Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

JIUHWEI
post Mar 25 2024, 01:55 PM

1,348 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 25 2024, 01:48 PM)
Geeee, now I know why my premiums hiked and will continue to hike and will hike soon too. Damn
Boh bian. It's an industry-wide phenom.
And we're quite fortunate that AIA Vitality is showing its effect on the hike.
We're experiencing a relatively stable and palatable revision.

Don't just take it from me, I may be biased.
Check around from among your friends with other insurers.
MUM
post Mar 25 2024, 02:03 PM

14,965 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Mar 25 2024, 01:55 PM)
Boh bian. It's an industry-wide phenom.
And we're quite fortunate that AIA Vitality is showing its effect on the hike.
We're experiencing a relatively stable and palatable revision.

Don't just take it from me, I may be biased.
Check around from among your friends with other insurers.
Yes it is an industry wide thing....not just AIA
It showed many had taken up insurance too.

If this just 1 company pays out 2.1 billions in 2023, ..wondering how much was the payout for the whole industry?
...wondering how much premium was collected by AIA in 2023 alone?
...wondering too, how much premiums were collected on the whole industry wide?

In the end how much were paid to private hospitals. Ha ha .....Good stocks to buy and hold since the earning will always be there and up trends...ha ha

This post has been edited by MUM: Mar 25 2024, 02:06 PM
JIUHWEI
post Mar 25 2024, 02:23 PM

1,348 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 25 2024, 02:03 PM)
Yes it is an industry wide thing....not just AIA
It showed many had taken up insurance too.

If this just 1 company pays out 2.1 billions in 2023, ..wondering how much was the payout for the whole industry?
...wondering how much premium was collected by AIA in 2023 alone?
...wondering too, how much premiums were collected on the whole industry wide?
Banyak bro.
The total claims paid out in 2022 was RM4.07b. Which is double what was the norm since the beginning of the last decade, and also what triggered the latest round of medical rate hike.

That being said, we might also want to consider the value of the risks (sum insured) that insurers have on their backs on top of these premiums collected.
Which then presents our medical insurance provisions among the most generous in the world.

But all that is taking a macro view of the industry.
What this thread aims to achieve is for us as individuals to take advantage of the tools and options made available to us to manage our risks.

Private hospitals are investing in the direction that Malaysians continue to "think" that they are "enjoying" the treatments and services that they can provide.

I am personally really sold on the idea of enjoying my health, despite my knees and left Achilles tendon starting to cry for help.

This post has been edited by JIUHWEI: Mar 25 2024, 02:27 PM
notmycupoftea
post Mar 27 2024, 12:25 AM

444 posts

Hi all sifus and helpful agents - appreciate your input

I bought the medical insurance in 2012, 12/13 years ago. I discovered a breast lump in 2019 and did a small surgery in Feb 2020 to remove a 2cm fibroadenoma (benign in nature) in my breast, briefly mentioned this to my insurance agent before the surgery but she didnt tell me to declare it to Allianz. Claimed this procedure under company's insurance, not under my own medical insurance.

Fast forward 9 months later (Nov 2020) I wanted to upgrade my Allianz medical insurance to unlimited claim, my insurance agent then declared my breast surgery to Allianz and Allianz excluded ANY breast related matters in the upgraded policy, but i can still claim any breast related matters under old policy subject to the old limit (RM80k).

Now 4 years have passed, have asked my agent to submit an appeal to Allianz attaching my ultrasound report showing no relapse, Allianz rejected my appeal. Asked my agent the reasons and she told me that recurrence of fibroadenoma is high and breast cancer is very common in Malaysia. also told me she has not seen any successful appeal cases for breast matters.

Question - is it true that Allianz won't consider this kind of appeal? any agent here with successful appeal before? hope to hear more from other agents. thanks a lot notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by notmycupoftea: Mar 27 2024, 01:04 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 27 2024, 12:33 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ Mar 27 2024, 12:25 AM)

I had a small surgery in Feb 2020 to remove a 2cm fibroadenoma (benign in nature) in my breast, briefly mentioned this to my insurance agent before the surgery but she didnt tell me to declare it to Allianz.

Fast forward 9 months later (Nov 2020) I wanted to upgrade my Allianz medical insurance to unlimited claim, my insurance agent then declared my breast surgery to Allianz and Allianz excluded ANY breast related matters in the upgraded policy, but i can still claim any breast related matters under old policy subject to the old limit (RM80k).

Now 4 years have passed, have asked my agent to submit an appeal to Allianz attaching my ultrasound report showing no relapse, Allianz rejected my appeal. Asked my agent the reasons and she told me that recurrence of fibroadenoma is high and breast cancer is very common in Malaysia. also told me she has not seen any successful appeal cases for breast matters.

