Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

contestchris
post Apr 29 2021, 07:46 PM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(jhodyj @ Apr 29 2021, 07:40 PM)
ya if want to maintain the initial sustainability, then usually the % increase in premium will be higher or lower than the % increase in COI?
ILP will have your life policy, medical card and other attached riders. If everything increase by X%, then logically premiums should also increase by X% for the policy to remain sustainable.

However, if just the medical card increase by X% and no change for the other components, then the % increase in premiums should be lower. For example, 20% increase in medical card cost may result in 15% increase to the overall premium.
contestchris
post Mar 1 2022, 06:52 PM

5,519 posts

Is the Great Eastern tax statement out? I can't seem to find it in eConnect
contestchris
post Mar 8 2022, 04:45 PM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(rahtid @ Mar 8 2022, 03:04 PM)
guys - need your kind advice on this.

my friend's mom just passed away last month, and the son found out she actually had a GE insurance policy that expired just few days before her death. the reason for expiry is due to his mom forgot to make payment for past 6 mths.

she forgotten because she was sick with cancer and had been going in-out of hospital for treatments.

questions:
1. should the agent call to remind on missed payment?
2. is there any way to re-activate the policy since the customer is sick and unable to follow up with her payment? DB is rm50k, quite a lot.
Correct me if I am wrong but some policies even if miss payment, not an issue as it will either take APL or take from your cash value (example, for ILP).

What policy is this specifically?

But if really no APL or auto deduction from cash value, and the policy has genuinely lapsed, then sorry. No DB.

However, even if the policy lapse, there may be cash value in there. My life insurance has cash value that grows every year. If I stop paying, more likely they auto deduct.
contestchris
post Jan 25 2023, 02:18 PM

5,519 posts

I have Great Eastern SPE2 with 2 riders only (SMX200 and SME200).

I wanted to get SE120K rider for my plan to increase the annual limit but was told they no longer offer it effective January 2022.

I'm considering cancelling SMX200 and SME200 and taking on SMS-250-D. It's around rm100 extra per year but comes with higher R&B and also significantly higher annual limits.

Any GE agents here? Mind sharing if the above plan is even possible in the first place, and if so, is it worth it?
contestchris
post Jan 25 2023, 03:01 PM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jan 25 2023, 02:41 PM)
Licensed GE representive myself.

Possible to upgrade to SMS from SMX however if you have any pre existing, it will not be covered under SMS (the newer plan).

The newer plan does cover more comprehensively but it comes with a higher cost as well. Ideally you should make sure it is within your budget to commit to the plan for long term.
I am presently paying roughly RM875 p.a. for SMX200+SME200 while for SMS-250-D I will need to pay RM975 p.a. so it's pretty much RM100 extra.

Pros:
1. Significantly higher annual limit
2. SME benefit of 10% increase to R&B is incorporated into this plan
3. Higher starting R&B of RM250
4. Some additional outpatient coverage

Cons:
1. RM300 deductible but I'm completely okay with this as the purpose of the medical card is to protect my tail risk
2. RM100 extra per month (but getting SE120K would've cost me an extra RM93 anyway)
3. Lose out on the other SME benefits (which are included in SMSP) but I'm okay with that as the 10% increase to R&B every 3 years is already part of the base plan

Am I missing anything?

As for illnesses, so far I've never claimed from my plan and to the best of my knowledge I have not developed any medical conditions.

