128 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread

evanttc
post Jan 3 2021, 11:26 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 3 2021, 10:49 AM)
https://shopee.com.my/product/64923440/4241977605
Personally I bought this 10-in-1, cuz more ports and I prefer flexibility (can use on mac / Windows). Rm140+ after voucher ( rm130+ after shopee coin cashback)
Some bought this instead, 6-in-1, cheaper and looks nicer for macbook
https://shopee.com.my/product/64923440/1768437921
Rm78+ after voucher (rm70+ after shopee coin cashback)
i bought this
https://shopee.com.my/product/64923440/1140476280
Zaryl
post Jan 3 2021, 12:45 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

Guys, any problems encountered when using M1 MBA so far?

I’ve been reading on macrumours & reddit forums and some users reported to have few problems such as wifi/bluetooth stability, artifact on the screen and sudden laggyness & shutoff.

I may have to hold this purchase and wait for 2nd iteration.
RiriRuruRara
post Jan 3 2021, 12:58 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(fuze @ Jan 3 2021, 09:38 AM)
Also one of the plus points buying online than local "Premium Resellers" is you'll be able to return your unit if it's found faulty on arrival - but local resellers wouldn't as your unit will to go through the usual warranty claim process.

Let's not forgot about this incident: Beli Macbook harga RM 13K

Thanks for the reply, just want to know a bit more things, so if buy from apple online they will 1 on 1 replace your unit during the 1 year warranty or only for the first 7 days or something like that?
fuze
post Jan 3 2021, 01:36 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Jan 3 2021, 12:58 PM)
Thanks for the reply, just want to know a bit more things, so if buy from apple online they will 1 on 1 replace your unit during the 1 year warranty or only for the first 7 days or something like that?
It'll be 14 days - based on Item 15 of their Sales Policies, Dead On Arrival (DOA) Product: System Failure Out of the Box Link

polarzbearz
post Jan 3 2021, 01:50 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(evanttc @ Jan 3 2021, 11:26 AM)
This also not bad laugh.gif Was short listing it also but ended up with 10-in-1 for RJ-45 socket tongue.gif

Sibeh kiasu mentality... doh.gif
evanttc
post Jan 3 2021, 01:52 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 3 2021, 01:50 PM)
This also not bad laugh.gif Was short listing it also but ended up with 10-in-1 for RJ-45 socket tongue.gif

Sibeh kiasu mentality... doh.gif
hahahaha.

i wanna opt to try out a smaller and light portable 1. may opt for another 1 which will be more thunderbolt port for home based usage which plug with monitor and keyboard mouse.
tony_mw
post Jan 3 2021, 02:06 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 3 2021, 10:49 AM)
https://shopee.com.my/product/64923440/4241977605
Personally I bought this 10-in-1, cuz more ports and I prefer flexibility (can use on mac / Windows). Rm140+ after voucher ( rm130+ after shopee coin cashback)
Some bought this instead, 6-in-1, cheaper and looks nicer for macbook
https://shopee.com.my/product/64923440/1768437921
Rm78+ after voucher (rm70+ after shopee coin cashback)
(tony_mw @ Jan 3 2021, 01:27 AM)
Hey guys, mind to share me a good c-hub with reasonable price for the MBA M1? The apple one is too expensive for me imo
I bought a ugreen one from shopee. Tested it with a Lenovo laptop and it works well. Still waiting for my MBA haha.

Thanks guys, I think I’ll get that 3slot+SD card hub then.
How about external SSD, any advise?
I’m in a middle of choosing Samsung T7 touch(found it on taobao with less than RM600 include shipping) or Sandisk Extreme V2(shopee selling RM500 include shipping). Anyone here bought external ssd from taobao?

polarzbearz
post Jan 3 2021, 02:28 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(tony_mw @ Jan 3 2021, 02:06 PM)
I’m in a middle of choosing Samsung T7 touch(found it on taobao with less than RM600 include shipping) or Sandisk Extreme V2(shopee selling RM500 include shipping). Anyone here bought external ssd from taobao?
Personally I prefer to buy computer parts locally. Price difference isn't worth the potential warranty hassles later IMO

I didnt buy extra storage as I've already gotten my very old ext. HDD for data transfers, if needed.
sonicmaster
post Jan 3 2021, 06:08 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jan 3 2021, 12:45 PM)
Guys, any problems encountered when using M1 MBA so far?

