Hardware Hackintosh Thread, The Official OSX86 Thread

SUSMatrix
post Jul 3 2008, 09:09 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(CPURanger @ Jul 2 2008, 10:06 PM)
Congrats !

Apple endorse Intel CPUs, Mac OS X is optimize with Intel code. I read somewhere in Hackintosh website, some Intel instructions are emulated in hakintosh OS for AMD CPU. That's why Mac OS X does not work well with AMD.

I think I am going for Retail Leopard DVD Install (read above thread) when I have free time.
Err...congrats for what...my CI/QE still not working... sad.gif

I've re-install and tried Nvinstaller .42 ( I realized now .52 is for 10.5.3, .42 is for 10.5.1 & 10.5.2) but it still nuked my mac with kernel panic and hangs.

I really want my lappy to run in native resolution. sad.gif

I've re-installed Leo4All 3rd time...this time i use Acronis to backup the Leo4All installed image first...restoring from Acronis is much faster than wasting another 1.5 hours for the installation....at least it's much faster than Kalyway...2.5 hours at least.. doh.gif

But everything else seems to work, sound, ethernet and even the airport (which doesn't seems very stable and it hangs before when i do scanning...no time to test throughly yet).

But the boot time is...Zzzzz...so s-l-o-w....i think this is due to the hacked kernel and patches. Booting on my dekstop with the IATKOS installation also very slow, until i update with the official 10.5.3, the boot time suddenly became super fast!! I guess it's always best to run with vanilla kernel whenever possible.

btw, how do you check which kernel is currently running?

Added on July 3, 2008, 9:13 am
QUOTE(mcvalue @ Jul 2 2008, 10:59 PM)
okie, it hags at IOAPC: VERSION 0X20 VECTORS 64:87,SO, HOW TO DEAL WITH THIS?

Added on July 2, 2008, 10:59 pmoops, salah tekan caps lock lar.~~ sorry...

Added on July 2, 2008, 11:09 pmalrite, now i reboot and run -v again,  it stated my IOPCcardBridge start failed, then straight go in installer, coz my dvd is inside.
Why don't you take out your DVD and reboot?

Follow on screen instructions, i think press Enter, then do a -v and see what happens. Leave it running for 15 minutes at least...boot up time can be VERY SLOW.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 3 2008, 09:13 AM
mcvalue
post Jul 3 2008, 09:35 AM

38 posts

nth happens ler bro, i put whole night edy, still stuck at there
SUSMatrix
post Jul 3 2008, 09:39 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(mcvalue @ Jul 3 2008, 09:35 AM)
nth happens ler bro, i put whole night edy, still stuck at there
Then it's time to try Leo4Allv3 already. biggrin.gif
mcvalue
post Jul 3 2008, 09:57 AM

38 posts

hmm, alrite, im downloading, but its so slow sad.gif

Added on July 3, 2008, 9:59 amaha, once finish download and install, ill be right back smile.gif

This post has been edited by mcvalue: Jul 3 2008, 09:59 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 3 2008, 02:39 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Hhmmm

Looks like i will not be able to QE/CI support for my 6100 GPU coz the drivers simply don't support GPU with shared RAM...

http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?showtopic=102006

No need to keep banging my head against the wall...

There's an old driver called Macvidia which supposely can at least give different resolutions.

I'll try going that way now.
myee
post Jul 3 2008, 07:42 PM

>>>>>SAMA Inside<<<<<
1,157 posts

sorry for the short-cut....by referring my siggy....is my rig can use hackintosh(leopard)...mod very sorry if i type in wrong section...
TSprasys
post Jul 3 2008, 09:14 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

DIY , test it yourself. If it works , it will. Hackintoshses supports a lot of updates

just updated mine to OSX 10.5.4 and it went smooth !
CPURanger
post Jul 3 2008, 09:54 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 3 2008, 09:09 AM)
But the boot time is...Zzzzz...so s-l-o-w....i think this is due to the hacked kernel and patches. Booting on my dekstop with the IATKOS installation also very slow, until i update with the official 10.5.3, the boot time suddenly became super fast!! I guess it's always best to run with vanilla kernel whenever possible.

btw, how do you check which kernel is currently running?
I am not sure myself, perhaps uname -a ?

=======================

Just tested iPhone sync to my hackintosh, it works ! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by CPURanger: Jul 3 2008, 09:56 PM
myee
post Jul 3 2008, 10:35 PM

>>>>>SAMA Inside<<<<<
1,157 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jul 3 2008, 09:14 PM)
DIY , test it yourself. If it works , it will. Hackintoshses supports a lot of updates

how about OSX 10.5.2 is it the compitable version....might wanna triple dual boot....xp3, vista ultimate and this one....
vailance
post Jul 4 2008, 12:07 AM

wat??
841 posts

to save alot of hassles.. each os on its own hdd, install leopard on mbr partition .. done deal. i use vista boot pro to add the entry to my vista bootloader.

This post has been edited by vailance: Jul 4 2008, 12:07 AM
CPURanger
post Jul 4 2008, 01:09 PM

889 posts

Yeah better get another hard disk for hackintosh. You will be reformat and reinstall many times.

SUSMatrix
post Jul 4 2008, 02:26 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

I think I surrender with installing on the lappy already. I've tested it install ok, then i restore the boot disk to my WinXP partition. Bootloader using EasyBCD works, then reboot to Hackintosh...it hangs....

I think it's time to change my laptop to an Intel wan...and get a lappy with dedicated VRAM instead of shared RAM.