How easy/difficult to make the change? Anything else I should be worried about? Can I do on my own? (Assume my agent is MIA)
contestchris
post Jan 26 2023, 10:19 AM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(denion @ Jan 26 2023, 10:17 AM)
hi contestchris, just to confirm, you are paying RM875/annum for SMX200+SME200? i thought that plan must be RM1,200/annum minimum. do correct me if i'm wrong.

so if i read it correctly, it will be additional RM100/month to change to SMS-250-D, right?

you listed out the pros and cons correctly. well i will say not really cons la. the changes are actually simple, either you go through the servicing agent of the policy, or if agent MIA, you can go to GE customer service to do the change. wink.gif
then it will take around 14 working days to have the change effective.
Oh yes since it is an ILP I'm actually paying rm3.2k p.a. (if that's what you mean). RM875 refers to the actual insurance charges for SMX200+SME200.
contestchris
post Mar 9 2023, 02:58 AM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(timeekit @ Mar 9 2023, 02:25 AM)
Hi Sifus,

I am in late 20s and paying RM280 monthly for this GE medical plan.

I believe annual limit coverage is 1.2 mil and no lifetime limit, coverage until year 2073.
(can someone explain to me the 132,000 amount and for those policy that end in year 2092)?
Daily hospital board coverage is RM 200 per day

Need your expertise to advise if my current medical plan is ok compared with other plans in the current market?
Is there anything i can add (or get another insurance) to improve on my existing policy?

132,000 is your annual limit with the SmartMedic Xtra rider. It starts off at 120,000 but increases by 12,000 every 3 years with no claim.

You got the SmartMedic Extender / Extender 99 which multiplies your initial annual limit of 120,000 by 10, so your current annual limit is now 1.2mil.

2092 is the extension to 99 years of age with the additional "99" riders. Otherwise by right the policy will mature by age 80.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Mar 9 2023, 02:59 AM
contestchris
post Apr 11 2023, 01:25 AM

5,519 posts

Anyone experienced with Great Eastern ILP, can shed some light on the bid/offer prices on their website?

I'm curious to know what does "offer" price refer to, and when it is used.

Correct me if I am wrong, but by my observation, when units are purchased/sold, they are done at the bid price. So when does the offer price come into play?
contestchris
post Apr 11 2023, 10:39 AM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 11 2023, 04:24 AM)
Since it's a unit trust/mutual fund, I think this answer your question?
https://unittrust.poems.com.sg/glossary/bid-offer-price/

I maybe wrong and I hope I am wrong.
I know in general what bid/offer pricing refers to. It's just that when I look at my ILP statements, I see all buy/sell transactions are done at the BID PRICE (i.e. NAV). So I'm wondering when does the OFFER PRICE come in the picture. I also compare to other insurance companies, I do not see BID PRICE and OFFER PRICE, there is just one price, i.e. the NAV PRICE.

Refer to the screenshots below, the "unit price" for buy (i.e. Total Investment Premiums Received section), sell (i.e. Total Charges for 2021/2022), and total fund value (i.e. Closing Balance as at 31 Dec) are all matching.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Apr 11 2023, 10:40 AM
contestchris
post Apr 12 2023, 03:36 PM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Apr 11 2023, 10:39 AM)
I know in general what bid/offer pricing refers to. It's just that when I look at my ILP statements, I see all buy/sell transactions are done at the BID PRICE (i.e. NAV). So I'm wondering when does the OFFER PRICE come in the picture. I also compare to other insurance companies, I do not see BID PRICE and OFFER PRICE, there is just one price, i.e. the NAV PRICE.

Refer to the screenshots below, the "unit price" for buy (i.e. Total Investment Premiums Received section), sell (i.e. Total Charges for 2021/2022), and total fund value (i.e. Closing Balance as at 31 Dec) are all matching.

Official reply from Great Eastern via email for everyone's reference:

We wish to advise that premiums are used to purchase units in the investment-linked fund(s) of your choice. In general, the offer price is the price that is used to purchase units. Meanwhile, fund units are then sold to pay for the insurance charges and policy fees. The bid price is the price that is used when units are sold.

