[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread

RiriRuruRara
post Nov 21 2020, 08:06 PM

1,009 posts

guys wta does apple have any app that can make the Mac Air have the Quick Type function that the macbook pro have on its touch bar?? This function would be very useful to me bcs i have really bad spelling, but to get it i need to spend over a extra rm1k for a mac pro???
RiriRuruRara
post Nov 22 2020, 04:44 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(stargazhe @ Nov 22 2020, 01:23 PM)
Not that I’m aware of but from my experience the autocorrect function on macOS is excellent. It basically corrects every spelling mistake I make so I can type fast without worries.
i see ok.
I just went to see the air at the apple sg store and to upgrade to 16gb ram is 300sgd, so we malaysians need to pay rm900++ for the extra ram???

This post has been edited by RiriRuruRara: Nov 22 2020, 04:48 PM
RiriRuruRara
post Nov 22 2020, 06:26 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(stargazhe @ Nov 22 2020, 05:22 PM)
RM800 for Malaysia. Same goes for upgrading 256GB to 512GB.
wow that is too ,much money for just a 8gb ram upgrade ..
RiriRuruRara
post Dec 12 2020, 04:25 AM

1,009 posts

Hi wta anyone here do trading in the stock market?
Can apple product use trading websites like Rakuten etc without any problems?
Sorry new to mac stuff .
RiriRuruRara
post Jan 3 2021, 04:02 AM

1,009 posts

Guys will you be losing out on anything if you buy it from local retailers like switch or machines???
RiriRuruRara
post Jan 3 2021, 12:58 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(fuze @ Jan 3 2021, 09:38 AM)
Also one of the plus points buying online than local "Premium Resellers" is you'll be able to return your unit if it's found faulty on arrival - but local resellers wouldn't as your unit will to go through the usual warranty claim process.

Let's not forgot about this incident: Beli Macbook harga RM 13K

Thanks for the reply, just want to know a bit more things, so if buy from apple online they will 1 on 1 replace your unit during the 1 year warranty or only for the first 7 days or something like that?
RiriRuruRara
post Jan 4 2021, 02:06 PM

1,009 posts

I also see online many people complaining about wifi issues, anyone having wifi problem?

RiriRuruRara
post May 16 2021, 04:11 PM

1,009 posts

WTA I'd the 100 Nits color display more in the mbp very noticeable???
I will be using this to watch movies, should I get the air or pro???
RiriRuruRara
post May 16 2021, 05:00 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 16 2021, 04:17 PM)
they are of different usage totally as of now.

if u want a tablet, ipad pro. if u want a laptop, macbook air of course.
What you mean different usage bro?
Need to know is the macbook pro display a lot better then the macbook air???
RiriRuruRara
post May 16 2021, 05:09 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 16 2021, 05:05 PM)
One is tablet one is a laptop. This are the usages.
Which one to choose should be based on ur use cases. It is not hard to understand. Now iPad Pro totally cannot replace a MacBook.

MacBook Pro display is brighter than MacBook Air. This is the only thing that the display is more superior.
lol OK, but I didn't bring up ipad at all. Was comparing the pro vs air only...
RiriRuruRara
post Jun 16 2021, 11:09 PM

1,009 posts

Guys anyone using this macbook air in a non aircon room in our hot Malaysian weather??? Will there be heating problem since there is no fan in it???
RiriRuruRara
post Jun 17 2021, 09:54 AM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 16 2021, 11:33 PM)
I'm crunching at CPU half max around 70C in a non-air cond environment 24/7... Watching porn is cooler than this... tongue.gif
70c is quite high???
What task are you running?

QUOTE(kevinpss @ Jun 17 2021, 12:36 AM)
No issue unless you use it for heavy task
Mostly watching Netflix and web browsing with multiple open tabs?
RiriRuruRara
post Jun 17 2021, 01:45 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(coklatua @ Jun 17 2021, 12:46 PM)
No issues for me.
No heat problem.
I play minecraft a lot. Heat was there but nothing serious.
No heat throttle.
QUOTE(kevinpss @ Jun 17 2021, 01:02 PM)
Netflix, Microsoft 365, Zoom and Teams (a few hours), many tabs, Apple Music on = all good and no issues at all, no heat too, no lag.
OK thanks, than I think I shall get this air version.
RiriRuruRara
post Oct 11 2021, 06:41 PM

1,009 posts

Guys anyone know what's the punishment for buying using the education discount and if apple call up to check and they find out you don't qualify for it??
RiriRuruRara
post Oct 11 2021, 10:45 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(kevinpss @ Oct 11 2021, 08:49 PM)
it is written in the T&C....if you are not qualify, they will ask you to top-up....that's it

but very hard to not qualify la....all grade of teacher including home-school & tuition teacher can use....father mother buy for their children also can....I buy for my sister also
Retired teacher can?
RiriRuruRara
post Jan 13 2022, 09:20 PM

1,009 posts

Seeking some advice from tech sifu here. I can't wait for the macbook air m2 launch. Since I really need a laptop now, I have to settle for the macbook air m1. But hati really sakit to he paying such a high price for a 1 year old over tech when in 6 month time for the same price can get a brand new tech the air m2.
Any advice you can share?
RiriRuruRara
post Mar 23 2022, 08:01 PM

1,009 posts

Guys is the rm400 promo for the macbook air a good deal or will there be a bigger discount during raya??
RiriRuruRara
post Mar 24 2022, 11:45 AM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Mar 24 2022, 09:08 AM)
i was thinking to either get 256gb or 512gb/8 today as well, is it from switch?
Yes haha, so what have you decided? Recently they had rm588 discount for iPhone 12 but don't know why macs only get rm400. If rm588 discount I feel that a good deal...
RiriRuruRara
post Mar 24 2022, 01:32 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Mar 24 2022, 01:18 PM)
yup, between ur 1st year of ownership.
I've just bought 8GB/512GB.
Congrats on your new purchase.
RiriRuruRara
post Mar 25 2022, 11:38 AM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(0601430 @ Mar 24 2022, 11:01 PM)
woah how to get the discount RM250?

edit: found the bank voucher, thanks for the update 😁

edit2: juz placed order 256gb version silver color RM3999 plus the sc card discount RM250... @hown was right, RM4249 is really 256gb version for gold and space gray color
So you got it for rm3749???

0.0282sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:53 PM