Hardware Hackintosh Thread, The Official OSX86 Thread

CPURanger
post Jun 12 2008, 11:22 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 12 2008, 09:31 PM)
Woo! Hooo!!!

Finally made the installation works!!! Really dunno what happened. I think i've must unchecked one more option, something related to speedstep? And the keyboard works!

Mind telling your PC details (CPU, motherboard, Graphic Card, etc.) ?

I want to build a Hackintosh PC, currently looking for suitable hardware.
CPURanger
post Jun 13 2008, 11:09 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 13 2008, 04:00 PM)
Sure, no problemo.

Gigabyte EP35-DS3

2) Video working - tried to play some avi file, cannot work, maybe need some Quicktime codecs?
Thanks. I am a long time Mac user, way back Motorola Macs System 7. Dunno whether to spend RM4K for iMac or build hackintosh much cheaper, it is just for home use.

For avi, you can try Perian

http://perian.org

You can also try this for wmv,

http://www.microsoft.com/mac/products/flip4mac.mspx

Matrix, I like your avatar, reminds me of my ZX Spectrum 48K, very long time ago....

CPURanger
post Jun 14 2008, 10:11 PM

889 posts

Understood, hackintosh wouldn't be a perfect mac. Maybe I buy an iMac after all, save me from the installing work and uncertain future of hackintosh. Is $$$, I have to think about it.

Apple Key, you mean command key. Rather important key, mostly use for access menu with command key, just like Windows with control key. For example, Command-C Copy for Mac, Ctrl-C - Copy in Windows.

I don't bother with Vista, no matter how pretty it is. So much problem, some downgrade to XP. Never in OS history, any OS do that.

Added on June 14, 2008, 10:20 pmInteresting news for Hackintosh fans, I got from MacNN

EFiX dongle promises easy Mac OS installs on PC

A developer is promising an easy, hardware-assisted means of installing Mac OS X onto PCs, accounts say. The creators of the EFiX USB dongle claim that by attaching their device to a PC, users can then simply boot from a Mac OS X disc, and continue with installation as if the system were a native Apple product. Typically, the creation of "Hackintoshes" requires a number of complex steps, as Apple does not allow the Mac OS on third-party hardware.

The dongle is said to have been in development for some time, including at least six months of testing, and already in use in places such as TV stations and recording studios. A public release has been planned for June 23rd, and video of the dongle in use can be found here. No prices have been mentioned.

EFi-X website, Mac OS on PC

================

I suppose is a kind of EFI BIOS software in dongle, making Mac OS X think is the PC is a Mac.

This post has been edited by CPURanger: Jun 14 2008, 10:20 PM
CPURanger
post Jun 15 2008, 06:57 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 15 2008, 02:36 PM)
Seriously though, i never have any problems with VISTA. Actually i like it better than XP in fact.

Anyway, the EFI thing is killing me...i'm trying to update to 10.5.3 and re-install using the EFI option but always reboot.....has been trying until 3am last night... doh.gif

Luckily, i've backup my working 10.5.1 with Acronis...from VISTA. With a copy of Acronis in both VISTA and XP partition, i can restore back any corrupted/screwed partition including UBUNTU and MAC OSX. My VISTA has just saved my Mac arse....ha-ha!!

Acronis rocks!!!
You are forgetting you are using a PC. If is a real Mac, partitioning and installation is much more easy. tongue.gif

CPURanger
post Jun 19 2008, 11:58 PM

889 posts

OK, got your point. I have not use Acronis before, may try it someday. I do remember when Leopard beta was out, at that time DVD DL was not common and some DVD drive not able burn DVD DL. It is possible for Mac to image the disk image to a partition and use it to install Leopard. This is just using Disk Utility which comes with Mac OS. I did not try it but I think it is possible to do something like Acronis.

If Vista so good, then PC vendors would not offer downgrade to XP. Also Microsoft have to explain why upgrade to Vista, not to wait for Windows 7.

Don't Wait for it, Says Microsoft

Vista at one year: Progress and pain

A computer shop's sales pitch: 'We remove Vista'

Man gets Windows Vista to work with printer

CPURanger
post Jun 27 2008, 12:41 AM

889 posts

Just got new PC, Core 2 Quad Q9300, Gigabyte EP35-DS3, 2GB RAM & Nvidia 8800GT.