However, please be informed that the Company no longer practice dual pricing in compliance with Bank Negara Malaysia's requirement via Guideline on Investment Linked Insurance/ Takaful Business effective 2009. All Investment Linked products launched after effective date of the guideline are valued using single pricing (bid price).

contestchris
post Apr 28 2023, 03:42 PM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(jimmy G @ Apr 28 2023, 07:43 AM)
i have a question, i upgraded my plan a year back and was told i need to keep my old plan during "transition".
It has some investment link plan in it any idea when usually i can get it back. my agent wasn't really able to give me a timeframe.
False. When I want to upgrade my medical plan, the insurance company said I cannot keep my old plan. This is for the Smart Protect Essential ILP. I had SmartMedic Xtra and wanted to upgrade to SmartMedic Shield.

However, there is a clause whereby if I make a claim in xx days, it will be based on old plan.
contestchris
post May 13 2023, 09:32 AM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(do117 @ May 13 2023, 09:16 AM)
Currently I have smart protect essential 2 with rider smart medic extra 150 + smart extender 90k.

My agent also introduce me the smart medic shield plan, seems to be cheaper based on the table comparison.

but not sure he wants me to apply a new policy or replace the medical rider (not sure if possible).

The new medical plan seems very cheap, seems too good to be true x.x
I was on the same plan - SPE2 with SMX200 and SME200

I upgraded to SMS-D-250 a few months ago (i.e. replace the medical rider - DO NOT APPLY FOR A NEW POLICY!!). I did it because my annual limit was just rm144k, too low. And they no longer offer Smart Extender to increase the annual limit.

I won't say that SMS-D-250 is cheaper, I think it's slightly more expensive. With the caveat that you have a rm300 deductible now.

Mind sharing figures? I did a pros/cons discussion in this very forum a couple months back, go search my post history in here. Might be helpful for you.

Here you go: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...#entry106440788

This post has been edited by contestchris: May 13 2023, 09:36 AM
contestchris
post May 18 2023, 09:30 PM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(freesia @ May 18 2023, 04:32 PM)
Thank you for your insights. I kinda get it that ILP route MAY not necessarily be a good investment plan. However, the pros as I see it (correct me if I'm wrong) if looking purely at medical benefits point of view:
1. affordable monthly premium (almost like forced savings which I don't get back if I don't ever intend to take money out)
2. bigger annual limit of 1.5mil & 150 days R&B as compared to Standalone which is annual limit of 1.375mil & 120 days
3. Waiver

Cons: I don't know yet! Except that premiums might be adjusted down the line due to what Lifebalance has pointed out. Question is: how often or at what regularity and quantum/amount??

Standalone Medical card-
Cons:
1. Upfront annual premium of RM3,800 (now) to +-RM20,000 when I reach 79
2. Lower limits as stated above
3. No waiver

I guess the question I have right now is- is it possible that the premium for the ILP when i reach 79 yo be: 20,000 div by 12= RM1666.66?
I'm trying to see the possible negative side of ILP; again purely from the medical point of view.
Look, the thing people fail to understand about ILPs is:

1) You pay more premiums in your younger years, the idea being these excess premiums will grow exponentially and cover the significantly higher insurance costs on the later years of your life. This is the "trick" they use to tell you that you will pay "level premiums for life" until the end of coverage.

2) The "level premiums for life" is actually a lie. Every 3-5 years, insurance companies will reprice their plans/riders due to medical inflation / incorrect pricing assumptions, and consequently as this pushes the insurance costs higher, the premiums you were originally projected to pay will no longer be enough to sustain until the end of coverage. In this situation, you will either need to start paying more premiums or reduce coverage / cut riders. My GE ILP was re-priced 5 years after purchase, the insurance costs for the medical plan riders went up by 20%. I am aware of some insurance companies even repricing by 70%!

3) ILP funds are off the balance sheet of insurance companies. Unlike traditional participating policies (i.e. par fund) where insurance companies share the investment profits with policyholders, or pure protection policies (i.e. non-par fund) where insurance companies keep all the investment profits, or the shareholders fund where obviously all investment profits are retained by the insurance companies.This means that there is a likelihood that insurance companies may prioritize and put more focus on the management of the par/non-par/shareholders funds, as these will directly impact their profits. As such, the management of the ILP funds may become an afterthought, as there is no profit-sharing element with the insurance company.