Added on July 4, 2008, 2:28 pm
QUOTE(myee @ Jul 3 2008, 10:35 PM)
how about OSX 10.5.2 is it the compitable version....might wanna triple dual boot....xp3, vista ultimate and this one....
Triple booting is not a problem. I quad boot my desktop. If you're running on Intel, i suggest you use the IATKOS 1.0ir2 version. Can install kernel and do updates using Apple official combo update with just a little work.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 4 2008, 02:30 PM
TSprasys
post Jul 4 2008, 02:33 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 4 2008, 02:26 PM)
I think I surrender with installing on the lappy already. I've tested it install ok, then i restore the boot disk to my WinXP partition. Bootloader using EasyBCD works, then reboot to Hackintosh...it hangs....

I think it's time to change my laptop to an Intel wan...and get a lappy with dedicated VRAM instead of shared RAM.

Added on July 4, 2008, 2:28 pm

Triple booting is not a problem. I quad boot my desktop. If you're running on Intel, i suggest you use the IATKOS 1.0ir2 version. Can install kernel and do updates using Apple official combo update with just a little work.
Rather get a Mac. Just wait for the prices to drop
SUSMatrix
post Jul 4 2008, 03:55 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jul 4 2008, 02:33 PM)
Rather get a Mac. Just wait for the prices to drop
ha..ha, true also. Cheapest Macbook now is around RM4,199 is it? But the specs are pretty low... cry.gif
vailance
post Jul 4 2008, 05:44 PM

wat??
841 posts

wait apple drop price? soon will lik G4 now , snow leopard dropping support powerPC.. unless u stick to 10.5 or tiger okla.

get an laptop with intel cpu with sse3 and a gma950 at least u can hav a QE/CI working. if u can get a Core series cpu then vanila kernal shouldnt be a prob..
ngpeng
post Jul 4 2008, 06:45 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jul 3 2008, 09:14 PM)

I'm running a hackintosh with a Core 2 Duo processor using the vanilla kernel. Software Update to OS X 10.5.4 went smoothly for me too.
CPURanger
post Jul 4 2008, 10:10 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(vailance @ Jul 4 2008, 05:44 PM)
wait apple drop price? soon will lik G4 now , snow leopard dropping support powerPC.. unless u stick to 10.5 or tiger okla.

get an laptop with intel cpu with sse3 and a gma950 at least u can hav a QE/CI working. if u can get a Core series cpu then vanila kernal shouldnt be a prob..
Mac price is dropping, the price is much lower for the last few Mac generations. I remember iMac G5 costs more than RM5K, today latest iMac Intel costs RM4299. Having gone through Mac OS 10.0 to 10.5, I am not too worry about snow leopard. Just buy what you need today, be it Mac or PC eventually will be obsolete one day. Even if snow leopard can install on G4, I doubt I want to use it, it may be too slow. My office's power mac dual g4 (2 ghz) is just enough to run leopard.

I just wish Apple have iMacs with better 3D graphic card that does not cost a bomb.

jiant
post Jul 4 2008, 11:25 PM

1,785 posts

any body try install Zephyroth 10.5.2 AMD EFI Rev.1 on AMD PC?is it the Onboard LAN (ethernet)working?
also
what the different with Zephyroth 10.5.2 AMD EFI Rev.2?
and what dic u use?DVD-R,DVD+R or DVD-RAM?

This post has been edited by jiant: Jul 5 2008, 08:48 AM
RiCHBoyZ
post Jul 5 2008, 01:48 AM

1,560 posts

today i successfully installed Mac OSX kalyway 10.5.2 dualboot with winxp sp3...

i did 3 partition on my 80GB sata hdd:

30GB: NTFS (Win XP set to primary=active)
30BG: Fat32 set to primary
14.4GB: Fat32 set to logical

I installed winxp first once done i installed Kalyway Mac OSX 10.5.2.....after restart/reboot.....hey-hey......i got boot menu automatically...i can choose to boot Win Xp or Mac OSX!!!!

......BUT.... when i wanted to upgrade/update to 10.5.4 it hang@ kernel panic situation. Alway said " You need to restart your computer. Hold down the power button for several seconds or press the restart button"

Also need help for Attansic L1 gigalan driver for mac osx. I hope our dear cifu here can help me.Thanks

Myspec"

c2d 1.86Ghz (6320)
Asus P5K
2GB ram
n8600GT 256mb
sata dvdrw, hdds (3)
vailance
post Jul 5 2008, 02:11 AM

wat??
841 posts

QUOTE(RiCHBoyZ @ Jul 5 2008, 01:48 AM)
today i successfully installed Mac OSX kalyway 10.5.2 dualboot with winxp sp3...

i did 3 partition on my 80GB sata hdd:

30GB: NTFS (Win XP set to primary=active)
30BG: Fat32 set to primary
14.4GB: Fat32 set to logical

I installed winxp first once done i installed Kalyway Mac OSX 10.5.2.....after restart/reboot.....hey-hey......i got boot menu automatically...i can choose to boot Win Xp or Mac OSX!!!!

......BUT.... when i wanted to upgrade/update to 10.5.4 it hang@ kernel panic situation. Alway said " You need to restart your computer. Hold down the power button for several seconds or press the restart button"

Also need help for Attansic L1 gigalan driver for mac osx. I hope our dear cifu here can help me.Thanks

Myspec"

c2d 1.86Ghz (6320)
Asus P5K
2GB ram
n8600GT 256mb
sata dvdrw, hdds (3)
after u upgrade to 10.5.4 make sure u dun reboot and replace back ur old kernal and fix permission. if u using vanila kernal shouldnt be a prob u straight restart. guess u gotta reinstall again ..i hav no other idea. for u lan google "attansic lan insanelymac" seeu got any result if not maybe u can check those lan cards compatible with leopard at wiki.osx86project.org

159 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:35 PM