[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread

polarzbearz
post Dec 29 2020, 02:18 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

Any lifetime windows user (or apple hater) ended up getting M1 Macbook Air? How's your experience so far?

Must say this is the first time I'm swayed this heavily laugh.gif generally almost never took interest in Apple's product (tried company iPhone/iPad back then and never got interested)

I'm impressed with their fanless design but keeping this level of performance/temps. Even intel's can't come close with fans sweat.gif
Very tempted to try but steep entry indeed sweat.gif More for productivity / light usage / portability though, so I guess base model 256GB / 8GB suffices. Have my dedicated PC as powerhorse already for gaming/video editing

This post has been edited by polarzbearz: Dec 29 2020, 02:34 AM
polarzbearz
post Dec 29 2020, 01:45 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(kevinpss @ Dec 29 2020, 10:58 AM)
I jump over three years ago...lol
No regrets I assume? blush.gif

QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 29 2020, 11:55 AM)
For laptop definitely Mac due to superior battery life and the trackpad.
Raw power still Windows desktop for me.
hmm.gif Yeah have the same reserves, after all already have my rig as my power driver.

QUOTE(chrischiang @ Dec 29 2020, 01:03 PM)
i'm lifetime windows user and got my 1st M1 macbook pro when see the review after launch..

after a week of using M1 mac, really as advertised it is real fast and smooth for such thin design.
Compared to my retired XPS 15, doing similar tasks (10plus chrome tab, playing movies and remote desktop) which will roar loudly, burning my laps.. this m1 mac handle it pretty well until im not even sure is the fan is running or not.. not to worry anymore to place in on top of sofa/bed/pillow..

To be frank, windows 10 is as smooth as macos.. i still use my PC most of my time, will be using mac when im out or back to my parents place...
Tempting drool.gif. I have the same desktop rig as yours except a few parts (x570 mobo / slightly older gpu) tongue.gif
Definitely hated my old laptop (SP3) easily shooting up to 73c++ with just chrome usage. What's the avg. cpu temp with those tasks you mentioned on M1 Mac? Room condition or with Aircond? Saw a few reviews that it'll maintain at 38c but they're usually from other part of world with lower average room temperatures hmm.gif
polarzbearz
post Dec 30 2020, 09:33 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

I cannot believe I pulled the trigger laugh.gif

My first "own" Apple product since NEVER rclxub.gif Ordering from Apple Malaysia since I'm not in rush (and it gives me plenty of time to change my mind to cancel order tongue.gif)

Either way I'm bound to have some regrets (either regretting for hating Apple and never liked their products or regretting to try this laugh.gif)

polarzbearz
post Dec 31 2020, 02:14 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(sonicmaster @ Dec 18 2020, 08:33 AM)
Really loved that sleeve but too bad out of stock. Went to hunt their Taobao official store and saw the same sleeve with different colour option. Insta-buy tongue.gif

polarzbearz
post Jan 1 2021, 04:14 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

For those already received their Macbook Air base model variant (8GB / 256GB / 8 CPU / 7GPU), is your model A2179 or A2337?
polarzbearz
post Jan 2 2021, 01:28 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(v88 @ Jan 1 2021, 11:30 AM)
A2337 which is M1
Thanks!

-----------

On a side note, Linus approves laugh.gif tongue.gif

polarzbearz
post Jan 3 2021, 10:49 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(tony_mw @ Jan 3 2021, 01:27 AM)
Hey guys, mind to share me a good c-hub with reasonable price for the MBA M1? The apple one is too expensive for me imo
https://shopee.com.my/product/64923440/4241977605
Personally I bought this 10-in-1, cuz more ports and I prefer flexibility (can use on mac / Windows). Rm140+ after voucher ( rm130+ after shopee coin cashback)

Some bought this instead, 6-in-1, cheaper and looks nicer for macbook
https://shopee.com.my/product/64923440/1768437921
Rm78+ after voucher (rm70+ after shopee coin cashback)
polarzbearz
post Jan 3 2021, 01:50 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(evanttc @ Jan 3 2021, 11:26 AM)
This also not bad laugh.gif Was short listing it also but ended up with 10-in-1 for RJ-45 socket tongue.gif

Sibeh kiasu mentality... doh.gif
polarzbearz
post Jan 3 2021, 02:28 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(tony_mw @ Jan 3 2021, 02:06 PM)
Thanks guys, I think I’ll get that 3slot+SD card hub then.
How about external SSD, any advise?
I’m in a middle of choosing Samsung T7 touch(found it on taobao with less than RM600 include shipping) or Sandisk Extreme V2(shopee selling RM500 include shipping). Anyone here bought external ssd from taobao?
Personally I prefer to buy computer parts locally. Price difference isn't worth the potential warranty hassles later IMO

I didnt buy extra storage as I've already gotten my very old ext. HDD for data transfers, if needed.
polarzbearz
post Jan 8 2021, 07:42 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(hy30 @ Jan 7 2021, 10:53 AM)
Anyone ETA 14/1 order status has been updated to preparing to ship?
QUOTE(slid3 @ Jan 7 2021, 03:28 PM)
Nope. but 2 days ago the cancel button disappeared.

My ETA is also 14/1 haha...mine is 256gb with 16gb ram
Do update once both your orders are shipped tongue.gif
My batch should be after yours. Ordered mine on 30 Dec - base model

This post has been edited by polarzbearz: Jan 8 2021, 07:43 AM
polarzbearz
post Jan 12 2021, 12:59 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

Feeling hopeless now with MCO kicking in laugh.gif

polarzbearz
post Jan 12 2021, 08:21 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(hy30 @ Jan 12 2021, 07:31 PM)
Hi my order just shipped out frm Sg with 1 day of processing.
Wooo! Nice!!thanks for sharing tongue.gif

Hopefully mine will be shipped in 4 days time rclxm9.gif

(I ordered mine on 30 Dec, 4 days after yours)
polarzbearz
post Jan 14 2021, 06:14 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 8 2021, 07:42 AM)
Do update once both your orders are shipped tongue.gif
My batch should be after yours. Ordered mine on 30 Dec - base model
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 12 2021, 12:59 PM)

Mine base model ordered 30 Dec finally shipped today, via UPS.

no update on exact delivery schedule or location yet but ETA changed to Arrives 18 January 2021. Ships from Singapore.

Let's see hmm.gif

This post has been edited by polarzbearz: Jan 14 2021, 06:24 PM
polarzbearz
post Jan 16 2021, 10:35 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 12 2021, 12:59 PM)

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 14 2021, 06:14 PM)
Mine base model ordered 30 Dec finally shipped today, via UPS.

no update on exact delivery schedule or location yet but ETA changed to Arrives 18 January 2021. Ships from Singapore.

Let's see hmm.gif
Got my delivery via UPS today rclxm9.gif
Routed directly From Singapore, > Shah Alam > Sepang [no idea how it went backwards] > Depot > Door delivery.

0.0813sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:11 PM