4) Insurance companies focus by and large is on providing insurance coverage. For investments, it is best to go directly to unit trust companies (if you really must), as that is their bread and butter. You can compare the returns of unit trust funds to ILP funds. There is also another peculiar distinction - though both are the exact same functionally, unit trust funds are governed by SC while ILPs are governed by Bank Negara.

5) The damage to ILPs are done in the first few years, where your allocated premiums are 60% for first 3 years, 80% for the following 3, and 95% for year 7 and 8 (it used to be worse before, now BNM improved things a bit). From Year 9 onwards, 100% allocation rate to your ILP funds. In the first few years, the agents and insurance company are laughing to the bank.

This post has been edited by contestchris: May 18 2023, 09:42 PM
contestchris
post May 18 2023, 10:43 PM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 18 2023, 10:30 PM)
1. If you look at sustainability of ILP, upon the end of the ILP life basically your cash value is zero. Also if you look at the sustainability of ILP usually they cannot even cover past mid 70s year old for premium of RM3k/year for someone who is 30-31 years old. So I don't know what "level premium for life"

2. Thank you for your input. That's sad that you got repriced after 5 years of buying. When I found out that ILP increased in price, I was shocked. I didn't sign up for ILP to get increase in price over time. I wanted a level premium. Hence after finding about it not being level and require me to topup in the future or pay more for premium in the future, I said nope. ILP is not for me.
Sorry you're right, "level premium for life" = "level period till end of coverage period". Poor choice of words.
contestchris
post Jul 19 2023, 11:21 PM

5,519 posts

Any Great Eastern agents or policyholders here? Is it true that there was another recent repricing for SMX200? Pls confirm. I recall there was a repricing not too long ago as well.
contestchris
post Jul 20 2023, 12:38 AM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jul 19 2023, 02:49 PM)
I will be abit real on a few things. In principle, overseas hospitalisation sounds good but unless you get the rarest of rarest disease, seeking medical treatment overseas is not a fun experience.

Being away from home, away from most family member, away from familiar food etc. The good thing malaysia medical facilities is really not bad for the price point. Look, our fellow indonesians friends do frequent malaysia for treatment.

The thing about ILP is like a all-in-one plan (i use nasi lemak as analogy for today). When you eat nasi lemak you want the basic, rice, cucumber, sambal, ikan bilis, maybe1/4 egg. For the ILP you can add on egg, chicken rendang, squid if you feel like it. But everything you add on there is price tagged to it.

Standalone is standalone. Some maybe got some add-on, but usually very limited.

Other explanation on the add-ons (the eggs, chicken rendang or the squid) where i would like to give another point of view but Ramjade criticised the premium waiver rider.

------LONG EXPLANATION-------
Premium Waiver Rider (disclaimer, i didnt buy this on my own policy, some strongly believe in it, i'm half half, leaning towards saving some money and not paying for it)

Let me explain how it works. In the event of CI or TPD, the insurance company will help you pay the premium on. so example your premium is RM3,000, then they help you pay RM3,000

So let's say you bought an ILP plan, RM3,000 is the premium, then touch wood, one day kena CI, then the company pay the RM3,000 premium on behalf of you.

what's the catch?
1) you get charged some charges when you add on this benefit. just like you tambah telur for your basic nasi lemak.
2) the premium waiver does not mean you dont need to pay a single cent. now this part where most agent can't explain

in many post before, there's some explanation by different poster that actually while the premium you pay for the ILP is level, you will expect it to increase when the company increase their rates (not because you got older, because the claims experience deteriorate). now go back to this RM3,000 example... so every month the insurance company will still charge you what they call insurance charge, regardless of whether the person is paying his premium or he kena CI / TPD where the company is paying on behalf.

when the insurance company increase the rates for medical plan, what they mean is they increase the insurance charge. so when your RM3,000 premium is not enough to cover these charges, you will need to increase your premium. SO, even if there's one person who kena CI or TPD and wants to continue with the medical plan, that person actually need to pay an increased premium. say example the final premium is RM3,600 per year instead of RM3,000 per year, what happens is that person need to pay RM600 on his own, the RM3,000 will still be paid by the company.