Proceeded installing Kalyway 10.5.2 with default settings, it works ! rclxms.gif

OS X detect as 1 CPU with 4 cores, unknown CPU. Video stuck to 1024 x 768 and sound works during welcome video. Rather late now, will do further test tomorrow.

CPURanger
post Jun 29 2008, 06:04 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(night killer @ Jun 29 2008, 03:17 PM)
isit the gigabyte was support hardware as well ahhhhhhhhh i wanna try install of it hope got people tell me wat kind of the hardware i need and fullly install without problem
Gigabyte EP35-DS4/EP35-DS3 is supported according websites below and also Matrix mention he/she (??) use this board (thanks for info!). Also use Intel Core 2 Duo CPU. I do not know whether 100% problem free, I am gambling it will work.

PCWiz Computer hardware guide

Xplodenet 10.5.2 HCL

You should also check out OSX86 Project .

I have not figure all the stuff yet. Just buy another hard disk for Windows, rather not partition, format and installing, and later redo all over again if things not work out. Booting up Kalyway 10.5.2 is really fast, faster than the real thing !

Now to figure how to dual boot two different OS from two hard disk and also check for hardware problem.

This post has been edited by CPURanger: Jun 29 2008, 06:26 PM
CPURanger
post Jun 30 2008, 07:59 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 29 2008, 09:58 PM)
Woooi....for clarification, I am a HE. Since when i got mention i am a SHE??!!

Yes, P35 mobo like my Gigabyte EP35-DS3 are pretty much workable. Lots of success story with it.

There was problems, but basically everything fixe-able.

Hey, i even managed to set it up using the U-mobile ZTE 622 modem and access Internet via Celcom 3G broadband this morning... smile.gif

The only weird problem is the shutdown/restatart fails to shutdown the PC, everything just clean and halted and screen blanked, but mobo won't shut off. So you need to manually power off.

Dual booting is pretty easy if you use EasyBCD.

btw, does Kalyway has boot camp? I dun see boot camp in my IATKOS....just curious.
I am just joking, of course you are a HE ! tongue.gif

I don't have problem starting up and shutting down using Kalyway. Same here, no Bootcamp for Kalyway.
No need Bootcamp for hackintosh, you can always install windows and other OSes. I had download EasyBCD, have not figure out how it works. Acronis boot selector does not work, no response and hang on my PC.

I have problem with 8800gt, it does not support other resolutions. Just got the drivers and opengl, need more time to try. Also some problem with USB. Sound OK and Network OK.

CPURanger
post Jun 30 2008, 08:46 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 30 2008, 09:29 AM)
I've started downloading Kalyway around 6pm yesterday, finished about 35% this morning. smile.gif Streamyx rules.

btw, i'm downloading Leo4All...is it same as leo4Allv3? I hope i'm not downloading the wrong version! I got mine from mininova, where did u get yours?
I have lea4allv3, yes it should be leo4Allv3. Check out leo4All wiki page leo4all info .

BTW, you might also want kalyway 10.5.3 updater.

Added on June 30, 2008, 8:56 pm
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 30 2008, 09:05 AM)
Yeah, i heard it got some problem with the 8 series...wonder if it's work okay for 9 series...thinking to upgrade GPU later.

Have you try NVInject .52? Can give it a shot and see.

btw, I've discovered a Macintosh OSX weakness....IT DOESN'T BURN MULTISESSION DISC!!! doh.gif

I thought something as friendly as a Mac should do this, unfortunately it doesn't....but i'm not sure if Windows do this also...i always burn with Nero.

Anyway, downloaded Roxio Titanium 9... innocent.gif ....will try it out later.
Matrix, OS X does support multisession disc. If you want multi session, you have to use HFS+ via Disk Utility. Also it appends disk image unlike Windows where things still appears as a single disc. For example, if you burn 3 multisession onto CD, when CD is mounted it will should show 3 disk image on desktop.

You can always use Toast for ISO, as you have already mention.

Will try NVInject...

This post has been edited by CPURanger: Jun 30 2008, 08:56 PM
CPURanger
post Jul 1 2008, 07:54 AM

889 posts

Last night I install NVInstaller 0.41 for 10.5.2 and later upgrade to 10.5.3 with NVInstaller 0.52. The monitor resolutions show as high as 1280 x 1024 in System preference, I am using 1st generation Acer 17" with VGA. However not switchable to higher resolution. Screen turns blue when switch higher res but not hang, still manage to get back 1024 x 768. Other than that Quartz Extreme is supported according to System Profiler.