Question - is it true that Allianz won't consider this kind of appeal? any agent here with successful appeal before? hope to hear more from other agents. thanks a lot  notworthy.gif
All new insurance plan will not cover any pre existing illness or any surgery related to that illness.

It's standard practice. You can forget about it.

So going forward you got 3 ways
1. Keep old insurance for breast related issue and buy new insurance which will exclude breast
2. Buy new insurance which will exclude any breasts related coverage and you pay for it yourself
3. Stick with old insurance and get coverage for everything but limited annual coverage.

Your choice. I can't advise you what to do.

Not only allianz. All insurance company in Malaysia does that.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 27 2024, 12:34 AM
notmycupoftea
post Mar 27 2024, 12:54 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 27 2024, 12:33 AM)
All new insurance plan will not cover any pre existing illness or any surgery related to that illness.

It's standard practice. You can forget about it.

So going forward you got 3 ways
1. Keep old insurance for breast related issue and buy new insurance which will exclude breast
2. Buy new insurance which will exclude any breasts related coverage and you pay for it yourself
3. Stick with old insurance and get coverage for everything but limited annual coverage.

Your choice. I can't advise you what to do.

Not only allianz. All insurance company in Malaysia does that.
thanks. i am aware of the standard practice but no chance to appeal at all even though no relapse?

i have considered getting another insurance with no exclusion but was advised to retain the current Allianz policy for another 2 years - reason being the "observation period" by the new insurance company and potential investigation by new insurance company if i make a claim within 2 years.

so my preference is not to get a new insurance, rather, wanted to understand if my current policy can be salvaged
BL98
post Mar 27 2024, 01:37 AM

743 posts

Better to do any surgery overseas so that local insurance company don't know your medical history. When register in clinic, don't give IC. Write your name, but not in full and write the IC number with a few numbers wrong. This way insurance cannot trace you.
MUM
post Mar 27 2024, 06:18 AM

14,965 posts

Hi all sifus and helpful agents - appreciate your input..........

Question - is it true that Allianz won't consider this kind of appeal? any agent here with successful appeal before? hope to hear more from other agents. thanks a lot  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ Mar 27 2024, 12:54 AM)
thanks. i am aware of the standard practice but no chance to appeal at all even though no relapse? 

I think 4 yrs no lapses is too short for them to take the risk, ..so they would prefer to take lesser risk by having exclusion.

I got myself having exclusion reinstated on my new policy after >10 yrs of no health issues .
(I got some items excluded from my earlier health issues)

You may try ask real insurance sifus in the dedicated insurance thread...better chances of getting correct and useful answers

This post has been edited by MUM: Mar 27 2024, 06:20 AM
nexona88
post Mar 27 2024, 09:01 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,588 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 27 2024, 01:37 AM)
Better to do any surgery overseas so that local insurance company don't know your medical history. When register in clinic, don't give IC. Write your name, but not in full and write the IC number with a few numbers wrong. This way insurance cannot trace you.
This also means you have to self pay for the surgery overseas???

Main reason why Many took up insurance because they cover the medical expenses or surgery involved....

This post has been edited by nexona88: Mar 27 2024, 09:01 AM
contestchris
post Mar 27 2024, 09:05 AM

5,587 posts

Yes, this is the way. All things said, you have a higher risk than the average person to get it again in the future. As insurance works based on risk pooling, it is only fair for others buying insurance that your pre-existing condition is excluded.
victorian
post Mar 27 2024, 09:16 AM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,643 posts

I had a small surgery in Feb 2020 to remove a 2cm fibroadenoma (benign in nature) in my breast, briefly mentioned this to my insurance agent before the surgery but she didnt tell me to declare it to Allianz.

Let's put it this way, if you are confident that there will be no relapses, then you should be okay that it is an exclusion in your policy.

If you are worried that due to your medical history, there will be further breast related complication and you want the exclusion to be removed, then the insurance company are thinking the same too sweat.gif

Dude, you are sharing fraudulent practices openly online.

Indirectly contributing to medical repricing.

If an insured has pre-existing medical condition and hides it from the insurer, the losses will be shared to the other insured in the pool in the form of medical repricing shakehead.gif

lifebalance
post Mar 27 2024, 12:00 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

This is considered a pre-existing illness. In fact, Allianz could have voided your claims and ask you to pay back the claims that have been made due to wrongful disclosure.

