rclxms.gif
Well done man,nice result.Updated ! smile.gif
kabukiawie
post Sep 25 2007, 01:40 PM

2,039 posts

tight timing still having its advantages la. just for 478 it does not gain more than amd in tight timing. so its recommended to get higher fsb and in order to get high, loosen timing is the way to go. smile.gif

i think its better than you push your rig with the loose timing to find the max speed then once it hit the wall, start tighten up timing to squeeze few more juice. correct me if i am wrong. tongue.gif
sang_karim
post Sep 25 2007, 02:10 PM

1,557 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 25 2007, 01:40 PM)
tight timing still having its advantages la. just for 478 it does not gain more than amd in tight timing. so its recommended to get higher fsb and in order to get high, loosen timing is the way to go. smile.gif

i think its better than you push your rig with the loose timing to find the max speed then once it hit the wall, start tighten up timing to squeeze few more juice. correct me if i am wrong. tongue.gif
yeah...i think i'll go find the highest speed for my cpu first ... brows.gif .. after that will try to get the sweet spot and run prime95 for stability ... still much work to do ... sweat.gif
TSraymond5105
post Sep 25 2007, 03:56 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(sang_karim @ Sep 25 2007, 02:10 PM)
yeah...i think i'll go find the highest speed for my cpu first ...  brows.gif .. after that will try to get the sweet spot and run prime95 for stability ... still much work to do ...  sweat.gif
hehe,3.75GHz still nt enough?Really plan to break record?
kabukiawie
post Sep 25 2007, 04:08 PM

2,039 posts

now he is neck to neck with sylon liao....wanna fight who is gonna be the 1st 1 break 4ghz wall. laugh.gif
sang_karim
post Sep 25 2007, 04:18 PM

1,557 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 25 2007, 04:08 PM)
now he is neck to neck with sylon liao....wanna fight who is gonna be the 1st 1 break 4ghz wall. laugh.gif
no la ... don't say like that ... i'm nothing compare to him ... sweat.gif ... just wanna know the highest speed my cpu can goes g4 hitting the wall ... who knows it can reach 4GHz .... laugh.gif
fylon
post Sep 25 2007, 04:25 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Haha.. Well well.. Im just handy itchy with o/c now. tempting me.. Just dam got not enough $$ for PSU. Gota wait until this sat then can get it. brows.gif
TSraymond5105
post Sep 25 2007, 04:41 PM

5,341 posts

Hehe,neck to neck fighting?4GHz on air cooling is really tempting. :hehe:prescott core has more potential to reach 4GHz..
fylon
post Sep 25 2007, 04:57 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Haha.. Cannot yet! My cooling is only left 50% life now. Dont have the potential to get 4G with air cooled.. Plan to sell off my Hyper6+.. Hehe!
kabukiawie
post Sep 25 2007, 05:02 PM

2,039 posts

ngiahaha....raymond, we just sit back and enjoy the show. laugh.gif
TSraymond5105
post Sep 25 2007, 06:36 PM

5,341 posts

Hehe,waiting to watch show man.Hope good show comes up.
fylon
post Sep 25 2007, 06:38 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Lol.. Just got my ram! Confirmed is was using Vitelic 5ns chip.. laugh.gif Waiting for PSU only right now.. By then, was running dual channel for 1.5G of ram. Not bad. biggrin.gif

brows.gif
sang_karim
post Sep 25 2007, 10:00 PM

1,557 posts

haha .. i geuss my value ram can't cope with 1:1 divider ... try to set the fsb at 220 only and stuck at bios logo screen ... need to clear cmos to boot .. sweat.gif i geuss can only try with 5:4 divider only ... try up the fsb to 255MHz but stuck when loading windows ... reduce to 254MHz give the same result .. that was with vcore=1.475V and vdimm=2.85V .. i geuss oredi hit the wall la ... sweat.gif ... gud news is i can run on dual channel again ... thanks goodness the ram slot is ok ... and playing with super pi again came out with this result ...

still not run prime95 for stability test ... wink.gif
fylon
post Sep 25 2007, 10:13 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Gratz. Nice PI score. 36s.. Haha! Hm.. Value ram can hit 250mhz speed count not bad already. But just bad thing is cant run on 1:1 divider. Which means, u got high speed but low bandwidth. Hm.. Run prime for atleast 3hrs and see what happening.

This post has been edited by fylon: Sep 25 2007, 10:14 PM
TSraymond5105
post Sep 25 2007, 11:00 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(sang_karim @ Sep 25 2007, 10:00 PM)
haha .. i geuss my value ram can't cope with 1:1 divider ... try to set the fsb at 220 only and stuck at bios logo screen ... need to clear cmos to boot ..  sweat.gif i geuss can only try with 5:4 divider only ... try up the fsb to 255MHz but stuck when loading windows ... reduce to 254MHz give the same result .. that was with vcore=1.475V and vdimm=2.85V .. i geuss oredi hit the wall la ...  sweat.gif ... gud news is i can run on dual channel again ... thanks goodness the ram slot is ok ... and playing with super pi again came out with this result ...

still not run prime95 for stability test ...  wink.gif
tongue.gif 36.937s ...updated the result again on page one..congratulations... brows.gif

126 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:11 AM