Hardware Hackintosh Thread, The Official OSX86 Thread
n8210
Jun 29 2011, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(hamswat @ Jun 29 2011, 01:49 PM) ok.thank you very much. btw, can i use the mac os x which i have downloaded ? i've accidentally downloaded snow leopard 10.6.3 but its ok right ? Coz i can update to newer version later on.. Please buy original SL cd.
wiraone
Jun 29 2011, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(skitZo` @ Jun 29 2011, 09:21 PM) Shld work with JMicron36xeSata...kext in Extra. Wiraone: Your esata works? hotswappable? I don't have esata, so no idea if it works or not .. Added on June 29, 2011, 11:05 pmQUOTE(hamswat @ Jun 29 2011, 09:40 PM) [attachmentid=2303356] Guys, can help me out ? im getting this everytime i boot using iboot.. please help. Try AndyCD method if you can't get the iboot to install the SL. http://www.mediafire.com/?bjf5a8gemiuc2p8Guide can be found here: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=252849This post has been edited by wiraone: Jun 29 2011, 11:10 PM
skitZo`
Jun 29 2011, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(wiraone @ Jun 29 2011, 11:01 PM) I don't have esata, so no idea if it works or not ..
Does your eSata controller being detected in system profiler or it shows as unkown? cheers! This post has been edited by skitZo`: Jun 29 2011, 11:35 PM
wiraone
Jun 30 2011, 06:58 AM
Without any extensions in /Extra other than for the audio and FakeSMC, all my SATA devices are detected as "Unknown AHCI Standard Controller". This is on 10.6.8 running latest kernel 10.8.
hamswat
Jun 30 2011, 10:04 AM
Looks like my downloaded mac os x doesn't work. @n8210 ! you were right ! Anybody knows where can i get the original disc for a cheap price ?
aaronlim18
Jun 30 2011, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(n8210 @ Jun 29 2011, 10:06 PM) Please buy original SL cd. yeah buy original better, at least all the installer packages is in
wiraone
Jun 30 2011, 05:09 PM
Lion is around the corner, might as well wait for it. I've no idea if it will be available on separate download or will it need a Mac to download it.
hamswat
Jul 5 2011, 10:47 PM
Hi, my search for mac os x snow leopard has failed as none of the dealers are having it.. All sold out dy..
My question is, can i use MAC OS X 10.3 ?
I know mac os x lion is around the corner and i might as well buy that.. but, i'm a bit tight on budget.. Planning to buy os x lion later.. but,i wanna try 10.3 and upgrade to 10.6. Can or not ?
wiraone
Jul 6 2011, 07:44 AM
10.3 = Panther .. no idea if it will support your hardware.
izzi_guy
Jul 13 2011, 11:41 AM
i think u can buy from ebay..cheap as well
Chyan
Jul 14 2011, 02:07 AM
Any idea on installing OSX on a 2nd Gen Intel equipped laptop?
Virtual PC & dualboot.
wiraone
Jul 14 2011, 06:46 AM
QUOTE(Chyan @ Jul 14 2011, 02:07 AM) Any idea on installing OSX on a 2nd Gen Intel equipped laptop? Virtual PC & dualboot. If you're going for VM way, wait for Lion, it should be available hopefully from today. SL license doesn't allow you to run it under VM unless if you've the server license.
Cold|Drawn
Jul 15 2011, 12:05 AM
Hi all, I was recommended by DarkNite to this topic,
anyway, this is the build I have in mind,
i5-2500k RM639 Gigabyte H67M-D2-B3 RM279 KVR 4GBx1 RM94 Samsung F3 500GB RM119 LiteOn DVDRW RM60 Sapphire 6670 RM309 FSP Hexa 500w RM159 / Gigabyte GT Odin 550W - RM169 CM 341 MATX RM110.
I'm almost certain that this build is compatible with MacOS,
nonetheless, more opinions would be preferred.
Should I stick with the H67 board, so should I go for the Z68?
What are the blatant benefits of Z68 boards?
wiraone
Jul 15 2011, 08:46 AM
@Cold|Drawn, everything else seems to be fine except the 6670 which is not supported in SL, no idea in Lion tho'.
Cold|Drawn
Jul 15 2011, 09:22 AM
oh, that's odd. Because I was referring to tonymacx86's blog http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/search/label/CustoMacBtw, Wiraone should I go for z68 board?
wiraone
Jul 15 2011, 09:40 AM
@cold|drawn, If you search for 6670, some has got it to work by flashing the ROM using the 5770 ROM. Some successfully use it after fiddling with the extension, I believe this is not the way going forward. Why not go for 5770 and avoid all the hassle. On the motherboard, I couldn't give much opinion on it. Z68 is actually an H67 with overclocking ability. Since you're thinking of overclocking (by choosing i5/2500K), H67 is not meant for you really. For overclocking, go for either P67 or Z68 .. and I believe you got the answer already  Added on July 15, 2011, 9:46 amOh, as always .. Gigabyte motherboards seem a bit friendly if you want to go hackintosh way. I still couldn't find a DSDT file that I could use for my Asus to enable speedstep & sleep. This post has been edited by wiraone: Jul 15 2011, 09:46 AM
JasLyn
Jul 15 2011, 12:36 PM
I was running 10.6.6 and have no problem playing movie thru Quicktime X.... Updated to 10.6.8, still have no problem... installed FCPx, i can still run Quicktime and import vid .MOV to FCPX... however, after doing some update on general and pro-apps (software update), QuicktimeX wont play any file anymore... not even its own .MOV... It crash and ask to reopen... Importing .MOV file to FCPx also caused same crash... why in the hell it happened? FYI, the gpu is GT240 with fully enabled QE/CI.... Is it just me?
shiwamoto
Jul 15 2011, 01:02 PM

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jul 15 2011, 09:40 AM) @cold|drawn, If you search for 6670, some has got it to work by flashing the ROM using the 5770 ROM. Some successfully use it after fiddling with the extension, I believe this is not the way going forward. Why not go for 5770 and avoid all the hassle. On the motherboard, I couldn't give much opinion on it. Z68 is actually an H67 with overclocking ability. Since you're thinking of overclocking (by choosing i5/2500K), H67 is not meant for you really. For overclocking, go for either P67 or Z68 .. and I believe you got the answer already  Added on July 15, 2011, 9:46 amOh, as always .. Gigabyte motherboards seem a bit friendly if you want to go hackintosh way. I still couldn't find a DSDT file that I could use for my Asus to enable speedstep & sleep. Dear wiraone, So what is your recommendations specs for SL v10.6.3? Please help me... thanks.
wiraone
Jul 15 2011, 02:23 PM
As per request from David, I've created a new thread and this will be be closed. Please go to this thread to continue our discussion: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1958612
davidgary73
Jul 15 2011, 02:25 PM
Music Producer
Thread Closure
Thread post has reached 2500+ post and thank you wiraone for making the new thread.
Cheers