141 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S21 | S21+ | S21 Ultra 5G - V1, Exynos 2100 | Available in stores

SUSipohps3
post Jan 16 2021, 08:27 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Josh95 @ Jan 15 2021, 07:59 PM)
I have just forgotten something, the US model actually comes with 12GB RAM and also 5G as the base model (if I not mistaken), while for Malaysian market we only get 8GB RAM and 4G only for the base model. So this might affect the final pricing differences as well, by how much, I have no idea. So that could also attribute to lower Malaysian RRP price. Applicable for S20 and S20+ only.

I think for S20 Ultra should be same specs since both market offers 5G. Still I cannot justify the significant price increase this year for S21 series.
There's no 4G S21 series in Malaysia. S21 series in Malaysia is all 5G. This is because the 5G modem is now integrated in the SoC unlike last year. Also this year in Malaysia base storage is 256GB last year was 128GB.

This post has been edited by ipohps3: Jan 16 2021, 08:43 AM
SUSipohps3
post Jan 16 2021, 08:30 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Jan 15 2021, 10:25 PM)
You need to ask yourself, do you need a large phone?

large phone is not for everybody, especially you coming from S10E, S21+(6.7") can be overwhelming, large phone is heavy.
I personally think no point in getting S21+ as its size is similar to S21 Ultra this year, at least in terms of width which is important for 1 hand use. Either S21 or S21 Ultra, or get the S20+ which is more compact due to its side curve.
SUSipohps3
post Jan 16 2021, 08:35 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(pikafaded @ Jan 16 2021, 12:48 AM)
Although it is 25W, but it can beat most of the Chinese phones which have 50W charging rate and below in charging speed. If you say those 65W, 120W fast charge, then they are much more faster.
QUOTE(pikafaded @ Jan 16 2021, 12:52 AM)
Samsung 25W charger charges at full speed(25W) most of the time. Their 45W just a little bit faster than 25W for just a few minutes(provided if u charges from 0-100), if you charges from 30-100 then both took the same time to charge.
QUOTE(ghoss @ Jan 16 2021, 02:42 AM)

To those that complain about Samsung still using 25 W, should watch the video. Those high wattage charging speed from Chinese manufacturer are only peak values and not sustained. Also, in a hot country like Malaysia, there's no point having high wattage charging due to heat which slows down the speed anyway. And Samsung is one of the few companies to use PPS charging instead of the more proliferated PDO charging protocol.

This post has been edited by ipohps3: Jan 16 2021, 08:38 AM
SUSipohps3
post Jan 16 2021, 08:40 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 16 2021, 04:59 AM)
Eh, S9 memang got microsd slot lah, where got removed..
Maybe he is referring to S6.
msacras
post Jan 16 2021, 09:04 AM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jan 16 2021, 08:35 AM)
To those that complain about Samsung still using 25 W, should watch the video. Those high wattage charging speed from Chinese manufacturer are only peak values and not sustained. Also, in a hot country like Malaysia, there's no point having high wattage charging due to heat which slows down the speed anyway. And Samsung is one of the few companies to use PPS charging instead of the more proliferated PDO charging protocol.
You can just look at GSMarena’s phone review, they started stating the (actual) charging speed in their reviews since last year.
https://m.gsmarena.com/xiaomi_mi_10t_pro-review-2177p3.php

I do agree Samsung’s 25W charging is competitive for what 25W charging can go. But it’s capability is kind of inconsistent, where S20Ultra can match those of Chinese manufacturers of 30+ wattage fast charging, but not so much for 20FE and Note20.
https://m.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s20_f...view-2178p3.php

And because of that (adoption of PPS instead of normal PD), it’s picky on 3rd party charger. Most of the 3rd party charger out there don’t have PPS support.