Still having problem with USB, thumb drive will not mount. As for 10.5.3 updating, when I do update -v, display error message "Sandbox init error "Apple....", can't remember exact message. Although the About This Mac window show it is 10.5.3, I am not sure it is fully update to 10.5.3. I did not install new kernel 9.3, still using 9.2 kernel.

This morning when I check software update, it list 10.5.4. Let's see when Kalyway 10.5.4 updater is available.

CPURanger
post Jul 1 2008, 10:50 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 1 2008, 09:02 AM)
10.5.4 is it? I think i'll download and install to my desktop Mac OSX...(IATKOS using EFI and vanilla kernel), which i've updated with the official 10.5.3 previously.

I wonder how often apple do updates...hope not too often....headache installing wor....ha-ha.
Apple updates can be a lot but on Mac it is painless. Look at the recent updates, tiger for example, 10.4.11 which means 12 times, if you count from 10.4.0. That's not even counting other app updates.

I tried mod 9.3 kernel, USB is working now. Matrix looking back at your posts, you using atikos with vanilla kernel. Since I am using mod kernel, I don't have problem OS X shutdown or sleep. But it also means updating minor OSX versions can be a problem. Using vanilla kernel and files from original DVD, would be ideal compare to kalyway, atikos, leo4all, etc.

There is a thread which shows the way to install Retail Leopard DVD on P35-DS3R or equivalent, I do not know whether you have consider doing this before.

Retail DVD Guide, 10.5.3, 100% working, PC-EFIv8, EFI strings, Vanilla, GA-P35-DS3P (L,R), DS4, or OS X Compatible board - InsanelyMac Forum

Only thing it needs a bit of work. What do you think ?

==========================

PS, I forget to mention, I did try kalyway + vanilla kernel (9.2 and 9.3). Both does not shutdown properly.

Mr. Lonely, I am using cheapo A4 Tech PS/2 keyboard, it is working fine.

This post has been edited by CPURanger: Jul 1 2008, 11:06 PM
CPURanger
post Jul 2 2008, 10:06 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 1 2008, 11:49 PM)

I managed to install the Leo4all on my lappy, so happy! Then i go make it dual boot with XP using the chain0 file...works!!!

Then i go run the nvinstaller 52 (coz no QE/CI and only one resolution)..and nuked my MacOSX....doh.gif

I think MacOSX just hates AMD machines....regret didn't buy a C2D lappy last time....sigh..
Congrats !

Apple endorse Intel CPUs, Mac OS X is optimize with Intel code. I read somewhere in Hackintosh website, some Intel instructions are emulated in hakintosh OS for AMD CPU. That's why Mac OS X does not work well with AMD.

I think I am going for Retail Leopard DVD Install (read above thread) when I have free time.

CPURanger
post Jul 3 2008, 09:54 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 3 2008, 09:09 AM)
But the boot time is...Zzzzz...so s-l-o-w....i think this is due to the hacked kernel and patches. Booting on my dekstop with the IATKOS installation also very slow, until i update with the official 10.5.3, the boot time suddenly became super fast!! I guess it's always best to run with vanilla kernel whenever possible.

btw, how do you check which kernel is currently running?
I am not sure myself, perhaps uname -a ?

=======================

Just tested iPhone sync to my hackintosh, it works ! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by CPURanger: Jul 3 2008, 09:56 PM
CPURanger
post Jul 4 2008, 01:09 PM

889 posts

Yeah better get another hard disk for hackintosh. You will be reformat and reinstall many times.

CPURanger
post Jul 4 2008, 10:10 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(vailance @ Jul 4 2008, 05:44 PM)
wait apple drop price? soon will lik G4 now , snow leopard dropping support powerPC.. unless u stick to 10.5 or tiger okla.

get an laptop with intel cpu with sse3 and a gma950 at least u can hav a QE/CI working. if u can get a Core series cpu then vanila kernal shouldnt be a prob..
Mac price is dropping, the price is much lower for the last few Mac generations. I remember iMac G5 costs more than RM5K, today latest iMac Intel costs RM4299. Having gone through Mac OS 10.0 to 10.5, I am not too worry about snow leopard. Just buy what you need today, be it Mac or PC eventually will be obsolete one day. Even if snow leopard can install on G4, I doubt I want to use it, it may be too slow. My office's power mac dual g4 (2 ghz) is just enough to run leopard.