Then you will be like.... "WAH insurance company cheat me...told me dont need to pay, now i need to pay". before you go there... when you bought the insurance, what you buy is the company pay RM3,000 on your behalf, NOT RM3,600. so they pay you according to what they charge you also.

so is the premium waiver still important? some view it as yes... at least you dont have to pay that RM3,000.

BUT they only pay if i kena late stage CI or TPD, when i'm like "one leg into the coffin". is it valuable? Let me explain who this is for... the idea of a premium waiver is that if you are sick or TPD, you dont need to pay premium on your own as you may be unable to work or bear the financial burden. but if you are NOT that sick, that also means eventually you will be able to work again, earn a living and continue to pay premium.

so there's a reason why most company premium waiver covers late stage CI and not early stage CI. anyway, everything has a price, even if another company say, "OK, we cover for early stage CI", that just means consumer pay more

higher probability of happening means higher chance insurance company need to pay a claim means it's more expensive.

insurance company not a charity...

Jargon: Late Stage CI means more serious CI condition, this is the simpler coverage. Early Stage CI means not as serious but still serious, usually insurance companies now have the option to attach Early CI coverage but not for their premium waiver, just if you want a lumpsum pay out upon this early stage CI.

---EXPLANATION OVER-----
Are you 100% certain on this? I have purchased a policy at RM3,000 and now paying RM3,440 per annum. There is a Premium Waiver Extra rider. Are you 100% certain this is limited only to the RM3,000 initially? Wouldn't the PWE rider cost increase once I had begun paying higher premiums?

Or are you referring to a situation where the premiums are increased AFTER you kena TPD/CI and have been claiming from the PWE?

contestchris
post Jul 20 2023, 09:35 AM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 20 2023, 08:47 AM)
If you look at your policy wording, the premium waiver covers an exact figure (RMxxxx/year), it didn't say "cover your annual premium".
Actually, you might be wrong.

I just looked at my annual statement for ILP.

2018:

U102 IL Premium Waiver Extra Rider
Amount of Benefit
RM2,400

2023:

U102 IL Premium Waiver Extra Rider
Amount of Benefit
RM2,640

-----------

So that means the premium increase from RM200 to RM220 was reflected in the Premium Waiver Extra Rider's coverage.

What I believe is not covered is potential FUTURE increase in premiums due to rising cost of riders (as a result of repricing) or weaker than expected investment returns.

------------

However what confuses me is this:

contestchris
post Jul 21 2023, 02:11 PM

5,519 posts

Hi all, why does Great Eastern's direct CI standalone plan cost around RM135 per annum for RM50k coverage but the CI rider for Smart Protect only costs around RM50 per annum for RM50k coverage?

What am I missing?
contestchris
post Jul 21 2023, 07:25 PM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jul 21 2023, 05:22 PM)
Share the materials for us to refer in order to answer your question.
IL CIBR rates per RM1,000 coverage:

Great Critical Care Direct rates per RM1,000 coverage

---------------

As far as I can tell, both products have identical benefits.

Why does Great Critical Care Direct cost 4x as much? It's a pure-protection product with no cash value / investment component.

What am I missing?

This post has been edited by contestchris: Jul 21 2023, 07:28 PM
contestchris
post Jul 21 2023, 07:27 PM

5,519 posts

QUOTE(Ewa Wa @ Jul 21 2023, 04:37 PM)
The smart protect is an ILP plan. Min to start this plan is Rm100/m. RM50/annum for 50k coverage? Are u referring the COI?
Yes COI, but to me it should be the same (or at least similar).

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:38 PM