Again, as state in my previous post. The compromise of faster charging is likely faster battery degrading too (heat factor). So except for a clear cut advantage like that of Xiaomi 120W or Oppo 65W VOOC which can further shorten the full charge time and have incredibly short half charge time, the general market standard of >50% in 30minutes and fully charge slightly over 1 hour will be the sweet spot and acceptable “compromise” for most people.
https://m.gsmarena.com/huawei_mate_40_pro-review-2184p3.php

This post has been edited by msacras: Jan 16 2021, 09:26 AM
Josh95
post Jan 16 2021, 09:11 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jan 16 2021, 08:27 AM)
There's no 4G S21 series in Malaysia. S21 series in Malaysia is all 5G. This is because the 5G modem is now integrated in the SoC unlike last year. Also this year in Malaysia base storage is 256GB last year was 128GB.
Bro, I'm referring to S20 series for 4G offered as base model, not S21. I was trying to highlight that we cannot compare the prices in apples to apples comparison due to the difference in specs offered between US market vs Malaysian market
BlazeHee
post Jan 16 2021, 09:22 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jan 15 2021, 11:15 PM)
haha dude

once you play 6.7 incher you will wish 2 upgrade 7 inches soon laugh.gif brows.gif

i been using 6.5 incher 4 more than 3 years and i find it tad way 2 small now laugh.gif rclxub.gif

its either i upgrade last year ultra (2021 ultra i skip) or hope 4 next year S22 ultra goes beyond 7 inches laugh.gif  icon_idea.gif
Yahh thats why, when I shifted to S10E due to my S8+ died, really tak biasa with the size, okay la, most likely gonna get S21+, now to choose the colour and package from my telco side xD
BlazeHee
post Jan 16 2021, 09:23 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(pikafaded @ Jan 16 2021, 12:50 AM)
I think it is better to go for the + model because 800mAh can be noticeable in daily use. If battery capacity is only 300mAh difference then different story.
I see, thanks for the advice, I don't really play games with the phone, mainly use for read comics, watch video and stuffs, will get the s21+ for the bigger screen biggrin.gif
mois
post Jan 16 2021, 09:30 AM

Enemy Territory
3,625 posts

When start to ship if preorder? 28th?
taphie78
post Jan 16 2021, 09:41 AM

156 posts

Jz ordered my Ultra 512gb rclxms.gif rclxms.gif first time ever migrating out of my comfort zone as a hardcore iphone fan. kinda nervous sweat.gif sweat.gif

Has been Iphone fan since iphone 4

was waiting Samsung to change Exynos but i guess now 2100 should be the answer to Snapdragon.

For the part of price down and so on and so forth .... it will be trend - rember we buy phone not for resale value but we really love it and enjoy using it.. new model will be out less than a year...

charger? i had unused iphone chargers and 6 other 3rd party chargers sitting at home coz i used wireless charging 99% of the time.. y i need to care if thy no longer provide - ultimately nobody will care...in a year or 2

Micro SD- we iphone users already used to it from the beginning...

Conclusion : migrating from iphone to samsung android - samsung features is overkill compared to iphone especially camera dept. reliability : will hav to see. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by taphie78: Jan 16 2021, 10:09 AM
PJng
post Jan 16 2021, 09:58 AM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(taphie78 @ Jan 16 2021, 09:41 AM)
Jz ordered my Ultra 512mb  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif first time ever migrating out of my comfort zone as a hardcore iphone fan. kinda nervous  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

was waiting Samsung to change Exynos but i guess now 2100 should be the answer to Snapdragon.

For the part of price down and so on and so forth .... it will be trend - rember we buy phone not for resale value but we really love it and enjoy using it.. new model will be out less than a year...

charger? i had unused iphone chargers and 6 other 3rd party chargers sitting at home coz i used wireless charging 99% of the time.. y i need to care if thy no longer provide - ultimately nobody will care...in a year or 2

Conclusion : migrating from iphone to samsung android - samsung features is overkill compared to iphone especially camera dept. reliability : will hav to see. tongue.gif
I know is typo, 512MB
Hehe
taphie78
post Jan 16 2021, 10:09 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Jan 16 2021, 09:58 AM)
I know is typo, 512MB
Hehe
thanks bro notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
PeeEl
post Jan 16 2021, 10:15 AM

3,612 posts

Jz ordered my Ultra 512mb  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif first time ever migrating out of my comfort zone as a hardcore iphone fan. kinda nervous   sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Could I just jump on your boat and offer my take on this?

If one who has been out and about freely and all of a sudden finds himself in prison, it will take a while for him to adjust and if at all he eventually can, he may grudgingly do it cause he’s stuck in there and has no choice. However, conversely, if he had been in jail and finally released, he will find it refreshing as he can do almost everything at his whims and fancies, without too much restrictions.

Thus, I am almost certain you will enjoy what Android can offer. A caveat though. Fanboys of Apple/iOS are not included in my analogy.