I’ve been reading on macrumours & reddit forums and some users reported to have few problems such as wifi/bluetooth stability, artifact on the screen and sudden laggyness & shutoff.

I may have to hold this purchase and wait for 2nd iteration.
So far use for normal working and web browsing. No much issue. No regret
sonicmaster
post Jan 3 2021, 06:08 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(casualscroller @ Jan 3 2021, 09:16 AM)
I bought a ugreen one from shopee. Tested it with a Lenovo laptop and it works well. Still waiting for my MBA haha.
I bought u green USB A to C and USB c to HDMI all working
evanttc
post Jan 3 2021, 08:52 PM

858 posts

using a nvme exclosure with a OEM toshiba 512gb nvme ssd cost around rm2xx only.
RiriRuruRara
post Jan 4 2021, 02:06 PM

1,010 posts

I also see online many people complaining about wifi issues, anyone having wifi problem?

youliang
post Jan 4 2021, 03:56 PM

Aficionado
1,178 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Jan 4 2021, 02:06 PM)
I also see online many people complaining about wifi issues, anyone having wifi problem?
nope smile.gif
sonicmaster
post Jan 4 2021, 04:23 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Jan 4 2021, 02:06 PM)
As smooth as silk
GenDevil
post Jan 4 2021, 06:08 PM

99 posts

hi any sifu here got tips that help to set up using dual external monitor? thank you
davidletterboyz
post Jan 4 2021, 11:51 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(GenDevil @ Jan 4 2021, 06:08 PM)
hi any sifu here got tips that help to set up using dual external monitor? thank you
Not possible with the current MBA and MBP M1. Only Mac Mini M1 can support more than one external monitor.
cookie860217
post Jan 5 2021, 07:21 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(tony_mw @ Jan 3 2021, 02:06 PM)
I am using this hub with external M.2 SSD slot built in. Just make sure that it is a SATA M.2 SSD. I paired it with a 1TB WD Blue SATA M.2 SSD.

https://s.lazada.com.my/s.c7DD4

Slightly bigger than a normal hub but it is just as light and only need to carry and use one device. Also lesser ports but the essentials one for me are all there.
raining again
post Jan 5 2021, 09:07 AM

It's raining again, again ... and again
895 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Jan 4 2021, 11:51 PM)
Not possible with the current MBA and MBP M1. Only Mac Mini M1 can support more than one external monitor.
u can do that with selected few usb3.0 monitor adapter.

Not as easy plug a play though, have to do some research for which if it works.

External display
frostbyte13
post Jan 5 2021, 10:30 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(sonicmaster @ Jan 3 2021, 12:46 AM)
Like windows laptop lol?
What kind of situation you are in where you need a separate ON button which is an additional step?

if you really want, you can google it but all methods require the usage of terminal.

if you aren't already familiar with cmd on windows, you'd better skip it & get used to the apple ecosystem smile.gif

This post has been edited by frostbyte13: Jan 5 2021, 10:31 AM
raining again
post Jan 5 2021, 10:47 AM

It's raining again, again ... and again
895 posts

QUOTE(cookie860217 @ Jan 5 2021, 07:21 AM)
I am using this hub with external M.2 SSD slot built in. Just make sure that it is a SATA M.2 SSD. I paired it with a 1TB WD Blue SATA M.2 SSD.

https://s.lazada.com.my/s.c7DD4

Slightly bigger than a normal hub but it is just as light and only need to carry and use one device. Also lesser ports but the essentials one for me are all there.
whoa nice find! there rolleyes.gif

I was thinking to get this, but yours cheaper half the price RM150 only.. nice.
ssd hub usb-c

I think both same same ports, just the Harbigis have SD slots and support 10gbps nvme.

128 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:40 AM