I just wish Apple have iMacs with better 3D graphic card that does not cost a bomb.

CPURanger
post Jul 12 2008, 12:47 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(limenghua @ Jul 12 2008, 10:55 AM)
Media is XP partition. i can boot no problem.
any suggestion would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Perhaps you can try install itakos on a full HD partition before trying dual boot.
CPURanger
post Jul 14 2008, 10:27 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(yaofong @ Jul 14 2008, 07:17 PM)
[attachmentid=528146]

anyone know this ?
With this we can install retail mac with no headache......
can run system update properly
http://www.efi-x.com/index.php?option=com_...anguage=english

thinking to buying 1, anyone like me?
Yes, I would like get one too. However you should check out the hardware compatible list,

EFIX HCL

Recently I found out I bought the wrong motherboard for hackintosh, GA35-DS3. It should be GA35-DS3R or GA35-DS3L doh.gif
Another interesting fact, a malaysian dealer (don't know who) is negotiating to sell efix,

EFIX Where to buy

See the malaysia flag ? Funny no iphone 3G for malaysia but efix (hack product) for malaysia blink.gif

This post has been edited by CPURanger: Jul 14 2008, 10:30 PM
CPURanger
post Jul 15 2008, 07:20 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Jul 15 2008, 12:15 AM)
sweat.gif since when iphone related to hackintosh. Btw, that device is consider illegalĀ  rolleyes.gif Apple just 'closed' an eye
Apparently Apple may not able to take action against hackers and companies like EFIX and Pystar.

Can Apple stop Psystar from selling Mac clone?

This post has been edited by CPURanger: Jul 15 2008, 07:26 AM
CPURanger
post Jul 15 2008, 01:18 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 15 2008, 09:28 AM)
I've a feeling Apple actually wanted the underground scene to flourish, so they get free promotion and people will actually start using Mac OSX. It's just like Windows letting their software being pirated knowingly by students and such and take no action so that these new generation of users will become their next corporate users. smile.gif
Let's hope so...

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 15 2008, 09:28 AM)
Huh the GA35-DS3 doesn't work? It's the ICH9 chipset right?

Mine is the EP35-DS3, i think it's the same as GA35-DS3 except got the additional power saving thingy. It works great with vanilla and EFI emulation. I think that list is not complete. DS3 should work.

btw, just to update everyone, i've upgraded my GPU to ATI 4850 from Nvidia 7600GS previously. It still works but only basic VGA with single resolution (1024 x768) and no CI/QE nothing. No hacked drivers for this card available for the time being. Oh well, at least i can still surf and do other task with it (except watching DVDs).

There's no authorised dealer yet in Malaysia...maybe need to buy from Russia or Peru... nod.gif
Mine is same as yours EP35-DS3. Apparently the other boards DS3L, DS3R, DS3P is much more compatible in forums and listed at efi-x.com. Does your vanilla setup runs (screen saver, sleep and shutdown) OK ?

I did Leopard retail install and hit troubles with SATA "Waiting for root device" error. I find out later some kext is not compatible with ICH9, copy the right ones from somewhere, seems to be working now. Have to do more test. May try vanilla kernel.

If you wonder why I bother with Leopard retail install is because I find Kalyway and possibly other distros have missing files. The original Leopard retail DVD DL is about 7GB. Minus Xcode 1GB that leaves about 6GB. Kalyway total files size less then 4.7GB. Localization files, printer drivers and some files are missing. Take for example "Text To Speech", System Voice Alex is missing. Alex voice is much improvement over the other voices in Leopard, even Apple did not mention it. Yeah big deal some missing files but I want all the files, that's what big hard disk is for.

Also for those who want vanilla, you get all the vanilla kernel and drivers which other distro may have replaced or left out. You should try retail install, matrix.

=======

Apparently the Malaysian dealer is negotiating with EFI-X, so have to wait and see...

CPURanger
post Jul 15 2008, 02:08 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 15 2008, 01:50 PM)
But i dun have retail disc wor...BT is very slow recently...somemore Retail Disc installation seems like loads of work...
Yes, a lot more work... i lost count of how many times I reinstall. However with right drivers and kernel, it should not take a long time.

Again how is your vanilla setup ? Is screen saver, sleep and shutdown working ?

0.0220sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:21 AM