This post has been edited by PeeEl: Jan 16 2021, 01:31 PM
TSKCY3701
post Jan 16 2021, 10:33 AM

On My Way to Level 50
633 posts

Jz ordered my Ultra 512gb  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif first time ever migrating out of my comfort zone as a hardcore iphone fan. kinda nervous   sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Welcome to Galaxy

QUOTE(msacras @ Jan 16 2021, 09:04 AM)
You can just look at GSMarena’s phone review, they started stating the (actual) charging speed in their reviews since last year.
https://m.gsmarena.com/xiaomi_mi_10t_pro-review-2177p3.php

I do agree Samsung’s 25W charging is competitive for what 25W charging can go. But it’s capability is kind of inconsistent, where S20Ultra can match those of Chinese manufacturers of 30+ wattage fast charging, but not so much for 20FE and Note20.
https://m.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s20_f...view-2178p3.php

And because of that (adoption of PPS instead of normal PD), it’s picky on 3rd party charger. Most of the 3rd party charger out there don’t have PPS support.

Again, as state in my previous post. The compromise of faster charging is likely faster battery degrading too (heat factor). So except for a clear cut advantage like that of Xiaomi 120W or Oppo 65W VOOC which can further shorten the full charge time and have incredibly short half charge time, the general market standard of >50% in 30minutes and fully charge slightly over 1 hour will be the sweet spot and acceptable “compromise” for most people.
https://m.gsmarena.com/huawei_mate_40_pro-review-2184p3.php
Any examples of 3rd party chargers that support PPS?

This post has been edited by KCY3701: Jan 16 2021, 10:33 AM
ZeneticX
post Jan 16 2021, 10:37 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 16 2021, 04:59 AM)
Eh, S9 memang got microsd slot lah, where got removed..
Eh shit my memory was messed up doh.gif

It was brought back in S7

Removed during S6
and85rew
post Jan 16 2021, 10:48 AM

Red Devil
877 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Jan 16 2021, 02:42 AM)

The deal breaker for me currently is
-1080 screen
-No micro SD

What makes me wanna buy is
-the free buds
-maxis installment ( xiaomi don't have or have to wait long)
-Snapdragon 888 overheating

I kinda wishing S20 FE drops price
Was the same..but when MY somehow force to take 256GB
So 256 should be enough
Can still use OTG type C for expansion
But got bundle with wireless charger and buds live (worth near 1k)
Then i take it using telco plan
Cant really tell FHD+ vs QHD side by side

This post has been edited by and85rew: Jan 16 2021, 10:52 AM
ntdote
post Jan 16 2021, 11:27 AM

324 posts

just pre ordered with maxis S21, good deal i would say

for the free bundles of buds live + trio wireless charger + smarttag, wonder would anyone wants if let go at RM500 or RM600?
neekun
post Jan 16 2021, 11:32 AM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

Jz ordered my Ultra 512gb  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif first time ever migrating out of my comfort zone as a hardcore iphone fan. kinda nervous  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Just sharing my experience..migrated to Android (Z Fold2) from iOS (since iPhone 5 era). I love the Samsung hardware design (immersive screen, one small dot of front camera), but i don't like Android system as overall its not as polish and stable comparing with iOS. So end up switched back to iOS tongue.gif
advgamer
post Jan 16 2021, 12:08 PM

256 posts

this round no need to struggle choose SD888 or Exy2100, because both chip are make by Samsung Fab tongue.gif

last time SD show different compare to Exy because , SD make by TSMC Fab & Exy make by Samsung.
TSMC are world 1st chip maker even with same 7nm manufacturing tech, TSMC still best of the best!
this year for flagship chip, TSMC only manufacture Apple A14 & Huawei Kririn9000 order!

as such SD888 or Exy2100 will perform equally due to same Samsung Fab 5nm manufacturing process doh.gif
Good luck to thermal handling for both SD888 & Exy2100 bangwall.gif

pikafaded
post Jan 16 2021, 12:49 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(Lucas0323 @ Jan 16 2021, 01:49 AM)
My phone is 4 years old with 20w fast charging and now 2021 only cap at 25w. Thats kinda slow by today standard sadly.
Most probably because of Note 7 tragedy, Samsung is scared to go above 50W.

141 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:22 AM