As for the appeal, it's done on case to case basis. Some of my clients managed to get insurance even with pre-existing cancer history. smile.gif

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ Mar 27 2024, 12:54 AM)

i have considered getting another insurance with no exclusion but was advised to retain the current Allianz policy for another 2 years - reason being the "observation period" by the new insurance company and potential investigation by new insurance company if i make a claim within 2 years.

so my preference is not to get a new insurance, rather, wanted to understand if my current policy can be salvaged
Answered above.

lifebalance
post Mar 27 2024, 12:03 PM

10,162 posts

Thanks for trying to scam your way through. Others would have to suffer to pay for your actions.

Do note that such fraudulent act will be charged in court if you're caught. Try at your own risk.
BL98
post Mar 27 2024, 12:54 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Mar 27 2024, 12:03 PM)
Thanks for trying to scam your way through. Others would have to suffer to pay for your actions.

Do note that such fraudulent act will be charged in court if you're caught. Try at your own risk.
Definitely do not encourage fraudulent or illegal activities.

But there are many genuine people who are disadvantaged by this laws and SOPs.

There was a case where a lady who got Cancer and got her claims declined just because she did not report her "anxiety" and "low back pain/back muscle sprain" history.

She had already paid her insurance premium for so many years and the insurance company did not mentioned anything.

If want to decline a policy, why not decline when she first buy the policy? If can do background check when got claims, why cannot check at the point of buying policy?

Then when she had cancer diagnosis, then only her claims got declined because she was not honest hence breaks the contract.

In the first place, why is the insurance company take the medical premiums in the first place, for so many years, giving her false impression that she is covered.

Is this legal then? if legal, is it morally ethical on the insurance company part?
engyr
post Mar 27 2024, 01:00 PM

590 posts

Surgery cost is higher in overseas than private hospital. If can afford, why need insurance? 😂
lifebalance
post Mar 27 2024, 01:01 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 27 2024, 12:54 PM)

There was a case where a lady who got Cancer and got her claims declined just because she did not report her "anxiety" and "low back pain/back muscle sprain" history.

She had already paid her insurance premium for so many years and the insurance company did not mentioned anything.

If want to decline a policy, why not decline when she first buy the policy? If can do background check when got claims, why cannot check at the point of buying policy?

Then when she had cancer diagnosis, then only her claims got declined because she was not honest hence breaks the contract.

In the first place, why is the insurance company take the medical premiums in the first place, for so many years, giving her false impression that she is covered.

Is this legal then? if legal, is it morally ethical on the insurance company part?
Lol by your logic, since some others are disadvantage for being poor, it's right for them to rob?

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Mar 27 2024, 01:02 PM
notmycupoftea
post Mar 27 2024, 01:02 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Mar 27 2024, 12:00 PM)
This is considered a pre-existing illness. In fact, Allianz could have voided your claims and ask you to pay back the claims that have been made due to wrongful disclosure.

As for the appeal, it's done on case to case basis. Some of my clients managed to get insurance even with pre-existing cancer history.  smile.gif
Answered above.
It is not a pre-existing condition. I bought the medical insurance in 2012, 12/13 years ago. I only discovered the lump in 2019 and did the surgery in 2020 and claimed my company's insurance, not under my own medical insurance.

Thanks for the insight on appeal. I will resubmit my appeal - any tips for better success rate?
lifebalance
post Mar 27 2024, 01:06 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ Mar 27 2024, 01:02 PM)
It is not a pre-existing condition. I bought the medical insurance in 2012, 12/13 years ago. I only discovered the lump in 2019 and did the surgery in 2020 and claimed my company's insurance, not under my own medical insurance.

Thanks for the insight on appeal. I will resubmit my appeal - any tips for better success rate?
Oh I see, that paints a better picture.

You can send in your appeal and see how it goes but it's really up to the insurance company to approve or not.

Hopefully you will get the best case scenario =)
notmycupoftea
post Mar 27 2024, 01:07 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(engyr @ Mar 27 2024, 01:00 PM)
Surgery cost is higher in overseas than private hospital. If can afford, why need insurance? 😂
I thought he or she was throlling hahaha
Nowadays no IC not likely to receive western medical treatment. TCM may work with no IC lah
MUM
post Mar 27 2024, 01:12 PM

14,965 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Mar 27 2024, 12:54 PM)

why did she did not report her preexisting condition when asked in the application form? Did she do it on purpose to "cheat"?

because the company believed what the application sdud us true and they can legally decline the claims if found out the info provided in the application form is false later.

I believes, not telling the truth when asked to can be termed as cheating with intention to fraud is an offence which the law can easily decide who is guilty party.

392 Pages « < 256 257 258 259 260 > » Top

0.0553sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:47 AM